Exhibit 99.1

OPNET Names Mel F. Wesley Chief Financial Officer

BETHESDA, MD, — July 6th, 2005 – OPNET Technologies, Inc. (NASDAQ: OPNT), a leading provider of management software for networks and applications, today announced that Mel F. Wesley has been promoted to Chief Financial Officer. Mr. Wesley has served as acting Chief Financial Officer since December 6, 2004, and was previously OPNET’s Corporate Controller since June of 2004.

Prior to OPNET, from August 2003 to June 2004, Mr. Wesley served as Corporate Controller for SteelCloud, Inc., a publicly traded corporation that provides design, development and manufacturing of network appliances and infrastructure server products. From October 2000 to August 2003, Mr. Wesley served as an Assistant Controller for Learning Tree International, Inc., a publicly traded corporation that provides training to information technology (IT) professionals and managers. From December 1999 to October 2000, Mr. Wesley served as Financial Accounting Manager of Learning Tree.

Mr. Wesley received his M.B.A. and B.S. in Accounting from George Mason University. He is also a Certified Public Accountant.

About OPNET Technologies, Inc.

Founded in 1986, OPNET Technologies, Inc. (NASDAQ:OPNT) is a leading provider of management software for networks and applications. For more information about OPNET and its products, please visit http://www.opnet.com.

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OPNET and OPNET Technologies, Inc. are trademarks of OPNET Technologies, Inc. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Statements in this press release that are not purely historical facts may constitute forward-looking statements as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. OPNET Technologies, Inc. (“OPNET”) assumes no obligation to update statements. Forward-looking statements are predictions based upon information available to OPNET as of the date of this press release and involve risks and uncertainties; therefore, actual events or results may differ materially. For a discussion of risk factors, see OPNET’s reports, including its most recent 10-Q and 10-K, filed with the Securities & Exchange Commission.

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Note to editors: The word OPNET is spelled with all upper-case letters.

OPNET Media Contact:	OPNET Investor Relations:
Margarita Castillo	Mel F. Wesley
OPNET Technologies, Inc.	OPNET Technologies, Inc.
(240) 497-3000	(240) 497-3000
Media@opnet.com	ir@opnet.com
www.opnet.com	www.opnet.com