EXHIBIT 99





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PRESS RELEASE

                  INTERSHOP REPORTS THIRD QUARTER 2000 RESULTS

               REVENUES INCREASED 235 PERCENT COMPARED TO Q3 1999
                      INTERSHOP ENFINITY DRIVES THE GROWTH

HAMBURG/SAN  FRANCISCO,  OCTOBER 31, 2000 - Intershop  Communications  AG (Neuer
Markt:  ISH, NASDAQ:  ISHP), one of the world's leading  providers of e-commerce
applications and software  solutions,  today announced financial results for the
third quarter of 2000, which ended September 30, 2000.

Third  quarter  revenues  increased  235  percent  to Euro 35.2  million  ($31.0
million) from Euro 10.5 million ($9.2 million) for the same period in 1999 and 8
percent  sequentially  from Euro 32.6  million  ($28.7  million)  in the  second
quarter. On a year to date basis, revenues increased by 244 percent to Euro 92.8
million ($81.6  million) as compared to Euro 27.0 million ($23.7 million) in the
prior year period.

The company  reported a third  quarter  2000 net loss of Euro 9.8 million  ($8.6
million),  compared  to a loss of Euro 3.4  million  ($2.9  million) in Q3 1999.
Intershop  announced  a third  quarter  loss of Euro  0.12  ($0.10)  per  share,
compared to a loss of Euro 0.04  ($0.04) per share a year ago.  Year to date net
loss was Euro 6.8  million  ($6.0  million)  compared to a net loss of Euro 11.0
million ($9.7 million) in the first nine months of 1999. Nine month year to date
earnings  posted a loss of Euro 0.08  ($0.07)  per share,  compared to a loss of
Euro 0.14 ($0.12) per share a year ago.

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================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============
In millions, except per share      Q3, 2000       Q3, 1999      % Annual     Q2, 2000      % Sequential
data and percentages                                              Growth                       Growth
================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============
Total Revenue                       Euro 35.2     Euro 10.5       235%       Euro 32.6          8%
================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============
Operating Income (Loss)             Euro (9.2)    Euro (3.5)      164%       Euro 0.8
================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============
Net Income (Loss)                   Euro (9.8)    Euro (3.4)      193%       Euro 1.3
================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============
Diluted Net Income (Loss) Per       Euro (0.12)   Euro (0.04)     200%       Euro 0.02
Share
================================== ============= ============= ============ ============= ===============

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================================== ======================= ======================= ======================
In millions, except per share        Nine months ended       Nine months ended           % Growth
data and percentages                      9/30/00                 9/30/99
================================== ======================= ======================= ======================
Total Revenue                            Euro 92.8               Euro 27.0                 244%
================================== ======================= ======================= ======================
Operating Income (Loss)                  Euro (7.4)              Euro (12.0)               -39%
================================== ======================= ======================= ======================
Net Income (Loss)                        Euro (6.8)              Euro (11.0)               -38%
================================== ======================= ======================= ======================
Diluted Net Income (Loss) Per            Euro (0.08)             Euro (0.14)               -43%
Share
================================== ======================= ======================= ======================

Total  license  revenues  increased  245  percent  to Euro 19.6  million  ($17.3
million) from the comparable third quarter 1999 figure of Euro 5.7 million ($5.0
million), but decreased sequentially by 13 percent compared to Euro 22.5 million
in the second quarter of 2000 due to seasonality impacts. The main growth driver
in the quarter was INTERSHOP Enfinity,  launched in Q4 1999.  INTERSHOP Enfinity
is a complete enterprise sell side e-commerce solution that allows businesses to
sell anywhere over the Internet.  Enfinity sales rose 39 percent  compared to Q2
2000, with the most significant  growth coming in the United States market where
Enfinity revenues increased by 159 percent sequentially.

MANAGEMENT REVIEW
INTERSHOP chief  executive  officer Stephan  Schambach  commented,  "We are very
pleased with the record  revenues for the third quarter,  especially the revenue
growth within our flagship Enfinity enterprise e-commerce solution. The Enfinity
product line set records during the third quarter in terms of revenue, number of
licenses sold and average deal size. Enfinity is the only true packaged,  global
e-commerce solution available on the market. The superior architecture, speed to
market  implementation  and  low  cost of  ownership  helped  differentiate  our
Enfinity

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product  from our  competitors  during the quarter.  Major  customer and partner
wins,  intensified  marketing  activities and our listing on NASDAQ have clearly
increased our brand visibility in the United States."

"Third  quarter  revenues  reflect our eleventh  consecutive  quarter of revenue
growth.  On an annual  comparison  basis,  we more than  tripled  our  quarterly
revenues for the fourth time in a row." stated Wilfried Beeck, INTERSHOP's chief
financial  officer.  He continued,  "We  traditionally  experience a slowdown in
license  revenue  growth in the third  quarter,  mainly due to reduced  business
activity in the software industry in Europe during the summer months.  INTERSHOP
responded to higher than  anticipated  market growth by  increasing  spending on
marketing,  product development and consulting services.  Extraordinary expenses
during the quarter were  primarily  related to a Euro 7 million  ($6.2  million)
advertising  campaign and  acquisition  related  costs of Euro 1.2 million ($1.1
million)."

"Looking ahead, and assuming similar business  conditions and relatively  stable
currency rates for the fourth quarter,  we expect revenues in a range of Euro 40
million ($35 million) to Euro 50 million ($44 million).  INTERSHOP's strategy of
investing in prospective growth as well as extraordinary expenses resulting from
the  acquisitions  of Subotnic and Owis are expected to prevent the Company from
achieving break-even for the year 2000 as a whole."

QUARTERLY HIGHLIGHTS

CUSTOMERS
o    INTERSHOP  continued  to expand its client base  through  281 new  customer
     wins.  Total  third  quarter  customers  were  567  including  world  class
     enterprises such as Bertelsmann,  ABB Motors, Otto Group,  Motorola,  Shell
     Chemical,  Intel, Wella, Deutsche Telekom,  Time Life, Mobilcom,  Homebase,
     Playmobil, Spiegel, Vobis, Electronic Partners,  Terranetworks,  Sparkasse,
     rooster.com  and  Altodigital.  Repeat  business  from  existing  customers
     accounted for 59 percent of revenues during the quarter.
o    64 INTERSHOP  Enfinity  platforms were sold during the quarter bringing the
     cumulative number of Enfinity platforms sold to date to 195.

CHANNEL DEVELOPMENT
o    INTERSHOP  attracted new integration  and consulting  partners such as EDS,
     Etensity,  Agility and PSI.  Concurrently,  the Company  also  expanded its
     existing  relationships  with leading  eServices  companies like IBM Global
     Services,  Hewlett-Packard,  PriceWaterhouseCoopers,  Andersen  Consulting,
     Unisys,  Sapient,  Pixelpark and Icon  Medialab.  During the third quarter,
     revenues  generated  through channel  partners  totaled 45 percent of total
     revenues.  INTERSHOP trained a record number of 3,840 external  consultants
     during the quarter compared to 2,675 in the previous quarter.
o    INTERSHOP  successfully  executed its partnerships with Hewlett-Packard and
     Intel,  and  expanded  its  global  alliance  with  CommerceOne  to connect
     suppliers to  e-marketplaces.  As part of the  agreement,  CommerceOne  and
     INTERSHOP will jointly promote and market e-commerce  solutions in addition
     to aligning,  educating and compensating their global sales forces to offer
     complementary solutions. Enfinity Cartridges for CommerceOne MarketSite and
     CommerceOne GalerieConnector have already been developed.

NEW PRODUCTS
o    In July,  INTERSHOP launched the new release INTERSHOP 4.2 product line for
     hosted e -commerce services including the INTERSHOP  Universal  Marketplace
     Enabler  for  easy  integration  of  online   storefronts  into  electronic
     marketplaces.
o    INTERSHOP was also focused on the  development  and the  preparation of the
     launch of the new INTERSHOP  Enfinity 2.0 release  which was  introduced at
     the INTERSHOP Open 2 event in New York at October 30.

CORPORATE STRUCTURE
o    INTERSHOP continued its organizational  expansion around the world with the
     total number of employees increasing by 252 to 1,017.
o    INTERSHOP  established new office  locations in Seoul,  Taipei,  Berlin and
     Ilmenau, and existing offices were expanded.

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ACQUISITION ACTIVITY
o    In  August,   INTERSHOP  acquired  Subotnic  GmbH.   Berlin-based  Subotnic
     specializes in the development of content management software and solutions
     designed  to  integrate  with  electronic   commerce  systems.   With  this
     acquisition,  INTERSHOP  plans to expand  its  product  offering  by adding
     Content Integrated Commerce functionality to our INTERSHOP Enfinity product
     suite.
o    Effective  on July  1st,  INTERSHOP  acquired  Owis  GmbH  gaining  over 70
     engineers with expertise and project experience in object oriented software
     development.

CAPITAL STRUCTURE
o    On September 29, 2000 INTERSHOP  successfully  completed its listing on the
     NASDAQ stock exchange.  In conjunction with the American  Depositary Shares
     (ADS)  listing,  INTERSHOP  placed  1,675,000  shares or the  equivalent of
     3,350,000 ADS's yielding the Company net proceeds of Euro 116 million ($102
     million).  On August 15, the Company placed 100,000 shares (pre-split) with
     institutional  investors  and gained net  proceeds of Euro 39 million ($ 34
     million).


ABOUT INTERSHOP:

Intershop  Communications,  Inc., is a leading  provider of sell-side  eBusiness
applications  for enterprises  selling through  multiple  channels.  Intershop's
feature-rich  eBusiness  applications  enable companies to sell direct,  through
distributors and marketplaces,  and integrate with brick and mortar  operations.
Specifically  designed  to  support  the  many  ways  that  organizations  sell,
Intershop's  solutions  are  designed  for  quick  implementation  and  seamless
integration into existing systems. Intershop provides applications and solutions
to some of the world's largest enterprises,  including Hewlett -Packard,  Intel,
Motorola,  Shell and Time Warner. Founded in 1992, Intershop is headquartered in
San Francisco  with offices in the U.S.,  Germany,  France,  Australia,  Canada,
Brazil, Sweden,  Finland, Korea, Hong Kong, Singapore and the United Kingdom and
can be found on the World Wide Web at HTTP://WWW.INTERSHOP.COM.



Inquiries U.S.:                         Press Inquiries U.S.:
Phil Oreste                             Kathleen O'Boyle
VP Finance of the Americas              VP Corp. Communications
Intershop Communications. Inc.          Intershop Communications, Inc.
T: +1-415-844-3794                      T: +1-415-844-3796
F: +1-415-449-3573                      F: +1-415-844-3800

Inquiries Europe:                       Financial Press Inquiries Europe:
Dr. John Lange                          Heiner Schaumann
Director Investor Relations             Director Executive Communications
Intershop Communications AG             Intershop Communications AG
T: +49-40-23709-128                     T: +49-3641-894-120
F: +49-40-23709-111                     F: +49-3641-894-444


THIS PRESS RELEASE  CONTAINS  FORWARD-LOOKING  STATEMENTS  ABOUT EXPECTED FOURTH
QUARTER REVENUE AND EARNINGS, CHANGING MARKET STRATEGIES,  DEMAND FOR ELECTRONIC
COMMERCE  SOFTWARE  AND  RELATED  SERVICES,  EXPANDING  SALES  IN THE  COMPANY'S
TRADITIONAL   MARKET   AND   ANTICIPATED   DEMAND  FOR  NEW   OFFERINGS.   THESE
FORWARD-LOOKING  STATEMENTS  INVOLVE A NUMBER OF RISKS  AND  UNCERTAINTIES  THAT
COULD CAUSE ACTUAL  RESULTS TO DIFFER  MATERIALLY.  THE RISKS AND  UNCERTAINTIES
INCLUDE,  BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, THE  FOLLOWING:  BUSINESS  CONDITIONS  AND THE
GENERAL  ECONOMY;   CHANGES  IN  DISTRIBUTION   CHOICES  AND  CHANNEL  PARTNERS;
COMPETITIVE FACTORS;  SALES AND MARKETING  EXECUTION;  SHIFTS IN TECHNOLOGIES OR
MARKET DEMAND.  ADDITIONAL INFORMATION COVERING FACTORS THAT COULD CAUSE RESULTS
TO DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM PROJECTED  STATEMENTS CAN BE FOUND IN INTERSHOP'S 1999
ANNUAL  REPORT,  PRIOR  QUARTERLY  FILINGS  AND OTHER  DOCUMENTS  FILED WITH THE
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION.

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<CAPTION>

                            INTERSHOP COMMUNICATIONS AG
                       CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEET
                           (IN THOUSANDS EURO; UNAUDITED)

                                                                  September 30,     December 31,
                                                                      2000              1999
                                                                      ----              ----
      ASSETS
      Current assets:
           Cash and cash equivalents                               Euro 32.651      Euro 12.065
           Restricted cash                                               1.485            1.437
           Trade receivables, net                                       48.039           23.333
           Receivable for secondary offering proceeds                  115.857                -
           Prepaid expenses and other current assets                    15.022            3.870
                                                                  -------------     ------------
               Total current assets                                    213.053           40.705
           Property and equipment, net                                  17.496            5.610
           Investments                                                   2.470            6.222
           Other assets                                                  6.650            1.252
                                                                  -------------     ------------
               Total assets                                       Euro 239.669      Euro 53.789
                                                                  =============     ============

      LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
      Current liabilities:
           Current debt and current maturities of long-term debt        Euro -          Euro 33
           Notes payable to shareholder                                 16.489            7.000
           Accounts payable                                              6.143            5.149
           Accrued liabilities                                          30.919            9.960
           Deferred revenue                                              8.646            8.542
                                                                  -------------     ------------
               Total current liabilities                                62.198           30.685
      Long-term debt                                                         -               20
      Deferred revenue                                                      37              220
               Total liabilities                                        62.235           30.925
                                                                  --------------    ------------
      Shareholders' equity
           Common stock                                                 87.728           16.878
           Paid-in capital                                             151.139           48.169
           Notes receivable from shareholder                                 -             (141)
           Deferred compensation                                           (42)            (273)
           Accumulated deficit                                         (63.426)         (45.406)
           Accumulated other comprehensive income                        2.035            3.636
               Total shareholders' equity                              177.435           22.864
                                                                  -------------     ------------
               Total liabilities and shareholders' equity         Euro 239.669      Euro 53.789
                                                                  =============     ============

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                           INTERSHOP COMMUNICATIONS AG
                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS
            (IN THOUSANDS EURO, EXCEPT PER SHARE AMOUNTS; UNAUDITED)

                                                                   Three Months Ended              Nine Months Ended
                                                                       September 30,                  September 30,
                                                                    2000           1999          2000            1999
                                                                    ----           ----          ----            ----

        Revenues:
            Licences                                              Euro 19.618    Euro 5.690    Euro 59.568   Euro 16.205
            Services, maintenance and other revenue                    15.594         4.812         33.186        10.767
                                                                  -----------   -----------    -----------   -----------
            Total revenues                                             35.212        10.502         92.753        26.972

        Cost of revenues:
            Licences                                                      705         1.191          3.986         2.537
            Services, maintenance and other revenue                    11.825         1.764         26.031         5.069
                                                                  -----------   -----------    -----------   -----------
            Total costs of revenues                                    12.530         2.955         30.017         7.606

            Gross Profit                                               22.683         7.547         62.737        19.366


        Operating Expenses:
            Research and development                                    3.178         2.149          6.712         5.128
            Sales and marketing                                        23.227         6.321         48.545        18.768
            General and administrative                                  5.047         2.537         14.356         7.448
            Goodwill and intangible asset amortization                    442            24            475            56
                                                                  -----------   -----------    -----------  ------------
            Total operating expenses                                   31.893        11.031         70.088        31.399


        Operating Loss                                                 (9.211)       (3.484)        (7.351)      (12.034)
        Other income (expense), net:
            Interest income                                               213           106            438           395
            Interest expense                                             (347)          (29)          (486)          (24)
            Other income                                                 (464)           57            551           647
                                                                  -----------   -----------    -----------  ------------
            Total other income (expense)                                 (598)          134            503         1.018

        Net Loss                                                  Euro (9.808)  Euro (3.350)   Euro (6.849) Euro (11.016)
                                                                  ============  ============   ===========  ============

        Basic and Diluted net loss per share                      Euro  (0.12)  Euro  (0.04)   Euro  (0.08) Euro     (14)
                                                                  ============  ============   ===========  ============
        Shares used in computing basic and
             Diluted net loss per share                                83.756        80.647         83.032        79.108
                                                                  ------------  ------------   -----------  ------------
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