ARVANA INC (CIK 1113313)
Form 10-Q
period 2014-09-30
filed 2014-11-13

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)



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

Exchange Act). Yes þ    No 

Indicate  the  number  of  shares  outstanding  of  each  of  the  registrant’s  classes  of  common  stock,  as  of  the

latest  practicable  date.  The  number  of  shares  outstanding  of  the  registrant’s  common  stock,  $0.001  par

value (the only class of voting stock), at November 13, 2014, was 885,130.

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

September 30,

December 31,

2014

2013

ASSETS

Current assets:

Cash

$

702

$

321

Total assets

$

702

$

321

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' DEFICIENCY

Current liabilities

Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

$

1,045,578

$

1,056,941

Loans payable to stockholders (Note 3)

661,794

666,511

Loans payable to a related party (Note 3)

33,644

34,950

Loans payable (Note 3)

143,929

144,402

Amounts due to related parties (Note 3)

481,430

493,534

Total current liabilities

2,366,375

2,396,338

Stockholders' deficiency

Common stock, $0.001 par value 5,000,000 authorized,

885,130 shares issued and outstanding at

September 30, 2014 and December 31, 2013 (Note 4)

885

885

Additional paid-in capital

21,166,619

21,166,619

Deficit

(23,529,841)

(23,560,185)

(2,362,337)

(2,392,681)

Less: Treasury stock – 2,085 common shares at

September 30, 2014 and December 31, 2013

(3,336)

(3,336)

Total stockholders’ deficiency

(2,365,673)

(2,396,017)

$

702

$

321

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Arvana Inc.

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations

For the Three and Nine Months Ended September 30, 2014 and 2013

(Unaudited)

Three Months Ended

Nine Months Ended

September 30,

September 30,

2014

2013

2014

2013

Operating expenses

General and administrative

$

9,010      $

8,666     $

25,831     $

53,570

Total operating expenses

9,010

8,666

25,831

53,570

Loss from operations

(9,010)

(8,666)

(25,831)

(53,570)

Interest expense

(12,536)

(12,623)

(38,004)

(36,790)

Foreign exchange gain (loss)

86,944

(38,946)

94,179

12,444

Net income (loss) and

Comprehensive income (loss)

$

65,398     $

(60,235)    $

30,344    $

(77,916)

Per share information - basic and diluted:

Weighted average shares outstanding

885,130

885,130

885,130

885,130

Net income (loss) per share

$

0.07    $

(0.07)    $

0.03    $

(0.09)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Arvana Inc.

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows

(Unaudited)

(Expressed in US Dollars)

Nine Months Ended

September 30,

2014

2013

Cash flows from (used in) operating activities

Net income (loss)

$

30,344

$

(77,916)

Item not involving cash:

Unrealized foreign exchange

(90,671)

(12,548)

Changes in non-cash working capital:

Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

34,594

29,975

Amounts due to related parties

1,514

35,494

Net cash used in operations

(24,219)

(24,995)

Cash flows from investing activities

Net cash used in investing activities

-

-

Cash flows from financing activities

Proceeds of loans payable to stockholders

24,600

24,082

Net cash provided by financing activities

24,600

24,082

Increase (decrease) in cash

381

(913)

Cash , beginning of period

321

1,254

Cash, end of period

$

702

$

341

There were no non-cash investing and financing transactions for the nine month periods ended September

30, 2014 and 2013.

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Arvana Inc.

Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

September 30, 2014

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

month period ended September 30, 2014, the Company incurred net income from operations of $30,344.

At September 30, 2014, the Company had a working capital deficiency of $2,365,673. These conditions

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

September 30, 2014

(Unaudited)

(Expressed in U.S. Dollars)

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

Basis of presentation

The Company is in the process of evaluating business opportunities and has minimal operating levels.

The Company’s fiscal year end is December 31. The accompanying condensed interim consolidated

financial statements of Arvana, Inc. for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2014 and 2013,

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

September 30, 2014

(Unaudited)

(Expressed in U.S. Dollars)

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies (continued)

Financial instruments (continued)

The estimated fair values of the Company's financial instruments as of September 30, 2014 and December

31, 2013 follows:

September 30,

December 31,

2014

2013

Carrying

Fair

Carrying

Fair

Amount

Value

Amount

Value

Cash

$702

$702

$321

$321

Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

1,045,578

1,045,578

1,056,941

1,056,941

Loans payable to stockholders

661,794

661,794

666,511

666,511

Loans payable to related party

33,644

33,644

34,950

34,950

Loans payable

143,929

143,929

144,402

144,402

Amounts due to related parties

481,430

481,430

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

September 30,

Markets

Inputs

Inputs

2014

(Level 1)

(Level 2)

(Level 3)

Assets:

Cash

$

702

$

702

$

-

$

-

The fair value of cash is determined through market, observable and corroborated sources.

Arvana Inc.

Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

September 30, 2014

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

September 30, 2014

(Unaudited)

(Expressed in U.S. Dollars)

3. Amounts Due to Related Parties and Loans Payable to Stockholders

From February, 2007, until September 30, 2014, the Company received a number of loans from

stockholders, related parties and unrelated third parties.  As of September 30, 2014, the Company had

received loans of $661,794 (Euro 225,000; CAD 72,300; $313,107) (December 31, 2013 - $666,511:

Euro 225,000; CAD 72,300; $288,507) from stockholders, loans of $33,644 (CAD 27,600; $9,000)

(December 31, 2013 – $34,950: CAD 27,600; $9,000) from a related party and loans of $143,929 (CAD

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

financing arrangement by the Company.  The balance of accrued interest of $294,000 and $268,271 is

included in accounts payable and accrued liabilities at September 30, 2014, and December 31, 2013,

respectively.  Interest expense recognized on these loans was $12,536 and $38,004 for the three and nine

months ended September 30, 2014, respectively, compared to $12,623 and $36,790 for the three and nine

months ended September 30, 2013, respectively.

At September 30, 2014, and December 31, 2013, the Company had amounts due to related parties of

$481,430 and $493,534, respectively.  This amount includes $136,100 at September 30, 2014, and

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

At September 30, 2014 and December 31, 2013, there were no warrants outstanding.

At September 30, 2014 and December 31, 2013, there were no stock options outstanding.  No options

were granted, exercised or expired during the nine months ended September 30, 2014 or the year ended

December 31, 2013.

5. Segmented Information

The Company has no reportable segments.

Arvana Inc.

Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

September 30, 2014

(Unaudited)

(Expressed in U.S. Dollars)

6. Related Party Transactions

Other than amounts payable to related parties as disclosed below and in Note 3, the Company also

incurred consulting fees of $5,638 paid to a company controlled by our chief executive officer during the

period ended September 30, 2014 compared to consulting fees of $3,651 incurred during the period ended

September 30, 2013.

Our former chief executive officer and former director had entered into a consulting arrangement on a

month to month basis that provided for a monthly fee of CAD 5,000. These amounts have been accrued

and are currently unpaid. This consulting arrangement ended on May 24, 2013. As of September 30, 2014

our former chief executive officer was owed $74,745 (CAD 83,710) for services rendered as an officer,

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

and $100,000 of unpaid loans.

Our former chief executive officer and former director is owed $191,658 for unsecured non-interest

bearing amounts due on demand loaned to the Company as of September 30, 2014, compared to $199,481

as of December 31, 2013.

Our former chief executive officer and former director is owed $33,644 for unsecured amounts bearing

6% interest due on demand loaned to the Company as of September 30, 2014, compared to $34,950 as of

December 31, 2013.

Our other former officers are owed a total of $94,802 for their prior services rendered as officers as at

September 30, 2014, compared to $99,083 as of December 31, 2013.

A director of the Company is owed $60,000 as of September 30, 2014 and December 31, 2013 for

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

information presented herein is based on the three and nine months ended September 30, 2014 and

September 30, 2013.

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

Our operations for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2014 and 2013 are summarized below.

Three months

Three months

Nine months

Nine months

Ended

Ended

Ended

Ended

September 30,

September 30,

September 30,      September 30,

2014

2013

2014

2013

Expenses:

General and administration

$9,010

$8,666

$25,831

$53,570

Interest

12,536

12,623

38,004

36,790

Foreign exchange (gain) loss

(86,944)

38,946

(94,179)

(12,444)

Net (income) loss and

comprehensive

(income) loss for the period

($65,398)

$60,235

($30,344)

$77,916

Net Income/Loss

Net income for the three months ended September 30, 2014 was $65,398 as compared to net loss of

$60,235 for the three months ended September 30, 2013. The transition to net income over the

comparative three months period can be attributed to the gain on unrealized foreign exchange in the

current three month period and the decrease in interest expense, offset by the increase in general and

administrative expenses.  The gain on unrealized foreign exchange is due to volatility in the value of

foreign currencies against the US dollar, which volatility impacts the cost of those expenses that are

payable in foreign currencies.

Net income for the nine months ended September 30, 2014 was $30,344 as compared to a net loss of

$77,916 for the nine months ended September 30, 2013. The transition to net income over the

comparative nine month periods can be attributed to the increase in the gain on unrealized foreign

exchange in the current nine month period and the decrease in interest expense, offset by the decline in

general and administrative expenses in the current nine month period.  The gain on unrealized foreign

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

Capital Expenditures

The Company expended no amounts on capital expenditures for the nine month period ended September

30, 2014.

Income Tax Expense (Benefit)

The Company has a prospective income tax benefit resulting from a net operating loss carry-forward and

start up costs that will offset any future operating profit.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

Since inception, the Company has experienced significant changes in liquidity, capital resources, and

stockholders’ deficit.

The Company had current and total assets of $702 as of September 30, 2014, consisting solely of cash

and a working capital deficit of $2,365,673, as compared to current and total assets of $321, consisting

solely of cash and a working capital deficit of $2,396,017 as of December 31, 2013. Net stockholders'

deficit in the Company was $2,365,673 at September 30, 2014, as compared to a net stockholder’s deficit

in the Company of $2,396,017 at December 31, 2013.

Cash Used in Operating Activities

Cash flow used in operating activities for the nine month period ended September 30, 2014 was $24,219

as compared to $24,995 for the nine month period ended September 30, 2013, which differences reflect

the comparative decrease in general and administrative expenses, increases in gain on unrealized foreign

exchange and changes in working capital in the current nine month period. General and administrative

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

Cash Flows from Financing Activities

Cash flow provided by financing activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2014, increased to

$24,600 as compared to $24,082 for the nine months ended September 30, 2013. The increase in cash

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

concern as a result of an accumulated deficit of $23,529,841 since inception and  negative cash flows

from  operating activities  as of September 30, 2014.  The Company’s ability to continue as a going

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