Exhibit 99.1
SINA Announced the Appointment of President
Shanghai, September 26, 2005 — SINA Corporation (Nasdaq: SINA), a leading Chinese online media company and value-added information service provider, today announced the appointment of Charles Chao, formerly Co-Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer, as its President and Chief Financial Officer. Concurrently, Hurst Lin, formerly Co-Chief Operating Officer, will remain as its sole Chief Operating Officer.
“I am extremely happy with Charles’ promotion,” said Wang Yan, CEO of SINA. “It is a recognition for his contribution to the Company as well as a reflection for the roles he has played within the Company over the past years. Charles’ promotion is a further affirmation of Charles, Hurst and myself working together as a chief executive team. I am confident that this executive team along with the rest of the top management will take SINA to the next level of market leadership.”
About SINA
SINA Corporation (NASDAQ: SINA) is a leading online media company and value-added information service (VAS) provider for China and for global Chinese communities. With a branded network of localized web sites targeting Greater China and overseas Chinese, SINA provides services through five major business lines including SINA.com (online news and content), SINA Mobile (mobile value-added services), SINA Online (community-based services and games), SINA.net (search and enterprise services) and SINA E-Commerce (online shopping and auctions). Together these provide an array of services including region-focused online portals, mobile value-added services, search and directory, interest-based and community-building channels, free and premium email, online games, virtual ISP, classified listings, fee-based services, e-commerce and enterprise e-solutions.
Safe Harbor Statement
This announcement contains forward-looking statements. SINA may also make forward-looking statements in its periodic reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on forms 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, etc., in its annual report to shareholders, in its proxy statements, in its offering circulars and prospectuses, in press releases and other written materials and in oral statements made by its officers, directors or employees to third parties. SINA assumes no obligation to update the forward-looking statements in this release and elsewhere. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about our beliefs and expectations, are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements involve inherent risks and uncertainties. A number of important factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statement. Potential risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, SINA’s historical losses, its limited operating history, the uncertain regulatory landscape in the People’s Republic of China, the effect of the notice issued by the Chinese State Administration of Radio, Film and Television in late January 2005 on the Company’s revenues from usage-based SMS products promoted via direct advertisement on radio and television, the Company’s ability to develop and market other usage-based SMS products, fluctuations in quarterly operating results, the Company’s reliance on mobile value-added service and online advertising sales for a majority of its revenues, the Company’s reliance on mobile operators in China to provide mobile value-added service, the changes in January 2005 by China Mobile to its billing process for

undelivered MMS services and the effect of such changes on the Company’s MMS revenues, the migration by China Mobile of MMS onto MISC platform and the effect of such migration on the Company’s MMS revenues, any failure to successfully develop and introduce new products and any failure to successfully integrate acquired businesses. Further information regarding these and other risks is included in SINA’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004 and its quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2005, as well as in its other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
Contact:
Chen Fu
Investor Relations
SINA Corporation
Phone: 8621-62895678 x 6089
E-mail: fuchen@staff.sina.com
Denise Roche
The Ruth Group
Phone: (646) 536-7008
Email: droche@theruthgroup.com