Exhibit 99.2

PETROCHINA

COMPANY

LIMITED

SUSTAINABILITY 2016

REPORT

PetroChina Company Limited

CONTENTS INTEGRITY AND COMPLIANCE-BASED CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

09 SUSTAINING STEADY DEVELOPMENT 13 UPHOLDING BUSINESS ETHICS

10 SOLIDIFYING GOVERNANCE 13 COMMUNICATING WITH STAKEHOLDERS

FRAMEWORK

11 OPTIMIZING MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

17 CONSOLIDATING OUR RESOURCE BASE 22 ENHANCINGNING INTERNATIONAL

18 DEVELOPING CLEAN ENERGY COOPERATION

20 PUSHING FORWARD PIPELINE NETWORK 23 ENSURING STABLE SUPPLY

CONSTRUCTION

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

25 IMPROVING HSE MANAGEMENT 32 PROMOTING ENERGY CONSERVATION

26 ENHANCING OPERATIONAL SAFETY 33 RESPONSE TO CLIMATE CHANGE

28 ECOLOGICAL PROTECTION

CUSTOMER-FIRST MARKET SERVICE

37 ENHANCING QUALITY MANAGEMENT 40 DELIVERING CONSIDERATE SERVICES

SYSTEM 41 SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT

38 PROVIDING HIGH-QUALITY PRODUCTS

01 MATERIAL TOPICS

02 ABOUT PETROCHINA PEOPLE-ORIENTED EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT

04 MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN

43 PROTECTION OF EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 48 LOCAL STAFF DEVELOPMENT

06 INTERVIEW WITH THE PRESIDENT

44 OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH 49 STRENGTHENING OF SECURITY IN

62 INVESTOR FAQS 46 ESTABLISHING A PLATFORM FOR OVERSEAS OPERATIONS

69 PERFORMANCE STATISTICS EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT

70 OBJECTIVES AND PLANS

71 GLOSSARY

73 GRI, IPIECA/API AND HKEX INDEX GIVING BACK TO SOCIETY

74 APPENDIX

51 PROMOTING LOCAL DEVELOPMENT 56 VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES

75 GLOBAL COMPACT AND US

51 POVERTY ALLEVIATION 57 CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEVELOPMENT

75 APPROACH TO REPORTING OF OVERSEAS COMMUNITIES

54 SUPPORTING EDUCATION

76 ABOUT THIS REPORT

MATERIAL

TOPICS Business Ethics P13

Governace Framework and Methanisms P10-12, 62-63

CORPORATE

GOVERNANCE Compliance Management P12 Low Oil Prices P4, 6, 61 Technological Innovation to Enhance Quality and Efficiency P17-19 Natural Gas P18-22 New Energy P6, 18, 20, 67

SUSTAINED

ENERGY SUPPLY International Cooperation P6, 22, 48, 57-61 One Belt and One Road Initiative P6, 22, 70

Carbon Capture and Storage P33 Energy Conservation P32 CLIMATE Carbon Management P33 CHANGE Low-carbon Technology P33

Pipeline Hazard Control P26 Hazardous Chemicals Management P26 SAFETY Oil Spill Management P26

Atmospheric Environment P4, 7, 20, 28, 31 Water Management P29-30 Rehabilitation and Land Restoration P30

ENVIRONMENT

Biodiversity and Environmentally Sensitive areas P28, 31-32, 33

Business Ethics P13, 41 Supply Chain Management P41 SUPPLY CHAIN Supply Chain Safety P27

MANAGEMENT

Democratic Rights and Interests of Employees P43-49, 62-68 Occupational Health P44-45 EMPLOYEE RIGHTS Localization and Diversification P48-49 AND INTERESTS Employee Development P47

Oil Product Quality Upgrading P6, 39 Product Safety P37

PRODUCT

Poverty Alleviation P51-54 Tax Payment According to Law P60 Community Development P57-61 SOCIAL Inclusive Economy P51-54

CONTRIBUTION

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

02

ABOUT PETROCHINA

PetroChina Company Limited (PetroChina, hereinafter also referred to as _Globalthe Company_, _Globalwe_ or _Globalus_) was established on 5 November, 1999, upon the restructuring of China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC). PetroChina was listed on the NYSE (ADS code: PTR) and the HKEx (stock code: 857) in April 2000 and on the Shanghai Stock Exchange (stock code: 601857) in November 2007, respectively.

PetroChina is one of the major oil and gas producers and distributors in China, ranking among the leading international oil companies. It engages in a wide range of activities related to oil and natural gas and provides sustainable energy for economic and social development. We pursue harmonious relationships between energy, the environment and the society.

Our Mission Energize, Harmonize, Realize

Our Vision To be a world first-class international energy company

Business Strategy Resources, Markets, Internationalization, Innovation

Guidelines of Development Steady Development

Our Values Honesty, Innovation, Safety and Distinction

Shanghai Stock Exchange    _GlobalTop 20 Board of Supervisors Platts Top 250:FORBES Global 2000:

The Information Disclosure    of Listed Companies for Best Ranked 16th in the 2016Ranked 17th in 2016 FORBES

Practices_:

Appraisal for Listed Companies     Platts Top 250 Global EnergyGlobal 2000 (World s Biggest

2016:    PetroChina was the only Company RankingsPublic Companies)

energy company listed in the

PetroChina received _GlobalA_ Rating    _GlobalTop 20 Board of Supervisors Ranked 5th in the top 250

of Listed Companies for Best    global energy companies

Practices_, selected through    (Asia)

the _GlobalAppraisal of Best Practices

of Board of Supervisors_ jointly

by China Association for Public

Companies, Shanghai Stock

Exchange, and Shenzhen

Stock Exchange in 2016.

A    20 16 / 517

FORTUNE China Top 500:    BrandZ TOP 100: Institutional Investor:IR Magazine:

Ranked 2nd in FORTUNE China    Ranked 14th in BrandZ TOP Voted 3rd Place in BestA winner of Best IR 2016

Top 500 in 2016    100 most valuable Chinese Investor Relations for energy

brands    companies in Asia by buy-side

Ranked 83rd in the top 100    investors in 2016

most valuable global brands

2    14 / 83 3winner

ABOUT PETROCHINA

03

CORE BUSINESS

Upstream    Oil and Gas Exploration, Development and Production

PetroChina takes a leading position in domestic oil and gas exploration and

Our upstream business includes the    development business. We operate in a number of major oil and gas producing

exploration, development and production    regions such as Daqing, Changqing, Xinjiang, Liaohe, Tarim and Sichuan. In 2016, we

of crude oil and natural gas.    produced 763.8 million barrels of crude oil, 3,008.3 billion cubic feet of marketable

natural gas, and 1,265.3 million barrels of oil and gas equivalent domestically.

OIL    GAS Mid-Downstream Refining and Marketing of Crude Oil and Oil Products

We owned 8 ten-million-ton-level refining bases. In 2016 we processed 953.3 million

Our midstream and downstream    barrels of crude oil, produced 86.022 million tons of oil products. We are operating

business includes refining, transportation,    more than 20,000 service (gas) stations, covering 31 provinces (municipalities and

storage and marketing of crude oil and    autonomous regions) and the Hong Kong SAR of China, and undertook the supply of

oil products, as well as production and    about 40% of China s oil products.

marketing of basic, derivative and other

chemical products; and transportation    Production, Transportation and Marketing of Petrochemical Products

and marketing of natural gas.    The Company is engaged in producing six categories of chemical products- synthetic

resin, synthetic fiber and raw materials of synthetic fiber, synthetic rubber, urea,

organic and inorganic compounds with thousands of trademarked products. Our

production capabilities of products such as ethylene, synthetic resin and synthetic

rubber ranked among the best in China. In 2016, we sold 23.15 million tons of

chemical products, and produced 5.589 million tons of ethylene.

Transportation of Natural Gas, Crude Oil and Oil Products, and Distribution

of Natural Gas

PetroChina is mainly responsible for transportation and marketing of natural gas,

and storage and transportation of crude oil and oil products. The Company operated

nearly 80,000 km of pipelines in China, covering 30 provinces (municipalities and

autonomous regions) and the HongKong SAR in China.

International    International Business

Business    Currently, we have established five international oil and gas cooperation zones in

the Middle East, the Central Asia, the Asia-Pacific, the Americas and Africa, and three

We are engaged in oil and gas exploration    oil and gas operation centers in Asia, Europe and the Americas. The expansion and

and production in more than 20 countries    growth of our international oil and gas cooperation has been substantial in terms of

and have trade relations with more than    size and scope, with operational quality improving greatly. In 2016, overseas oil and

80 countries.    gas equivalent production reached 201.3 million barrels.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

04

MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN

Aspiring to play an important role in the process of energy transition, PetroChina participates in the R&D and use of low-carbon technologies, engages in discussions on climate and energy policies, advocates higher standards for safety and environmental management, and helps to build a more sustainable energy future.

thank you for reading this report and for your continued support of and concern for petroChina.

as the global economy struggled with a recovery in 2016, the oil and gas market s way to rebalance amid considerable volatilities and changes. energy transition and new global energy strategies have become the focus of the global oil and gas industry. at the 35th iHS energy CeRa Week, i delivered a keynote speech on the transition and development of energy enterprises under the _Globalnew normal_ of China s economy, and discussed with our cooperation partners how to meet the challenges brought by low oil prices and the future direction of the market, investment, costs and technologies. i also described the actions petroChina had taken in response to the environmental agenda of the 2015 UN Climate Change Conference held in paris, and we worked with friends from the global oil industry to jointly promote low-carbon development. at the same time, we remain committed to the sustainable development of the company and society, proactively dealing with any kind of risks and challenges so as to keep improving our business performance.

We actively responded to low oil prices and achieved steady development. to tide us over the difficult period as international oil price dropped below uSD 30 a barrel, we promoted the steady and systematic development of core businesses by consistently adhering to our strategy for resources, markets, internationalization and innovation. We deepened reform in key areas and crucial links, focused on innovation and benefits through science and technologies. We developed and implemented 36 measures in 12 categories to broaden our sources of income, reduce expenditure, control costs and enhance profitability. in 2016, our operating results were ahead of expectations. While the crude oil settlement price dropped by 21.4% and the natural gas realized price dropped by 25% year-on-year, the Company recorded RMb 1,616.9 billion in turnover, RMb 45.19 billion in total profit, and RMb 317.1 billion in taxes, and RMb 84.13 billion in free cash flow.

We focused on safety and environmental protection, and promoted green development. We worked hard to ensure safety, environmental protection and stability, strictly implemented the safety responsibility system, and spared no efforts to control major hazards with a focus on preventing and controlling risks at their sources. as a result, we avoided major and worse safety and environmental accidents. Committed to green development, we enhanced the development of clean technologies and promoted the clean use of fossil energy. We optimized our business structure, increased production of green and low-carbon energy, accelerated the cost-effective development of unconventional resources, and advanced natural gas development, resulting in the rapid growth of our natural gas business. in 2016, the contribution of domestic natural gas production to the Company s total oil equivalent output reached 39.6%, while our natural gas supply accounted for about 70% of the national total. amid concerted global efforts to address climate change, we participated in the specific actions of the oil and Gas Climate initiative (oGCi).

We strengthened legal compliance to build an enterprise firmly based on integrity. We comprehensively promoted corporate governance, underlining the concept of legal compliance, continuously improving the corporate governance system, and ensuring that the integrity of our

MeSSaGe FRoM tHe CHaiRMan

05

operations complied with the industry best practices. extensive efforts were made to provide compliance training to all staff, further advance the system building and management system integration, and strengthen legal compliance for major projects. We reinforced and improved economic accountability auditing, established the overseas audit center, and expanded our audit coverage. We treat all business partners with integrity, respect and responsibility, fully respect our customers, suppliers, contractors and industry partners.

We are committed and supportive of public welfare undertakings and work hard to be an excellent corporate citizen. We pursued sustainable development between business and society and shared our developmental achievements with society. We built a targeted support system customized to local needs, and continued aid programs for the poor in underdeveloped regions, in order to improve local sustainability and contribute to global efforts in poverty alleviation. our efforts in the implementation of initiative public welfare programs such as _GlobalXuhang educational program_ and _GlobalHand in Hand with petroChina for public Welfare_, and the funding of livelihood infrastructure projects to support communities, received full recognition in the local communities and society at large.

For the moment and foreseeable future, petroChina is facing both opportunities and challenges in its development. on the one hand, its environment for development will increase in complexity as the global economy is experiencing twists and turns in its recovery fraught with more instability and uncertainties. Moreover, the changing policies in some host countries will pose more risks to our overseas operations. although China s economy is developing steadily, there is some cause for concern. With profound changes in the landscape of the domestic oil and gas market, competition will be intensifying, while industry regulations and certain fiscal policies will become tighter. the fundamentals of international oil price rises remain relatively fragile, resulting in volatility in the price trend. on the other hand, we are blessed with opportunities and favorable conditions for development. the global energy industry is accelerating its transition to low-carbon and clean energy, the oil and gas dominated energy consumption mix is consolidating further, and the oil and gas market is striking a new balance between supply and demand, which will leave room for the international oil price to rise in the medium and long term. China s economy will maintain a medium to high rate of growth, resulting in a continuing solid growth in demand for total oil and gas. as natural gas is gradually becoming a main source of energy, the Company still enjoys enormous space for development. over the years, we have developed our scale strengths and risk resistance capacities. petroChina now ranks among the top industry counterparts in scale and strength, and takes the dominant position in local oil and gas production and supply, and thus still enjoys a prominent and advantageous foundation for further development.

Despite the difficult conditions and intensifying pressures, our opportunities outweigh our challenges and hope outweighs adversity. in 2017, we will establish and implement new development concepts, make targeted measures to carry out internal reform and adjust our structure, work hard to strengthen innovation-driven development and enhance quality and efficiency, keep optimizing our business chain and value chain, and continuously make our development more balanced, coordinated and sustainable. We will make every effort to maintain steady growth, optimize structure, strengthen weak areas, enhance efficiency, and guard against risks. We will earnestly enhance value-creation in our crude oil business chain, and work hard to implement projects of strategic value throughout the natural gas business chain, in order to achieve sustainable development.

Wang Yilin

Chairman of the board

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

06

INTERVIEW WITH THE PRESIDENT

To resolve observable conflicts and issues in our development and promote steady growth, we must consistently deepen reform and promote innovation with fortitude and a spirit of self- transformation.

What plans do you have to respond to the current slowdown in global economic growth, depressed international oil and gas prices, and sluggish demand for oil products in China?

As a result of the global political-economic situation and the market supply-demand of oil and gas, the international crude oil prices still fluctuated at a medium and low level, structural and seasonal contradictions are still outstanding in our domestic market, and uncertainties in safety and the environmental protection increase internationally. All these factors result in enormous pressure to the stable growth of PetroChina s business performance. In 2017, we will continue steadfastly to promote market-oriented and efficiency-centered development, focus on enhancing quality and efficiency, and strive to realize more coordinated and sustainable development. First, we will increase our resources and expand our market. We will intensify our efforts in resources and markets at home and abroad, obtain cost-effective, green and low-carbon energy resources, vigorously expand high-end and high-efficiency markets, make domestic and overseas resources and markets more complementary and coordinated, and enhance the competitive advantages of the entire industry chain. Second, we will carry out structural adjustment and optimization. We will make consistent efforts in structural adjustment and optimization, to further rationalize business structure and ensure a more coordinated and streamlined production and operation. Third, we will strengthen management and guard against risks. We will improve the risk prevention and control system, and promote the identification, assessment, early warning and response to significant risks. We will strengthen business operations in compliance with all legal requirements, keep our production and operation stable and under control, guard against major safety and environmental incidents and high-risk events, and strive for steady development.

The Chinese government has issued documents concerning the reform of state-owned enterprises and the reform of the oil and gas industry. What are your key areas of focus in your efforts to extend the reform?

In order to improve the modern enterprise system and promote a corporate governance structure and capacity-control of modern, international standards, we will advance reform by focusing on six areas: first, optimization of the corporate governance structure and control mode; second, adjustment and continuous restructuring of business structure; third, improvement of the operation mechanism; fourth, development of the mixed ownership economy; fifth, innovation in scientific and technological systems and mechanisms; and sixth, reform of our personnel, labor and income distribution system.

In 2016, we formulated our opinions on the comprehensive implementation of reform and the special plan for the _Global13th Five-Year Plan_ reform. New breakthroughs were made in key reforms of management systems, and business restructure and integration in an effort to enhance business autonomy. New progress was also achieved in the reform of labor, personnel, and income distribution systems and other significant areas.

INTERVIEW WITH THE PRESIDENT

07

As the international political and economic situation becomes increasingly complex, how does PetroChina view international cooperation? How will the Company build energy cooperation communities?

Against a backdrop of rising complexity in international political and economic situation, traditional energy enterprises, especially oil and gas companies, face a series of challenges to their development, including loss of development space to non-fossil fuels, and greater requirements for clean and low-carbon development in response to global climate change. Meanwhile, it faces a major opportunity for the rapid development of the natural gas industry. Enhanced international cooperation is required to overcome the multiple challenges and promote transition and development.

As a major player in international energy cooperation, we will build energy cooperation communities to align ourselves with the market trend. First, we will broaden the fields of cooperation. Taking the opportunity of the global energy industrial restructuring and guided by government initiatives such as the _GlobalOne Belt and One Road Initiative_, we will establish new partnerships and expand all-round cooperation along the entire value chain. Second, we will strengthen the sharing and exchanges of technology and expertise, by fostering open multilateral technical and skills exchanges, enhance joint development and the promotion and application of new technologies, and strengthen exchanges and joint training of our talent. Third, we will actively promote and participate in energy management, encourage governments to provide open resources and markets, participate actively in the construction of regional and global energy trading markets, support the democratization and institutionalization of global energy governance rules, and create more favorable investment environments. Fourth, we will take part in actions dealing with major risks, and establish platforms for information sharing and coordination mechanisms for risk prevention and control.

PetroChina will adhere to the spirit of openness and the concept of mutual benefits and win-win results, enhance cooperation with businesses in various countries, and play a constructive role in a responsible manner to become a preferred partner for its counterparts all over the world.

The implementation of the Paris Agreement will exert a significant impact on the global energy consumption mix. As a fossil fuel company, how does PetroChina view the risks and opportunities presented by it? What efforts did PetroChina make to address climate change?

Officially entering into force in 2016, the Paris Agreement marks a new starting point in the global response to climate change. It helps all participants, governments, industrial sectors and individuals to jointly invest in a future with lower emissions. Moreover, it has accelerated the development of sustainable industries and increased the choices of low-carbon consumption. This presents both risks and opportunities to the development of traditional fossil energy. In the future, the rapid development of clean technology will promote the clean use of fossil fuels, and advance the transition and upgrading of the oil and gas industry. As a clean fossil fuel, the importance of natural gas will become more pronounced in particular.

PetroChina is committed to low-carbon development, and actively promotes greenhouse gas control together with its peers and all sectors of society. As an energy company, we focus on promoting advances in energy production and consumption and improving the energy supply structure, in order to provide energy solutions to address climate change. We make consistent efforts to optimize our asset portfolio and products supply structure, and increase the proportion of natural gas and other clean fuels in our energy supply. Over the past five years, the proportion of natural gas in our domestic oil and gas production equivalent has increased by 6.9%, representing an increase in production of 31.7% . In addition, our domestic natural gas supply accounts for about 70% of the national total, making a positive contribution to the optimization of China s energy consumption mix. Also, we strengthen low-carbon production and carbon emissions management, promote the R&D and utilization of low-carbon technologies, and commit ourselves to exchanges and cooperation with our counterparts at home and abroad.

Wang Dongjin

Vice Chairman of the Board and President

INTEGRITY AND COMPLIANCE-BASED CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

INTEGRITY AND COMPLIANCE-BASED CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

09

Integrity and compliance are the foundation of an enterprises sustainable development. At PetroChina, we

always advocate the rule of law, which calls for the supremacy of law, responsibility commensurate with authority,

procedural compliance, honesty and trustworthiness, and justice and impartiality. We regularize our corporate and

employee behavior through compliance management. We are guided by the rule of law and improve our capability

of corporate management by law. We strive to achieve, mainly through institutional constraints, the modernization

and internationalization of the corporate governance system and control system. We will make unremitting efforts to

explore strengthening the scientific nature and operability of our corporate governance and will optimize the long-term

mechanism for operating the company in compliance with all legal requirements.

SUSTAINING STEADY DEVELOPMENT

We develop and implement an innovative, harmonized, green, open and mutual development    Promoting modern management

concept, adhering to the policy of steady and sound development, and give top priority    through corporate governance

to capacity building in core businesses, reform and innovation, safety and environmental    according to law

protection, and image reshaping. We make unremitting efforts to adjust our structure,

strengthen weak areas, increase efficiency, and take integrated measures to guard against risks.    Improving the corporate governance system

Thanks to all these efforts, the Company has maintained promising stable operating results,    and management systems and mechanisms

has kept all kinds of risks under control, has reinforced a stable and harmonious environment    through system building, in order to put in

for development, and steadily improved its corporate image. Its steadier, healthier and more    place a systematic, scientific and effective

sustainable development has made PetroChina into a globally respected company.    organisation.

The top management pays attention to major issues in the Company s development through    Promoting scientific and standardized

careful planning. It vigorously develops information channels. Through face-to-face meetings,    corporate management through standardized

site visits, special reports, etc, it engages in in-depth investigations and research, and widely    quality and metering measurement, and fully

absorbs suggestions from all related parties. In doing so, it establishes the strategic goal of    improving the quality of products, projects

building a world-class international energy company, and sets out the growth strategy of    and services.

resources, market, internationalization and innovation. In addition, the Company has set up a    Giving full play to the role of applying

committee tasked with compiling the sustainable growth report. This committee is made up    information technology in management

of the main persons in charge of relevant departments, and matters concerning sustainable    innovation and business model innovation,

development are verified and externally disclosed by it.    enhancing operational efficiency, and

thereby promoting modern management.

Focusing on growth quality and efficiency, the Company links the compensation of persons-in-charge

and employees to their environmental and safety performance, and exercises its veto right against

persons-in-charge who have violated safety or environmental regulations. An assessment of enterprises

that are advanced in terms of production safety and a comparative appraisal of advanced entities and    Reform and Core businesses

innovation    development

individuals are carried out annually. The advanced enterprises and individuals are commended and

receive an award.In 2016, we rigorously conducted performance assessments followed by reward and

punishment, and set clear assessment indicators. We rewarded subsidiaries that achieved technological    Sustainable

progress and published standards, and punished those with performance issues in safety, environmental    Development

protection, and investment control.    Capacity

We issued regulations on the remuneration and business expenditure of leading management personnel.

The remuneration of our senior executives is composed of the basic salary and performance-based annual

salary. The annual remuneration is linked to performance and adjusted according to variables, such as the    Image and brand Safe and green

development

operating performance of the Company, the average wage level of the staff and the market labor price.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

SOLIDIFYING GOVERNANCE FRAMEWORK

Ever since its establishment, PetroChina set up a corporate governance framework in compliance with regulatory requirements and international rules, clearly outlining the authority and responsibilities of the annual general meetings of shareholders, of the board of directors and its expert committees, of the supervisory committee, and of management answerable to the president. Such management structures provide checks and balances to one another, cooperate closely and are highly effective. The Company s internal management and operations are further standardized and the management level keeps improving.

PetroChina keeps on optimizing the legal final decision-making mechanism, strengthening the evaluation for decision making, and maintaining a system that tracks the responsibility for decisions made and holds decision-makers lifelong accountable. The Company keeps improving the supervision and restriction mechanism for the exercising of power, and following the principle that responsibility is commensurate with authority, it clearly delineates the limits of each authority at different managerial levels with detailed requirements on their authority and responsibility. Moreover, by planning as a whole all resources for internal supervision such as legal affairs, internal control, auditing and supervision and inspection, PetroChina reinforces self-supervision, supervision by dedicated departments, and supervision between superior and subordinate departments, and accepts public supervision, in order to achieve well-grounded decision making, appropriate authorization, controlled exercise of power, and accountability for abuses of power.

Shareholders and Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The general meeting of shareholders is the top authority in the Company and it exercises its functions and powers in accordance with the law. PetroChina s general shareholders meetings are held annually and the Company ensures that all shareholders enjoy equal privileges to exercise their rights. In order to ensure fairness, as the controlling shareholder of PetroChina, CNPC will abstain from voting when a connected transaction is presented to the general meeting for consideration.

Directors, Board of Directors and Affiliated Board Committees

The directors are elected by the general meeting of shareholders, and they are accountable to the general meeting. Under the board are several committees: the Nomination Committee, the Audit Committee, Evaluation & Remuneration Committee, Investment & Development Committee, the Health, Safety and Environmental Protection (HSE) Committee, all of which advise the board on its decisions. We never cease formulating, improving and effectively implementing the work systems and work procedures of the Board of Directors and affiliated board committees. We have formulated the Board Diversity Policy, so that members of the board are considered based on the actual situation of the Company, its own

operational model and the specific work

requirements, while taking into account the    Corporate Governance Structure

candidate s age, educational background and    Nomination Committee

General Meeting of

professional experience. There are four non-     Shareholders

executive independent directors in the board    Audit Committee

of directors. These independent directors are    Evaluation & Remuneration

experts and talents from different countries    Committee Board of Directors

Supervisory Committee

and technical backgrounds, including    Investment & Development

Committee

petroleum and petrochemicals, accounting,    Health, Safety and Environmental Executives & Managements

finance, international investment and    Protection Committee

financing management. In 2016, we set out

specifications for the operation of the Board

of Directors, and followed the procedure

for _Globaldecisions on major issues, appointment    We constantly supplemented and perfected our basic system of corporate governance. In accordance

and dismissal of leading officials, decisions    with capital market regulations, we set up the Nomination Committee of the Board of Directors,

on major project investment, and use    and developed rules of procedure for the committee. In 2016, in strict accordance with the rules of

of large sums of money _. The Board    procedure for the Nomination Committee of the Board of Directors, we deliberated on the candidates

strengthened investment decision-making    for director, top management changes and adjustments to the board committees, giving full play to the

management and increased the number    role of the Nomination Committee.

of site investigations and research at

grassroots units and overseas oil and gas cooperation projects conducted by independent directors. In 2016, the Company organized on-site

investigations and research by independent directors. We informed independent directors of important production and operational decisions

in a timely and regular manner, and put their recommendations into practice, achieving a positive result for the Company.

Supervisors and Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee is accountable to the Shareholders Meeting. In accordance with the Company Law of the PRC and the Articles

of Association, the Supervisors present at the Supervisory Committee meetings, attend Board Meetings as observers, report back to the

Shareholders Meeting and submit the Supervisory Committee reports and related matters. The Supervisory Committee formulated the

Organization and Rules of Procedures for the Supervisory Committee and the Regulations on Supervisors

Performance of Duties, laying down the methods and contents of performing the duties of the

Company s Supervisors, and the requirements and evaluation criteria for performing such duties. All

Supervisors are urged to supervise the Company s finances and monitor the legality and compliance

of the manner in which directors and senior management of the Company perform their duties, in

line with their responsibility to all shareholders. By of the end of 2016, the Company s Supervisory

Committee had nine members, four of which were employees of the Company.

Executive Body

The Company s executive management body consists of a Vice President and a CFO presided over by the President. They are appointed

by and accountable to the Board of Directors. They carry out the Boards resolutions and organize the day-to-day production and business

operations of the Company in accordance with the Company Law of the PRC and the Articles of Association and as authorized by the Board of

Directors. The Company has a two-tier executive governance organization for the headquarters and regional offices, and a three-tier business

structure consisting of the headquarters, subsidiaries and regional operations. The Company has four core business segments that are run by

four dedicated subsidiaries, namely: PetroChina Exploration & Production Company, PetroChina Refining & Chemicals Company, PetroChina

Marketing Company and PetroChina Natrual Gas & Pipeline Company.

OPTIMIZING MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

The Company stresses intensification, specialization and integration and has established a management system where responsibility is

commensurate with authority, and that is scientifically sound, lean, efficient, and vibrant so as to strengthen the restrictions on and the

supervision of the exercise of power. The Company aims to have clear control objectives, effective integration of resources and optimal

efficiency and effectiveness, in order to improve corporate social responsibility performance and achieve sustainable growth. We actively

boosted the integration and innovation of the management system, and promoted pilot programs for system construction and integration.

We consolidated management systems on quality, HSE, measurement, energy, internal control, legal risk prevention and control with other

management documents, in order to promote management system reform and optimize resource configuration.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Compliance Management System

Integrity and compliance are the bottom line of our business operation and the cornerstone of the Company s

development, and take precedence to business systems and economic interests. We integrate compliance    We have set up a telephone hotline

management into our strategy, and have a zero tolerance attitude to rule violations and strictly comply with    and an email address to receive

applicable laws, regulations and procedures in operational activities. The growth of the Company hinges on    reports of irregularities. Employees

compliance management, which is incorporated into the whole process of our production, construction and

operations management assessment. We enhance process control while focusing on prevention, and have    can report cases by using their real

designated persons-in-charge of the headquarters and affiliates as the first persons responsible for compliance    names or anonymously. We will

management. We endeavor to build a compliance management system with complete regulations, scientific    seriously investigate and give feed

procedures and proper execution to cover all staff, the entire process and all positions.    back to the one who reports, and

keep their identities confidential.

We adhere to the value of honesty and integrity, implementing the same compliance policy and

guidelines as CNPC. The Integrity and Compliance Guidelines issued by CNPC clearly regulating the basic

requirements, codes of conduct and prohibited matters in external relations, professional ethics, handling    Hotline: 86-10-62094741

internal relations, safeguarding the interests of the Company, taking social responsibility, etc. In 2016, our    Email: jcbjb@petrochina.com.cn

employees signed a written commitment pledging to abide by the manual.

In 2016, we promote the application of the Compliance Management Information Platform, organized staff

to attend compliance training and testing through the platform. We strengthened the management and

maintenance of staff compliance archives, further defined the scope of personnel subject to compliance

registration and reporting, strengthened the supervision of trading process and registered and reported

issues involving conflicts of interest. For suppliers and contractors, we carried out compliance review and

evaluation, and removed those who breached relevant laws and regulations from the qualification list. We

strictly carried out due diligence to check the compliance of our trading partners in major joint ventures

and cooperation, mergers and acquisitions, and other major transactions, and specified compliance

requirements in contract terms and conditions.

Internal Control and Risk Management System

We continued to improve our internal control system and ensured its continual effectiveness. To ensure

effective risk control, we strengthened the evaluation, reporting and control of major risks, improved risk

event management, and intensified special risk control. We kept optimizing and simplifying our business

processes, and developed scientific standards for process management. We focused on the testing of

managerial personnel with an increase in depth of the test to identify management weaknesses, and systemic

and institutional problems. We endeavored to identify and prevent major risks, in order to further enhance

the overall quality and effectiveness of the management testing, and ensure the effective operation of our

systems. We intensified internal control and rectification, improved the coordination mechanism between the

lower and higher levels, announced within the Company recurring events and exceptions which were not

rectified within the prescribed period, reinforced warnings and assessment efforts, supervised implementation

and rectification activities, and improved the management and control skills. In 2016, the Company s internal

control and risk management system successfully passed an external audit for the 11th consecutive year.    In 2016, 12 anti-corruption

Corruption Punishment and Prevention System    lawsuits of the Company

were closed. The Supreme

We treat our business partners, customers, suppliers, contractors and counterparts with integrity, respect    Court of the United States

and equality. We require our employees not to abuse one s position in signing business contracts for one s    fully overruled the lawsuit

own personal gain or for the benefit of friends or family or to obtain personal benefits. We abide by the    instituted by the US investors

relevant national laws and regulations, developed the Punishment Regulations for Managements Violations

and Non-compliance, Compliance Management Measures, Material Supplier Management Measures, etc, to    against some former senior

regulate behaviors of employees and the Company.    executives of PetroChina,

ordering the termination of

We verified all complaint letters and punished all corrupt officials, and always make unremitting efforts    the motion and the closure

to combat corruption. The Company identified hazards and strengthened the building of the anti-    of the lawsuit. The normal

corruption system, and gradually improved its corruption risk prevention mechanism. We sought to

prevent corruption from small matters forming at the early stage through measures targeted at different    operation and reputation of

levels, and conducted early warnings, monitoring and inspection on a regular basis. We promoted special    the Company have not been

audits and supervision of major investment projects and online real-time supervision of major business    materially affected.

areas, and urged the departments to fulfill their regulatory responsibilities.

INTEGRITY AND COMPLIANCE-BASED CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

UPHOLDING BUSINESS ETHICS

We abide by business ethics and adhere to the principle of honesty and credibility, in order

Anti-Commercial Bribery

to promote transparent trading and maintain fair and impartial competition. We fight against

Commercial bribery is an act of using devious    commercial bribery in any form. We oppose monopolies and do not abuse our dominant

means to obtain business opportunities or    market position. We fight against unfair competition in any form and comply with trade

other economic benefits. Commercial bribery    restrictions. We never conduct, participate in or support any forms of money laundering. We

seriously disrupts the market order of fair    conduct faithful, honest and legal external transactions.

competition and is prohibited by law in each

jurisdiction. The Company firmly opposes    COMMUNICATING WITH STAKEHOLDERS

commercial bribery, and strictly prohibits

the giving of benefits to others to obtain

Gaining our stakeholders trust and support is fundamental to the building of a sustainable

business opportunities or other advantages.

business. We worked hard to enhance quality and efficiency of our development to maximize

We also prohibit employees from receiving

returns to our shareholders and value for our stakeholders, and to achieve our common goal

or soliciting benefits from others in our

of harmonious development and mutually beneficial maximization.

business activities. The prohibited behaviors

mentioned above not only refer to the direct    We actively performed our obligation to disclose information. In accordance with the laws,

giving and receiving of benefits, but also to the    regulations and regulatory requirements of the place where the Company is listed and in

sort of behaviors via a third party. The benefits    accordance with the Articles of Association, we built a multi-level and multi-form mechanism

hereby include, but are not limited to: cash,    to communicate with stakeholders, through periodic reports, interim reports, media

gifts, marketable securities, physical assets,    communications, interviews and visits, and interactive communication. We amplified and

kickbacks, free traveling and entertainment,    perfected the management and related systems for the disclosure of major events so as to

and also non-property benefits such as    report the Company s situation in full and on time to the public. We also organized non-deal

employment opportunities.    roadshows, reverse roadshows, and site inspections for investors, met visiting investors, and

invited individual shareholders to attend the AGM, etc. The top managerial personnel of the

Company frequently attended high-level conferences and forums and delivered speeches,

in order to improve mutual trust between stakeholders and the Company. The Company

kept improving its website and developing new media communication channels such

as teleconferences, Emails and fax to provide more information, understand and respond

to investors questions in a timely fashion. It collected and organized every opinion and

suggestion, and channeled them to relevant departments, so that the Company was aware

of the needs of the stakeholders.

To address investors concerns, we deeply communicated with investors and listen to their

views on the development of the Company. Through the _GlobalOpen to Public_ Day, Gas Station

Open Day, news conferences, customer meetings, customer visits, questionnaires, advice

boxes and other means, we solicited criticism and opinions from all walks of life, followed the

implementation of the opinions, and took the initiative to accept supervision from all parties.

As to the dividend distribution based on    By doing so, we further enhanced the understanding by the media and public of the Company.

the net profit in the second half of 2016, the

For the refinery project in Yunnan, PetroChina

Company will, as usual, define the ratio of

invited the public to participate in the project

dividend distribution at the end of 2016 as

environmental impact assessment, and set up the

45%. With consideration to the Company s    _GlobalYunnan Petrochemical Green Construction Advisory

satisfactory fundamentals, financial status and    Committee_ composed of representatives from local

cash flow, the Company intends to distribute    communities, enterprises, social organizations and

a special dividend. The Company s stable    local government, and organized dialogues. Through

and active dividend policy is welcomed    these dialogues, Yunnan Petrochemical responded to

by shareholders for fully safeguarding the    issues including residents relocation and resettlement,

interests of minority shareholders.    local employment, the impact on surrounding safety and the environment, project information disclosure,

communication with the general public, promotion of refinery knowledge and government supervision.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Stakeholder    Expectations Communication Approach

Stable energy supply    Offer company expertise

Harmonious economic and social

Governments    development Attend to public concerns and improve corporate behavior

Leading role of brand and technology    Launch strategic cooperation with relevant departments

Tax payment according to law    Attend seminars and forums

Fulfill requirements on statutory information disclosure

Standardized corporate governance    Organize roadshow and reverse roadshow activities, such as field visits

Shareholders    Stable business growth Issue reports and announce results performance on a regular basis

Sustainable development    Launched an Investor FAQs mailbox to receive public opinions

Reverse roadshows and site inspections

Elect employee representatives to join the Supervisory Committee

Basic rights guaranteed    Establishment of trade unions at all levels

Employees    Professional development Convene employee representatives meetings and make reports

Growth in wages and benefits    Organize employee training programs

Set up a complaints and feedback system

Provide safe, environmentally friendly,    Carry out activities to protect consumers interests

high-quality products and services

Publicize commitment to quality services

Consumers    Constantly improve the quality and

variety of services    Provide hotline services

Operate with integrity    Conduct customer satisfaction surveys

Hold tendering meetings

Hold large cross-border business negotiations and technical exchange

meetings

Business    Fair and transparent procurement Use the electronic trading platform

partners    Win-win cooperation Engage in sharing managerial practices and technical standards

Conduct contract negotiations and routine meetings

Hold training for business partners

Conduct daily operation meetings

Improve sustainable management    Share the Company s experiences

Perform social responsibilities such as

NGOs     Participate in NGO activities

poverty alleviation and environmental

protection    Promote international communication

Promote employment growth    Hold dialogues with local communities

Protect community environment    Organize community visits

Promote economic development in

Communities     Conduct social and environmental impact assessments of projects

the community

Promotion of education

Respect cultural traditions of the

community    Increase information disclosure

INTEGRITY AND COMPLIANCE-BASED CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

Key Actions

Behave legally and ethically, and abide by the applicable laws and regulations in the jurisdictions where we operate

Stabilize oil and gas supplies

Participate in discussions organized by the government on climate change, energy conservation and emission reduction

Promote local employment and cultivate local talents

Pay taxes according to law

Operate in a responsible manner to maintain a good reputation

Convene annual general meetings

Equal treatment of shareholders, and value opinions of both small and medium-sized shareholders

Hold dialogues with investors and shareholders in various ways

Enhance employee training and skills development

Organize vocational skill competitions

Conduct occupational health checks

Promote local employment in overseas operations

Provide a career development platform for employees

Protect employee safety in overseas operations

Enhance quality management

Improve service quality at refueling stations

Increase the supply of clean fuel, such as natural gas, high-standard gasoline and diesel

Secure oil supplies for disaster relief and agricultural production

Organize Refueling Station Open Day activity

Strengthen centralized procurement management to provide suppliers with equal opportunities

Enhance communication and coordination with contractors and strengthen the HSE management of contractors by creating a safe

and healthy working environment

Improve security measures and the emergency response network

Open the investment field

Organize PetroChina-Siemens Strategic Cooperation Summit

Submit a progress report to the UN Global Compact

Attend to external concerns through various forms of communication

Play an active role in participating in and supporting international environment and standardization initiatives

Participate in a wide range of forums and conferences

Participate in disaster relief and reconstruction, and provide financial support for education and poverty alleviation

Support and drive local economic growth through large projects

Supply clean energy, e.g. natural gas, to remote Regions

Hold volunteering activities among employees

Procure locally, where the business is carried out

Provide job opportunities and training for the local community

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

Energy is essential to socio-economic development. Our mission is to develop a safe, stable, diversified and clean

energy supply system, thereby promoting sustainable economic growth and social progress.

At PetroChina, we proactively change the ways we produce energy to constantly adapt

to energy reform. With an innovative, harmonized, green, open and mutual development

concept, we make sustained efforts to build a safe, stable, diversified and clean energy supply

system. We never cease consolidating our resource base through technological and managerial

innovations. With an eye on sustainable energy supply in the future, we are accelerating natural

gas development, exploring unconventional energy, deploying new energies, and supplying

more clean energy. In addition, we are expanding international cooperation and optimizing

our global businesses in order to play a leading role in supplying cleaner and greener energy

and to provide sustained momentum to socio-economic development.

CONSOLIDATING OUR RESOURCE BASE

Oil and gas resources are the foundation of our development and the basis for securing stable

oil and gas supply. In recent years, it has become more difficult and expensive to explore and

develop the remaining oil and gas resources, and oil prices have continued to decline. Under

such unfavorable circumstances, we have achieved exploration breakthroughs, made new oil

and gas discoveries, and consolidated our resource base through management innovation

and technological progress, enhancing our capacity to provide society with economical,

stable and sustainable energy.

Fine Potential Tapping and Obtaining Reserves with Economics of Scale

In 2016, we continued to adhere to our resource strategy, optimized exploration deployment,

focused on concentrated exploration, fine exploration and cost-efficient exploration of

key basins and favorable zones, and strengthened comprehensive geological research,

resulting in the discovery of a number of large-scale, high-quality recoverable reserves. In the

Changqing Oilfield in particular, we made outstanding achievements in the multi-layer, three-

dimensional exploration of lithologic reservoirs, with 370 million tons of proven reserves

added. Changqing Oilfield overcame technological obstacles by focusing on increasing the

output of individual wells, improving the recovery ratio and cutting development costs, and

enabled oil and gas production of over 50 million tons for the fourth consecutive year in 2016.

Daqing Oilfield s fine water flooding technology improved its recovery ratio by 1% to 3%, and

provided strong support for the sustainable development of the oilfield. In 2016, PetroChina s

newly added proven oil in place exceeded 600 million tons for the 11th consecutive year, and

newly added proven gas in place exceeded 400 billion cubic meters for the 10th consecutive

year, with the total proven oil and gas geological reserves equivalent exceeded 1 billion tons    600million tons

of oil equivalent for the 10th consecutive year. In 2016, in newly-added oil and gas reserves,    In 2016, PetroChina s newly added

natural gas accounted for 40%, an increase of 9% year-on-year.     proven oil in place exceeded

600 million tons for the 11th

consecutive year

Proved 100mt     Proved several

or 10mt reserve     100bcm reserve1billion tons

areas in the Ordos,    Oil Gasareas in the OrdosIn 2016, PetroChina s total proven

Tarim, Junggar,    exploration explorationBasin, Sichuanoil and gas geological reserves

Basin and Tarim

Qaidam and other     equivalent exceeded 1 billion

basins     Basin and othertons of oil equivalent for the 10th

regionsconsecutive year

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Steady and Moderate Rise in Oil and Gas Production, with Increased

Efficiency and Production

In oil and gas field development, we prioritized profitability refocusing our efforts from

production scale to quality and efficiency. We adjusted and optimized our yield structure

according to oil prices and market changes. In 2016, we produced 1,466.6 million barrels of

oil equivalent, while oil and gas operation costs dropped 10.1% from 2015.

PetroChina s Innovative Technologies Winning National Awards in 2016

Technology    Award

Paleo-marine carbonate exploration theory and technology    Second-class National Science

innovation, and discovery of the giant Anyue Gas Field    and Technology Progress Award

Large-scale ethane process technology package, key    Second-class National Science

equipment and industrial application     and Technology Progress Award

Special drilling liquid for complex well and industrial    Second-class National Technical

application     Invention Award

Quantitative calculating method of oil saturation in    Gold Medal of China Patent

fractured reservoirs     Award

2012 2016 Oil Equivalent Production of PetroChina (106 barrels)

1,343.1    1,400.0 1,450.41,493.91,466.6

2012    2013 201420152016

DEVELOPING CLEAN ENERGY     Question: As the energy consumption

mix is getting more diverse with lower

Fossil fuel will remain the driving force of global economic development in the near future,    carbon emissions, has PetroChina

whereas clean and low-carbon energy will chart the course for future energy development.    m a d e a ny a d j u s t m e n t t o t h e

As a practical and effective low-carbon energy currently, natural gas plays an important role    development of traditional oil and gas

in meeting the needs of socio-economic development and protecting the environment.    and new energy?

PetroChina focuses on the sustainable supply of clean energy, and will continue to regard

natural gas as a strategic and growing business. The Company is increasing investment in    Answer: Fossil fuels will remain the main

natural gas exploration and development, accelerating the construction of cross-border gas    energy for consumption until 2030. As energy

pipelines and domestic gas pipeline backbone network facilities, advancing development of    consumption growth gradually slows in China

unconventional gases such as tight gas, coal bed methane and shale gas. It is also pushing    and the energy structure is constantly being

forward the development and use of natural gas, studying and promoting the development    optimized, we are going to enter a new stage

and use of new energy, in order to meet the demand for clean energy.     where overcapacity in traditional energy will

coexist with the rapid growth of clean and low-

Increasing Natural Gas Exploration and Development     carbon energy. Under such circumstances,

In 2016, the Company strengthened production management in major gas areas, hub gas    PetroChina will stabilize oil production

fields and key gas fields, and continued to reinforce the development and construction of    and increase the output of natural gas while

natural gas fields, with an emphasis on capacity building in mature fields including four gas    highlighting development quality and benefits.

provinces in Changqing, Tarim, Southwest, and Qinghai. We intensified the use of the _Globallarge-    It will push forward the development of new

cluster, factory-like, and comprehensive_ capacity building mode in natural gas development,    energy, by focusing on alternative energy

providing a guarantee for stable production growth. The contribution of natural gas to    resources, including geothermal and natural

our total domestic oil equivalent output reached 39.6%, and our domestic production of    gas hydrate in oil and gas basins.

marketable natural gas was 3,008.3 billion cubic feet.

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

Located in Tarim basin Located in Ordos basin

Gas source of West-East Gas Pipeline Project Gas source of Shaanxi-Beijing Gas Pipeline network

Accumulative proven economic recoverable natural gas Accumulative proven economic recoverable natural

reserves of 910.2 billion cubic meters gas reserves of 1,241.5 billion cubic meters

Annual output of 23.4 billion cubic meters Annual output of 36 billion cubic meters

Tarim gas region Changqing gas region

Four gas regions

of PetroChina

Qinghai gas region Southwest gas region

Located in Qaidam basin Located in Sichuan basin

The highest gas field in the world (elevation above Gas source of Southwest Gas Pipeline network and

sea-level) Zhongxian-Wuhan Gas Pipeline

Gas source of Sebei-Xining-Lanzhou Gas Pipeline Accumulative proven economic recoverable natural

Accumulative proven economic recoverable natural gas reserves of 1,178.3 billion cubic meters

gas reserves of 164.4 billion cubic meters Annual output of 20.7 billion cubic meters

Annual output of 6.5 billion cubic meters

Promoting the Effective Connection between Resources and Demand

and Stable Supply in the Market

While consolidating our resource base, we actively promoted the connection of multiple gas

sources. As a result, we have put in place a configuration of gas transportation and allocation

in which long-distance natural gas pipeline networks play a leading role, and LNG and gas

storage play a supplementary role, in order to meet the needs for gas supply in different

periods (for details, refer to P20 _GlobalPushing Forward Pipeline Network Construction_).

39.6 % Promoting the Development of Unconventional Gas

In 2016, the contribution of natural In 2016, the Company steadily promoted the exploration and development of tight gas, shale

gas to our total domestic oil

equivalent output reached 39.6% . gas, coal-bed methane and other unconventional natural gas resources.

73.2%

PetroChina s domestic natural gas We set up the National Energy R&D Center for Tight Oil and Gas to improve

output accounted for 73.2% of the Tight gas

tight gas development efficiency.

national total.

We accelerated construction of coalbed methane production bases,

promoted extensive development, and set up the most advanced CBM

Coalbed laboratory in China. Baode Gasfield, China s largest low rank c coal methane

methane field was completed and put into operation. Two coalbed methane

production bases in Qinshui and Edong realized reserve growth and large-

Ordinary natural

gas: 68.2% scale development.

Tight gas: 27.2%

Coalbed methane:

1.7%

Shale gas: 2.9% PetroChina chose favorable development zones and formed six major

technology series with platform horizontal well fracturing as the core

Shale technology and matching domestically-produced toolkits, realizing large-

gas scale production and efficient development. By the end of 2016, two state-

Components and percentage of level shale gas demonstration zones at Changning-Weiyuan and Zhaotong

PetroChina s domestic natural gas achieved production capacity of 3 billion cubic meters.

production in 2016

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Facilitating the Utilization of Natural Gas and Alternative Fuels

We actively cooperated with the government and industry companies to promote the

application of natural gas in electric power, the chemical industry, transportation and

shipping. In 2016, in the promotion of _Globalcoal-to-gas_ projects in North China, Sichuan and

Chongqing, we supplied stable sources of gas, promoting the smooth implementation of

_Globalcoal-to-gas_ projects in these regions and effectively improving the local environment.

In 2016, PetroChina s gas supply volume was 131.5 billion cubic meters, which, if calculated by equivalent

heat value, is equal to the substitution of 270 million tons of standard coal, and an emission reduction of 490

million tonnes of CO2 and 3.37 million tons of SO2 respectively. The Shaanxi-Beijing Gas Pipeline project

has accumulatively provided 110 billion cubic meters of natural gas to Beijing and North China since the first

Shaanxi-Beijing Gas Pipeline became operational in 1997. The proportion of natural gas in primary energy    The West-East Gas Pipeline network will be

consumption in Beijing has jumped to over 30% in 2016 from only 0.5% in 1997. In 2016, the Shaanxi-

able to deliver 77 billion cubic meters of natural

Beijing Gas Pipeline provided 32 billion cubic meters of natural gas to Beijing and North China, made a great

contribution to improving the energy structure and combating air pollution in Beijing and north China.    gas annually upon completion, accounting for

37% of China s total natural gas consumption in

2016, replacing 160 million tons of standard coal

490 million    131.5 billion 3.37 million

tons Emission reduction cubic meters of Emission reduction tons    and reducing CO2 and SO2 emissions by 290

natural gas    million tons and 1.97 million tons respectively.

The First West-East Gas Pipeline

Equal to the substitution    Completed in 2004

CO2    of 270 million tons of SO2Delivery capacity: 17 bcm/a

standard coal

The Second West-East Gas Pipeline

Completed in 2012

New Energy     Delivery capacity: 30 bcm/a

With an eye on the future, we promoted the development of renewable energy including    The Third West-East Gas Pipline

geothermal energy and solar energy, and researched the exploitation and utilization of    The western section was completed in

2014, the eastern section was completed

natural gas hydrate resources, to play a positive role in implementing the nation s new energy    in 2016, and the Zhongwei-Ji an section is

strategy and improving China s energy structure.     to be constructed

Delivery capacity: 30 bcm/a

Geothermal energy    Biomass energy

PetroChina completed a demonstration study on middle    PetroChina s ethanol gasoline

and deep layer geothermal resource evaluation and    has realized large-scale supply in

development, and carried out research on middle and    northeast China. We have also made

low temperature geothermal power generation, oilfield    breakthroughs in the industrial

waste water residue heat utilization, artificial recharge to    development of aviation biofuel.

stratum water, and high temperature geothermal drilling.    Compared to traditional aviation

Huabei Oilfield participated in research for the 863 project    kerosene, this fuel is predicted to

on middle and low temperature geothermal power    reduce greenhouse gases by over

generation, and passed acceptance checks.    50% within its lifecycle.

PUSHING FORWARD PIPELINE NETWORK CONSTRUCTION

We continuously expanded the building of the oil and gas pipeline network, boosted our

transportation and allocation capacity, and optimized the market distribution of resources.

By the end of 2016, our oil and gas pipelines in service reached a total length close to 80,000

kilometers and passed through 30 provinces (municipalities and autonomous regions) and

the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, forming an oil and gas network crisscrossing

the country and internationally connected.

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

Improving Domestic Pipeline Backbone Network

In 2016, the Guigang-Yulin Section and the Jintan-Liyang Section of West-East Gas Pipeline

were completed and put into operation, which will effectively enhance resource allocation

efficiency and market supply capacity in Guangxi and Jiangsu. The eastern section of the

Third West-East Gas Pipeline was completed and put into operation, opening the channel

of gas supply to Fujian Province. The construction of Yunnan Oil Products Pipeline, Jinzhou-

Zhengzhou Oil Products Pipeline, Anshan-Dalian Pipeline and some other projects made

continuous progress. In addition, construction was started on the Fourth Shaanxi-Beijing

Gas Pipeline, the Zhongwei-Jingbian Pipeline, and the Second Russia-China Crude Pipeline,

further enhancing our oil and gas supply and distribution capacity.

Case study: West-East Gas Pipeline Project Delivering Clean Energy and Facilitating Low-carbon Transition

In December 2016, the eastern section of the Third West-East Gas Pipeline (Line Three) was opened for gas transmission. After Line Two, Line Three is another pipeline

running from the west to the east of China and linked to the Central Asia-China Gas Pipeline. The eastern section of Line Three will help eastern China realize the

transition to low-carbon energy and turn the advantages of the resources in Central Asia and Western China into economic and environmental advantages.

The sketch map of the

West-East Gas Pipelines

Horgos

Urumchi

The Second West-East    Turpan Gas The Pipline Third West-East

Gas Pipeline

The First West-East    Beijing

Gas Pipeline

The First West-East

Zhongwei JingbianGas Pipeline

Jinan

Zhengzhou

Xi an

Nanjing

ZaoyangShanghai

The Third West-EastHefei

Gas Pipline

NanchangHangzhou

The Second West-East Changsha

Gas PipelineJian Fuzhou

Pingtan

Guangzhou

NanningXiamen

Hong KongShenzhen

South China

Sea Islands

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Expanding Transnational Oil and Gas Transportation Channels

In 2016, PetroChina continued to expand its transnational oil and gas pipelines and promoted the effective integration of resources and the market.

Construction of the Second Russia-China Crude Pipeline and the Eastern Route of Russia-China Gas Pipeline has progressed according to schedule.

ENHANCING INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION

We are actively committed to international oil and gas cooperation, adhering to the international cooperation principles of _Globalmutual benefit

and joint development_, and complying with the laws, regulations and energy policies of the host countries. Due to our advantages in funding,

technology and management, we contributed to the global oil and gas market.

Overseas Energy Development

Thanks to China s One Belt and One Road Initiative, we made new progress in oil and gas cooperation in regions such as Central Asia- Russia

and the Middle East. By the end of 2016, the equity delivery of the joint venture and cooperation of the Central Asia-China Gas Pipeline

was completed. Our cooperation in the upstream sector in Niger helped the country build a complete modern oil industry system. The

cooperation projects not only met local energy demand, but also achieved export sales of refined oil in 2016. We achieved a net overseas oil

and gas equivalent output of 201.3 million barrels in 2016.

Promoting Oil and Gas Cooperation with International Partners

We continue to make steady progress in cooperation with international partners in developing oil and gas resources in China. In 2016,

we entered into production sharing contracts with BP in the Neijiang-Dazu and Rongchangbei shale gas blocks of the Sichuan Basin. The

Luojiazhai High-Sulfur Gas Field of Chuandongbei Gas Project jointly developed by PetroChina and Chevron was put into operation, which can

supply more abundant natural gas to regions including Sichuan and Chongqing. The Changbei Project in Changqing Oilfield in cooperation

Serve the G20

The Villager thumbs-up our    Send oil to the

support to famers plowing    countryside to save

famers money and time

SUSTAINED ENERGY SUPPLY

with Shell continued to maintain stable production. Our domestic oil and gas production

equivalent in cooperation with international partners amounted to 5.525 million tons.

Vigorously Expanding International Trade

Supported by our overseas operation centers and trade networks in Asia, Europe and the

Americas, we conducted international trading through cooperation and joint ventures in more

than 80 countries and regions around the world, further improved our resource deployment

capability. In 2016, we reported 360 million tons of international marketing volume, and

201.3million barrels    witnessed improvements in both the scale of our trading and quality of operations.

In 2016, the Company achieved a

output net overseas of 201.3 oil and million gas barrels equivalent    ENSURING STABLE SUPPLY

Ensuring stable supply is an important social responsibility to PetroChina. To this end, we are

5.525million tons    strengthening coordination and organizational efforts to establish a sustainable mechanism

In 2016, the Company s domestic    and give back to society. During peak agricultural periods in the spring, summer and autumn (at

oil and gas production equivalent

in cooperation with international    the time of spring plowing, summer planting, summer harvesting, summer field management,

partners amounted to 5.525    fall harvesting, fall plowing and fall sowing), during critical moments when natural disasters

million tons

strike such as earthquakes, heavy rainfall and snowfall, important periods when events are held,

and during winter months when gas consumption peaks, we actively mobilize our resources,

optimize transport capacity, strengthen on-site services, and ensure a continuous oil and gas

supply at our service stations at critical moments and in key areas. In 2016, our refined oil and

natural gas supply accounted for about 40% and 70% of the national market share respectively.

Began draftingCommunicated

purchase andwith local

sales plan ingovernments and

Set up emergency advance and    users to arrange

groups to ensure    formulatedgas supply inWe coordinated

supply for the    natural gasadvanceresource integration

Serve the G20    G20 Summit with supply planprograms in advance

detailed information    with our domestic

on supply dynamics    counterparts.

Formulated supply    major

plan for Zhejiang    tingac tivitiesNagas Increased supply domestic

and Jiangsu during

the G20 Summit    Supportionalintur al

naPetroChina s to ensure marketmeasureswint gas

er

Provided    supply during specialEffected spot LNG

quality    periods in 2016supplyresource purchases

services

Ser ving

Coordinated    ac agrthe Realized Baodi-Xianghe-Xiji operation of

railway and pipeline

delivery capacity    tivitiesicultur alPipeline and the third

Yongqing-Dagang

to increase supply    Pipeline to ensure

to regions with    supply in winter on

busy agricultural    Monitored shedule

activities    Contacted relatedthe market

Stored diesel in departments to    dynamics

advance    better understandto improve

the generaldemand-side

situation of oilmanagement

demand in the

agriculture sector

SAFE AND CLEAN

PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

The natural environment is essential for humans. Therefore, we incorporate care for people s lives and

environmental protection into our corporate mission. Upholding the principles of people-centred, prevention-driven,

full staff participation and continuous improvements, we endeavor to build ourselves as a resource-conserving,

environmentally friendly and safely producing business with the goals of zero injuries, no pollution and zero

accidents.

IMPROVING HSE MANAGEMENT

Work safety and environmental protection is a prerequisite which secures our steady

development. In 2016, we attached great importance to health, safety and the environment

(HSE), gave top priority to safety and environment in our operations, and reinforced our HSE

system. By improving the management system and implementing stricter inspection of

responsibility fulfillment, PetroChina closely monitored workplace safety results, strengthened

hazard control, and endeavored to enhance HSE management performance. As a result, our

overall HSE performance was stable and improved in 2016.

Improving HSE Management System

The Company carries out system audits covering all units twice a year. In 2016, we further

improved the _GlobalCriteria for Quantification Review and Assessment of the HSE Management

System_ and conducted comprehensive HSE quantification review in the whole system, and

strengthened auditing of leadership competency and process control. We selected 2,282

experts to conduct systematic auditing in 114 subsidiaries, and conducted quantification    100%

review to 93 production enterprises at 1,936 operation sites.    The HSE quantitative

auditing rate for

major production and

Conducting HSE Standardization at Grassroots Level    operation subsidiaries

reached 100%

To ensure HSE management keeps pace with our daily production and operations, we carried

out HSE standardization at the grassroots level. We promote HSE standardization at grassroots

level to provide conventional operations with guidelines and unconventional operations with

binding regulations. All operations at grassroots level are regulated and guided by standards,

including post operation, field management and equipment management, so as to ensure all

risks are under control.

Promoting HSE Training    100%

100% of grassroots

We vigorously promoted the grassroots level HSE training matrix and organized and    employees attending

developed the compilation of the HSE training matrix and its applications manual for high-    HSE training

risk grassroots posts of main force professionals. We explored the use of the HSE training

matrix model for the grassroots-level posts and endeavored to enhance the effect of training

through effective training methods such as multiple-way approaches, small scopes and short

classes.

ENHANCING OPERATIONAL SAFETY

PetroChina sticks to the principles of people-oriented safety management, and believes that    20%

safety comes from accountability, design, quality and prevention. We actively promote the

building of a long-acting work safety system and raise the entire work safety management level.    The number

We have adopted production safety as one of our core values, and implemented this concept    of fatalities in

production accidents

in all our sectors and all our production and operation processes. All key work items progressed    dropped by 20%

steadily according to the plan. In 2016, PetroChina saw a stable improvement in its work safety

performance, with a continuous decline in the number of production accidents and fatalities.

The Company reported no major safety or environmental pollution accidents in the year.

Death rate caused by accidents (person/100 million working hours)

0.466The Company reported no major

safety accidents in the year

0.25    0.26

0.20     0.20

12

2012    2013 201420152016

Safety and environmental

We strive to build a dual-prevention mechanism covering risk prevention and potential    technology diagnosis and

hazard control, while improving classified risk control and close-loop hazard management, in    management assessment were

order to eliminate risks and potential hazards before they occur. We emphasize management    conducted at 12 key subsidiaries

and projects, and significant

of key links and areas including high-risk operations. Safety and environmental protection    problems and major hazards were

technology diagnosis and management assessment are carried out on key subsidiaries, key    handled with follow-up measures.

projects and high-risk areas to ensure that major risks are under control.

Pipeline Hazard Control

We attach great importance to hazard prevention and control to effectively improve the    100%

intrinsic safety of the Company. In 2016, we carried out continously special investigation and

rectification activities on pipeline hazard control and accomplished the target of rectifying    In 2016, Rectification rate of long-

potential hazards on long-distance pipelines.     distance pipeline hazards reached

100%

Hazardous Chemicals Management

The Company continues to strengthen safety supervision of hazardous chemicals.

Besides reinforcing safety education and training regarding hazardous chemicals, we set

up a hazardous chemicals safety technology center, and pushed the construction of an    98%

information platform on hazardous chemicals safety supervision. Inspection and treatment

In 2016, Rectification rate of

of potential hazards were carried out at chemical tank farms, with the rectification rate of key    chemical tank field hazards

potential hazards in tank farms reaching 98%.     reached 98%

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

Emergency Management

In 2016, we revised and improved our emergency plan system at the headquarters level,

carried out emergency drills through _Globalscenario construction_, and intensified our efforts in

emergency training. On-site emergency handling plans and emergency handling work cards

were implemented at all subsidiaries, and substantial progress was made in joint regional

emergency response and emergency materials allocation.

Case study: Oil Spill Emergency Response System Covering All Lands and

Waters in China

PetroChina Offshore Emergency Response Center has

set up an oil spill emergency response system covering

all lands and waters of the country, which is capable

of providing emergency rescue in case of oil spills in

different environments including rivers, lakes, shallow

seas and gulf areas. The Company constantly improves

its oil spill emergency plan system in terms of emergency

preparedness, warning and monitoring, emergency

handling and joint emergency response, in order to ensure

that the system is more scientific, targeted and operable.

Supply Chain Safety

We included suppliers and contractors in our safety management, and conducted whole-

process management on their access, selection, training, use, evaluation and assessment.

We guided our suppliers to operate in compliance with the law, quality standards and safety

regulations. HSE assessment was conducted regularly to prevent and reduce accidents

caused by suppliers and contractors. We strengthened contractor training by putting in place

unified standards, requirements, and rewards and punishments, in order to build a competent

and trustworthy contractor team with standard management and outstanding performance.

We regularly assess their HSE performance. Contractors with a record of major accidents were

removed from the qualification list.

Strict screening process    Capacity building

Implement safety qualification screening system for    Promote the holding of dual certificates by

contractors and suppliers    contractors management personnel

Establish safety performance records    Provide training on HSE system development,

Regularly publish the list of qualified    audits, management and emergence

contractors, and remove unqualified contractors    processing

from it    PetroChina Supply

Chain Safety

Management

Evaluation and assessment    Process control

Process

Establish safety performance evaluation system    Strictly implement the safety supervision

Carry out safety capability assessment, daily safety    responsibility of contractors, based on

performance evaluation, and comprehensive safety    the principle that those who undertaking,

performance assessment    supervising and implementing the project are

held responsible.

Strictly hold accountable for those who violate national workplace

safety laws, regulations and contracts    Conduct targeted safety inspection of

contractors oversight

Contractors with major accidents will no longer be engaged

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Offshore Oil Production Safety

The Company strengthened supervision of offshore oil production safety. We carried out special

inspections on project commencement in spring, typhoon prevention, offshore operations in     t

winter, and wharf workplace safety. We implemented follow-up measures for major potential     andinresR ein

hazards. Additionally, emergency response drills were carried out for fire and explosions at    managements ts vepon forc e

cidens tig sibil

offshore oil and gas production facilities, oil spill and pollution, and man overboard. In 2016, we    r ade acinciden Layered ati it y

realized stable and orderly operation at our offshore oil production facilities.    Upgof management o n

and graded

ac c Inprevention control and

ECOLOGICAL PROTECTION     per ooun cre alesson

sn ta bis et sis

res lityth e

PetroChina respects and protects the environment and strictly complies with relevant    ponsof t A c cidenanaly

international and domestic laws and regulations. We take the initiative to evaluate the     ibleh e

environmental impact of our decisions and activities, step up efforts in hazard control

and environmental protection during production in order to safeguard our land, water

and biodiversity, and reinforce ecological restoration of the environment. By doing so, we

endeavor to grow in harmony with the environment.

Environmental Risk Management     Oil and gas

leakage

We assess and identify environment risks, implementing a risk prevention and control    Pollutant Radioactive

dischargesource out

management model focusing on environmental forecasting, early warning and monitoring.    exceeding standards Classi_edof control

We began the environmental risk management at an earlier stage, and established a sound     environmental

risk manage-

risk management mechanism featuring _Globalmanagement in tiers, prevention and control by     ment

level_. In 2016, no major or worse environmental accidents were reported.     Secondary

Biodiversitypollution of

destructionsafety

We carried out classified management of _Globalsix major environmental risks_, drafted a targeted     accidents

Violation of

control plan, and organized major production subsidiaries to identify potential risks at     environmental

laws and

enterprise-level and implemented risk control measures, so that risk management measures     regulations

can be implemented at every level.

In 2016, we released administrative measures such as PetroChina s Administrative Measures on

Environmental Incidents and PetroChina s Regulations on Oil Pipeline Environmental Risk Prevention    In 2016, no major or worse environmental

and Control to strengthen the management of environmental emergencies and environmental    accidents were reported

risks, and to control, reduce and eliminate the danger caused by environmental incidents.

Conduct environmental risk assessment

Before

the event    Adopt effective measures on environmental risk prevention and control

Draft emergency plan for environmental emergency, make preparation and

Environmental     carry out drills according to related requirements

emergency    During

the event    Immediately start emergency response plan

Inform companies and residents that may be affected

Report to local government and competent department of the Company

Environmental    After event the Carry out emergency response actions directed by the on-site rescue

incident     command office

management

Properly handle solid waste and liquid waste during emergency response

to avoid secondary pollution

Violations of     Commission qualified company to deal with hazardous waste

environmental

regulations     Specify responsibilities for environmental protection

Identify and assess risks of violation of environmental regulations

Avoid violations of environmental laws and regulations

Farming besides the oil well

We constantly reinforce our environmental monitoring capabilities. The Company completed

the installation and data networking of online monitoring equipment for waste water

and waste gas, and performed real-time monitoring and early warning of discharges from

major pollution sources. To strengthen supervision and evaluation of subsidiaries, we set up

the environmental monitoring network featuring _Globalthree-level environmental monitoring,

environmental emergency monitoring and online monitoring of pollutants_, which ensured

treatment at the source, and control over the production process.

Case study: Real-time Environmental Risk Management by Using Internet

Technology

We actively integrate internet technology with our ecological conservation practices. The Pollution Sources

Online Monitoring System was set up, realizing networking and sharing of ecological data. With 45 functions

divided into six modules, the system can accurately monitor, calculate and analyze the emission data of each

monitoring point in real time; monitor emissions from key sources in real time and assess the operating results

of environmental protection facilities; and collect and analyze the alarm data.

In case of an environmental accident, the Pollution Sources Online Monitoring System can be used as the

environmental emergency monitoring and decision-making platform. It can receive, analyze and process the

emergency monitoring data, video images of the accident and weather conditions, and integrate the functions

of GIS space analysis, pollutants migration simulation, environmental alert and consultation on final decisions.

By the end of 2016, 304 key monitoring points of PetroChina had completed data networking, covering

87 waste water and 217 waste gas discharge outlets in the national monitoring list of key enterprises. These

monitoring points are located in oil and gas fields and refining & chemical enterprises in 13 provinces

(municipalities and automous regions).

Water Management

We strictly complied with applicable laws and regulations protection of water and other

resouces. For this, we established specific management regulations and implementation rules

1.31%    covering all production units, staff and processes relevant to the Company. PetroChina endeavors

to improve water utilization efficiency throughout its production and operation activities.

In 2016, the Company reduced

overall freshwater consumption    Through measures including strengthening water conservation management and water-saving

by 1.31% year-on-year.    technological transformation, we reduced our use of fresh water and enhanced water efficiency.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Water Resource Management Covering the Entire Industrial Chain

Exploration and Development    Pipeline Operations Refining & Chemicals

In our oil and gas development activities, equal importance    We focused on managing the We improved water use efficiency

is given to water pollution prevention & control and water    impact on water resources of by promoting clean production

recycling. After the oil-water separation and filtration treatment    construction projects and the risk of processes, saving water from

of the recycled wastewater, oil recovery and water reinjection    leakage accidents during pipeline the source, and optimizing

were realized, preventing groundwater and surface water    operations. Environmental impact water systems. We increased

contamination. By the end of 2016, 100% of oil extraction    assessments (involving water the concentration ratio of

wastewater in all oil and gas fields was treated, with a reinjection    environment) were conducted, and circulating water to reduce water

rate of 95%.     water conservation and protectionsupplement; and strengthened

steam condensate water recovery

We carried out water system maintenance and reconstruction,    concepts were assimilated into to realize water saving. In addition,

improved the water qualification rate, optimized operation    construction activities.

we emphasized wastewater

programs, and upgraded waste water discharge and treatment     treatment and reuse to reduce

processes to reduce production water discharge, and promoted     sewage discharge and improve

the application of new technologies for water treatment to     the industrial water recycling

maximize water conservation. In 2016, the comprehensive water     rate; and enhanced plugging of

qualification rate of the Company s oilfield wastewater reached     underground pipelines to get

100%, and water discharges were reduced by 10% year-on-year.     lower groundwater loss rate.

Reducing water pollution risks through three-level

pollution prevention and control system

First-level    Second-level Third-level

prevention    prevention prevention

and control    and control and control

system    system system

Prevent possible minor    Prevent possible major Prevent possible serious

pollution risks by    pollution risks by setting up pollution risks by setting

setting up co_erdam,    rainwater cutting system, up terminal accident

tank farm _re dike and    waste barrage, anti-over_ow bu_er and supporting

supporting facilities    and diversion facilities, as well facilities.

as intermediate accident

bu_er and supporting

facilities

We set up a safe, timely and effective pollution prevention and control system, conduct environmental risk

assessment, and adopt necessary prevention measures to control water pollution risks and prevent oil spill

accidents. Comprehensive inspection is carried out within the Company, and a three-level prevention and

control mechanism against water pollution accidents is implemented at enterprises located close to rivers and

lakes or near where public water pollution is possible.

Decommissioning and Land Restoration

The Company attaches great importance to the protection of land resources. We formulated

Measures for Land Management, make careful and intensive use of land during production,

strictly controlling land use growth, and optimize use of land through various ways such

as active reclamation, and carrying out environmental treatment and recovery in mining

areas. Changqing Oilfield managed to save 15,000 mus of land in 2016, thanks to a number    1,135hectares

of measures, such as the extensive use of cluster well and horizontal well technologies,    In 2016, the Company saved land

optimizing well pattern arrangement, and integrative planning of terminals and station.    of 1,135 hectares.

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

Feasibility studyConstruction and operationEnd of project

Compile land reclaimationApply technologiesChoose contractors for

plan to be reviewed by localincluding cluster wellland reclaimation and

land resources departmentgroups, horizentalconduct construction

List land reclaimation expenseswells, combined stationprocess supervision

in the total investment of theconstruction, and multi-Acceptance check and

projectlayer developmenthandover of reclaimed land

Southwest Oil and Gas Field implemented land reclamation management through the entire life cycle of the

projects. From 2011 to 2016, a total of 191.22 hectares of land were reclaimed at the oilfield, and 100% of the

reclaimed land was turned into grassland or forest.

Waste and Emission Management

At PetroChina, environmental protection has always been a top priority. Therefore, we strictly

In 2016, comprehensive control    implement national and local environmental laws and regulations. We issued the Opinions

of VOCs emission was conducted,    on Strengthening Environmental Protection, and focused on water pollutant prevention and

the VOCs comprehensive control    control, air pollutant prevention and control, and solid waste pollution prevention and control

information platform for refining    in our environmental efforts. Through total emissions control, we ensured emissions in

enterprises was set up.

compliance with the established standard. We developed and implemented the Regulations

on Environmental Protection, Measures for Environmental Event Management and other

provisions, promulgated the Guidance on Waste Gas Emission Management, Guidance on Waste

Water Emission Management, and Guidance on Solid Waste Management, put forward the

requirements for whole-process pollution control featuring _Globalprevention, recycling, treatment

and disposal_, and incorporated prevention of pollution at source, process control and end-

of-pipe treatment into the whole process of production. We also implemented classified and

hierarchical management, and strictly assessed the process of pollution sources.

In 2016, we implemented 58 projects to reduce emissions, including 49 on waste gas

emission reduction, and nine on waste water discharge reduction. Emissions of sulfur dioxide,

ammonia nitrogen, COD and nitrogen oxides dropped year-on-year respectively.

Key State Laboratory for Pollution Control and Treatment of Petroleum and Petrochemicals

Key areas    Petroleum and petrochemical Solid waste recyclingVOC detection and recyclingField pollution risk prevention

wastewater treatment and reuse    and restoration

Packaged technology for upgraded    Packaged technology forPackaged technology for wetPackaged technology for

Research    processing of refinery waste water resource treatment ofdesulfurization and low-temperaturerestoration of petroleum

based on advanced oxidation    drilling waste while drillingdenitrification of catalysthydrocarbon contaminated sites

achievements    pretreatment—in-situ upgrading—in- regeneration flue gas for catalytic

depth processing    cracking units

Solved difficulties such as biological    Realized drilling wasteEmitted SO2 and NOX withApplied in waste storage locations

inhibition and poor biodegradability    recycling rate of 100%, andconcentration lower than 50ppmin Jilin, and several service stations

of point source wastewater    clean drilling operationwhich met ultra-clean emissionand oil-contaminated coastlines in

Met requirements of new standard for    with zero solid or liquidstandards, and denitration catalystHebei, providing technical support

Application    Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD) and waste emissionsreached international advanced levelfor site pollution prevention and

effect    ammonia nitrogen Promoted in natural gasCompleted desulfurization andcontrol for oil enterprises

Applied in the upgrading of wastewater wells in Sichuan-Chongqing    denitrification projects at 20Obtained four invention patents,

treatment in subsidiaries such as    Region, generating RMB 80plants, saving RMB 130 million fortwo utility model patents and one

Lanzhou Petrochemical    million in economic benefitstechnology introduction and catalystsoftware copyright

costs

Conservation of Biodiversity and Natural Habitats

We are devoted to reducing the potential influence on ecological environment and biodiversity during production and operation, and take

full precautions to avoid environmental impact and work hard to restore the environment to its original state in case of any adverse impact.

Environmental management is implemented in full life cycle throughout the industry chain. In 2016, we comprehensively checked and rectified

environmental pollution and ecological damages, and reduced the impact on the ecological environment through noise reduction, emission

reduction and other means. We endeavored to reduce the occupation of arable land, and put a lot of efforts in the conservation of soil and water

and in restoring the vegetation, working hard to restore the ecological environment and protect the biodiversity of our operation areas.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

Eco-environmental Management in Full Life Cycle throughout the Industry Chain

Exploration and     Oil & gas storage

development    and transport

BeforeDuringAfter

constructionconstructionconstruction

Whole-process environmental management

formulatesupervise andecological

Environmental Assessment    Ecological Monitoring andEcologicaldetailed andinspect therestoration.

management     protectiontreatmentrestorationfeasibleimplementation

Project    Design Construction Commissioning Acceptanceenvironmentalof environmental

construction     checkprotectionprotection plan

plan accordingand rectify

stakeholders with Communication    Multi-level risk prevention and control stakeholders with Communication to conditionsproblems or

of thehidden dangers

within a de_nite

operationtime frame up on

sites.discovery.

Marketing and    Re_ning and

trading    chemicals

Case study: Green Drilling to Protect the Environment

PetroChina integrates environmental protection into the whole well-drilling cycle and takes all kinds of

measures to protect surface and underground water. During the drilling process, we use eco-friendly mud,

strengthen recycling of drilling waste, and conduct standard treatment of waste liquid. By the end of 2016,

PetroChina recycled 1.05 million tons of drilling waste and the reuse rate of waste liquid reached 80%.

Eco-friendly mud     Recycling of drilling waste

Conduct R&D and upgrading of    Use bio-safety treatment technology for drilling waste

eco-friendly mud: oil-based mud-    Adopt solidified disposal and bio-safety treatment to drilling

water-based mud-eco-friendly    detritus and waste mud, which become useful building

mud     materials reaching environmental and building material

strength standards

The green drilling philosophy and technology is widely applied in PetroChina s global operation. For example,

in Chad, the Company uses a close-loop treatment system to separate, treat and reuse waste mud, and turn it

into mud plate and clean water to be used in well station construction and mud mixing.

PROMOTING ENERGY CONSERVATION

The Company endeavors to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels and increase energy

efficiency by reducing energy intensity. We pay attention to energy conservation at the source,

and carry out energy-saving assessments of newly-developed, revamped and extended

projects. We promote the application of energy-saving technology and equipment to boost

the efficiency of heating furnaces in oil and gas fields and optimize refining and chemical

energy systems. We reinforce energy use management in the production process, and

conduct monitoring and evaluation of energy and water-intensive devices and equipment.

Five oil and gas subsidiaries including Daqing Oilfield and seven refining companies including Jilin

Petrochemical received the award of the _GlobalNational Advanced Unit in Petrochemical Industry in the

12th Five-Year Plan_.

Dushanzi Petrochemical was selected as the energy efficiency leader of the ethylene industry by     133%

the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, the National Development and Reform

In 2016, the Company realized

Commission, and the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of     energy saving of 870,000 tons of

the People s Republic of China in 2016.     standard coal, which is 133% of

our annual plan

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

RESPONSE TO CLIMATE CHANGE

At PetroChina, we support the goal of limiting global warming to less than 2 degrees Celsius

Plans and initiatives for greenhouse

gas emission reduction and control    by the end of this century. To this end, we actively respond to climate change, devote

supported and participated in by    ourselves to low-carbon development, and share the practice of greenhouse gas control with

PetroChina:     industry peers and all segments of society.

Paris Agreement     Carbon Emission Management

China’s National Program to Address Climate    We pay close attention to greenhouse gas emissions and have addressed climate change in

Change     our development plan. In 2016, we specified our objectives, action plans, safeguard measures

National Plan on Climate Change (2014-    and key tasks to address climate change. We focused on carbon footprint verification and

2020)     built basic management databases, in order to lay the foundation for carbon emissions

China Technology Strategic Alliance for    accounting and reporting.

CO2 Capture, Utilization and Storage

Technology Innovation (CTSA-CCUS)     Our overall objectives to address climate change: Implementing a policy of

Oil and Gas Climate Initiative (OGCI)    Overall low-carbon development, actively developing clean energy, establishing carbon

Objectivesemission control mechanisms, and effectively controlling greenhouse gas

emissions.

Our action plan for addressing climate change: Actively developing and utilizing

natural gas, coalbed methane and shale gas, and implementing demonstration

projects for carbon capture, utilization and sequestration. Promoting energy

Actionconservation, enhancing energy efficiency and substitution of clean energy for

other fuels, and strengthening the comprehensive utilization of greenhouse

Plangases. Enhancing the recovery and utilization of vent gas and associated gas,

and promoting the control of greenhouse gas emissions in the refining process.

Carrying out international cooperation to combat climate change and participate

in the work of the Oil and Gas Climate Initiative (OGCI).

Information

Basic database    system of Our safeguards to address climate change: Developing management systems and

of greenhouse    greenhouse gas work plans and establishing a control and management system for greenhouse gas

gas     emissionsSafeguards

emissions    PechoChina s Three manage-emissions, strengthening capacity for greenhouse gas emission control, increasing

Systems for    ment andcapital investment, and promoting innovation of low-carbon technologies.

Greenhouse Gas    control

Emissions

Control    Our key tasks for greenhouse gas emission control: Carrying out greenhouse gas

Keyemission accounting, exercising carbon emissions quota control, taking measures

Measurement and    Tasksto control greenhouse gas emissions, regulating greenhouse gas emissions

monitoring system of     reporting, and strengthening international cooperation to combat climate change.

greenhouse gas

emissions

Development of Low-Carbon Energy

As an advocator and practitioner of the low-carbon economy, we actively developed natural

Mechanism for     gas, coal bed methane (CBM), shale gas, biomass and other low-carbon energy, produced

greenhouse gas

01 emissions accounting    02 and supplied clean products, and worked hard to achieve clean production of the products

and the consumption process (see P17 Chapter 2: Sustained Energy Supply for details).

Mecha-

PetroChina s Four    nism forDevelopment and Application of Low-Carbon Technologies

Mecha-    Mechanisms for quota

nism for    Greenhouse Gas manage-As the application of science and technology plays a significant role in controlling

ment

trading emission    Emissions Control greenhouse gas emissions and addressing climate change, we carried out special low-carbon

studies and conducted R&D of low-carbon technologies, established major projects in key

04    Mechanism for 03technologies for low-carbon and clean development, and engaged in scientific and technical

carbon asset    research on CO2 flooding and storage, aviation bio-fuel production, refining energy system

management

optimization and other areas.

2016 SUSTAINABILITY REPORT

PetroChina s Achievements in Low-Carbon Research

Achievements    Application Effect/Prospects

Research on policies,    We established the low-carbon data management platform and comprehensive low-carbon

standards and strategies    evaluation index system, and the statistical and accounting standard for greenhouse gases from

for low-carbon    upstream and downstream enterprises, providing technical support for greenhouse gas emissions

development    accounting and reporting, as well as carbon emission benchmark value accounting of the Company.

Strategies

and policies    We developed evaluation index systems, energy efficiency benchmarking and pollutant emissions

Research on evaluation    reduction benchmarking techniques for energy saving and emissions reduction. We also established

index systems for    index database framework for energy efficiency benchmarking and pollutant emissions reduction

energy saving and    benchmarking. As demonstrated by pilot applications, the index systems have high practicality and

emissions reduction    can provide strong support for the implementation of our energy saving and emissions reduction

projects.

Carbon dioxide    The technology was deployed in industrial tests at the Jilin and Daqing oilfields. By the end of 2016,

flooding technology    nearly 2 million tons of carbon dioxide was injected, and a total of nearly 700,000 tons of oil was

produced.

Significant progress was made in core technologies for aviation biofuel production, and key technical

Biomass energy    and economic indicators reached an internationally advanced level. The packaged technology for

development    aviation biofuel production with independent intellectual property rights has great significance to

technology    the partial replacement of petroleum resources, the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and the

improvement of the environment.

The technology has been comprehensively promoted and applied in the Company, saving at least

Energy system    200,000 tons of standard coal per year. It features increased refining and chemical integration, and is

optimization    deeply integrated with information technology, playing an important role in the highly automated

technology

Technologies    and intelligent development of the refining and production process.

Vent gas (associated    The technology enabled the closed gathering, transportation and treatment of associated gas

gas) recycling    throughout the production process, and was applied in Changqing and other oilfields. It is expected

technology    to recover 200 million cubic meters of natural gas each year.

We innovated and developed a series of CBM development technologies focusing on high-efficiency

CBM development    drainage and stimulation. In 2016, we produced 1.68 bcm of marketable gas (totaling 7 billion cubic

technology    meters), equivalent to reduction of 25.2 million tons of carbon dioxide emissions (totaling 105 million

tons).

We improved standards for the evaluation of geothermal resources in oil regions, established the

Geothermal energy    geological model for geothermal field development, and developed geothermal resources evaluation

utilization technology    software. We optimized abandoned exploration wells, prepared scheme design for underground direct

heat transfer, and evaluated the economic efficiency of absorption heat pump technologies.

Carbon Emission Reduction During Production

While supplying society with clean oil products, we pay signficant attention to optimizing

the energy utilization structure within the Company. We also care about carbon emissions

and the carbon footprint during production and operation. In Huabei Oilfield, Tarim Oilfield

and other areas, we used renewable energies such as geothermal energy and solar energy to

reduce carbon emissions during production.

Forest Carbon Sequestration

We actively support carbon sink forest construction and forestation activities in China. We

participated activities of China Green Carbon Foundation, which is jointly set up by CNPC

and the State Forestry Administration. Together with the State Forestry Administration, China

Green Carbon Foundation built an accumulative total of 331 million mus of carbon sink

forests. In addition, we set up the Forestation Committee to ensure forestation in our factory

districts, staff communities and living areas.

SAFE AND CLEAN PRODUCTION AND OPERATION

Carbon Sink Forest Construction Projects Participated/Operated by PetroChina through

China Green Carbon Foundation

LocationArea

Shaanxi100,000 mus

Inner Mongolia100,000 mus

Forestation projects    Hebei50,000 mus

331million mus    supported by China Green Anhui50,000 mus

Carbon Foundation

In 2016, the China Green Carbon     Hunan100,000 mus

Foundation together with the     Yunnan400,000 mus

State Forestry Administration,

building an accumulative total of     Sichuan200,000 mus

331 million mus of carbon sink

forests, equivalent to the area of     Dingxi, Gansu20 million mus

3,090 football fields     Qingyang, Gansu20 million mus

Zezeng, Heilongjiang80 million mus

Forestation projects    Beijing23 million mus

operated by PetroChina

through China Green    Dingzhou, Hebei20 million mus

Carbon Foundation    Wuhan, Hubei100 million mus

Lin an, Zhejiang7 million mus

Longzhou, Guangdong30 million mus

Shantou, Guangdong30 million mus

Case study: Supporting the Paris Agreement and Promoting Carbon

Implementing the Paris Agreement    Emission Reduction in the Oil and Gas Industry

requires the further promotion of

As a responsible energy company, PetroChina acts in strict compliance with the Chinese government s

energy supply-side structural reform.

requirements on greenhouse gas emission reduction, and actively supports and participates in the international

OGCI provides an ideal cooperative

communities efforts to address climate change. Robust international cooperation is required to combat climate

platform for the global petroleum

change. In 2015, CNPC joined the Oil and Gas Climate Initiative (OGCI). Together with CNPC, PetroChina

industry s low carbon transformation.

takes the initiative in carbon reduction and sequestration, and pledges to help all participants, governments,

Wang Yilin, Chairman    industrial sectors and individuals to jointly invest in a future of lower carbon, in order to play a leading role in

emissions reduction in the oil and gas industry.

Since becoming a member of the OGCI, CNPC has been actively involved in all types of activities within the OGCI framework, and

has worked closely with member companies such as BP, Total and Shell.

Established the OGCI work leading group to ensure the execution of various endeavors. The OGCI work leading group is composed of three working

groups: Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage; Low Emissions Roadmap; and Managing Methane Emissions. The working groups carry out joint research with

their respective member companies, and released phased research reports at the CEO Summit in early November 2016.

Actively participated in the preparation of OGCI s new management regulations. Through respective teleconferences with the executive committee

members from BP, Total, Shell, Saudi Aramco and other member companies, CNPC appreciated the cooperative relations among these companies, coordinated

their opinions on important issues, and ensured that the Company s viewpoints were fully understood and addressed.

Actively participated in the Climate Investments (CI). CNPC took part in the work of the OGCI Climate Investments preparatory group, followed the

work in progress, and invested in demonstration projects in low-carbon areas jointly with member companies. The member companies will invest USD1 billion

over the next 10 years to accelerate development of innovative technologies, and the investment will be made mainly in technology development, demonstration

projects and emerging projects.

CUSTOMER-FIRST MARKET SERVICE

CuStoMeR-FiRSt MaRKet SeRViCe

At PetroChina, quality is our lifeline and the foundation of our corporate value, brand and image. It integrates

technological innovation, resource allocation and human resources, and wholly reflects our systems, culture and

integrity. As a leading producer and supplier of petrochemical products in China, PetroChina continues to optimize

its product structure, while attaching paramount importance to the environment, safety and quality, and people. We

endeavor to enhance quality management by focusing on the development and revision of standards, supervision

and inspection, and nurturing a culture of quality, in order to provide customers with clean, high-quality and diversified

products as well as excellent services.

ENHANCING QUALITY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

We strictly complied with applicable laws and regulations on quality management. For this, we established specific management regulations

and implementation rules covering all production units, staff and processes relevant to the Company. Giving top priority to quality, we

intensified quality management and control, and put into practice the State Council s Quality Development Program 2011-2020. We continually

improved our quality management system, enhancing quality measurement and standardize quality management, and honoring our quality

commitments. this is to ensure the safety and environmental quality of our products, and to achieve high-efficiency and stable development.

in 2016, we focused on improving quality supervision, enhancing metrological verification capacities, and developing and revising quality

standards. as a result, we saw continuous improvements in our quality management.

Main Work    Content

System    promoted management system integration and quality management system certification

construction    System integration was tested and put into trial operation at five subsidiaries

and integration    100% of our production and operation subsidiaries passed quality management system certification by a third party.

We carried out supervision and spot-checks on the quality of the products we produced, sold, procured and used, as well as the

quality of construction project in progress. We regularly reported quality hazards and announced quality risks of major projects,

and adopted _Globalzero tolerance_ against unqualified products.

promoted business management innovation, and investigated and punished suppliers of non-conforming products;

Quality    We shifted our focus of supervision and inspection from the product qualification rate to the problem identification rate

supervision    We carried out spot checks on the product warehouses of our subsidiaries, increased the coverage of supervision and inspection,

and inspection    and released the results from the spot check in a timely manner.

We attach equal importance to project quality and quality behavior. Focusing on identifying major potential quality hazards, we

realized the full coverage of supervision and inspection of projects under construction.

by combining _Globaldaily supervision and expert inspection and supervision_, we strengthened quality supervision of major projects

under construction including the fourth Shaanxi-beijing Gas pipeline and the Second China-Russia Crude pipeline.

We strictly implemented mandatory standards, actively upgraded corporate standards, participated in the formulation and

revision of national and industry standards with the establishment of a complete, consistent, advanced, and internationally

Formulation    recognized standard system, and accelerated the internationalization process of standards.

and revision of    We formulated and implemented self-declaration and disclosure plan for product and service standards to ensure compliance

standards    and effective adoption of standards.

32 experts took part in international standardization conferences, and newly led to the formulation and revision of three

international standards.

primary standard device of Chengdu branch of the national oil and Gas large Flow Metering Station passed construction standard test.

Metering    Guangzhou branch received national authorization and started verification.

infrastructure    urumqi branch completed operational test and started construction standard test.

construction    oil metering standard device construction moved forward stably, and precision development was carried forward in major oil

and gas fields.

We carried out the Marth 15th activity and Quality Month Campaign, release the achievements of excellent Quality Management

Nurturing    activites, and conducted supervision of product and project quality.

quality culture    62 groups won the national award on excellent Quality Management, 22 teams won the award of national trustworthy Quality,

and four subsidiaries won the title of excellent enterprises in Quality Management team activity.

PROVIDING HIGH-QUALITY PRODUCTS

the Company has set up standards for using our brand identity. We comply with the

Advertisement Law of the People s Republic of China and other laws and regulations in the

advertising campaigns for the company s products and services. the Company established

customer data management provisions, and in strict accordance with the provisions as for

customer data management and use.

Focusing on Product Innovation

We optimized the product structure, giving full play to the supporting role of the innovation-

driven strategy, actively upgrading corporate standards to enhance in-house scientific

management proficiency, and further extending scientific and technological exchanges

and cooperation. to meet market demand, we researched, developed and applied new

technologies, new equipment and new techniques, and spared no effort in implementing

major technical projects at petroChina and national levels, and sufficient research funding,

thereby providing consumers with diverse and high-quality products. in 2016, we developed

1.033 million tons of petrochemical products of 84 new brands.

Providing High-Quality and Environmentally-friendly Chemical Products

We cultivate high-quality brand products, and provide consumers with environmentally

friendly and diversified product solutions.

Refining products

Developed 1.033 million tons of petrochemical products of 84 new brands.

Important progress was made in automotive fuel tank materials, IBC container materials, special

medical materials, and Goodyear materials.

Mass production was realized for ethylene propylene, NdBR and eco-friendly NBR products.

Developed production technologies for many chemical characteristic products such as Hexene-1 and

highnitrile SAN.

Major progress was made in the development technologies for olefin polymerization monomer,

methanol conversion to olefin, alkylation of benzyl alcohol and high-grade lube base oil, providing    Lanzhou Petrochemical won the award of _Global2016

technical support for efficient resources utilization, low-cost chemical material production and    Model Enterprise for Industrial Brand Nurturing_

from China Petroleum and Chemical Industry

material production of high-end polyolefin copolymer.    Federation.

CuStoMeR-FiRSt MaRKet SeRViCe

Continuous Upgrading of Oil Product Quality

With the increasingly strict environmental protection, the demand for oil quality upgrading

As of December 31, 2016, PetroChina    has grown, and many local governments have called for the earlier completion of oil quality

completed upgrading to the National    upgrading projects. petroChina actively responded to the National Program for Accelerating

V standard at its oil depots and service    the Quality Upgrading of Oil Products. through increased investment and accelerated R&D and

stations in 31 provinces (municipalities and

application of new technologies, we promoted the upgrading of gasoline and diesel quality,

autonomous regions) (excluding Hong

and continuously improved our capacity to inspect and test product quality. We developed

Kong, Macao and Taiwan), supplying the

regions with qualified gasoline and diesel of    programs for oil quality replacement and upgrading in advance, while our subsidiary

the National V standard.    companies in sales and refinery operations implemented initiatives promoting production

capacity and output. We facilitated several of our subsidiary refineries to deliver oil products

National V and above standards of motor    of national V standard ahead of schedule, and coordinated and optimized oil products of

gasoline accounts for 45.7% of PetroChina s    both the national iV and national V standards.

gasoline sales volume

to ensure the quality of oil replacements, petroChina strengthened quality testing with

National V and above standards of motor

a focus on sulfur content indicators. We accelerated the clean-up of remaining oil of the

diesel accounts for 21.1% of PetroChina s

diesel sales volume    national iV standard at our oil depots and service stations, and all oil products were tested

to be qualified before being marked with the national V standard for sale, in order to provide

At the Ceremony for the 18th WIPO-SIPO    consumers with qualified oil. Several rounds of full-coverage spot checks were conducted to

Award for Chinese Outstanding Patented    ensure the upgrading of oil products. During the national-V standard oil product upgrading

Invention & Industrial Design jointly    in 11 provinces and cities in eastern China and then nationwide, and for special sources such

organized by China s State Intellectual    as imported oil and special periods like the Quality Month, we carried out four rounds of oil

Property Office and the World Intellectual

quality spot checks, which covered

Property Organization, PetroChina was

granted one gold award and five awards of    all oil depots of the enterprises

excellence of Chinese Patent.    checked, as well as all service

stations of subsidiaries at prefecture

In 2016, the Company won 2,315 patents in    and city level, effectively preventing

China.    unqualified oil from entering the

As of December 31, 2016, the Company    market. We carried out installation

possesses a total of about 11,500 patents    and transformation of oil and gas

home and abroad.    recovery units in our oil depots

and service stations, and increased

investment in the 11 provinces and

cities in eastern China implementing

the national-V standard.

Question: Why does oil quality need to be upgraded?

Answer: Compared with the National IV standard, the sulfur content of gasoline and diesel of the National    _GlobalLiving near the service station, we didn t feel

V standard is 80% lower (down from 50ppm to no more than 10ppm). Based on vehicles with the same    very safe in the past as the area used to have

displacement, sulfur dioxide emitted by five cars fueled by National V standard gasoline or diesel is equivalent    a smell of gasoline. But now, as PetroChina

to the sulfur dioxide emitted by one car fueled by National IV standard gasoline and diesel. Once gasoline    is building green service stations, the smell is

and diesel are upgraded to the National V standard, nitrogen oxide emissions will be reduced by at least 10%    gone, and we are no longer worried._

and 7% respectively for gasoline and diesel products, the emissions of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide and    yan yanping, resident of a community

particulate matter will be effectively controlled, and PM2.5 emissions in the tail gas will be directly reduced.    in pudong District, Shanghai

In addition, the upgrading can also help to enhance the combustion performance of oil and the stable

operation of the engine. Therefore, promotion of the use of gasoline and diesel of a higher standard will be of

great significance to the reduction of tail gas pollution and the improvement of urban air quality.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

DELIVERING CONSIDERATE SERVICES

We strictly complied with applicable laws and regulations on advertising, labelling and privacy

of products and services. For this, we established specific management regulations and

implementation rules covering all production units, staff and processes relevant to the Company.

Committed to our pledge on customer satisfaction and upholding our principle of customer

focus, we work hard to expand the coverage and functionality of our service network and to

enhance our brand value, in order to meet customers demand for high quality.

1

Provide value-added service

We are operating 20,000 serviceAccording to the Chinese

(gas) stations, with a retail capacityCustomer Satisfaction Manual

of 80.18 million tons. our salesjointly issued by the Customer

Developed petroChina e-station app to     service covers 31 provinces (directlySatisfaction Measurement Center

realize mobile payment.     administered municipalities andunder China National Institute of

opened petroChina e-station official     autonomous regions) and the HongStandardization and the Chinese

WeChat account for rechargeable cards     Kong SaR.State-owned Enterprise Research

and credits store.    network service Optimize Center under Tsinghua University,

the satisfaction level for our

promoted alipay and WeChat pay     company s service stations ranked

nationwide; added payment methods     first in 2016 in the petroleum

such as QR scanning, face-to-face alipay,     the number of convenience storesindustry in China.

mobile payment and mobile transfer.     selling non-oil products reached

promoted full and semi self-service     17,000, and 89% of our service

stations in 7,356 stations in 26 provinces     stations were equipped with

(municipalities and autonomous regions).     convenience stores.

service of scope Expand    Worked closely with automakers and

auto service providers, increased the

number of 2S auto service stations,95.9%

Improve consumer satisfaction    and 306 auto service stations were

added in 2016.Satisfaction rate of

follow-up on customer

took measures such as collecting consumer opinions, conducting customer    complaints reached

satisfaction surveys and launching the _GlobalCustomer experience Day Campaign_, and    95.9%, up 3.2% year-

solicited customer opinions in a timely manner to improve service quality.    on-year.

invited third party providers to conduct the _Globalmystery customer_ program at 31

branch companies, and followed up with rectification measures to improve service

quality at grassroots stations.

_GlobalTravel with PetroChina on the Silk

Road_

In 2016, the Company invited 69 customers and

journalists, through PetroChina E-station, online

and offline recruitment, to take part in the self-

driving tour themed _GlobalTravel with PetroChina on

the Silk Road_. Through the activity, participants

became familiar with our work at oilfields and

refineries, experienced the integrated sales model

covering refined oil, fuel cards, convenience

stores and lubricants, and enjoyed the _Globalsmart

lifestyle_ at our service stations.

CuStoMeR-FiRSt MaRKet SeRViCe

SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT

at petroChina, we actively promote the sustainable development of the industry chain,

encourage our partners to jointly fulfill our social responsibilities, and provide society with high-

quality products and services in a respectful, communicative, honest and cooperative manner.

We have set up a supplier review committee, which includes 54 materials working groups

composed of representatives from the relevant departments and subsidiaries of petroChina. they

are authorized to exercise supplier management for relevant materials on behalf of headquarters.

through open tenders, a unified supplier base and online transaction, we provide suppliers

100%    with equal opportunities and implement _Globalopen business, controlled processes, whole-process

100% of our subsidies passed    documentation, and permanently traceable records_ to ensure the quality of the procured

quality management systems    products and services. We have also established a complete supplier quality management

certification by a third party.    mechanism which covers quality approval, inspection, supervision and spot-checking, and on-

site supervision of the manufacturing of major products. through the application of information

100%    technology and internet, we implemented targeted and comprehensive supervision and

Inspection rate of materials before    inspection to minimize dishonest behaviors. Moreover, at various stages such as the supplier

putting in storage: 100%    admission, supplier assessment, strategic supplier development, materials and service

procurement, tender invitations and tender evaluations, we make clear supplier requirements in

98%    terms of business ethics, human rights, HSe, quality standards and public responsibility, so as to

First-pass rate of materials    build a responsible supply chain in the petrochemical industry.

inspected before putting in

storage: over 98%    in 2016, we revised administrative measures on material suppliers, unified requirements

on supplier qualification management, and carried out inspections onsite, in an effort to

strengthen source management of suppliers and improve the quality of procured materials.

We constantly optimized our supplier base and selected suppliers around the world through

public bidding and qualification review, and provided suppliers with equal opportunities

under public scrutiny. trough the fostering a relationship in a respectful, communicative,

honest and cooperative manner and increased cooperation with suppliers, we endeavored to

build a global supply resources network, promote the sustainable development of the supply

chain and provide the public with high quality products.

Supplier Management Principles,    1 Centralized, two-level management2System construction

Systems and Mechanisms     the headquarters is responsible forbuild a supplier management

Management principles     management of suppliers of materialssystem framework to regulate

within the Class-i materials directory;supplier evaluation, graded and

open and voluntary, competition and     the supplier managementclassified management, and supplier

selection; small quantity but high quality,     departments of affiliates are inevaluation management

mutual benefits and win-win; dynamic     charge of the restFormulating supplier Management

management and resource sharing     Measures and other regulations

Supply chain

Management mechanism     management

unified management; layered     measures

responsibility; authorized procurement;

separation of supervision and execution    3 Strict access, dynamic4 Establish a unified shared

managementresource library

Operating mechanism     establish performance appraisalapply materials procurement

Centralized procurement, separate     system, implement survival of themanagement information system,

operation, joint participation and     fittest and dynamic management toto realize supplier resource sharing

effective supervision     weed out unqualified suppliersand computer-based whole-process

management

PEOPLE-ORIENTED EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT

people-oRienteD eMployee DeVelopMent

At PetroChina, employees are our most valuable asset. The all-round development of employees is one of our

important development targets. We protect employees rights, care for their health and well-being, and create a

platform for their development. We continue to promote the hiring of local staff, and have been strengthening security

at our overseas operations. We endeavor to create an inclusive, equal, mutually trusting and cooperative working

environment, and to ensure value is aligned to benefit both employees and the Company.

PROTECTION OF EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

We remain committed to a people-first philosophy in treating our employees with respect

and equality while protecting their legal rights. We endeavor to resolve the practical issues

that most of our employees concern and make sure that all employees can equally share in

the fruits of our development.

Workforce by

Fair Treatment of Employees     Profession

We strictly abide by international conventions approved by the Chinese government

including the international Covenant on economic, Social and Cultural Rights and

Discrimination (employment and occupation) Convention, domestic laws including the

labor law of the peoples Republic of China and the labor Contract law of the people s

Republic of China, and relevant laws, rules and regulations of the host countries. We have    administrative staff 15.35%

established a fairly complete employment management and policy system to regulate    technical staff 13.52%

employment practices according to the law. the system incorporates employment contract    production staff 58.92%

management, remuneration insurance and benefits, leave, performance appraisals and    Sales staff 7.42%

vocational training. through self-inspection of our employment practices in compliance with    Financial staff 2.34%

the law, we regulate recruitment, promotion and termination of employee contracts, and    others 2.45%

provide effective protection of the legal rights of employees.

We are committed to providing equal opportunities and fair treatment to all employees

regardless of their nationality, ethnicity, race, gender, religion and culture. We prohibit the

employment and use of child labor and reject all forms of forced or compulsory labor.

We emphasize the employment of local residents, women, ethnic minorities and college

students in order to increase job opportunities for local communities. We strictly implement

regulations on female employees confinement and lactation to protect their rights and    Workforce by

interests. We continued to recruit from public without restrictions regarding applicants     Education

ethnicity, gender or religion.

7.22%    31.2% 6.45%Master s Degree and above3.5%

By the end of 2016,    By the end of By the end of 2016,bachelor s Degree30.77%

female administrative    2016, female staff ethic minorityCollege Degree23.3%

accounted for 31.2%

staff accounted    of the Company s employeestechnical Secondary

for 7.22% of the    employees accounted for 6.45%

company s total     of the Company sSchool and below42.43%

employees     total employees.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

Remuneration and Benefits

the Company has further improved its performance appraisal and remuneration system, promoted the

mechanism to link payroll with performance, established a compensation scheme that pays attention to

the value of a position, the job performance and the innovative results of employees while matching the

particularities of all staff operations, ensuring that employees compensation grows synchronously with the    100%

Company s business development and labor productivity. the compensation system continues to favor    In 2016, 100% of

employees who took

researchers, front-line employees, and those in difficult and key posts, so that each employee can realize    maternity/paternity

their full potential. in addition, we are steadily extending employee coverage of social security programs    leave returned to work

and kept their posts.

in accordance with the Social insurance law of the peoples Republic of China, and we have improved

supplementary medical care and insurance, corporate annuity and living allowance schemes to ensure

employees interests are addressed.

Democratic Participation

the Company attaches great importance to employee democracy and their legal rights and employees

play a role through democratic management, democratic participation and democratic oversight. apart

from establishing trade unions, petroChina has put in place a democratic style of management and a

transparent system to deal with matters at its plants, through its employees Congress system, to ensure

employees are well-informed and have the means to participate in and supervise corporate management.

We have further standardized the content, procedures and model of our open system for matters at

its plants by clarifying rights and obligations, the organizational system, and working processes for the

employee representative congress.

the Company has established multiple channels to communicate with employees and has continued to implement democratic procedures.

We communicate across different levels of the Company, and conduct multi-level communication through meetings with staff representatives

and online discussions, to encourage employees to participate in the management of production and operations.

Case study: _GlobalGeneral Manager s Mailbox_, A Bridge Connects Frontline Employees and Management Team

In order to serve frontline employees and help them overcome their difficulties and problems, Urumqi Petrochemical set up the _GlobalGeneral Manager s Mailbox_ on the

homepage of its website in 2010. By the end of 2016, the mailbox had received hundreds of thousands of clicks. The messages are dealt with in a timely manner, and all are

replied to by email or phone calls. Around 850,000 visits have been made to the mailbox since the beginning of this program, and it has become a bridge that connects the

frontline employees and the management team.

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

We abide by the Prevention and Control of Occupational Diseases Act of the Peoples Republic of China in our occupational health management,

focusing on the prevention and control of occupational hazards as well as the implementation of related measures. We give top priority

to employee health and personal safety by emphasizing occupational health management and protection at field operations, adopting

mechanized production to reduce labor intensity and improve working conditions, and caring for employees mental health.

Workplaces moderately    Workplaces significantly exceeding

exceeding emission standards    emission standards

Dust hazard

use technical, engineering and    apply remote monitoring technology 98%

treatment

management measures to meet    for unattended operations at posts

occupational exposure limit (oel)    exposed to hazards In 2016, the detection rate of

requirements    Shut down devices in the workplace workplace occupational hazards

Fundamental    that still fail tout down devices in was more than 98%.

improvement of the    the after treatment

working environment

people-oRienteD eMployee DeVelopMent

in 2016, we released Occupational Health Management Measures to improve the management of

occupational health. We also issued the Guideline on Assessment of Occupational Disease Hazards

and Medical Staff Competency of Overseas Projects, and set up an industry-leading quantitative

assessment system on occupational disease hazards covering nine indicators of six categories,

and the deployment matrix of medical staff. We conducted special programs to deal with

occupational disease caused by dust and promoted the use of surveillance cameras at dangerous

workplaces to reduce occupational disease hazards. a program with specific hardware and

software standards was launched, which enables doctors from hospitals in beijing, CnpC Central    98

Hospital and overseas projects to conduct joint consultations. We also organized heads of related    %

departments from our subsidiaries to participate in training sessions on occupational health.    The occupational health

examination rate for employees

We pay close attention to our employees mental health, and take measures to continuously    facing occupational hazards was

improve the employee vacation system. We implemented the employee assistance    more than 98%.

program (eap), set up a hotline and a website for psychological counseling, and carried out    100

various forms of training on mental health knowledge, in order to encourage employees to    %

adopt a positive and healthy attitude. in 2016, we set up the first full-service psychological    The establishment rate of

employee occupational health

decompression chamber under the Company s employee assistance program (eap). the    monitoring archives was 100%.

Company continued to implement mental health projects overseas such as hotlines and face-

to-face counseling, and saw a substantial increase in hotline services. We continued to send

psychological experts to projects in many countries, such as Mongolia, to carry out training

and provide counseling services. in addition, we employed counselors to deliver lectures

on cultivating a healthy mind and related psychological knowledge forfrontline employees

working in saline wastelands, deserts and other harsh natural environments, in order to help

them cope with stress.

Case study: PetroChina won 2016 International EAP Quality Award

The Employee Assistance Program Association (EAPA) is the world s largest and oldest EAP association,

and represents the highest standards of international EAP implementation. In 2016, PetroChina won EAPA s

_GlobalInternational EAP Quality Award_, the highest honor won by Chinese corporations in the field of EAP.

Since 2008, when PetroChina s EAP was launched, it has progressed steadily in terms of its service content and

form, and its international perspective, and now covers over 20,000 employees and their family members in

Africa, the Middle East, Central Asia and Latin America. PetroChina is the first oil and gas Company in China

to set up a psychological health hotline. Additionally, based on the mental health status and adaptive capability

of the employees and their family members, the Company conducted on-site training, consultation and crisis

intervention, and established a web platform where they can receive help either directly online, or get advice on

other resources. Since 2010, the Company has sent experts dozens of times to its projects in many countries,

such as Iraq and Iran, to provide psychological services.

According to EAPA, PetroChina s EAP is in line with international EAP standards and principles, with clear

logic, strict management, and an efficient quality improvement strategy and actions. The program has achieved

great success in meeting the demands of both employers and employees, especially in suicide prevention.    1,034hours

This indicates that Chinese companies have reached the highest international level in terms of employee care,    In 2016, the psychological

psychological management and EAP.     counseling hotline provided 1,034

hours of service, including 256

Sources of psychological     hours of face-to-face counseling.

problems for overseas employees    Customized solutions Effects

Far away from home    Remote psychological overseas employees have87

Great work pressure    counseling hotline mastered correct methods for

easing psychological stressThe Company sent psychological

insufficient communication    on-site counseling by experts experts to 15 subsidiaries overseas

with their families    exclusive online platform for improved psychologicalto provide 87 training sessions

overseas employees    conditionand lectures.

improved work efficiency

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

ESTABLISHING A PLATFORM FOR EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT

We adhere to modern corporate concepts and advocate innovation in creating space

and mechanisms for employee development. We have improved our training centers and

network, and address our employees need for career development at different stages by

providing career planning services. We strive to develop innovative employees and provide a

stage for employees to develop their self-worth.

Employee Training

by applying modern corporate training concepts, we continue to improve our training bases

and training network. We have carried out diversified and differentiated vocational training    100%

The training rate of senior skilled

for employees through knowledge training, professional training, job training, off-the-job    personnel and key operation post

training, etc, in order to achieve positive interaction between employee development and    employees was 100%.

the Company s development.

on the basis of promoting comprehensive staff training, we conducted the _GlobalFour training    100%

projects_ for managerial, technical, skilled and international personnel.    The training rate of frontline

employees was 100%.

Main Training Programs of _GlobalFour Training Projects_ in 2016

Managerial Personnel    International Personnel

training 252 executives of subsidiaries    172 employees received

leadership training for 591 medium-level managers    training under 10 training

sessions at Stanford

training 118 general accountants    university in the uSa,

training for over 3,500 departmental directors in 18 key posts    Siemens aG, and Gubkin

including human resources, legal affairs, safety, information,    Russian State university

auditing, etc.    of oil and Gas

Technical Personnel    Skilled Personnel

37 technical experts received elective-course training at    the Company held the

tsinghua university and China university of petroleum (beijing)    2016 Vocational Skills

5,200 core employees received training in 54 training sessions    Competition.

for senior technicians    operating skills

23 employees were selected to attend advanced training on    trainingwas carried out

complex reservoir e&p theory and technological innovation    for 840,000 employees

held by the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security    in 2016.

We improve employees occupational skills and abilities through training and competition.

We held the 2016 Vocational Skill Competition, and organized our employees to take part

in the petroleum and petrochemical System Vocational Skill Competition, the national

Competition for Hazardous Chemical incidents Rescue Skills, the Hoisting Competition and

the national Vocational Skill Competition for young employees, revealing a number of highly-

skilled talents. in 2016, eight of our employees won the title of _Globalnational Skill experts_ and two

were awarded the _Globalnational May 1st labor Medal_.

people-oRienteD eMployee DeVelopMent

PetroChina s technology competition

Provide Continuous Career Development Channels

With a corporate culture that values moral integrity as well as professional competence, we

have developed a selection process that is democratic, open, competitive and merit-based

in order to create a positive workplace atmosphere that enables the recognition and best

use of talent. We attach great importance to career planning and endeavor to expand career

development space for employees to maximize their potential. in 2016, we continued to

promote the reform of professional rank-based career development for professional technical

staff at R&D institutions, persisted in fair competition and merit-based selection, selected

talents for appropriate positions through competitive employment, and provided technical

professionals with an independent, continuous and stable career path. We improved the

career path for skilled personnel by training leading technicians, and implementing the    A young employee in operation

operating Staff promotion plan, the innovation and efficiency improvement program and the

petroleum expert Development program. We also opened a career path for innovative talents

by drafting plans for training oil scientists and outstanding young technicians. in 2016, two of

our employees were listed in the national _Globalten thousand talent program_. Dai nanxun, a well-

known geophysics professor, won the _Global2016 Chinese Government Friendship award_. the

iau s Committee on Small body nomenclature (CSbn) has approved the naming of minor

planet no.210231 after Wang Demin, academician of the Chinese academy of engineering

and the pioneer of stratified development of oilfield and chemical flooding technology, for

his contribution to oil development.

by the end of 2016, we had 18 academicians at the Chinese academy of Sciences and the

Chinese academy of engineering, 451 on job experts entitled to the Government Special

allowance, as well as 1,490 senior technical experts, 328 skilled experts, 5,136 senior

technicians, and 27,221 technicians. We set up 54 Skilled expert Studios, among which 14 are

national Skilled expert Studios.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

Case study: Petroleum Experts Development Program

In the context of China s economic transformation and upgrading, it has become imminent for the Company to

carry out personalized customization and flexible production, and cultivate the spirit of craftsmanship, in order

to train its skilled workers. In particular, enhancing the capability of skilled workers and incentivizing the vigor

and creativity of frontline employees are extremely important against the backdrop of falling oil prices.

The Petroleum Experts Development Program is designed to train three to five top-quality experts of high

moral standing from each major profession in main production enterprises, so that they can drive the holistic

improvement of experts skills throughout the Company.

Candidates for the program are identified by the Company, and they may enjoy preferential treatment

in terms of training, setting up key technical projects, and working conditions. Outstanding candidates    On-site technical communication

are chosen to take part in innovation programs, the selection of model workers and government special

allowance experts, and the China Skills Award. The Company continues to increase support for Skill Expert

Studios which serve as a platform for frontline employees to communicate and tackle technical problems

through innovation. Multimedia is applied to strengthen the spirit of craftsman among skilled workers, and

to create an environment of respecting skilled talents and competing to become top-notch talents to deliver

the best performance.

LOCAL STAFF DEVELOPMENT

at petroChina, we embrace a respectful, open and inclusive culture and are committed to

selecting more local talents overseas, upgrading their professionalism and making them

more responsive to market forces. We abide by all laws and regulations of the host country.

We have formulated protocols on local employee Management in overseas operations

and have established an optimal system for hiring, deployment, performance appraisals,

incentives and penalties. We work hard to attract and train top local talents and to provide a

working environment more conducive to employee development.

Javier Aguirre is a local employee who has

worked for Andes Petroleum for 18 years. As an

IT engineer, he now serves as the supervisorof

hardware base structure of the IT department.

I had just started working when I joined the

Company in 1997, and I still remember the

total number of employees in the production

field and office was less than 75 at the time.

The Company has grown into a large-scale

international Company in a little more than a

decade. Cultural diversity and inclusiveness has

provided us with an opportunity to learn from

each other and make the Company one of the

best among its peers.

Javier Aguirre (second line of the third from right) at the fourth senior employee training session    Javier aguirre

people-oRienteD eMployee DeVelopMent

Local Hiring

We actively recruit and train local employees and do not discriminate against local candidates for managerial positions, providing local people with job opportunities. We have hired professionals in over 30 countries and regions to work in exploration and development, project construction, international trade, finance, accounting, and human resources at overseas projects. petroChina international (indonesia) has always regarded local hiring as an assurance of its long-term development. the Company continues to improve staff welfare and selects outstanding employees to assume managerial positions, and 98.6% of its employees are local hires, and and 70% of them are managerial personnel.

Respect for Cultural Diversity

petroChina fully respects cultural diversity and local customs. We promote communication In 2016, the American subsidiary of the between employees from different cultural backgrounds and advocate respect for different Company participated in the 16th Huston values and traditions, in order to foster cross-cultural cooperation in a culturally diverse

Dragon Boat Festival and won fifth place. The workplace. event has promoted cultural integration and team building between Chinese and foreign Case study: Lectures on Iraqi Culture at Halfaya Project staff, enabled foreign staff to deepen their

In order to help international staff better understand Iraq and the local people, Halfaya project has hosted understanding of Chinese culture and helped a series of lectures on Iraqi culture. The lectures attracted a large number of international employees and the Company to integrate itself into local contractors with content ranging from basic local etiquette and daily customs to the origins of Mesopotamian society and strengthen exchanges with local civilization. energy enterprises.

The lecture series has enabled all staff to better understand the local culture and customs. The lecturers are local Iraqi employees who have worked at the Halfaya project for a long time, who see themselves as cultural ambassadors for Iraq with great responsibilities.

STRENGTHENING OF SECURITY IN OVERSEAS OPERATIONS

the safety of our employees has always been an over riding priority in our overseas operations. We promoted operation of security management systems, strengthened comprehensive control over security risks, continuously enhanced emergency response capabilities, and eliminated security-related fatal incidents.

in 2016, we continued to improve the security management system, implemented the

Security Management Regulations for International Business, and revised system documents according to situations of the projects. We reinforced supervision and inspection on system efficiency, and conducted inspections on the security management system of 17 subsidiaries with foreign businesses. We also strengthened anti-terrorism training to improve the employees emergency response capability. in 2016, 264 trainings were organized for 16,000 employees, which helped to protect the safety of our staff.

91.1%

In 2016, international employees and local employees accounted for 91.1% of our overseas workforce.

GIVING BACK TO SOCIETY

GiVinG baCK to SoCiety

As a company rooted in society, we have a duty to give back. Our ultimate goal is to promote socio-economic development, so we attach great importance to the well-being of people and social advancement. We expand cooperation with the private sector through joint ventures, enhance local development capabilities, give donations to impoverished students and organize our staff to join volunteer activities and community service. Through our efforts, we strive to build a harmonious society.

PROMOTING LOCAL DEVELOPMENT

petroChina s development is inseparable from the support and help of the governments, communities and the wide public. While providing continuous and stable energy supply for economic development, we insist on the principle of open cooperation for mutual benefit, expanding our joint-venture cooperation with state-owned capital, social capital and foreign capital in the upstream, midstream and downstream sectors. During the process of developing and running our projects, we help to nurture local suppliers and contractors, thereby creating jobs, driving the growth of related businesses, and giving back to local people.

in 2016, Fushun petrochemical supported local investment promotion and industrial park construction. it provided 10 enterprises in Fushun High-tech Development Zone, including Qilong Chemical Co., ltd., with C5 and C9 fraction from ethylene cracking, ethylene tar and other materials, and transported these materials for relevant supporting enterprises through mutual supply pipelines, promoting the development of deep processing enterprises in the industrial park. as a result, five industrial clusters (organic chemical industry, fine chemical industry, carbon fiber, synthetic rubber, and plastic wax) have been established, creating economic value and providing job opportunities.

POVERTY ALLEVIATION

poverty alleviation is an important topic in sustainable development around the world and also one of our key concerns. We have responded positively to the initiatives of the united Nation s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and to the Chinese government s policies on poverty alleviation targeted at the improvement of people s livelihoods, industrial development, intellectual development and medical care. by combining our business strengths with local resources and market advantages in the areas receiving assistance, we have innovated the models of poverty alleviation, have taken targeted measures to help the needy and have helped them develop the local economy on their own.

in 2016, together with CnpC, we continued to carry out fixed-point poverty alleviation and aid programs, and implemented over 30 projects, including infrastructure reconstruction, education & training, and healthcare in 13 counties and districts in seven provinces (municipalities and autonomous regions) of China, including Xinjiang, tibet, Qinghai, Chongqing, Henan, Jiangxi and Guizhou, promoted income increase for 20,000 people from the assisted areas.

At the _Global2016 Symposium on Enterprise Participation in Precise Poverty Alleviation Work & the Blue Book on Poverty Alleviation_ sponsored by the China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation (CFPA), PetroChina was awarded the title of _GlobalExcellent Example of Enterprise Poverty Alleviation_.

See patients on a volunteer basis on Lei Feng’s Day

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

20person-times     RMB20million2,800people

To enhance the ability of the appointed     In Shuanghu County, Tibet, we investedWe helped build roads in Nantianmen

officials to implement targeted measures     RMB 20 million in livelihood projectsVillage, Niba Township, Xishui County,

in poverty alleviation, we provided training    including the maintenance and expansion Guizhou Province, solving transportation

for over 20 officials for fixed-point poverty     of PV power stations in townships,difficulties for nearly 2,800 people.

alleviation and aid programs throughout     reconstruction of primary school campuses,

the year.     and the construction of an integrated

market for poverty alleviation.

900people     3,000people2,800people

We helped build the safflower plantation     In Barkol Kazak Autonomous County,We sent medical experts to Jeminay

project in QapqalXibe Autonomous County,    Xinjiang, we carried out poverty alleviation County and Qinghe County in Xinjiang,

Xinjiang, promoting the development     activities, granting loans to 1,000Lenghu in Tibet, and Xishui in Guizhou to

of its economy with local characteristics     households and benefiting more than 3,000provide medical diagnosis and treatment,

and providing jobs for 900 impoverished     people.benefiting a total of more than 2,800

people.     people.

Part of Our Cooperated Poverty Alleviation Projects with CNPC and Achievements in 2016

Project Name Start Time    Location PartnerProject DetailsAchievements

in 2016, to mitigate the re-occurrence of disease-related

poverty and help improve medical conditions in Hengfeng

County, the project established a special relief fund of RMb

1 million to subsidize the treatment of critical illness and

tongzhou     Chinarehabilitation for impoverished people. the project is mainly

Hengfengintended for poverty-stricken patients aged 18_Global50 who areby the end of 2016, the

Health poverty october,     Foundation

County,suffering from critical illnesses. in addition, an _Globalangel Home_project has helped 13 local

alleviation    2016 for poverty

Jiangxiwill be established in Hengfeng County people s Hospitalfamilies.

project     alleviationto pool social resources for patients suffering from critical

illnesses through multiple channels and reduce the burden of

their medical care. We also provide psychological counseling

for patients to help them build up their confidence and

improve the efficacy of their treatment.

professional teams are

engaged to provide

planting management and

agricultural     the project was officially launched on august 1, 2015. Withtechnologies for agricultural

plantation     lenghua total investment of RMb 22.58 million and a constructiongreenhouses equipped with

project in    2015 County,scale of 4,200 square meters, the project mainly consists ofintelligent facilities. as a

lenghuCounty     Qinghaithe construction of 1,000 square meters of green plantingresult, more than 10 varieties

areas and 3,200 square meters of vegetable planting areas.of seasonal vegetables, all

pollution-free, can be planted

simultaneously, with an

annual output of 75 tons.

10 poverty-Combining infrastructure construction and industrial

strickendevelopment, construction of cooperatives and management

Chinathe project has provided job

countiesof the tourism industry, and _Globalred tourism_ and the homestay

Foundationopportunities to housewives,

project of     at theeconomy, this project is designed to develop villages with

for povertypromoted economic

_GlobalWomen     nationalunique characteristics and stimulate economic development

2016    alleviation,development in poverty-

Returning     level inin the recipient areas. it mainly supports labor-intensive village

tencentstricken areas, and reduced

Home to Work_     Xinjiang,cooperatives with a high employment rate of women, helps

99 Charitythe number of left-behind

Henan,migrant women to return home for work, cultivates and develops

platformchildren.

Guizhouthe collective economy of impoverished villages, and alleviates

and Jiangxisocial problems like left-behind children and empty-nest families.

Drinking Water     together with CnpC, we helped build the project with an

Safety project     investment of RMb 150 million. the project addresses drinkingthe project has been put

for urban and     Central andwater safety issues for 1.1353 million urban and rural residentsfully into operation, providing

Rural areas    november, Southernin 603 administrative villages in 44 towns and townships of fourclean and safe water to

2012

in Central     ningxiacounties (districts) (yuanzhou, pengyang, Xiji and Haiyuan) in the1.1353 million urban and rural

and Southern     central and southern regions, in order to improve their basic livingresidents.

ningxia     conditions and promote regional economic development.

GiVinG baCK to SoCiety

Case Study: _GlobalHand in Hand with PetroChina_ : to Help Ordinary People Realize Their Public Welfare Dreams

Public Welfare Platform _GlobalHand in Hand with PetroChina_

Partner

01PetroChina

China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation

Program Nature

Mobile client platform

for public welfare

02     Program Purpose

03To help ordinary people realize their public welfare

dreams, and spread the concept of national public

welfare activities

Program Achievements     Program Actions

In 2016, a total of 17 sessions of collection and assessment of     To set up the platform, donate special funds to the

public welfare initiatives werecompleted via the platform,    04 China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation, and explore

with 221 initiatives collected and 173 funded. _ese     and fund innovative and feasible public welfare

initiatives were contributed by college students,     initiatives with social in_uence

community residents, NGO organizations,

industry associations and other groups in 24    05

provinces (municipalities and autonomous

regions) including Beijing, Inner Mongolia,

Gansu, Sichuan, Guizhou, Guangdong and Fujian.

_ey covered a wide range of areas, including youth

education, services for the elderly, community development, and heritage

protection. We launched _GlobalHand in Hand with PetroChina for Public     Scale of Public Participation

Welfare_, a two-month special fund program for young students in 43

Chinese universities and colleges. With 100 public welfare initiatives     _e mobile APP of the platform has been downloaded

funded, this program has been well received by students.     and used by more than 76,000 users (75% of them

under 24 years old) in 34 provinces (municipalities

and autonomous regions). A total of 1.89 million votes

have been cast, and nearly 46,000 comments given. It

is becoming a platform for the public to demonstrate

their creativity, exchange ideas, realize dreams, and

06spread positive energy.

Methods of Public Participation

_e process of collection, approval, voting, funding and supervision of     07individuals

implementation are required to turn the initiatives into actions. _e     (universities/Colleges) 63%

public can log onto the website of the platform to o_er public     organizations37%

welfare initiatives and download the _GlobalHand in Hand with

PetroChina for Public Welfare_ mobile APP to view them,     Structure of public Welfare initiators on

the platform

support them by voting and communicate with others.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

Case Study: _GlobalHand in Hand with PetroChina_ : to Help Ordinary People Realize Their Public Welfare Dreams

Welfare Initiative: Traveling with Sanitation Workers

In February 2016, _GlobalTraveling with Sanitation Workers_, a public welfare initiative    PetroChina s funding and the warm praise from netizens have made this long-

proposed by the Henan Xinxiang Volunteers Association, was officially launched    awaited public welfare dream come true. Through this program, we hope that

on the platform, attracting many netizens. With 50,000 votes, this initiative was    public respect and care will be aroused for sanitation workers, who are a special

outstanding and selected for funding by PetroChina.    group in our society. Now, more and more people start to pay attention to them.

On May 1, 2016, 14 sanitation workers in Xinxiang City, Henan Province, started    liu Fupeng, initiator of the _Globaltraveling with

a three-day trip to Beijing, paying visits to the Forbidden City, the Great Wall,    Sanitation Workers_ program

Nanluogu Xiang and the Temple of Heaven. This trip has left them with good    Fulfilling the dreams of public welfare is just the first step. Through the Internet,

memories. To ensure the smooth implementation of the event, the team brought    the programs on the platform are attracting more attention. More dreams and

along a doctor, two volunteers to deal with emergencies, and three professionals    aspirations for public welfare will be gathered, exchanged and shared here.

to record the entire journey.     Wen yong, executive of the _GlobalHand in Hand with

petroChina for public Welfare_ platform

petroChina

Scan the QR code for    Scan the QR code to China Foundation for poverty

WeChat iD    download the app alleviation

SUPPORTING EDUCATION

the Company believes that supporting education is important for social progress and

development. therefore, together with CnpC, we set up scholarships, offered grant loans

and subsidies to students from underprivileged families, and supported relevant competitive

activities in order to give young people equal opportunities for education and help them to

pursue their goals and personal growth. it teamed up with 13 tertiary institutions, including

China university of petroleum, tsinghua university and peking university, to set up the

petroChina Scholarship. in 2016, we granted petroChina Scholarships worth a total of RMb 3.99

11,047     million to 635 students. We have sponsored the Kunlun lubricant Formula Student China

students     (FSC) program for six consecutive years, aiming to create a cooperation platform for the

Since its inception in 2002 to    government, enterprises, colleges and universities, research institutes and users, to nurture

December 31 2016, we have

granted PetroChina scholarships    talent for the automobile industry. in addition, we explore new modes to support education,

to 11,047 outstanding students    and call on the public to focus on and work together to achieve educational equality. For

(including 4,207 impoverished

students), worth a total of RMB    instance, petroChina and the China Foundation for poverty alleviation (CFpa) co-sponsored

49.7 million.     the _GlobalXuhang_ program, a public welfare project enabling the Company and drivers to jointly

help senior high school students from poor families complete their studies. through the

_Globalteacher training program_, we introduced advanced teaching ideas and methods to poverty-

stricken areas, improving the professional quality and skills of local teachers.

GiVinG baCK to SoCiety

CaseStudy: PetroChina s Xuhang Educational Program

The Xuhang Program is a public welfare project launched in 2015 jointly by PetroChina and

China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation (CFPA) to help impoverished senior high school

students from underdeveloped areas complete their studies and gain access to a college

education by providing support for their learning and daily life.

By the end of 2016, PetroChina has invested a total of RMB 4 million through the project to

support 1,000 impoverished senior high school students in Sichuan and Henan provinces.

Among the 400 high school graduates supported by the program, more than 300 students

have realized their dreams for universities, with each one granted RMB 5,000 in enrollment

scholarships. Hundreds of youth volunteers from PetroChina, and more than 5 million of

the public and consumers participated in this program.

Sellers of PetroChina service station providing free drinking water

to students in the shuttle bus to the college entrance examination

Make financial donations for solving students worry for living expenses     Care for Growth and Development

of Students

PetroChina makes use of 80 service stations in    Support studentsWork-study

Chengdu and Zhengzhou as the plateform for    to taking theprogram

this program. To help poverty-stricken students    college entrance

to complete their studies, for every liter of gasoline    examinationoil experience Day in petroChina

purchased by its customers, the Company donates    PetroChinaWe organized visits toWe provided part-time jobs

offline    RMB 0.01 to the project. provided shuttlePetroChina marketingat our service stations to over

activities     buses and set upcompanies for 6070 high school and university

The project volunteers, including caring persons,

customers, PetroChina employees and journalists,    student-servicestudents receiving aidstudents in Henan and

took part in a motorcade to visit the recipients of    stations for nearlyin Henan and SichuanSichuan under the _GlobalXuhang

the donations and witness the changes brought    10,000 examineesprovinces, to introduceProgram_, in order to enhance

about by the program.    in poverty-strickenthem with our Companytheir learning capacity and

counties in Sichuanand give them their firstquality, and further reduce

With the help of online platforms of Tencent and    and Henan.career familiarizationthe financial burden on their

online    Fellowship Society, the project got the support of experience.families.

activities

12,378 netizens, and raised RMB 100,000 in a week.

We not only provide material assistance to the impoverished    We are deeply touched and encouraged by PetroChina s moves to provide financial

students, but also help them strengthen their social communication    assistance to impoverished students, organize young volunteers to set up student-service

skills, develop positive and healthy attitudes, expand their horizons    stations, and fund the leasing of shuttle buses for the college entrance examination. These

and improve their overall quality through service station experience    good deeds have demonstrated the Company s efforts to spread positive social energy as a

and work-study programs.    central government-led enterprise.

an executive of the _GlobalXuhang_ program    principal of Xinxian County High School

The _GlobalXuhang_ Program has truly provided timely assistance to    The _GlobalXuhang_ Program has provided me with a great deal of care and love. I will redouble my

impoverished students to be admitted to universities. This generous    efforts to study, in order to repay those who have helped me with practical actions.

educational program will benefit future generations.     a student from tongjiang County Middle School

Feng Chun, Deputy Director of tongjiang    Although a penny may not be worth much on its own, when accumulated, they can help

County education bureau

impoverished students achieve their educational dream and promote their career development.

Henan Channel of people s Daily

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

CaseStudy: Teacher Training Program

The Teacher Training Program was launched jointly by PetroChina and China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation (CFPA) to improve the quality of teaching and

compulsory education in the recipient areas. Under the program, outstanding teachers in developed areas are assigned to poverty-stricken areas in Xinjiang, Henan,

Jiangxi, and Guizhou for academic exchanges, while outstanding young teachers in poverty-stricken areas are sent to developed regions for advanced studies.

In 2016, in partnership with the Education Group of Experimental High School Attached to Beijing Normal University, we held training sessions for high school

managers, which were attended by 40 principals and educational administrators from Henan, Guizhou, Jiangxi and Qinghai. In the same year, we invited famous teachers

from the High School Affiliated to Renmin University of China and Beijing No.171 High School to provide teacher training in poverty-stricken counties in Xinjiang,

Henan, Jiangxi, and Guizhou. Previously in 2015, we selected 12 outstanding young teachers from poverty-stricken counties for a semester of training at Beijing No.171

High School.

Since its implementation, the program has conducted training for a total of nearly 500 person-times using superior educational resources in prestigious schools

throughout China.

VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES

petroChina has made continued efforts to improve the voluntary service system. it    130,000

encourages and supports employees to devote their personal time, skills and expertise to    person-times

participate in volunteer activities, to serve the community and show their care.    According to incomplete statistics, the _GlobalHelping

Migrant Workers Return Home_ campaign has

in 2016, we had 6,892 youth volunteer teams with 184,000 members. they provided 421,000    helped an accumulative total of 130,000 person-

times over the past six years.

hours of volunteer services to 1.843 million beneficiaries. the _Globalblue Sky Volunteer association_

of Daqing oilfield launched the _Globalblue Sky life bracelet_ campaign, a voluntary activity to

assist the old, weak, sick and disabled, and other vulnerable groups including those suffering

from depression and alzheimer s disease. in 2016, it distributed bracelets to 700 elderly

people without family and autistic children in Songyuan City, and set up emergency teams

to provide timely help for those wearing the bracelets. the youth volunteer service team

of Changqing oilfield has dedicated itself to tree planting together with local residents,

covering a cumulative area of 20,600 square meters in Jingbian County, effectively curbing

land desertification.

the Spring Festival in 2017 marks the sixth consecutive year for us to provide free food and

gasoline at the Company s service stations at 65 national and inter-provincial highways in

Fujian, Jiangxi, Hunan and Hubei provinces for migrant workers who need to travel home on

motorcycles before the Spring Festival. the volunteer service has been extended from two to

10 days.

Free services by the activities

Refueling     Motorcycle repair and

Fast food     replacement of engine oil

Ginger soup    a petroChina service station

is situated every 50_Global100km

along the route to ensure a    a RMb 300,000 traffic

lounge     accident insurance

free supply station for migrant

workers every 1_Global2 hours of    policy

their journey

a map of petroChina     a reflective vest

service stations

The Volunteers play with the students

GiVinG baCK to SoCiety

CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF OVERSEAS

COMMUNITIES

We respect the cultures and conventions of the host countries in which we operate,

committed to establishing long-term and stable cooperative relations with the host

countries, and promote their socio-economic development.

in 2016, thanks to the excellent performance in our local operations in indonesia, the

indonesian government granted us the _GlobalShare Fulfilment Commitment award_ for honoring

our commitment to support localization in 2015. in recognition of our outstanding

contributions to enhancing oil and gas cooperation between China and Kazakhstan,

promoting green and sustainable socio-economic development in Kazakhstan and

Sino-Kazakhstan Oil Pipeline employees    promoting friendship between the two peoples, we were awarded the _Globalorder of Friendship_

celebrate Kazakhstan s 70th anniversary of the    of the Republic of Kazakhstan by Kazakh president nursultannazarbayev.

victory of World War II with the veterans

Enhancing Communication with Local Communities

We have set up environmental protection and community relations coordination departments

in many overseas areas to promote cooperation with local governments, nGos and community

representatives. by holding conferences, issuing reports and paying visits, we strengthen

communication and coordination and achieve a win-win situation in cooperation. in iraq, we launched

safety education campaigns for 18 local schools in the oilfields and surrounding communities.

Community Welfare

We take an active role to help improve the living conditions of local people, give donations to

education, healthcare and other public welfare programs in order to achieve harmonious and

mutual development.

United States

We organized a volunteer team to produce peanut butter in the peanut butter plant of Jesus

Christ of Latter-day Saints Church in Houston for the local relief food warehouse. This organiza-

tion provides food assistance for 1.8 million person-times in 18 counties in Texas through food

distribution points every year.

Kazakhstan

We donated the construction of the National Dance Academy of Kazakhstan

Financial support for local children sattendance at summer camps

We provided RMB 1.684 million in 2016 through the North Buzachi Project to improve the

dwelling conditions and living standards of local residents

We entered into an MOU with the Aktobe government to help build the Aktobe City Youth

Palace in the city s Presidential Park, with a capacity for15,000 people

Ecuador

We built roads for villages in Nueva Froutera

We provided school buses in Tarapoa and surrounding communities

We jointly funded the construction of 200 _GlobalMillennium Schools_ and

helped build classrooms and libraries with the Chinese government

We built two hospitals to provide the surrounding communities

with free medical assistance

We provided technical training and employment opportunities for

local residents

We were involved in earthquake relief work

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

In 2016, our project company TTGP presented

gifts and festive blessings to children at Abad

District International School.

Caring for orphans

at Abad District

International School

in Tajikistan

_GlobalFor our foundation, the Kazakhstan-China Gas Pipeline Project Company has achieved three very

important tasks. First, it is the first Chinese joint venture to make donations to the foundation. Second, the

donations cover a broad range of recipients, including more than 20 World War II veterans, solving the

problems facing the foundationin a timely manner. Third, the donation process has been highly efficient. It

took just over one month for us to receive donations from the day the activity was launched._

Zbarhanov, president of the Kazakhstan WWii Veterans Foundation    In 2016, Letter of acknowledgment to

Trans-Asia Gas Pipeline Company from the

Kazakhstan World War II Veterans Council

Tajikistan employees from TTGPB attended comprehensive management training course at University of Petroleum (East China)

GiVinG baCK to SoCiety

Local Environmental Protection

We stress the importance of striking a balance between business development and environmental protection. therefore, we strictly comply

with the laws and international standards on environmental protection in the countries in which we operate, protect local ecological

environment, take measures to restore the original environment immediately after our operation, and strive to minimize the impact of our

operations on the environment.

PetroChina International in Kazakhstan    Trans-Asia Gas Pipeline Company Limited

We improve construction of the environmental protection system, and keep establishing    Southern Kazakhstan project: Since

and auditing our environmental protection system. in our projects such as pK and    2015, we have been maintaining a

MMG, we develop environmental protection system certification review programs at    reasonable level of investment in sand

the beginning of each year, and conduct comprehensive auditing of the iSo 14001    fixation along the pipeline. to beautify

environmental system according to our annual plan.    and protect the environment, we

fix shifting sand along the pipeline

We carry out environmental impact assessment and risk control. in key areas such as    disturbed by construction, and carry

refineries, oilfields, oil depots and pipelines, we regularly conduct risk assessment and    out forestation when the construction

hazard monitoring and control. For new projects, renovation projects and expansion    of the stations is completed.

projects, we take environmental measures such as environmental impact assessments

and design program optimization in strict accordance with laws and regulations.    uzbekistan-China Gas pipeline:

environmental protection facilities are designed, built and commissioned together    Waste heat boilers are used in the six

with the main project. our aktobe project monitored and controlled polluted soil and    compressor stations along the pipeline

entered into treatment contracts with professional companies by regions, to ensure    in winter as main sources of heat. the

the full implementation of the treatment schemes for oil-contaminated soil. pK project    boilers are heating equipment specially

established a dedicated environmental protection database according to relevant    used for fuel-driven compressor

environmental factors and their influence.     stations.

We increase our investment to promote the construction of environmental protection

projects. the project for integrated utilization of natural gas in Kazakhstan was completed

and put into operation, setting the benchmark for natural gas processing in the region.

In Indonesia, in strict accordance with

the requirements of the environmental

assessment documents (EIA/UKL -

ISO 14001 Certificate

UPL), we spared no efforts to control air    (Environmental

and water pollution, worked hard to treat    Management

Systems) issued

hazardous and toxic waste, and prevented    by Sucofindo

environmental damage in all types of    International

production activities, particularly in oil and    Certification Services

Award for Zero Exploration Accident from    gas exploration. In 2016, our performance

the Indonesian Ministry of Employment    in HSE was recognized by the local

government and international professional

organizations. We were granted the award

_GlobalCertificate of

for zero exploration accidents and the    Appreciation of

award for zero operational accidents by the    Occupational

Ministry of Employment, the _GlobalCertificate    Safety and Health

Management System

of Appreciation of Occupational Safety    (SMK3)_ from the

and Health Management System (SMK3)_    Indonesian Minister of

Employment

by the Minister of Employment, and

Award for Zero Operational Accidents from    the ISO 14001 certificate by Sucofindo

the Indonesian Ministry of Employment    International Certification Services.

Turkmenistan natural gas treatment plant

Develop Local Economy

petroChina places strong emphasis on reliance on local resources and procurement of local products and services, strengthening cooperation with local enterprises in technical services, logistical support, catering and logistics to boost and promote the development of local SMes and create more income and employment opportunities for the local communities. in 2016, in the implementation of the aktobe project in Kazakhstan, we actively hire local staff, and contract with Kazakh manufacturers for material supply if technical requirement permits, we gave as much as possible priority to contracts, and promote the development of related local industires.

Tax Payments According to Law

petroChina strictly complies with the laws and regulations in the countries where it operates, makes lawful and transparent tax payments to local governments, and makes due contributions to local economic development. in countries where the eiti (extractive industries transparency initiative) standard is implemented, such as iraq, Mongolia and other countries, our local companies actively participate in the multi-stakeholder groups and publish information on our projects and tax payments, as required by eiti with the content beyond eiti s minimum disclosure requirements. We support and respond to the base erosion and profit Shifting (bepS) initiative and the PetroChina Tax Policy, and pledge to pay tax according to the law in areas where we operate and create value, in order to strive for our sustainable development and make due contributions to socio-economic development.

Petrochina Tax Policy

PetroChina tax policy is consistent with its corporate strategies. PetroChina is committed to paying taxes in countries where business activities take place and value is created in compliance with applicable tax laws and regulations, and to contributing to local economic growth and sustainable development of the company.

PetroChina carries out tax planning in support of its business strategy and in compliance with international tax agreements and principles, as well as tax laws of host countries. PetroChina opposes to aggressive tax planning to avoid potential risks and negative impacts on the company s reputation and sustainability.

PetroChina pays taxes in compliance with applicable tax laws of host countries, its business principles and code of conduct, and adheres to high professional standards to ensure the legitimacy and accuracy of tax payment in a timely manner.

PetroChina advocates tax transparency, and ensures the accuracy and completeness of tax information disclosure in line with requirements of tax authorities.

PetroChina manages tax risks through its effective internal control system and engages with tax authorities and external advisors in case of different interpretation of tax laws and regulations for professional judgment.

PetroChina carries out intercompany transactions based on arm s length principle and not for the purposes of eroding tax base and shifting profits.

PetroChina takes part in promoting a fair, consistent and stable taxation environment globally and strives to establish a fair, transparent and effective dialogue with tax authorities of host countries.

Mtwara natural gas treatment plant supplies water to the nearby villagers

Protecting Indigenous Rights

before the construction of a project, we conduct assessments of the social and economic

impact, such as the requirements of the indigenous people, human rights, cultural heritage,

involuntary resettlement, etc. We try our best to protect all the rights and interests of

the indigenous people. We uphold standard operation in land compensation, and make

compensation plans by referring to the opinions of the local governments, our partners, and

the local villagers. Specifically, compensation is paid before land use, and the compensation

information is released timely in order to ensure operational transparency.

CaseStudy: Localization of Operation in Indonesia

In 2016, on behalf of the Government of Indonesia, the country s Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources

granted PetroChina International (Indonesia) the award for honoring itscommitment to support localization

in its operation in 2015. The award aims to encourage upstream oil and gas companies engaged in international

cooperation in Indonesia to use local materials and equipment, as well as human and technical resources, and

recognizes the oil companies outstanding performance in honoring their commitment to contract morelocal

businesses in Indonesia.

In response to low oil prices, PetroChina International (Indonesia) has taken measures to deepen corporate

management, strengthen cost control, ensure effective economic evaluation and cost sharing, and minimize

expenditure.

By the end of 2016, the company had provided local communities with over 3,300 direct employment and

over 10,000 indirect employment, with a localization rate of 98.6% . In addition, in terms of equipment/material

procurement and technical service procurement, the local shares reaching 75% and 90% respectively, exceed

the requirement set by the Indonesian Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources.

98.6%

By the end of 2016, our employee localization rate in Indonesia is 98.6%

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

INVESTOR FAQS

PETROCHINA S OVERALL ESG PERFORMANCE

PetroChina requires contractors to    Work safety and environmental protection is a pre-requisite, which secures our steady

follow the company s health, safety    development. in 2016, we attached great importance to health, safety and the environment

and environmental (HSE) standards.    (HSe), giving it top priority in our operations, and reinforced our HSe system. by improving

How does the company monitor and    the management system and implementing stricter inspection of responsibility fulfillment,

ensure contractors HSE performance    petroChina closely monitored workplace safety results, strengthened hazard control, and

is conforming to the company s    endeavoured to enhance HSe management performance. as a result, our overall HSe

requirements?    performance was stable and improved in 2016.

the Company carries out system audits covering all units twice a year. in 2016, we set up

an audit team to conduct on-site audits, make recommendations and rectify problems. We

initiated quantitative management of the HSe system, organized the preparation of Criteria

for Quantization Review and Evaluation of the HSE Management System, and helped affiliates

in benchmarking against advanced standards to improve their management level. using

the scoring system, the criteria not only includes laws and regulations and the Company s

system requirements, but also reflects the HSe best practices of outstanding enterprises. it also

combines priorities and weaknesses, including rated risk prevention and control, contractor

management, risk control, and pollution reduction.

to ensure HSe management keeps pace with our daily production and operations, we carried

out HSe standardization at the grassroots level, which covered compliance with management

and operation procedures, equipment integrity and worksite cleanliness. We emphasized

the importance of risk management and control, focused on the enhancement of execution

capability, and standardized our procedures in order to ensure our staff at the grassroots level

to pass the assessments. We promoted advanced HSe management concepts and methods to

staff, and facilitated the continuous improvement of HSe at the grassroots level.

in 2016, we implemented safety management regulations and mechanisms, including

the administrative Measures for production Safety Risk Control. We strengthened the

implementation of the safety and environmental protection responsibilities of all employees,

and carried out an appraisal of their capabilities to perform safety and environmental protection

duties. as a result, our clearly defined, companywide safety management system, and the

various levels of responsibilities continued to become more effective.

PetroChina has been developing and    in 2016, the Company will adjust and optimize the allocation of audit resources and distribution,

implementing its Compliance Management    strengthen auditing oversight, legal supervision and effectiveness monitoring, and strictly

System. Key actions related to management    investigate accountability for violations. it is worth emphasizing that the Company s internal

mechanisms include prevention, control,    control and risk management system passed an external audit for the eleventh consecutive

super vision, and accountability.    year in 2016.

Regarding ‘Accountability what will

be the next step? Are third party audits

and reporting on performance being

considered?

What is the process of prioritization of    the Company has established an Emergency Preparedness Plan (the plan) in accordance with

material issues?    the laws, regulations, regulatory requirements and guidance promulgated by the government

and CnpC. this plan covers 22 categories of material issues including natural disasters, social

inVeStoR FaQS

security, public health, exploration and development business. in the event of any emergency,

these material issues will be looked into with the same level of attention, and the Company s

relevant departments will take action in a timely and efficient manner under the plan.

For the company s CAPEX strategy, to    the Company formulates its production, business and investment plan according to market

what extent does PetroChina consider    needs, while the CapeX is determined based on the production, business, and investment

demand risk in project sanctioning?    plan of the company. the Chinese government has increasingly tightened requirements

What kind of impact does PetroChina    relating to environmental law and carbon emissions. We strictly abide by laws and regulations,

expect fuel efficiency, carbon pricing    conduct environment impact assessments for new projects, actively cooperate with the local

and other climate regulatory measures    government and carry out public hearings to ensure all production process and products

to have on demand, and how is it    meet governmental, environmental and emissions regulations. at the same time, the company

considered in the CAPEX strategy    strictly complies with China s oil products quality upgrade timetable and oil quality needs to

produce oil products. We have been putting efforts in developing the natural gas business, and

contributed clean energy to the country and society.

What is PetroChina s plans in relation to    in terms of long-term business strategy, we actively optimize our business structure, step up the

their gas share of potential production    development and utilization of natural gas exploration, accelerate the efficient development

in 2015-2025?    of unconventional resources, and increase the output of green, low-carbon energy forms to

reduce carbon dioxide emissions and work with the globe to address the climate change.

looking ahead, in our 13th Five year plan, we will increase investment in natural gas exploration

and development, as well as in the construction of pipelines and marketing. Meanwhile, we will

continue to promote natural gas production.

Has the Company set a target to    the primary goal of our HSe efforts is to achieve _GlobalZero accidents, Zero pollution and Zero

improve H&S performance?    Casualty_. through clear lines of responsibility as well as stringent risk and HSe management,

the accident and casualty rates at our production facilities continue to decline, while the

HSe performance has improved remarkably. all of these achievements serve to reinforce the

company s corporate image and lay a solid foundation for our stable growth.

PETROCHINA S GOVERNANCE

Can you provide information about    please find the below information on ongoing investigations into former employees as you

corruption investigations and trials    have requested.

on former or current employees of    1. Several of petroChina s former employees were suspected of bribery and other acts of

PetroChina, and other relevant    corruption. China s regulators have made clear that the suspected corrupt conduct of these

documents on anti-corruption?    former employees was limited to the individuals concerned. petroChina and its affiliates or

subsidiaries have not been implicated in any allegation of corruption, and the Company s

operations have not been affected.

2. the former employees under investigation are facing allegations of mainly bribery, abuse of

power, misconduct and violating regulations advocated by the Communist party of China. once

their cases of violating China s laws have been confirmed, China s procuratorial organ will file a

suit against them in court. at present, some of the suspected employees have been tried and

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

relevant information has been published, while the rest remain under judicial investigations.

the Company has no further knowledge of the matter.

3. petroChina takes a zero-tolerance stance on corruption. With our relentless focus on

combating and preventing corruption, the Company has developed a series of rules and

regulations, and built related monitoring and inspection mechanisms.

Is the Company taking all necessary    peterChina strives for good corporate governance, and has always made the three areas of

steps to avoid corruption and bribery?    safety and environmental protection, harmony and stability, and anti-corruption as its top

What kind of efforts is the Company    priorities. Further, petroChina takes a firm stance against corruption. as a company listed in

making to strengthen its internal policies    three major financial hubs, including the Hong Kong Stock exchange, new york Stock exchange

and oversight systems to guarantee    and Shanghai Stock exchange, petroChina has a well-established corporate governance

compliance?    structure as well as an open and transparent information disclosure system, in compliance with

all applicable listing rules and related policies. Since becoming a member of united nations

Global Compact (unGC) in 2007, and as one of the pioneer Chinese company participants,

petroChina has been reporting its progress in social responsibility, including anti-corruption, in

compliance with the ten principles of the unGC.

Regarding petroChina s progress in fighting corruption, we would like you to know that

petroChina has a firm commitment against corruption and has adopted a series of anti-

corruption measures.

1) the Company views anti-corruption as one of the key initiatives for the management.

petroChina has established an anti-corruption leading group led by its Chairman, and

formulated a system and work plan for corruption penalties and prevention, to continuously

promote the functioning of the disciplinary mechanism for corruption.

2) the Company has developed comprehensive mechanisms, rules and procedures to combat

corruption. petroChina has further enhanced and reinforced its systems, promoted management

innovation, strengthened its fundamental work, ensured the proper exercise of management

authority, clearly defined the delegation of power, developed a compliance management

system, stepped up the supervision of its overseas businesses, and strengthened its supervision

and accountability system. Since 2012, the Company has implemented a series of measures and

regulations, including the 2013-2017 Work Plans to Establish and Improve the Systems for Punishment

and Prevention of the Bribery Act, the Anti-corruption Guidelines for Overseas Businesses and the Views

on the Implementation of Anti-Corruption Training of Senior Management. these aim to create a

long-lasting, effective mechanism which can plug loopholes, prevent and resolve the problems.

3) to improve the corporate governance structure, petroChina has set up a board nomination

committee, consistent with the best standards in corporate governance in august 2015. a more

transparent and complete nomination process has thereby come into being.

To what extent is the management    petroChina has enhanced its HSe system through recognized certification, in compliance with

system certified to OHSAS 18001 or    international regulations and standards. For example, the oman project was certified under

other systems?    oHSaS 18001:2007, iSo 90001:2008, iSo 14001:2004, three international certifications issued by

british Standards institution. Det norske Veritas was engaged for the Halfaya project to conduct a

HSe audit in 591 aspects, according to the requirements of international Safety Rating System (SRS).

to ensure the smooth operations of the HSe system and its continuous improvement,

petroChina introduced a third-party HSe management system. an independent HSe

Management Certification Center, which is also certified under the national oHS-MS

management system, was established with support from the former State economic and trade

Commission. the Certification Center will conduct an independent audit of HSe applicants.

Successful applicants will be granted both HSe and oSH-MS certification.

inVeStoR FaQS

How do you train your employees in    With regard to the anti-corruption training, the Company places a strong emphasis on senior

anti-corruption, what s the content    management and staff training. We arrange internal training for senior management of the

of the trainings, how is the training    Company s subsidiaries every year with the aim of enhancing their knowledge of internal

conducted? Who will receive these    monitoring. For example, our representatives have attended the _GlobalChina overseas listed

trainings? How about the frequency of    Corporate Regulation and Corporate Governance Conference_ organized by the Hong Kong

the trainings?    institute of Chartered Secretaries and the training organized by Hong Kong s independent

Commission against Corruption to deepen their understanding of the principles of company

management and anti-corruption. the Company also arranged for staff to participate in

training, study training material and has pushed forward the strengthening of moral standards.

PETROCHINA S OPERATIONS IN SENSITIVE REGIONS

Please describe PetroChina s business    petroChina has no asset in Sudan or South Sudan.

in Sudan and introduce the Company s    as a subsidiary of CnpC, petroChina has been carrying out production and operations

practical measures to avoid investing    independently since its listing in april 2000. this is in compliance with the Company Law,

and operating in politically sensitive    the Articles of Association of the Company, and the regulatory rules stipulated by the listing

regions.    venues. under its operational guidelines of maximizing enterprise value and shareholder

value, petroChina conducts extensive oil and gas production in the pRC and abroad, while

respecting local religions, customs and cultures, emphasizing environmental protection, and

maintaining stable production. petroChina strictly complies with the relevant regulations of

the united nations, and respects the principles of the u.S. and other Western investors that

prohibit investing in companies operating in conflict-prone and sensitive regions. in countries

and other jurisdictions under un sanctions and sanctions by the governments where we are

listed, including Sudan and South Sudan, we do not have any oil and natural gas exploration,

development, production and investment projects at present. We also do not own any venture

companies, representative offices and staff or provide any product and service in these areas.

petroChina does not communicate or have relationships with these countries and governments.

in the future, we will always handle our investment and business activities in politically sensitive

regions in a prudent and responsible manner, and always take our shareholders rights and

respect for our investors choices into consideration.

petroChina s holding company CnpC owns assets and operations in Sudan and South Sudan.

However, we must emphasize that CnpC and petroChina are two separate legal entities.

petroChina has no influence or control over the business activities of its controlling shareholder,

and is not involved in its parent s business activities and investments in Sudan and South Sudan.

PETROCHINA S COMMUNICATION WITH STAKEHOLDERS

Has PetroChina considered developing    the Company has established multiple channels to communicate with employees and has

mechanisms to carry out stakeholder    continued to implement democratic procedures. We communicate across different levels of the

communication and engagement    Company, and conduct multi-level communication through meetings with staff representatives

that ensure proactive and inclusive    and online discussions, to encourage employees to participate in the management of

community consultation, and call for    production and operations.

the development and implementation    We have set up environmental protection and community relations coordination departments

of formal and transparent communication    to promote cooperation with local governments, nGos and community representatives. by

and grievance procedures?    holding conferences, issuing reports and paying visits, we strengthen communication and

coordination and achieve a win-win situation in cooperation.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

How does stakeholder engagement    the Company has built a multi-faceted mechanism to communicate with stakeholders,

(active consultations, feedback, general    through periodic reports, interim reports, media communications, interviews and visits, as

communications, etc .) influence    well as interactive communication. it has amplified and honed the management and other

PetroChina s identification and    related systems for the disclosure of major events. through in-depth communications with

prioritisation of material issues?    stakeholders and listening to their views, the Company can effectively identify stakeholders real

concerns on material issues.

Could you provide insight into    We remain committed to a people-first philosophy in treating our employees with respect and

PetroChina s approach to identifying any    equality while protecting their legal rights. We endeavour to resolve the practical issues that

risks to the rights of local communities    most concern our employees and make sure that all employees can equally share in the fruits

and other stakeholders in the countries    of our development.

where it operates?    We strictly abide by domestic and international rules and regulations and have established

a fairly complete employment management and policy system to regulate employment

practices according to the law. the system incorporates employment contract management,

remuneration, insurance and benefits, leave, performance appraisals and vocational training.

through self-inspection of our employment practices in compliance with the law, we provide

effective protection of the legal rights of employees.

We are committed to providing equal opportunities and fair treatment to all employees

regardless of their nationality, ethnicity, race, gender, religion and culture. We prohibit the

employment and use of child labor and reject all forms of slavery and forced labor. instead, we

emphasize the employment of local residents, women, ethnic minorities and college students

in order to increase job opportunities for local communities.

Can you to elaborate on how the    the Company has set up environmental protection and community relations coordination

company has enhanced communications    departments in many overseas areas to promote cooperation with local governments, nGos

with communities?    and community representatives. by holding conferences, issuing reports and paying visits, we

strengthen communication and coordination and achieve a win-win situation in cooperation.

For the Canadian project, we have set up a counselling office and held senior official meetings,

leadership committee meetings, community advisory group meetings and environment

meetings, in order to communicate with members of the local community, and enhance their

understanding of and support for the project.

PETROCHINA S ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

Internal audits of the EMS are conducted,    the Company s Health, Safety and environment (HSe) Management System is aligned with

is it considered to obtain auditing and    international standards and widely accepted by the petroleum industry. to ensure the

certification by independent third-    standardized operations and continuous improvements of the HSe Management System,

parties?    petroChina introduced a third-party management certification system and encourages

corporations and their subsidiaries to appoint third parties to conduct the HSe management

system assessment, in order to raise their HSe Management levels and sharpen their

competitive edge.

To what degree are site-level reduction    as a leading energy company in China, the Company takes national carbon emission reduction

targets and strategies to improve toxic    targets as reference when setting our own general carbon emission reduction target. our

emissions performance developed in-    general target has been further deconstructed to apply to various departments at different

house?    levels and on various projects.

inVeStoR FaQS

What is PetroChina s plans in relation    as a responsible energy company, we attach great importance to the control and reduction of

to future GHG direct emission and zero    greenhouse gas emissions and have addressed climate change in our development plan. We

routine flaring by 2030?    have already started to formulate the roadmap for low-carbon development and started to

establish a carbon emission control system. this specifically sets development goals, emission

reduction measures and technical routes, with a primary focus on carbon footprint verification,

carbon emission reduction and on building near-zero carbon emission demonstration projects.

additionally, we will strengthen greenhouse gas management and controls, plan and mitigate

carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions from the source, production process and

product use, and conduct carbon inventories and reporting in accordance with international

practice.

petroChina strictly comply with the Chinese government s requirements on greenhouse gas

emission reductions, and actively support and cooperate with the international community in

the formation of policies and action to address climate change. as the founding member of

the oil and Gas Climate Change initiative (oGCi), we have taken the initiative to reduce carbon

emissions and sequestrate carbon to address climate change challenges together with the

international community.

in terms of long-term business strategy, we actively optimize our business structure, step up the

development and utilization of natural gas exploration, accelerate the efficient development of

unconventional resources, and increase the output of green, low-carbon energy forms. in China,

we supply natural gas to more than 500 million people, increasing the proportion of natural gas

in China s primary energy consumption by 3.4%.

With regard to the disclosure of carbon emissions, the Company will calculate greenhouse

emissions based on the new national greenhouse emission calculation methods and reporting

guidelines. the emission data will be released according to applicable regulations upon

approval by third party organizations and government authorities. at present, relevant work is

under preparation, and will complete as soon as possible.

About PetroChina stance in some peer    We believe only by increasing the development and use of clean and efficient low-carbon

companies increases the share of low-    energy and by reducing the carbon emissions caused by the use of energy, can the earth

carbon energy in their portfolios or    reach the carbon dioxide emissions peaking soon and effectively control the rise in the earth s

even created separate divisions for    temperature. natural gas is generally recognized as a high quality clean energy and is the

lower carbon activities?    most realistic option to adjust the energy structure, control air pollution and reduce carbon

emissions at present. petroChina is eyeing the sustainable supply of future clean energy, and

considers natural gas as a strategic and growing business. it is increasing investment in natural

gas exploration and development, accelerating the construction of cross-border gas pipelines

and the domestic gas pipeline backbone network facilities, advancing the development of

unconventional gases such as tight gas, coal bed methane and shale gas, pushing forward the

development and use of natural gas, researching, developing and promoting the development

and use of new energy, in order to meet demand by society for clean energy.

in addition, as the application of science and technology plays a significant role in controlling

greenhouse gas emissions and addressing climate change, we carried out studies on carbon

dioxide flooding and storage and other key carbon lowering technologies. petroChina s _GlobalStudy

on Key technologies for Co2 enhanced oil Recovery and Carbon Dioxide Storage_ project under

the national 863 program passed national acceptance. Moreover, we established China s first

CCS (carbon capture and storage) base in Jilin oilfield which covers the entire value chain,

including carbon dioxide separation, capture and flooding in. Furthermore, a memorandum of

understanding was signed with Ge on technology and R&D cooperation which promotes our

collaboration in carbon capture, storage and utilization, and low-carbon and environmentally

friendly technologies.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

With its excellent performance in green, low- carbon development, petroChina was named a

_GlobalChina low-carbon Model enterprise_ for the sixth consecutive year at the Seventh _Globallow-carbon

Development Green Life_ Charity Exhibition and the Press Conference on 2016 China Low-

carbon Model enterprises organized by China news Service and China news Weekly.

How does increasing regulation    our oil and gas exploration and development projects, long-distance pipeline projects and

on ecological and environmental    refining facilities may involve certain environmental risks. petroChina respects and protects

degradation affect the Company s    the environment and strictly complies with relevant international and domestic laws and

approach to overall risk management?    regulations. We take the initiative to evaluate the environmental impact of our decisions and

How have environmental impact    activities, step up efforts in hazard control and environmental protection during production in

assessments (EIA) and mitigation    order to safeguard our land, water and biodiversity, and reinforce ecological restoration of the

strategies evolved in response?    environment. by doing so, we endeavour to grow in harmony with the environment. in 2016,

the Company reported no major environmental pollution or ecological damage accidents.

We assess and identify environment risks, implementing a risk prevention and control

management model focusing on environmental forecasting, early warning and monitoring.

We begin the environmental risk management at an early stage, and establish a sound risk

management mechanism featuring _Globalmanagement in tiers, prevention and control by level_.

environmental management is implemented for the duration of construction projects. For

each construction project, facilities for the prevention and control of pollution, and other

potential damages to the environment, are integrated and established in the process of design,

construction and operation, with the main project to ensure full control of environmental risks.

We have reinforced the environmental monitoring capacity, completed the installation and data

networking of online monitoring equipment for waste water and waste gas, and performed

real-time monitoring and early warning of discharges from major pollution sources, to ensure

treatment at the source and control over the production process.

What is the expected time horizon    With regard to the disclosure of carbon emissions, the Company will calculate greenhouse

regarding the disclosure of carbon    emissions based on the new national greenhouse emission calculation methods and reporting

emission targets and performance    guidelines. the emission data will be released according to applicable regulations upon

data?    approval by third party organizations and government authorities. at present, relevant work is

under preparation, and will complete as soon as possible.

On behalf of about 300 institutional    We support _GlobalChina s national program to address Climate Change_ and _Globalnational plan on

investor members, the Global Investor    Climate Change (2014-2020)_, and agree that the rise in global temperatures cannot exceed 2”.

Coalition on Climate Change calls for    petroChina has developed the action plan for Green Development, promoted green and

a disclosure of a _Global2” stress-testing_    sustainable development as our business strategy, and has taken the initiative to adapt to

from companies in their portfolios. Has    the global trend of low-carbon development. the Company adjusted its business structure

this caused any new considerations or    to promote clean energy development, launched numerous campaigns for associated gas

initiatives?    recovery in an effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and carried out energy conservation

technology research, research and development of low- carbon technologies, active

development of carbon sinks, and promotion of carbon emission reduction throughout China.

peRFoRManCe StatiStiCS

PERFORMANCE STATISTICS

Category     Indicator201420152016

General assets (RMb 109)    2,405.52,393.82,396.7

turnover (RMb 109)    2,283.01,725.41,616.9

net profit (RMb 109)    107.235.57.9

taxes (RMb 109) I    414.0337.5317.1

proved reserves of crude oil (106 barrels)    10,5938,5217,438

proved reserves of gas (109 ft3)    71,09877,52578,712

oil equivalent production (106 barrels)    1,450.41,493.91,466.6

Economic

Crude oil production (106 barrels )    945.5971.9920.7

Marketable natural gas production (109 ft3)    3,028.83,131.03,274.5

total length of crude oil pipelines (km)    18,10718,89218,872

total length of refined products pipelines (km)    10,08610,09110,560

total length of natural gas pipelines (km)    48,60248,62949,420

Crude runs (106 barrels)    1,010.6998.1953.3

ethylene production (103 tons)    4,9765,0325,589

Death rate caused by accidents (person/100 million working hours)    0.4660.260.20

Safety

total accident rate (incidents/million working hours )    0.04870.04980.0598

total energy consumption (106 tCe)    80.7779.90

total raw coal consumption (106 tCe)    11.8311.80

total crude oil consumption (106 tCe)    2.902.03

total natural gas consumption (109 m3)    16.516.2

total electricity consumption (109 kwh)    42.946.6

Comprehensive energy consumption for producing unit volume of oil and    128119

gas equivalent (Kg of standard coal / ton)

unit energy factor consumption for refining (Kg standard oil / [t factor])    8.748.38.07

EnvironmentII

Comprehensive energy consumption of producing ethylene products (Kg of    616.7594576.3

standard coal / ton)

energy conserved (106 tCe)    1.161.040.87

Water conserved (106 cubic meters)    19.7916.8311.32

CoD discharged (103 tons)    31.028.528.4*

nH3 -n emissions (103 tons)    12.411.711.4*

So2 emissions (103 tons)    174.4123.3123.2*

nox emissions (103 tons)    140.3122.7112.7*

number of employees (103)    535522508.8

percentage of female staff (%)    31.931.631.2

Employees    percentage of female administrative staff (%) 7.264.77.22

percentage of employees receiving occupational health checks (%)    979898

percentage of non-Chinese nationals in overseas hires (%)    9191.391.1

Contribution to poverty alleviation (RMb 106)    89.74208.64252.89

educational donations (RMb 106)    64.3115.4041.88

Public welfare

Donations to disaster relief (RMb 106)    3.143.881.74

environmental protection (RMb 106)    0.8592.952.43

I the total taxes paid by the Company in China and abroad. the data disclosed in Sustainability Reports published before 2015 were the taxes paid by the Company in China.

II Data indicated with * are internally tested and audited data.

Note: Measurement units

1 boe = 1 barrel of crude = 6,000 cubic feet of nG = 169.9 cubic meter of nG

1 cubic meter of nG = 35.315 cubic feet of nG    1 metric ton of crude = 7.389 barrels of crude (api = 34)

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

OBJECTIVES AND PLANS

in 2017, we will firmly establish and implement new development concepts, continue to optimize our business chain and value chain,

give better play to our integration advantages, and endeavor to grow steadily. We will adjust our structure, improve weak areas, enhance

profitability and guard against risks. We will fully carry out all works, and make our development more balanced, coordinated and sustainable.

Aspects    2017 Objectives 2017 Action Plans

improve the corporate governance structure, and optimize the management and control model;

optimize corporate governance    improve rules and regulations, and promote their integration with management systems;

structure, improve relevant    intensify the implementation of rules and regulations;

Corporate    systems, ensure operation Focus on compliance management in key areas, fair competition in the market, and integrity

governance    and management are in legal in operations;

compliance, and optimize    adjust and optimize the allocation of audit resources and distribution, strengthen

foundational management.    auditing oversight, legal governance and monitoring effectiveness, and strictly investigate

accountability for violations.

enhance the ability to create benefits along the crude oil business chain;

enhance quality and efficiency,

and promote the coordinated    endeavor to increase reserves and achieve stable production, focus on large basins and key

development of core businesses.    areas in domestic oil and gas exploration, and ascertain high-quality reserves;

Oil & gas    Make full use of domestic and Focus on enhancing benefits in overseas oil and gas exploration and development, and

production and    foreign resources and markets, enhance project viability;

supply    ensure optimal operation of oil intensively participate in the one belt and one Road initiative;

business chain and gas business    Strive to implement projects of strategic value along the natural gas chain;

chain, and strive for maximum

overall benefits.    promote innovation-driven growth, and accelerate the fostering of new momentum for

development.

expand quantitative review of HSe management system;

improve mechanism for graded risk prevention and control;

Strengthen risk prevention and control in key areas;

promote hazard control in oil and gas wells, pipelines, tank areas and hazardous chemicals;

Strictly implement the

Work Safety law and the    Focus on safety supervision of hazardous chemicals and radioactive source management,

environmental protection law,    and fully complete key hazard treatment in chemical tank areas;

Safety and    implement the responsibility Carry out thorough inspections of construction projects, strengthen contractor management,

environmental    interface and content at every and strictly implement the primary responsibilities of the construction companies;

protection    level, and continually improve expedite the building of HSe standardization in grassroots teams, and strengthen safety

performance of safety and    capability training for employees;

environmental protection.    implement new national standards for environmental protection and new requirements for

air pollution prevention and control, and implement measures to strengthen air pollution

prevention and control in beijing-tianjin-Hebei and surrounding key areas;

Strengthen energy measurement and online monitoring of major energy consumption, and

establish a classified energy management mode progressively at different levels.

build a talent team based on

innovation, promote strategic    push forward key talent projects;

Employee    restructuring of the talent Strengthen the cultivation of highly-skilled talents led by skilled experts;

development    team, and implement the law Develop employee incentive policies;

of the pRC on promoting the    promote reforms in professional and technical posts;

transformation of Scientific and    improve innovation and entrepreneurship platforms, and organize the _Globaloil Maker_ contest.

technological achievements.

let the general public enjoy    broaden joint ventures and cooperation, and push forward reforms to steadily promote

the fruits of our reform and    mixed ownership of state-owned enterprises;

Social    development in a wider and Move forward with targeted poverty alleviation;

contribution    fairer way and contribute participate in public welfare undertakings;

towards a harmonious    Support local economic and social development, and share local resources and the fruits of

community.    development with host countries.

GloSSaRy

GLOSSARY

according to China national Standards, proven reserves are estimated quantities of hydrocarbon

Proven reserves    deposits possibly to be recovered from reservoirs proved by appraisal drilling during the period of

reservoir evaluation, with a reasonable certainty or a relative difference of no more than ±20%.

according to the guidelines of the uS Securities and exchange Commission, proved reserves refer

to, against current economic and operating circumstances, the quantity of oil, natural gas or liquid

natural gas which can be reasonably identified and recovered from known oil & gas layer in the

Proved reserves    future according to geological and engineering documents. their price and cost are based on the

reality in evaluation. price changes will only consider the changes of current price specified by

contract agreement rather than escalations. proved reserves include proved reserves developed and

undeveloped.

Reserve replacement ratio    the reserve replacement ratio refers to the value of the amount of oil and gas reserves added in a year

divided by the amount of oil and gas produced during that same year

Recovery ratio    the percentage of oil/gas in place that is recoverable from underground.

a class of nonvertical wells where the wellbore axis is near horizontal (within approximately 10

degrees of the horizontal), or fluctuating above and below 90 degrees deviation. a horizontal well may

produce at rates several times greater than a vertical well, enhance recovery efficiency and prolong

Horizontal well    the production cycle, due to the increased wellbore surface area within the producing interval.

Meanwhile, the environmental costs or land use problems that may pertain in some situations, such

as the aggregate surface _Globalfootprint_ of an oil or gas recovery operation, can be reduced by the use of

horizontal wells.

liquefied natural gas is produced by dewatering, deacidifying, dehydrating and fractionating the

Liquefied natural gas (LNG)    natural gas produced from a gas field and then turning it into liquid under low temperatures and high

pressure.

new energy refers to unconventional energy and renewable energies, mainly including CbM, shale

New energy    gas, oil sands, oil shale, fuel ethanol, biodiesel, geothermal energy, wind energy, solar energy, hydrogen

energy, water-soluble gas and nGH.

a low-carbon economy is an economic development model characterized by low energy consumption,

low pollution and low emissions. its essence is efficient energy consumption, development of clean

Low-carbon economy    energy and pursuit of green GDp. the core of this model is the optimization of the industrial structure,

low-carbon technology and institutional innovation. a low-carbon economy is developed by means of

energy conservation, emissions reduction and the development of clean energy.

Greenhouse gases are gases in an atmosphere that absorb solar radiation from the surface and then

emit radiation, such as water vapor, Co , and most refrigerants. their effect is making the earth s surface

Greenhouse gas (GHG)    2

warmer, as the _Globalgreenhouse effect_ sequestrates solar radiation and increases the temperature of the air.

Greenhouse gases in the earth s atmosphere mainly include Co2 , CH4 , n2 o, HFCS , pFCS and SF6 .

also refers to carbon sinks. it is the process, activity and mechanism to remove carbon dioxide from the

Carbon sequestration    air. Generally, it indicates the capability of forests to absorb and store carbon dioxide. Carbon dioxide in

the atmosphere is artificially sequestrated in biological forms in plants and the soil through forestation,

forest management, and other forest carbon sequestration measures.

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

HSe is the acronym of the health, safety and environment management system. the HSe management

system is an integration of various elements such as organizational structures, mandates, practices,

HSE management system    procedures, processes and resources used for health, safety and environment management. the

advanced, scientific and systematic integration and operation of these elements create the mutually

reinforcing, supportive and interactive and dynamic management system.

Compounds of hydrocarbons in wastewater. these include all substances collected by certain solvents,

Oils (mineral oil)    as well as all substances extracted by solvents from acidified samples, which remained fixed during the

extracting process.

Chemical oxygen demand    Chemical oxygen demand is the quantity of strong oxidant consumed to process water samples. it

(COD)    serves as a comprehensive index of pollutants in wastewater and their impact on the environment. a

higher CoD represents the heavier pollution of reductive substances in the water body.

Major accidents refer to accidents that cause deaths above 10 but below 30, or grievous harm to

Major accident    people numbering above 50 but below 100, or economic losses worth above RMb 50 million but

below RMb 100 million.

emergency accidents refer to sudden emergent accidents which result in or may result in serious casualties,

Emergency accidents    and/or damage to property, the environment, society and public safety. emergency accidents faced by

petroChina include four types, namely natural disasters, accidents, public health and social security.

Occupational disease    Diseases caused by exposure to dust, radioactive substances and other toxic and hazardous substances

to employees working for enterprises, institutions and private organizations.

Occupational health    a series of health examinations for professionals in an industry aimed at preventing occupational health

surveillance    threats and improving the health of employees. occupational health surveillance includes occupational

health checks, management of occupational health archives, etc.

physical examination of workers exposed to occupational health threats. the items and frequency of

Occupational health    checks should be determined by the category of health threats, and by stipulations in the items and

examination    Frequencies of occupational Health Checks. these include checks before, during and at the end of a

worker s assignment, as well as emergency checks.

Occupational health    the annual ratio between the number of workers exposed to occupational threats who have taken

examination ratio    occupational health checks and the total number of workers who should receive such checks.

Stakeholders are groups and individuals that are able to impact the accomplishment of corporate goals,

Stakeholders    or groups and individuals that are impacted by corporate goals, including the natural environment,

future generations, and non-human specifies that are directly or indirectly affected by corporate

business activities

Generally this refers to mining zones recovered, being recovered or to be recovered. it includes several

Production base    regions covering mines and open mines equipped with utilities like production processes, ground

transportation, power supply, telecommunication scheduling, production management and living services.

a community is an administrative jurisdiction within which a group of people live in a fixed

Community    geographical area, fulfilling their social functions and creating social norms. it is at the same

administrative level as an administrative village.

GRi, ipieCa /api anD HKeX inDeX

GRI, IPIECA/API AND HKEX INDEX

the report consults the reporting elements and performance indicator indices proposed by the Global Reporting initiative (GRi) and compares

the report with indicators listed in oil and Gas industry Guidance on Voluntary Sustainability Reporting by the international petroleum industry

environment Conservation association (ipieCa) and american petroleum institute (api). Meanwhile, we took reference from the environmental,

Social and Governance (eSG) Reporting Guide issued by the Hong Kong Stock exchange.

IPIECA/API 2015GRI 4.0ESG

Material Topics     G4-19

About Petrochina     G4-3, G4-4, G4-5, G4-6, G4-7, G4-8, G4-9, G4-13, G4-17, G5-56b6

Message from the Chairman    e1, e3, Se1, Se4, Se11, Se12 G4-1, G4-2, G4-43, G4-56, G4-eC2b7

Interview with the President    e1 G4-1, G4-2, G4-43, G4-eC2a1.3

Sustaining Steady Development    G4-1, G4-2, G4-35, G4-42, G4-43, G4-44, G4-45, G4-51

Integrity and     G4-34, G4-35, G4-36, G4-38, G4-40, G4-41, G4-46, G4-47, G4-48,

Compliance-    Solidifying Governance Framework G4-49, G4-52

Based    optimizing Management System Se11, Se12, Se18G4, G4-57, G4-58, G4-So4b7

Corporate

Governance    upholding business ethics Se11, Se12G4-56, G4-So4b7

Communicating with Stakeholders    Se11G4-24, G4-25, G4-26, G4-27, G4-37, G4-45

Consolidating our Resource base    G4-8a2.3

Developing Clean energy    e3G4-8, G4-en27, G4-eC7

Sustained    pushing Forward pipeline network G4-8, G4-6, G4-eC7, G4-en30

Energy Supply    Construction

enhancingning international

Cooperation    G4-6

ensuring Stable Supply    G4-8

improving HSe Management    G4-14

Safe and Clean    enhancing operational Safety HS5G4-14

Production    ecological protection e4, e5, e6, e7, e8, e10, e11G4-14, G4-eC7, G4-en5, G4-en11, G4-en12, G4-en13, G4-en27a1, a1.5, a1.6, a2, a2.4, a3, a3.1

and Operation    promoting energy Conservation e2G4-en3, G4-en5, G4-en6a2.3, a3, a3.1

Response to Climate Change    e1, e2, e3, e4G4-14, G4-15, G4-eC2, G4-en21, G4-en31, G4-la15, G4-So10a3, a3.1

enhancing Quality Management System    HS4G4-16b6.4

Customer-First    providing High-Quality products HS4b6, b6.3

Market Service    Delivering Considerate Services G4-8, G4-pR5b6.2

Whole Supply Chain Management    Se8, Se9G4-12, G4-13, G4-en33, HR11, G4-So10b5

protection of employee Rights    Se16, Se18G4-10, G4-15, G4-52, G4-58, G4-la1, G4-la3, G4-la12b1, b1.1, b4, b4.2

occupational Health    HS2, HS3b2, b2.1, b2.2, b2.3

People-

Oriented    establishing a platform for employee Se17G4-la10b1, b3

Employee    Development

Development    local Staff Development Se6, Se15, Se17G4-la12b1

Strengthening of security in overseas

operations    Se10G4-6b1

promoting local Development    Se1, Se5G4-eC7, G4-eC8b8, b8.1

poverty alleviation    Se4G4-15, G4-eC7, G4-eC8b8.1

Giving Back to    Supporting education Se4b8.1

Society    Volunteer activities b8.1

Contributions to the Development of    Se1, Se2, Se3, Se4, Se5, Se7,

overseas Communities    Se15G4-eC1, G4-eC7, G4-eC8, G4-HR8, G4-So1b8, b8.1, b8.2

Investor FAQs     Se2, Se3, Se8, Se9, Se11, Se12,G-41, G4-58a1, a2, a3, a3.1, b1, b2, b3,

Se15, Se16, Se17b4, b7, b7.1, b7.2, b8, b8.1

Performance Statistics    e2, e6, e7, HS2, HS3, Se4, Se6 G4-eC1, G4-en5a1.1, a1.3, a2.1

Objectives and Plans

Appendix     a1, a2, b1, b2, b4, b5, b6

Global Compact and Us     G4-16

Approach to Reporting     G4-17, G4-18

About This Report     G4-20, G4-21, G4-22, G4-23, G4-28, G4-29, G4-30

Contacts     G4-31

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

APPENDIX

We strictly complied with applicable laws and regulations on quality management. For this, we established rules and regulations covering all

production units, staff and processes relevant to the Company, which including but not limited to:

Names of the Rules and Regulations

1 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Management of Labor Contract

2 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Performance Evaluation of Senior Executives

Administration Measures of PetroChina Company Limited on Production Safety and Environmental Protection

3

Accountability System

4 Administrative Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Supervision and Inspection of Product Quality

5 Administrative Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Appraisal of Staff Safety and Environmental Performance

6 Regulations of PetroChina Company Limited on Environmental Protection Concerning Project Acquisition

7 Administrative Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Energy and Water Conservation

8 Regulations of PetroChina Company Limited on Quality Supervision of Procured Materials

9 Regulations of PetroChina Company Limited on Detection of Occupational Hazards at Workplace

10 Regulations of PetroChina Company Limited on Occupational Health Surveillance

11 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Material Supplier Management

12 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Tender Management

13 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Service Trademark Management

14 Measures of PetroChina Company Limited for Land Management

15 Regulations of PetroChina Company Limited on the Management of Industrial Water of Refining Enterprises

Global CoMpaCt anD uS

GLOBAL COMPACT AND US

the Global Compact is a global framework initiated and advocated by the united nations aiming at the promotion of sustainable development

and the collective improvement of social well-being through responsible and innovative business practices. as a member of the un Global

Compact, we are committed to observing and supporting the ten principles advocated by the Global Compact in the fields of human rights,

labor rights, environment protection and anti-corruption, using the ten principles to guide our practices in fulfilling social responsibilities. and

we will continue to disclose our progress in keeping with the ten principles in the Global Compact in our annual report.

Ten Principles in the Global Compact    Corresponding sections herein

1. businesses should support and respect the protection of internationally    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

Human Rights    proclaimed human rights;

2. Make sure that they are not complicit in human rights abuses.    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

3. businesses should uphold the freedom of association and the effective    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

recognition of the right to collective bargaining;

4. the elimination of all forms of forced and compulsory labour;    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

Labour Rights

5. the effective abolition of child labour;    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

6. the elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and    5.1 employees Rights, investor FaQs

occupation.

7. businesses should support a precautionary approach to environmental    3.5 Response to Climate Change

challenges;

Message from the Chairman, interview with the

Environment     president, 3.2 enhancing operational Safety,

8. undertake initiatives to promote greater environmental responsibility;

Protection     3.3 ecological protection, 3.4 promoting energy

Conservation, 3.5 Response to Climate Change

9. encourage the development and diffusion of environmentally friendly    3.5 Response to Climate Change

technologies.

Anti-Corruption    10. businesses should work against corruption of all kinds, including about petroChina, integrity and Compliance-

extortion and bribery.    based Corporate Governance, investor FaQs

APPROACH TO    Concerns of

REPORTING    stakeholders

this report focuses on major international

and domestic events related to the

sustainable development of the Company    Investor FAQs

Media monitoring

and its subsidiaries.     Field research

Site interview

Requirements of

NGOs

Major economic, environmental and social impacts of the Company

Major policies, projects, strategies, risks and opportunities of the Company

2016 SuStainability RepoRt

Content Selection Process

the contents in this report were selected and disclosed based on their substantiality, integrity and balance principle, and taking into account

the concerns of stakeholders and the Company s great influence on the society. they exert substantial impact on the Company s sustainable

development.

1. the Company pays close attention to the views of its stakeholders, and    Identification

collects their comments through community visits, periodical reports, field    Media monitoring

study and online communication. it makes suggestions on the topics of the    email network

report by taking into account stakeholders major concerns.     Field study

2. We assess the Company s sustainable development strategy and cover

major social, economic and environmental events related to our strategies,    Review

risks and opportunities.     Prioritization

internal evaluation

3. We refer to the social responsibility initiatives and standards proposed    Feedback from Questionnaire

by nGos for topic selection. these include iSo 26000 (Guidance on Social    readers Seminars

Responsibility).

4. topics are selected based on the comprehensive assessment of stakeholders    Validation

concerns and their impact on the Company s strategies. the time span and    Content development

the scope of impact for each specific topic are clearly defined to ensure the    Department review

accuracy of the information disclosed.    executive approval

ABOUT THIS REPORT

this report illustrates activities the Company undertook in 2016 pursuant to its ongoing commitment to advance the community, the economy

and the environment. all information disclosed in this report was sourced from petroChina s official documents and statistics as well as from

statistics gathered from the Company s affiliated enterprises. it takes into account the Company s development priorities and stakeholder

concerns. this report has been reviewed in accordance with the Company s Rules for information Disclosure Control and Disclosure procedures.

For continuity and comparability purposes, this report provides explanations on past and future initiatives on certain issues.

this report is formulated according to the key principles of accuracy, transparency and consistency. We took reference from the Guideline on

preparing the Report on performance of Corporate Social Responsibility issued by the Shanghai Stock exchange and the environmental, Social

and Governance (eSG) Reporting Guide issued by the Hong Kong Stock exchange. Furthermore, we continued to consult the Sustainability

Reporting Guideline (Version 4.0) released by the Global Reporting initiative (GRi) and the oil and Gas industry Guidance on Voluntary

Sustainability (2015) co-published by the international petroleum industry environmental Conservation association (ipieCa) and the american

petroleum institute (api). as a member of the united nations Global Compact (unGC), we report our progress in compliance with the ten

principles and will submit the report to be posted on unGCs website (http://www.unglobalcompact.org).

this report includes a set of Forward-looking Statements. excluding historical facts, all events that may or will

occur (including, but not limited to, premise, objectives, estimation and business plans) and descriptions of

such events are categorized as Forward-looking Statements. Due to the presence of external uncertainties,

actual outcomes or the future climate may differ from those expressed in the Forward-looking Statements. as

the Forward-looking Statements were made prior to December 31, 2016, petroChina holds no responsibility

or liability for any modifications made subsequent to the said date.

thank you for taking the time to read this report. We welcome any comments and suggestions you may have as

we believe that your feedback can improve our performance. this report is published, along with the Company s

annual Report 2016 in March 2017, in simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and english. in the case of any    you can log on to our website

discrepancy, the version in simplified Chinese shall act as the lead publication.     www.petrochina.com.cn or

scan the QR code to browse

the board and all the Company s directors hereby certify that there are no misrepresentations, misleading    or download the electronic

statements or material omissions in this report. Furthermore, we jointly and severally accept full    version of this report and learn

responsibility for the truthfulness, accuracy and completeness of this report.     more about us.

Address: 9 Dongzhimen North Street, Dongcheng District,

Beijing, P.R.China Post Code: 100007 E-mail: csr@petrochina.com.cn Website: www.petrochina.com.cn