Exhibit 99.1

For more information contact: Bruce A. Kay 804-747-0136

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MARKEL AND ALTERRA SHAREHOLDERS OVERWHELMINGLY APPROVE ACQUISITION

RICHMOND, Va. and HAMILTON, Bermuda — February 26, 2013 — Markel Corporation (NYSE: MKL) (“Markel”) and Alterra Capital Holdings Limited (NASDAQ: ALTE; BSX: ALTE.BH) (“Alterra”) today announced that their respective shareholders have voted in favor of all proposals necessary for the acquisition of Alterra by Markel. Completion of the transaction remains subject to receipt of regulatory approvals and other customary closing conditions and is expected to occur in the second quarter of 2013.

Under the terms of the merger agreement, each Alterra common share (other than any shares as to which appraisal rights are exercised or restricted shares that do not vest in connection with the transaction) is converted into the right to receive 0.04315 Markel common shares (with cash paid for fractional shares), plus a cash payment of $10.

Additional information about the acquisition, including the December 19, 2012 announcement press release and a related investor presentation, is posted on the websites of Markel and Alterra at www.markelcorp.com and www.alterracap.com, respectively.

About Markel Corporation:

Markel Corporation is a diverse financial holding company serving a variety of niche markets. The Company’s principal business markets and underwrites specialty insurance products. In each of the Company’s businesses, it seeks to provide quality products and excellent customer service so that it can be a market leader. The financial goals of the Company are to earn consistent underwriting and operating profits and superior investment returns to build shareholder value. Visit Markel Corporation on the web at www.markelcorp.com.

About Alterra Capital Holdings Limited:

Alterra Capital Holdings Limited is a global enterprise dedicated to providing diversified specialty insurance and reinsurance products to corporations, public entities, and property and casualty insurers. Visit Alterra on the web at www.alterracap.com.

INFORMATION CONCERNING FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

This release includes statements about future economic performance, finances, expectations, plans and prospects of Alterra and Markel, both individually and on a combined basis, that are forward-looking statements for purposes of the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. There are risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in or suggested by such statements. For further information regarding factors affecting future results of Alterra and Markel, please refer to their respective Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2011 and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and other documents filed by Alterra and Markel since March 1, 2012 with the Securities Exchange Commission (“SEC”). These documents are also available free of charge, in the case of Alterra, by directing a request to Alterra through Joe Roberts, Chief Financial Officer, or Susan Spivak Bernstein, Senior Vice President, Investor Relations, at 441-295-8800 and, in the case of Markel, by directing a request to Bruce Kay, Investor Relations, at 804-747-0136. Neither Alterra nor Markel undertakes any obligation to update or revise publicly any forward-looking statement whether as a result of new information, future developments or otherwise.

This release contains certain forward-looking statements within the meaning of the U.S. federal securities laws. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about Alterra’s and Markel’s beliefs, plans or expectations, are forward-looking statements. These statements are based on Alterra’s or

Markel’s current plans, estimates and expectations. Some forward-looking statements may be identified by use of terms such as “believe,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “expect,” “project,” “plan,” “may,” “should,” “could,” “will,” “estimate,” “predict,” “potential,” “continue,” and similar words, terms or statements of a future or forward-looking nature. In light of the inherent risks and uncertainties in all forward-looking statements, the inclusion of such statements in this release should not be considered as a representation by Alterra, Markel or any other person that Alterra’s or Markel’s objectives or plans, both individually and on a combined basis, will be achieved. A non-exclusive list of important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those in such forward-looking statements includes the following: (a) the occurrence of natural or man-made catastrophic events with a frequency or severity exceeding expectations; (b) the adequacy of loss reserves and the need to adjust such reserves as claims develop over time; (c) the failure of any of the loss limitation methods the parties employ; (d) any adverse change in financial ratings of either company or their subsidiaries; (e) the effect of competition on market trends and pricing; (f) cyclical trends, including with respect to demand and pricing in the insurance and reinsurance markets; (g) changes in general economic conditions, including changes in interest rates and/or equity values in the United States of America and elsewhere; and (h) other factors set forth in Alterra’s and Markel’s recent reports on Form 10-K, Form 10-Q and other documents filed with the SEC by Alterra and Markel.

* * * * *

Risks and uncertainties relating to the proposed transaction include the risks that: (1) the parties will not obtain the requisite shareholder or regulatory approvals for the transaction; (2) the anticipated benefits of the transaction will not be realized or the parties may experience difficulties in successfully integrating the two companies; (3) the parties may not be able to retain key personnel; (4) the conditions to the closing of the proposed merger may not be satisfied or waived; (5) the outcome of any legal proceedings to the extent initiated against Alterra or Markel or its respective directors and officers following the announcement of the proposed merger is uncertain; (6) the acquisition may involve unexpected costs; and (7) the businesses may suffer as a result of uncertainty surrounding the acquisition. These risks, as well as other risks of the combined company and its subsidiaries may be different from what the companies expect, or have previously experienced, and each party’s management may respond differently to any of the aforementioned factors. These risks, as well as other risks associated with the merger, will be more fully discussed in the joint proxy statement/prospectus that will be included in the Registration Statement on Form S-4 to be filed by Alterra and Markel with the SEC. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date on which they are made.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED MERGER AND WHERE TO FIND IT:

This release relates to a proposed transaction between Alterra and Markel that will become the subject of a registration statement, which will include a joint proxy statement/prospectus, to be filed by Alterra and Markel with the SEC. This material is not a substitute for the joint proxy statement/prospectus that Alterra and Markel will file with the SEC or any other document that Alterra or Markel may file with the SEC or Alterra or Markel may send to its shareholders in connection with the proposed transaction. INVESTORS AND SECURITY HOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ THE JOINT PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS AND ALL OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS THAT MAY BE FILED WITH THE SEC OR SENT TO SHAREHOLDERS, INCLUDING THE DEFINITIVE JOINT PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS THAT WILL BE PART OF THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT ON FORM S-4, AS THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED MERGER. All documents, when filed, will be available free of charge at the SEC’s website (www.sec.gov) or, in the case of Alterra, by directing a request to Joe Roberts, Chief Financial Officer, or Susan Spivak Bernstein, Senior Vice President, Investor Relations, at 441-295-8800 and, in the case of Markel, by directing a request to Bruce Kay, Investor Relations, at 804-747-0136.

Source: Markel Corporation and Alterra Capital Holdings Limited

Markel Corporation

Bruce Kay, 1-804-747-0136

bkay@markelcorp.com

Or

Alterra Capital Holdings Limited

Susan Spivak Bernstein, 1-212-898-6640

Senior Vice President

susan.spivak@alterra-bm.com

or

Kekst and Company

Peter Hill, 1-212-521-4800

peter-hill@kekst.com

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