1
2010 Investor Day
February 11, 2010
Salt Lake City

Table of Contents
Ø Overview
 Ø Geography & Footprint Economics
 Ø Business Mix
 Ø Customer Growth / Retention
 Ø Net Interest Margin
 Ø Credit Quality - Big Picture
 Ø Efficiency
 Ø Capital
 Ø Shareholder Dilution
Ø Construction
 Ø Residential
 Ø Commercial
Ø National Real Estate: SBA 504 Program
Ø Term Commercial Real Estate
Ø Energy Portfolio
Ø Small Business Lending
Ø Investment Securities & Interest Rate Sensitivity
Ø Summary and Outlook

Introductory Overview

A Collection of Great Banks

Long-Term Growth Engine
Footprint Population Growth Estimates from SNL Financial (2009-2014)

Advantages of Multi-Bank Model
• Local Decisions
 – Quick turnaround of lending decisions
 – Customer access to decision-maker
 – Relationship approach leads to strong business banking =
 stronger DDA balances
 – Breadth of products of a regional/super-regional bank
 – Service levels of a community bank
 – Pricing flexibility by market
• Superior Local Knowledge
 – Avoid buying the business (thin spreads/ROEs)
 – Avoid credit losses due to market or product inexperience

Strong Focus on Business Banking - Loan Mix, Profit Mix
Consumer
22%
CRE
32%
*Includes FDIC Supported Assets
* Commercial Loans: 79%
* Retail & Other Loans: 21%

Deposit Composition
• Retail: 45%
• Commercial: 55%

Zions’ Strengths
• Annual core pretax, pre-credit earnings range of $900 million to $950
 million
 – NIM: 3.81%, ranked #2 of regional banks/peers*
 – Best among peers* for non-interest bearing deposits as a percent of earning assets
• Strong allowance for credit loss: 4.3% of loans
• Low original LTV ratios on term commercial real estate loans
• Successful bidder on four FDIC assisted transactions; paying agent
 on two resolutions
• Markets with nation’s strongest long term growth profile
• Competitive operating cost structure
 – Expense / Loan ratio: Best quartile
*Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and
less than $200 billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.

Customer Retention and Growth - Total Commercial Customers up 18% (Organic)
Since 2007

Zions’ Challenges
• Rising NPAs, to 5.9% of loans from 5.4% in prior quarter (1)
 – Total delinquent + NPA declined by 2% in 4Q09 compared to the prior quarter
• 2009 net charge-off rate of 2.9%; 4Q09 NCO rate: 3.0% (1)
• Continued securities impairments (OTTI), primarily on
 bank/insurance CDOs - $99.3 million in 4Q
 – Although OCI mark is already reflected in GAAP capital ratios, the difference
 between Amortized Cost (OTTI mark) and Carrying Value (OCI mark) is $620
 million, representing a potential earnings impairment
(1) Excludes FDIC supported assets

Net Interest Margin

Net Interest Margin (FY 2009)
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and less than $200
billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL (As Reported NIM - field not available for FHN, BOKF)

Risk-adjusted Net Interest Margin* (FY 2009)
*(Net Interest Income - Net Charge-offs)/Average Earning Assets
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and less than $200
billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL

Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and less than $200
billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL (As Reported NIM)
Net Interest Margin (Historical)
Weighted Average Spread
on new production is >4.5%

Core NIM Trends
Core NIM Performance
• Due to the
 extinguishment/
 reissuance of
 subordinated debt in
 June 2009, Zions
 experiences non-cash
 discount accretion,
 which increases interest
 expense, reducing GAAP
 NIM
Core NIM (excludes discount accretion) has been generally stable
• 1Q09 experienced a temporary dip due to an intentional build-up of excess
 liquidity during the significant turmoil during late 2008/early 2009.
• Issuance of senior notes in September 2009 had about 8 bps adverse impact
 on the core NIM in 4Q09.

Driver of Strong NIM: DDA
Core NIM Performance
• Zions non-interest
 bearing deposit growth
 remains strong
 • ZION: +27% Y/Y
 • US commercial
 banks: +3% Y/Y
DDA Growth - Indexed: 4Q08=100

Driver of Strong NIM: New Loan Spread and Deposit Costs

Credit Quality - Big Picture Overview

Loan Portfolio Performance (12/31/2009)

NPAs + Greater than 90 Days Delinquent / Loans + OREO
NPAs & Delinquency Trends
(Regional Bank Peers)
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and
less than $200 billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL

Net Charge-offs as % of Loans*
(Regional Bank Peers)
*Annualized
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and
less than $200 billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL

*The C&I Loans category excludes the impact of a significant credit, of which the
majority was recovered in 4Q09.
Net Charge Offs - By Loan Type (Regional Bank Peers)
Percentage of Zions
Total Loans

ALLL as a % of Loans
Source: SNL (ALLL as a % of Gross Loans)

Reserve Coverage of NCOs
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and
less than $200 billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL

Zions’ Top 20 Non-Accrual Loans

Nonaccrual Loan Migration
- Nonaccrual loan inflows
 have stabilized; expect
 receding to begin in early
 2010
- Favorable resolutions
 increased 21% vs. 3Q09
- Unfavorable resolutions
 declined 12% vs. 3Q09

Other Real Estate Owned (OREO) Migration
- OREO inflows stable
- Favorable resolutions
 increased 108% vs. 3Q09
- Unfavorable resolutions
 increased 34% vs. 3Q09

Top 20 Total Loans

Granularity of Loans - By Major Loan Type

Expense Control

Efficiency - Expense Management
*4Q09 Non-Interest Expense Annualized
Note: Peer group includes U.S. regional banks with assets greater than $20 billion and
less than $200 billion plus footprint competitors WFC and USB.
Source: SNL (estimated for reporting gaps where necessary)

Capital

Where We Are: Capital Ratios as of December 31, 2009
	4Q08	3Q09	4Q09
Tangible Common Equity	5.89%	5.76%	6.12%
Tier 1 Common	6.28%	6.59%	6.57%*
Tier 1 Risk Based	10.22%	10.34%	10.37%*
Total Risk Based	14.32%	13.08%	13.13%*
* 4Q09 ratios are estimates

Where We Are: Tier 1 + Reserves to Total Loans - 12/31/09*
* ZION estimated as of 4Q09; all peer data as of 3Q09 (4Q09 data not yet available at time of printing)

1Q - 2Q 08: No Capital Actions
3Q 08: $47mm 9.50% Fixed-Rate Non-Cumulative Perpetual Preferred Stock issued; $245mm common stock issued
4Q 08: $1.4 billion TARP
2Q 09: $100mm preferred repurchased; $54mm gain—preferred stock redemption; $124mm common stock issued ($46mm to fund preferred repurchase); $45mm
 sub debt mod equity conversion option; $188mm gain—sub debt mod; $100mm gain—recognition of deferred gains on swaps; $14.5mm gain on Alliance
 & Great Basin banks
3Q 09: $28mm sub debt to preferred conversion; $187mm common stock issued; $15.5mm reduction from amortization of gain on sub debt mod; $84.6mm gain
 on Vineyard Bank
4Q 09: $71.5mm preferred stock exchanged for common, $36mm sub debt to preferred conversion; $153mm common stock issued, $39mm to common for
 exchange; $32mm gain—equity conversion; $156mm restatement of Q2 sub debt mod equity conversion option; $16.9mm gain—restatement of Q2 sub
 debt mod, $11mm gain—Q4 sub debt mod, $23.2mm reduction from amortization of gain on sub debt mod.
Net:
$292mm
Net:
$1.4 b
Net:
$426mm
Net:
$348mm
Total: $2.75b
Net:
$284mm
$ millions
2008 - 2009 Capital Actions Net to Tier 1

Capital Creation - Zions’ equity raises less dilutive to shareholders
Equity issuance	$709	$0	$986	$2,037	$0	$1,415	$1,136	$478	$571
Liability management	$603	$0	$467	$1,345	$10	$24	$520	$0	$30
Other strategic	$99	$18	$1,473	$176	$4	$0	$20	$0	$34
Source: Credit Suisse

Zions’ Approach to Capital
• Maintain and incrementally improve capital ratios
• Use all available “levers” to minimize dilution
 – Common equity distribution programs
 – Convertible instruments
 • Modified sub debt converts to preferred (Tier 1)
 – Reduce tangible assets (loan demand remains weak)
 – Reduce risk-weightings of assets
 – Preserve DTA - GAAP and RAAP
• Raise capital to repay TARP after credit
 conditions and earnings outlook improve
 – Cost of capital lower - common and preferred

Risks to Approach
• Regulatory/political pressure to take action not in
 shareholders’ interest
• Not raising enough/markets deteriorate

Summary
• Zions is managing capital:
 – For current shareholders
 – To do enough to avoid unacceptable risks

Overview Q&A Session

Construction Loan Deep Dive
Reducing Risk: A Portfolio in Active Runoff Mode
David Blackford
Keith Maio
Dallas Haun
Scott McLean
Michael Morris

C&I
47%
Consumer
22%
CRE
32%
*Includes FDIC Supported Assets
 For 4Q09, construction
 loans accounted for
 • 14% of the loan
 portfolio
 • 51% of FY09 NCOs
Construction Overview

Basic Construction Underwriting Guidelines
	Commercial Properties	Residential Properties
Loan Amount	Yes	Yes
Loan-to-Value	Yes	Yes
Cash Equity In?	Yes	Yes
Loan-to-Cost	Yes	Yes
Debt Service Coverage	Yes	N/A
Term	Yes	Yes
Preleasing	Yes	N/A
Market Analysis	Yes	Yes
Recourse/Guarantor	Yes	Yes
General Contractor	Yes	Yes

Construction loan overview - RESIDENTIAL Properties
• Total Residential Properties under Construction: $1.7 billion

Construction loan overview - COMMERCIAL Properties
• Total Commercial Properties under Construction: $3.8 billion

Construction loan overview - Granularity of Residential Portfolio

Construction loan overview - Granularity of Commercial Portfolio

Macroeconomic Data - Home Price Appreciation

Construction Credit Trends - Growth, NAL, NCO

Construction loan overview - Resi Growth, NAL, NCO Trends
Residential Construction

Construction loan overview - Commercial Growth, NAL, NCO Trends
Commercial Construction

Construction loan overview - Allowance for Credit Loss
• Zions holds a
 significant reserve
 against its
 construction
 portfolio
• Primarily based on
 statistical loss
 factors (as opposed
 to specific reserves)
• Residential: 10.9%
 of total residential
 construction loans
• Commercial: 13.5%
 of total commercial
 construction loans

Construction Lending - Supplemental
Construction Lending
-
Supplemental
 Information

Interest Reserves - Total Construction Portfolio
Interest reserves
• Common industry practice for
 construction lending
• Only 19% of Zions’ construction
 portfolio has an interest reserve

Interest Reserves - Split between Residential and Commercial Construction

Residential Construction - Vintage Stratification

Construction: Indexed Growth
Indexed Loan Growth: 4Q05=100

Construction Nonaccrual Loans and NCOs, by Affiliate
Construction
 Performance
• Nevada loss content has
 exceeded all other
 geographies in 2009
• Losses relative to
 defaults have run
 considerably higher on
 construction loans than
 on other loan types
• Texas loss severity not
 as bad as other states -
 recent indications
 suggest that demand is
 rebounding at a healthy
 level
Source: Call reports; NALs for CA exclude FDIC supported assets

Construction: Relative Concentration and Performance
Construction accounts for approximately
 14% of total loans.
Relative to the consolidated total
 construction loans,
 – TX, AZ, and NV have a higher
 concentration in Term CRE
 – Concentrations in UT and CA are
 significantly less than the overall
 portfolio
Relative to the consolidated Term CRE
 nonaccrual ratio,
 – AZ and NV are experiencing
 higher NALs due to significantly
 harder hit A&D values
 – CA (excluding loans covered by
 the FDIC) is showing significantly
 better nonaccruals, due in part to
 early reduction in lending activity
Relative to the 4Q09 consolidated NCO
 ratio,
 – NV and AZ remain elevated,
 accounting for approximately 1/2
 of the quarterly construction
 NCOs of the company

Construction Outlook
Outlook
• Impediments to growth
 – Lack of qualified borrowers and/or good projects
 – New internal concentration limits
 – Lack of demand for new projects
• Growth opportunities
 – Recognize: Zions is in markets where population growth is
 likely to be strong
 • Construction and development concentration will likely remain
 above industry average, but far less than Zions’ historical levels
 – Less A&D
 – More focus on projects where cash flow certainty is stronger

National Real Estate Group /
SBA 504 Program
Peter Morgan

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Peter J. Morgan, Executive Vice President
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Executive Summary
Nationally:
• Small businesses in all industries experiencing different levels
 of declining revenues, net income and cash flow
• Declining CRE values (30-50%). Given default, many small
 businesses unable to sell building to satisfy debt
• FY’09 SBA 504 loan volume down 50% from FY’08
Zions National Real Estate Group:
• NPAs increased from $244M in June ‘09 to $380M at Dec. ’09
• 2009 Pre-tax, Pre-provision Income 2.2x net credit and OREO
 losses.
• 2009 net charge-offs relatively low at 74 bps
• OREO holding period steady at 90-100 days

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
National Real Estate Dept.
Loan Portfolio
(Year-End Outstanding Loan Balance: $ Millions)

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Changes & Challenges
• FL, AZ, NV, and GA have seen commercial
 real property values decline 50-70% which
 has contributed to higher net charge-offs
• 30+ day delinquency rate increased from
 5.62% in June ’09 to 7.79% at Dec.’09
• Dec. ’09 non-accruals were $333M and
 OREO was $46.6M or 6.4% and .90%
 respectively, of $5.2B portfolio

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Other Nat’l R. E. Dept Facts
a) At Jan 31, 2009; 36% of Zions Bank total
 loans and 48.6% of Zions Bank NPAs
b) If a loan defaults, resulting in foreclosure,
 the average principal loss is ±10%
c) 92% of borrowers continue to pay as agreed
 with most recent 3 months delinquency rate
 holding steady at 8%

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Collateral Property Type
December 31, 2009

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Owner-Occupied vs. CRE
December 31, 2009

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
National Real Estate Dept. NPAs
($ in Millions)

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Loans by State
December 31, 2009
Portfolio
Non-accruals

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Loans by State (cont.)
December 31, 2009
Portfolio
OREO

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
OREO Aging
December 31, 2009
80
Months:	#	$	%
0 to 3 months	34	$22.5	48.3%
3 to 6 months	22	$11.7	25.1%
6 to 9 months	12	$12.0	25.8%
9 to 12 months	0	$0.0	0.0%
12+ months	1	$0.4	0.8%
Total	69	$46.6	100.0%

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
2009 Net Credit Losses and
Losses on Sale of OREO
($ Millions)	Average Portfolio Balance 2009	Credit Losses	bps	Losses on OREO	bps
Owner-Occupied (C&I)	$3,307.1	$21.5	65.0	$11.9	36.0
Investor (CRE)	$1,990.9	$17.8	89.4	$3.8	19.1
Total	$5,298.0	$39.3	74.2	$15.7	29.6

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Historical Delinquency

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Delinquency Trends

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
NPA History by Cohort
Tracking Non-accruals by month first placed on non-accrual

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
• Get to Borrower quicker and determine best course of
 action
• Created team(s) of experienced officers to craft solutions
 for each borrower
• Waive prepayment penalties, consider short sales, and
 explore note sales to investors, SBA, or junior lender(s)
 when appropriate
• Start foreclosure process sooner, if necessary
• Utilize web based “auction platform” to sell OREO
#1 Objective: Reduce NPAs

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Improvement Steps
• Established National CRE limits at 135% of risk based capital
• Set CRE property type and geographic limits which resulted in:
 a) A current restriction on new hotel lending
 b) No additional CRE lending, in CA, NV, AZ, as well as other regions
 experiencing higher defaults with longer resolution times
• Curtailed maximum advance rates not to exceed 65% on any
 property, with lower limits of 50% on special use properties
• All 10 BDOs to take an active role in geographic areas to visit
 borrowers as needed, assist in note sales and OREO marketing

ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
ZIONS NATIONAL REAL ESTATE
Outlook
2010:
 • Selective portfolio growth until NPAs decrease to
 acceptable level
 • NPAs expected to rise modestly until mid-year, then
 decline to < $375 million (7.2%) at year end
 • Annualized net credit losses ≈ 150 bps
Longer Term:
 • Significant growth opportunity in C&I lending
 • Higher SBA loan and guarantee limits
 • New refinancing rules for SBA 504 lending

Term Commercial Real Estate Loan
Deep Dive
Scott McLean
Michael Morris
David Blackford
Keith Maio

Term Commercial Real Estate - Location
• Term CRE, or non-owner
 occupied loans account for
 approximately 19% of total
 loans, excluding FDIC
 supported assets.
Geography of Term CRE
• Based on affiliate, Term CRE
 loans are most significantly
 concentrated in Utah and
 California.
• Utah Term CRE includes a
 significant amount of loans
 within the National Real
 Estate Group (NREG) - $1.9
 billion, or more than 70% of
 total.
 • NREG loans are
 predominately SBA 504
 loans or otherwise have
 a very low LTV at
 origination

Term CRE - Category Stratification

Term CRE Credit Trends - EXCLUDING Gaming Credits

Term CRE Credit Trends - Effect of Gaming on Loss Rates
• Annualized 4Q09 NCOs Including Gaming: 3.1% annualized
• Annualized 4Q09 NCOs Excluding Gaming: 1.7% annualized
• Loss trends much more stable excluding gaming; gaming Term
 CRE credits remaining: $74 million.

Change in CRE Loan Commitments in $billions (4Q07 to 4Q09)
• A significant decline
 in construction
 commitments has
 been partially offset
 by Term CRE loan
 growth
• Construction loans
 must qualify for
 “pass grade”
 underwriting in
 order to move from
 Construction to
 Term CRE

ZION vs. SCAP More Adverse Stress Loss Projections

Term CRE -Vintage Stratification

Term CRE Maturity Stratification

Term CRE - LTV Stratification At Origination*
*Or most recent appraisal; reappraisals are most frequently
conducted when a loan is downgraded to substandard

Macroeconomic Data - MIT’s Transaction Based Index

Term CRE - TBI* Adjusted LTV Stratification
*The MIT Transaction Based Index is a national index that has
been applied to ZBC's mostly regional CRE Portfolio

Day of Reckoning - or Not?
• Eighty percent of the industry’s CRE loans
 maturing in 2014 are projected to be underwater
 (LTV >100%).
• Based on loans adjusted for price declines as
 reflected in the 4Q09 MIT TBI, Zions would have
 approximately 6% underwater.
• Loans Maturing in 2010 DO NOT include
 approximately $92 MM of loans that have
 matured, but are in workout
Source: American Banker, Foresight Analytics

Term CRE -
 Supplemental Slides

Term CRE Loan Growth By Affiliate
• Growth of Term CRE in
 the last three years has
 come primarily from the
 National Real Estate
 Group (typically SBA 504
 or 504-look-alike loans).
 – ZFNB (including NREG)
 growth was more than $1
 billion, or approximately
 45% of total franchise
 growth
• Texas grew at the next
 most strongest rate,
 although a much smaller
 segment of the
 franchise.
• California grew at the
 third fastest rate,
 increasing by more than
 $750 million (includes
 FDIC transactions)

Term CRE Nonaccrual Loans and NCOs, by Affiliate (FY09)
Term CRE Performance
• Loss severity on Term CRE
 typically runs at a fraction
 of nonaccrual loans
• Nevada losses running
 significantly higher due to
 casino properties - $
• Remaining gaming/casino
 portfolio: $169M, of which
 $74M is Term CRE
• 4Q09 Term CRE NCOs, x-
 gaming: 1.7% annualized
• FY09 Term CRE NCOs, x-
 gaming: 1.7%
• Nevada losses were
 approximately 39% of total
 FY09 Term CRE losses,
 excluding gaming.
Source: Call reports; NV NCO data excludes gaming credits, CA data excludes FDIC supported
credits

Term CRE Relative Performance - 4Q09
Term CRE accounts for approximately 18%
 of total loans.
Relative to the consolidated total Term
 CRE of 18%,
 – UT and CA have slightly more
 concentration in Term CRE
 – TX, AZ, NV, and CO have a
 significantly lower concentration
Relative to the consolidated Term CRE
 nonaccrual ratio,
 – NV is experiencing about five
 points higher NALs due to gaming
 credits
 – UT and CA (excluding loans
 covered by the FDIC) are
 approximately in line
 – All others are in line or below the
 consolidated level
Relative to the 4Q09 consolidated NCO
 ratio,
 – Excluding gaming credits, there
 were very few deviations on NCO
 ratios in the fourth quarter
Source: Call reports; NV NCO data excludes gaming credits, CA data excludes FDIC supported
credits

CRE Portfolio Dollar Change from 4Q07 to 4Q09 (in $000s)
Collateral Location	Arizona	Northern California	Southern California	Nevada	Colorado	Texas	Utah/ Idaho	Washington	Other	Total
Commercial Term
Industrial	$28,178	$9,017	($19,155)	$16,416	($6,992)	$52,968	$21,475	$4,482	$38,314	$144,702
Office	$42,423	$59,366	$105,473	($2,661)	($51,947)	($356)	$9,907	$19,996	$47,793	$229,993
Retail	$48,874	$71,452	$169,731	$18,474	$50,260	$162,184	$33,397	$19,134	$184,868	$758,376
Hotel/Motel	$43,275	$66,383	$28,754	($28,609)	$10,651	$77,702	$57,512	$6,690	$139,545	$401,904
A&D	$0	$0	($6,523)	$0	$0	$0	$0	($6,821)	$1,201	($12,143)
Medical	$12,713	$27,683	$22,829	$61,204	$9,177	$10,251	$11,148	$748	($115)	$155,639
Recreation/Restaurant	$35,621	$7,972	$38,728	$31,056	$12,975	$16,678	$13,242	$1,948	$24,224	$182,443
Multifamily	$20,527	$1,808	$92,946	$15,540	$10,916	$98,902	$377	$6,661	($142)	$247,536
Other	($79,328)	($1,674)	($20,894)	($27,085)	($53,711)	($24,059)	$11,916	$594	($124,881)	($319,122)
Total Commercial Term	$152,283	$242,007	$411,889	$84,335	($18,671)	$394,270	$158,974	$53,432	$310,807	$1,789,328
Location as % Total - Term	-1.6%	1.8%	0.6%	-1.8%	-2.1%	2.4%	-0.3%	0.2%	0.7%	0.0%

Residential Construction
Single Family Housing	($831,434)	($176,910)	($454,878)	($175,285)	($76,088)	($316,963)	($363,907)	$16,022	($1,578)	($2,381,021)
Land Acquisition & Development	($509,338)	($83,291)	($192,851)	($162,307)	($52,826)	($155,846)	($143,901)	($21,091)	($38,723)	($1,360,175)
Total Residential Construction	($1,340,772)	($260,201)	($647,729)	($337,592)	($128,914)	($472,809)	($507,808)	($5,069)	($40,301)	($3,741,196)

Commercial Construction
Industrial	($54,579)	$495	($12,582)	($26,003)	($3,522)	($4,686)	$1,750	$2,000	($167)	($97,293)
Office	($93,491)	$10,451	($41,982)	($73,228)	$26,793	$78,769	($7,257)	($8,879)	($10,718)	($119,541)
Retail	($85,902)	$804	($64,386)	($133,215)	$16,319	($238,957)	($19,401)	($5,953)	($67,238)	($597,930)
Hotel/Motel	($33,955)	$21,623	$27,381	$5,904	$2,473	$46,221	($41,013)	$0	($5,483)	$23,150
A&D	($120,347)	($24,504)	$13,847	($184,231)	$27,392	($488,092)	$33,256	($9,035)	($16,983)	($768,700)
Medical	($12,700)	$0	($13,713)	($8,272)	($2,572)	($3,672)	($5,935)	$8,400	($10,448)	($48,912)
Recreation/Restaurant	($10,941)	$0	($11)	$2,188	$0	($161)	$576	$0	$0	($8,348)
Other	($67,380)	($4,150)	($40,234)	($41,897)	($2,840)	$35,408	($206)	($9,590)	($281,285)	($412,172)
Apartments	($89,574)	($12,785)	($52,475)	($9,402)	$4,322	$18,836	$15,491	($58,394)	($44,457)	($228,439)
Total Commercial Construction	($568,869)	($8,066)	($184,155)	($468,156)	$68,365	($556,334)	($22,739)	($81,451)	($436,779)	($2,258,185)
TOTAL CONSTRUCTION	($1,909,641)	($268,267)	($831,884)	($805,748)	($60,549)	($1,029,143)	($530,547)	($86,520)	($477,080)	($5,999,381)
Location as % Total - Construction	-9.2%	-0.9%	-2.1%	-1.6%	3.2%	8.4%	2.0%	0.3%	-0.1%	0.0%

Based on Total Loan Commitments

Term CRE - TBI* Adjusted LTV by Product & Location
*The MIT Transaction Based Index is a national index that has
been applied to ZBC's mostly regional CRE Portfolio

ZION vs. SCAP Baseline Stress Loss Projections

Term CRE Outlook
Outlook
• Impediments to growth
 – Sluggish transaction volume
 – Depressed prices
• Growth opportunities
 – SBA 504
 – Limited securitization market
• Key differentiator
 – Local businesses need local decision makers for financing

Energy Loan Portfolio
Scott McLean
Steve Stephens

Energy Loan Portfolio

*
Energy Lending
E&P/Midstream Lending
Corporate Energy Services
Lending
§ Upstream:
 E&P companies
§ Midstream:
 Natural gas gathering systems
 Gas gathering/pipeline companies
 Gas processing plants
 Petroleum storage terminals
§ Energy Services:
 Field services
 Equipment manufacturing
 Drillers (working capital only)
§ Downstream:
 Refiners (working capital only)

*
The Energy Lending Group
Steve Kennedy, P.E.
Senior Vice President
24 years
Gregory Petruska P.E.
Senior Vice President
29 years
E&P / Midstream
Lending - Houston
Charles W. Patterson
Senior Vice President
34 years
Corporate Energy
Services
Lending - Houston
C Ross Bartley
Senior Vice President
11 years
E&P / Midstream
Lending - Dallas
Terry McCarter
Senior Vice President
30 years
Buzz Gralla
Senior Advisor
40 years
E&P / Midstream
Lending - Denver
•28 Total Employees in the Energy Group
•19 in Houston, 7 in Dallas, & 2 in Denver
•Top 6 Officers average 28 years of experience

1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2006
Commitments
Outstanding
Deposits
2005
($ in Millions)
2007
2008
2009
Includes Energy Service Commitments >$1MM bank wide
Energy Group Growth
*

Energy Portfolio Loan Composition
Outstanding
$1.75 Billion
Commitments
$3.3 Billion
E & P
Midstream
Services
Coal
Other
Refining
12/31/09
Includes Energy Service Commitments >$1MM bank wide
*

Energy Service Exposure by Market Segment
$1.7 Billion in Commitments

*
Selected Oilfield Service Relationships
*

Selected Exploration & Production Relationships

Commitments
$3.3 Billion
Outstanding
$1.75 Billion
12/31/09
Credit Quality - Total Energy Portfolio
Performing
Non Performing
Non Performing
Includes Energy Service Commitments >$1MM bank wide
Performing

Commitments
$1.6 Billion
Outstanding
$1.02 Billion
12/31/09
Credit Quality - E&P/Midstream Portfolio (1)
Performing
Non Performing
Non Performing
Performing
(1) Includes Other/Coal/Refining

E&P Underwriting
Typical Oil & Gas Reserve based loan
(75% producing reserves and 25% non-producing)
$100 - value using NYMEX oil and gas prices
$ 85 -  Amegy risk-adjusted reserves (i.e. collateral value)
$ 68 - apply Amegy prices (80% of NYMEX)
$ 51 - loan value 75% adv. rate (25% of reserves hedged)
$ 41 - loan value 60% adv. rate (no hedging)
Note: Average utilization on facilities ~55%.
($ in Million’s)
*

Crude Oil Price Deck
*

Natural Gas Price Deck

($ per Barrel of Oil Equivalent)

Commitments
$1.7 Billion
Outstanding
$730 Million
12/31/09
Credit Quality - Energy Services Portfolio (1)
Performing
Non Performing
Non Performing
Performing
Includes Energy Service Commitments >$1MM bank wide
(1) Includes Other/Coal/Refining

*
U.S. Rig Count: A Driver of Service Demand

Services - Credit Quality Drivers
…all lessons learned from the 1980’s
• Dramatic decline in prices and industry capx.
• Excessive financial leverage in “up cycle” generally via junior debt.
• Term lending to companies directly tied to well site activity.
• Certain other subsegments just not appropriate for senior term
 debt (seismic, rigs, etc.)
• Strong balance sheets and experienced sponsors a key.
• Amegy is one of only a few banks with an Energy Services
 specialty.
*

What Drives Future Energy Demand?
Two main drivers:
DEVELOPED
 1 billion people use 85%
 of modern energy.
UNDER DEVELOPED
3 billion people use the
 other 15%.
 2 billion people aspire to
 greater energy use.
Source: Simmons & Company International
*

A Sampling Of Energy Use
Source: Simmons & Company International
*

Richard Newell, SAIS, December 14, 2009
Annual Usage
quadrillion Btu
Coal
Liquid fuels
Natural gas
Projections
History
Nuclear
Liquid biofuels
Renewables (excluding liquid biofuels)
Source: Annual Energy Outlook 2010
Fossil fuels will continue as
the dominant source of energy
*

 OPEC: The Only Source of Excess Oil Capacity
*

*
SCI 2009 Expectation = 15
-20% decline Y/Y
2008 Expected costs of
$350-375B
Development Costs
Exploration Costs
SCI Estimate Costs
WTI ($/bbl)
Upstream Spending to Decline in 2009/2010
Jeff Dietert jdietert@simmonsco-intl.com Houston: 1.713.546.7245

Source: CIBC World Markets and Gas Technology Institute

Gas Shale Plays: A New Dimension

*
Adding to Production…But, Shorter Life
U.S. Domestic Production Sensitivities

*
Richard Newell, SAIS, December 14, 2009
Import share of natural gas supply declines
as domestic supply grows
trillion cubic feet
Consumption
Domestic supply
Net imports
Projections
History
AEO2010 reference case
Updated AEO2009 reference case
2%
6%
13%
Source: Annual Energy Outlook 2010

Outlook
Amegy’s Energy Team
 •Experienced Team
 •Conservative Underwriting Standards
 •Active use of Hedging
 •Diversified Energy Portfolio
Industry Condition
 •Consolidation has resulted in larger companies with stronger
 balance sheets and access to multiple capital sources
Price Outlook
 •Continued Price Volatility
 •Increased Global Oil & Gas Demand
*

Amegy Bank of Texas
4400 Post Oak Parkway
Houston, TX 77027
End of Presentation

Small Business Lending / C&I
Loan Deep Dive
Scott Anderson
Bruce Alexander
Stanley Savage
Dallas Haun

Commercial & Industrial Loans - By Geography
Relative Size of Portfolio
• C&I loans account for
 approximately 25% of total
 loans, excluding FDIC
 supported assets.
Geography of Term CRE
• Based on affiliate, C&I loans
 are most significantly
 concentrated in Texas and
 Utah.
 • $1.8 billion, or
 approximately half of
 Amegy’s C&I exposure
 is within the energy
 industry

Commercial & Industrial Average Loan Size and Distribution

Commercial & Industrial Trends - Growth, NAL, NCO

Commercial & Industrial Line Usage

C&I Outstanding Balance vs. Non Accrual Loans - NAICS

SBA 7(a) Lending
	Bank	FY 2009 # of Loans	FY 2009 Dollars	Average Loan Size
1	Superior Financial Group, LLC	2,690	$27,177,500	$10,103
2	Wells Fargo & Company	2,156	$678,221,500	$314,574
3	U.S. Bank	1,896	$261,602,982	$137,976
4	Zions Bancorporation	1,367	$138,153,300	$101,063
5	JPMorgan Chase & Co	1,250	$136,576,000	$109,261
Market Rankings:
• Arizona (NBA) - #6
 • 23 loans / $7,039,000
• California (CB&T) - #5
 • 152 loans / $24,754,700
• Colorado (VBC) - #5
 • 55 loans / $12,314,300
• Idaho (ZFNB) - #1
 • 165 loans / $15,520,500
• Nevada (NSB) - #4
 • 23 loans / $3,894,100
• Oregon/Washington (Commerce)
 • 14 loans / $3,251,600
• Texas (Amegy) - #7
 • 64 loans / $11,937,800
• Utah (ZFNB) - #1
 • 869 loans / $59,396,300
Source: U.S. Small Business Administration - Fiscal Year 2009

Small Business Banking:
National Awards:
• Overall Satisfaction
• Relationship Manager Performance
• Financial Stability
• Overall Treasury Management
Regional Awards:
• Overall Satisfaction - West
• Overall Satisfaction - Treasury Management -
 West
What Others Say About Us
2009 Greenwich Excellence Awards
in Small Business and Middle Market Banking
Middle Market Banking
National Awards:
• Overall Satisfaction
• Personal Banking
• Relationship Manager Performance
• Credit Policy
• Financial Stability
• Overall Treasury Management
• Accuracy of Operations
• Customer Service
• Treasury Product Capabilities
Regional Awards:
• Overall Satisfaction - West
• Overall Satisfaction - Treasury Management - West

Frost
What Others Say About Us
Overall Financial Stability Compared to Willingness to Lend ($1 - $10 million)
Source: Greenwich Associates, Commercial Banking Study Q2 2009 ($1-$10 million)

What Others Say About Us
Overall Financial Stability Compared to Willingness to Lend ($10 - $500 million)
Source: Greenwich Associates, Commercial Banking Study Q2 2009 ($10-$500 million)

Zions Bank Treasury Management Core Strengths
• Sales and Service
 – Aggressive sales culture resulting in very strong market share - near 50% in certain markets.
 • Extensive training implemented in 2008 and 2009 at the local and corporate treasury levels
 • A high percentage of the relationship managers are Treasury Management certified
 – Strong retail merchant service fee income growth in 2009
 – Cross-sell reporting in uncovers new revenue opportunities within our existing portfolio
 – Strong executive management involvement with EVP visits to top clients annually.
 – Speed of resolution on operational issues rated as one of the top bank’s in clients satisfaction by
 Greenwich.
 – Total treasury services billed is double the industry average for 2009 (source: Ernst &Young 26th
 Annual Cash Management Services Survey 2009)
• Products
 – NetDeposits solution for Web-based merchant credit card transactions which interfaces with clients
 own website.
 – Extensive history in Remote Capture and industry leader since 2004 with over 10,000 scanners
 deployed nationwide.
 – Successfully developed and deployed the Small Business Package that caters to smaller businesses
 that need TM services and consolidates the pricing to one low fee.
 – Solidified our front office/ back office partnership to deliver best in class solutions to the treasury
 markets

C&I - Supplemental
Commercial & Industrial
-
Supplemental
 Information

• The growth rate of C&I
 loans in the last four years
 was strongest in Texas
 • Amegy grew by $2.0
 billion to a peak of
 $4.2 billion in 4Q08
• Colorado grew at the next
 strongest rate, although a
 much smaller segment of
 the franchise
 • Vectra grew by $230
 million to a peak of
 ~$500 million in 4Q08
• California, the third largest
 concentration of C&I
 loans, grew at a more
 moderate rate
 • CB&T grew by ~$340
 million, peaking at
 $2.0 billion in 1Q09
Commercial & Industrial Loan Growth

C&I Nonaccrual Loans and NCOs, by Affiliate (FY09)
C&I Performance
• Loss severity on C&I
 typically runs higher
 than Term CRE or Owner
 -Occupied
• The seven states shown
 equaled 99% of FY09 C&I
 NCOs
• Utah and Nevada losses
 each accounted for 24%
 of total FY09 C&I losses,
 while CA accounted for
 21%

C&I accounts for approximately 25% of
 total loans.
Relative to the consolidated total C&I of
 25%,
 – TX and WA have significantly
 more concentration in C&I
 – Texas concentration is largely
 attributable to its energy portfolio
Relative to the consolidated C&I
 nonaccrual ratio,
 – AZ, NV, WA, and CO are all
 experiencing higher levels of
 NALs
Relative to the 4Q09 consolidated NCO
 ratio,
 – AZ and WA were somewhat
 higher, although WA performance
 is strong relative to concentration.
 – TX was slightly better than the
 company weighted average,
 which is strong given the high
 concentration
C&I Relative Concentration & Performance - 4Q09

C&I Outlook
Outlook
• Impediments to growth
 – Weakness in credit trends, adverse to lend to companies
 whose fundamentals are not stabilizing
 – Demand beginning to return, but slow
• Growth opportunities
 – Expanded SBA 7(a) limits
• Key differentiator
 – Local businesses need local decision makers for financing

Investment Securities and
Interest Rate Risk
David Hemingway

CDO Portfolio Summary
•Credit-related OTTI losses $99.3 million in 4Q09
(approximately 95% of the impairment losses had been
previously recognized in OCI)
•Noncredit-related losses on securities of $35.1 million in
4Q09 recognized in OCI
*This table includes $2.2 billion par value of CDOs that are
backed predominantly by bank trust preferred securities. The
par value of all Bank & Insurance backed CDOs is $2.7 billion

CDO Stress Testing
“Deterioration in PDs %” means that the default
curve applied to the performing collateral of
each deal is made worse by the percentage
indicated. Thus a deal with a default curve of
5% stressed to a 25% “Deterioration in PDs %”
would have a 6.25% defaults applied to it, a
deal with 20% would go 25% and so forth.
Thus a “Deterioration in PDs %” stress of 100%
would double the PD curve being applied to a
deal's collateral.
•Moderate Stress - The PD curve that was
applied to the performing collateral of each
CDO deal in the 4Q09 pricing run is increased
by the % indicated and the resultant values
were used to estimate OTTI losses.
•Adverse Stress - Incorporates all of the
deterioration of PDs applied to the performing
collateral, but also stresses the PDs applied to
collateral in deferral by the same deterioration
percentages. PDs on deferring collateral are
used to estimate the value of the potential for
this collateral to cure in the future through
recovery or re-performance.
•Extreme Stress - This is a very severe stress
scenario that uses the “Moderate Stress”
assumptions for performing collateral, but also
immediately defaults all deferring collateral
instantly with no recovery and no probability to
re-perform in the future.

History of Bank Deferrals & Defaults in Zions’ CDOs

History of Bank Deferrals & Defaults in Zions’ CDOs

50 Largest Aggregate Bank CDO Exposures (1 through 25)
Data as of 12-31-09
Among the top 50 bank
exposures, the average
cumulative 5 year default
probability being applied is:
•Performing Banks = 7.2%
•Deferring Banks = 38.7%

50 Largest Aggregate Bank CDO Exposures (26 through 50)

Asset Sensitivity

Asset Sensitivity
Fixed-rate loans:
 – 27% of portfolio
 – Duration of about 1 year
Variable-rate loans:
 – 73% of portfolio
 – Floors on 46% of variable-rate loans (79% of those loans are at the floor rate)
 – Swaps: $760 million (Pay Floating, Receive Fixed)
 • Continual reduction of interest rate swaps (increasing asset sensitivity)

Loans with Floors (as of 12/31/09)

Duration of Assets, Liabilities, and Equity

12-month simulated impact; assumes material demand deposit run-
off in rising rate scenarios

Outlook:
Zions Bancorporation
in 3-5 Years
Harris Simmons

Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years
• Revenue drivers
 – Macroeconomic advantage
 • Western population growth profile continues to remain strong
 relative to U.S.
 – Spread Expansion
 • Incremental loans have a NIM near 5.0%
 • Higher capital levels within the industry likely to translate to
 higher spreads
 – Loan Portfolio Growth: Rebalancing in 2010-2011
 • Construction loans peaked at approximately 24% of loans, now 14%
 – Expect significant declines to continue as loans mature in 2010,
 although some will move into the Term CRE portfolio
 – Long term expected concentration: 11% +/- 2%
 • Increase government-sponsored lending programs, e.g. SBA

Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)
 • Term CRE and Owner-Occupied CRE
 – Growth trends more stable than construction and C&I
 – Continued soft CMBS market provides opportunity
 – Continued focus on SBA programs, tenants with more predictable cash flow
 • Commercial & Industrial
 – Zions is a relationship-based bank - avoid transaction-only customers
 – Outstanding opportunity in small- and middle-market business loans
 – Early evidence of stabilization in C&I loan balances beginning to emerge

 • Consumer
 – Residential prime and superprime jumbo mortgage
 » Absence in the marketplace
 » Capital friendly
 » Low LTV, no gimmicks
 – Credit cards
 » Strong credit performance
 » Good value proposition for customers - avoided teaser rates and
 gimmicks
• Securities Portfolio
 – Near term
 • At the bottom of rate environment, avoiding long-term, fixed-rate securities
 – Long term
 • Moderately increase exposure to high quality and liquid investments
Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)

Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)
• Expense controls
 – Strong expense controls
 – Successful at bringing costs down to help offset the increase
 in non-interest expense related to credit
 – Expect significant improvement in credit related expenses
 over the 3-5 year horizon
 • Partially offset by increase in salary
• Fee income
 – Trust and Contango
 • Good platform, fits Zions’ customer profile
 • Organic growth, with possible augmentation via acquisition

• Conclusion
 – Natural growth likely due to footprint
 – Near term portfolio rebalancing
 – Strong spread expansion likely with maturing loans and new
 customers
 – Less nonperforming asset drag
 – Credit costs (both provision and non-interest expense) likely
 to experience significant improvement
Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)

Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)

Outlook: Zions Bancorporation in 3-5 Years (continued)

2010 Investor Day
February 11, 2010
Salt Lake City