EXHIBIT 99.1
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                 American River Bankshares Issues Stock Dividend


Sacramento, CA, November 17, 2005 - American River Bankshares [NASDAQ: AMRB] announced a 5% stock dividend on the outstanding shares of common stock of the Company payable on December 23, 2005 to shareholders of record on December 9, 2005.

In lieu of fractional shares, cash will be distributed to each shareholder who would otherwise have been entitled to receive a fractional share, at the per share price at the close of business on December 9, 2005.

This is the 10th stock dividend issued by American River Bankshares and comes on the heels of three consecutive increases in the Company's quarterly cash dividend. The third quarter of 2005 marked American River Bankshares' 87th consecutive profitable quarter.

American River Bankshares [NASDAQ: AMRB] is the parent company of American River Bank ("ARB"), a community business bank serving Sacramento, CA that operates a family of financial services providers, including North Coast Bank [a division of "ARB"] in Sonoma County and Bank of Amador [a division of "ARB"] in Amador County. For more information, please call 916-565-6100 or visit www.amrb.com; www.americanriverbank.com; www.northcoastbank.com; www.bankofamador.com.

Forward-Looking Statement
-------------------------
In addition to the historical information contained herein, this press release contains certain forward-looking statements. The reader of this press release should understand that all such forward-looking statements are subject to various uncertainties and risks that could affect their outcome. The Company's actual results could differ materially from those suggested by such forward-looking statements. Factors that could cause or contribute to such differences include, but are not limited to, variances in the actual versus projected growth in assets, return on assets, loan losses, expenses, changes in the interest environment including interest rates charged on loans, earned on securities investments and paid on deposits, competition effects, fee and other non interest income earned, general economic conditions, nationally, regionally, and in the operating market areas of the Company and its subsidiaries, changes in the regulatory environment, changes in business conditions and inflation, changes in securities markets, data processing problems, a decline in real estate values in the Company's market area, the conduct of the war on terrorism, the threat of terrorism or the impact of potential military conflicts and the conduct of war on terrorism by the United States and its allies, as well as other factors. To gain a more complete understanding of the uncertainties and risks involved in the Company's business, this press release should be read in conjunction with the Company's annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004, and subsequent quarterly reports on Form 10Q and current reports on Form 8-K.



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