EXHIBIT 99 - 2000 ANNUAL REPORT

                           [COVER PAGE APPEARS HERE]

                                                                       INTERSHOP


 ...create the digital

(We...

                             [3 PHOTOS APPEAR HERE]

                                                              Annual Report 2000

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 ...create the
        digital


 ...create the digital economy) Letter| 1

 ... realize our vision) Highlights| 3

 ...automate relationships) Solutions| 5

 ...empower our customers) Customers| 8

 ...work for you) Employees| 22

 ...share) Share| 26

 ...provide figures) Financials| 28

 ...and our structure) Structure| 86

 ...explain) Glossary| 88

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economy)


Dear Investors, Customers, Partners and Employees,


In 2000, the strategic importance of the Internet within the global economy increased significantly, as companies recognized that a successful e-business strategy encompasses much more than simply selling products through a Web site. While many global enterprises are just beginning to harness the power of the Internet, they are already reaping rich rewards. By connecting trading partners in real time and automating and integrating business processes they are
capitalizing on multiple distribution channels, improving customer relationships, improving time to market, cutting costs and ultimately increasing profits.

Our vision is the digital economy. Intershop is helping many global enterprises make the most of their e-business strategies by providing an award-winning, comprehensive portfolio of solutions. Intershop's offerings enable companies to optimize their trading relationships with consumers, business partners, suppliers and marketplaces. Our solutions provide flexible ways to better leverage existing sales channels and integrate new ones. By improving business efficiencies, Intershop's products reduce costs and increase margins. And as e-business evolves to encompass virtually all aspects of producing and
delivering goods and services, Intershop is determined to be a leader in providing companies with a foundation that enables them to grow and proper in the digital economy. As we exit 2000 and look ahead to 2001 our mission is clear: To deliver the solutions that enable our enterprise customers to use the Internet as the foundation for all business, thereby turning the Internet into a strong and lasting competitive advantage.

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                [Photo of Stephan Schambach - CEO appears here]


Today, companies are seeking a single platform to build and extend their e-business capabilities and to enable the seamless exchange of transactions between trading partners across the value chain. Intershop provides unparalleled flexibility, scalability and performance to build, as well as to manage, a company's e-business. Our products provide a rich set of functionalities through a single, industry-leading, standards-based architecture.

YEAR OF EXPANSION
The power of our product offerings is reflected in the fact that in the year 2000, we established new records in terms of new customers, new partners and in software licenses sold. Our revenues grew by 166%, outpacing the outstanding growth Intershop achieved in 1999.

The growth of e-business in fiscal year 2000 provided exciting new opportunities, as well as significant volatility, resulting in a challenging environment for visionary companies, such as Intershop. During the second half of the year, the economy grew sluggish, global IT purchasing patterns slowed, and within companies, evaluation timelines for e-business initiatives lengthened. These factors affected Intershop most notably in the United States, as these market conditions emerged, as we were beginning to build our North American sales and marketing capabilities, as well as broaden our network of integration partners.

In addition, Intershop opened offices in Japan, Korea, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, and expanded its European presence with offices in Zurich, Berlin and Ilmenau, to better reach and serve our customers around the globe. Reaching our global investors was also a priority in 2000, and in September, Intershop successfully listed in the United States on the NASDAQ stock exchange through a secondary offering. Intershop ended the year with strong cash reserves and no long-term debt.

When we reflect back on 2000, we are proud to have finished the year with more than 3,000 customers worldwide, more than 200 strategic partnerships and a portfolio of products that continue to receive top rankings from analysts, customers and partners. Intershop remains well positioned, our fundamentals are on track and we have a solid foundation for future growth.

COMPLETE E-BUSINESS SOLUTION SET
Intershop has built a complete set of e-business solutions ranging from our enterprise Enfinity solution to Intershop 4 ePages, which provides e-business software that enables even the smallest businesses to establish an on-line presence. Intershop has emerged as the de facto standard for Application Service Providers (ASPs), Internet Service Providers (ISPs) and telecommunication
companies providing hosted solutions around the globe. We are committed to providing our customers with outstanding products and service, and all of our e-business solutions are supported backed by Intershop's staff of global IT experts.

ENFINITY 2
Enfinity, Intershop's enterprise e-business platform, was the primary growth engine for Intershop in 2000 and quickly established itself as the benchmark for sophisticated e-business enterprise solutions. Enfinity was ranked as the top commerce platform by industry analysts Forrester Research.

With the successful launch of our next generation Enfinity 2, we further established Enfinity as a leading e-business platform, which combines an open and flexible architecture with proven out-of-box functionality to quickly link buyers, suppliers, partners and customers. With more than 249 Enfinity licenses sold to date, including 219 Enfinity licenses sold in 2000, Enfinity is a proven leader in delivering enhanced connectivity to business systems and e-marketplaces with peak performance and scalability for the enterprise.

2

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[sidebar]

,,We are commited to leverage our strengths: providing our customers with the most powerful e-business software solutions."


PARTNERS - EXPANDING OUR ECOSYSTEM
Intershop has long recognized the value of its always placed great importance on its integration partners and service providers. Our eco-sytem of partners grew substantially in 2000 with the addition of several global alliances, including an agreement with Commerce One to address e-business marketplaces, and the initiation of a partnership with Hewlett Packard to include Intershop products in HP's worldwide B2B initiative. Our family of partners grew to more than 200 last year, including market leaders such as IBM, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Sapient, EDS, KPMG, Unisys, HP Consulting, Pixelpark and Icon Medialab. Today we have more than 10,000 consultants trained on Intershop's e-business solutions, including 8,000 trained on Enfinity. These partners are tremendous asset that significantly enhance our ability to drive additional sales opportunities, as well as offer customers a global network of experienced implementation partners, to address their integration needs. In early 2001, Intershop launched a new Global Implementation Partner Program, and we expect this program to attract more partners.

STRATEGIC INITIATIVES
To ensure Intershop  remains a market leader,  we must deliver value to not only
our customers and partners, but also our investors. We are committed to improving shareholder value and returning Intershop to profitability through the following strategic initiatives:

We are fully dedicated to strengthening our presence in the American market by concentrating the U.S. organization on revenue-generating activities. While continuing to offer the full range of products, we are focusing our U.S. go-to-market strategy on selected B2B markets in which Intershop has clear advantages over the competition, such as enabling suppliers to connect to and sell through electronic marketplaces and exchanges.

Intershop is devoted to strengthening relationships with its top implementation and technology partners, and customers. To accomplish this, Intershop is launching of cross-industry and industry-specific solutions that further expand our products' e-business functionality. New industry-specific modules leverage with Enfinity's superior technology and complement its functionality with critical features tailored to meet the needs of specific industries such as Automotive, Consumer Goods, High Technology & Engineering and Retail.

Finally,   we  are   streamlining   our  worldwide   organization   through  the
consolidation of global functions, which will allow us to take advantage of synergetic opportunities within our existing global operations.

We are convinced that these changes will best position Intershop to leverage its competitive advantages and help us better serve our current, as well as prospective, customers and partners.

LOOKING AHEAD
Intershop's e-business offerings are consistently recognized by industry experts as a world-class offerings that help companies optimize relationships with trading partners and leverage the Internet as a true competitive advantage in innovative ways. The entire management team at Intershop is focused on leveraging our strengths, increasing our global visibility in the commerce arena and providing companies - both large and small - best-of-breed e-business software solutions for today and tomorrow.

We are confident that the market strategies and the restructuring program we have put in place will guide Intershop back onto the path to profitability and will allow us to focus our efforts on expanding the market for global e-business solutions and creating value for our investors. From everyone at Intershop, we would like to thank all of our investors, customers and partners for their support. We look forward to updating you on our progress and achievements throughout 2001.




/s/ STEPHAN SCHMBACH
--------------------
Stephan Schambach
Chief Executive Officer

|  LETTER |  Highlights  |  Solutions  |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                       3




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 ...REALIZE OUR VISION


                                                                1995                           1996


                                                                First fully functional         Gaining venture capital
                                                                Internet retailing solutions   First standard software for
                                                                                               e-commerce
                                                                                               First office established in the
                                                                                               U.S.A.
  1992                           1994


  Founded in Jena,               Specialization in Internet
  Germany                        applications and e-commerce



STEPHAN SCHAMBACH
Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer
"Our vision is the Digital Economy that our technologies are helping to create. We enable companies to radically improve the trading relationships with their business partners."

KARSTEN SCHNEIDER
Co-Founder and Senior Vice President Strategic Alliances "Alliances with global players are central to Intershop's strategy. Our partners value both our expertise and the compatibility and flexibility of our products."

[Photo of Stephan Schambach, Karsten Schneider, & Bernhard Marbach Appear Here]


4

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<TABLE>




                                                                1999                           2000

                                                                Enfinity, first e-business     Successful entry into the
                                                                platform based completely      high-end market
                                                                on Internet technologies       Launch of Enfinity 2
                                                                INTERSHOP OPEN, first annual   Listing on NASDAQ
                                                                conference for the Intershop
                                                                community
                                                                Entry into the Asian market

  1997                           1998

  First standard software for    Extension of product range
  e-commerce hosting             Foundation of the holding
                                 company Intershop
                                 Communications AG
                                 IPO on the Neuer Markt of
                                 Frankfurt Stock Exchange



WILFRIED BEECK
Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer "As a software  company,  our focus is on
the license  business.  This  enables us to grow  rapidly and, at the same time,
achieve high margins.  The long-term market potential  justifies a high level of
initial investment."

FRANK GESSNER
Senior Vice President  Engineering  "Our success  depends on the  development of
innovative  technologies that meet the needs of our customers and partners.  Our
products set standards for the industry."

BERNHARD MARBACH
Executive Vice President Sales
"Intershop  offers its  customers  a variety of business  models for  successful
deployment of their  e-business  strategy.  Our  international  presence and our
network of  integration  partners  ensure rapid  implementation  anywhere in the
world."

             [Photo of Frank Gessner and Wilfried Beeck Appear Here]


|  Letter |  HIGHLIGHTS  |  Solutions  |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                       5


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 ...automate
                   relationships)


THE INTERSHOP VISION
Imagine a world in which every  company  conducts all of its  transactions  with
partners and customers - online and in real time. This is Intershop's vision and
our  mission:  to deliver  the  solutions  that  enable  enterprises  to use the
Internet as the  foundation  for all  business,  and to turn the Internet into a
strong and lasting competitive advantage.

Founded in 1992,  Intershop  pioneered  Inter-net-based  business and has been a
driving force in the industry.  Our products  consistently  receive top rankings
from industry  analysts and our customers.  With  headquarters  in San Francisco
(US), Hamburg and Jena (Germany),  Intershop is a global company with operations
in 24 countries.  With more than 200  implementation  partners around the world,
Inter-shop  can provide its customers  with the global  service and support they
need, regardless of how or where their business expands.

Intershop  is  today  one of the  world's  leading  providers  of  comprehensive
e-business  software  solutions.  Our  offerings  empower  companies to optimize
relationships  with  trading  partners  across  the  value  chain,  turning  the
Inter-net  into a  sustainable  competitive  advantage.  With  ultimate ease and
flexibility, Intershop's solutions help the enterprise to:

 *   Increase revenues by maximizing sales through all channels, online and
     traditional
 *   Improve  business  efficiency  and margins by  streamlining internal and
     external business processes
 *   Strengthen relationships with partners and customers through improved
     service and personalized, targeted offerings
 *   Leverage existing  technology  investments by integrating  online processes
     with existing systems.

COMPREHENSIVE SOLUTIONS
Intershop  offers an  industry-leading  e-business  platform,  along  with rich,
cross-industry  and  industry-specific   solutions.  With  Intershop  e-business
solutions enterprises can:

 *   Manage  all  sales  channels  from  a  single  platform  and reduce the
     total cost of ownership of their e-business strategy
 *   Increase business velocity and deliver more value in less time
 *   Integrate their e-business strategy with their corporate initiatives.

[sidebar]

Our technology  partnerships play an important part in ensuring that Intershop's
products are compatible with leading  e-business  technologies.  The integration
with Commerce One, for example,  allows  Intershop to offer its customers access
to the  world's  largest  electronic  marketplaces.  Karen  Hunnicutt,  Business
Development  Manager at Commerce  One, and Thierry  Locard,  Strategic  Alliance
Manager  at  Intershop,  are  responsible  for  developing  concepts  for  joint
marketing.

|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  SOLUTIONS |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                       7



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"THE IMPLEMENTATION OF A HIGHLY SOPHISTICATED MUSIC
WEB SITE IN JUST SIX WEEKS WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN POSSI-
BLE WITHOUT AN ADVANCED RETAILING PRODUCT LIKE ENFINITY     [Photo Appears Here]
AS IT GAVE US A VITAL LEG-UP IN THE DEVELOPMENT RACE."
Mark Reed, Management Consulting Services,
PricewaterhouseCoopers


e-BUSINESS IS PROCESS-CENTRIC
Intershop's  solutions support our customers'  business by providing  components
that address common business processes. The Intershop platform and solutions are
flexible  enough to easily  adapt to changing  business  needs.  As the business
grows,  Intershop  solutions can scale to add more partners,  service additional
customers,  process  thousands of orders and manage  millions of products.  Most
importantly,  Intershop has a proven track record of delivering solutions faster
than many other e-commerce vendors.  Our customers measure  implementation times
in weeks, not months or years.

SUCCESSFUL CUSTOMERS
Numerous  Fortune 2000  companies,  across a range of industries,  have selected
Intershop as the foundation for their  e-business  solutions.  Our  fast-growing
base of more than 3,000 customers  includes large,  global  enterprises  such as
BOSCH, Motorola, and SHELL, as well as companies that help givesmall enterprises
a global presence by offering hosted  services,  including  Etensity,  ISION and
Deutsche  Tele-kom.  Today,  Intershop is part of the  standard for  Application
Service   Providers    (ASPs),    Inter-net   Service   Providers   (ISPs)   and
telecommunications companies throughout the globe.

AUTOMATE RELATIONSHIPS
The Challenge
To  realize  the  full  benefits  of  e-business,   enterprises   must  automate
interactions between their company and their trading partners:

 *      Suppliers
 *      Business Customers
 *      Consumers
 *      Marketplaces

Enterprises need a platform that enables  collaborative  business  processes and
optimizes  business  relationships.  They need an  extendable  solution that can
manage a growing number of partners,  customers,  transactions and products. And
companies need a solution that ensures that all of their business  processes are
working together, seamlessly and efficiently.

The Answer
Intershop delivers a strong e-business  platform along with rich  out-of-the-box
functionality that will quickly link enterprises to buyers, suppliers,  partners
and  customers.  Intershop  integrates  existing  systems,  as well as  those of
partners and customers as quickly,  painlessly and efficiently as possible.  And
Intershop's  solutions  are  extremely  flexible  - they  can  scale  as the
business expands and adapt as the market changes.

www.intershop.com/customers

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                                                            [Photo Appears Here}

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Intershop e-business solutions -
     based on one of the leading e-business platforms


INTERSHOP E-BUSINESS SOLUTIONS
Intershop e-business solutions offer a unique combination of an industry-leading
e-business platform,  Enfinity,  with rich cross-industry and  industry-specific
solutions  comprised of business proven,  flexible  components to manage the key
business processes.

THE PLATFORM: INTERSHOP ENFINITY
Intershop Enfinity provides:
 *   Ease of use and the ability to rapidly design business and workflow
     processes
 *   Open and flexible architecture including advanced developer toolkits
 *   Point-and-click integration with third party products
 *   High scalability and peak performance
 *   Seamless, component-based  integration with back-office and legacy systems,
     such as ERP, CRM, financial, logistics, production
 *   Complete developer support including integration with JBuilder and Rational
     Rose
 *   Complete globalization support for multiple languages and currencies

The Enfinity platform can be easily extended with a set of proven out-of-the-box
business components.  This highly flexible,  modular framework enables Intershop
to provide custom, powerful cross-industry and industry-specific solutions which
address a variety of business needs.


                            [Chart Appears Here]


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  SOLUTIONS |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                       9

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Industry-specific and

               cross-industry e-business solutions


CROSS INDUSTRY SOLUTIONS
Intershop B2B Solution
The Intershop B2B Solution  enables  large-scale  enterprises  to sell direct to
various distributors or business partners via the Internet.  By automating these
selling  processes,  the Intershop B2B solution  increases  sales  efficiencies,
reduces  sales  costs,  and improves  customer  service.  Key  features  include
multiple sales channel integration,  contract-based pricing and integrated order
management.

Intershop B2C Solution
The Intershop B2C Solution  enables  enterprises to establish an e-commerce site
to sell direct to end  consumers.  Advanced  order  processing,  up-selling  and
cross-selling, powerful shopping cart and flexible pricing and discount features
help to make the most of the selling  opportunities.  Intershop understands that
e-business is more than selling  products  through a web-site.  Intershop's  B2C
solution  allows  companies  to  personalize  products  and  pricing,  and offer
value-added   services.   Companies  can  improve  their   marketing  and  sales
efficiencies,   increase  customer  satisfaction,   and  build  strong,  lasting
relationships with their customers.

Intershop Marketplace Solution
The Intershop  Marketplace Solution enables enterprises to reduce their costs of
purchasing  and increase  margins by  providing  the key  components  to build a
private  procurement  marketplace to tightly  integrate the suppliers or connect
multiple  suppliers and buyers.  The  Intershop  Marketplace  Solution  provides
advanced features  comparable to today's large exchanges at significantly  lower
cost and effort. The solution delivers broad marketplace functionality including
diverse  auctions   functionality,   multiple   language,   currency,   and  tax
capabilities  for  global  selling,  multiple  supplier/buyer  integration  with
varying status levels, and advanced authorization  workflow.  With the Intershop
Marketplace Solution, companies can build a private procurement marketplace that
will  allow  themto  leverage  their  buying  power and lower  their  inventory,
management, and procurement costs.

Intershop Supplier Solution
The  Intershop   Supplier  Solution  gives  enterprises  the  power  to  connect
seamlessly to multiple marketplaces.  Enterprises can reach additional customers
and increase  sales,  while reducing the cost of sales.  The Intershop  Supplier
Solution  includes  out-of-the-box  integration  with  Commerce  One and  Ariba,
enabling

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[ Photo appears here]

enterprises  to quickly  connect to all of the  leading  industry  marketplaces.
Additional   features  include  advanced  catalogue   functionality,   real-time
inventory availability, and flexible document exchange.

INDUSTRY SOLUTIONS
In   addition   to   cross-industry   solutions,    Inter-shop   has   developed
industry-specific  solutions,  based  on our  experience  implementing  powerful
solutions for our customers.  With these  offerings,  companies can deploy their
e-business  strategy  even  faster than  before.  Intershop  Industry  Solutions
provide e-business  functionality that addresses core industry needs.  Intershop
has developed custom solutions for:

 *   Automotive
 *   Consumer Goods
 *   High-Tech and Engineering
 *   Retail

During  implementation,  Intershop's rich components will be further refined
according to the individual  workflows and  processes.  We offer a global set of
experienced  implementation  partners  and in-house  consultants  to support the
entire solution life cycle.

                              [Graph appears here]


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  SOLUTIONS |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
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[Photo Appears Here]


COMPLETE SOLUTIONS FOR SERVICE PROVIDERS
More than 50 Internet Service Providers (ISPs) and Application Service Providers
(ASPs) in North America,  South America,  Europe and Asia-Pacific  have selected
Intershop as the foundation for their e-business offerings. Intershop's products
are  designed  to be  quickly  implemented  and  easily  integrated  with  other
applications,  giving ASPs and ISPs a  time-to-market  advantage  in  delivering
high-quality e-business solutions. Because Inter-shop's products scale to manage
a large number of customers and transactions, exceeding the current requirements
of the most highly trafficked  websites,  ASPs and ISPs can meet the current and
future needs of their clients.

Our Service Provider Solutions
Intershop  offers a range of products to give service  providers  the ability to
enable  small  to  mid-sized  enterprises  to  leverage  the  many  benefits  of
e-business.

Intershop Enfinity
The combination of open,  flexible  architecture and  out-of-the-box  components
offered with  Enfinity  provides a complete  solution for service  providers who
target  mid-size  enterprises  looking to e-commerce  to enable their  channels.
Service  providers  may offer  service  levels based on size of  implementation,
integration,  and reselling Intershop solution bundles.  Now small and mid-sized
enterprises also can enjoy the powerful capabilities of an affordable solution.

Intershop 4
Featuring  maximum  flexibility,  Intershop 4's multi-tier  approach is powerful
proof of our  commitment to extending the benefits of e-business to companies of
all types and sizes.

Intershop  4  ePages  ePages  allows  service  providers  to  offer  entry-level
e-business solutions to smaller businesses.  Sellers can deploy e-commerce sites
using automated  features and can add more features and  functionality  as their
businesses grow.

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[Photos Appear Here]


Intershop 4 Hosting
This enables service  providers to host  full-feature  e-business  solutions for
small and mid-sized  sellers in a shared server  environment.  With  Intershop 4
Hosting,  service  providers  can reduce  overhead  costs,  and  quickly  deploy
additional sites.

Intershop 4 Merchant
Intershop 4 Merchant is a dedicated  server  solution  allowing  ASPs to provide
customers  with  all  the  performance,   memory,  and  database  power  that  a
high-traffic site requires.

WWW.INTERSHOP.COM/PRODUCTS

INTERSHOP PARTNERS
Implementation Partners
Intershop   Implementation   Partners  are  recognized  and  proven   enterprise
e-business  integrators and consulting  organizations that excel in successfully
building  Intershop-specific  e-business practices.  Our implementation partners
assist customers at every stage of an e-business  project,  including  technical
realization  and  integration  with  existing  business  systems.  Comprehensive
Intershop  training  programs  ensure that our  partners  are highly  skilled in
deploying Intershop technology-based solutions.

Technology Partners
To ensure the success of our customer's  e-business strategy,  Intershop has
established  strong   partnerships  and  strategic   agreements  with  over  150
technology  partners that offer specialized,  sophisticated  components for:

*   ERP/order  management  integration
*   customer  relationship  management
*   content and service management
*   sales automation
*   payment and security
*   reporting
*   site and traffic monitoring.

Intershop  also  maintains  partnerships  with  Internet  marketplaces  such  as
Commerce  One,  Ariba and  GloMediX,  as well as hardware and software  platform
providers,  including Hewlett-Packard,  Intel, Sun Microsystems,  Compaq, Oracle
and Sybase.

WWW.INTERSHOP.COM/PARTNERS

SERVICES
Intershop offers a worldwide network of qualified  consultants  dedicated to the
professional  needs of our  customers.  Service and  support  for all  Intershop
products are provided through our consulting and support teams around the world.
Services include:

*   A variety of technical support packages, including free upgrades
*   Comprehensive  training and product education to help our customers
    successfully deploy, use and maintain our solutions
*   Consulting  services  to advise on  e-commerce  business models, marketing
    and technical needs
*   Software development for ERP and infrastructure systems.

Customer  service is vital to the operation  and success of  Intershop.  We view
customer service as  mission-critical.  Intershop's  technical support engineers
all  possess a  customer-oriented  attitude.  Any time,  day or night,  from any
location around the world, our customers can access vital Intershop  product and
technical support.

WWW.INTERSHOP.COM/SERVICES


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 ...empower
                        our customer


Sell direct B2B Solution for ABB

ABB is the world's leading supplier of automation technologies, from stand-alone
products to integrated  solutions.  ABB's Business Online  e-commerce  solution,
based on Intershop Enfinity, is designed to simplify the purchasing and handling
of  electric  motors  and  drives.  With  its  fully  featured  Business  Online
e-business  solution,   ABB  Automation   Technology  Products  has  created  an
end-to-end  supply chain  management  (SCM) system for  customers,  partners and
suppliers that incorporates the entire order management process.  This powerful,
Intershop Enfinity-based B2B solution is one of the first personalized Web sites
in  the  automation  industry.  With  customers  able  to  configure  their  own
individual buyer profiles and receive  personalized content each time they visit
the site,  it's now easy for them to access the products and features  they need
without first wading through masses of irrelevant data.

POWERFUL FUNCTIONALITY, FAST TIME-TO-MARKET
"Essentially,  all we wanted was to sell motors over the Internet,"  says Anders
Tollsten of ABB Automation  Technology Products.  Although the required features
and functionality had yet to be specified in detail,  ABB was fully aware of the
enormous  competitive  potential  of a good  B2B  presence.  Adcore,  a  leading
European Internet  Consultant,  delivered a convincing strategy to implement the
required  functionality  within a short timeframe based on Inter-shop  Enfinity.
One of the decisive  factors in choosing the software  platform was the need for
the  fastest  possible  rollout.   This,   together  with  its  scalability  and
flexibility made Inter-shop Enfinity the natural choice.

[side bar]

Intershop  works with  leading  business  consultancies  and system  integrators
worldwide to develop and deploy e-business solutions.  The success shared by our
premium   partner  KPMG   Consulting  GmbH  and  Intershop  is  built  on  close
collaboration on projects such as at Hewlett-Packard  and the development of the
Ariba Connector.  Thomas Hantusch, Alliance Manager at KPMG Consulting GmbH, and
Claudia Gengs,  Alliance Manager for KPMG at Intershop,  have a key role in this
relationship.


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  CUSTOMERS  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      15

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"AT FIRST, WE HADN'T EVEN CONSIDERED SOME FEATURES.
IT WAS ONLY WHEN WE BECAME FULLY AWARE OF WHAT INTER-
SHOP ENFINITY COULD DO THAT WE UNCOVERED NUMEROUS           [Photo Appears Here]
OTHER FUNCTIONS THAT WOULD BE USEFUL FOR OUR CUSTOMERS."
Anders Tollsten, ABB Automation Technology Products


FROM PILOT TO ROLLOUT
First, Adcore created a pilot site with front-end  functionality only. Thanks to
Intershop  Enfinity,  this classic online-shop concept was so effective that ABB
Technology Products became even more eager to have the full B2B system online as
early as possible.  Adcore rose to the  challenge,  taking less than 5 months to
complete work on the complex  Business Online  application with its inventory of
around  14,000  products.  During  the design  phase,  many of the ideas for the
functionality  of the  site  were  inspired  by the  capabilities  of  Intershop
En-finity.  "At  first,  we hadn't  even  considered  some  features,"  explains
Tollsten.  "It was only when we became  fully aware of what  Intershop  Enfinity
could do that we uncovered numerous other functions that would be useful for our
customers."  Following a four-week test phase with three pilot  clients,  during
which the  stability of the ABB solution was  confirmed,  Adcore  rolled out the
finished  system with both  Eng-lish  and German user  interfaces.  The Business
Online system then went live successfully in Germany, Sweden and Denmark. Within
a short space of time,  more than 200 OEM  customers  had  switched to using the
system.

PERSONALIZED, TRACEABLE AND EASY TO USE
"Our aim was to change the supply process between ABB and its customers,  making
it much more  streamlined  and efficient,"  says Christer Wallin of Adcore.  The
first stage was therefore a detailed analysis of ABB's customer  requirements in
order  to  create  an  e-business  solution  uniquely  tailored  to ABB  and its
customers.  "To be able to deliver  the project in time and  according  to ABB's
requirements, we decided to recommend Intershop Enfinity as the suitable product
for the project." adds Wallin. Individual users - including OEMs, end customers,
distributors  and  suppliers  - can now set up their own  personalized  Business
Online  interface and content  quickly and easily.  From the 14,000 products and
components  available  on the  site - which in turn can be  combined  to  create
literally   millions  of   configurations  -  customers  can  create  their  own
personalised  product catalogues for specific motor  configurations.  Customised
content also  includes  technical  information  on  individual  items as well as
details of product availability.  The system can even compare the performance of
a  customer-configured  or standard motor configuration with that of alternative
products on the site.


16

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                                                            [Photo Appears Here]

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Rapidly  applicable,  highly scalable and
extremely  flexible:  three convincing features
that make Enfinity the obvious choice.


Once an order has been  entered,  the customer can track its status in real time
until it is  finally  shipped.  As such,  becomes  the entire  order  management
process completely  transparent to the customer.  If a customer orders a product
that ABB sources from another  manufacturer,  the order is forwarded quickly and
seam-lessly to the external supplier.  Intershop  En-finity also supports mobile
access to the  Business  Online  system  from WAP  phones and  personal  digital
assistants (PDAs). According to Tollsten, "mobile access is certain to become an
increasingly  important  factor in the years ahead."  Apart from the  integrated
motor  configuration   functionality,   which  can  only  be  accessed  using  a
conventional  Web browser,  all features and products on the ABB system are also
available to mobile users.

LEAD TIMES CAN BE SLASHED BY FOUR WEEKS
Thanks to its new e-business  solution,  ABB Automation  Technology Products has
achieved  crucial  reductions  in cost,  lead times and error  rates  across the
entire  supply  chain.  The time  required  from receipt of order to shipment of
motors with customised  shafts for example,  has now been slashed from six weeks
to just two. With its intuitive and user-friendly interface, the Business Online
system has also  minimised  the number of input  errors  made by  customers.  By
ensuring greater accuracy in this way,  Enfinity is now generating  considerable
time and cost  savings for both ABB and its  customers.  The system also enables
customers  to access  product  information,  operating  instructions,  technical
drawings and test data. With its powerful customer-oriented  functionality,  the
solution is delivering  maximum customer  acceptance and  satisfaction,  thereby
strengthening  loyalty among all customer groups. The site also opens up a range
of new  marketing  channels  for ABB, and  facilitates  the  acquisition  of key
customer data.

"INTERSHOP  ENFINITY - THE RIGHT  DECISION"
"Our  decision to choose  Intershop  Enfinity  has been fully  validated,"  says
Tollsten. "I was also delighted to see Enfinity achieve an number one ranking in
the recent  e-business  report by Forrester  Research." With its scalability and
Java/XML-based   architecture,   Intershop   Enfinity   also   offers   built-in
expandability for the Business Online system. Despite the comprehensive range of
integrated  functionality and the large number of transactions  processed on the
site, the system has proved totally  robust and remains fully  scalable.  What's
more,  Intershop  technology even supports the EDI data-exchange  method used by
many ABB customers. Following on from the successful rollout, there are plans to
enhance  interactivity  with customers by implementing new features such as chat
room functionality. Customers will then be able to contribute to the development
of new ABB products by discussing new ideas,  suggestions for  improvements  and
visions for the future.

http://online.abb.com/motors&DRIVES


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  CUSTOMERS  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      17

                              [Photo Appears Here]


VERBUND AG TRADES ELECTRICITY B2B USING ENFINITY

Verbund AG, the  Austrian  market  leader in the  generation,  distribution  and
supply of electricity,  is using its  austrian-power.com  platform to accelerate
the diversification of its customer base. Based on Intershop  Enfinity,  it took
Verbund  AG just a few  months to create a complex  set of IT tools for  selling
electricity online to business  customers.  Incorporation of the risk management
process and phased  integration  of the new solution  into the existing  backend
system spell a real  competitive  advantage  right  across the European  market.
Deregulation  of  electricity  markets has  resulted  in a dramatic  increase in
competition,  with prices in some cases plummeting almost overnight. The reality
of today's  marketplace is that suppliers can no longer  maintain their margins,
leading to a drive for greater efficiency and market transparency. Verbund AG is
responding to this challenge by accelerating the diversification of its customer
base. To succeed,  this strategy calls for a distribution and sales channel that
allows rapid large-scale  penetration both  geographically and within individual
market segments.  "The Internet is the obvious answer with a project like this,"
says Christian Kern, head of strategic marketing at Verbund AG.

RISK MANAGEMENT BUILT-IN
"The main challenge  associated with adopting an e-commerce solution is ensuring
adequate risk management, and not so much the organisation of the process chain.
Unlike books or car tyres,  we're  dealing with a product whose price changes by
the minute.  We're  talking  about  fluctuations  of literally  several  hundred
percent within a single day," explains Kern.  "Without effective risk management
our prices could be out of line with the market, so we either lose money or lose
customers  because  they're  being  charged  too  much.  It's  crucial  that  we
incorporate our risk management process into the online solution."

ELECTRICITY FOR EUROPE - FROM A SINGLE SOURCE
"Our customers  include both  companies that deal in electricity  and industrial
users,  with Germany  being almost a second home market for us," says Kern.  The
aim is that in future business  customers of all sizes,  from small workshops to
major corporations and municipally-owned utility companies, will be able to meet
their electricity needs reliably and efficiently using  austrian-power.com.  The
potential is huge: Verbund AG sees a market of 200,000 businesses in Austria and
several  million in  Germany,  and is also  looking  beyond the  German-speaking
countries where it has


18

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Fulfil new requirements rapidly and unproblematically

                                            with the Visual Pipeline Manager.


traditionally  been active.  In line with the  company's  strategic  objectives,
austrian-power.com  plans to  target  business  users  throughout  Europe in the
coming years.

THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX
Consumption of electricity  varies by customer type and time of day,  leading to
different  demand  profiles.  Since unlike books  electricity  cannot be stored,
generating  capacity  has to be  continually  matched  to demand.  Being  caught
without sufficient capacity means buying in expensive  "outside"  electricity to
keep customers happy. To make sure  austrian-power.com  gets it right, a team of
four  mathematicians  was deployed to come up with all the necessary  algorithms
for the new platform.  After  entering five  parameters  and being assigned to a
customer-specific consumption cluster, each customer will be offered the product
they need at a fair  price and in  realtime.  Kern is already  convinced  of the
benefits:  "This  platform  gives  us a real  competitive  advantage  throughout
Central Europe."

Strong  partners build on Intershop  Enfinity  "When it came to consultancy  and
implementation,  we  decided  to  go  with  Pricewaterhouse-Coopers  Vienna  and
integrator  TWENTY FOUR SEVEN because of their  ability to deliver  reliably and
efficiently.  On the software  side,  the only serious  contender was the proven
global   standard,   Intershop   Enfinity,"   says   Kern.   Walter   Boltz   of
PricewaterhouseCoopers Management Consulting adds: "The most important selection
criteria in  implementing  this  e-business  solution were the  performance  and
flexibility  of the software.  PricewaterhouseCoopers  believes  that  Intershop
Enfinity  is a good  basis  for  implementing  Verbund's  e-business  strategy."
Andreas Jahn, CEO of TWENTY FOUR SEVEN,  puts it like this:  "This platform came
out of the very first  projects  with flying  colours,  offering  stability  and
exceptional  performance even when handling high traffic volumes.  Thanks to use
of the state-of-the-art Java and XML standards,  there are no system limitations
on the planned  expansion  of the  solution,  and even in this first  version we
extended  Enfinity's  Java Class  Library from 120 to 180 classes.  Modelling of
intra-company  authorisation  processes,   special  TAN  number  generation  and
flexible  purchase  limit  monitoring  are  examples  of  cartridges  programmed
specifically for this application.

Comprehensive  scalability  and  flexibility  are  crucial  to  the  success  of
austrian-power.com.  The  Enfinity  Management  Center with its Visual  Pipeline
Manager  is  a  major  aid  to  the  rapid,   painless   implementation  of  new
requirements.  It  all  adds  up -  Intershop  Enfinity  is  clearly  the  right
e-business platform for tackling a project of this size."

INTERSHOP ENFINITY TIES IT ALL TOGETHER
Verbund  AG uses a  complex  set of IT  backend  tools,  from a risk  management
package  to  integration  into other  business  processes  such as SDK's  EULVIS
billing  software and an SAP R/3 ERP system.  Kern sums up thus:  "Deploying  an
Intershop  Enfinity-based  platform  gives us an efficient  way of tying all the
existing tools together,  from sales through  billing and production.  We expect
the investment in this project to pay for itself within the first year."

www.austrian-power.com


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  CUSTOMERS  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      19



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"E-commerce in general and Intershop Enfinity
in particular are critical for our success."

                                                                       INTERSHOP
                                                                        ENFINITY


EXTR@NET AND ENFINITY AS BLAUPUNKT'S EUROPEAN B2B PLATTFORM

As one of the world 's leading  vendors and  innovators of car stereo and mobile
communications systems, Blaupunkt is offering its retail channel a comprehensive
e-business solution,  Extr@Net,  based on Intershop Enfinity. High acceptance by
Blaupunkt 's partners and a steadily increasing stream of revenue helps position
the company at the forefront of innovative business-to-business e-commerce.

The history of  Blaupunkt  - "Blue Dot" in Eng-lish - dates back to 1923.  Radio
was  exciting  and new and a company  named  Ideal  became  known for  producing
high-quality headsets.  After rigorous testing, each unit was marked with a blue
dot,  indicating it had passed  quality  testing.  This symbol became so popular
with  consumers that it also became the company name in 1938.  Today,  Blaupunkt
produces more than 5 million car radios and 400,000  navigation systems annually
and has sold more than 100 million car audio  systems since the first model came
off the  assembly  line in 1932.  A  subsidiary  of the  Bosch  group  with 7000
employees  worldwide,  Blaupunkt owns a defining role for car stereo  technology
that integrates  mobile telephony,  traffic message  channels,  voice controlled
navigation  systems that process digital  traffic  reports to calculate  optimal
driving  routes  automatically.  True to it's  high-tech  pedigree,  the company
embraced  Intershop  e-commerce  technology  to  simplify  processes  and reduce
operating costs for doing business with its strong network of channel  partners.
The solution,  Extr@Net,  won the Bosch e-commerce award for 1999. Then, in 2000
Blaupunkt won a second award: The prize for 'Innovative e-commerce  applications
in Lower Saxony'.

INTERSHOP SATISFIES EXTR@NET'S MULTIPLE NEEDS
Starting in July of 1998,  Blaupunkt moved  aggressively to implement a flexible
and robust  solution for  resellers  that had to satisfy  multiple  requirements
including shopping basket functionality,  24/7 availability,  online checking of
order  status,  distribution  of  digital  marketing  collateral  and  technical
information,   delivery  of  up-to-date   product   information,   promotion  of
merchandizing  collections  and the integration of BIRDS,  the Bosch  Integrated
Retail and  Distribution  System.  "We  realized  early on that EDI and BTX were
limited  technologies,  therefore  we  looked at  e-commerce  to  intensify  the
customer  ties and  simplify  business  with our retail  channel,"  said Andreas
Franke, e-commerce project manager at Blaupunkt.


20

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                              [Photo Appears Here]


"Intershop  was a logical choice because the standard  product  already  offered
many key features as well as the open  architecture  to  integrate  parts of our
modular  distribution  information system which is based on SAP R/3 and exchange
relevant  order data between the mainframe and the store front.  Explaining  the
rapid  growth of  Extr@Net,  Franke  points out that the  techno-savvy  partners
"jumped on the Internet to submit  orders," which led to encouraging  results in
the early stages.

BLAUPUNKT  CUSTOMERS  ACCEPT  E-COMMERCE
Marketing  initiatives  such as free shipping and sharing a percentage of online
revenue with the outside  sales force have lead to steep and steady  inclines of
Extr@Net's  number of users,  log-ins and  orders.  Today,  approximately  three
quarters of  Blaupunkt's  customers are  registered  users and orders placed via
Extr@Net  now account for 30 percent of  Blaupunkt's  total  revenues  and order
value.  During the first 12 months of  production,  more than 12,000 orders were
submitted,  a number that has  increased  to 40,000  during the year 2000.  "Our
goals for Extr@Net were ambitious," said Nikolaus Hogreve,  Blaupunkt's director
of inside sales for Germany.  "We wanted all of our  distributors and 75 percent
of authorized Blaupunkt resellers use the system, to increase order value and to
take half of all orders over the  Internet."  The key benefits of e-commerce for
Blaupunkt include the reduction of operating costs, the  simplification of order
processing, increased convenience for customers and the elimination of redundant
data  entry  to free up man  power  for  more  customer-oriented  activities  in
marketing and sales.  "We are  distributing  an extensive  library of photos and
text through  Extr@Net as well as technical  drawings for ordering spare parts,"
said Franke. "Our ambition here is to completely  eliminate the need for printed
documentation over the coming years."

EXTR@NET AND ENFINITY SUCCEED INTERNATIONALLY
Confident  with the  acceptance  and usage of  Extr@Net  in  Germany,  Blaupunkt
decided to roll out the solution internationally.  Taking advantage of Intershop
Enfinity's   multi-currency  and  language  support,   Extr@Net  is  already  in
production in  Switzerland,  Austria and Por-tugal.  Other countries and regions
that are  scheduled  to go online  during  2001  include  Belgium,  Netherlands,
Hungary,  United Kingdom,  Italy, France,  Spain, Greece and Scan-dinavia.  "The
competition  in our industry is fierce,  therefore we are always looking to gain
the competitive  edge",  noted Hogreve.  To expand the role of e-commerce across
the distribution and retail channels,  Blaupunkt required an electronic commerce
platform that offers  international  language packs,  multicurrency  support and
easy integration with ERP systems through cartridges.  Blau-punkt also considers
using Intershop to support a sell-indirect  business model, hosting e-shops that
enable  their  channel to sell to  consumers.  "Intershop  Enfinity  and our own
hardware-independent  modular e-commerce  application tools enable us to deliver
on  the  promise  to  expand  Extr@Net  worldwide,"  said  Franke.  "After  all,
electronic commerce does not know borders."

www.blaupunkt.de


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  CUSTOMERS  |  Employees  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      21



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 ...work









22


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for you


Our employees are our most important  asset.  Intershop  therefore goes to great
lengths to ensure that employees are  comfortable in their working  environments
and able to  perform  their jobs under the best  possible  conditions.  We place
great  value on  internal  communication  and  teamwork  between  our  locations
worldwide and the various functions.

There is no set way of doing things in the innovative Internet software market -
we set our own standards and expect our employees to embrace  responsibility and
contribute  ideas of their own.  Working at  Intershop  involves  high levels of
flexibility and innovation, coupled with ongoing personal development.

INTERNATIONAL TEAMS
At  Intershop,  we do not just  talk  about  having an  international  outlook -
everything  we do  reflects  the  reality  of  Intershop  as a global  corporate
organization.  Functional and regional  responsibilities  necessitate  networked
cooperation  around the globe.  Our project teams are often made up of employees
of different  nationalities  based in different offices  worldwide,  creating an
environment  where  local  knowledge  can be  exchanged  while at the same  time
building  an  international  corporate  culture.  Regular  telephone  and e-mail
contact  between  employees  and a global  videoconferencing  system  provide an
efficient means of communication at international level.

Our Global  Exchange  Program is  designed to further  promote an  international
exchange  between  locations,  allowing the  transfer of technical  know-how and
nurturing a global corporate culture. For the individual employee,  this program
makes it possible  to gain useful  international  experience.  Establishing  new
offices in other  countries  is also an  important  opportunity  to transfer our
employees'  knowledge,  while offering individuals new creative scope to take on
more responsibility for the business.

[side bar]

Teamwork  across  departmental  and  national  borders  is a feature  of work at
Intershop.  Our global structure  requires an intensive  exchange of information
between  product  development,  services,  marketing  and sales  staff.  That is
especially  true  when it  comes  to the  requirements  of our  customers.  Todd
Burkhalter,  an American  business  consultant  with  Intershop,  and his German
colleague Klauspeter Michel, Director of Consulting,  both operate out of Jena -
here in front of the new Intershop Tower - on international customer projects.


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  EMPLOYEES  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      23



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                          LONDON                                        HAMBURG

        CUSTOMER SUPPORT                           FINANCE

NEW YORK         HUMAN RESOURCES                                        PARIS

                                                   SAN FRANCISCO


LEVERAGING NEW COMMUNICATION CHANNELS
Intershop's  rapid  growth  requires  continual  changes  to our  organizational
structure. In each case, we follow the key principle of preventing the emergence
of  any  barriers  to  communication.   Information  channels  and  organization
structures are therefore always put in place at the same time. Every employee is
provided with the maximum possible information, ensuring transparency and a high
level of  corporate  identification  for each  individual.  In addition to local
information  events such as the weekly meeting for all  employees,  we have also
created new virtual  communication  forums.  A "virtual  company meeting" once a
month gives all employees the opportunity to discuss  current issues  concerning
the company's development directly with management through web conferencing.

A number of technical departments have actively extended the company's intranet,
allowing employees to obtain current information at all times.

RECRUITMENT SUCCESS
2000 saw a sizeable  increase in staff numbers.  We more than doubled the number
of personnel by successfully hiring over 650 new employees worldwide. Mentor and
"buddy" programs facilitate the integration of new employees into the respective
teams, with on-the-job training being the standard approach.  After several days
of induction  training in Jena,  new  employees  receive  training  within their
future work  environment,  enabling them to rapidly develop the necessary skills
and know-how to take on more responsibility at the earliest possible stage.

Our Web site and other Internet recruitment sites have become the most important
recruiting  channels for technical staff,  with some 85% of all applications now
being received online.

Our recruitment activities are focused on Germany, our domestic market. However,
a special  program has also been put in place to hire  applicants  from  outside
Germany who will then spend 2 years with Intershop in Germany.  This  initiative
has enabled  Intershop to access a larger pool of candidates,  especially in the
field of software engineering.


24

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                  SYDNEY                                    CONSULTING

SALES                         PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT                         JENA

      MARKETING                                         TRAINING

                    HONG KONG


TRAINING A HIGH PRIORITY
At  Intershop,  our  employees  have a  stake  in the  rapid  growth  of  global
e-business. At the same time, we also seek to promote their ongoing professional
and  personal  growth by  offering a broad  spectrum  of  training  and  further
education  opportunities.   Intershop  places  particular  value  on  customized
training  programs that ensure  maximum  success for each  individual.  Personal
assessment meetings held every 6 months between employee and supervisor are used
to agree  what  training  should be  undertaken.  Intensive  multi-week  courses
covering the areas of product development, consulting, sales and marketing allow
new employees, in particular,  to prepare quik-kly and effectively for their new
position.  Foreign  language  courses  as well as  numerous  training  offerings
covering  communication  and  presentation  techniques and personnel  management
skills round off our employee training program.

MODERN WORKING ENVIRONMENT
Intershop  is  committed  to building  the digital  economy,  and this vision is
already  a  daily  reality  in our  working  lives.  Written  communication  and
information  processing take place directly online, with every effort being made
to eliminate paper. As a leading player in the e-business  technology sector, we
naturally  also  provide our  employees  with  state-of-the-art  equipment.  Our
international  offices,  most of which are located in attractive cities, offer a
modern working  environment.  The new Intershop Tower in Jena, our worldwide R&D
facility,  provides  our  software  engineers  with an  efficient  communication
infrastructure  and  building  technology  controlled  via a Web  interface.  In
addition  to  investing  in  the  best-possible   technical  equipment  for  our
employees,  we have  taken  many  other  steps to make the  environment  in this
exciting new  building as  attractive  as possible,  and the same applies to our
other sites.  We offer  fitness and sports  activities as well as quiet rooms so
that employees can take a break and recharge their creative batteries.

FIRST EMPLOYEE SURVEY
In  mid-2000,  we  conducted  our first  digital  employee  survey for  European
employees,  with the aim of  developing a human  resources  strategy that better
meets the needs of our employees.  All employees in Germany,  Eng-land,  France,
and Scandinavia were surveyed.  Based on the excellent response rate, we are now
planning a new employee survey worldwide for the end of 2001.

After evaluating the results of the survey, action was taken to further increase
employee  satisfaction.  A key  element  is a complex  project  to  introduce  a
personnel  development  concept.  Every role across all Intershop  divisions and
departments  will  be  recorded,  together  with  the  associated  personal  and
technical  requirements.  This will enable each employee and team leader to draw
up a clear  development  path and career  plan.  Our  employees  can also choose
between  management and technical career tracks, in recognition of the fact that
technical experts in our product development department in particular play a key
part in the company's success.

www.intershop.com/careers


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  EMPLOYEES  |  Share  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      25

[side bar]


 ...share


SHARE DATA
Initial Public Offering
Stock exchange                             Frankfurt Stock Exchange, Neuer Markt
First day of trading                                               July 16, 1998
Offering price (split-adjusted)                                        Euro 3.41
Type of share            Ordinary shares of no par value (value Euro1 per share)
SIN code                                                                  622700
Symbol                                                                       ISH
Indices                                                                 Nemax 50

Stock price as of February 28, 2001                                    Euro 6.16

Performance to IPO price as of February 28, 2001                             81%
Performance 2000/NEMAX 50                                            (42%)/(44%)
0 daily trading volume (February 2001)                        1.2 million shares
Market capitalization as of February 28, 2001 (diluted)          Euro632 million

Outstanding shares as of December 31, 2000                            88,003,016
Diluted shares as of December 31, 2000                               102,532,516

Stock splits
August 23, 1999                                                              1:3
August 16, 2000                                                              1:5

Secondary Listing
Stock exchange                           NASDAQ Stock  Market's  National Market
First day of trading                                        September  29,  2000
Offering  price                                                  $32.09  per ADS
Type of  share                                American Depositary  Shares  (ADS)
Ratio ADS : Ordinary  shares                                                 2:1
Symbol                                                                      ISHP
Indices                                                   NASDAQ Composite Index
Depository bank                                                         Citibank


INVESTOR RELATIONS A PRIORITY
Intershop investors share our vision of the digital economy,  which Intershop is
helping to shape. As a listed company with dynamic  growth,  we are dependent on
the trust of our investors.  Intershop  therefore  strives to keep its investors
informed and up to date on its  strategies and their  implementation.  Long term
investors have the opportunity of benefiting  with us from the market  potential
for e-business technologies.

Active  investor  relations  are a  fundamental  part of  Intershop's  corporate
strategy.  The timely  communication of detailed information via the Internet is
just as important as the regular  exchange of  information  with  investors  and
analysts.   Quarterly  reports,  telephone  conferences,   press  releases,  and
newsletters  are all part of our ongoing  communication  with  investors to keep
them  updated on corporate  developments.  We also  discuss our  objectives  and
strategies face-to-face during roadshows,  investor and analyst conferences, and
in one-to-one  meetings.  Throughout,  Intershop has a strict policy of treating
all investor groups equally. An internal disclosure policy was drawn up in 2000,
ensuring that information is distributed fairly to all market  participants.  In
2000,  several  respected  publications  commended  Intershop  for its  investor
relations.  This  included  receiving  the  European  award for  "Best  Investor
Relations of a New Market Company" (Investor Relations Magazine/Financial Times)
in October 2000.

                              [Graph Appears Here]


SHAREHOLDER STRUCTURE
as of Dec. 31, 2000 (fully diluted), in %


                            [Pie Chart Appears Here]



* Stephan Schambach, Wilfried Beeck, Karsten Schneider


SUCCESSFUL CAPITAL INITIATIVES
After going public on the Neuer Markt of Frankfurt  Stock Exchange in July 1998,
Inter-shop's  IPO on  NASDAQ,  the U.S.  stock  market  for  technology  stocks,
represented  another milestone in our corporate history. On Septem-ber 27, 2000,
1,675,000  stocks were  successfully  placed in the form of  3,350,000  American
Depository  Shares (ADS) and trading  commenced on the NASDAQ.  Intershop is now
also subject to the relevant  U.S.  regulatory  authorities.  In addition to the
primary  objective of improving our competitive  edge in the U.S.  market,  this
second  listing  allowed  Intershop  to access  new  groups of  investors  whose
activities  are limited to shares listed in the U.S.  Ahead of the IPO,  500,000
shares  (split-adjusted)  were placed  privately in August.  On August 16, 2000,
share capital was  quintupled  from corporate  funds,  with the number of shares
increased by the same factor,  in accordance  with the resolution of the general
shareholders' meeting of June 27, 2000. This equates to a 1-for-5 stock split.

MAJOR SHARE PRICE FLUCTUATION
The  Intershop  share price was heavily  influenced in 2000 by the often extreme
fluctuations  on  the  international  stock  exchanges.  In the  first  quarter,
euphoric  sentiment among investors  drove prices up sharply,  particularly  for
high tech and Internet  stocks.  In mid-March,  a broad-based  correction set in
that has continued  into 2001.  Due to negative  news from many  companies and a
process of consolidation in the New Economy sector,  share prices then fell much
further as the year progressed than many market players had anticipated. Despite
better-than-expected  half-year  results for 2000,  Intershop's  share price was
also hit by this downturn.

In the second  half of 2000,  Intershop's  share  price  came  under  additional
pressure due to third quarter results that fell below the expectations raised by
the  first  half  year,   due  to  short-term   investments   in  marketing  and
acquisitions.  At the  beginning of 2001,  the Intershop  share price  plummeted
dramatically  on the  back of a  warning  by the  company  that  fourth  quarter
revenues and results would be significantly  below its own estimates  because of
unexpected order  cancellations which became known at the end of the quarter. As
part of a commitment  to providing  complete and timely  information,  investors
were then  informed  of the  company's  situation  and of its  plans to  improve
earnings by the end of 2001.

www.intershop.com/investor


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  Employees  |  SHARE  |
Financials  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      27

[side bar]

 ... provide

         figures)



                           [Remainder of page blank]

               [Full Page Of Financial Summary Graphs Appear Here]

GROUP MANAGEMENT REPORT AND MANAGEMENT REPORT AG | 29

CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (U.S. GAAP)
     REPORT OF INDEPENDENT AUDITORS | 42
     CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS | 43
     CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS | 44
     CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS | 45
     CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CONVERTIBLE REDEEMBLE
     PREFERRED STOCK AND SHAREHOLDERS'EQUITY | 46
     NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS | 48
     DIFFERENCES BETWEEN U.S. GAAP AND GERMAN LAW | 72

FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AG (GERMAN GAAP)
     BALANCE  SHEET AG | 74
     STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS AG | 75
     NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL  STATEMENTS AG | 76

REPORT OF INDEPENDENT AUDITORS | 84

REPORT OF THE SUPERVISORY BOARD | 85









Intershop  Communications reports consolidated financial statements according to
U.S. GAAP and financial  statements  for the German holding  company,  Intershop
Communications AG, according to German GAAP (HGB).

GROUP MANAGEMENT REPORT AND MANAGEMENT REPORT OF INTERSHOP COMMUNICATIONS AG

OVERALL ECONOMIC SITUATION
Commercial  use of the Internet by both  corporate and private users is becoming
ever more widespread,  and is also triggering structural changes in the business
world.  Whereas the Internet was initially seen primarily as an additional sales
and  marketing  medium,  e-business  has today  become a central  element in the
corporate  strategy  of  an  increasing  number  of  companies.  More  and  more
manufacturers  and other businesses are re-organizing  their business  processes
around the  Internet  instead of simply  providing  content on and access to the
World Wide Web. The greatest  motivators for moving business  processes onto the
Internet are:  increasing  market reach by using  multiple  online  distribution
channels,  improving  customer  relationships and customer service,  and cutting
costs by automating business processes.

In 2000, more than US$650 billion were traded over the Internet in 2000 (source:
Forrester  Research,  2000),  the majority of which were  business  transactions
between companies  (business-to-business).  There was a  correspondingly  strong
demand for e-business  technologies.  According to estimates from leading market
research firms,  corporate spending on e-business  software more than doubled in
2000 over the previous year, while IT investment  increased  overall by only 12%
(source:  surveys by Morgan Stanley Dean Witter and Merrill Lynch).  Researchers
at IDC put total license  revenues  worldwide  for  e-commerce  applications  at
US$4.95 billion with US$3.2 billion  generated by North America,  US$1.1 billion
by Europe,  and US$0.4  billion by  Asia/Pacific.  IDC  estimated  that in 2000,
Internet sales software market to be US$1.5 billion in 2000.

The first few months of 2000 saw the  market  riding a wave of  optimism  as new
Internet  business  models  were  introduced  and many  dot-com  companies  were
launched.  Although the overall market  remained  strong,  demand for e-commerce
software slowed in the second half of the year. The first signs of consolidation
in the  e-commerce  sector became  apparent,  as available  funding for numerous
dotcoms  slowed  dramatically.  As a  result,  established  companies  felt less
pressure to make  e-commerce  decisions and  investments and the sales cycle for
such products increased  significantly.  In addition, the worsening state of the
overall  economy  had a negative  effect on  companies'  willingness  to invest,
especially  in the latter of the year.  This trend was strongest in the U.S. and
Asian markets.

Today,  there  continues  to  be  an  increasing  demand  for  high-performance,
standards-based  software  solutions to manage online business between companies
and their business customers, as well as between companies and consumers.  These
solutions must support the leading Internet technology standards,  to allow easy
integration  with  existing  IT  systems,  and be  flexible  enough  to adapt to
existing and  emerging  business  processes.  In addition,  many  companies  are
looking for  component-based  systems  that offer the ability to create  modular
solutions  tailored to specific  needs.  Despite the fact that more and more new
companies, including established software providers from different segments, are
entering the e-business  software market,  direct competition remains relatively
low. This is because the market is still in an early phase of  development,  and
only a small number of providers can meet customers' demanding requirements.

[side bar]

This management report contains  forward-looking  statements about expected 2001
revenue and earnings, changing market strategies, demand for electronic commerce
software and related  services,  expanding  sales in the  company's  traditional
market  and  anticipated  demand  for  new  offerings.   These   forward-looking
statements  involve a number of risks and uncertainties  that could cause actual
results to differ materially.  The risks and uncertainties  include, but are not
limited to, the following:  business conditions and the general economy; changes
in distribution  choices and channel partners;  competitive  factors;  sales and
marketing  execution;  shifts  in  technologies  or  market  demand.  Additional
information  covering factors that could cause results to differ materially from
projected statements can be found in Intershop's  prospectus dated September 28,
2000,  filed with the Securities and Exchange  Commission as well as in the risk
factors section of this management report.


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      29

The growth of the market for outsourced software (application services) has also
been encouraging.  Small and mid-sized  companies in particular are increasingly
outsourcing their IT systems to Application Service Providers in order to reduce
infrastructure  and  maintenance  costs.  This trend has led to a  corresponding
demand  from  Application  Service  Providers  for strong,  scalable  e-business
solutions  that can be operated  from a central  location  and sold or leased to
other companies.

CORPORATE EXPANSION
In 2000,  Intershop continued its focus on innovative products for e-business in
order to  derive  benefit  from the  growing  demand  for  e-business  software.
Intershop  continued  to  address  this  market  demand  through  a  network  of
international  distribution  and  technology  partners  as well as  growing  the
Company's  own global  presence.  This  strategy  enabled  Intershop  to further
strengthen  its position as one of the world's  leading  suppliers of e-business
software.

For  Intershop,  the year 2000 was marked by expansion  in all sectors,  and the
company was able to significantly expand its business ecosystem,  its network of
customers,  partners and  employees.  The number of software  licenses  sold and
projects  realized  reached new record levels.  The Company's  revenue growth of
166% exceeded that of the market, and also outstripped  Intershop's 1999 revenue
growth of 159%. With the market performing  significantly  stronger in the first
half of the year than we expected, investment in marketing, product development,
and  organization was ramped up - especially in the second half of the year - to
extend our market  position to ensure greater  exposure to future market growth.
Due to the downswing in the second half of the year,  particularly  in licensing
and in our U.S. business,  these investments resulted in a worse year-end result
than  anticipated at the beginning of 2000,  with an overall loss being recorded
despite the profits posted in the first half of the year.

SUCCESSFUL ENTRY INTO HIGH-END MARKET
Our successful  entry into the market for  sophisticated  e-business  enterprise
solutions,  with  the  introduction  of  Enfinity,  marked  a  milestone  in the
company's development,  building on Intershop's established position as a leader
in the market for hosted e-business solution market with its Intershop 4 product
line.  Enfinity,  based on industry standards such as XML and Java, was launched
in the fourth quarter of 1999.  Because of Enfinity's  high level of flexibility
and ease of  integration,  the product was  extremely  well received by industry
analysts, customers, and implementation partners. Enfinity received top rankings
in product  comparison  tests performed by leading market research  companies in
the U.S., the most highly developed market for e-business  solutions,  including
receiving  top  marks in a study of the  world's  leading  e-business  platforms
conducted by Forrester Research in November 2000.

Enfinity's  success in  addressing  customer  needs was also  reflected in sales
figures.  Since its launch in November 1999,  249 En-finity  platforms have been
sold,  219 of them in 2000 alone.  The average sales price for each platform has
climbed significantly since the product's introduction, averaging just under

Euro 200,000 for the year 2000. Switching to a performance-related licensing fee
structure  in the middle of last year  allowed us to better meet our  customers'
needs.  Enfinity customers included both, major international  corporations,  as
well  as  emerging  market  leaders  with  innovative  business  models  such as
electronic marketplaces. Due to Enfinity's relatively short implementation cycle
most installations  have already  successfully gone live, despite the complexity
of the solutions.  Enfinity has also  demonstrated its outstanding  performance,
with many of these installations  handling several thousand  transactions a day.
In a benchmark test  performed by Sun  Microsystems  in November 2000,  Enfinity
achieved top marks for performance.

These successes enabled Intershop to firmly establish itself as a leading player
in this segment with strong credentials in the space of less than a year.

TECHNOLOGY  LEADERSHIP  THROUGH  FOCUS ON  PRODUCT  DEVELOPMENT
The ability to provide  products at the leading edge of technology,  that can be
tailored  to customer  needs and can  continually  be adapted to match  changing
market  requirements  are essential for  Intershop's  ongoing  success.  Product
development therefore plays a particularly  important role at Intershop.  At the
end of 2000,  some 420 software  engineers were employed in product  development
and technical service departments at the company's main R&D facility in Jena. In
October  2000,  a new  development  center was opened in Jena that is  providing
software engineers with the best possible working conditions.

In addition, the acquisition of Owis GmbH and Subotnic GmbH enabled us to extend
our technological expertise in the areas of object-oriented software development
and content management. A central product management function is responsible for
identifying  future market  requirements  and translating  them into appropriate
product  concepts.  Regular  contact with  customers  and partners  ensures that
experience  gained from practical use of the products is  incorporated  into the
product development program.  Intershop Plaza, a private  Internet-based  portal
that provides  Intershop's  customers and partners  with  permanent  access to a
range of services and  information,  was launched in October to further  enhance
communication between Intershop and its partners and customers.

The main  achievements in the area of product  development  were new releases of
the  Inter-shop 4 product  line and of Enfinity,  porting  these  products  onto
additional   server  and  operating   systems,   and  the  introduction  of  new
pre-packaged  interfaces  to  technologies  from  leading  third-party  software
providers.  In July 2000,  the latest  release of the  Intershop 4 product line,
Intershop 4.2, was launched as an outcome of our continuous product improvement.
This  product is targeted at  Application  Service  Providers  and  providers of
e-commerce  hosting  services that enable small and mid-sized  companies to gain
low-cost access to e-commerce.  In addition to extensive new functionality,  the
>>Intershop 4 XML Interface  Developer  Kit<< was also launched for Intershop 4.
Using an  XML-based  standard  interface,  it enables  businesses  to sell their
products  directly  via  electronic   marketplaces  and  In-ternet  portals.  In
February,  an  Intershop 4 interface to eBay,  the  world's  largest  online
auction house, was unveiled.

The product development teams also continued to focus on enhancing Enfinity.  In
November 2000, a year after the product's debut, the second generation, Enfinity
2, was  introduced.  New  functionality  in  Enfinity  2  includes  pre-packaged
integrations  for connecting to electronic  marketplaces and external Web sites,
extended  functionality  through standard  software for integrating  third-party
technologies,  as well as  increased  performance  through  the use of  multiple
servers.

At the same time, the deployment  scope of the Intershop 4 and Enfinity  product
lines was further  expanded by developing  versions for the most frequently used
operating  systems  and server  platforms,  as well as  versions  in other major
languages.  Important milestones included the porting of Enfinity onto the HP UX
server  platform,  completed in early 2001,  and the  development  of a Japanese
version of Enfinity,  a requirement for entering the Japanese market,  which was
completed in November 2000.

In  response  to  strong  demand  for  electronic  marketplaces,  the  Intershop
Marketplace  Tool-kit  was  introduced  in May 2000,  providing a solution  that
enables electronic marketplaces to be built within a very short timeframe.  This
solution is targeted primarily at integration partners, and comprises a range of
Intershop products and services.


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      31

In addition to the core products  Enfinity and Intershop 4, Intershop's  product
portfolio also includes pre-packaged  interfaces  (cartridges) for connecting to
complementary  software  from  leading  technology  providers  in order to offer
customers  end-to-end  e-business  solutions.  Cartridges developed by Intershop
include  connections to the leading ERP software  products,  such as SAP R/3 and
PeopleSoft, to electronic payment systems such as Cyber-Cash,  and to electronic
marketplace systems such as Commerce One. In addition,  Inter-shop's  technology
partners  developed  additional  cartridges  for  content  management,  customer
relationship  management,  e-marketing,  e-logistics and e-analysis,  while also
leveraging  Enfinity's  flexibility  and open  architecture  to  develop  custom
e-business solutions.

STRATEGIC DISTRIBUTION PARTNERSHIPS STRENGTHENED
In 2000,  Intershop  continued  to  strengthen  its  relationships  with leading
international  companies in the e-business  sector. A global strategic  alliance
was  signed  with  Hewlett-Packard  in  May,  relating  to  joint  marketing  of
e-business   systems.   The  agreement   includes   porting  Enfinity  onto  the
Hewlett-Packard  server platform as well Hewlett-Packard  using Enfinity for its
internal and external e-business projects.  The partnership with Hewlett-Packard
has expanded, with Hewlett-Packard  initiating a significant number of contracts
over the course of the year.

In September,  an alliance was forged with Commerce One covering joint marketing
of electronic  marketplaces.  This  partnership  gives  Intershop the ability to
enable suppliers to connect to Commerce One marketplaces. The development of the
corresponding   pre-packaged   integrations   for   Commerce   One   marketplace
technologies  for the Intershop 4 and Enfinity  products  provided the necessary
technical  capability,  and within  just a few months we were able to obtain the
first reference customers for this new type of business model.

Additional  alliances were forged with Intel,  Sybase, and Compaq, which include
Intershop products as part of the e-business offerings of these companies.

Intershop  also  made  progress  in  expanding  its  international   network  of
integration and distribution partners. The launch of Enfinity,  which is easy to
implement due to its open  architecture  and  flexibility,  helped  Intershop to
attract numerous system  integrators and other e-business  service  providers as
distribution  partners. In 2000 alone, more than 10,300 consultants took part in
training  programs  on  Intershop  products,  with  8,000  of  them  trained  on
En-finity.  These numbers  demonstrate  the high level of interest for Intershop
products  among   distribution   partners  and  will  also  help  Inter-shop  to
successfully acquiring and implementing e-business projects via such partners.

SUBSTANTIAL INVESTMENT IN REPOSITIONING
Raising our profile in core regional  markets and  positioning  ourselves in the
market for complex enterprise  software were important  Intershop goals in 2000.
To achieve  this,  In-tershop  significantly  boosted its  marketing  activities
worldwide.  As part of this  repositioning  exercise,  a new logo and  corporate
design were introduced. Intershop presented its
products  and  solutions  at  numerous  trade  shows  and  customer  events,  in
association with its partners,  successfully  generating  customer interest.  In
October,  Intershop  hosted Intershop OPEN 2 in New York, its second global user
conference.  More  than  1,300  customers,  partners,  and  developers  from  54
countries  participated in this exciting  event,  which was well received across
the  industry.  To increase  our brand  profile in the highly  competitive  U.S.
market,  Intershop  ran an  extensive  advertising  campaign  from July  through
September which included both television and print. Our short-term  expectations
regarding  this campaign were not  fulfilled.  In support of our market debut in
Asia,  numerous  press and partner events were  organized,  including a one-week
press roadshow in Asia,  which generated a significant  amount of press coverage
in late 2000.

WORLDWIDE EXPANSION CONTINUED
For Intershop,  the year 2000 was marked by strong  organizational growth in all
areas. The recruitment of new employees was particularly  significant as part of
our global expansion strategy. Due to our market-leading position and reputation
within  the  industry,  Intershop  was able to more than  double  the  number of
employees  within a year.  Numbers grew  worldwide by 674 to 1,218 at the end of
the  year,  with  focus  on  recruiting  in  technical  areas  such  as  product
development,  consulting,  support and training.  In these areas,  the number of
employees  rose from 336 to 623. The sales and  marketing  team welcomed 206 new
employees,  bringing the headcount up to 385 at the end of the year.  The number
of employees in administrative  roles increased by 132 to 210. At the end of the
year,  72% of employees  were deployed in Europe,  21% in the U.S.A.,  and 7% in
Asia/Pacific.

Management and organizational  structures were modified correspondingly to match
the internal growth of the company.  At executive  management  level,  roles and
responsibilities  were  re-defined  at the beginning of the year. In addition to
having executives with global responsibility for product development, marketing,
finances,  and IT,  separate roles were created to manage the three main markets
-Europe,  North  America,  and Asia/  Pacific.  This step was aimed at  allowing
central control of business in these regions, and the positions were filled with
experienced managers,  from within or outside of the company.  During the course
of the year, there were two changes at executive management level in the U.S.A.

At the same time,  we  continued to drive  regional  expansion  forward,  with a
strong focus on Asia and the Middle East, where we established offices in Korea,
Taiwan,  Japan, and Dubai. In Europe, new offices were opened in Zurich,  Berlin
and Ilmenau, Germany, with the latter two being due to acquisitions.

TWO SUCCESSFUL ACQUISITIONS
In July  2000,  Intershop  acquired  Owis GmbH of  Ilmenau,  Germany,  a company
specializing   in  the  development  of  tools  for   object-oriented   software
engineering. Through this acquisition, Intershop gained 90 employees, 70 of whom
are software  engineers with  specialized  skills and project  experience in the
field  of   object-oriented   software   engineering.   The  purchase  price  of
approximately  Euro 4.9  million  was paid  half in cash and half in  shares  of
Intershop Communications AG.

In August, Intershop also acquired 100% of Subotnic GmbH, a specialist developer
of content  management  software  headquartered in Berlin. The purchase price of
approximately Euro 20 million was paid in shares of Intershop Communications AG.
In December 2000, Subotnic was merged with Intershop Software  Entwicklungs GmbH
and integrated into the product development group.

Integration of these two acquisitions  was successfully  completed within just a
few months.

[side bar]

                     [Flow Chart and Pie Chart Appear Here]


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      33

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SUCCESSFUL LISTING ON NASDAQ
In August, share capital was quintupled from corporate reserves,  and the number
of shares increased by the same factor, in accordance with the resolution of the
general shareholders' meeting of June 27, 2000.

In September 2000,  Intershop  achieved a new milestone in its corporate history
with its initial  public  offering  (IPO) on NASDAQ,  the U.S.  stock market for
technology  stocks.  The company has been listed on Germany's  Neuer Markt since
July 1998.  The  primary  goal of the second  listing,  which was linked  with a
capital increase,  was to improve Intershop's  competitive  position in the U.S.
market.  In  March  2000,  share  capital  was  increased  by  2,175,000  shares
(split-adjusted)  from  authorized  capital.  Of these  shares,  500,000  shares
(split-adjusted) were privately placed due to the uncertain outlook on the stock
market.  The resulting net proceeds  amounted to Euro 39 million.  At the end of
September,  the  remaining  1,675,000  shares in the form of 3,350,000  American
Depository  Shares (ADS) were  successfully  placed and trading commenced on the
NASDAQ Stock Market.  The resulting net proceeds amounted to approximately  Euro
112 million.

RISING REVENUES DUE TO ENFINITY
Revenues  in 2000  rose by 166% to Euro  123.0  million,  compared  to Euro 46.3
million the previous year. Licensing  activities  generated 60% of revenues,  up
151% from last year.  The soaring  revenues for software  licenses are largely a
result of launching  new  technologies.  This applies in particular to Enfinity,
with sales running at approximately  Euro 43.0 million,  corresponding to 58% of
total license revenues in the first full fiscal year following its market debut.
Intershop  sold 219 Enfinity  platforms,  at an average price of just under Euro
200,000. Customers choosing Enfinity as their e-business platform included large
international  corporations  such  as  Hewlett-Packard,  Otto  Versand,  Compaq,
Bertelsmann,  Bosch, Man-nesmann Dematic, HB Fuller, Tchibo, ABB, Pechiney, Time
Warner,  Motorola,  Unisys,  Tele  Danmark,  Terra  Networks,  Wella,  Shell and
Deutsche  Telekom,  as well as  innovative  dotcoms and  operators of electronic
marketplaces   such  as   BusinessMart,   efoodmanager,   mytoys.de,   GloMediX,
MarketJazz, allago, Mybau.com, Mercateo.com and Goodex.com.

Although  sales  and  marketing  activity  in 2000 was  focused  on  positioning
Enfinity, license sales for the Intershop 4 product line also rose in comparison
with the previous year,  generating a substantial 42% (including  cartridges) of
total  license  revenues.  Intershop  has  been a  leading  supplier  of  hosted
e-commerce  solutions  for many years with its  Intershop 4 ePages,  Intershop 4
Hosting,  and Intershop 4 Merchant  products.  Customers  choosing  Inter-shop 4
products in 2000 were  primarily  Application  Service  Providers,  telcos,  and
Commerce Service Providers,  including PSINet, Intel, Telecom Italia,  Etisalat,
Sparkasse Leip-zig,  Sparkasse  Karlsruhe,  and Telia. The number of Intershop 4
e-commerce   site  licenses  sold  increased  from   approximately   100,000  to
approximately  340,000,  with  150,000  licenses  being part of one single large
contract (PSINet).

Distribution partners made a significant  contribution to the development of our
business. Overall, distribution partners directly generated 52% of total license
revenues.

Service revenues including miscellaneous revenues rose 192% to Euro 48.9 million
and thus contributed 40% of total revenues.  The increase in services was due to
increasing  implementation,  support,  and training activity  resulting from the
growing  license  business  and  the  introduction  of new  technologies,  which
distribution partners were not yet able to implement unaided.


34

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[side bar]

                   [Two graphs and one pie chart Appear Here]


BUSINESS  IN EUROPE  SUCCESSFUL,  BUT  WEAKER  THAN  EXPECTED  IN U.S.
Revenues increased  significantly across all regions.  Performance in Europe was
particularly  strong,  with revenues climbing 171% to Euro 75.5 million. At 61%,
the contribution of the European business to total revenues  remained  unchanged
from the previous year. U.S. revenues also increased significantly,  rising 116%
to Euro 39.6 million. Toward the end of the year in particular, Intershop's U.S.
business was hit by the  reluctance of many  companies to make IT investments in
view of the worsening overall economic outlook,  coupled with Intershop's weaker
market penetration compared to its U.S.  competitors.  As a result,  revenues in
the U.S.  in the 4th  quarter  of 2000 were  considerably  lower  than  planned.
Asia/Pacific generated revenues of Euro 7.9 million in the first full year after
Intershop entered the market in fall 1999,  corresponding to approximately 7% of
total revenues, despite a slowdown in the market for e-business solutions in the
second half of the year.

93% MARGIN IN LICENSE BUSINESS
Gross  profit  rose 125% to  Euro 74.3  million,  with the  gross  margin in the
licensing business  increasing from 84% to 93%. The reason for this increase was
that  licensing fees were no longer payable for  third-party  database  software
because in the course of the year we stopped  shipping  Enfinity  with  database
software as most customers already have such systems installed. The gross margin
for  services  fell  from 49% to 11%.  This  drop was due  mainly  to the  major
increase in service personnel.  The overall gross margin fell from 71% to 60% as
a result of the higher proportion of service revenues.

INVESTMENTS IN FUTURE GROWTH
In order to strengthen  its  competitive  position in the  expanding  market for
e-business   software,   Intershop   continued  to  invest  heavily  in  product
development,  sales, marketing, and organization. At 117%, however, the increase
in operating  expenses remained  significantly  below revenue growth.  Sales and
marketing  expenses  increased  118% to Euro 75.7 million and  accounted for the
greatest  share of higher  operating  expenses.  The rise in sales and marketing
costs was due to the hiring of many additional  employees in these areas as well
as  an  expansion  of  marketing   activities.   These  activities  included  an
advertising  campaign in the U.S., with costs of  approximately  Euro 7 million.
Research and development  expenses rose 43% to Euro 10.2 million,  primarily due
to the  recruitment  of  new  software  engineers.  General  and  administrative
expenses  rose  146% to Euro  27.6  million.  This was a  result  of  taking  on
additional personnel in administrative  roles,  expanding existing locations and
setting up new  offices,  as well as an  increase  in  allowances  for  accounts
receivable in line with revenue increases. In addition,  particularly at the end
of the year,  allowances for accounts  receivable totaling Euro 6.1 million were
posted,   to  safeguard   against  risks  related  to  anticipated   bad  debts.
Amortization  of  acquired   intangible   assets,   primarily  relating  to  the
acquisition  of Owis GmbH and  Subotnic  GmbH,  amounted  to Euro 1.5 million in
fiscal 2000.


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      35

[side bar]


OPERATING EXPENSES in million Euro

                              [Graph Appears Here]


Key for Graph

Cost of revenues           5.5       13.3   48.7
Research & Development     4.4       7.1    10.2
Sales & Marketing          18.4      34.8   75.7
General & Administrative   6.7       11.2   27.6
Other                      1.9       0      1.5
                           98        99     00

HIGH INVESTMENT LEADS TO LOSS
Since the  unexpected  declining  revenue growth was  insufficient  to cover the
increased  rate of investment in the second half of the year, an operating  loss
of Euro 40.7 million was recorded for fiscal 2000 (against Euro 20.1 million the
previous year). This loss came against a backdrop of small profits posted in the
first and second quarters.  As a percentage of revenues,  the operating loss was
down from 43% to 33%.

Other income and expenses  totaled  Euro 1.8  million  (compared  with  Euro 1.7
million  the  previous  year).  All in all,  the year  ended  with a net loss of
Euro 38.9  million or Euro 0.46  per share,  compared to a net loss of Euro 18.4
million or Euro 0.23 per share for the previous year.

When  calculating  the  losses  per  share,  Intershop  Communications,  Inc.'s
exchangeable  shares were no longer  included;  the previous year's figures have
been restated accordingly.

NET CASH INFLOW OF Euro 72 MILLION
Cash outflows from operating activities came to Euro 41.9 million as compared to
Euro 24.4 million a year ago. This was  primarily due to the operating  loss for
the year and the  increase  in  accounts  receivable  resulting  from  increased
revenues. Cash outflows from investment activities amounted to Euro 49.4 million
as compared to Euro 7.5 million a year ago. This amount reflects  investments in
computer hardware, software and office equipment amounting to Euro 20.6 million,
which  were  mostly  related to the hiring of  additional  personnel,  expanding
existing  locations  and setting up new offices,  and  investments  in the money
market of Euro 27.0  million.  Cash inflows  from  financing  activities,  which
particularly  reflect  proceeds  from the issuing and placement of common stock,
were Euro 161.8 million. Overall, there was a cash inflow of Euro 72.0 million.

IMPROVED ASSET STRUCTURE
Current assets  increased  Euro 115.8 million to Euro 156.5  million,  or 75% of
total assets.  As a result of the capital  increase,  cash and cash  equivalents
(including  marketable  investments)  increased  Euro 99.5 million to Euro 111.6
million.  Trade  receivables  rose  by 59% to Euro  37.0  million,  and  thereby
proportionately  less than  revenues.  Working  capital  increased by Euro 111.2
million to Euro 121.2  million.  Goodwill  and acquired  intangible  assets were
capitalized at the end of the year with a value of Euro 25.6 million.

Short-term  liabilities  roseEuro  4.6  million  to  Euro  35.3  million.  Here,
repayment of a shareholder  loan and a decrease in deferred  revenue were offset
by an increase in accounts payable and accrued liabilities.

[side bar]

CASH FLOWS in million Euro


                              [Graphs Appear Here]

Key for Graph

Net cash provided by (used in) financing    52.7     9.8     161.8
activities
Net change in cash and cash equivalent      29.1     (22.1)  72.0
Net cash provided by (used in) operating    (21.0)   (24.4)  (41.9)
activities
Net cash provided by (used in) investing    (3.8)    (7.5)   (49.4)
activities
                                            98       99      00

Shareholders' equity increased Euro 151.1 million to Euro 174.0 million. Paid-in
capital rose due to the capital increase from authorized capital, offsetting the
higher  operating  loss.  As regards  shareholders'  equity,  share  capital was
increased  from  capital  reserves  by a factor of five in  accordance  with the
resolution  of the general  shareholders'  meeting of June 27, 2000.  The equity
ratio increased from 43% to 83%.

FOREIGN CURRENCY EXCHANGE RATE
Transactions  carried out by our various  operations  are  denominated  in their
respective  local  functional  currencies and are translated  into the reporting
currency  (the  euro) at the end of the  period.  A  significant  portion of our
business is conducted in currencies other than our reporting  currency,  and are
not pegged to the euro exchange  rate,  the most important of which are the U.S.
dollar and the pound sterling.  Since regions that do not conduct business using
the euro reported  losses for 2000, the on average lower value of the euro had a
negative impact on the company's operating results.

INTERSHOP COMMUNICATIONS AG HIGHLIGHTS
Intershop  Communications AG is the parent company that controls the operational
entities  of  the  Intershop   Communications  group  of  companies.   Intershop
Communications  AG is a corporation  that is registered in Germany and publishes
financial  statements in  compliance  with the German GAAP.  The company's  main
activities  include the management of its holdings and assets as well as certain
central functions for the Intershop group. The number of AG employees  increased
from 7 to 12 as an average for the year.

As part of our strategy to expand our regional presence, additional subsidiaries
were established  overseas in 2000 and included in the consolidated group. These
include Intershop  Communications Hong Kong Co. Ltd., Inter-shop  Communications
Korea, Intershop  Communications Taiwan, Intershop Communications Singapore Pte.
Ltd., Intershop Communications Japan, and Intershop Communications Australia Pty
Ltd.

This expansion  strategy  resulted in operating  losses for all  subsidiaries in
2000,  with their  capital  needs being  covered  through  loans from the parent
company.

As a holding  company,  Intershop  Communications  AG generates no revenues from
sales. Due to the significant deterioration in earnings and shareholders' equity
for  Intershop   Communications,   Inc.,  the  company's  American   subsidiary,
exceptional  write-offs  amounting  to Euro 88.7  million  were  recorded.  This
resulted  in Euro 17.3  million in  write-offs  for the book value of  Intershop
Communications,  Inc.,Euro 46.3 million in write-offs for  receivables  due from
Intershop   Communications,   Inc.,  andEuro  25.2  million  in  write-offs  for
receivables due from Intershop Communications GmbH, which, for its part, is owed
receivables in the same amount by Intershop Communications,  Inc. Therefore, the
company  ended  fiscal 2000 with  negative  earnings of Euro 89.3  million  from
ordinary business  activities,  compared to positve Euro 1.4 million a year ago.
Euro 12.5  million in  extraordinary  income  resulted  from stock  sales with a
calculated  proportion  of 50,000 of the company's  common stock.  Extraordinary
expenses  resulting from our initial public  offering on NASDAQ amounted to Euro
10.6 million.  The annual net loss came to Euro 87.5  million,  compared to last
year's Euro 1.3 million profit for the year.

Non-current  assets  decreased  from  Euro 38.1  million  in 2000  to  Euro 29.7
million, which consisted exclusively of holdings in subsidiary companies. Due to
allowances for accounts receivable, receivables from subsidiaries decreased from
Euro 55.1 million to Euro 47.8 million. Cash and cash equivalents increased from
Euro 6.4  million  to  Euro 98.0  million.  Shareholders'  equity  rose from
Euro 92.5  million to Euro 175.4  million.  As a result of the  conversion  from
capital  reserves,  common  capital  rose  to  Euro 88.0  million,  compared  to
Euro 16.9  million from the previous year.  Capital  reserves rose to Euro 178.8
million due to capital  increases and selling  stocks.  The equity ratio came to
99.4%. Loan repayments  reduced  liabilities to Euro 0.8 million compared to the
previous year of Euro 7.6 million.


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      37

RISK FACTORS
Various  risk  factors  could prove to be a threat to the  financial  situation,
assets, earnings and existence of Intershop:

*  The market  for  e-commerce  applications  is still  relatively  new and is
   subject to ongoing change.  Even for the short term, future  developments are
   therefore hard to predict.  Accordingly,  any forecasts carry a high level of
   uncertainty.  For planning  purposes,  Intershop uses analyses available from
   market  research  companies as well as the information it obtains through its
   many contacts with other market participants. However, there is a fundamental
   risk that market trends may not be recognized in a timely  fashion,  and that
   management may fail to gauge the demand for e-business  solutions with regard
   to customer requirements and volume correctly.

*  Intershop   competes   directly   with  other   providers  of   e-business
   technologies.  In such a  dynamic  market,  it must be  assumed  that new and
   existing  providers will  significantly  improve their product  portfolio and
   their sales operations. Intershop's market position could be threatened if it
   does not succeed in maintaining or improving its competitiveness  with regard
   to the profile and quality of its  products and  services,  and the manner in
   which they are marketed.

*  Intershop's success in the market is heavily dependent on the technical
   performance  of  its  products.  Software  faults  that  lead  to  restricted
   functionality   or  performance   of  existing  and  future   products  could
   considerably reduce the acceptance of our products.

*  Intershop has taken  extensive  measures to protect the brand names it uses
   worldwide.  Nonetheless,  there is always a possibility  that  conflicts with
   third  parties may arise  concerning  the use of individual  brand names.  In
   accordance  with  the  prevailing  standards  in  Europe,  the  programs  and
   technologies  developed by  Intershop  do not enjoy total patent  protection.
   Although Inter-shop takes great care in protecting its intellectual property,
   it is impossible to rule out violation of property  rights by third  parties.
   It is also  possible  that  third  parties  may  take  legal  action  against
   Intershop  for  violation  of patents  or other  rights as happend in January
   2001. Patent disputes are widespread in the software  industry,  particularly
   in the U.S., and are often associated with significant costs for court action
   or out-of-court settlements.  Although Intershop is convinced that it has not
   violated  any  patents,  it is  impossible  to rule out a negative  impact on
   Intershop's operating results due to such claims from third parties.

*  When choosing e-business software, customers base their decisions also on a
   provider's  reputation  and  profile,  not  just  on the  performance  of its
   products.  Should Intershop fail to achieve the necessary profile and desired
   image with its target groups, this could have a negative effect on demand for
   Intershop products.

*  Intershop's  products are largely sold and implemented by IT sales and
   service  companies.  If  Intershop  does not succeed in training a sufficient
   number of these  companies in the use of our products and attracting  them as
   partners, it could negatively impact sales of the products.

*  The success of Intershop's business also depends substantially upon the
   performance of executive  officers and key employees,  especially in the area
   of product  development  and sales.  Failure to retain present  employees and
   executive  officers and to attract  sufficient numbers of new personnel could
   have a negative effect upon the company's operating results.

*  Licenses  account  for the  greater  share  of  Intershop's  revenues.
   According to U.S. GAAP, software license revenues are recognized as such when
   sales  agreements  have been signed,  the licenses have been  delivered,  the
   license fee is fixed and determinable,
   and payment is probable.  If a sale  includes  services that are essential to
   the features and  functionality  of the software,  revenues are recognized as
   such in proportion to the extent of  completion  of the overall  project.  In
   view  of  the   uncertainty   with   respect  to  the  length  of  sales  and
   implementation  cycles, which primarily depends upon our customers,  revenues
   are subject to strong  variation  from one quarter to the next.  Given that a
   small  number  of  large  contracts  often  account  for a large  portion  of
   revenues,  this effect can be very marked.  Since operating costs are heavily
   dependent  on the  number of  personnel  employed  at any one time and cannot
   therefore  be  significantly  varied  in the  short  term,  this  means  that
   fluctuations in revenue may result in corresponding fluctuations in operating
   results.

*  In the software industry, a large portion of license revenues are often not
   recorded evenly over a quarter, but rather toward the end of a quarter.  This
   is due to the fact that in many cases  contracts  are not  awarded  until the
   last third of a quarter.  Because  license  revenues are  dependent on orders
   received from customers, uncertainty as to whether the planned revenue target
   will be achieved remains well into the quarter.

*  Intershop  earns a portion of its revenues from start-up  companies.  These
   companies  have  only a short  history  and  limited  liquidity,  leading  to
   uncertainty about their long-term viability and solvency.  Also,  established
   companies  may  refuse  payment,  even if there are no  objective  grounds to
   justify  such a  refusal.  There  is no  guarantee  that  Intershop  will  be
   successful  in any  legal  action to  enforce  payment.  Although  Inter-shop
   reviews its customers' credit status before posting revenues, an accumulation
   of  higher  than  expected  bad debts  could  negatively  impact  Intershop's
   financial situation and earnings.

*  To a great extent,  the operating and financial  results of our  operations
   are  reported  in local  currencies  that  are not  pegged  against  the euro
   exchange rate and  translated  into euros for  inclusion in our  consolidated
   financial  statements.  Since no hedging or other arrangements have been made
   to guard  against the risk of currency  fluctuations,  currency  fluctuations
   could affect the results of operations and Intershop's earnings.

*  Up to  now,  Intershop  has  incurred  a  net  loss  each  year  and  had a
   consolidated  accumulated  deficit of Euro 84.3 million as of year-end  2000.
   Plans to continue to invest in operational  activities in order to strengthen
   the  company's   market  position  may  also  have  a  negative  effect  upon
   profitability  in the  future  and  reduce  the  company's  liquidity.  As of
   December  31,  2000,  cash  and  cash   equivalents   (including   marketable
   securities)  came to Euro 111.6  million.  Although the  Management  Board is
   confident  that the current level of cash and cash  equivalents is sufficient
   for financing  future business  development,  it may be necessary,  if losses
   persist,  for  Inter-shop to seek new funds through a capital  increase or in
   the form of outside  capital.  If it is not  possible  to acquire  sufficient
   capital, Intershop could be forced to delay, reduce or completely discontinue
   operations.

*  As of December 31, 2000, after adjustments were made,  accounts  receivable
   due to  the  parent  company  Intershop  Communications  AG  from  affiliated
   companies came to a total of Euro 47.8 million.  Although  outstanding  debts
   are considered as an intrinsic  element of our assets,  the possibility  that
   these companies may not be able to repay these accounts cannot be excluded if
   they  continue  to  report  losses  in  the  future.  Furthermore,  Intershop
   Communications AG has given Intershop Software  Entwicklungs GmbH a letter of
   comfort covering lease obligations of Euro 33.3 million up until November 14,
   2013.

RISK MANAGEMENT
Intershop's  Management Board has anticipated  these risks and taken appropriate
measures.  Important aspects of the company's strategy include a forward-looking
product  policy to anticipate  developments  in the  marketplace  and the future
needs of customers,  emphasis  upon product  development  and the  technological
performance of our products.  Also included in this strategy are ongoing efforts
to boost the company's profile with the relevant target groups, the formation of
new business partnerships and alliances,  training for third parties who market,
sell and deploy  Intershop  products,  as well as measures to retain and recruit
executive officers and key personnel, and providing the necessary organizational
infrastructure.

Risks to the company's future development cannot be completely excluded,  due to
ever-changing  market trends and the limited  planning  certainty with regard to
the  license  business.  Intershop  has set up a risk  management  system in its
various  divisions  to counter  these  risks.  In the  context of its  strategic
controlling activities, the company monitors market trends and the activities of
its competitors on an ongoing basis and also makes use of the studies of leading
market  research  companies.  Inter-shop  maintains a  comprehensive  system for
project management and quality control in the area of product development, where
risk awareness plays a major role. In sales and marketing,  order  opportunities
are  constantly  being  researched,  assessed  with  regard to  likelihood,  and
incorporated  into revenue  forecasts on a weekly basis.  By involving the legal
and financial  departments at an early stage of the contract  negotiations  with
customers,  we are able to ensure that the criteria  laid down in U.S.  GAAP for
recognizing revenues are observed from the start.


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      39

With  Pivotal,  SAP R/3 and  Hyperion,  Intershop  uses  the  same  systems  for
monitoring  current  business  and trends  worldwide.  These  systems  permit an
overview of the company's present and future situation at all times. Monthly and
quarterly   statements  ensure  that  information  on  business  trends  remains
up-to-date.  In addition to annual  budget  planning,  budgets are reviewed each
quarter and adjusted if necessary.  Ongoing accounting and controlling  provides
regular  information  on  deviation  between  target and  actual  figures in the
individual areas. In conjunction with the sales forecasts,  which are updated on
a weekly  basis,  a preview for the current  quarter is generated  several times
throughout the quarter,  although its accuracy  cannot be guaranteed in general.
In addition,  management  regularly  analyzes the  company's  assets,  financial
position  and  earnings.  Weekly,  and  sometimes  even  daily,  meetings of the
executive  management  team as well as further  routine  meetings of managers at
regional or  departmental  level ensure that there is an  efficient  exchange of
information and a rapid  decision-making  process.  The Management Board informs
the Supervisory Board at least once a quarter,  but typically more often,  about
important  corporate   developments.   Our  internal  guidelines  for  corporate
governance,  insider trading and disclosure  ensure that legal  requirements and
stock exchange regulations,  as well as international  management standards, are
observed.

The Management  Board plans to continue  improving  Intershop's  risk management
system in the future.  In addition to other  issues,  improvement  will focus on
ongoing  reviews of the  company's  organizational  efficiency as well as on the
instruments used for corporate planning.

SUBSEQUENT EVENTS
After  discovering at the end of December that a number of  significant  license
orders which had been  expected at the end of the year,  especially in the U.S.,
would no longer be awarded,  the Management Board issued a compulsory  statement
on January 1, 2001 warning  that  revenues and hence also results for the fourth
quarter of 2000 would be considerably below market  expectations.  The effect on
the  market  was  that  the  Intershop   Communications   AG  share  price  fell
significantly.

In view of the disappointing revenue and operating results in the fourth quarter
of 2000, the Management Board, in close cooperation with the Supervisory  Board,
drew up a program  of  initiatives  to improve  the  financial  situation.  This
package was made public on January 31,  2001,  and contains  the  following  key
measures:

*  Realignment of business activities in the U.S., with U.S. operations concen-
   trating  on  revenue-generating  activity  by  intensifying  strategic  sales
   partnerships,  as  well  as  focusing  on  selected  market  segments  in the
   business-to-business sector where Intershop has a clear comparative advantage
   over its U.S. competitors.

*  Increasing   efficiency   by   restructuring   the  global   organization,
   centralizing  global  functions in Germany,  and exploiting the potential for
   boosting  efficiency  across all locations.  These measures also included 200
   layoffs worldwide by the end of January,  particularly in marketing, service,
   and  administrative  areas. In the next few months,  only sales staff will be
   hired, and personnel urgently needed to fill key management positions.

*  More effective leveraging of revenue opportunities by intensifying existing
   relationships  to  international  customers and  distribution  partners.  The
   product  portfolio  will also be extended to include new modules and vertical
   solutions.

In January,  a new worldwide  partner program was launched.  The purpose of this
program  is  to  intensify   business   relationships,   particularly  with  key
distribution  partners.  New  contracts  have already been signed with the first
partners, offering better mutual support for both sides. As part of our moves to
strengthen the senior management team, Michael  Tsifidaris,  formerly a director
at IBM with responsibility for central Europe, has been appointed Vice President
Central  Europe and General  Manager of Intershop  Software  Entwicklungs  GmbH,
effective February 1, 2001. In March,  Wilfried Beeck,  member of the management
board,  assumed  the new  role of  Chief  Operating  Officer.  In this  position
Wilfried Beeck is responsible for  Intershop's  day to day operations  including
sales,  marketing,  services and  administration.  In  mid-January,  an American
company filed a suit with a U.S. court against Intershop  Communications,  Inc.,
claiming  viola tion of patent  rights.  Based on previous  legal  opinions  the
Management  Board is  convinced  that no third  party  patent  rights  have been
violated.  In early March the Company  became  aware that two  securities  class
action   complaints   were  filed  in  the  United  States   against   Intershop
Communications AG and other defendants alleging misrepresentations and omissions
of material facts  concerning the Company's  business  performance.  The Company
believes  there is no merit to these  cases and  intends to defend  these  cases
vigorously.

OUTLOOK
The Management  Board firmly  believes that demand for e-business  software will
continue  to grow  significantly  over the next few  years,  with  more and more
companies  integrating  e-business  into their  corporate  strategy or expanding
their e-business  activities.  Forrester  Research  (Forrester  Research,  2000)
estimates  that the value of goods and  services  traded  on the  Internet  will
increase to US$6.8  trillion by the year 2004,  or 8.6% of overall trade volume.
This is more than ten times the amount traded online in 2000. Market researchers
at IDC (IDC,  2000)  estimate  that  global  license  revenues  from  e-commerce
applications will reach US$23.0 billion in 2004,  compared to US$4.95 billion in
2000. The share of e-commerce  applications license revenues is forecast to rise
from 6.2% of total software license revenues to 18.1%.

In the short term,  it remains to be seen  whether the  slowing  U.S.  and Asian
economies will have a sustained  negative impact on IT spendings.  Surveys of IT
managers  toward the end of 2000  indicate  that growth in corporate IT spending
will probably be less strong in 2001 than in the previous  year.  However,  they
also indicate that e-business technologies will less affected than other areas.

Analyses  from  independent  market  research  companies  available to Intershop
suggest that Intershop's products meet current and future customer  requirements
for  e-business   software.   With  its  network  of  international   customers,
distribution partners and technology partners,  and its international  presence,
Intershop is well  positioned  to profit long term from growth of the market for
e-business software.

To take maximum  advantage of revenue  opportunities  and increase the company's
efficiency,  the Management  Board and employees of Intershop will take resolute
action over the next few months to implement the measures  announced in January.
The Management Board expects implementation of these measures to be completed by
mid-2001, and anticipates stable operating costs and increasing license revenues
as a result,  with the effects being particularly  noticeable in the second half
of the year. Based on the expectation that these measures will prove successful,
the Board plans the Company to be profitable  on a quarterly  basis level by the
end of the year.

For 2001  overall,  the Board expects  losses to be unchanged  over the previous
year,  and subdued  revenue  growth.  Based on  Intershop's  strong  position in
Europe,  a  significant  increase in  revenues is expected in Europe,  while the
Board  expects  revenues in the U.S. and Asia/  Pacific to remain at last year's
levels.  It remains to be seen how fast the realignment of the U.S. business can
be achieved,  and how the state of the overall  economy there affects  corporate
investment.  In  Asia/Pacific,  where  the  e-business  market  is  still  in  a
relatively  early phase of  development,  a sustained  recovery of the  Internet
sector will be needed to generate strong growth. With regard to the distribution
of revenues between the license and service business,  the company expects lower
growth of service revenues as more distribution partners deliver  implementation
services,  particularly  in the second  half of 2001,  with the share of license
revenue increasing accordingly compared to the previous year.


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      41

REPORT OF INDEPENDENT AUDITORS

We  have   audited  the   consolidated   financial   statements   of   Intershop
Communications  AG as of December 31, 2000,  including the consolidated  balance
sheet and the related consolidated statements of operations, cash flows, changes
in  shareholders'   equity  and  notes  for  the  year  then  ended.  The  legal
representatives  of the company are  responsible for the preparation and content
of the consolidated  financial  statements.  Our responsibility is to express an
opinion,  based on our audit,  whether these consolidated  financial  statements
have been prepared in accordance with accounting  principles  generally accepted
in the United States.

We  conducted  our audit in  accordance  with the German  Auditing  Rules and in
compliance with the generally accepted  standards of auditing  prescribed by the
German    Institute   of   Certified    Public    Accountants    (Institut   der
Wirtschaftspruefer) and in accordance with auditing standards generally accepted
in the United States. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit
to  obtain  reasonable  assurance  about  whether  the  consolidated   financial
statements  are  free of  material  misstatements.  In  establishing  the  audit
procedures we considered our knowledge  about the group's  business  operations,
its economic and legal  environment,  and  expectations of possible  errors.  An
audit includes examining,  on a test basis,  evidence supporting the amounts and
disclosures  in  the  consolidated  financial  statements.  The  audit  includes
assessing the accounting  principles used and significant  estimates made by the
legal  representatives,  as well as evaluating the overall  presentation  of the
consolidated  financial  statements.  We  believe  that  our  audit  provides  a
reasonable basis for our opinion.

In our opinion,  the consolidated  financial  statements present a true and fair
view of the group's financial position,  results of operations and cash flows in
accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States.



Hamburg, March 7, 2001

ARTHUR ANDERSEN
Wirtschaftspruefungsgesellschaft
Steuerberatungsgesellschaft mbH






/s/ NENDZA                 /s/ SCHNEIDER
-----------------          -----------------
Nendza                     Schneider
Wirtschaftspruefer          Wirtschaftspruefer

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(in thousands Euro , except share and per share amounts)

                                                 For the Year Ended December 31,
                                                           1999            2000


ASSETS

CURRENT ASSETS
   Cash and cash equivalents                             12,065          84,062
   Marketable securities                                      -          27,509
   Restricted cash                                        1,437             168
   Trade receivables, net of allowances for doubtful
   accounts ofEuro 1,614 andEuro 5,181, respectively     23,333          36 984
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets              3,870           7,793
   Total current assets                                  40,705         156,516
PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT, NET                               5,610          22,054

INVESTMENTS                                               6,222           2,550

GOODWILL AND ACQUIRED INTANGIBLE ASSETS, NET                  -          25,562

OTHER ASSETS                                              1,252           2,773

TOTAL ASSETS                                             53,789         209,455

LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

CURRENT LIABILITIES:
   Current debt and current maturities of long-term debt     33             193
   Notes payable to shareholders                          7,000               -
   Accounts payable                                       5,149          10,345
   Accrued liabilities                                    9,960          17,973
   Deferred revenue                                       8,543           6,817
   Total current liabilities                             30,685          35,328

NOTES PAYABLE TO SHAREHOLDERS                                20               -

DEFERRED REVENUE                                            220             159

TOTAL LIABILITIES                                        30,925          35,487

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES (NOTE 9)

SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Common stock, stated value Euro 1 --authorized:
154,187,975 shares; outstanding: 84,390,520 and 88,003,016
shares at December 31, 1999 and 2000, respectively       16,878          88,003
   Paid-in capital                                       48,169         168,585
   Notes receivable from shareholders                      (141)              -
   Deferred compensation                                   (273)              -
   Accumulated deficit                                  (45,406)        (84,329)
   Accumulated other comprehensive income                 3,637           1,709
   Total shareholders' equity                            22,864         173,968

TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY               53,789         209,455

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.


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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      43

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(In thousands Euro , except per share amounts)


                                               For the Year Ended December 31,
                                                  1998        1999        2000

REVENUES

   Licences                                     11,295      29,534      74,068
   Services, maintanance and other revenue       6,577      16,732      48,926
   Total revenues                               17,872      46,266     122,994

COST OF REVENUES

   Licences                                      1,742       4,786       5,289
   Services, maintanance and other revenue       3,766       8,465      43,453
   Total costs of revenues                       5,508      13,251      48,742

GROSS PROFIT                                    12,364      33,015      74,252

OPERATING EXPENSES
   Research and development                      4,368       7,115      10,191
   Sales and marketing                          18,368      34,771      75,743
   General and administrative                    6,729      11,206      27,590
   Legal settlement costs                        1,866           -           -
   Amortization of acquired intangible assets        -           -       1,477
   Total operating expenses                     31,331      53,092     115,001

OPERATING LOSS                                 (18,967)    (20,077)    (40,749)

OTHER INCOME (EXPENSE)
   Interest income                                 968         515       1,591
   Interest expense                               (797)        (42)       (571)
   Other income                                  1,488       1,215         806
   Total other income                            1,659       1,688       1,826

NET LOSS                                       (17,308)    (18,389)    (38,923)

ACCRETION OF REDEEMABLE PREFERRED STOCK           (220)          -           -

NET LOSS ATTRIBUTABLE TO COMMON SHAREHOLDERS   (17,528)    (18,389)    (38,923)

BASIC AND DILUTED NET LOSS PER SHARE             (0.38)      (0.23)      (0.46)

SHARES USED IN COMPUTING BASIC
AND DILUTED NET LOSS PER SHARE                  45,965      79,883      84,134

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial  statements.  All
balances for years prior to 1999 have been restated from Deutsche marks to euros
using the exchange rate as of January 1, 1999.


CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
(in thousands Euro)

                                                          For the Year Ended December 31,
                                                             1998        1999        2000

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Net loss                                               (17,308)    (18,389)    (38,923)
   Adjustments to reconcile net loss to cash
   used in operating activities:
   Depreciation and amortization                            1,657       2,076       7,114
   Provision for doubtful accounts                            269       2,037       6,130
   Amortization of deferred compensation                      162         308         273
   Loss on disposal of equipment                                -           -          71
   Legal settlement costs                                   1,866           -           -
   Change in:
   Accounts receivable                                     (4,080)    (18,220)    (19,596)
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets               (1,695)     (1,474)     (4,202)
   Other assets                                               (58)       (830)     (2,987)
   Accounts payable                                           436       2,228       4,877
   Deferred revenue                                        (3,245)      1,542      (1,787)
   Accrued expenses and other liabilities                   1,013       6,298       7,152
   Net cash used in operating activities                  (20,983)    (24,424)    (41,878)

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Investment in Unaffiliated Company                        (512)     (1,199)          -
   Cash paid for acquisitions, net of cash acquired             -           -      (3,036)
   Restricted cash                                              -      (1,227)      1,269
   Purchases of equipment, net of capital leases           (3,302)     (3,625)    (20,626)
  Purchase of available for sale securities                     -      (1,490)    (27,039)
   NET CASH USED IN INVESTING ACTIVITIES                   (3,814)     (7,541)    (49,432)

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Proceeds from sale of preferred stock                    1,873           -           -
   Proceeds from sale of common stock, net of offering
   costs ofEuro 3,799,Euro 0, andEuro 10,033, respectively 52,104       1,759     168,679
   Proceeds from debt issuance                              1,975       7,937      10,758
   Collection on notes receivable from stockholders             -       1,287         141
   Repayments of indebtedness                              (3,233)     (1,144)    (17,791)

NET CASH PROVIDED BY FINANCING ACTIVITIES                  52,719       9,839     161,787

Effect of change in exchange rates on cash                  1,205           6       1,520
Net change in cash and cash equivalents                    29,127     (22,120)     71,997

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF YEAR                5,058      34,185      12,065

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF YEAR                     34,185      12,065      84,062

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial  statements.  All
balances for years prior to 1999 have been restated from Deutsche marks to euros
using the exchange rate as of January 1, 1999.




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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      45



CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CONVERTIBLE REDEEMABLE
PREFERRED STOCK AND SHAREHOLDERS'EQUITY
(in thousandsEuro , except share data)

                                                       Convertible Redeemable
                                                           Preferred Stock                 Common Stock
                                                          Shares    Amount             Shares  Stated Value

BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 1997                            39,600,000     4,986         33,139,050             -
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

   Net loss                                                    -         -                  -             -
   Foreign currency translation adjustments                    -         -                  -             -
   Issuance of common stock of Inc.                            -         -            300,000             -
   Issuance of Series D preferred stock                1,169,550     1,873                  -             -
   Issuance of common stock to member of supervisory           -         -            250,005            43
   board
   Issuance of common stock for cash and forgiveness of
   legal settlement obligation                                 -         -            900,450           153
   Accretion of preferred stock                                -       220                  -             -
   Conversion of preferred stock of subsidiary
   to common stock of parent,
   net of share amounts not converted                (37,841,550)   (7,079)        37,841,550             -
   Shares not converted                               (2,928,000)        -        (13,230,000)            -
   Reclassification for formation of AG                        -         -                  -         9,894
   Issuance of common stock in initial public offering,        -         -         15,000,000         2,557
   net
   Exercise of stock options                                   -         -          3,723,450           634
   Deferred compensation                                       -         -                  -             -
   Amortization of deferred compensation                       -         -                  -             -
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 1998                                     -         -         77,924,505        13,281
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
   Net loss                                                    -         -                  -             -
   Foreign currency translation adjustments                    -         -                  -             -
   Unrealized gain on available for sale security              -         -                  -             -
   Conversion of common stock of subsidiary
   to common stock of parent                                   -         -          2,233,500           416
   Change in stated value of common stock                      -         -                  -         2,449
   Exercise of stock options                                   -         -          4,232,515           732
   Collections on notes receivables from stockholders          -         -                  -             -
   Amortization of deferred compensation                       -         -                  -             -
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 1999                                     -         -         84,390,520        16,878
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
   Net loss                                                    -         -                  -             -
   Foreign currency translation adjustments                    -         -                  -             -
   Unrealized loss on available for sale securities, net       -         -                  -             -
   Private Placement of Common Stock, net                      -         -            500,000           100
   Issuance of Common Stock for Secondary Offering, net        -         -          1,675,000           335
   Conversion of preferred stock of subsidiary
   to common stock of parent                                   -         -            280,000            56
   Issuance of Common Stock for Acquisitions                   -         -            275,011           275
   Exercise of stock options                                   -         -            882,485           334
   Capital Contribution                                        -         -                  -             -
   Collections on notes receivables from stockholders          -         -                  -             -
   Amortization of deferred compensation                       -         -                  -             -
   Allocation of par value resulting from stock split          -         -                  -        70,025
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 2000                                     -         -         88,003,016        88,003
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial  statements.  All
balances for years prior to 1999 have been restated from Deutsche marks to euros
using the exchange rate as of January 1, 1999.



                                                                 Accumulated Other
Common Stock          Notes         Deferred     Accumulated         Comprehensive     Total Shareholders'     Comprehensive
        APIC     Receivable     Compensation         Deficit          Income(Loss)         Equity(deficit)      Income(Loss)

         468           (400)               -          (9,489)                 (172)                 (9,593)
           -              -                -         (17,308)                    -                 (17,308)          (17,308)
           -              -                -               -                   135                     135               135
         186              -                -               -                     -                     186                 -
           -              -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
         596              -                -               -                     -                     639                 -


       5,661              -                -               -                     -                   5,814                 -
           -              -                -            (220)                    -                    (220)                -



       7,079              -                -               -                     -                   7,079                 -
           -              -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
      (9,894)             -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
      44,774              -                -               -                     -                  47,331                 -
         394         (1,028)               -               -                     -                       -                 -
         961              -             (961)              -                     -                       -                 -
           -              -              162               -                     -                     162                 -

      50,225         (1,428)            (799)        (27,017)                  (37)                 34,225           (17,173)
           -              -                -         (18,389)                    -                 (18,389)          (18,389)
           -              -                -               -                   652                     652               652
           -              -                -               -                 3,022                   3,022             3,022


        (416)             -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
      (2,449)             -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
       1,027              -                -               -                     -                   1,759                 -
           -          1,287                -               -                     -                   1,287                 -
        (218)             -              526               -                     -                     308                 -

      48,169           (141)            (273)        (45,406)                3,637                  22,864           (14,715)
           -              -                -         (38,923)                    -                 (38,923)          (38,923)
           -              -                -               -                 1,523                   1,523             1,523
           -              -                -               -                (3,451)                 (3,451)           (3,451)
      38,900              -                -               -                     -                  39,000                 -
     111,876              -                -               -                     -                 112,211                 -


         (56)             -                -               -                     -                       -                 -
      22,586              -                -               -                     -                  22,861                 -
       4,635              -                -               -                     -                   4,969                 -
      12,500              -                -               -                     -                  12,500                 -
           -            141                -               -                     -                     141                 -
           -              -              273               -                     -                     273                 -
     (70,025)             -                -               -                     -                       -                 -

     168,585              0               (0)        (84,329)                1,709                 173,968           (40,851)



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FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      47

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

1  | ORGANIZATION AND OPERATIONS OF THE COMPANY

Intershop Communications AG, a German stock corporation (the "Company"),  is the
successor to Intershop  Communications,  Inc. and Intershop Communications GmbH.
Intershop  Communications  GmbH was  originally  founded  in 1992 as  NetConsult
Communications  GmbH in  Germany  as a  limited  liability  company.  NetConsult
Communications   GmbH  established  a  wholly  owned   subsidiary,   Net-Consult
Communications,  Inc., a Delaware  corporation,  in March 1996.  These companies
were   subsequently   renamed  Intershop   Communications   GmbH  and  Intershop
Communications, Inc. (the predecessor company), respectively.

In December 1996,  Intershop  Communications,  Inc. (U.S.,  Inc.) entered into a
share exchange  agreement with Intershop  Communications  GmbH (GmbH) to acquire
100% of GmbH's  outstanding  shares.  The  shareholders  of GmbH's common shares
received common shares in U.S., Inc. Holders of existing debt (approximatelyEuro
1.1  million)  and  capital   (approximatelyEuro   200,000)  in  GmbH,  totaling
approximatelyEuro  1.4 million,  received 6,720,000 shares of preferred stock in
U.S.,  Inc.  The fair  value of the  preferred  stock  issued  was  equal to the
carrying  value of the debt and  capital for which it was  exchanged.  The share
exchange did not alter the relative  ownership  interest of the parent  company.
Upon completion of the transaction, U.S., Inc. became the parent company of GmbH
and its subsidiaries.

On June 23, 1998,  the holders of 79.26% of the shares of U.S.,  Inc.  exchanged
their shares of preferred and common stock of U.S., Inc.,  totaling  20,591,348,
into 61,729,050 shares of the Company.  As a result of this  transaction,  U.S.,
Inc.  became a  majority-owned  subsidiary  of the  Company.  Two  stockholders,
including Stephan Schambach,  our founder and Chief Executive  Officer,  did not
contribute  all of their shares of U.S.,  Inc. due to certain tax  consequences,
and, as of December 31, 2000, still hold 16.0% and 1.5%, respectively,  of U.S.,
Inc.'s common stoCk These two stockholders are entitled to exchange their shares
in U.S.,  Inc.  for shares in the Company at a ratio of 1:3,  using  conditional
capital  specifically  approved for this purpose.  The instruments held by these
individuals  are considered to be part of the majority  interest in AG given the
related party nature of the holdings, their conversion rights and their probable
conversion,  given the fact that they are subject to  repurchase at US $0.01 per
share if not  converted by 2004.  Accordingly,  the cost basis of such shares is
included  in  additional  paid  in  capital  in  the  accompanying  consolidated
financial  statements.  Conversions of U.S., Inc. shares to AG shares subsequent
to the initial  conversion in June 1998 are treated as an increase to the stated
value of the common stock and a  corresponding  decrease to  additional  paid in
capital.  During 1999,  these  stockholders  converted  744,500 common shares of
U.S., Inc. for 2,233,500  shares of the Company.  During the year ended December
31, 2000,  these  stockholders  converted 93,333 common shares of U.S., Inc. for
280,000 shares of the Company.  As of December 31, 2000, these stockholders held
4,548,167 shares in U.S., Inc., and these shares are convertible into 13,644,500
shares of the  Company  at any  time.  If these  two  shareholders  were to have
converted  their shares as of December 31,  2000,  they would own  approximately
13.4% of the Company.

The  accompanying  consolidated  financial  statements  reflect the consolidated
results of the Company and its wholly and  majority  owned  subsidiaries,  which
have been prepared  according to United  States  generally  accepted  accounting
principles ("U.S. GAAP"). All significant intercompany transactions and balances
between the companies have been eliminated.

With the  introduction  of the euro (Euro ) on January 1, 1999,  the Company has
elected to present the accompanying  consolidated  financial statements in euro.
Accordingly, the Deutsche mark consolidated financial statements for each period
presented  have been restated  into euro using the Deutsche  mark/ euro exchange
rate as of January 1, 1999 of Euro 1 = DM 1.95583.  The  Company's  restated
financial  statements in euro depict the same trends as would been  presented if
it had continued to present its  consolidated  financial  statements in Deutsche
marks. The consolidated financial statements will, however, not be comparable to
financial  statements  for  periods  prior to  January  1, 1999 in euro of other
companies that  previously  reported their  financial  information in a currency
other than Deutsche marks.

Unless  otherwise  noted,  all  references to the  "Company"  refer to Intershop
Communications AG and its subsidiaries, as well as its predecessors.

The Company is a global provider of electronic  commerce  software  applications
that enable  businesses  to sell their  products and services over the Internet.
The  Company's  products can be integrated with existing business systems to
allow  its  customers  to sell  goods and  services  over the  Internet  without
replacing their existing business systems. The merchandising capabilities of the
Company's products, such as customer profiling and cross-selling, help allow
its customers to maximize sales revenues. The Company also provides professional
services for its customers to assist in the installation and ongoing maintenance
of its software applications.

During  1997,  the Company  commenced  commercial  shipment of its  products and
emerged from the development stage. Although no longer in the development stage,
the Company continues to be subject to the risks and challenges similar to other
companies in a comparable stage of development. These risks include, but are not
limited to,  operating in a new and rapidly  evolving  market,  competition from
larger  companies,  dependence  on new products,  dependence  on key  personnel,
uncertain profitability, and a limited operating history.

 2  | SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES

USE OF ESTIMATES
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with accounting principles
generally  accepted in the United States  requires  management to make estimates
and assumptions  that affect the reported  amounts of assets and liabilities and
disclosure of  contingent  assets and  liabilities  at the date of the financial
statements  and the  reported  amounts  of  revenues  and  expenses  during  the
reporting period. Actual results could differ from those estimates.


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      49

FOREIGN CURRENCY TRANSLATION
The functional  currency of the Company's  operations  outside of Germany is the
local  country's  currency.  Consequently,  assets and liabilities of operations
outside  Germany are  translated  into euros using  exchange rates at the end of
each  reporting  period.  Revenues and expenses  are  translated  at the average
exchange rates prevailing  during the period.  Cumulative  translation gains and
losses are reported as a separate component of shareholders' equity.

STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS
The Company paid Euro 540,000, Euro 37,000 and Euro 561,000 in cash for interest
in 1998, 1999 and 2000, respectively e Company paid Euro 13,000, Euro 61,000 and
Euro 40,100  in cash for  taxes in 1998,  1999 and 2000,  respectively.  The Com
issued stock valued at  Euro 22,861,000 in conjunction with acquisitions in 2000
(see Note 6).

The Company  considers all  investments  with original  maturities of 90 days or
less to be cash equivalents.

CONCENTRATION OF CREDIT RISK
Financial  instruments that potentially subject the Company to concentrations of
credit risk  consist  primarily  of accounts  receivable.  The Company  performs
ongoing credit  evaluations of its customer's  financial  condition and the risk
with  respect to trade  receivables  is further  mitigated  by the fact that the
Company's customer base is diversified.

FAIR VALUE OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS
The carrying amounts of the Company's financial instruments,  including cash and
cash  equivalents,  accounts  receivable,  accounts  payable and long-term  debt
approximate their fair values.

All balances within accounts receivable are due within one year.

Marketable  securities  designated  as available for sale are recorded at market
with any  unrealized  gain or loss being  recorded in the  shareholders'  equity
section of the Balance Sheet.

PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT
Property and  equipment are stated at cost.  Capital  leases are recorded at the
present value of the future minimum lease  payments at the date of  acquisition.
Depreciation  is computed  using the  straight-line  method  over the  estimated
useful lives of the assets,  generally three years. Capital leases and leasehold
improvements  are  amortized  on a  straight-line  basis over the shorter of the
lease terms or their estimated useful life.

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT COSTS
The Company  accounts for internally  generated  software  development  costs in
accordance  with Statement of Financial  Accounting  Standards  ("SFAS") No. 86,
"Accounting for the Costs of Computer  Software to be Sold,  Leased or Otherwise
Marketed."   Capitalization  of  software  development  costs  begins  upon  the
establishment  of  technological  feasibility of the product,  which the Company
defines  as the  development  of a working  model  and  further  defines  as the
completion of beta testing of the software.  The  establishment of technological
feasibility  and the ongoing  assessment  of the  recoverability  of these costs
requires  considerable  judgment by management with respect to certain  external
factors,  including,  but not  limited  to,  anticipated  future  gross  product
revenue,  estimated  economic  life and  changes in  technology.  Such costs are
reported at the lower of  unamortized  cost or net  realizable  value.  To date,
internal software  development costs that were eligible for capitalization  have
not been significant and the Company has charged all software  development costs
to research and development expense as incurred.

The Company expenses all research and development costs as incurred.

LONG-LIVED ASSETS
The Company periodically  evaluates the recoverability of the carrying amount of
its  long-lived  assets in  accordance  with SFAS No. 121,  "Accounting  for the
Impairment of Long-Lived  Assets and for  Long-Lived  Assets To Be Disposed Of".
Whenever events or changes in  circumstances  indicate that the carrying amounts
of those assets may not be  recoverable,  the Company will compare  undiscounted
net cash flows  estimated to be generated by those assets to the carrying amount
of those assets.  When these  undiscounted cash flows are less than the carrying
amounts of the assets,  the Company will record  impairment  losses to write the
asset down to fair value,  measured by the discounted  estimated net future cash
flows expected to generated from the assets. During the years ended December 31,
1998, 1999, and 2000, management believes that no such impairments exist.

ADVERTISING COSTS
Advertising  costs are  expensed as incurred.  Advertising  expenses of Euro 1.5
 million,  Euro 4.2  million and Euro 13.2  million were included with sales and
 marketing expenses for 1998, 1999 and 2000, respectively.

STOCK-BASED COMPENSATION
The Financial  Accounting  Standards Board issued SFAS No. 123,  "Accounting for
Stock-Based Compensation," in October 1995. This accounting standard permits the
use of either a fair value based method of accounting  or the method  defined in
Accounting  Principles  Board  Opinion  25,  "Accounting  for  Stock  Issued  to
Employees"  ("APB 25") to account  for  stock-based  compensation  arrangements.
Companies  that elect to employ the method  proscribed by APB 25 are required to
disclose the pro forma net income  (loss) that would have  resulted from the use
of the fair value based  method.  The Company has elected to continue to account
for its stock-based  compensation  arrangements  under the provisions of APB 25,
and,  accordingly,  it has included in Note10 the pro forma disclosures required
under SFAS No. 123.


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REVENUE RECOGNITION
The Company generates the following types of revenue:

Licenses. License fees are earned under software license agreements primarily to
end-users,  and to a lesser  extent  resellers and  distributors.  Revenues from
licenses to end-users are recognized upon shipment of the software if persuasive
evidence of an  arrangement  exists,  collection of the resulting  receivable is
probable  and the fee is fixed  and  determinable.  If an  acceptance  period is
required, revenues are recognized upon the earlier of customer acceptance or the
expiration of the acceptance period.

Service and maintenance. Services consist of support arrangements and consulting
and education  services.  Support  agreements  generally call for the Company to
provide  technical  support and provide  certain rights to unspecified  software
updates to customers. Revenue on technical support and software update rights is
recognized ratably over the term of the support agreement.  The Company provides
consulting and education  services to its customers;  revenue from such services
is generally recognized as the services are performed.

For  arrangements  that include multiple  elements,  the fee is allocated to the
various  elements  based on  vendor-specific  objective  evidence of fair market
value established by independent sale of the elements when sold separately.

In June 1997,  the Company  entered  into a software  license  agreement  with a
shareholder for total license fees of Euro 10.1  million,  which was received in
cash in 1997. The Company  recognized the revenue associated with this agreement
over the  three-year  term of the  agreement.  In 1998,  the Company  recognized
Euro 3.4 million of revenue associated with this agreement, and Euro 0.8 million
related to other agreements with this customer,  which combined  represented 23%
of  consolidated  revenue in 1998.  In 1999,  the  Company  recognized  Euro 4.2
million  of  revenue   associated   with  this  agreement   representing  9%  of
consolidated  revenue in 1999. In 2000, the Company recognized  Euro 2.4 million
of  revenue  associated  with this  agreement  representing  2% of  consolidated
revenue in 2000. In 1999,  executive  from this customer  became a member of our
Supervisory Board.  Another member of our Supervisory Board is also an executive
with another one of our customers. Sales to this customer represented 6%, 2% and
3% of consolidated revenue in 1998, 1999 and 2000,  respectively.  Besides these
two  customers,  no other  customer  accounted  for 10% or more of  consolidated
revenues for any year presented.

COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
In June 1997,  the  Financial  Accounting  Standards  Board issued SFAS No. 130,
"Reporting Comprehensive Income," which the Company adopted beginning on January
1,  1998.  SFAS No. 130  establishes  standards  for  reporting  and  display of
comprehensive  income  and  its  components  in a full  set of  general  purpose
financial  statements.  The  objective of SFAS No. 130 is to report a measure of
all changes in equity of an enterprise that results from  transactions and other
economic  events  of  the  period  other  than  transactions  with  shareholders
("comprehensive income"). Comprehensive income is the total of net income (loss)
and all other non-owner changes in shareholders' equity.

Accumulated   other   comprehensive   income   consists  of  the  following  (in
thousandsEuro ):

                                                         Year Ended December 31,
                                                           1999            2000

Foreign currency translation adjustment                     615           2,138
Unrealized gain (loss) on available-for-sale securities   3,022            (429)
                                                          3,637           1,709

In the year ended December  31,1998,  the only component of other  comprehensive
income  is the net  foreign  currency  translation,  which was  Euro 135,000.  A
summary  of the  components  of other  comprehensive  income  for the years ende
December 31, 1999 and 2000 is as follows (in thousands Euro ):



                                           Year Ended                              Year Ended
                                       December 31, 1999                       December 31, 2000
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
                              Before Tax     Income     After Tax     Before Tax     Income     After Tax
                                  Amount        Tax        Amount         Amount        Tax        Amount

Unrealized gain (loss) on
available-for-sale                 3,022          -         3,022         (3,202)      (249)       (3,451)
securities

Foreign currency
translation adjustment               652          -           652          1,523          -         1,523

                                   3,674          -         3,674         (1,679)      (249)       (1,928)



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<PAGE>


EARNINGS PER SHARE
Basic net loss per common  share is presented  in  conformity  with SFAS No. 128
"Earnings  Per Share"  for all  periods  presented.  Basic net loss per share is
computed  using the  weighted-average  number of  vested  outstanding  shares of
common stock. As discussed in Note 1, certain  shareholders hold shares in U.S.,
Inc., and these shares were previously included in basic weighted average common
and common equivalent shares outstanding for the purpose of calculating earnings
per share.  The Company has restated  earnings per share to exclude these shares
from the  calculation of basic earnings per share.  For the years ended December
31, 1998 and 1999, basic net loss per share previously reported were Euro (0.29)
and Euro (0.19),  in comparison with a restated basic earnings per share of Euro
8) and Euro (0.23).

Diluted  net loss per share is  computed  using the  weighted-average  number of
vested shares of common stock  outstanding  and, when dilutive,  unvested common
stock outstanding, potential common shares from options and warrants to purchase
common stock using the treasury  stock  method and from  convertible  securities
using the  as-if-converted  basis.  The options  exercised that result in shares
subject to  repurchase  have been  excluded in computing  the number of weighted
average shares outstanding for basic earnings per share purposes.  All potential
common shares have been excluded  from the  computation  of diluted net loss per
share for 1998,  1999 and 2000  because the effect  would be  antidilutive.  The
weighted-average  number of vested shares of common stock  outstanding  includes
the shares of U.S., Inc.,  converted at a ratio of 1:3, held by two shareholders
of the Company as discussed further in Note 1.

The following table provides a reconciliation of the numerators and denominators
used in  calculating  basic and diluted  earnings  per share for the three years
ended  December 31, 2000,  respectively  (in thousands  Euro ,  except per share
data):



                                                              Year Ended December 31,
                                                          1998         1999        2000

Net loss attributable to common shareholders           (17,528)     (18,389)    (38,923)
   Basic net loss per share:
   Weighted average common shares outstanding           48,590       82,633      85,884
   Less: Weighted average shares subject to repurchase  (2,625)      (2,750)     (1,750)
   Total weighted average common shares                 45,965       79,883      84,134
   Basic net loss per share                              (0.38)       (0.23)      (0.46)
   Diluted net loss per share:
   Weighted average common shares outstanding           45,965       79,883      84,134
   Add: Weighted average
   shares subject to repurchase                              -            -           -
   Convertible shares of U.S., Inc.                          -            -           -
   Common Stock option grants                                -            -           -
Total weighted average common shares
   and common stock equivalents                         45,965       79,883      84,134
Diluted net loss per share                               (0.38)       (0.23)      (0.46)



RECENT ACCOUNTING PRONOUNCEMENTS
In June 1998,  the  Financial  Accounting  Standards  Board issued SFAS No. 133,
"Accounting for Derivative  Instruments and Hedging  Activities," which requires
companies to record  derivative  financial  instruments  on the balance sheet as
assets or liabilities,  measured at fair value.  Gains or losses  resulting from
changes in the values of those  derivatives  would be accounted for depending on
the use of the derivative and whether it qualifies for hedge accounting. The key
criterion for hedge accounting is that the hedging  relationship  must be highly
effective in achieving  offsetting  changes in fair value or cash flows. In June
1999, the FASB issued SFAS No. 137,  "Accounting for Derivative  Instruments and
Hedging Activities - Deferral of the Effective Date of FASB Statements No. 133,"
which amends SFAS No. 133 to be effective for all fiscal  quarters of all fiscal
years  beginning  after June 15, 2000 (or January 1, 2001 for the  Company).  In
June 2000, the FASB issued Statement No. 138, "Accounting for Certain Derivative
Instruments and Certain Hedging  Activities - an Amendment of FASB Statement No.
133." SFAS 138  amends  SFAS 133 to (a)  exclude  from the scope of SFAS No. 133
nonfinancial  assets that will be delivered in quantities expected to be used or
sold by a company over a reasonable  period in the normal course of business and
for which physical delivery is probable, (b) permit hedging


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<PAGE>


of a benchmark interest rate, (c) allow hedging of  foreign-currency-denominated
assets and liabilities and (d) allow for limited hedging of net foreign currency
exposures.  The Company has no derivative  financial and commodity  instruments,
forward contracts or hedging  arrangements in cash and cash  equivalents.  These
statements should not have a material impact on the current financial  condition
or results of the Company's operations.

RECLASSIFICATIONS
Certain  amounts  in  the  prior  years'   financial  statements  have  been
reclassified to conform to the current year presentation.

3  | PREPAID EXPENSES AND OTHER CURRENT ASSETS

Prepaid expenses and other current assets consisted of the following (in
thousandsEuro ):

                                                       December 31,
                                            1999                      2000

Trade show and advertising prepayments       178                       203
Receivables from employees                     -                       568
VAT receivable                             2,435                     2,406
Other                                      1,257                     4,616
TOTAL                                      3,870                     7,793

4  | PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT

Property and equipment consists of the following (in thousandsEuro ):

                                1999      ADDITIONS     DISPOSALS       2000

Computer equipment              7,724        13,581       (1,004)     20,301
Furniture and fixtures          2,552         3,467         (113)      5,906
Leasehold improvements            332         5,990            -       6,322
Subtotal                       10,608        23,038       (1,117)     32,529
Accumulated depreciation       (4,998)       (6,312)         835     (10,475)
PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT, NET     5,610                                 22,054

Equipment under capital leases included in property and equipment as of December
31, 1999 was Euro 114,000. Accumulated amortization of leased equipment was Euro
81,000 as of December 31, 1999.  The leases were paid in full as of December 31,
2000.

5  | INVESTMENTS
During 1998 and 1999, the Company made  investments  in a non-public  company in
Israel totaling Euro 0.5 million and Euro 1.2 million,  respectively.  The total
investment of Euro 1.7  million in this entity represen n ownership  interest of
approximately  6% as of December 31, 2000. The  investments are carried at their
original cost basis.

Investments  in  debt  and  marketable  equity  securities  are  categorized  as
available-for-sale  and are  stated at fair  value,  with  unrealized  gains and
losses,  net  of  deferred  income  taxes,  reported  as a  component  of  other
comprehensive income.

As of December 31, 1999 and 2000, available-for-sale securities consisted of the
following (in thousands Euro):


                                                  Gross          Gross
                                             unrealized     unrealized      Estimated
December 31, 1999                   Cost          gains         losses     fair value

Equity securities                  1,490          3,022              -          4,512
Investment funds                       -              -              -              -


                                                  Gross          Gross
                                             unrealized     unrealized      Estimated
December 31, 2000                   Cost          gains         losses     fair value


Equity securities                  1,490              -           (650)           840
Investment funds                  27,039            470              -         27,509




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6  | ACQUISITIONS

OWIS SOFTWARE GMBH
In July 2000, the Company acquired the assets of Owis Software GmbH ("Owis") for
26,550  shares of the  Company's  capital  stock,  the market value of which was
approximately  Euro  2.4  million,  and  approximately  Euro 2.5  million  in ca
resulting in an aggregate purchase price of approximately Euro 4.9 million.  The
value assigned to the shares issued was determined  based on the market price of
the  Company's  common  stock over a period of time before and after the Company
and  Owis  had  reached  agreement  on  the  purchase  price  and  the  proposed
transaction  was  announced.  The  Company  did not  assume  any  options in the
transaction.  The  acquisition  was  accounted  for using the  purchase  method.
Accordingly,  the purchase  price was  allocated to the assets  acquired and the
liabilities  assumed,  based on the  completion  of the  evaluation  of the fair
values  of  Owis's  assets  and  liabilities  at the  date of  acquisition.  The
following is a summary of the purchase price allocation (in thousands Euro ):

Current assets and other tangible assets                     1,263

Liabilities assumed                                         (1,292)

Assembled workforce                                            530

Goodwill                                                     4,409

                                                             4,910

The acquired  assembled  workforce  and goodwill  are being  depreciated  over a
period of three years.  The operating  results of Owis have been included in the
consolidated  income statements from the date of acquisition.  The allocation of
purchase price is based on preliminary estimates of fair value and is subject to
revision  based upon the  finalization  of  management's  assessment of the fair
value of net assets acquired.  Changes in the allocation of purchase price would
likely be  limited  to the  recording  of other  identified  intangible  assets,
resulting in a reduction of goodwill, if such assets and their respective values
can be identified.

SUBOTNIC GMBH
In December 2000, the Company acquired the assets of Subotnic GmbH  ("Subotnic")
for 248,461 shares of the Company's capital stock, the market value of which was
approximately  Euro 20.3  million.  The value  assigned to the shares issued was
determined based on the market price of the Company's common stock over a period
of time before and after the Company and Subotnic  had reached  agreement on the
purchase price and the proposed  transaction was announced.  The Company did not
assume any options in the  transaction.  The acquisition was accounted for using
the purchase method. Accordingly, the purchase price was allocated to the assets
acquired and the liabilities assumed,  based on the completion of the evaluation
of the  fair  values  of  Subotnic's  assets  and  liabilities  at the  date  of
acquisition.

The following is a summary of the purchase price allocation (in thousandsEuro ):

Current assets and other tangible assets                        348

Liabilities assumed                                          (1,353)

Assembled workforce                                             360

Goodwill                                                     21,019

                                                             20,374

The acquired  assembled  workforce  and goodwill  are being  depreciated  over a
period of three years.  The operating  results of Subotnic have been included in
the consolidated income statements from the date of acquisition.  The allocation
of purchase price is based on preliminary estimates of fair value and is subject
to revision based upon the  finalization of management's  assessment of the fair
value of net assets  acquired.  Changes in the allocation o purchase price would
likely be  limited  to the  recording  of other  identified  intangible  assets,
resulting in a reduction of goodwill, if such assets and their respective values
can be identified.

The following unaudited pro forma financial  information  presents results as if
the  acquisition  of Owis and  Subotnic  had  occurred at the  beginning  of the
respective periods (in thousands Euro ):

                                                      Year ended December 31,
                                                       1999                2000
                                                 (unaudited)         (unaudited)
Pro forma total revenue                           47,776                123,090
Pro forma net loss                               (28,258)               (48,801)
Pro forma net loss per share - basic/diluted       (0.35)                 (0.58)

These pro forma  results have been  prepared for  comparative  purposes only and
include certain adjustments such as additional  amortization expense as a result
of intangible  assets  arising from the purchase.  The pro forma results are not
necessarily  indicative of the results of operations  which  actually would have
resulted had the  purchase  been in effect at the  beginning  of the  respective
periods or of future results.


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7  | ACCRUED LIABILITIES

Accrued liabilities consisted of the following (in thousandsEuro ):

                                      December 31,
                                 1999           2000

VAT payable                     2,476          2,923
Accrued commissions             1,817          2,464
Employee compensation           1,208          2,105
Payroll taxes payable             396            768
Social security                   464            950
Deferred tax liability              -            264
Other                           3,599          8,499
                                9,960         17,973

8  | NOTES PAYABLE TO SHAREHOLDERS

During  2000,  the Company  entered into a secured  loan  agreement  for US$10.0
million with an officer of the Company who is also a shareholder and a member of
the management  board.  Interest on the note is payable  quarterly at 6.13%. The
note was paid in full in October 2000.

During 1999,  the Company  entered into a secured  loan  agreement  for Euro 7.0
million with an officer of the Company wh is also a shareholder  and a member of
the management board.  Interest on the note is payable quarterly at 6%. The note
was paid in full in November 2000.

During 1996, the Company  entered into a series of unsecured  loans with certain
shareholders. Interest is payable quarterly at 10%. The outstanding principal on
the notes are  classified as long-term and was Euro 20,000 at December 31, 1999.
The note was repaid in 2000.

9  | COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

OPERATING LEASES
Facilities  and certain  furniture  and  equipment  are leased  under  operating
leases.  As of December 31, 2000,  future  minimum  annual lease payments are as
follows (in thousands Euro ):

Year Ended December 31,

2001                                                   9,520

2002                                                   9,108

2003                                                   7,793

2004                                                   6,849

2005                                                   6,875

Subsequent years                                      29,306

TOTAL                                                 69,451

Rent expense was Euro 1,277,000, Euro 2,022,000 and Euro 6,095,000 for the years
ended December 31, 1998, 1999 and 20 respectively.

LEGAL MATTERS
The Company is a defendant in various other legal matters  arising in the normal
course of business. In the opinion of management,  after consultation with legal
counsel,  the  ultimate  resolution  of these  matters is not expected to have a
material effect on these consolidated financial statements.

In January  2001, a U.S.  company  filed a suit with a U.S.  court against U.S.,
Inc.,  claiming  violation of certain  patent  rights.  The complaint  seeks for
compensation of damages based on the alleged patent  infringements.  The Company
believes  there  is no  merit  to the  case  and  intends  to  defend  the  case
vigorously.  There can be no assurance  that the Company will be able to prevail
in the lawsuit,  or that the pendency of the lawsuit will not  adversely  affect
the Company's  operations.  As the outcome of this matter  cannot  reasonably be
determined, the Company has not accrued for any potential loss contingencies.

On March 1, 2001,  a  securities  class  action  complaint,  Juergen  Fischer v.
Intershop  Communications,  et al.,  Case No.  01-0882,  was filed in the United
States  District  Court for the  Northern  District  of  Cali-fornia,  Intershop
Communications AG, its Management Board members, and certain other officers. The
complaint  alleges that the  defendants  made  material  misrepresentations  and
omissions of material facts concerning the Company's business performance. As of
March 7, 2001,  the Company  had not yet been  served  with a complaint  in this
matter.  The  complaint  seeks an  unspecified  amount of  damages.  The Company
believes  there  is no  merit  to the  case  and  intends  to  defend  the  case
vigorously.  There can be no assurance  that the Company will be able to prevail
in the lawsuit,  or that the pendency of the lawsuit will not  adversely  affect
the Company's  operations.  As the outcome of this matter  cannot  reasonably be
determined, the Company has not accrued for any potential loss contingencies.

On  March  7,  2001,  a  securities  class  action  complaint,   Roberta  Casden
v.Intershop Communications, et al., Case No. 01-CV-1947, was filed in the United
States  District  Court  for  the  Southern  District  of  New  York,  Intershop
Communications  AG, its Management  Board members,  and the  underwriters of its
September 2000 public offering. The complaint alleges that the defendants issued
a materially false and misleading registration statement in conjunction with its
September  2000 public  offering.  As of March 7, 2001,  the Company had not yet
been served with a complaint in this matter.  The complaint seeks an unspecified
amount  of  damages.  The  Company  believes  there  is no merit to the case and
intends  to  defend  the case  vigorously.  There can be no  assurance  that the
Company  will be able to prevail in the  lawsuit,  or that the  pendency  of the
lawsuit will not adversely  affect the Company's  operations.  As the outcome of
this matter cannot reasonably be determined, the Company has not accrued for any
potential loss contingencies.


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10  | SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

STOCK SPLITS AND CHANGE IN STATED VALUE
In  conjunction  with  the  share  exchange  discussed  in  Note 1  between  the
shareholders  of U.S.,  Inc.  and the Company in June 1998,  the shares of U.S.,
Inc. were exchanged for shares of the Company on a 1-for-5 basis.  In June 1999,
the Company  changed the stated value of its common stock from DM 5 per share to
Euro 1 per share and effected a 3-for-1 stock split. Unless otherwise noted, all
share and per  share  amounts  presented  have been  restated  to  retroactively
reflect this conversion ratio and stock split for all periods presented.

The adjustment to the stated value of the Company's common stock is reflected in
the  Consolidated  Statements  of  Convertible  Redeemable  Preferred  Stock and
Shareholders'  Equity as an increase to the stated value of the common stock for
Euro 2.4 million and a  corresponding  decrease to additional paid in capital as
of June 1999.

On June 27, 2000, the Company's Annual Shareholder Meeting authorized a 5- for-1
stock split and authorized management to repurchase up to 10% of its outstanding
common stock through  November 2001. The stock split became  effective on August
16, 2000,  when it was registered in the commercial  register in accordance with
the German Stock  Corporation Act. All share and per share amounts  presented in
the  accompanying  financial  statements  have been  restated  to  retroactively
reflect the stock split for all periods presented.

CONVERTIBLE REDEEMABLE PREFERRED STOCK
During  1997,  the  Company  issued  6,000,000  shares  of  preferred  stock  at
approximately  Euro 0.6 per share  resulting  in aggregate  proceeds of Euro 3.5
million.  In March 1998, the Company sold 1,169,550 shares of preferred stock in
U.S., Inc. at approximately  Euro 1.60 per share resulting in aggregate proceeds
of Euro 1.9 million.

Significant  rights,  restrictions,  and preferences of preferred stock included
cash dividends at a rate of 8% per annum, as defined,  liquidation  preferences,
voting rights, and conversion and redemption features.

Prior to the share  exchange  between the  shareholders  of U.S.,  Inc.  and the
Company in June 1998, all outstanding shares of preferred stock converted to the
same  number of  shares of common  stock of U.S.,  Inc.  After  considering  the
conversion  ratio and stock split discussed  above,  shares of U.S., Inc. common
stock were converted to shares of the Company on a 1-for-3 basis.

EQUITY TRANSACTIONS IN 2000
In January  2000,  the Chairman of the  Company's  Supervisory  Board  purchased
250,000  shares from a trust that  administers  certain  shares issued under the
Company's 1997 Equity  Incentive  Plan.  Consistent with the terms of the trust,
the proceeds of the sale,  Euro 12.5 million,  net of related tax effects,  were
recorded as a capital contribution in paid-in capital.

In March 2000, the Company issued  1,675,000  shares related to its registration
with the U.S.  Securities  and  Exchange  Commission  to register  shares of its
common stock in the form of American Depository Shares ("ADSs"). The shares were
sold to the public in the form of a secondary offering on September 29, 2000 for
net proceeds of approximately Euro 112 million.

In August  2000,  the  Company  sold  500,000  shares at Euro 80  per share in a
private  placement.  The  Company  will use the net  proceeds  of  approximately
Euro 38.9 million for general corporate purposes.

CONVERTIBLE PROMISSORY NOTE
In April 1998, U.S. Inc. entered into a convertible promissory note, which bears
interest at 7%, with a member of the Company's Supervisory Board for US$500,000.
The principal and accrued interest were convertible at the option of the holder,
in whole or in part,  into shares of U.S.  Inc.'s next series of preferred stock
issued in  connection  with a third party  financing at the  purchase  price per
share paid by the third  party  investors.  The  principal  and  interest  would
automatically convert into common stock in the event that U.S. Inc. completed an
underwritten  public offering,  as defined, at the initial public offering price
less a 25% discount.  In the event that a new series of preferred stock were not
issued, or a public offering did not occur,  then the outstanding  principal and
accrued  interest were  convertible at the option of the holder,  in whole or in
part,  into common stock of U.S. Inc. at Euro 1.60 per share.  All principal and
unpaid interest was due and payable, to the extent not converted, on October 28,
1998.

In conjunction with the legal entity  reorganization that occurred in June 1998,
the U.S.  Inc.  repaid  the  note to the  board  member,  and the  board  member
purchased  250,005 shares of the Company's common stock for Euro 2.56 per share,
resulting in aggregate proceeds of Euro 639,118.

LEGAL SETTLEMENT OBLIGATION
In May 1998, we entered into a legal settlement  related to a trademark  dispute
that obligated us to pay Euro 1. million. An investor paid this amount on behalf
of the Company.  In exchange,  this investor  purchased  900,450 shares from the
Company  on June 23,  1998.  The  final  purchase  price for  these  shares  was
determined  based on the  average  trading  price  for one month  following  the
Company's  initial  public  offering  in Germany.  Based on thi average  trading
price,  the  investor  paid an  additional  Euro 4.0  million  in cash for these
shares.  The Company has recorded the legal  settlement cost of Euro 1.9 million
the  additional  cash  received  of Euro 4.0 million as an increase in equity in
exchange for the 900,450 shares issued.


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<PAGE>


DEFERRED COMPENSATION
In connection  with the grant of certain stock options to employees prior to the
initial public offering in July 1998, the Company recorded deferred compensation
of  approximately  Euro 1.0  million  representing  the  intrinsic  value of the
options,  i.e., the difference  between the deemed value of the common stock for
accounting purposes and the option exercise price of such options at the date of
grant.  This amount is  presented  as a reduction  of  shareholders'  equity and
amortized   ratably  over  the  vesting  period  of  the   applicable   options.
Approximately  Euro 162,000,  Euro 308,000 and Euro 273,000 was expensed  during
the years ended December 31, 1998, 1999 and 2000, respectively.  The balance was
expensed in full at December 31, 2000.  Compensation expense is decreased in the
period of forfeiture for any accrued but unvested  compensation arising from the
early  termination  of an option  holder's  services.  No  compensation  expense
related to any other periods presented has been recorded.

1997 EQUITY INCENTIVE PLAN
The  Company  had  originally  reserved  10,000,000  shares of common  stock for
issuance to employees, directors and consultants under its 1997 Equity Incentive
Plan  (the  1997  Plan).  The  Board  of  Supervisors  may  grant  incentive  or
non-statutory  stock options at prices not less than 100% or 85%,  respectively,
of fair market value as determined by the Board of  Supervisors,  at the date of
grant.  Options vest ratably over  periods  determined  by the Board,  generally
three years.  The Board also has the authority to set exercise  dates (no longer
than ten years from the date of grant),  payment terms, and other provisions for
each grant. The Company  generally had the right of first refusal for all common
stock issued  under the 1997 Plan should the holder  desire to sell or otherwise
transfer any of the shares. The Company's right of first refusal terminated upon
the effective date July 16, 1998, of the Company's initial public offering.

1999 EQUITY INCENTIVE PLAN
Effective as of June 21, 1999, the Company  adopted a new stock option plan (the
1999 Plan) covering board members, executive officers and certain employees. The
options  under the 1999 Plan vest ratably over a four year period  beginning six
months from the date of grant; however, pursuant to the German Stock Corporation
Act, no options will be exercisable,  even though a portion is vested,  prior to
the second  anniversary of the date of grant.  The exercise price of the options
is equal to 120% of the market  price of the shares on the date of grant,  where
the market price is determined to be the average  closing price as quoted on the
Neuer Markt for the 10 trading days prior to the date of grant.

There are two pools of shares  authorized under the 1999 Plan. There are 665,000
shares for  grants of stock  options  to  members  of the  management  board and
general  managers  of  subsidiaries  and  7,500,000  shares  for grants of stock
options to all other employees.

STOCK-BASED COMPENSATION
The Company applies APB Opinion No. 25 and related interpretations in accounting
for the Plan. If compensation cost for the Plan had been determined based on the
fair value at the grant dates for the awards  calculated in accordance  with the
method  prescribed by SFAS No. 123, the impact on the Company's net loss and
net loss per share would have been as follows (in  thousands  Euro ,  except per
share amounts):


                                                       Year Ended December 31,
                                                    1998         1999        2000

Net loss attributable to common shareholders
   As reported                                   (17,528)     (18,389)    (38,923)
   Pro forma                                     (17,563)     (21,204)    (74,851)
Basic and diluted earnings per share
   As reported                                     (0.38)       (0.23)      (0.46)
   Pro forma                                       (0.38)       (0.27)      (0.89)



Option  activity under the plans was as follows (in thousands,  except per share
data):



                                               Year Ended December 31,
                                                  1998                             1999                             2000
                                              Weighted                         Weighted                         Weighted
                            Number of          Average       Number of          Average       Number of          Average
                               Shares         Exercise          Shares         Exercise          Shares         Exercise
                          Outstanding     Price (euro)     Outstanding     Price (euro)     Outstanding     Price (euro)

Outstanding at beginning
of period                       6,495             0.11           5,625             0.59           2,365            14.78
Granted                         3,960             0.84           2,235            15.66           4,086            99.89
Exercised                      (3,720)            0.23          (4,235)            0.43            (882)            5.01
Canceled                       (1,110)            0.20          (1,260)            1.11            (639)           61.11
OUTSTANDING
AT END OF PERIOD                5,625             0.59           2,365            14.78           4,930            66.48




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<PAGE>


The following  table  summarizes  information  with respect to the stock options
outstanding at December 31, 2000:




                                          Weighted
                                           Average     Weighted                     Weighted
                         Number of       Remaining      Average                      Average
                           Options     Contractual     Exercise          Number     Exercise
          Range of     Outstanding            Life        Price     Exercisable        Price
    Exercise Price     (in 1,000)          (Years)       (Euro)     at 12/31/00       (Euro)

0.02 -       15.15           1,122             7.4         8.04           1,119         8.03

15.16 -      30.31             763             3.7        22.86             244        22.38

30.32 -      45.46             115             4.3        39.99              19        37.22

45.47 -      60.62             133             4.6        52.89              11        50.94

60.63 -      75.77             547             4.6        67.53              49        66.05

75.78 -      90.93             109             4.3        79.65              17        78.81

90.94 -      106.08            397             4.6        97.22              31        97.71

106.09 -     121.24          1,467             4.3       114.81             223       115.19

121.25 -     136.39            210             4.4       130.02              29       131.55

136.40 -     151.55             67             4.2       144.55              13       144.55

                             4,930             5.0        66.48           1,755        31.18



The  1997  Plan  allows  for  the  issuance  of  options at  are  immediately
exercisable through execution of a restricted stock purchase  agreement.  Shares
purchased subject to a restricted stock purchase  agreement  generally vest over
three  years.  In the  event of  termination  of  employment,  the  Company  may
repurchase  unvested shares at a price equal to the original  issuance price. As
of December 31, 2000,  59,423 shares of common stock issued and outstanding were
unvested and subject to  repurchase by the Company at Euro 0.02 to Euro 8.13 per
share. All shares th were exercised early are held by a trustee on behalf of the
employee. In the event that an employee leaves the Company with unvested shares,
the unvested  shares are sold in the open  market,  and the proceeds of the sale
are contributed to the Company.

The fair value of each option grant is estimated on the date of grant  utilizing
risk-free  interest rates on the date of grant (4.2%-5.6% in 1998,  4.6%-6.2% in
1999 and 6.3% in 2000) with maturities  equal to the expected option term of 4.5
years.  The dividend  assumed is estimated at 0% in 1998, 1999 and 2000, and the
volatility is assumed to be 0% through the date of the Company's  initial public
offering in 1998 and 69% in 1999 and 86% in 2000.

SHARES RESERVED FOR FUTURE ISSUANCE
As of December 31, 2000, the Company had authorized and  conditional  capital of
43,490,459 and 22,694,500 shares, respectively. Authorized capital is equivalent
to additional  authorized  shares for acquisitions or sales of common stock with
the  approval  of  the  Company's  Supervisory  Board.  Conditional  capital  is
equivalent to shares reserved for future issuance, as follows:

Conversion of remaining U.S. Inc. shares                   13,644,500
Stock options                                               9,050,000
                                                           22,694,500

11  | INCOME TAXES

The Company  accounts  for income  taxes using an asset and  liability  approach
under which  deferred  income taxes are provided based upon enacted tax laws and
rates applicable to the periods in which taxes become payable.


The income tax benefit  differs from the amounts  which would result by applying
the applicable  German  statutory rates to the loss before taxes, as follows (in
thousands Euro ):



                                                           Year Ended December 31,
                                                     1998        1999         2000

Provision (benefit) at German statutory rate      (10,079)     (9,783)     (20,707)
Foreign income/losses taxed/benefited at a
different tax rate                                  3,480       2,998        5,914
Change in valuation allowance                       6,036       9,775       58,914
Tax credits                                           (17)          -            -
Permanent differences                                  40         214         (394)
Intercompany reserves                                   -           -       60,597
Change in statutory tax rate                            -      (2,490)      15,949
Other                                                   -        (714)         921
PROVISION (BENEFIT) FOR INCOME TAXES                    -           -            -




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<PAGE>


The components of the deferred tax asset were as follows (in thousands Euro ):

                                                          As of
                                                     1999      2000

Net operating loss carryforwards                   18,973    75,063
Tax credit carryforwards                               82        82
Accruals not currently deductible                   1,287     1,966
Capitalized start-up costs and other
intangibles not currently deductible                   16       300
Interest expense not currently deductible               -     1,150
Other                                                 (99)      612
                                                   20,259    79,173
Valuation allowance                               (20,259)  (79,173)
NET DEFERRED TAX ASSET                                  -         -

A valuation  allowance has been  recorded for the entire  deferred tax asset for
all periods through December 31, 2000 as a result of uncertainties regarding the
realization of the asset including the limited operating history of the Company,
the lack of profitability through December 31, 1999 and 2000.

For the year ended  December  31,  2000,  the  Company  had net  operating  loss
carryforwards for tax reporting purposes in various tax jurisdictions as follows
(in thousands Euro ):

U.S. Federal                                    52,696
U.S. state                                      68,582
German                                          122,780
Other                                           14,484
TOTAL                                           258,542

In  addition,  as of December 31,  2000,  the Company had U.S.  Federal and U.S.
state  income  tax  credit   carryforwards  of  approximately   Euro 70,000  and
Euro 40,000,   respectively.   U.S.  Federal  and  state  net  operating  losses
carryforwards  expire in various  periods through 2019. The German net operating
loss  carry  forwards  for tax  purposes  relate  to  corporate  income  tax and
municipal trade tax and carry forward  indefinitely.  The Tax Reform Act of 1986
and German tax law contains  provisions  which may limit the net operating  loss
and tax credit carryforwards to be used in any given year upon the occurrence of
certain events, including a significant change in ownership interest.

12  | INDUSTRY SEGMENT AND GEOGRAFIC INFORMATION

During 1998, the Company  adopted SFAS No. 131,  "Disclosures  About Segments of
and Enterprise and Related Information."

The Company is  organized  based upon the nature of the products and services it
offers.  Under  this  organizational  structure,  the  Company  operates  in two
fundamental business segments: product and service. The product segment includes
the development and sale of the Company's software products. The service segment
provides service and support for the Company's products. The Com-pany's products
are primarily developed at its facilities in Jena Germany,  and are sold through
a direct sales force and  independent  distributors  in Europe,  North  America,
South America, Australia, and Asia.

The information in the following  tables is derived  directly from the Company's
internal  financial  reporting used by the Company's  chief  operating  decision
makers for corporate  management  purposes.  The Company evaluates its segments'
performance based on several factors,  of which the primary financial measure is
gross margin.  Unallocated costs include corporate and other costs not allocated
to business segments for management reporting purposes.  The accounting policies
followed by the Company's  business  segments are the same as those described in
Note 2 to the consolidated  financial statements.  The Company does not allocate
assets by segment for management reporting purposes.

                                                 Year Ended December 31,
                                               1998       1999        2000

Revenues from unaffiliated customers:
   Product                                   11,295     29,534      74,068
   Services                                   6,577     16,732      48,926
TOTAL REVENUE                                17,872     46,266     122,994
Gross margin:
   Product                                    9,553     24,748      68,779
   Services                                   2,811      8,267       5,473
TOTAL GROSS MARGIN                           12,364     33,015      74,252


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<PAGE>


Revenues by  geographic  location are  attributed  to the country from which the
sale is made and are presented below (in thousands Euro ):


                                             For the year Ended December 31,
                                               1998       1999        2000

Germany                                      10,232     17,190      53,465
United States                                 5,940     18,366      39,615
United Kingdom                                  797      7,000      12,971
Other*                                          903      3,710      16,943
TOTAL                                        17,872     46,266     122,994

* Revenues for other geographic locations are substantially  derived from France
  in 1997 and 1998 and France and Sweden in 1999 and France, Sweden, China,
  Korea, Singapore, Japan, and Australia in 2000.

Long-lived  assets  located by geographic  location are as follows (in thousands
Euro):

                                                     As of December 31,
                                               1998       1999        2000

Germany                                       1,404      1,644       9,106
United States                                 2,074      2,671       7,937
United Kingdom                                   48        716       3,188
Other                                           141        579       1,823
TOTAL                                         3,667      5,610      22,054

13  | LOCAL DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

MANAGEMENT BOARD
Stephan Schambach, Chair
Wilfried Beeck

SUPERVISORY BOARD
Eckhard Pfeiffer, Chair
Theodore J. Smith, Vice Chair
Joerg Menno Harms
Lorenzo Pellicioli
Hartmut Esslinger, Ph.D.

BOARD COMPENSATION
In 2000,  the annual  compensation,  accrued but not paid,  for the  Supervisory
Board  was  Euro 106,000.  In  2000,  the  total  annual  compensation  for  the
Management Board was Euro 51,000.

INVESTMENTS
The  following  table lists  directly and  indirectly  held  investments  of the
Company  that  are  included  in the  consolidated  financial  statements  as of
December 31, 2000:

Ownership                                                                  %

Intershop Communications, Inc., San Francisco, U.S.A.                    82.5
Intershop Communications GmbH, Jena                                       100
Intershop Software Entwicklungs GmbH, Jena                                100
Intershop Communications Ventures GmbH, Hamburg                           100
Intershop (U.K.) Ltd., London, United Kingdom                             100
Intershop Communications S.a.r.l., Paris, France                          100
Intershop Communicatiobs AB, Stockholm, Sweden                            100
Intershop Communications Hong Kong Co. Ltd., Hong Kong, China             100
Intershop Communications Singapore Pte. Ltd., Singapore                   100
Intershop Communications Australia Pty Ltd., Sydney, Australia            100
Intershop Communications Tiawan Co. Ltd., Taipei, Taiwan                  100
Intershop Communications Korea Co. Ltd., Seoul, Korea                     100
Intershop Communications K.K., Tokyo, Japan                               100

EMPLOYEES
During 2000, the Company had an average of 918 employees.

14  | SUBSEQUENT EVENTS

In January 2001, the Company announced plans to restructure  certain operations,
resulting in the termination of approximately 200 employees worldwide.


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<PAGE>


DIFFERENCES BETWEEN U.S.GAAP AND GERMAN LAW

1  | GENERAL

The   consolidated    financial    statements   of   Intershop    Communications
Aktiengesellschaft  (hereinafter referred to as the "Company" or "Intershop AG")
as of  December  31,  2000 were  prepared as  exempting  consolidated  financial
statements in accordance  with ss. 292a of the German  Commercial  Code (HGB) in
conformity with U.S. generally accepted accounting  principles ("U.S. GAAP") and
on the basis of the German  Accounting  Standards  No. 1 (DRS 1) from the German
Standardization   Committee   (Deutscher   Standisierungsrat   DRSC  e.V.).  The
provisions of the German  Commercial Code (HGB) and German Stock Corporation Law
(AktG)  differ  from  U.S.  GAAP  in  certain  significant  respects.  The  main
differences  that may be relevant to an evaluation  of the net worth,  financial
position,  and the results of the Company are described below:  Pursuant to HGB,
all items in the balance sheet and income  statement must be set out in the form
and order laid down in ss.ss.  266,  275 HGB.  U.S.  GAAP  requires a  different
presentation,  in which the balance sheet items are  presented  with more liquid
items  first.  According  to U.S.  GAAP,  the  short-term  portions of long-term
receivables  and  liabilities  are shown in a separate  balance sheet item.  The
portion that falls due in less than one year is treated as short-term. Purchased
software  for  internal  use is not shown as an  intangible  asset,  as it is in
financial  statements  prepared according to HGB, but as property and equipment,
such as fixtures, furniture, and office equipment.  According to U.S. GAAP, cost
to develop software to be sold, leased, or otherwise marketed can be capitalized
and amortized  over its estimated  economic life.  According to HGB,  internally
developed software forming part of fixed assets cannot be capitalized.  To date,
the  Company  has  charged  all  software  development  costs  to  research  and
development as incurred.

2  | DEFERRED TAXES ON LOSS CARRYFORWARDS

According to HGB, deferred tax refund claims arising from loss carryforwards may
not be shown on the balance  sheet as expected  future tax savings are deemed to
be not yet realized. According to U.S. GAAP, these types of future tax reduction
claims are to be  capitalized.  Their value depends upon the  probability of the
loss  carryforwards  being utilized within the required period.  The Company has
recorded a valuation  allowance for its deferred tax asset due to  uncertainties
regarding the realization of the asset.

3  | EMPLOYEE STOCK OPTIONS

According to U.S.  GAAP,  stock-based  compensation  issued to employees  may be
accounted  for in two ways.  Under one method,  the "fair value" of  stock-based
compensation  may be  determined  and  recorded  as an expense  over the vesting
period  of the  option  or  other  equity  instrument.  Alternatively,  only the
difference between the exercise price of the option and the fair market value of
the  underlying  security on the date of grant are recognized as an expense over
the vesting  period.  Under this  method,  the pro forma impact on net income of
accounting for stock-based compensation using the first method must be disclosed
in the  financial  statements.  The Company  has  elected the latter  method and
presents the pro forma impact in the notes to the financial
statements.  As noted above,  the  difference  between the exercise price of the
option and the fair market value of the underlying security on the date of grant
are to be treated,  according  to U.S.  GAAP,  as  personnel  expenses  recorded
ratably over the vesting period of the option and correspondingly recorded under
"equity".  In line with currently  accepted  accounting  rules, no expense would
occur in the income statement pursuant to HGB.

4  | EQUITY

According to HGB, the Company would have had to prepare  consolidated  financial
statements  for the first time  following  the  acquisition  of the  majority of
shares in  Intershop  Communications,  Inc.  on June 22,  1998 and  perform  the
capital  consolidation as of this date. The difference between the book value of
the   participation   and  the  equity  capital  of  the  subsidiary   Intershop
Communications,  Inc. would have to be distributed according to the actual value
of the assets and  liabilities  included in  consolidation.  The remainder would
have to be shown as goodwill and either  amortized over its expected useful life
or offset  against the capital  reserves on the face of the balance  sheet.  The
valuation base from the Company's  individual financial statements would have to
be shown as capital stock.  The amount allotted to the minority  shareholders in
Intershop Communications Inc. would have to be shown under the position "equity"
as  "minority  interests  in capital"  and in the income  statement as "minority
interests in profit/loss".  According to U.S. GAAP, the capital consolidation of
the  Company  in line  with APB 16  "Business  Combinations"  is  effected  as a
"transaction under common control",  which eliminates the transfer of the shares
in Intershop  Communications GmbH, Jena, to Intershop  Communications,  Inc., as
well  as the  transfer  of the  shares  in  Intershop  Communications,  Inc.  to
Intershop AG and means that only the amount  actually raised is shown as capital
stock.  Likewise,  no differences resulted from these transactions  according to
U.S.  GAAP.  Due to  the  fact  that  the  minority  shareholders  of  Intershop
Communications,  Inc. have a right of conversion for the conditional  capital of
the  shareholders,  no  minority  shares in the capital or the  profit/loss  are
shown.  Therefore,  according to U.S. GAAP, the time of first consolidation does
not apply,  so that the  disclosures  made before the  formation of Intershop AG
reflect the individual group structures.

5  | REVENUE RECOGNITION

In accordance  with U.S.  GAAP,  sales revenue is recognized in compliance  with
American  Instutite of Public  Accountants'  Statement  of Position  (SOP) 97-2,
"Software Revenue Recognition", and related interpretations. There is no general
difference  to HGB with regard to proceeds  from  licensing.  U.S. GAAP requires
accounting for work in process on service transactions to be performed according
to the "percentage of completion  method",  whereby the progress of each project
leads to revenue recognition on a pro-rata basis.  Service revenue would only be
taken into account upon completion of work according to HGB.

6 | COSTS  ASSOCIATED WITH CERTAIN EQUITY  TRANSACTIONS

According to U.S. GAAP, costs associated with certain equity  transactions  (for
example,  public offerings of stock), net of any related income tax effects, are
treated as a reduction of the proceeds from the  transaction.  According to HGB,
these costs represent extraordinary income or expense.

7  | FOREIGN CURRENCY TRANSACTIONS

Under U.S. GAAP, foreign currency transactions,  (for example,  foreign currency
denominated trade receivables or payables) are valued at the current rate on the
balance  sheet date with the  corresponding  gain or loss recorded in the income
statement.  Under  HGB,  at each  balance  sheet  date  revaluation  losses  are
recognized,  while gains are only  recognized  when realized (for example,  upon
payment of a foreign currency liability).

8  | ACQUISITIONS

Under U.S.  GAAP,  there are two mutually  exclusive  methods of accounting  for
business   combinations   --  purchase   accounting  and   pooling-of-interests.
Pooling-of-interest  accounting  is  done by  simply  combining  the  historical
accounts of the parties  both  retroactively  and  prospectively.  No fair value
adjustments  are made. The  pooling-of-interests  method must be used if certain
conditions  exist.  These  conditions  are very complex and  restrictive.  Under
purchase  accounting,  the  valuation is based on fair market  values of the net
assets at the time of combination. The difference between the fair market values
of the net assets  acquired and the  consideration  given  represents  goodwill,
which is  amortized  over its  estimated  useful  life.  Income of the  acquired
company is reflected only from the acquisition date forward. Under HGB, only the
purchase  method is used,  and,  in  certain  circumstances,  the  income of the
acquired company may be retroactively reflected.


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<PAGE>



BALANCE SHEET AG
in Euro
                                                           1999           2000

ASSETS
FIXED ASSETS
   Property and equipment
   Financial assets                                     10,8112         22,837
      Investments in affilliated companies           38,126,979     29,708,439
                                                     38,137,790     29,731,276
CURRENT ASSETS
   Receivables and other assets
      Receivables due from affiliated companies      55,118,068     47,794,819
      Other assets                                      751,018        976,007
                                                     55,869,086     48,770,826
   Short term security investments
      Other Securities                                        0     27,038,947
   Cash and cash equivalents                          6,351,491     70,952,061
                                                     62,220,577    146,761,834

DEFERRED CHARGES                                         19,551         10,233

TOTAL ASSETS                                        100,377,918    176,503,343


                                                           1999           2000

SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY AND LIABILITIES

SHAREHOLDER' EQUITY
   Common stock                                      16,878,104     88,003,016
   - conditional capital:Euro 22,694,500
     (previous year:Euro 4,771,397)
   Capital surplus                                   79,579,615    178,809,681
   Accummulated deficit                              (3,950,859)   (91,406,257)
                                                     92,506,860    175,406,440
ACCRUED LIABILITIES
   Other accrued liabilities                            250,536        292,722

LIABILITIES
   Liabilities due to banks                               1,013          1,025
   Accounts payable                                     245,837         38,811
   Liabilities due to affiliated companies              299,678        729,481
   Other liabilities                                  7,073,994         34,864
   - thereof from taxes:  Euro 0
     (previous year: Euro 29,170)
   - thereof from social security benefits:
     Euro 13,396 (previous year: Euro 8,788)
                                                      7,620,522        804,181

TOTAL SHAREHOLDES'EQUITY AND LIABILITIES            100,377,918    176,503,343

STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS AG
in Euro

                                                           1999           2000

Other operating income                                  177.320        461.004
Personnel costs
   Salaries                                            (207.940)      (709.444)
   Social security contributions                        (31.887)      (104.459)
Depreciation
   - of intangible fixed and current assets and
     capitalized business expansion expense              (1.176)       (10.139)
   - of current assets to the extent it exceeds
     depreation which is normal for the company               0    (71.486.106)
Other operating expense                                (864.465)    (4.932.555)
Interest income                                       2.339.392      5.258.750
   - thereof from affiliated companies:Euro 4,142,682
   (previous year:Euro 1,949,027)
Depreciation of financial assets and short term
   security investments                                       0    (17.253.122)
Interest expense                                         (2.842)      (551.145)
LOSS FROM ORDINARY OPERATIONS                         1.408.402    (89.327.216)
Extraordinary income                                          0     12.500.000
Extraordinary expense                                  (153.387)   (10.628.182)
LOSS FROM EXTRAORDINARY OPERATIONS                     (153.387)     1.871.818
NET INCOME/LOSS                                       1.255.015    (87.455.398)
Accumulated deficit carried forward                  (5.205.874)    (3.950.859)
ACCUMULATED DEFICIT                                  (3.950.859)   (91.406.257)


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<PAGE>


1  | ACCOUNTING AND VALUATION METHODS

Property and equipment are stated at cost, less scheduled depreciation.

Investment assets are stated at cost, less necessary adjustments.

Receivables  and other  assets  are  stated at face  value,  less any  necessary
adjustments.

Other provisions and accrued  liabilities  cover all recognizable  risks and are
stated in the amount necessary on the basis of customary business practice.

Accounts  receivable and accounts payable in foreign  currencies were translated
into the Company's  reporting  currency  using the lower of the exchange rate in
effect or the principle  that losses not realized must be shown,  whereas income
not realized must not be shown.

2 | EXPLANATORY COMMENTS ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

2.1 | BALANCE SHEET

Changes in financial assets are as follows (in Euro thousands):


                                                At Cost
                         Jan. 1, 2000     Additions     Retirements     Dec. 31, 2000

Property And Equipment     11,987            22,165               0            34,152
Financial Assets
Investments in
affiliated companies       38,126,979     8,834,583               0        46,961,562
                           38,138,966     8,856,748               0        46,995,714





                                        Depreciation for the period                               Net book value
                                                           Retire-
                           Jan. 1, 2000     Additions      ments       Dec. 31, 2000     Dec. 31, 2000     Dec. 31, 1999

Property and Equipment            1,176        10,140            0            11,316            22,836            10,811
Financial Assets
Investments in
affiliated companies                  0    17,253,122            0        17,253,122        29,708,440        38,126,979
                                  1,176    17,263,262            0        17,264,438        29,731,276        38,137,790


Receivables due from affiliated companies and other assets have maturities of up
to one  year.  Common  stock  in  the  amount  of  Euro 88,003,016  consists  of
88,003,016 common bearer shares with no par value.

The authorized capital in the amount of Euro 43,490,459  entitles  management to
issue an additional 43,490,459 common bearer shares with no par value.

The resolution of the general  shareholders'  meeting on June 27, 2000, together
with the approval of the Supervisory Board,  entitles management to increase the
Company's  common stock up to a total amount of  Euro 35,012,376.  This increase
may be carried out by issuing, on one occasion or on multiple  occasions,  up to
35,012,376  new common  bearer  shares with no par value  (Capital  I). With the
Supervisory  Board's  approval,  management  is further  entitled to exclude the
shareholders' subscription rights.

In  accordance  with this  resolution  and with the  approval  of the  Company's
Supervisory  Board  granted on June 27, 2000 and on August 22, 2000,  management
increased  common stock by issuing  275,011 new common bearer shares with no par
value at a nominal  value of  Euro 1.00.  This was achieved by using  Authorized
Capital I amounting to Euro 275,011  through  contributions  in kind,  excluding
shareholders'  subscription  rights.  Furthermore,  with the Supervisory Board's
approval of March 13, 2000, management increased common stock by issuing 435,000
(after share split: 2,175,000 shares) new common bearer shares with no par value
at a nominal value of Euro 1.00. This was achieved by using Authorized Capital I
amounting  to   Euro 435,000   (after  share  split:   Euro 2,175,000)   against
contributions in cas excluding shareholders' subscription rights.

Also,  existing  Authorized  Capital II and III was dissolved in accordance with
the  resolution  of the  general  shareholders'  meeting  of June 27,  2000.  In
addition,  management was  authorized,  in conjunction  with the approval of the
Supervisory  Board, to increase the Company's common stock on one occasion or on
multiple  occasions  up to a  total  of  Euro 8,753,094  for  specific  purposes
determined at the general  shareholders'  meeting. This would be done by issuing
8,753,094 new common bearer  shares with no par value  (Authorized  Capital II),
excluding shareholders' subscription rights.

Conditional  capital  amounting to  Euro 22,694,500.00  is available for issuing
22,694,500  common bearer shares with par value, of which 9,050,000 are reserved
for stock options management may grant to employees of the Intershop group.

Of the conditional capital created for employee stock options in compliance with
ss. 192 paragraph 2 No. 3 AktG (German stock corporation law),  8,165,000 shares
(Conditional  Capital I) are  reserved  for  options.  Conditional  Capital I is
reserved for exercising the subscription  rights based on the 1999 option model.
These options must be exercised  within five years but no earlier than two years
from the time they were  granted.  The exercise  price is based upon the average
price of the shares during the last 10 trading days prior to the day the options
were granted plus 20%.


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<PAGE>


Moreover,  885,000 shares from Conditional Capital II created in compliance with
ss. 192 paragraph 2 No. 3 AktG are reserved to honor the rights granted to known
holders of options to exchange shares in Intershop  Communications,  Inc., which
was  acquired  by the  Company in 1998,  for shares in the Company at a ratio of
5:15. In fiscal year 2000, a total of 334,149 shares (after share split: 882,485
shares) were issued from Conditional  Capital II at an average exercise price of
Euro 12.88.

To permit the exchange of the remaining shares in Intershop Communications Inc.,
Euro 13,644,500  was available from Conditional Capital III at the balance sheet
date. The right to exchange  shares from  conditional  capital was exercised for
56,000 shares (after share split: 280,000 shares) in 2000.

Changes in capital surplus were as follows (inEuro ):

Capital surplus as of Dec. 31, 1999                                 79,579,615
Capital increase from conversion of capital surplus                (70,024,752)
Premium from capital increase through contributions in kind          2,769,245
Premium from capital increase through contributions in cash        166,485,573
                                                                   178,809,681

Other accrued liabilities consist primarily of legal and consulting fees as well
as remuneration for the Supervisory Board for 2000.

Liabilities consist of the following (in thousandsEuro ):



                                         Maturities                              With
                              Up to           1 - 5       Over                mortgage
                              1 year           year     5 year     Total     debenture

Liabilities due to banks           1              0          0         1             0
Accounts payable                  39              0          0        39             0
Liabilities due to
affiliated companies             729              0          0       729             0
Other liabilities                 35              0          0        35             0
Liabilities due to
shareholders                       0              0          0         0             0
                                 804              0          0       804             0


At Intershop  Communications AG, additional  financial  obligations from leasing
agreements amounted to Euro 11,007 at the balance sheet date.

2.2  | CONTINGENT LIABILITIES

Intershop  Communications AG gave Intershop Software  Entwicklungs GmbH a letter
of comfort on October 20,  1999.  The letter of comfort  states  that  Intershop
Communications  AG shall be responsible for ensuring that in the event Intershop
Software  Entwicklungs  GmbH  is  unable  to pay all or  part  of its  rent  and
utilities plus value-added tax, Intershop Software  Entwicklungs GmbH shall meet
all its  commitments on time, and that the lessor shall retain  payments made to
the lessor in full. On the basis of the letter of comfort,  the lease  agreement
was signed and became effective on October 1, 2000 and shall remain in effect up
until and  including  November  14, 2013.  As of December  31,  2000,  the other
financial  commitments of Intershop Software Entwicklungs GmbH arising from this
lease agreement come to Euro 33,336,662 up until November 14, 2013.


2.3  | STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS
According  to ss. 253  paragraph  2 and 3 of the HGB (German  Commercial  Code),
exceptional write-offs amounting on Euro 88,739,228 were posted. Euro 17,253,122
was due to  write-offs  for the book value of Intershop  Communications,  In San
Francisco,  USA.  Furthermore,  a full provision was made for Euro 46,320,698 in
receivables due from Intershop Communications,  Inc. and Euro 25,165,408 million
in receivables due from Intershop Communications GmbH, which has receivables due
in the same amount from  Intershop  Communications,  Inc.  Both the reduction in
book  value  and  the  adjustment  for  receivables  were  necessitated  by  the
significant  deterioration  in earnings and  shareholders'  equity for Intershop
Communications, Inc. in 2000.

Extraordinary  income amounting to Euro 12,500,000  resulted from selling stocks
equivalent to Euro 50,000 of the Compa common stock. The stocks were sold off by
the Company  trustee in accordance with the agreement dated January 6, 2000. The
sold  stocks  were a result of  Intershop  Communications  AG shares that became
available through the 1997 Equity Incentive Plan option program. The 1997 Equity
Incentive Plan granted  employees of the Intershop Group the option of acquiring
shares in Intershop  Communications,  Inc.,  which in turn  entitled  them to AG
subscription  rights that are  transferred  through the trustee.  When employees
leave the Company,  AG shares from the option program become  available that can
then be sold as Intershop  Communications  AG may instruct.  In such cases,  the
proceeds of the sale are contributed to the Company.


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<PAGE>


The extraordinary expense item consists of the following (inEuro):

IPO expenses for private placement of 100,000 shares                 1,000,000
IPO expenses for NASDAQ Listing for 335,000 shares                   9,628,182
                                                                    10,628,182

3  | OTHER INFORMATION

The Company had an average of twelve  employees in the course of the 2000 fiscal
year. The Supervisory Board consisted of the following members in 2000:



Eckhard Pfeiffer          Investor          OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
CHAIRMAN OF THE                             General Motors Corporation
SUPERVISORY BOARD                           Hughes Electronics Corporation
                                            L.M. Ericsson AB
                                            NXView Technologies
                                            IFCO Sytems NV
                                            Synetc Capital AG

Theodore J. Smith         Investor          OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE                        FileNET Corporation
SUPERVISORY BOARD

Joerg Menno Harms     Self-employed         OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
                                            Hewlett-Packard GmbH
                                            Holding GmbH (Chairman of the Supervisory Board)
                                            Jenoptik AG
                                            Wurttembergische Hypothekenbank AG
                                            Durr AG
                                            Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG
                                            Heraeus Holding GmbH
                                            CAA AG


80



Prof. Knut Fockler Chief Executive          OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
FROM JUNE 21, 1999 Officer of               T-Online International AG (up to June 30, 2000)
TO JULY 31, 2000   wireless vision AG       Telecash AG (Chairman of the
                                            Supervisory  Board
                                            up to June 30, 2000)
                                            MSG Media  Services AG AG (up to June  30,  2000)
                                            Brainpool  TV AG
                                            The Fantastic   Corporation
                                            Tomondo   AG
                                            DeTeSat Deutsche Telekom  Gesellschaft
                                            fur Satellitenkommunikation mbH
                                            (up to June 30, 2000)
                                            Multimedia  Software AG (up to June 30, 2000)

Hartmut Esslinger, Ph.D.  Designer and      OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
                          Entrepreneur      Frogdesign Inc. (Chairman of the Supervisory Board)

Lorenzo Pellicioli        Chief Executive   OTHER BOARD MEMBERSHIPS:
                          Officer of        Matrix
                          Seat Pagine GialleGiallo Dat@
                          SpA and Director  Various companies of the Seat Group
                          of Internet
                          Business Unit,
                          Telekom Italia Group



The Management Board included the following in 2000:

Stephan Schambach         CHAIRMAN
Wilfried Beeck

The  Management  Board received  remuneration  from the Company in the amount of
TEuro 51.  The  Articles of  Incorporation  set the total  remuneration  for the
members of the Supervisory  Board at TEuro 106,3.  However,  this amount was not
paid in the course of the business year.


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<PAGE>


The following list shows the subsidiaries of Intershop Communications AG and the
Company's respective interest:



                                    Interest     Cur-     Authorized   Shareholders'      Profit/Loss*
                                        in %    rency        capital         equity*     for the year

Intershop Communications, Inc.
SAN FRANCISCO, U.S.A.                  82.50     Euro     7,332,682     (63,469,030)     (17,883,949)

Intershop Communications
Ventures GmbH, HAMBURG                   100     Euro     1,000,000         747,953         (145,220)

Intershop Software Entwicklungs
GmbH, JENA                               100     Euro        26,000      -3,847,150       (9,029,997)

Intershop (UK) Ltd,
LONDON, GREAT BRITAIN                    100     Euro         1,586      -5,275,898       (3,244,770)

Intershop Communications S.a.r.l.
PARIS, FRANCE                            100     Euro       458,109        -111,027       (1,178,466)

Intershop Communications AB
STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN                        100     Euro        11,437      -1,245,531       (1,109,432)

Intershop Communications
Hong Kong Co. Ltd., HONGKONG           99,99     Euro         1,452      -3,195,494       (3,201,445)

Intershop Communications Korea
SEOUL, KOREA                           99,98     Euro        45,454        -383,926         (293,822)

Intershop Communications Taiwan
TAIPEI, TAIWAN                           100     Euro        36,740          25,627           (7,049)

Intershop Communications
Singapore Pte. Ltd., SINGAPORE           100     Euro        61,570        -104,197         (166,667)

Intershop Communications Japan
TOKYO, JAPAN                             100     Euro       104,754        -628,388         (643,685)

Intershop Communications Australia

Pty. Ltd., NORTH SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA       100     Euro       260,833        -143,282         (368,418)

* The above figures for  shareholders'  equity and  profit/loss for the year are provisional.


Intershop  Communications AG is a public listed company  incorporated in Germany
and is listed on the Neuer Markt. According to ss. 292a of the German Civil Code
the Company may opt to present financial  statements in compliance with US GAAP.
The consolidated  financial statements are on file with the Registry of Commerce
of the Court of Hamburg.  These financial  statements  include the  consolidated
financial  statements  of  the  parent  company  and  the  following  subsidiary
undertakings:

Intershop Communications GmbH, Jena
Intershop Communications, Inc., San Francisco, U.S.A.
Intershop Communications S.a.r.l., Paris, France
Intershop Software Entwicklungs GmbH, Jena
Intershop (UK) Ltd, London, U.K.
Intershop Communications Ventures GmbH, Hamburg
Intershop Communications AB, Stockholm, Sweden
Intershop Communications Hong Kong Co. Ltd., Hongkong
Intershop Communications Korea, Seoul, Korea
Intershop Communications Taiwan, Taipei, Taiwan
Intershop Communications Singapore Pte. Ltd., Singapore
Intershop Communications Japan, Tokyo, Japan
Intershop Communications Australia Pty Ltd., North Sydney

4  | USE OF ANNUAL PROFIT/LOSS

The Management  Board of Intershop  Communications  AG proposes that the results
for 2000 be carried forward.

Hamburg, March 2001

The Management Board




/s/ STEPHAN SCHAMBACH          /s/ WILFRIED BEECK
---------------------          ------------------
    Stephan Schambach              Wilfried Beeck


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<PAGE>


REPORT OF INDEPENDENT AUDITORS

We have audited the financial  statements,  including the accounting system, and
the combined management and group management report of Intershop  Communications
AG for  the  fiscal  year  from  January  1 to  December  31,  2000.  The  legal
representatives  of the Company are  responsible  for the accounting  system and
preparation  of the  financial  statements  and  combined  management  and group
management report in compliance with German commercial law and the supplementary
regulations in the articles of incorporation.  Our  responsibility is to express
an opinion,  based on our audit,  on the  financial  statements,  including  the
accounting system, and on the combined management and group management report.

We conducted our audit of the financial  statements  pursuant to Sec. 317 of the
German  Commercial  Code (HGB) and in compliance  with the in Germany  generally
accepted German  standards for the audit of financial  statements  issued by the
German  Institute  of Auditors  (Institut  der  Wirtschaftsprufer,  IDW).  Those
standards  require  that we plan and  perform  the  audit to  obtain  reasonable
assurance that  inaccuracies and violations are recognized  which  significantly
affect the  presentation  of the net worth,  financial  position  and results of
operations as conveyed by the financial statements, in compliance with generally
accepted  accounting  principles,  and  by the  combined  management  and  group
management  report.  The scope of the audit was planned  taking into account our
understanding  of  business   operations,   the  Company's  economic  and  legal
environment,  and any potential errors anticipated.  In the course of the audit,
the  effectiveness of the system of internal  accounting  controls was assessed,
and the  disclosures  made in the books and records,  financial  statements  and
combined management and group management report were verified,  mainly on a test
basis.  The audit also includes  assessing the  accounting  principles  used and
significant estimates made by the legal  representatives,  as well as evaluating
the overall presentation of the financial statements and the combined management
and group  management  report.  We believe that our audit  provides a reasonable
basis for our opinion.

Our audit did not give any cause for qualification.

In our opinion,  the  financial  statements  present a true and fair view of the
Company's net worth,  financial position and results of operations in accordance
with generally accepted  accounting  principles.  In all material respects,  the
combined   management  and  group  management  report  accurately  presents  the
situation of the Company and the risks to its future development.

Hamburg, March 7, 2001

ARTHUR ANDERSEN
Wirtschaftsprufungsgesellschaft
Steuerberatungsgesellschaft mbH






/s/ NENDZA                 /s/ SCHNEIDER
-----------------          -----------------
Nendza                     Schneider
Wirtschaftsprufer          Wirtschaftsprufer

REPORT OF THE SUPERVISORY BOARD

In the course of the year  under  review  there was a change in the  Supervisory
Board, with Prof. Knut Fockler resigning on July 31, 2000, for personal reasons.
The  Supervisory  Board  would  like to take  this  opportunity  to thank  Prof.
Foeckler  on  behalf of the  company  for his  contribution  to the  success  of
Intershop  Communications  AG.  There were no changes  in the  Management  Board
during the year.

In 2000, the Supervisory Board implemented  several initiatives to better enable
it to support and monitor the activities of the Management  Board. In the course
of 2000, the Supervisory  Board formed an Audit Committee chaired by Joerg Menno
Harms as well as a Human Resources and Compensation  Committee  presided over by
Theodor  Smith.  Furthermore,  together  with the  Management  Board a Corporate
Governance  Guideline  was drawn up in order to ensure  the high  quality of the
corporate management practices.

The Supervisory Board oversaw the management  activities of the Management Board
in  accordance  with  the  tasks  imposed  upon it by law and  the  Articles  of
Association. It also continuously ensured that management followed good business
practices during 2000. In addition,  the Management Board reported  regularly on
the company's  progress toward achieving the objectives set for the current year
and on the prospects for future  periods.  The  Supervisory  Board  convened for
meetings on March 13, 2000, June 26, 2000, September 1, 2000, and on November 1,
2000. Between the meetings of the Supervisory Board, urgent decisions were taken
by way of written procedures and then confirmed during meetings.

The accounts, annual financial statement, and management report were audited and
given   an    unqualified    auditor's    certificate    by   Arthur    Andersen
Wirtschaftsprufungsgesellschaft  Steuerberatungsgesell-schaft  mbH (auditors and
tax consultants). Arthur Anderson had been appointed as the auditing company for
the year at the  shareholders'  meeting  on June  27,  2000.  We agree  with the
auditing results.  The Supervisory  Board has reviewed the financial  statements
and the consolidated  financial  statements covering the year up to December 31,
2000, and the related management  reports. No objections were raised as a result
of the review.  On March 20, 2001,  the  Supervisory  Board  approved the annual
financial  statements  prepared by the Management Board. These are therefore now
final.

For  Intershop,  the  year  2000  was  marked  overall  by  strong  growth.  The
Supervisory  Board would like to thank  management  and all employees  alike for
their commitment in the past year.



Hamburg, March 20, 2001






/s/ ECKHARD PFEIFFER
---------------------------------
Eckhard Pfeiffer
Chairman of the Supervisory Board


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<PAGE>




CORPORATE STRUCTURE

                                INTERSHOP Communications AG

                       INTERSHOP                        INTERSHOP                           Stephan Schambach
      Software Entwicklungs GmbH     100%     82,5%     Communications, Inc.     17,5 %     Burgess Jamieson

                       INTERSHOP                                100%
    Communications Ventures GmbH     100%               INTERSHOP
                                                        Communications GmbH
                       INTERSHOP
         Communications S.a.r.l.     100%

                       INTERSHOP                        INTERSHOP
                       (UK) Ltd.     100%      100%     Communications Taiwan

                       INTERSHOP                        INTERSHOP
               Communications AB     100%      100%     Communications Singapore Pte. Ltd.

                       INTERSHOP                        INTERSHOP
Communications Hong Kong Co. Ltd.  99,99%      100%     Communications Japan

                       INTERSHOP                        INTERSHOP
            Communications Korea   99,98%      100%     Communications Australia Pty Ltd.


                                         All information as of February 28, 2001


BOARDS

SUPERVISORY BOARD


                                              SHARES*
Eckhard Pfeiffer, Chairman                     400,000
Theodore  J.  Smith,   Vice Chairman           107,290
Jorg Menno Harms                                   200
Hartmut Esslinger, Ph.D.                            0
Lorenzo Pellicioli                                  0
Prof. Knut Fockler (until July 31, 2000)


MANAGEMENT BOARD
                                              SHARES*
Stephan Schambach, Chairman                       0**
Wilfried Beeck                              7.000.000

 * Ownership of Intershop Communications AG shares as of Dec. 31, 2000
** As discussed in the  Consolidated  Notes,  Stephan  Schambach holds 4,166,667
   shares in Intershop  Communications,  Inc. These shares are convertible  into
   12,500,000 shares of the Company at any time prior to 2004.




 EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT BOARD


 Stephan Schambach              Dr. Andreas Gregori                 Michael Tsifidaris
 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER        VICE PRESIDENT MARKETING            VICE PRESIDENT CENTRAL EUROPE

 Wilfried Beeck                 Frank Gessner                       Dieter Neujahr
 CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER        SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT ENGINEERING   VICE PRESIDENT ASIA

 Bernhard Marbach               Dirk Reiche                         Phil Oreste
 EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT SALES VICE PRESIDENT FINANCE              PRESIDENT AMERICAS (ACTING)

 Dr. Ludger Vogt                Steen Sjobeck
 VICE PRESIDENT CONSULTING      CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER






 OFFICES

 Austin | Berlin | Boston |  Charlotte  | Chicago |  Copenhagen  | Costa  Mesa |
 Dallas | Detroit | Dubai |  HAMBURG |  Helsinki  | HONG KONG | Ilmenau | JENA |
 London | New York | Oslo | Paris | Reston | SAN FRANCISCO | Sao Paulo | Seoul |
 Singapore  | Stockholm | Stuttgart | Sydney | Taipei | Tokyo | Toronto | Zurich
 |


|  Letter  |  Highlights  |  Solutions |  Customers  |  Employees  |  Share  |
FINANCIALS  |  Structure  |  Glossary  |                                      87

Glossary

APPLICATION SERVICE PROVIDER (ASP)
An  enterprise  that hosts  software-based  services and  solutions  (including
complete e-commerce systems) for customers from a central data center

BUSINESS-TO-BUSINESS
Generic term for commercial relationships between businesses

BUSINESS-TO-CONSUMER
Generic term for commercial relationships between businesses and
consumers

BUY-SIDE E-COMMERCE
Aspect of e-commerce  restricted to  procurement  processes  within a business.
Buy-side  e-commerce  applications  or marketplaces  are often  integrated with
sell-side applications

CONTENT MANAGEMENT (CM) SYSTEM
End-to-end system used to create, package, and maintain complex
content resources such as websites

CUSTOMER  RELATIONSHIP  MANAGEMENT  (CRM)  SYSTEM  System  used by a company to
identify, qualify, acquire, develop, and retain loyal and profitable customers

DIGITAL ECONOMY
Commercial system in which transactions are conducted
electronically over the Internet

ELECTRONIC DATA INTERCHANGE (EDI)
Is a standard format for exchanging business data

ENTERPRISE RESOURCE PLANNING (ERP) SYSTEM
A business  management system integrating all aspects of a business,  including
planning, manufacturing, sales, and marketing

HOSTING (E-COMMERCE)
Provision of hardware, software and communications
infrastructure on a commercial basis for third-party e-commerce
systems

INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER (ISP)
An enterprise that provides access to the Internet, including
web browsing and e-mail

JAVA
A platform-independent, object-oriented programming language
specially developed for the Internet

MOBILE  COMMERCE  e-commerce  model in which  transactions  are performed  using
wireless devices such as mobile phones

PIPELINE
A complex business flow built into the Enfinity environment (e.g. calculation of
an entire shopping basket) constructed from a number of individual pipelets


ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER (OEM)
An OEM is a  company  that  uses  product  components  from  one or  more  other
companies to build a product that it sells under its own company name and brand

SELL SIDE E-COMMERCE
Aspect  of  e-commerce  focusing  on  the  selling  of  products  and  services.
Generally, sell-side e-commerce applications do not include business-to-business
procurement  functionality  and  therefore  have to be  combined  with  buy-side
e-commerce applications for B2B transactions

SELLING ON MARKETPLACES  e-commerce business model in which a business sells its
products and services via online marketplaces

SCALABILITY
It is the ability of a computer application or product (hardware or software) to
continue to function well as it (or its context) is changed in size or volume in
order to meet a user need

SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT (SCM)
Supply chain management is the oversight of materials, information, and finances
as they move in a  process  from  supplier  to  manufacturer  to  wholesaler  to
retailer to consumer

SYSTEM INTEGRATOR
A service  provider  that uses a range of  hardware  and  software  products  to
implement complex IT solutions for customers

UPDATE
To replace an older  version of a software  application  with a newer,  improved
version, but without adding significant new functionality

UPGRADE
To replace an existing software application with a different
application offering enhanced functionality

VISUAL PIPELINE MANAGER
Intershop's  enfinity's  unique Visual  Pipeline  Manager easily  configures and
integrates e-business transaction flows

WIRELESS APPLICATION PROTOCOL (WAP)
A  secure  specification  enabling  users to  access  information  via  handheld
wireless  devices such as mobile  phones.  WAP is one of the  prerequisites  for
mobile commerce

XML
Short  for  eXtensible  Markup  Language,  a  meta-language  used for  documents
containing structured information. Can be used to create customized commands and
speech elements. Prerequisite for silent commerce

FINANCIAL CALENDER 2001

 Release   Financials   for  the  3  Months   Period   2001        May  2,  2001
Annual Shareholders'  Meeting                                      June 13, 2001
Release  Financials  for the 6 Months Period  2001                August 1, 2001
Release  Financials  for the 9 Months  Period 2001              October 31, 2001

INVESTOR RELATIONS CONTACT:

EUROPE                             UNITED STATES
Investor Relations                 Investor Relations
Intershop Communications AG        Intershop Communications Inc.
Amsinckstrasse 57                  303 2nd Street
20097 Hamburg, Germany             10th Floor North
investorrelations@intershop.de     San Francisco, California 94107
www.intershop.de/investor          info@intershop.com
Phone +49-40-23709-0               www.intershop.com/investor
Fax +49-40-23709-111               Phone +1-415-844-1500
                                   Fax +1-415-449-3573



 CONCEPT AND DESIGN
 KIRCHHOFF CONSULT AG
 Hamburg

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<S>                              <C>                               <C>                                  <C>
EUROPEAN HEADQUARTERS            USA HEADQUARTERS                  ASIA/PACIFIC HEADQUARTERS            GLOBAL R&D CENTER

Intershop Communications GmbH    Intershop Communications Inc.     Intershop Communications             Intershop Software
Amsinckstrasse 57                303 2nd Street                    Hong Kong Co. Ltd.                   Entwicklungs GmbH
20097 Hamburg, Germany           10th Floor North                  22/F NatWest Tower, Time Square,     Intershop Tower
Tel. +49 40 23709 0              San Francisco, California 94107   1 Matheson Street, Causeway Bay,     07740 Jena, Germany
Fax +49 40 23709 111             Tel. +1 415 844 1500              Hong Kong                            Tel. +49 3641 50 0
E-Mail info@intershop.de         Fax +1 415 844 3800               Tel. +852 2158 3000                  Fax +49 3641 50 1002
www.intershop.de                 E-Mail info@intershop.com         Fax +852 2158 3399                   E-Mail info@intershop.de
                                 www.intershop.com                 E-Mail info.asia@intershop.com       www.intershop.de
                                                                   www.intershop.com

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(C)2001   Intershop(R)Communications,   Inc.  All  rights  reserved.  All  other
trademarks are the property of their respective owners.