Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

            Attention Business/Financial Editors:

            Corus Entertainment announces second quarter results

            -   Combined Radio and Television revenues up 10% for quarter and
                year-to-date
            -   Combined Radio and Television segment profit up 14% and 13% for
                second quarter and year-to-date respectively
            -   Successful refinancing of debt
            -   Shares acquired through normal course issuer bid

            TORONTO, April 13 /CNW/ - Corus Entertainment Inc. (TSX: CJR.NV.B; NYSE:
CJR) announced second quarter financial results today with continued strong
operating results.

            "We kept pace with our overall expectations for the year in the second
quarter on the strength of our television results," said John Cassaday,
President and Chief Executive Officer, Corus Entertainment Inc. "As previously
disclosed, we incurred an $80.7 million after-tax debt refinancing cost in the
quarter to retire our high-yield notes and now expect to realize interest
expense savings of $20 to 25 million per annum".

            Second Quarter Results
            ----------------------

            Consolidated revenues for the second quarter ended February 28, 2006 were
$164.4 million, up 6% from $155.3 million last year. Consolidated segment
profit was $42.2 million, up 11% from $38.0 million last year. Net loss for
the quarter was $65.7 million ($1.54 basic and diluted earnings per share), as
compared to income of $12.9 million ($0.30 basic and diluted earnings per
share) last year, as the Company recorded an after-tax debt refinancing charge
of $80.7 million ($1.89 per share) related to the purchase of the Senior
Subordinated Notes and the termination of cross-currency agreements associated
with those notes.

            Corus Television contributed quarterly revenues of $90.9 million, up from
$81.7 million last year led by specialty ad growth of 12% and subscriber
growth of 11%. Quarterly segment profit increased to $36.4 million, up 20%
from $30.4 million last year.

            Corus Radio revenues were $57.8 million, up 8% from $53.5 million last
year. Segment profit was $9.5 million, down 5% from $10.0 million last year.
Revenue and segment profit were impacted by the sale of Corus' Red Deer assets
and the multi-station swap in the province of Quebec. On a same station(x)
basis, revenue was up 7% and segment profit was up by approximately 12%.

            Content division revenues were $17.0 million, down from $20.8 million
last year. Segment profit was $1.9 million compared to $1.5 million last year.
Revenues were down in the quarter as fewer episodes were delivered and the
Beyblade merchandising revenues declined. The division continues to generate
positive cash flow.

            Year-to-Date Results
            --------------------

            Consolidated revenues for the six months ended February 28, 2006 were
$359.7 million, up 7% from $335.9 million last year. Consolidated segment
profit was $111.9 million, up 11% from $100.4 million last year. Net loss for
the six months was $34.3 million ($0.80 basic and diluted earnings per share),
as compared to income of $42.0 million ($0.98 basic and diluted earnings per
share) last year, as the Company recorded a $132.0 million pre-tax debt
refinancing charge related to the purchase of the Senior Subordinated Notes
and the termination of cross-currency agreements associated with those notes.

            Corus Television contributed six month revenues of $199.7 million, up
from $180.2 million last year led by specialty ad growth of 13% and subscriber
growth of 9%. Corus' pay television assets increased their subscriber base
from 748,000 at August 31, 2005 to 799,000 at the end of the second quarter.
Six month segment profit increased to $88.4 million, up 17% from $75.4 million
last year.

            Corus Radio revenues were $130.2 million, up 9% from $119.1 million last
year. Segment profit was $31.4 million, up 1% from $31.0 million last year.
Revenue and segment profit were impacted by the sale of Corus' Red Deer assets
and the multi-station swap in the province of Quebec. On a same station(x)
basis, revenue was up 8% and segment profit was up by approximately 12%.

            Content division revenues were $32.8 million, down from $39.8 million
last year. Segment profit was $2.4 million compared to $1.6 million last year.
Revenues were down in the first six months as fewer episodes were delivered
and the Beyblade merchandising revenues declined. Production is on schedule to
deliver approximately the same number of episodes as last year by the end of
the fiscal year. The division continues to generate positive cash flow.

            Corus has also been successful in executing its Normal Course Issuer Bid
announced in December 2005. At the end of February 2006, the Company had
purchased for cancellation 218,000 Class B Non-Voting Shares at an average
price of $35.09 per share.

            "The Company is executing well on its operating strategies, and with the
refinancing of our debt, Corus is making good use of its strong free cash
flow, with an increased dividend, debt repayment and share buybacks," said
Heather Shaw, Executive Chair, Corus Entertainment Inc.

            Corus Entertainment Inc. is a Canadian-based media and entertainment
company. Corus is a market leader in both specialty TV and Radio. Corus also
owns Nelvana Limited, a leading international producer and distributor of
children's programming and products. The Company's other interests include
publishing, television broadcasting and advertising services. A publicly
traded company, Corus is listed on the Toronto (CJR.NV.B) and New York (CJR)
Exchanges. Corus' website can be found at www.corusent.com.

            Supplemental Earnings Measures

            In addition to providing earnings measures in accordance with Canadian
and U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles ("GAAP"), the Company
presents certain supplemental earnings measures and financial information.
With the exception of radio same station results, these have been outlined in
the Management's Discussion and Analysis contained in the Annual Report for
the year ended August 31, 2005. These measures and financial information do
not have any standardized meaning prescribed by GAAP and are therefore
unlikely to be comparable to similar measures presented by other companies.

            Radio same station results

            Radio same station segment results represent the revenues and segment
profit for the 43 radio stations whose results are included in the first six
months of fiscals 2006 and 2005.

            Certain statements in this press release may constitute forward-looking
statements and are subject to important risks and uncertainties. The results
or events predicted in these statements may differ materially from actual
results or events. Factors which could cause results or events to differ from
current expectations include, among other things: our ability to attract and
retain advertising revenues; audience acceptance of our television programs
and cable networks; our ability to recoup production costs, the availability
of tax credits and the existence of co-production treaties; our ability to
compete in any of the industries in which we do business; the opportunities
(or lack thereof) that may be presented to and pursued by us; conditions in
the entertainment, information and communications industries and technological
developments therein; changes in laws or regulations or the interpretation or
application of those laws and regulations; our ability to integrate and
realize anticipated benefits from our acquisitions and to effectively manage
our growth; our ability to successfully defend ourselves against litigation
matters arising out of the ordinary course of business; and changes in
accounting standards. Consequently, all of the forward-looking statements made
in this report are qualified by these cautionary statements, and there can be
no assurance that the actual results or developments anticipated by us will be
realized or, even if substantially realized, that they will have the expected
consequences to, or effects on, us. Unless otherwise required by applicable
securities laws, we disclaim any intention or obligation to publicly update or
revise any forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information,
events or circumstances that arises after the date thereof or otherwise.

            Full financial details are available on the Corus Entertainment website
at www.corusent.com under Investor Information.
            %SEDAR: 00013131EF          %CIK: 0001100868

            /For further information: please contact: John Cassaday, President and
Chief Executive Officer, Corus Entertainment Inc., (416) 642-3770; Tom Peddie,
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Corus Entertainment Inc.,
(416) 642-3780; Tracy Ewing, Vice President, Communications, Corus
Entertainment Inc., (416) 642-3792/
            (CJR.NV.B. CJR)

CO:  Corus Entertainment Inc.

CNW 09:51e 13-APR-06