                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

Yuval Ruhama
CFO
Metalink Ltd.
Tel: 972-9-9605555
Fax: 972-9-9605544
Yuvalr@MTLK.com

                      METALINK TO SELL ITS WLAN BUSINESS TO
                         LANTIQ FOR UP TO $16.9 MILLION

YAKUM, ISRAEL, January 5, 2010 - Metalink Ltd. (NASDAQ: MTLK) today announced
that it has entered into a definitive asset purchase agreement to sell its
wireless local area network (WLAN) business to Lantiq, a newly-formed fabless
semiconductor company funded by Golden Gate Capital.

In consideration of the acquired business, Lantiq will pay Metalink up to $16.9
million in cash as follows:

     o    $8.9 million, of which $5.7 million will be paid concurrently with the
          closing, up to $1.2 million (subject to downward adjustments) to be
          paid on March 31, 2010; and $2.0 million to be paid in four
          installments throughout the year 2010; and

     o    Earn-out payments of up to an aggregate $8.0 million, contingent upon
          the acquired business's achievement of specified performance targets
          through March 2012.

The transaction is expected to close in the coming weeks and is subject to
customary closing conditions, including regulatory approvals.

Metalink also reported today that it has entered into an amendment to its loan
agreement with an institutional investor, under which the repayment of the
$4,312,500 originally due upon the closing of the Lantiq transaction will be
reduced to $4,100,000 and repaid in four installments: $3,750,000 at closing and
the remainder in three installments by March 31, 2011.

Following the closing of the transaction, Metalink intends to utilize its
improved balance sheet and the potentially significant cash flow from the
earn-out payments to explore opportunities synergetic with the Company's
expertise and industry relationships.

Mr. Yuval Ruhama, Metalink's Chief Financial Officer, is expected to leave the
Company concurrently with the closing, but will continue serving the Company as
a consultant through the end of 2010.

"We are pleased that the strategic process we initiated last year has, despite
our difficult financial situation and during an extremely challenging general
market conditions, produced a transaction that is in the best interests of
Metalink and its shareholders, as well as its employees and customers,"
commented Tzvika Shukhman, Metalink's Chief Executive Officer.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the talented Metalink team
members that will be joining Lantiq. I would also like to extend a special thank
you to Yuval Ruhama, our departing CFO, for his long term dedication and
contribution to the company," concluded Mr. Shukhman.

Additional details regarding the Lantiq transaction and the amendment to the
loan agreement will be included in the Company's 6-K Report to be filed by
Metalink with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in due course.

ABOUT METALINK

Metalink Ltd. (NASDAQ: MTLK) is a fabless semiconductor Company engaged in the
research, development and sale of wireless local area network (WLAN) chipsets,
and in the sale of high performance broadband access chip sets or digital
subscriber line (DSL) used by telecommunications and networking equipment
manufacturers.

Metalink's WLAN and DSL technologies are designed to enable true broadband
connectivity in every home, and its products change the broadband experience by
facilitating the convergence of telecommunication, networking and entertainment.

Metalink's WLANPLUS(TM) is a high-throughput, 802.11n-draft-compliant wireless
LAN technology optimized for the networked home entertainment environment.
Featuring advanced MIMO technology and full support of QoS, and operating in
both 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands, WLANPLUS enables multi-room networking of multiple
high-definition video streams.

Further information is available at http://www.MTLK.com

                              SAFE HARBOR STATEMENT

This press release contains "forward looking statements" within the meaning of
the United States securities laws. Words such as "aim," "expect," "estimate,"
"project," "forecast," "anticipate," "intend," "plan," "may," "will," "could,"
"should," "believe," "predicts," "potential," "continue," and similar
expressions are intended to identify such forward-looking statements. For
example, when we discuss the expected closing of the sale of WLAN business or
the potential cash flow from the Earn-out payments thereunder, we are using a
forward looking statement. Because such statements deal with future events, they
are subject to various risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results
to differ materially from those in the forward looking statements. Factors that
could cause or contribute to such differences include, but are not limited to:
in light of our cash status, our inability to raise additional funds or enter
into other strategic transactions on a timely basis may lead us to insolvency;
our inability to regain compliance with NASDAQ'S requirements for continued
listing; any unforeseen developmental or technological difficulties with regard
to our products; changes in the competitive landscape, including new competitors
or the impact of competitive pricing and products; and the impact on revenues of
economic and political uncertainties and weaknesses in various regions of the
world, including the commencement or escalation of hostilities or acts of
terrorism. Additional factors that could cause actual results to differ
materially from these forward-looking statements are set forth from time to time
in Metalink's filings with the SEC, including Metalink's Annual Report in Form
F-20. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking
statements. Except as required by applicable law, the Company undertakes no
obligation to republish or revise forward-looking statements to reflect events
or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrences of
unanticipated events. The Company cannot guarantee future results, events, and
levels of activity, performance, or achievements.