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Contacts:     For Media:      John Calagna
                              (212) 578-6252

              For Investors:  Kevin Helmintoller
                              (212) 578-5140

             SEC INQUIRY AT GENERAL AMERICAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

NEW YORK, May 14, 2004 - MetLife, Inc. (NYSE: MET) announced today that its subsidiary, General American Life Insurance Company, has received a so-called "Wells Notice" in connection with a previously announced SEC investigation regarding market timing and late trading in a limited number of its privately-placed variable insurance contracts. The "Wells Notice" provides notice that the SEC staff is considering recommending that the SEC bring a civil action alleging violations of U.S. securities laws. Under the SEC procedures, the recipient can avail itself of the opportunity to respond to the SEC staff before it makes a formal recommendation regarding whether any action alleging violations of the U.S. securities laws should be considered.

MetLife continues to cooperate fully with the SEC in its investigation and is unaware of any systemic problems with respect to such matters that may have a material adverse effect upon MetLife's consolidated financial position.

MetLife, Inc., through its subsidiaries and affiliates, is a leading provider of insurance and other financial services to individual and institutional customers. The MetLife companies serve individuals in approximately 13 million households in the U.S. and provide benefits to 37 million employees and family members through their plan sponsors. Outside the U.S., the MetLife companies have direct insurance operations in 10 countries serving approximately 8 million customers.
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This release contains statements which constitute forward-looking statements
within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, including statements relating to trends in the company's operations and financial results and the business and the products of the company and its subsidiaries, as well as other statements including words such as "anticipate," "believe," "plan," "estimate," "expect," "intend" and other similar expressions. Forward-looking statements are made based upon management's current expectations and beliefs concerning future developments and their potential effects on the company. Such forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance.

Actual results may differ materially from those included in the forward-looking statements as a result of risks and uncertainties including, but not limited to the following: (i) changes in general economic conditions, including the performance of financial markets and interest rates; (ii) heightened competition, including with respect to pricing, entry of new competitors and the development of new products by new and existing competitors; (iii) unanticipated changes in industry trends; (iv) the company's primary reliance, as a holding company, on dividends from
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its subsidiaries to meet debt payment obligations and the applicable regulatory
restrictions on the ability of the subsidiaries to pay such dividends; (v) deterioration in the experience of the "closed block" established in connection with the reorganization of Metropolitan Life Insurance Company; (vi) catastrophe losses; (vii) adverse results or other consequences from litigation, arbitration or regulatory investigations; (viii) regulatory, accounting or tax changes that may affect the cost of, or demand for, the company's products or services; (ix) downgrades in the company's and its affiliates' claims paying ability, financial strength or credit ratings; (x) changes in rating agency policies or practices;
(xi) discrepancies between actual claims experience and assumptions used in setting prices for the company's products and establishing the liabilities for the company's obligations for future policy benefits and claims; (xii) discrepancies between actual experience and assumptions used in establishing liabilities related to other contingencies or obligations; (xiii) the effects of business disruption or economic contraction due to terrorism or other hostilities; (xiv) the company's ability to identify and consummate on successful terms any future acquisitions, and to successfully integrate acquired businesses with minimal disruption; and (xv) other risks and uncertainties described from time to time in the company's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its S-1 and S-3 registration statements. The company specifically disclaims any obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future developments or otherwise.