EXHIBIT 99.2
Filed by Mitchell Energy & Development Corp.
Pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act of 1933
And deemed filed pursuant to Rule 14a-12
of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
Subject Company: Mitchell Energy & Development Corp.
Commission File No. 001-06959

          The following slide presentation was presented by Mitchell Energy & Development Corp. to a group of outside analysts on August 21, 2001.

INVESTOR NOTICES

     The foregoing slide presentation includes “forward-looking statements” as defined by the Securities and Exchange Commission. Such statements are those concerning strategic plans, expectations and objectives for future operations. All statements, other than statements of historical fact, included in the foregoing slide presentation that address activities, events or developments that the company expects, believes or anticipates will or may occur in the future are forward-looking statements. This includes estimates of possible/probable undrilled locations, future production levels, future financial performance and other matters. These statements are based on certain assumptions made by the company based on its experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future developments and other factors it believes are appropriate in the circumstances. Such statements are subject to a number of assumptions, risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond the control of the company. Statements regarding future production are subject to all of the risks and uncertainties normally incident to the exploration for and development and production of oil and gas. These risks include, but are not limited to, inflation or lack of availability of goods and services, environmental risks, drilling risks and regulatory changes. Investors are cautioned that any such statements are not guarantees of future performance and that actual results or developments may differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking statements.

     Investors and security holders are advised to read the joint proxy statement/ prospectus that will be included in the Registration Statement on Form S-4 to be filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission in connection with the proposed merger of Mitchell Energy & Development Corp. with and into a wholly owned subsidiary of Devon Energy Corporation because it will contain important information. The joint proxy statement/prospectus will be filed with the SEC by Devon and Mitchell. Investors and security holders may obtain a free copy of the joint proxy statement/prospectus (when available) and other documents filed by Devon and Mitchell with the SEC at the SEC’s web site at www.sec.gov. The joint proxy statement/prospectus and such other documents (relating to Devon) may also be obtained for free from Devon by directing such request to: Devon Energy Corporation, 20 North Broadway, Suite 1500, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102-8260, Attention: Investor Relations, telephone: (405) 552-4570, e-mail: judy.roberts@dvn.com. The joint proxy statement/prospectus and such other documents (relating to Mitchell) may also be obtained for free from Mitchell by directing such request to: Mitchell Energy & Development Corp., 2001 Timberloch Place, The Woodlands, Texas 77380, Attention: Investor Relations, telephone: (713) 377-6625, e-mail: mndpr@mitchellenergy.com.

     Devon, its directors, executive officers and certain members of management and employees may be considered “participants in the solicitation” of proxies from Devon’s shareholders in connection with the transaction. Information regarding such persons and a description of their interests in the transaction is contained in Devon’s Proxy Statements and Annual Reports on Form 10-K filed with the SEC. Additional information regarding the interests of those persons may be obtained by reading the proxy statement/prospectus when it becomes available.

     Mitchell, its directors, executive officers and certain members of management and employees may be considered “participants in the solicitation” of proxies from Mitchell’s shareholders in connection with the transaction. Information regarding such persons and a description of their interests in the transaction is contained in Mitchell’s Proxy Statements and Annual Reports on Form 10-K filed with the SEC. Additional information regarding the interests of those persons may be obtained by reading the proxy statement/prospectus when it becomes available.