Execution Copy

AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER

BY AND AMONG
ART TECHNOLOGY GROUP, INC.,
AUTOBAHN ACQUISITION, INC.

AND

PRIMUS KNOWLEDGE SOLUTIONS, INC.

i

ii

iii

AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER

      This Agreement and Plan of Merger (this “Agreement”) is made and entered into as of August 10, 2004, among Art Technology Group, Inc., a Delaware corporation (“Parent”), Autobahn Acquisition, Inc., a Washington corporation and a wholly owned first-tier subsidiary of Parent (“Merger Sub”), and Primus Knowledge Solutions, Inc., a Washington corporation (the “Company”).

RECITALS

      A. The respective Boards of Directors of Parent, Merger Sub and the Company have approved this Agreement, and declared advisable the merger of Merger Sub with and into the Company (the “Merger”) upon the terms and subject to the conditions of this Agreement and in accordance with the Washington Business Corporation Act (the “WBCA”).

      B. For United States federal income tax purposes, the Merger is intended to qualify as a reorganization described in section 368 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the “Code”).

      C. Concurrently with the execution of this Agreement, and as a condition and inducement to Parent’s willingness to enter into this Agreement, certain shareholders of the Company are entering into Voting Agreements with Parent in the form of Exhibit A (the “Voting Agreements”).

      In consideration of the foregoing and the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements set forth in this Agreement, the parties agree as follows:

ARTICLE 1

THE MERGER

      1.1     The Merger. Upon the terms and subject to the conditions of this Agreement and the applicable provisions of Delaware Law and Washington Law, at the Effective Time, Merger Sub shall be merged with and into the Company, the separate corporate existence of Merger Sub shall cease, and the Company shall continue as the surviving corporation of the Merger (the “Surviving Corporation”).

      1.2     Effective Time; Closing. Subject to the provisions of this Agreement, the parties hereto shall cause the Merger to be consummated by filing articles of merger and an Agreement and Plan of Merger consistent with this Agreement with the Secretary of State of the State of Washington in accordance with the relevant provisions of the WBCA (the “Merger Documents”) (the time of such filing (or such later time as may be agreed in writing by the Company and Parent and specified in the Merger Documents) being the “Effective Time”) as soon as practicable on or after the Closing Date (as defined below). The closing of the Merger (the “Closing”) shall take place at the offices of Foley Hoag LLP, Seaport World Trade Center West, 155 Seaport Boulevard, Boston, Massachusetts, at a time and date to be specified by the parties, which shall be no later than the second business day after the satisfaction or waiver of the conditions set forth in Article 6, (other than those that by their nature will be satisfied at the Closing) or at such other time, date and location as the parties hereto agree in writing (the “Closing Date”).

      1.3     Effect of the Merger. At the Effective Time, the effect of the Merger shall be as provided in this Agreement and the applicable provisions of the WBCA. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, at the Effective Time, all the property, rights, privileges, powers and franchises of the Company and Merger Sub shall vest in the Surviving Corporation, and all debts, liabilities and duties of the Company and Merger Sub shall become the debts, liabilities and duties of the Surviving Corporation.

      1.4     Articles of Incorporation; Bylaws.

      (a) The Merger Documents shall provide that, at the Effective Time, the Articles of Incorporation of the Surviving Corporation shall be in the form of the Articles of Incorporation of the Merger Sub as in effect immediately prior to the Effective Time; provided, however, that as of the Effective Time, Article I

of the Articles of Incorporation of the Surviving Corporation shall read: “The name of the corporation is Primus Knowledge Solutions, Inc.”

      (b) At the Effective Time, the Bylaws of Merger Sub, as in effect immediately prior to the Effective Time, shall be the Bylaws of the Surviving Corporation until thereafter amended.

      1.5     Directors and Officers. The initial directors of the Surviving Corporation shall be the directors of Merger Sub immediately prior to the Effective Time, until their respective successors are duly elected or appointed and qualified. The initial officers of the Surviving Corporation shall be the officers of Merger Sub immediately prior to the Effective Time, until their respective successors are duly appointed.

      1.6     Effect on Capital Stock. Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, at the Effective Time, by virtue of the Merger and without any action on the part of Merger Sub, the Company or the holders of any of the following securities:

(a) Conversion of Company Common Stock.

(i) Each share of common stock, par value $0.025 per share, of the Company (“Company Common Stock”) issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time, other than any shares of Company Common Stock to be canceled pursuant to Section 1.6(b) and any “Dissenting Shares” (as defined, and to the extent provided in Section 1.15(a)), will be canceled and extinguished and automatically converted into the right to receive the number of shares of common stock, par value $0.01 per share, of Parent (“Parent Common Stock”) equal to the “Exchange Ratio” (as defined in Section 1.6(a)(ii) below) upon surrender of the certificate representing such share of Company Common Stock in the manner provided in Section 1.10, including, with respect to each whole share of Parent Common Stock to be received, the right to receive one Right (as defined in the Rights Agreement, dated as of September 26, 2001, between Parent and EquiServe Trust Company, N.A., as Rights Agent (the “Rights Agreement”)). No fraction of a share of Parent Common Stock will be issued by virtue of the Merger, but in lieu thereof, a cash payment shall be made pursuant to Section 1.10(e).

(ii) For purposes of this Agreement, the “Exchange Ratio” shall be equal to 1.4169, subject to adjustment as set forth in Section 1.6(e) and in Section 1.7 below.

(b) Cancellation of Company-Owned and Parent-Owned Stock. Each share of Company Common Stock held by the Company or owned by Merger Sub, Parent or any direct or indirect wholly owned subsidiary of the Company or of Parent immediately prior to the Effective Time shall be canceled and extinguished without any conversion thereof.

(c) Stock Options; Warrants; Employee Stock Purchase Plan. Prior to the Effective Time, the Company shall take all actions necessary such that all options to purchase Company Common Stock then outstanding, whether under the Company’s Employee Stock Option and Restricted Stock Award Plan, Non-Employee Director Stock Option Plan, 1995 Stock Incentive Compensation Plan, 1999 Non-officer Stock Option Plan, 1999 Stock Incentive Compensation Plan or the Amacis Group Limited 2003 Enterprise Management Incentive Scheme (collectively, the “Company Option Plans”) or pursuant to another Company compensatory plan or otherwise (each such option, whether issued pursuant to the Company Option Plans or otherwise, a “Company Option”), and each warrant outstanding to acquire Company Common Stock (the “Company Warrants”) shall, immediately prior to the Effective Time, become vested and exercisable. All such Company Options and Company Warrants that have exercise prices per share that are less than $1.33 (“In-the-Money Company Options” and “In-the-Money Company Warrants,”respectively) shall, to the extent not exercised prior to the Effective Time, be assumed by Parent in accordance with Section 5.8 of this Agreement. All such Company Options and Company Warrants that, at the Effective Time, have exercise prices per share that are equal to or greater than $1.33 (“Out-of-the-Money Company Options” and “Out-of-the-Money Company Warrants,” respectively) shall not be assumed by Parent and shall, to the extent permitted by the applicable Company Plans, and to the extent not exercised prior to the Effective Time, be terminated at the Effective Time. At the Effective Time, Parent shall assume each of the

Company Stock Option Plans, subject to adjustment as provided therein such that options granted under each such plan after the Effective Time, if any, shall be exercisable for the purchase of Parent Common Stock. Rights outstanding under the Company’s 1999 Employee Stock Purchase Plan (the “Company ESPP”) shall be treated as set forth in Section 5.8 of this Agreement.

(d) Capital Stock of Merger Sub. Each share of common stock, par value $0.001 per share, of Merger Sub (“Merger Sub Common Stock”), issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time shall be converted into one validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable share of common stock, $0.025 par value per share, of the Surviving Corporation. Following the Effective Time, each certificate evidencing ownership of shares of Merger Sub common stock shall evidence ownership of such shares of capital stock of the Surviving Corporation.

(e) Adjustments to Exchange Ratio. The Exchange Ratio shall be adjusted to reflect appropriately the effect of any stock split, reverse stock split, stock dividend (including any dividend or distribution of securities convertible into Parent Common Stock or Company Common Stock), reorganization, recapitalization, reclassification or other like change with respect to Parent Common Stock or Company Common Stock occurring on or after the date hereof and prior to the Effective Time. In addition the Exchange Ratio shall be subject to adjustment as set forth in Section 1.7 below.

      1.7     Adjustments to Exchange Ratio Based on Company Balance Sheet. If as of the Measurement Date, the Company’s Adjusted Working Capital is a working capital deficiency greater in magnitude than $(1.0 million) (the absolute value of such excess deficiency, if any, hereinafter referred to as a “Working Capital Deficiency”), then the Exchange Ratio shall be adjusted as follows:

(a) If the amount of the Working Capital Deficiency is greater than zero and less than or equal to $2.5 million, the Exchange Ratio shall be equal to 1.3567;

(b) If the Working Capital Deficiency is greater than $2.5 million, the Exchange Ratio shall be equal to 1.3567 minus the product of (i) 0.00000004328 multiplied by (ii) the amount by which the Working Capital Deficiency exceeds $2.5 million; provided that

(c) in no event shall the Exchange Ratio be less than 1.2976.

      1.8     Adjusted Working Capital; Determination.

      (a) For purposes of Section 1.7, the following terms shall have the meanings set forth below:

“Adjusted Working Capital” shall mean an amount equal to the sum of (i) the current assets of the Company, plus (ii) any amounts paid by the Company between June 30, 2004 and the Measurement Date that constitute Transaction Expenses minus (iii) the current liabilities of the Company, excluding any accrual for Transaction Expenses, each determined as of the Measurement Date in accordance with GAAP, in a manner consistent with that employed in the preparation of the Company Balance Sheet; plus or minus (iv) any other adjustments agreed upon on in writing by Parent and the Company; provided that in no event shall any Excluded Adjustment be taken into account for purposes of determining the Adjusted Working Capital.

“Excluded Adjustment” shall mean any change in a current asset or a current liability as compared with its amount at June 30, 2004 that is:

(a) the result of a change in estimate by the Company (whether effected by way of reversal or omission of a previously accrued liability or in any other manner) which change in estimate is not made in response to any of the following occurring after June 30, 2004: (i) a bona fide transaction entered into by the Company, (ii) a payment made or received by the Company (iii) action of an unaffiliated third party or (iv) an event or change of circumstances external to the Company, or

(b) the result of any transaction or action by the Company that would constitute a breach of the Company’s obligations under Section 4.1 below.

“Measurement Date” shall mean immediately prior to the commencement of business on the fifth business day preceding the date fixed for the Company Shareholders’ Meeting.

“Transaction Expense” shall mean any expense directly attributable to the negotiation and consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, including, but not limited to, severance payments that become due by reason of the consummation of the Merger pursuant to agreements in force prior to July 15, 2004, fees and disbursements of Preston Gates & Ellis, counsel to the Company, fees and disbursements of counsel employed by the Company to defend any claim, suit, action or proceeding commenced or threatened against the Company that seeks to restrain or enjoin the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and of KPMG LLP, the Company’s independent public accountants, and amounts payable to Broadview International, the Company’s financial advisor all of which amounts do not exceed, in the aggregate, $1,250,000.

1.9     Closing Certificate.

      (a) On or before the tenth business day preceding the date fixed for the Company Shareholder Meeting (as defined in Section 2.17), the Company shall deliver to Parent a certificate setting forth the Adjusted Working Capital of the Company, determined in accordance with Section 1.8 above, as of the most recent practicable date, together with the Company’s good faith estimate of the Adjusted Working Capital as of the Measurement Date (the “Preliminary Closing Certificate”).

      (b) At or before the close of business on the Measurement Date, the Company shall deliver to Parent a certificate setting forth the Adjusted Working Capital of the Company as of the Measurement Date, determined in accordance with Section 1.8 (the “Definitive Closing Certificate”), which amount shall be used for purposes of determining the adjustment, if any, of the Exchange Ratio pursuant to Section 1.7 above.

      (c) Each of the Preliminary Closing Certificate and the Definitive Closing Certificate shall set forth in reasonable detail the calculations required thereby, and shall be accompanied by such substantiating documents and information as Parent may reasonably request. The Company will provide to Parent and its representatives such cooperation and access to the books and records and financial personnel of the Company as Parent may reasonably request in order to confirm that the Preliminary Closing Certificate or Definitive Closing Certificate, as the case may be, has been prepared in conformity with the requirements of this Agreement.

1.10     Exchange of Certificates.

      (a) Exchange Agent. Parent shall select an institution reasonably acceptable to the Company to act as the exchange agent (the “Exchange Agent”) in the Merger.

      (b) Exchange Fund. Promptly after the Effective Time, Parent shall make available to the Exchange Agent for exchange in accordance with this Article 1, the shares of Parent Common Stock (such shares of Parent Common Stock, together with cash in lieu of fractional shares and any dividends or distributions with respect thereto, are hereinafter referred to as the “Exchange Fund”) issuable pursuant to Section 1.6 in exchange for outstanding shares of Company Common Stock.

      (c) Exchange Procedures. Promptly after the Effective Time, Parent shall instruct the Exchange Agent to mail to each holder of record of a certificate or certificates (“Certificates”) that immediately prior to the Effective Time represented outstanding shares of Company Common Stock which were converted into shares of Parent Common Stock pursuant to Section 1.6 and to each holder of Dissenting Shares, (i) a letter of transmittal in customary form (that shall specify that delivery shall be effected, and risk of loss and title to the Certificates shall pass, only upon proper delivery of the Certificates to the Exchange Agent and shall contain such other provisions as Parent may reasonably specify), (ii) instructions for use in effecting the surrender of the Certificates in exchange for certificates representing shares of Parent Common Stock, and (iii) such notification as may be required under Washington Law to be given to the holders of Dissenting Shares. Upon surrender of Certificates for cancellation to the Exchange Agent together with such letter of transmittal, duly completed and validly

executed in accordance with the instructions thereto, the holders of such Certificates shall be entitled to receive in exchange therefor certificates representing the number of whole shares of Parent Common Stock into which their shares of Company Common Stock were converted at the Effective Time, payment in lieu of fractional shares that such holders have the right to receive pursuant to Section 1.10(e) and any dividends or distributions payable pursuant to Section 1.10(d), and the Certificates so surrendered shall forthwith be canceled. Until so surrendered, outstanding Certificates will be deemed from and after the Effective Time, for all corporate purposes, to evidence only the ownership of the number of full shares of Parent Common Stock into which such shares of Company Common Stock shall have been so converted and the right to receive an amount in cash in lieu of the issuance of any fractional shares in accordance with Section 1.10(e) and any dividends or distributions payable pursuant to Section 1.10(d). No interest will be paid or accrued on any cash in lieu of fractional shares of Parent Common Stock or on any unpaid dividends or distributions payable to holders of Certificates. In the event of a transfer of ownership of shares of Company Common Stock that is not registered in the transfer records of the Company, a certificate representing the proper number of shares of Parent Common Stock may be issued to a transferee if the Certificate representing such shares of Company Common Stock is presented to the Exchange Agent, accompanied by all documents required to evidence and effect such transfer and by evidence that any applicable stock transfer taxes have been paid.

      (d) Distributions With Respect to Unexchanged Shares. No dividends or other distributions declared or made after the date of this Agreement with respect to Parent Common Stock with a record date after the Effective Time will be paid to the holders of any unsurrendered Certificates with respect to the shares of Parent Common Stock represented thereby until the holders of record of such Certificates shall surrender such Certificates. Subject to applicable law, following surrender of any such Certificates, the Exchange Agent shall deliver to the holders of certificates representing whole shares of Parent Common Stock issued in exchange therefor, without interest, (i) promptly, the amount of any cash payable with respect to a fractional share of Parent Common Stock to which such holder is entitled pursuant to Section 1.10(e) and the amount of dividends or other distributions with a record date after the Effective Time theretofore paid with respect to such whole shares of Parent Common Stock, and (ii) at the appropriate payment date, the amount of dividends or other distributions with a record date after the Effective Time but prior to surrender and a payment date occurring after surrender, payable with respect to such whole shares of Parent Common Stock.

      (e) Fractional Shares. No fraction of a share of Parent Common Stock will be issued by virtue of the Merger, but in lieu thereof each holder of shares of Company Common Stock who would otherwise be entitled to a fraction of a share of Parent Common Stock (after aggregating all fractional shares of Parent Common Stock to be received by such holder) shall receive from Parent an amount of cash (rounded to the nearest whole cent) equal to the product of (i) such fraction, multiplied by (ii) the average closing price of a share of Parent Common Stock for the fifteen most recent days that Parent Common Stock has traded ending on the trading day immediately prior to the Effective Time, as reported on the Nasdaq National Market.

      (f) Required Withholding. Each of the Exchange Agent, Parent and the Surviving Corporation shall be entitled to deduct and withhold from any consideration payable or otherwise deliverable pursuant to this Agreement to any holder or former holder of Company Common Stock such amounts as may be required to be deducted or withheld therefrom under the Code or under any provision of state, local or foreign tax law or under any other applicable Legal Requirement (as defined in Section 2.2(c)). To the extent such amounts are so deducted or withheld, such amounts shall be treated for all purposes under this Agreement as having been paid to the person to whom such amounts would otherwise have been paid.

      (g) Lost, Stolen or Destroyed Certificates. In the event that any Certificates shall have been lost, stolen or destroyed, the Exchange Agent shall issue in exchange for such lost, stolen or destroyed Certificates, upon the making of an affidavit of that fact by the holder thereof, certificates representing the shares of Parent Common Stock into which the shares of Company Common Stock represented by such Certificates were converted pursuant to Section 1.6, cash for fractional shares, if any, as may be required pursuant to Section 1.10(e) and any dividends or distributions payable pursuant to Section 1.10(d);

provided, however, that Parent may, in its discretion and as a condition precedent to the issuance of such certificates representing shares of Parent Common Stock, cash and other distributions, require the owner of such lost, stolen or destroyed Certificates to deliver a bond in such sum as it may reasonably direct as indemnity against any claim that may be made against Parent, the Surviving Corporation or the Exchange Agent with respect to the Certificates alleged to have been lost, stolen or destroyed.

      (h) No Liability. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this Section 1.10, neither the Exchange Agent, Parent, the Surviving Corporation nor any party hereto shall be liable to a holder of shares of Parent Common Stock or Company Common Stock for any amount properly paid to a public official pursuant to any applicable abandoned property, escheat or similar law.

      (i) Termination of Exchange Fund. Any portion of the Exchange Fund which remains undistributed to the holders of Company Common Stock for six months after the Effective Time shall be delivered to Parent, upon demand, and any holders of Company Common Stock who have not theretofore complied with the provisions of this Section 1.10 shall thereafter look only to Parent for the shares of Parent Common Stock, any cash in lieu of fractional shares of Parent Common Stock to which they are entitled pursuant to Section 1.10(e) and any dividends or other distributions with respect to Parent Common Stock to which they are entitled pursuant to Section 1.10(d), in each case, without any interest thereon.

      1.11     No Further Ownership Rights in Company Common Stock. All shares of Parent Common Stock issued in accordance with the terms hereof (including any cash paid in respect thereof pursuant to Sections 1.10(d) and 1.10(e)) shall be deemed to have been issued in full satisfaction of all rights pertaining to such shares of Company Common Stock, and there shall be no further registration of transfers on the records of the Surviving Corporation of shares of Company Common Stock that were outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time. If, after the Effective Time, Certificates are presented to the Surviving Corporation for any reason, they shall be canceled and exchanged as provided in this Article 1.

      1.12     Restricted Stock. If any shares of Company Common Stock that are outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time are unvested or are subject to a repurchase option, risk of forfeiture or other condition providing that such shares (“Company Restricted Stock”) may be forfeited or repurchased by the Company upon any termination of the shareholders’ employment, directorship or other relationship with the Company (and/or any affiliate of the Company) under the terms of any restricted stock purchase agreement or other agreement with the Company that does not by its terms provide that such repurchase option, risk of forfeiture or other condition fully lapses upon consummation of the Merger, then the shares of Parent Common Stock issued upon the conversion of such shares of Company Common Stock in the Merger will, unless otherwise accelerated by their terms as a result of the Merger, continue to be unvested and subject to the same repurchase options, risks of forfeiture or other conditions following the Effective Time, and the certificates representing such shares of Parent Common Stock may accordingly be marked with appropriate legends noting such repurchase options, risks of forfeiture or other conditions. The Company shall take all actions that may be necessary to ensure that, from and after the Effective Time, Parent is entitled to exercise any such repurchase option or other right set forth in any such restricted stock purchase agreement or other agreement. A listing of the holders of Company Restricted Stock, together with the number of shares and the vesting schedule of Company Restricted Stock held by each, is set forth in Part 1.12 of the Company Disclosure Schedule.

      1.13     Tax Consequences. It is intended by the parties hereto that the Merger shall constitute a reorganization described in section 368 of the Code. The parties hereto adopt this Agreement as a “plan of reorganization” within the meaning of sections 1.368-2(g) and 1.368-3(a) of the United States Income Tax Regulations (the “Treasury Regulations”).

      1.14     Taking of Necessary Action; Further Action. If, at any time after the Effective Time, any further action is necessary or desirable to carry out the purposes of this Agreement and to vest the Surviving Corporation with full right, title and possession to all assets, property, rights, privileges, powers and franchises of the Company and Merger Sub, the officers and directors of the Company and Merger

Sub will take all such lawful and necessary action. Parent shall cause Merger Sub to perform all of its obligations relating to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby.

      1.15     Dissenters’ Rights.

      (a) Notwithstanding any provision of this Agreement to the contrary other than Section 1.15(b), any shares of Company Common Stock held by a holder who has demanded and perfected appraisal rights for such shares in accordance with 23B.13 of the WBCA and who, as of the Effective Time, has not effectively withdrawn or lost such appraisal or dissenters’ rights (“Dissenting Shares”), shall not be converted into or represent a right to receive Merger Consideration pursuant to Section 1.6, but instead shall be converted into the right to receive only such consideration as may be determined to be due with respect to such Dissenting Shares under the WBCA. From and after the Effective Time, a holder of Dissenting Shares shall not be entitled to exercise any of the voting rights or other rights of a shareholder of the Surviving Corporation.

      (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1.6(a), if any holder of shares of Company Common Stock who demands appraisal of such shares under the WBCA shall effectively withdraw or lose (through failure to perfect or otherwise) the right to appraisal, then, as of the later of the Effective Time and the occurrence of such event, such holder’s shares shall no longer be Dissenting Shares and shall automatically be converted into and represent only the right to receive Merger Consideration as provided in Section 1.6(a) without interest thereon, upon surrender of the certificate representing such shares pursuant to Section 1.10.

      (c) The Company shall give Parent (i) prompt notice of any written demands for appraisal of any shares of Company Common Stock, withdrawals of such demands, and any other instruments served pursuant to the WBCA and received by the Company which relate to any such demand for appraisal and (ii) the opportunity to participate in all negotiations and proceedings which take place prior to the Effective Time with respect to demands for appraisal under the WBCA. The Company shall not, except with the prior written consent of Parent, voluntarily make any payment with respect to any demands for appraisal of Company Common Stock or offer to settle or settle any such demands.

ARTICLE 2

REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE COMPANY

      As of the date of this Agreement and as of the Closing Date, the Company represents and warrants to Parent and Merger Sub, subject to any exceptions expressly stated in the disclosure schedule delivered by the Company to Parent dated as of the date hereof and certified by a duly authorized officer of the Company (the “Company Disclosure Schedule”), the Company represents and warrants to Parent as set forth in this Article 2. The Company Disclosure Schedule shall be arranged in sections and paragraphs corresponding to the numbered and lettered sections and paragraphs contained in this Article 2 and the disclosure in any section or paragraph shall qualify other sections and paragraphs in this Article 2 only to the extent that it is reasonably apparent from a reading of such disclosure that it also qualifies or applies to such other sections and paragraphs.

      2.1     Organization; Subsidiaries.

      (a) The Company and each of its subsidiaries (which subsidiaries are identified on Part 2.1 of the Company Disclosure Schedule) (i) is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the jurisdiction in which it is organized; (ii) has the corporate or other power and authority to own, lease and operate its assets and property and to carry on its business as now being conducted; and (iii) except as would not be material to the Company, is duly qualified or licensed to do business in each jurisdiction where the character of the properties owned, leased or operated by it or the nature of its activities makes such qualification or licensing necessary.

      (b) Other than the corporations identified in Part 2.1 of the Company Disclosure Schedule, neither the Company nor any of the other corporations identified in Part 2.1 of the Company Disclosure Schedule

owns any capital stock of, or any equity interest of any nature in, any corporation, partnership, joint venture arrangement or other business entity, other than the entities identified in Part 2.1 of the Company Disclosure Schedule. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has agreed or is obligated to make, or is bound by any written or oral agreement, contract, lease, instrument, note, option, warranty, purchase order, license, insurance policy, benefit plan or legally binding commitment or undertaking of any nature, as in effect as of the date hereof or as may hereinafter be in effect under which it may become obligated to make any future investment in or capital contribution to any other entity. Neither the Company, nor any of its subsidiaries, has, at any time, been a general partner of any general partnership, limited partnership or other entity. Part 2.1 of the Company Disclosure Schedule indicates the jurisdiction of organization of each entity listed therein and the Company’s direct or indirect equity interest therein.

      (c) The Company has delivered or made available to Parent a true and correct copy of the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the Company and similar governing instruments of each of its subsidiaries, each as amended to date (collectively, the “Company Charter Documents”), and each such instrument is in full force and effect. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is in violation of any of the provisions of the Company Charter Documents. The Company has delivered or made available to Parent all proposed or considered amendments to the Company Charter Documents.

      2.2     Company Capitalization.

      (a) The authorized capital stock of the Company consists solely of 50,000,000 shares of Company Common Stock, of which there were 23,855,394 shares issued and outstanding as of the close of business on August 9, 2004, and 15,000,000 shares of preferred stock, par value $0.001 per share, of which no shares are issued or outstanding. All outstanding shares of Company Common Stock are duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable and are not subject to preemptive rights created by statute, the Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws of the Company or any agreement or document to which the Company is a party or by which it is bound. As of the date of this Agreement, there are no shares of Company Common Stock held in treasury by the Company. From and after the Effective Time, the shares of Parent Common Stock issued in exchange for any shares of Company Restricted Stock will, without any further act of Parent, the Company or any other person, become subject to the restrictions, conditions and other provisions of such Company Restricted Stock, and Parent will automatically succeed to and become entitled to exercise the Company’s rights and remedies under such Company Restricted Stock.

      (b) As of the close of business on August 9, 2004, (i) 5,656,162 shares of Company Common Stock are subject to issuance pursuant to outstanding Company Options for an aggregate exercise price of $25,669,491.56, (ii) 11,921 shares of Company Common Stock are subject to issuance pursuant to outstanding Company Warrants; and (iii) 1,060,358 shares of Company Common Stock are reserved for future issuance under the Company ESPP. Part 2.2(b) of the Company Disclosure Schedule sets forth the following information with respect to each Company Option and each Company Warrant outstanding as of the date of this Agreement: (i) the name of the optionee or warrant holder; (ii) the number of shares of Company Common Stock subject to such Company Option or Company Warrant; (iii) the exercise price of such Company Option or Company Warrant; (iv) the date on which such Company Option or Company Warrant was granted or assumed; (v) the date on which such Company Option or Company Warrant expires, (vi) the Company Option Plan pursuant to which such Company Option was granted, and (vii) whether the exercisability of such Company Option or Company Warrant will be accelerated in any way by the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and indicates the extent of any such acceleration. The Company has delivered to Parent an accurate and complete copy of the Company Option Plans and each form of stock option agreement evidencing any Company Options and an accurate and complete copy of each Company Warrant. All shares of Company Common Stock subject to issuance as aforesaid, upon issuance on the terms and conditions specified in the instruments pursuant to which they are issuable, will be duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable. Except as set forth in Part 2.2(b) of the Company Disclosure Schedule, there are no commitments or agreements of any character to which the Company is bound obligating the Company to accelerate the vesting of any Company Option as a result of the Merger.

      (c) All outstanding shares of Company Common Stock, all outstanding Company Options, all outstanding Company Warrants and all outstanding shares of capital stock of each subsidiary of Company have been issued and granted in compliance with (i) all applicable securities laws and other applicable material Legal Requirements and (ii) all material requirements set forth in applicable agreements or instruments except such noncompliance as would not, individually or in the aggregate, cause the Company to lose any material benefit or incur any material liability. For the purposes of this Agreement, “Legal Requirements” means any federal, state, local, municipal, foreign or other law, statute, constitution, principle of common law, resolution, ordinance, code, edict, decree, rule, regulation, ruling or requirement issued, enacted, adopted, promulgated, implemented or otherwise put into effect by or under the authority of any court, administrative agency or commission or other governmental authority or instrumentality, foreign or domestic (each, a “Governmental Entity”).

      2.3     Obligations With Respect to Capital Stock. There are no equity securities, partnership interests or similar ownership interests of any class of Company equity security, or any securities exchangeable or convertible into or exercisable for such equity securities, partnership interests or similar ownership interests, issued, reserved for issuance or outstanding. Except for securities the Company owns free and clear of all claims and Encumbrances (as defined below), directly or indirectly through one or more subsidiaries, and except for shares of capital stock or other similar ownership interests of certain subsidiaries of the Company that are owned by certain nominee equity holders as required by the applicable law of the jurisdiction of organization of such subsidiaries, as of the date of this Agreement, there are no equity securities, partnership interests or similar ownership interests of any class of equity security of any subsidiary of the Company, or any security exchangeable or convertible into or exercisable for such equity securities, partnership interests or similar ownership interests, issued, reserved for issuance or outstanding. Except as set forth in Part 2.2 or Part 2.3 of the Company Disclosure Schedule, there are no subscriptions, options, warrants, equity securities, convertible debt, partnership interests or similar ownership interests, calls, rights (including preemptive rights), commitments or agreements of any character to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which it is bound obligating the Company or any of its subsidiaries to issue, deliver or sell, or cause to be issued, delivered or sold, or repurchase, redeem or otherwise acquire, or cause the repurchase, redemption or acquisition of, any shares of capital stock, partnership interests or similar ownership interests of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or obligating the Company or any of its subsidiaries to grant, extend, accelerate the vesting of or enter into any such subscription, option, warrant, equity security, call, right, commitment or agreement. Except as contemplated by this Agreement there are no registration rights, and there is no voting trust, proxy, rights agreement, “poison pill” anti-takeover plan or other agreement or understanding to which the Company is a party or by which it is bound with respect to any equity security of any class of the Company or with respect to any equity security, partnership interest or similar ownership interest of any class of any of its subsidiaries.

      For purposes of this Agreement, “Encumbrances” means any lien, pledge, hypothecation, charge, mortgage, security interest, encumbrance, claim, infringement, interference, option, right of first refusal, preemptive right, community property interest or restriction of any nature (including any restriction on the voting of any security, any restriction on the transfer of any security or other asset, any restriction on the receipt of any income derived from any asset, any restriction on the use of any asset and any restriction on the possession, exercise or transfer of any other attribute of ownership of any asset).

      2.4     Authority; Non-Contravention.

      (a) The Company has all requisite corporate power and authority to enter into this Agreement and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly authorized by all necessary corporate action on the part of the Company, subject only to the approval and adoption of this Agreement and the approval of the Merger by the Company’s shareholders (the “Company Shareholder Approval”) and the filing of the Merger Documents pursuant to the WBCA. The affirmative vote of the holders of a majority of the outstanding shares of Company Common Stock is sufficient for the Company’s shareholders to approve and adopt this Agreement and approve the Merger, and no other approval of any

holder of any securities of the Company is required in connection with the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by the Company and, assuming the due execution and delivery by Parent and Merger Sub, constitutes the valid and binding obligation of the Company, enforceable against the Company in accordance with its terms, except as enforceability may be limited by bankruptcy and other similar laws affecting the rights of creditors generally and general principles of equity.

      (b) The execution and delivery of this Agreement by the Company does not, and the performance of this Agreement by the Company will not, (i) conflict with or violate the Company Charter Documents, (ii) subject to obtaining the Company Shareholder Approval and compliance with the requirements set forth in Section 2.4(c), conflict with or violate any law, rule, regulation, order, judgment or decree applicable to the Company or any of its subsidiaries or by which the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of their respective material properties is bound or affected, or (iii) result in any material breach of or constitute a material default (or an event that with notice or lapse of time or both would become a material default) under, or impair the Company’s (or a subsidiary’s) rights or alter the rights or obligations of any third party under, or give to others any rights of termination, amendment, acceleration or cancellation of, or result in the creation of an Encumbrance on any of the properties or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries pursuant to, any material note, bond, mortgage, indenture, contract, agreement, lease, license, permit, franchise, concession, or other instrument or obligation to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which the Company or any of its subsidiaries or its or any of their respective material properties are bound or affected. Part 2.4(b) of the Company Disclosure Schedule list all consents, waivers and approvals under any of the Company’s or any of its subsidiaries’ agreements, contracts, licenses or leases required to be obtained in connection with the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby, which, if individually or in the aggregate not obtained, would result in a material loss of benefits to the Company, Parent or the Surviving Corporation as a result of the Merger.

      (c) No consent, approval, order or authorization of, or registration, declaration or filing with any Governmental Entity or other person, is required to be obtained or made by the Company in connection with the execution and delivery of this Agreement or the consummation of the Merger, except for (i) the filing of the Merger Documents with the Secretary of State of the State of Washington, and appropriate documents with the relevant authorities of other states in which Company is qualified to do business, (ii) the filing of the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus (as defined in Section 2.17) with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) in accordance with the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”) and the effectiveness of the Registration Statement (as defined in Section 2.17), (iii) such consents, approvals, orders, authorizations, registrations, declarations and filings as may be required under applicable federal, foreign and state securities (or related) laws and the securities or antitrust laws of any foreign country, and (iv) such other consents, authorizations, filings, approvals and registrations which if not obtained or made would not be material to the Company, Parent or the Surviving Corporation or have a material adverse effect on the ability of the parties hereto to consummate the Merger.

      2.5     SEC Filings; Company Financial Statements.

      (a) Since January 1, 2001, the Company has filed all forms, reports and documents required to be filed by the Company with the SEC and has made available to Parent such forms, reports and documents in the form filed with the SEC (if and to the extent such forms, reports and documents are not available on EDGAR). All such required forms, reports and documents (including those that the Company may file subsequent to the date hereof) are referred to herein as the “Company SEC Reports.” As of their respective dates, the Company SEC Reports (i) were prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), or the Exchange Act, as the case may be, and the rules and regulations of the SEC thereunder applicable to such Company SEC Reports and (ii) did not at the time they were filed (or if subsequently amended or superseded by a filing prior to the date of this Agreement, then on the date of such subsequent filing) contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the

statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. None of Company’s subsidiaries is required to file any forms, reports or other documents with the SEC.

      (b) Each of the consolidated financial statements (including, in each case, any related notes thereto) contained in the Company SEC Reports (the “Company Financials”), including each Company SEC Report filed after the date hereof until the Closing, (i) complied as to form in all material respects with the published rules and regulations of the SEC with respect thereto, (ii) was prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved (except as may be indicated in the notes thereto or, in the case of unaudited interim financial statements, as may be permitted by the SEC on Form 10-Q, 8-K or any successor form under the Exchange Act) and (iii) fairly presented the consolidated financial position of the Company and its subsidiaries as at the respective dates thereof and the consolidated results of the Company’s operations and cash flows for the periods indicated, except that the unaudited interim financial statements may not contain all the footnotes required by GAAP for audited statements, and were or are subject to normal and recurring year-end adjustments that the Company does not expect to be material, individually or in the aggregate. The balance sheet of the Company contained in the Company SEC Reports as of June 30, 2004 is hereinafter referred to as the “Company Balance Sheet.” Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has any liabilities (absolute, accrued, contingent or otherwise) that are, individually or in the aggregate, material to the business, results of operations or financial condition of the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, except for liabilities reflected on the Company Balance Sheet or incurred since the date of the Company Balance Sheet in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practices.

      (c) The Company has not been notified by its independent auditors or by the staff of the SEC that such auditors or the staff of the SEC, as the case may be, are of the view that any financial statement included in any registration statement filed by the Company under the Securities Act or any periodic or current report filed by the Company under the Exchange Act should be restated, or that the Company should modify its accounting in future periods in a manner that would be materially adverse to the Company.

      (d) The Company is in compliance in all material respects with all effective provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (the “Sarbanes-Oxley Act”) that are applicable to the Company, and any related rules and regulations promulgated by the SEC, and is diligently making preparations to comply on a timely basis with all other provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act as they become effective and applicable to the Company.

      2.6     Absence of Certain Changes or Events. Since the date of the Company Balance Sheet there has not been: (i) any Material Adverse Effect (as defined in Section 8.3)) with respect to the Company, (ii) any declaration, setting aside or payment of any dividend on, or other distribution (whether in cash, stock or property) in respect of, any of the Company’s or any of its subsidiaries’ capital stock, or any purchase, redemption or other acquisition by the Company of any of the Company’s capital stock or any other securities of the Company or its subsidiaries or any grant or issuance of any options, warrants, calls or rights to acquire any such shares or other securities except for repurchases from employees following their termination pursuant to the terms of their pre-existing stock option or purchase agreements, (iii) any split, combination or reclassification of any of the Company’s or any of its subsidiaries’ capital stock, (iv) other than in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice, any granting by the Company or any of its subsidiaries of any increase in compensation or fringe benefits to any of their officers or employees, or any payment by the Company or any of its subsidiaries of any bonus to any of their officers or employees, or any granting by the Company or any of its subsidiaries of any increase in severance or termination pay or any entry by the Company or any of its subsidiaries into, or material modification or amendment of, any currently effective employment, severance, termination or indemnification agreement or any agreement the benefits of which are contingent or the terms of which are materially altered upon the occurrence of a transaction involving the Company of the nature contemplated hereby or any acceleration or release of any vesting condition to the right to exercise any option, warrant or other right to purchase or otherwise acquire any shares of the Company’s capital stock or any acceleration or release of any right to repurchase shares of the Company’s capital stock upon the termination of

employment or services with the Company, (v) any material change or alteration in the policy of the Company relating to the granting of stock options or other equity compensation to its employees and consultants, (vi) entry by the Company or any of its subsidiaries into, or material modification, amendment or cancellation of, any development services, licensing, distribution, sales, sales services or other similar agreement with respect to any material Intellectual Property (as defined in Section 2.9) other than in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practices, (vii) any acquisition, sale or transfer of any material asset by the Company or any of its subsidiaries other than in the ordinary course of business, (viii) any material change by the Company in its accounting methods, principles or practices, except as required by concurrent changes in GAAP, or (ix) any material revaluation by the Company of any of its assets, including writing off notes or accounts receivable other than in the ordinary course of business.

      2.7     Taxes.

      (a) The Company and each of its subsidiaries have timely filed all Tax Returns required to be filed by or on behalf of the Company and each of its subsidiaries; such Tax Returns were accurate and complete in all material respects; and the Company and each of its subsidiaries have paid all Taxes due and owing (whether or not shown on such Tax Returns).

      (b) The Company and each of its subsidiaries have withheld and paid all Taxes required to be withheld and paid in connection with any amounts paid or owing to any employee, independent contractor, creditor, shareholder or other third party.

      (c) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is currently the beneficiary of any extension of time within which to file any Tax Return.

      (d) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has waived any statute of limitations in respect of Taxes or agreed to any extension of time with respect to a Tax assessment or deficiency.

      (e) There are no Liens for Taxes (other than Taxes not yet due and payable) upon any of the assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      (f) Neither the Company or any of its subsidiaries thereof has received from any taxing authority any (i) notice indicating an intent to open an audit or other review or (ii) notice or deficiency or proposed adjustment for any amount of Tax proposed, asserted, or assessed by any taxing authority against the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      (g) No tax audit or administrative or judicial Tax proceeding is pending or presently in progress with respect to the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      (h) The unpaid Taxes of the Company and its subsidiaries did not, as of the date of the most recent Company Balance Sheet, exceed the reserve for Tax liability (rather than any reserve for deferred Taxes established to reflect timing differences between book and Tax income) set forth on the face of such Company Balance Sheet (rather than in any notes thereto) and do not exceed that reserve as adjusted for the passage of time through the Closing Date in accordance with the past custom and practice of the Company and its subsidiaries in filing their Tax Returns.

      (i) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is a party to any agreement, contract, arrangement or plan that has resulted or would result, separately or in the aggregate, in the payment of any (i) “excess parachute payment” within the meaning of Code section 280G (or any corresponding provision of state, local of foreign Tax law) or (ii) any amount that will not be fully deductible as a result of Code section 162(m) or 404 (or any corresponding provision of state, local of foreign Tax law).

      (j) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has filed a consent under section 341(f) of the Code or agreed to have section 341(f)(2) of the Code apply to any disposition of a subsection (f) asset (as defined in section 341(f)(4) of the Code) owned by the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      (k) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is party to or has any obligation under any tax-sharing, tax indemnity or tax allocation agreement or arrangement.

      (l) Neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries (A) has been a member of an Affiliated Group (as defined below) filing a consolidated federal income Tax Return (other than a group the common parent of which was the Company) or (B) has any liability for the Taxes of any Person (other than the Company or any of its Subsidiaries) under Treasury Regulation section 1.1502-6 (or any similar provision of state, local, or foreign law), as a transferee or successor, by contract or otherwise.

      (m) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries will be required to include any item of income in, or exclude any item of deduction from, taxable income for any taxable period (or portion thereof) ending after the Closing Date as a result of any change in method of accounting for a taxable period ending on or prior to the Closing Date.

      (n) None of the Company’s or its subsidiaries’ assets are tax exempt use property within the meaning of section 168(h) of the Code.

      (o) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has distributed stock of a corporation, or has had its stock distributed, in a transaction purported or intended to be governed in whole or in part by section 355 or 361 of the Code.

      (p) To the Company’s knowledge, there is no fact or circumstance, and the Company has no present plan or intention, that would be reasonably likely to prevent the Merger from qualifying as a “reorganization” pursuant to the provisions of section 368 of the Code.

      (q) The Company has delivered to Parent correct and complete copies of all foreign, federal and state income tax and all state sales and use Tax Returns filed for the Company and each of its subsidiaries and each of the Company’s and its subsidiaries’ predecessor entities, if any, filed since December 31, 1998.

      For the purposes of this Agreement, “Tax” or “Taxes” means any federal, state, local or foreign income, gross receipts, license, payroll, employment, excise, severance, stamp, occupation, premium, windfall profits, environmental (including taxes under Code section 59A), customs duties, capital stock, franchise, profits, withholding, social security (or similar), unemployment, disability, real property, personal property, sales, use, transfer, registration, value added, alternative or add-on minimum, estimated, or other tax of any kind whatsoever, including any interest, penalty, or addition thereto, whether disputed or not and including any obligations to indemnity or otherwise assume or succeed to the Tax liability of any other Person.

      “Tax Return” means any return, declaration, report, claim for refund, or information return or statement relating to Taxes, including any schedule or attachment thereto, and including any amendment thereof.

      For purposes of this Agreement, “Affiliated Group” means any affiliated group within the meaning of Code section 1504(a) or any similar group defined under a similar provision of state, local, or foreign law.

      2.8     Title to Properties.

      (a) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries owns any interest in real property. Part 2.8 of the Company Disclosure Schedule list all real property leases to which the Company is a party and each amendment thereto that is in effect as of the date of this Agreement. All such current leases are in full force and effect, are valid and effective in accordance with their respective terms, and there is not, under any of such leases, any existing default or event of default (or event which with notice or lapse of time, or both, would constitute a default) that would give rise to a claim against the Company in excess of $50,000.

      (b) The Company has good and valid title to, or, in the case of leased properties and assets, valid leasehold interests in, all of its tangible properties and assets, real, personal and mixed, used or held for use in its business, free and clear of any Encumbrances, except as reflected in the Company Financials and except for liens for Taxes not yet due and payable and such Encumbrances, if any, which are not material in character, amount or extent. Each of the Company’s subsidiaries has good and valid title to, or, in the case of leased properties and assets, valid leasehold interests in, all of its tangible properties and assets, real, personal and mixed, used or held for use in its business, free and clear of any Encumbrances, except as reflected in the Company Financials and except for liens for Taxes not yet due and payable and such Encumbrances, if any, which are not material in character, amount or extent.

      2.9     Intellectual Property. For purposes of this Agreement, the following terms shall have the definitions set forth below:

“Company Intellectual Property Rights” means all intellectual property rights used by the Company and its subsidiaries in the conduct of their business, including, without limitation: (i) all trademarks, service marks, trade names, Internet domain names, trade dress, and the goodwill associated therewith, and all registrations or applications for registration thereof (collectively, the “Company Marks”); (ii) all patents, patent applications and continuations (collectively, the “Company Patents”); (iii) all copyrights, database rights and moral rights in both published works and unpublished works, including all such rights in software, user and training manuals, marketing and promotional materials, internal reports, business plans and any other expressions, mask works, firmware and videos, whether registered or unregistered, and all registrations or applications for registration thereof (collectively, the “Company Copyrights”); and (iv) trade secret and confidential information, including such rights in inventions (whether or not reduced to practice), know-how, customer lists, technical information, proprietary information, technologies, processes and formulae, software, data, plans, drawings and blue prints, whether tangible or intangible and whether stored, compiled, or memorialized physically, electronically, photographically, or otherwise (collectively, the “Company Secret Information”). For purposes of this Section 2.9 and Section 3.9, “software” means any and all: (w) computer programs and applications, including any and all software implementations of algorithms, models and methodologies, whether in source code or object code, (x) databases and compilations, including any and all data and collections of data, whether machine readable or otherwise, (y) descriptions, flow-charts, library functions, algorithms, architecture, structure, display screens and development tools, and other information, work product or tools used to design, plan, organize or develop any of the foregoing and (z) all documentation, including user manuals and training materials, relating to any of the foregoing.

(a) Part 2.9 of the Company Disclosure Schedule sets forth a complete and correct list of each of the following which is owned by the Company or its subsidiaries: (i) each registered Company Mark, (ii) each material unregistered Company Mark, if any; (iii) each Company Patent and (iv) each registered Company Copyright. The Company or one of its subsidiaries: (i) owns all right, title and interest in and to the Company Intellectual Property Rights, free and clear of all Encumbrances, or (ii) is licensed to use, or otherwise possesses legally valid and enforceable rights to use, the Company Intellectual Property Rights that it does not so own. The Company and its Subsidiaries have made all necessary filings, recordations and payments to protect and maintain their interests in the Company Intellectual Property Rights owned by or licensed to the Company except where the failure to make such filings, recordations or payments would not have a Material Adverse Effect. No person has notified the Company or any subsidiary of any claim that any of the products, services or technology used, sold, offered for sale or licensed or proposed for use, sale, offer for sale or license by the Company or any of its subsidiaries infringes any intellectual property rights of any person.

(b) All the Company Patents are valid and subsisting; to the best of the Company’s knowledge, none of the Company Patents is being infringed; and to the best of the Company’s knowledge, neither the validity nor the enforceability of any of the Company Patents has been challenged by any person.

(c) All the Company Marks are valid and subsisting; to the best of the Company’s knowledge, none of the Company Marks is being infringed or diluted; and to the best of the Company’s knowledge, none of the Company Marks has been opposed or challenged and no proceeding has been commenced or threatened that would seek to prevent the use by the Company or any of its subsidiaries of any Company Mark.

(d) All the Company Copyrights, whether or not registered, are valid and enforceable; to the best of the Company’s knowledge, none of the Company Copyrights is being infringed, or its validity challenged or threatened in any way; and no proceeding has been commenced or threatened that would seek to prevent the use by the Company or any of its subsidiaries of the Company Copyrights.

(e) The Company and its subsidiaries have taken reasonable measures to protect the secrecy and confidentiality of the Company Secret Information. To the best of the Company’s knowledge, no Company Secret Information has been used, divulged or appropriated for the benefit of any person (other than the Company or any of its subsidiaries) or otherwise misappropriated in a manner which would have a Material Adverse Effect.

(f) No Company Intellectual Property Right is subject to any outstanding order, proceeding (other than pending proceedings pertaining to applications for patent or trademark or copyright registration) or stipulation that restricts in any manner the licensing thereof by the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

(g) To the best of the Company’s knowledge, none of its employees engaged in the development of software or in performing sales and marketing functions on behalf of the Company is obligated under any contract with any third party which would materially conflict with such employee’s rights to develop software or engage in such sales and marketing functions on behalf of the Company.

(h) All employees, contractors, agents and consultants of the Company or any of its subsidiaries who are or were involved in the creation of material Company Intellectual Property Rights owned by the Company have executed an assignment of inventions agreement to vest in the Company or its subsidiary, as appropriate, exclusive ownership of such Company Intellectual Property Rights, except where the failure to have executed such an agreement will not have a Material Adverse Effect. All employees, contractors, agents and consultants of the Company or any of its subsidiaries who have or have had access to Company Secret Information owned by the Company have executed nondisclosure agreements to protect the confidentiality of such Company Secret Information, except where the failure to have executed such an agreement will not have a Material Adverse Effect.

(i) Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, all the software that the Company or any of its subsidiaries licenses or otherwise makes available to customers, and all Company Intellectual Property Rights therein, were: (i) developed by employees of the Company or of a subsidiary of the Company within the scope of their employment and subject to their obligation to assign inventions and patents therein; or (ii) developed by independent contractors or consultants who assigned all of their right, title and interest in and to that software to the Company; or (iii) otherwise acquired or licensed by the Company from a third party by an agreement or contract that is disclosed in Part 2.9 of the Company Disclosure Schedule.

(j) All material contracts, licenses and agreements relating to the Company Intellectual Property Rights are in full force and effect. The consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement will neither violate nor result in the breach, modification, cancellation, termination, or suspension of such contracts, licenses and agreements. The Company and each of its subsidiaries are in material compliance with, and have not materially breached any term of any of such contracts, licenses and agreements and, to the knowledge of the Company and its subsidiaries, all other parties to such contracts, licenses and agreements are in compliance in all material respects with, and have not materially breached any term of, such contracts, licenses and agreements. Following the Closing Date, the Surviving Corporation will be permitted to exercise all of the Company’s rights under such contracts, licenses and agreements to the same extent the Company would have been able to had the transactions contemplated by this Agreement not occurred and without the payment of any additional amounts or consideration other than ongoing fees, royalties or payments which the Company would otherwise be required to pay.

      2.10     Compliance with Laws.

      (a) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is in conflict with, or in default or violation of (i) any law, rule, regulation, order, judgment or decree applicable to the Company or any of its subsidiaries or by which the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of their respective properties is bound or affected, or (ii) any note, bond, mortgage, indenture, contract, agreement, lease, license, permit, franchise or other instrument or obligation to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by

which the Company or any of its subsidiaries or its or any of their respective properties is bound or affected, except for conflicts, violations and defaults that, individually or in the aggregate, would not cause the Company to lose any material benefit or incur any material liability. No investigation or review by any Governmental Entity is pending or, to the Company’s knowledge, has been threatened in a writing delivered to the Company against the Company or any of its subsidiaries, nor, to the Company’s knowledge, has any Governmental Entity indicated an intention to conduct an investigation of the Company or any of its subsidiaries. There is no agreement, judgment, injunction, order or decree binding upon the Company or any of its subsidiaries which has or could reasonably be expected to have the effect of prohibiting or materially impairing any business practice of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, any acquisition of material property by the Company or any of its subsidiaries or the conduct of business by the Company and its subsidiaries as currently conducted.

      (b) The Company and its subsidiaries hold all permits, licenses, variances, exemptions, orders and approvals from Governmental Entity that are material to or required for the operation of the business of the Company and of its subsidiaries as currently conducted (collectively, the “Company Permits”). The Company and its subsidiaries are in compliance, in all material respects, with the terms of the Company Permits.

      2.11     Litigation. There are no claims, suits, actions or proceedings pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened against, relating to or affecting the Company or any of its subsidiaries, before any Governmental Entity or any arbitrator that seeks to restrain or enjoin the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or which could reasonably be expected, either singularly or in the aggregate with all such claims, actions or proceedings, to be material to the Company, any of its subsidiaries or the Surviving Corporation following the Merger or have a material adverse effect on the ability of the parties hereto to consummate the Merger. No Governmental Entity has at any time challenged or questioned in a writing delivered to the Company the legal right of the Company or any of its subsidiaries to design, offer or sell any of its products or services in the present manner or style thereof or otherwise to conduct its business as currently conducted.

      2.12     Employee Benefit Plans.

      (a) Definitions. With the exception of the definition of “Affiliate” set forth in Section 2.12(a)(i) below (which definition shall apply only to this Section 2.12), for purposes of this Agreement, the following terms shall have the meanings set forth below:

(i) “Affiliate” shall mean any other person or entity under common control with the Company within the meaning of Sections 414(b),(c),(m) or (o) of the Code and the regulations issued thereunder;

(ii) “Company Employee Plan” shall mean any plan, program, policy, practice, contract, agreement or other arrangement providing for deferred compensation, severance, termination pay, performance awards, stock or stock-related awards, fringe benefits or other employee benefits of any kind, whether written or unwritten or otherwise, funded or unfunded, including without limitation, each “employee benefit plan” within the meaning of Section 3(3) of ERISA which is or has been maintained, contributed to, or required to be contributed to, by the Company or any Affiliate for the benefit of any Employee at any time since January 1, 2001;

(iii) “COBRA” shall mean the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended;

(iv) “DOL” shall mean the Department of Labor;

(v) “Employee” shall mean any current, former or retired employee, officer or director of the Company or any Affiliate;

(vi) “Employee Agreement” shall mean each management, employment, severance, consulting, relocation, repatriation, expatriation, visas, work permit or similar agreement or contract between the Company or any Affiliate and any Employee or consultant that is currently in force;

(vii) “ERISA” shall mean the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended;

(viii) “FMLA” shall mean the Family Medical Leave Act of 1993, as amended;

(ix) “International Employee Plan” shall mean each Company Employee Plan that has been adopted or maintained by the Company, whether informally or formally, for the benefit of Employees outside the United States;

(x) “IRS” shall mean the Internal Revenue Service;

(xi) “Multiemployer Plan” shall mean any “Pension Plan” (as defined below) which is a “multiemployer plan,” as defined in Section 3(37) of ERISA;

(xii) “PBGC” shall mean the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation; and

(xiii) “Pension Plan” shall mean each Company Employee Plan which is an “employee pension benefit plan,” within the meaning of Section 3(2) of ERISA.

      (b) Disclosure of Plans. Part 2.12(b) of the Company Disclosure Schedule contains an accurate and complete list of each Company Employee Plan and each Employee Agreement. The Company does not have any plan or commitment to establish any new Company Employee Plan, to modify any Company Employee Plan or Employee Agreement (except to the extent required by law or to conform any such Company Employee Plan or Employee Agreement to the requirements of any applicable law, in each case as previously disclosed to Parent in writing, or as required by this Agreement), or to enter into any Company Employee Plan or Employee Agreement, nor does it have any intention or commitment to do any of the foregoing.

      (c) Documents. The Company has provided Parent with access to the following documents: (i) accurate and complete copies of all documents embodying each Company Employee Plan and each Employee Agreement including all amendments thereto and written interpretations thereof; (ii) the most recent annual actuarial valuations, if any, prepared for each Company Employee Plan; (iii) the three most recent annual reports (Form Series 5500 and all schedules and financial statements attached thereto), if any, required under ERISA or the Code in connection with each Company Employee Plan or related trust; (iv) if the Company Employee Plan is funded, the most recent annual and periodic accounting of Company Employee Plan assets; (v) the most recent summary plan description together with the summary of material modifications thereto, if any, required under ERISA with respect to each Company Employee Plan; (vi) all IRS determination, opinion, notification and advisory letters, and rulings relating to Company Employee Plans and copies of all applications and correspondence to or from the IRS or the DOL with respect to any Company Employee Plan; (vii) all material written agreements and contracts relating to each Company Employee Plan, including, but not limited to, administrative service agreements, group annuity contracts and group insurance contracts; (viii) all written communications material to any Employee or Employees relating to any Company Employee Plan and any proposed Company Employee Plans, in each case, relating to any material amendments, terminations, establishments, increases or decreases in benefits, acceleration of payments or vesting schedules or other events which would result in any material liability to the Company; (ix) all COBRA forms and related notices; (x) all registration statements and prospectuses prepared in connection with each Company Employee Plan; and (xi) a list of all employees, officers and consultants of the Company reflecting each such person’s current title and/or job description and compensation.

      (d) Employee Plan Compliance. (i) The Company has performed in all material respects all obligations required to be performed by it under, is not in default or violation of, and has no knowledge of any default or violation by any other party to, each Company Employee Plan and/or Employee Agreement, and each Company Employee Plan has been established and maintained in all material respects in accordance with its terms and in compliance with all applicable laws, statutes, orders, rules and regulations, including but not limited to ERISA or the Code; (ii) each Company Employee Plan intended to qualify under Section 401(a) of the Code and each trust intended to qualify under Section 501(a) of the Code has either received (A) a favorable determination letter from the IRS with respect to each such

Plan as to its qualified status under the Code (or has remaining a period of time under applicable Treasury regulations or IRS pronouncements in which to apply for such a determination letter and make any amendments necessary to obtain a favorable determination) or (B) if such Plan is on a prototype or volume submitter plan document, such prototype or volume submitter document has received a favorable opinion letter, and no event has occurred which would adversely affect the status of such determination letter or opinion letter or the qualified status of such Plan; (iii) no “prohibited transaction,” within the meaning of Section 4975 of the Code or Sections 406 and 407 of ERISA, and not otherwise exempt under Section 408 of ERISA, has occurred with respect to any Company Employee Plan; (iv) there are no actions, suits or claims pending, or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened or reasonably anticipated (other than routine claims for benefits) against any Company Employee Plan or against the assets of any Company Employee Plan; (v) each Company Employee Plan can be amended, terminated or otherwise discontinued either before or after the Effective Time in accordance with its terms, without liability to Parent, the Company or any of its Affiliates (other than ordinary administration expenses typically incurred in a termination event); (vi) there are no audits, inquiries or proceedings pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened by the IRS or DOL with respect to any Company Employee Plan; (vii) neither the Company nor any Affiliate is subject to any penalty or tax with respect to any Company Employee Plan under Section 402(i) of ERISA or Sections 4975 through 4980 of the Code; and (viii) all contributions due from the Company or any Affiliate with respect to any of the Company Employee Plans have been made as required under ERISA or have been accrued on the Company Balance Sheet; (ix) to the Company’s knowledge, all individuals who, pursuant to the terms of any Employee Plan or Employee Agreement, are entitled to participate in any such Employee Plan or Employee Agreement are currently participating in such Employee Plan or Employee Agreement, or have been given the opportunity to do so and have declined; (x) there has been no amendment to, written interpretation or authorized announcement (whether or not written) by the Company relating to, or change in employee participation or coverage under, any Employee Plan or Employee Agreement that would increase materially the expense of maintaining such Employee Plan or Employee Agreement above the level of the expense incurred in respect thereof during the calendar year 2003.

      (e) Pension Plans. The Company does not now, nor has it ever, maintained, established, sponsored, participated in, or contributed to, any Pension Plan which is subject to Title IV of ERISA or Section 412 of the Code.

      (f) Multiemployer Plans. At no time has the Company contributed to or been required to contribute to any Multiemployer Plan.

      (g) No Post-Employment Obligations. No Company Employee Plan provides, or has any liability to provide, retiree life insurance, retiree health or other retiree employee welfare benefits to any person for any reason, except as may be required by COBRA or other applicable statute, and the Company has never represented, promised or contracted (whether in oral or written form) to any Employee (either individually or to Employees as a group) or any other person that such Employee(s) or other person would be provided with retiree life insurance, retiree health or other retiree employee welfare benefit, except to the extent required by statute.

      (h) COBRA; FMLA. Neither the Company nor any Affiliate has, prior to the Effective Time, and in any material respect, violated any of the health care continuation requirements of COBRA, the requirements of FMLA or any similar provisions of state law applicable to its Employees. The group health plans (as defined in Section 4980B(g) of the Code) that benefit employees of the Company are in compliance, in all material respects, with the continuation coverage requirements of Section 4980B of the Code and Sections 601 through 608 of ERISA, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended and the FMLA, and the regulations thereunder, as such requirements affect the Company and its employees. As of the Closing Date, there will be no material outstanding, uncorrected violations under

COBRA, with respect to any of the Employee Plans or Employee Agreements, covered employees or qualified beneficiaries.

      (i) Effect of Transaction. The execution of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not (either alone or upon the occurrence of any additional or subsequent events) constitute an event under any Company Employee Plan, Employee Agreement, trust or loan that will or may result in any payment (whether of severance pay or otherwise), acceleration, forgiveness of indebtedness, vesting, distribution, increase in benefits or obligation to fund benefits with respect to any Employee. No payment or benefit which will or may be made by the Company or its Affiliates with respect to any Employee as a result of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement will be characterized as an “excess parachute payment,” within the meaning of Section 280G(b)(1) of the Code or will be treated as a nondeductible expense within the meaning of Section 162 of the Code.

      (j) Employment Matters. The Company and each of its subsidiaries: (i) is in compliance in all material respects with all applicable foreign, federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations respecting employment, employment practices, immigration, terms and conditions of employment and wages and hours, in each case, with respect to Employees; (ii) has withheld all amounts required by law or by agreement to be withheld from the wages, salaries and other payments to Employees; (iii) has properly classified independent contractors for purposes of federal and applicable state tax laws, laws applicable to employee benefits and other applicable laws; (iv) is not liable for any arrears of wages or any taxes or any penalty for failure to comply with any of the foregoing; and (v) is not liable for any material payment to any trust or other fund or to any governmental or administrative authority, with respect to unemployment compensation benefits, social security or other benefits or obligations for Employees (other than routine payments to be made in the normal course of business and consistent with past practice). There are no pending, or, to the Company’s knowledge, threatened or reasonably anticipated claims or actions against the Company under any workers compensation policy or long-term disability policy. To the Company’s knowledge, no Employee of the Company has violated any employment contract, nondisclosure agreement or noncompetition agreement by which such Employee is bound due to such Employee being employed by the Company and disclosing to the Company or using trade secrets or proprietary information of any other person or entity. All employees of the Company are legally permitted to be employed by the Company in the United States of America in their current jobs. There are no controversies pending or, to the Company’s knowledge threatened, between the Company and any subsidiary and any of their employees that would be reasonably likely to result in the Company’s incurring material liability. The Company does not have any employment contracts, Employee Agreements, or consulting agreements currently in effect that are not terminable at will (other than agreements for the sole purpose of providing for the confidentiality of proprietary information or assignment of invention). The Company will have no liability to any employee or to any organization or any other entity as a result of the termination of any employee leasing arrangement.

      (k) Labor. No work stoppage or labor strike against the Company is pending, threatened or reasonably anticipated. The Company does not know of any activities or proceedings of any labor union to organize any Employees. There are no actions, suits, claims, labor disputes or grievances pending, or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened or reasonably anticipated relating to any labor, safety or discrimination matters involving any Employee, including charges of unfair labor practices or discrimination complaints, which, if adversely determined, would, individually or in the aggregate, result in any material liability to the Company. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has engaged in any unfair labor practices within the meaning of the National Labor Relations Act. The Company is not presently, nor has it been in the past, a party to, or bound by, any collective bargaining agreement or union contract with respect to Employees and no collective bargaining agreement is being negotiated by the Company.

      (l) International Employee Plans. Each International Employee Plan has been established, maintained and administered in material compliance with its terms and conditions and with the requirements prescribed by any and all statutory or regulatory laws that are applicable to such International Employee Plan. Furthermore, no International Employee Plan has unfunded liabilities, that

are not fully accrued on the Company Balance Sheet. Except as required by law, no condition exists that would prevent the Company or Parent from terminating or amending any International Employee Plan at any time for any reason.

      2.13     Environmental Matters.

      (a) Hazardous Material. Except as would not result in material liability to the Company, no underground storage tanks and no amount of any substance that has been designated by any Governmental Entity or by applicable federal, state or local law to be radioactive, toxic, hazardous or otherwise a danger to health or the environment, including, without limitation, PCBs, asbestos, petroleum, urea-formaldehyde and all substances listed as hazardous substances pursuant to the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, as amended, or defined as a hazardous waste pursuant to the United States Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, as amended, and the regulations promulgated pursuant to said laws, but excluding office and janitorial supplies (a “Hazardous Material”) are present, as a result of the actions of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any affiliate of the Company, or, to the Company’s knowledge, as a result of any actions of any third party or otherwise, in, on or under any property, including the land and the improvements, ground water and surface water thereof that the Company or any of its subsidiaries has at any time owned, operated, occupied or leased.

      (b) Hazardous Materials Activities. Except as would not result in a material liability to the Company (in any individual case or in the aggregate) (i) neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has transported, stored, used, manufactured, disposed of, released or exposed its employees or others to Hazardous Materials in violation of any law in effect on or before the Closing Date, and (ii) neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has disposed of, transported, sold, used, released, exposed its employees or others to or manufactured any product containing a Hazardous Material (collectively “Hazardous Materials Activities”) in violation of any rule, regulation, treaty or statute promulgated by any Governmental Entity in effect prior to or as of the date hereof to prohibit, regulate or control Hazardous Materials or any Hazardous Material Activity.

      (c) Permits. The Company and its subsidiaries currently hold all environmental approvals, permits, licenses, clearances and consents (“Environmental Permits”) material to and necessary for the conduct of the Company’s and its subsidiaries’ Hazardous Material Activities and other businesses of the Company and its subsidiaries as such activities and businesses are currently being conducted.

      (d) Environmental Liabilities. No action, proceeding, revocation proceeding, amendment procedure, writ or injunction is pending, and to the Company’s knowledge, no action, proceeding, revocation proceeding, amendment procedure, writ or injunction has been threatened by any Governmental Entity against the Company or any of its subsidiaries in a writing delivered to the Company concerning any Environmental Permit of the Company, Hazardous Material or any Hazardous Materials Activity of the Company or any of its subsidiaries. The Company is not aware of any fact or circumstance which could involve the Company or any of its subsidiaries in any environmental litigation or impose upon the Company any material environmental liability.

      2.14 Certain Agreements. Except as otherwise set forth in the applicable lettered subsection of Part 2.14 of the Company Disclosure Schedule, neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is a party to or is bound by:

(a) any employment or consulting agreement or commitment with any employee or member of the Company’s Board of Directors, providing any term of employment or compensation guarantee or any consulting agreement or any employment agreement that provides severance benefits or other benefits after the termination of employment of such employee regardless of the reason for such termination of employment, except as required by applicable law;

(b) any agreement or plan, including any stock option plan, stock appreciation right plan or stock purchase plan, any of the benefits of which will be increased, or the vesting of benefits of which will be accelerated, by the occurrence of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or

the value of any of the benefits of which will be calculated on the basis of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement;

(c) any agreement of indemnification, any guaranty or any instrument evidencing indebtedness for borrowed money by way of direct loan, sale of debt securities, purchase money obligation, conditional sale, or otherwise;

(d) any agreement, obligation or commitment containing covenants purporting to limit or which effectively limit the Company’s or any of its subsidiaries’ freedom to compete in any line of business or in any geographic area or which would so limit Parent, the Company or the Surviving Corporation or any of its subsidiaries after the Effective Time or granting any exclusive distribution or other exclusive rights;

(e) any agreement or commitment currently in force relating to the disposition or acquisition by the Company or any of its subsidiaries after the date of this Agreement of a material amount of assets not in the ordinary course of business, or pursuant to which the Company has any material ownership or participation interest in any corporation, partnership, joint venture, strategic alliance or other business enterprise other than the Company’s subsidiaries;

(f) any licensing, distribution, resale or other agreement, contract or commitment with regard to the acquisition, distribution, resale or licensing of any material Intellectual Property other than licenses, distribution, resale agreements, advertising agreements, or other similar agreement entered into in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice;

(g) agreement to forgive any indebtedness in excess of $5,000 of any person to the Company or any subsidiary;

(h) agreement regarding the lease of real property involving rental obligations in excess of $50,000 per annum, or agreement regarding the purchase of real property;

(i) loan agreement, promissory note or other evidence of indebtedness for borrowed money;

(j) agreement pursuant to which the Company or any subsidiary (A) uses any intellectual property of any third party that is material to the operation of its business (other than off-the-shelf commercial software programs with respect to which no future license or royalty payment will become due), (B) incorporates any third party intellectual property in any of its products; or (C) has granted to any third party an exclusive license of any Company Intellectual Property Rights owned by the Company or any license of its source code (including customary source code escrow arrangements entered into in the ordinary course of business);

(k) agreement obligating the Company or any subsidiary to make aggregate payments in excess of $100,000 to any third party during the two-year period ending June 30, 2006 which is not terminable by the Company without penalty or further liability exceeding $25,000 upon 90 days’ notice or less;

(l) agreement pursuant to which the Company or any subsidiary (A) reasonably expects to receive aggregate payments in excess of $300,000 during the twelve month period ending June 30, 2005 or (B) reasonably expects to recognize revenue in such aggregate amount during such period;

(m) agreement or commitment with any affiliate of the Company;

(n) any agreement or commitment currently in force providing for capital expenditures by the Company or its subsidiaries in excess of $50,000; or

(o) any other agreement or commitment currently in effect that is material to the Company’s or its subsidiaries’ business as presently conducted and proposed to be conducted.

      Each agreement that is required to be disclosed in the Company Disclosure Schedule pursuant to clauses (a) through (o) above or pursuant to Section 2.9 and each agreement that is required to be filed with any Company SEC Report shall be referred to herein as a “Company Contract.” Each Company

Contract is valid and in full force and effect. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries, nor to the Company’s knowledge, any other party thereto, is in breach, violation or default under, and neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has received written notice alleging that it has breached, violated or defaulted under, any of the terms or conditions of any Company Contract in such a manner as would permit any other party thereto to cancel or terminate any such Company Contract, or would permit any other party to seek material damages or other remedies for any or all such alleged breaches, violations, or defaults.

      2.15     Brokers’ and Finders’ Fees. Except for fees payable to Broadview International pursuant to an engagement letter dated May 28, 2004, a copy of which has been provided to Parent, the Company has not incurred, nor will it incur, directly or indirectly, any liability for brokerage or finders’ fees or agents’ commissions or any similar charges in connection with this Agreement or any transaction contemplated hereby.

      2.16     Insurance. The Company and each of its subsidiaries have policies of insurance and bonds of the type and in amounts customarily carried by persons conducting business or owing assets similar to those of the Company and its subsidiaries. There is no material claim pending under any of such policies or bonds as to which coverage has been questioned, denied or disputed by the underwriters of such policies or bonds. All premiums due and payable under all such policies have been paid, and the Company and its subsidiaries are otherwise in compliance in all material respects with the terms of such policies and bonds. To the knowledge of the Company, there has been no threatened termination of, or material premium increase with respect to, any of such policies. Part 2.16 of the Company Disclosure Schedule sets forth a description of each such policy or bond which provides coverage for the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      2.17     Disclosure. The information supplied by the Company for inclusion in the Form S-4 (or any similar successor form thereto) Registration Statement to be filed by Parent with the SEC in connection with the issuance of Parent Common Stock in the Merger (the “Registration Statement”) shall not at the time the Registration Statement is filed with the SEC and at the time it becomes effective under the Securities Act contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they are made, not misleading. The information supplied by the Company for inclusion or incorporation by reference in the proxy statement/ prospectus to be filed with the SEC as part of the Registration Statement (the “Proxy Statement/ Prospectus”) shall not, on the date the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus is mailed to the Company’s and Parent’s shareholders, at the time of the meeting of the Company’s shareholders (the “Company Shareholders’ Meeting”) to consider the Company Shareholder Approval, at the time of the meeting of Parent’s shareholders (the “Parent Shareholders’ Meeting”) to consider the Parent Shareholder Approval, or as of the Effective Time, contain any untrue statement of a material fact concerning the Company or omit to state any material fact concerning the Company required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they are made, not false or misleading; or omit to state any material fact concerning the Company necessary to correct any statement in any earlier communication with respect to the solicitation of proxies for the Company Shareholders’ Meeting and the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting which has become false or misleading. If at any time prior to the Effective Time any event relating to the Company or any of its affiliates, officers or directors should be discovered by the Company which is required to be set forth in an amendment to the Registration Statement or a supplement to the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, the Company shall promptly inform Parent. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Company makes no representation or warranty with respect to any information supplied by Parent or Merger Sub which is contained in any of the foregoing documents.

      2.18     Accounts Receivable. The receivables shown on the Company Balance Sheet arose in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, and have been collected or are collectible in the book amounts thereof, less an amount not materially in excess of the allowance for doubtful accounts provided for on the Company Balance Sheet. Allowances for doubtful accounts and warranty returns are adequate and have been prepared in accordance with GAAP consistently applied and in accordance with

the Company’s past practices. The Company’s receivables arising after the date of the Company Balance Sheet and prior to the Closing Date arose or will arise in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, and have been collected or are collectible in the book amounts thereof, less reasonable allowances for doubtful accounts determined in accordance with the Company’s past practices. To the Company’s knowledge, none of its receivables is subject to any material claim of setoff, recoupment or counter claim and it has no knowledge of any specific facts or circumstances (whether asserted or unasserted) that could give rise to any such claim. No material amount of receivables are contingent upon the performance by the Company of any obligation or contract other than normal warranty repair and replacement. No person has any Encumbrance on any of such receivables and no agreement for deduction or discount has been made with respect to any of such receivables.

      2.19     Board Approval. The Board of Directors of the Company has, as of the date of this Agreement, (i) determined that the Merger and the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement are fair to, and in the best interests of the Company and its shareholders, and has approved this Agreement and (ii) declared the advisability of the Merger and recommends that the shareholders of Company approve and adopt this Agreement and approve the Merger.

      2.20     Fairness Opinion. The Company’s Board of Directors has received a written opinion from Broadview International, dated as of the date hereof, to the effect that, as of the date hereof, the Exchange Ratio is fair to the Company’s shareholders from a financial point of view, and has delivered to Parent a copy of such opinion.

      2.21     Accounting System. The Company and its subsidiaries have internal control over financial reporting, as defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Exchange Act and such internal control over financial reporting is reasonably effective. Since January 1, 2002, there has been no change in the internal control over financial reporting of the Company and its Subsidiaries that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the internal control over financial reporting of the Company and its Subsidiaries. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Company and its Subsidiaries maintain a system of internal accounting controls sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that (a) transactions are executed in accordance with management’s general or specific authorizations; (b) transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in conformity with GAAP and to maintain asset accountability; (c) access to assets is permitted only in accordance with management’s general or specific authorization; and (d) the recorded accountability for assets is compared with the existing assets at reasonable intervals and appropriate action is taken with respect to any differences. The Company has not been notified by its independent auditor that there is any significant deficiency or material weakness in the Company’s internal control over financial reporting. The Company has delivered to Parent or its advisors complete and accurate copies of any management letter or similar correspondence from any independent auditor since January 1, 2001, of the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

      2.22     Company Charter Documents and RCW 23B.19. The Board of Directors of the Company has taken all actions so that (a) the restrictions contained in the Company Charter Documents and RCW 23B.19 of the WBCA applicable to a “Business Combination” (as defined in the Company’s Articles of Incorporation) and “significant business transaction” (as defined in such RCW 23B.19) will not apply to the execution, delivery or performance of this Agreement or the Voting Agreements, or to the consummation of the Merger or the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement and the Voting Agreements.

      2.23     Affiliates. Part 2.23 of the Company Disclosure Schedule is a complete list of those persons who may, in the Company’s judgment, reasonably be deemed to be affiliates of the Company within the meaning of Rule 145 promulgated under the Securities Act (each, a “Company Affiliate”). Except as set forth in the Company SEC Reports, since the date of the Company’s last proxy statement filed with the SEC, no event has occurred as of the date of this Agreement that would be required to be reported by the Company pursuant to Item 404 of Regulation S-K promulgated by the SEC.

ARTICLE 3

REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF PARENT AND MERGER SUB

      As of the date of this Agreement and as of the Closing Date, Parent and Merger Sub represent and warrant to the Company, subject to any exception expressly stated in the disclosure schedule, delivered by Parent to the Company dated as of the date hereof and certified by a duly authorized officer of Parent (the “Parent Disclosure Schedule”), Parent represents and warrants to the Company as set forth in this Article 3. The Parent Disclosure Schedule shall be arranged in sections and paragraphs corresponding to the numbered and lettered sections and paragraphs contained in this Article 3 and the disclosure in any section or paragraph shall qualify other sections and paragraphs in this Article 3 only to the extent that it is reasonably apparent from a reading of such disclosure that it also qualifies or applies to such other sections and paragraphs.

      3.1     Organization of Parent and Merger Sub.

      (a) Each of Parent and Merger Sub (i) is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the jurisdiction in which it is organized; (ii) has the corporate or other power and authority to own, lease and operate its assets and property and to carry on its business as now being conducted; and (iii) except as would not be material to Parent, is duly qualified or licensed to do business in each jurisdiction where the character of the properties owned, leased or operated by it or the nature of its activities makes such qualification or licensing necessary.

      (b) Parent has delivered or made available to Company a true and correct copy of the Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws of Parent and Merger Sub, each as amended to date (collectively, the “Parent Charter Documents”), and each such instrument is in full force and effect. Neither Parent nor Merger Sub is in violation of any of the provisions of the Parent Charter Documents. Parent has delivered or made available to Company all proposed or considered amendments to the Parent Charter Documents.

      3.2     Parent and Merger Sub Capitalization.

      (a) The authorized capital stock of Parent consists of 200,000,000 shares of Parent Common Stock, of which there were 73,889,870 shares issued and outstanding as of the close of business on August 9, 2004 and 10,000,000 shares of preferred stock, par value $0.01 per share, of which no shares are issued or outstanding. All outstanding shares of Parent Common Stock are duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable and are not subject to preemptive rights created by statute, the Certificate of Incorporation or Bylaws of Parent or any agreement or document to which Parent is a party or by which it is bound. As of the close of business on August 9, 2004, (i) 10,819,378 shares of Parent Common Stock are subject to issuance pursuant to outstanding options to purchase Parent Common Stock, and (ii) 1,412,061 shares of Parent Common Stock are reserved for future issuance under Parent’s 1999 Employee Stock Purchase Plan. All shares of Parent Common Stock subject to issuance as aforesaid, upon issuance on the terms and conditions specified in the instruments pursuant to which they are issuable, will be duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

      (b) The authorized capital stock of Merger Sub consists of 1,000 shares of common stock, all of which, as of the date hereof, are issued and outstanding and are held by Parent. All of the outstanding shares of Merger Sub’s common stock have been duly authorized and validly issued, and are fully paid and nonassessable. Merger Sub was formed for the purpose of consummating the Merger and has no material assets or liabilities except as necessary for such purpose.

      (c) The Parent Common Stock to be issued in the Merger, when issued in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement, will be validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

      3.3     Authority; Non-Contravention.

      (a) Parent and Merger Sub have all requisite corporate power and authority to enter into this Agreement and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly authorized by

all necessary corporate action on the part of Parent and Merger Sub, subject only to the approval by Parent’s shareholders of the issuance of Parent Common Stock in the Merger pursuant to the terms of this Agreement (the “Parent Shareholder Approval”) and the filing of the Merger Documents pursuant to the WBCA. The affirmative vote of the holders of a majority of the outstanding shares of Parent Common Stock is sufficient for Parent’s shareholders to approve and adopt this Agreement and approve the Merger, and no other approval of any holder of any securities of Parent is required in connection with the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by Parent and Merger Sub and, assuming the due authorization, execution and delivery by the Company, constitutes the valid and binding obligations of Parent and Merger Sub, enforceable against Parent and Merger Sub in accordance with its terms, except as enforceability may be limited by bankruptcy and other similar laws affecting the rights of creditors generally and general principles of equity.

      (b) The execution and delivery of this Agreement by Parent and Merger Sub does not, and the performance of this Agreement by Parent and Merger Sub will not, (i) conflict with or violate the Parent Charter Documents, (ii) subject to compliance with the requirements set forth in Section 3.3(c) below, conflict with or violate any material law, rule, regulation, order, judgment or decree applicable to Parent or Merger Sub or by which any of their respective material properties is bound or affected, or (iii) result in any material breach of or constitute a material default (or an event that with notice or lapse of time or both would become a material default) under, or impair Parent’s rights or alter the rights or obligations of any third party under, or give to others any rights of termination, amendment, acceleration or cancellation of; or result in the creation of an Encumbrance on any of the properties or assets of Parent or Merger Sub pursuant to, any material note, bond, mortgage, indenture, contract, agreement, lease, license, permit, franchise or other instrument or obligation to which Parent or Merger Sub is a party or by which Parent or Merger Sub or any of their respective material properties are bound or affected. Part 3.3 of the Parent Disclosure Schedule list all consents, waivers and approvals under any of Parent’s or any of its subsidiaries’ agreements, contracts, licenses or leases required to be obtained in connection with the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby, which, if individually or in the aggregate were not obtained, would result in a material loss of benefits to Parent or the Surviving Corporation as a result of the Merger.

      (c) No consent, approval, order or authorization of, or registration, declaration or filing with any Governmental Entity or other person is required to be obtained or made by Parent or Merger Sub in connection with the execution and delivery of this Agreement or the consummation of the Merger, except for (i) the filing of the Merger Documents with the Secretary of State of the State of Washington, (ii) the filing of the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus and the Registration Statement with the SEC and a Schedule 13D with regard to the Voting Agreements in accordance with the Securities Act and the Exchange Act, and the effectiveness of the Registration Statement, (iii) such consents, approvals, orders, authorizations, registrations, declarations and filings as may be required under applicable federal, foreign and state securities (or related) laws and the securities or antitrust laws of any foreign country, and (iv) such other consents, authorizations, filings, approvals and registrations which if not obtained or made would not be material to Parent or the Surviving Corporation or have a material adverse effect on the ability of the parties hereto to consummate the Merger.

      3.4     SEC Filings; Parent Financial Statements.

      (a) Since January 1, 2001, Parent has filed all forms, reports and documents required to be filed by Parent with the SEC, and has made available to the Company such forms, reports and documents in the form filed with the SEC (if and to the extent such forms, reports and documents are not available on EDGAR). All such required forms, reports and documents (including those that Parent may file subsequent to the date hereof) are referred to herein as the “Parent SEC Reports.” As of their respective dates, the Parent SEC Reports (i) were prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, as the case may be, and the rules and regulations of the SEC thereunder applicable to such Parent SEC Reports, and (ii) did not at the time they were filed (or if subsequently amended or superseded by a filing prior to the date of this Agreement, then on the date of such subsequent filing) contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required

to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. None of Parent’s subsidiaries is required to file any forms, reports or other documents with the SEC.

      (b) Each of the consolidated financial statements (including, in each case, any related notes thereto) contained in the Parent SEC Reports (the “Parent Financials”), including any Parent SEC Reports filed after the date hereof until the Closing, (i) complied as to form in all material respects with the published rules and regulations of the SEC with respect thereto, (ii) was prepared in accordance with GAAP applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved (except as may be indicated in the notes thereto or, in the case of unaudited interim financial statements, as may be permitted by the SEC on Form 1O-Q, 8-K or any successor form under the Exchange Act) and (iii) fairly presented the consolidated financial position of Parent and its subsidiaries as at the respective dates thereof and the consolidated results of Parent’s operations and cash flows for the periods indicated, except that the unaudited interim financial statements may not contain footnotes and were or are subject to normal and recurring year-end adjustments. The balance sheet of Parent contained in Parent SEC Reports as of June 30, 2004 is hereinafter referred to as the “Parent Balance Sheet.” Except as disclosed in the Parent Financials, since the date of the Parent Balance Sheet neither Parent nor any of its subsidiaries has any liabilities (absolute, accrued, contingent or otherwise) required under GAAP to be set forth on a balance sheet which are, individually or in the aggregate, material to the business, results of operations or financial condition of Parent and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, except for liabilities incurred since the date of the Parent Balance Sheet in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practices and liabilities incurred in connection with this Agreement.

      (c) Parent is in compliance in all material respects with all effective provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act that are applicable to Parent, and any related rules and regulations promulgated by the SEC, and is diligently making preparations to comply on a timely basis with all other provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, as they become effective and applicable to Parent.

      3.5     Absence of Certain Changes or Events. Since the date of the Parent Balance Sheet there has not been (i) any Material Adverse Effect with respect to Parent, (ii) any declaration, setting aside or payment of any dividend on, or other distribution (whether in cash, stock or property) in respect of, any of Parent’s or any of its subsidiaries’ capital stock, or any purchase, redemption or other acquisition by Parent of any of Parent’s capital stock or any other securities of Parent or its subsidiaries or any options, warrants, calls or rights to acquire any such shares or other securities except for repurchases from employees following their termination pursuant to the terms of their pre-existing stock option or purchase agreements, (iii) any split, combination or reclassification of any of Parent’s or any of its subsidiaries’ capital stock, (iv) any material change by Parent in its accounting methods, principles or practices, except as required by concurrent changes in GAAP, or (v) any material revaluation by Parent of any of its material assets, including writing off notes or accounts receivable other than in the ordinary course of business.

      3.6     Litigation. There are no claims, suits, actions or proceedings pending or, to the knowledge of Parent, threatened against, relating to or affecting Parent or any of its subsidiaries, before any Governmental Entity or any arbitrator that seeks to restrain or enjoin the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or which could reasonably be expected, either singularly or in the aggregate with all such claims, actions or proceedings, to be material to Parent or have a material adverse effect on the ability of the parties hereto to consummate the Merger.

      3.7     Disclosure. The information supplied by Parent for inclusion in the Registration Statement shall not at the time the Registration Statement is filed with the SEC and at the time it becomes effective under the Securities Act contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they are made, not misleading. The information supplied by Parent for inclusion in the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus shall not, on the date the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus is mailed to the Company’s shareholders, at the time of the Company Shareholders’ Meeting, at the time of the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting, or as of the Effective Time, contain any untrue statement of a material

fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they are made, not false or misleading, or omit to state any material fact necessary to correct any statement in any earlier communication with respect to the solicitation of proxies for the Company Shareholders’ Meeting and the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting which has become false or misleading. If at any time prior to the Effective Time, any event relating to Parent or any of its affiliates, officers or directors should be discovered by Parent which is required to be set forth in an amendment to the Registration Statement or a supplement to the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, Parent shall promptly inform the Company. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Parent makes no representation or warranty with respect to any information supplied by the Company which is contained in any of the foregoing documents.

      3.8     Accounts Receivable. The receivables shown on the Parent Balance Sheet arose in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, and have been collected or are collectible in the book amounts thereof, less an amount not materially in excess of the allowance for doubtful accounts provided for on the Parent Balance Sheet. Allowances for doubtful accounts and warranty returns are adequate and have been prepared in accordance with GAAP consistently applied and in accordance with Parent’s past practices. Parent’s receivables arising after the date of the Parent Balance Sheet and prior to the Closing Date arose or will arise in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, and have been collected or are collectible in the book amounts thereof, less reasonable allowances for doubtful accounts determined in accordance with Parent’s past practices. To Parent’s knowledge, none of its receivables is subject to any material claim of setoff, recoupment or counter claim and it has no knowledge of any specific facts or circumstances (whether asserted or unasserted) that could give rise to any such claim. No material amount of receivables are contingent upon the performance by Parent of any obligation or contract other than normal warranty repair and replacement. No person has any Encumbrance on any of such receivables and no agreement for deduction or discount has been made with respect to any of such receivables.

      3.9     Intellectual Property. For purposes of this Agreement, the following terms shall have the definitions set forth below:

“Parent Intellectual Property Rights” means all intellectual property rights used by the Parent and its subsidiaries in the conduct of their business, including, without limitation: (i) all trademarks, service marks, trade names, Internet domain names, trade dress, and the goodwill associated therewith, and all registrations or applications for registration thereof (collectively, the “Parent Marks”); (ii) all patents, patent applications and continuations (collectively, the “Parent Patents”); (iii) all copyrights, database rights and moral rights in both published works and unpublished works, including all such rights in software, user and training manuals, marketing and promotional materials, internal reports, business plans and any other expressions, mask works, firmware and videos, whether registered or unregistered, and all registrations or applications for registration thereof (collectively, the “Parent Copyrights”); and (iv) trade secret and confidential information, including such rights in inventions (whether or not reduced to practice), know-how, customer lists, technical information, proprietary information, technologies, processes and formulae, software, data, plans, drawings and blue prints, whether tangible or intangible and whether stored, compiled, or memorialized physically, electronically, photographically, or otherwise (collectively, the “Parent Secret Information”).

(a) Parent or one of its subsidiaries: (i) owns all right, title and interest in and to the Parent Intellectual Property Rights, free and clear of all Encumbrances, or (ii) is licensed to use, or otherwise possesses legally valid and enforceable rights to use, the Parent Intellectual Property Rights that it does not so own. Parent and its Subsidiaries have made all necessary filings, recordations and payments to protect and maintain their interests in the Parent Intellectual Property Rights owned by or licensed to Parent except where the failure to make such filings, recordations or payments would not have a Material Adverse Effect. No person has notified Parent or any subsidiary of any claim that any of the products, services or technology used, sold, offered for sale or licensed or proposed for use, sale, offer for sale or license by Parent or any of its subsidiaries infringes any intellectual property rights of any person.

(b) All material contracts, licenses and agreements relating to the Parent Intellectual Property Rights are in full force and effect. The consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement will neither violate nor result in the breach, modification, cancellation, termination, or suspension of such contracts, licenses and agreements. Parent and each of its subsidiaries are in material compliance with, and have not materially breached any term of any of such contracts, licenses and agreements and, to the knowledge of Parent and its subsidiaries, all other parties to such contracts, licenses and agreements are in compliance in all material respects with, and have not materially breached any term of, such contracts, licenses and agreements.

      3.10     Compliance with Laws. Neither Parent nor any of its subsidiaries is in conflict with, or in default or violation of (i) any law, rule, regulation, order, judgment or decree applicable to Parent or any of its subsidiaries or by which Parent or any of its subsidiaries or any of their respective properties is materially bound or affected, or (ii) any note, bond, mortgage, indenture, contract, agreement, lease, license, permit, franchise or other instrument or obligation to which Parent or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which Parent or any of its subsidiaries or its or any of their respective properties is bound or affected, except for conflicts, violations and defaults that, individually or in the aggregate, would not cause Parent to lose any material benefit or incur any material liability. No investigation or review by any Governmental Entity is pending or, to Parent’s knowledge, has been threatened in a writing delivered to Parent against Parent or any of its subsidiaries, nor, to Parent’s knowledge, has any Governmental Entity indicated an intention to conduct an investigation of Parent or any of its subsidiaries. There is no agreement, judgment, injunction, order or decree binding upon Parent or any of its subsidiaries which has or could reasonably be expected to have the effect of prohibiting or materially impairing any business practice of Parent or any of its subsidiaries, any acquisition of material property by Parent or any of its subsidiaries or the conduct of business by Parent and its subsidiaries as currently conducted.

(b) Parent and its subsidiaries hold all permits, licenses, variances, exemptions, orders and approvals from Governmental Entity that are material to or required for the operation of the business of Parent and of its subsidiaries as currently conducted (collectively, the “Parent Permits”). Parent and its subsidiaries are in compliance, in all material respects, with the terms of Parent Permits.

      3.11     Brokers’ and Finders’ Fees. Except for fees payable to SG Cowen & Co., LLC, Parent has not incurred, nor will it incur, directly or indirectly, any liability for brokerage or finders’ fees or agents’ commissions or any similar charges in connection with this Agreement or any transaction contemplated hereby.

      3.12     Tax-Free Reorganization. To Parent’s knowledge, there is no fact or circumstance, and Parent has no present plan or intention, that would be reasonably likely to prevent the Merger from qualifying as a “reorganization” pursuant to the provisions of Section 368 of the Code.

ARTICLE 4

CONDUCT PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE TIME

      4.1     Conduct of Business by the Company. During the period from the date of this Agreement and continuing until the earlier of the termination of this Agreement pursuant to its terms or the Effective Time, the Company and each of its subsidiaries shall, except to the extent that Parent shall otherwise consent in writing, carry on its business in the usual, regular and ordinary course, in substantially the same manner as heretofore conducted and in compliance in all material respects with all applicable laws and regulations, pay its debts and Taxes in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, subject to good faith disputes over such debts or Taxes, pay or perform other material obligations in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice, and use its commercially reasonable efforts, consistent with past practice to (i) preserve intact its present business organization, (ii) keep available the services of its present officers and employees, (iii) collect its accounts receivable and any other amounts payable to it when due and otherwise enforce any obligations owed to it by others substantially in accordance with their terms, and (iv) preserve its relationships with customers, suppliers, licensors,

licensees, and others with which it has business dealings. In addition, the Company will promptly notify Parent of any material event involving its business or operations.

      In addition, except as permitted by the terms of this Agreement, without the prior written consent of Parent, during the period from the date of this Agreement and continuing until the earlier of the termination of this Agreement pursuant to its terms or the Effective Time, the Company shall not do any of the following and shall not permit its subsidiaries to do any of the following:

(a) Waive any stock repurchase rights, accelerate, amend or change the period of exercisability of options or repurchase of restricted stock, or reprice options granted to any employee, consultant, director or authorize cash payments in exchange for any options or take any such action with regard to any warrant or other right to acquire the Company’s capital stock;

(b) Grant any severance or termination pay to any officer or employee except pursuant to written agreements in effect, or policies existing, on the date hereof and as previously disclosed in writing to Parent, or adopt any new severance plan;

(c) Transfer or license to any person or entity or otherwise extend, amend or modify in any material respect any rights to the Company Intellectual Property, other than non-exclusive licenses in the ordinary course of business and consistent with past practice;

(d) Declare, set aside or pay any dividends on or make any other distributions (whether in cash, stock, equity securities or property) in respect of any capital stock or split, combine or reclassify any capital stock or issue or authorize the issuance of any other securities in respect of, in lieu of or in substitution for any capital stock;

(e) Purchase, redeem or otherwise acquire, directly or indirectly, any shares of capital stock of the Company or its subsidiaries, except repurchases of unvested shares at cost in connection with the termination of the employment relationship with any employee pursuant to option agreements or purchase agreements in effect on the date hereof;

(f) Issue, deliver, sell, authorize, pledge or otherwise encumber any shares of capital stock or any securities convertible into shares of capital stock, or subscriptions, rights, warrants or options to acquire any shares of capital stock or any securities convertible into shares of capital stock, or enter into other agreements or commitments of any character obligating it to issue any such shares or convertible securities, other than the issuance, delivery and/or sale of (i) shares of Company Common Stock pursuant to the exercise of Company Options and Company Warrants, (ii) shares of Company Common Stock issuable to participants in the Company ESPP consistent with the terms thereof and (iii) options granted to employees at exercise prices not less than the fair market value of the Company Common Stock on the date of grant, providing for vesting over a four year period with 25% vesting after one year and thereafter ratably monthly, not to exceed in the aggregate options to acquire 150,000 shares of Company Common Stock;

(g) Cause, permit or propose any amendments to the Company Charter Documents or to the charter documents of any subsidiary;

(h) Acquire or agree to acquire by merging or consolidating with, or by purchasing any equity interest in or a portion of the assets of, or by any other manner, any business or any corporation, partnership, association or other business organization or division thereof; or otherwise acquire or agree to acquire any assets which are material, individually or in the aggregate, to the business of the Company or enter into any material joint ventures, strategic relationships or alliances or make any material loan or advance to, or investment in, any person, except for loans or capital contributions to a subsidiary or advances of routine business or travel expenses to employees, officers or directors in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice;

(i) Sell, lease, license, encumber or otherwise dispose of any properties or assets which are material, individually or in the aggregate, to the business of the Company;

(j) Incur any indebtedness for borrowed money or guarantee any such indebtedness of another person, issue or sell any debt securities or options, warrants, calls or other rights to acquire any debt securities of the Company, enter into any “keep well” or other agreement to maintain any financial statement condition or enter into any arrangement having the economic effect of any of the foregoing other than (i) in connection with the financing of ordinary course trade payables consistent with past practice or (ii) pursuant to existing credit facilities in the ordinary course of business;

(k) Adopt or amend any employee benefit plan or employee stock purchase or employee stock option plan, or enter into any employment contract or collective bargaining agreement (other than offer letters and letter agreements entered into in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice with employees who are terminable “at will”), pay any special bonus or special remuneration to any director or employee, or increase the salaries or wage rates or fringe benefits (including rights to severance or indemnification) of its directors, officers, employees or consultants other than in the ordinary course of business, consistent with past practice, or change in any material respect any management policies or procedures;

(l) Make any capital expenditures outside of the ordinary course of business in excess of $50,000 in the aggregate;

(m) Modify, amend or terminate any Company Contract or other material contract or agreement to which the Company or any subsidiary thereof is a party or waive, release or assign any material rights or claims thereunder; provided, that (i) the renewal in the ordinary course of business of any software maintenance agreement that is in force on the date of this Agreement, which renewal is on terms substantially as favorable to the Company as those of the agreement currently in force, shall not be deemed to constitute a modification or amendment prohibited by this clause (m); and (ii) the consent of Parent to any such modification, amendment or termination shall not unreasonably be withheld or delayed; and (iii) failure of Parent to notify the Company in writing (which notice may be made via electronic communication, including email) within one business day of receipt from the Company of a written request for consent (which request may be made via electronic communication, including email), specifying in reasonable detail the proposed terms of any such modification, amendment, or termination that Parent’s consent is withheld, shall constitute consent to such modification, amendment or termination for purposes of this clause (m);

(n) Enter into any development services, licensing, distribution, sales, sales representation or other similar agreement or obligation with respect to any material Intellectual Property or enter into any contract of a character required to be disclosed by Section 2.14 other than such agreements entered into in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practices;

(o) Materially revalue any of its assets or, except as required by GAAP, make any change in accounting methods, principles or practices;

(p) Discharge, settle or satisfy any disputed claim, litigation, arbitration, disputed liability or other controversy (absolute, accrued, asserted or unasserted, contingent or otherwise), including any liability for Taxes, other than the discharge or satisfaction in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice, or in accordance with their terms, of liabilities reflected or reserved against in the Company Balance Sheet or incurred since June 30, 2004 in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice, or waive any material benefits of, or agree to modify in any material respect, any confidentiality, standstill or similar agreements to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party; provided, however, that the discharge or settlement of any disputed claim, liability or other controversy in the amount of less than $50,000 shall not be deemed to be prohibited by the foregoing;

(q) Take any action that would be reasonably likely to interfere with the treatment of the Merger as a “reorganization” within the meaning of Section 368 of the Code;

(r) Engage in any action with the intent to directly or indirectly adversely affect any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, including with respect to any “poison pill” or similar

plan, agreement or arrangement, or any anti-takeover, control share acquisition, fair price, moratorium or other similar statute; or

(s) Agree in writing or otherwise to take any of the actions described in Section 4.1(a) through 4.1(r) above.

      4.2     Covenants of Parent. During the period from the date of this Agreement and continuing until the earlier of the termination of this Agreement or the Effective Time, and with respect to Section 4.2(b), prior to and after the Effective Time, Parent agrees (except as expressly contemplated by this Agreement or with Company’s prior written consent) that:

(a) Parent will promptly apply for or otherwise seek, and use its commercially reasonably best efforts to obtain, all consents and approvals, and make all filings, required for the consummation of the Merger.

(b) Parent will not take any action that would be reasonably likely to interfere with the treatment of the Merger as a “reorganization” within the meaning of Section 368 of the Code.

(c) Agree in writing or otherwise to take any of the actions described in Sections 4.2(a) and 4.2(b).

ARTICLE 5

ADDITIONAL AGREEMENTS

      5.1     Proxy Statement/ Prospectus; Registration Statement; Antitrust and Other Filings.

      (a) As promptly as practicable after the execution of this Agreement, the Company and Parent will prepare and file with the SEC the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, and Parent will prepare and file with the SEC the Registration Statement in which the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus will be included as a prospectus. Each of the Company and Parent will respond to any comments of the SEC, will use its respective commercially reasonable efforts to have the Registration Statement declared effective under the Securities Act as promptly as practicable after such filing and will cause the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus to be mailed to its respective shareholders at the earliest practicable time after the Registration Statement is declared effective by the SEC.

      (b) As promptly as practicable after the execution of this Agreement, each of the Company and Parent will prepare and file any pre-merger notification forms required by the merger notification or control laws and regulations of any applicable jurisdiction, as agreed to by the parties (the “Antitrust Filings”) and (ii) any other filings required to be filed by it under the Exchange Act, the Securities Act or any other federal, state or foreign laws relating to the Merger and the transactions contemplated by this Agreement (the “Other Filings”). The Company and Parent each shall promptly supply the other with any information which may be required in order to effectuate any filings pursuant to this Section 5.1.

      (c) Each of the Company and Parent will notify the other promptly upon the receipt of any comments from the SEC or its staff or any other government officials in connection with any filing made pursuant hereto and of any request by the SEC or its staff or any other government officials for amendments or supplements to the Registration Statement, the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus or any Antitrust Filings or Other Filings or for additional information and will supply the other with copies of all correspondence between such party or any of its representatives, on the one hand, and the SEC, or its staff or any other government officials, on the other hand, with respect to the Registration Statement, the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, the Merger or any Antitrust Filing or Other Filing. Each of the Company and Parent will cause all documents that it is responsible for filing with the SEC or other regulatory authorities under this Section 5.1 to comply in all material respects with all applicable requirements of law and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. Whenever any event occurs which is required to be set forth in an amendment or supplement to the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, the Registration Statement or any Antitrust Filing or Other Filing, the Company or Parent, as the case may be, will promptly inform the

other of such occurrence and cooperate in filing with the SEC or its staff or any other government officials, and/or mailing to shareholders of the Company and/or Parent, such amendment or supplement.

      5.2     Meetings of Shareholders.

      (a) Promptly after the date hereof, (i) the Company will take all action necessary in accordance with the WBCA and its Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws to convene the Company Shareholders’ Meeting to be held as promptly as practicable, and in any event (to the extent permissible under applicable law) within 45 days after the declaration of effectiveness of the Registration Statement, for the purpose of voting upon approval and adoption of this Agreement and approval of the Merger, and (ii) Parent will take all action necessary in accordance with the Delaware Law and its Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws to convene the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting to be held as promptly as practicable, and in any event (to the extent permissible under applicable law) within 45 days after the declaration of effectiveness of the Registration Statement, for the purpose of voting to authorize the issuance of the shares of Parent Common Stock pursuant to the Merger, to the extent required by the rules of the Nasdaq Stock Market. Parent and the Company shall consult with each other and use all reasonable efforts to hold the Company Shareholder Meeting and the Parent Shareholder Meeting on the same day. Subject to Section 5.2(c), the Company will use its commercially reasonable efforts to solicit from its shareholders proxies in favor of the adoption and approval of this Agreement and the approval of the Merger and will take all other action necessary or advisable to secure the vote or consent of its shareholders required by the rules of the Nasdaq Stock Market or the WBCA to obtain such approvals. The Company may adjourn or postpone the Company Shareholders’ Meeting to the extent necessary to ensure that any necessary supplement or amendment to the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus is provided to the Company’s shareholders in advance of a vote on the issuance of Parent Common Stock pursuant to the Merger or, if as of the time for which the Company Shareholders’ Meeting is originally scheduled (as set forth in the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus) there are insufficient shares of Company Common Stock represented (either in person or by proxy) to constitute a quorum necessary to conduct the business of the Company Shareholders’ Meeting. Parent may adjourn or postpone the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting to the extent necessary to ensure that any necessary supplement or amendment to the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus is provided to Parent’s shareholders in advance of a vote on the issuance of the shares of Parent Common Stock pursuant to the Merger and this Agreement or, if as of the time for which the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting is originally scheduled (as set forth in the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus) there are insufficient shares of Parent Common Stock represented (either in person or by proxy) to constitute a quorum necessary to conduct the business of the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting. The Company shall ensure that the Company Shareholders’ Meeting is called, noticed, convened, held and conducted, and that all proxies solicited by the Company in connection with the Company Shareholders’ Meeting are solicited, in compliance with the WBCA, its Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws, the applicable rules of the Nasdaq Stock Market and all other applicable legal requirements. Parent shall ensure that the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting is called, noticed, convened, held and conducted, and that all proxies solicited by Parent in connection with the Parent Shareholders’ Meeting are solicited, in compliance with the Delaware Law, its Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws, the applicable rules of the Nasdaq Stock Market and all other applicable legal requirements. The Company’s obligation to call, give notice of, convene and hold the Company Shareholders’ Meeting in accordance with this Section 5.2(a) shall not be limited or otherwise affected by the commencement, disclosure, announcement or submission to the Company of any Acquisition Proposal or Superior Offer (each as defined below), or by any withdrawal, amendment or modification of the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the Company with respect to this Agreement or the Merger, and the Company Shareholders’ Meeting shall be called, noticed, convened and held prior to the calling, noticing, convening or holding of any meeting of the Company’s shareholders to consider approval of any Acquisition Proposal or Superior Offer.

      (b) Subject to Section 5.2(c): (i) the Board of Directors of the Company shall recommend that the Company’s shareholders vote in favor of and adopt and approve this Agreement and approve the Merger at the Company Shareholders’ Meeting; (ii) the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus shall include a statement to the effect that the Board of Directors of Company has recommended that the Company’s shareholders vote in

favor of and adopt and approve this Agreement and the Merger at the Company Shareholders’ Meeting; and (iii) neither the Board of Directors of Company nor any committee thereof shall withdraw, amend or modify, or propose or resolve to withdraw, amend or modify in a manner adverse to Parent, the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the Company that the Company’s shareholders vote in favor of and adopt and approve this Agreement and the Merger.

      (c) Nothing in this Agreement shall prevent the Board of Directors of the Company from withholding, withdrawing, amending or modifying its recommendation in favor of the Merger if (i) a Superior Offer (as defined below) is made to the Company and is not withdrawn, (ii) the Company shall have provided written notice to Parent (a “Notice of Superior Offer”) advising Parent that the Company has received a Superior Offer, specifying all of the material terms and conditions of such Superior Offer and identifying the person or entity making such Superior Offer, (iii) Parent shall not, within five (5) business days of Parent’s receipt of the Notice of Superior Offer, have made an offer that the Company’s Board of Directors by a majority vote determines in its reasonable judgment (based on the written advice of Broadview International or another financial advisor of national standing) to be at least as favorable to the Company’s shareholders as such Superior Offer (it being agreed that the Board of Directors of the Company shall promptly following the receipt of any such order convene a meeting at which it will consider such offer in good faith), (iv) the Board of Directors of the Company reasonably concludes, after consultation with its outside counsel, that, in light of such Superior Offer, the withholding, withdrawal, amendment or modification of such recommendation is required in order for the Board of Directors of the Company to comply with its fiduciary obligations to the Company’s shareholders under applicable law and (v) the Company shall not have violated any of the restrictions set forth in Section 5.4 or Section 5.2(a). The Company shall provide Parent with at least three business days prior notice (or such lesser prior notice as provided to the members of the Company’s Board of Directors but in no event less than twenty-four hours) of any meeting of the Company’s Board of Directors at which the Company’s Board of Directors is reasonably expected to consider any Acquisition Proposal (as defined in Section 5.4) to determine whether such Acquisition Proposal is a Superior Offer. Nothing contained in this Section 5.2(c) shall limit the Company’s obligation to hold and convene the Company Shareholders’ Meeting (regardless of whether the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the Company shall have been withdrawn, amended or modified).

      For purposes of this Agreement, “Superior Offer” shall mean an unsolicited, bona fide written offer made by a third party to consummate any of the following transactions: (i) a merger or consolidation involving the Company pursuant to which the shareholders of the Company immediately preceding such transaction hold less than 50% of the equity interest in the surviving or resulting entity of such transaction or (ii) the acquisition by any person or “group” (as defined under Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations thereunder) (including by way of a tender offer or an exchange offer or a two step transaction involving a tender offer followed with reasonable promptness by a cash-out merger involving the Company), directly or indirectly, of ownership of 100% of the then outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company, on terms that the Board of Directors of the Company determines, in its reasonable judgment (based on the written advice of Broadview International or another financial advisor of national standing) to be more favorable to the Company shareholders than the terms of the Merger; provided, however, that any such offer shall not be deemed to be a “Superior Offer” unless any financing is required to consummate the transaction contemplated by such offer is committed, or unless the Company’s Board of Directors shall reasonably conclude (based on the advice of Broadview International or another financial advisor of national standing) that such financing is likely to be obtained by such third party on a timely basis.

      (d) Nothing contained in this Agreement shall prohibit the Company or its Board of Directors from disclosing to its shareholders a position contemplated by Rules 14d-9 and 14e-2(a) promulgated under the Exchange Act, if, in the good faith judgment of the Company’s Board of Directors, after consultation with and advice from its outside counsel, is required in order for the Board of Directors to comply with its fiduciary obligations, or is otherwise required, under applicable law.

      5.3     Confidentiality; Access to Information.

      (a) The parties acknowledge that the Company and Parent have previously executed that certain Bilateral Non-Disclosure Agreement, dated as of November 12, 2003 (the “Confidentiality Agreement”), which Confidentiality Agreement will continue in full force and effect in accordance with its terms.

      (b) Access to Information. Parent, on the one hand, and the Company, on the other, will afford the other party and the other party’s accountants, counsel and other representatives reasonable access to its properties, books, records and personnel during the period prior to the Effective Time to obtain all information concerning the business, including the status of product development efforts, properties, results of operations and personnel, as the other party may reasonably request. No information or knowledge obtained by a party in any investigation pursuant to this Section 5.3 will affect or be deemed to modify any representation or warranty contained herein or the conditions to the obligations of the parties to consummate the Merger.

      5.4     No Solicitation.

      (a) From and after the date of this Agreement until the Effective Time or termination of this Agreement pursuant its terms, the Company and its subsidiaries will not, nor will they authorize or permit any of their respective officers, directors, affiliates or employees or any investment banker, attorney or other advisor or representative retained by any of them to, directly or indirectly, (i) solicit, initiate, encourage or induce the making, submission or announcement of any Acquisition Proposal (as hereinafter defined), (ii) participate in any discussions or negotiations regarding, or furnish to any person any nonpublic information with respect to, or take any other action to facilitate any inquiries or the making of any proposal that constitutes, or may reasonably be expected to lead to, any Acquisition Proposal, (iii) engage in discussions with any person with respect to any Acquisition Proposal, except to refer them to the provisions of this Section 5.4(a), (iv) approve, endorse or recommend any Acquisition Proposal or (v) enter into any letter of intent or similar document or any contract, agreement or commitment contemplating or otherwise relating to any Acquisition Proposal; provided, however, that prior to the approval of this Agreement and the Merger at the Company Shareholders’ Meeting, this Section 5.4(a) shall not prohibit the Company from furnishing nonpublic information regarding the Company and its subsidiaries to, or entering into discussions with, any person or group who has submitted (and not withdrawn) to the Company an unsolicited, written, bona fide Acquisition Proposal that the Board of Directors of the Company reasonably concludes (based on the written advice of Broadview International or another financial advisor of national standing) constitutes, or is likely to lead to, a Superior Offer; provided that (1) neither the Company nor any representative of the Company and its subsidiaries shall have violated any of the restrictions set forth in this Section 5.4, (2) the Board of Directors of the Company concludes in good faith, after consultation with its outside legal counsel, that such action is required in order for the Board of Directors of the Company to comply with its fiduciary obligations to the Company’s shareholders under applicable law, (3) prior to furnishing any such nonpublic information to, or entering into any such discussions with, such person or group, the Company gives Parent written notice of the identity of such person or group and all of the material terms and conditions of such Acquisition Proposal and of the Company’s intention to furnish nonpublic information to, or enter into discussions with, such person or group, and the Company receives from such person or group an executed confidentiality agreement containing terms at least as restrictive with regard to the Company’s confidential information as the Confidentiality Agreement, (4) the Company gives Parent at least three business days advance notice of its intent to furnish such nonpublic information or enter into such discussions, and (5) contemporaneously with furnishing any such nonpublic information to such person or group, the Company furnishes such nonpublic information to Parent (to the extent such nonpublic information has not been previously furnished by the Company to Parent). The Company and its subsidiaries will immediately cease any and all existing activities, discussions or negotiations with any parties conducted heretofore with respect to any Acquisition Proposal. Without limiting the foregoing, it is understood that any violation of the restrictions set forth in the preceding two sentences by any officer, director or employee of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any investment banker, attorney or other advisor or representative of the Company or any of its subsidiaries shall be deemed to be a breach of this Section 5.4 by the Company.

      For purposes of this Agreement, “Acquisition Proposal” shall mean any offer or proposal (other than an offer or proposal by Parent) relating to, or involving: (A) any acquisition or purchase by any person or “group” (as defined under Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations thereunder) of more than a 15% beneficial ownership interest in the total outstanding voting securities of Company or any of its subsidiaries; (B) any tender offer or exchange offer that if consummated would result in any person or “group” (as defined under Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations thereunder) beneficially owning 15% or more of the total outstanding voting securities of the Company or any of its subsidiaries; (C) any merger, consolidation, business combination or similar transaction involving the Company pursuant to which the shareholders of the Company immediately preceding such transaction hold less than 85% of the equity interests in the surviving or resulting entity of such transaction; (D) any sale, lease, exchange, transfer, license (other than in the ordinary course of business), acquisition, or disposition of any material assets of the Company; or (E) any liquidation or dissolution of the Company.

      (b) In addition to the obligations of the Company set forth in paragraph (a) of this Section 5.4, the Company as promptly as practicable, and in any event within 24 hours of its receipt, shall advise Parent orally and in writing of an Acquisition Proposal or any request for nonpublic information or other inquiry which the Company reasonably believes could lead to an Acquisition Proposal, the material terms and conditions of such Acquisition Proposal, request orinquiry, and the identity of the person or group making any such Acquisition Proposal, request or inquiry. The Company will keep Parent informed as promptly as practicable in all material respects of the status and details (including material amendments or proposed amendments) of any such Acquisition Proposal, request or inquiry.

      5.5     Public Disclosure. Parent and the Company will consult with each other, and to the extent practicable, agree, before issuing any press release or otherwise making any public statement with respect to the Merger, this Agreement or an Acquisition Proposal and will not issue any such press release or make any such public statement prior to such consultation, except as may be required by law or any listing agreement with a national securities exchange.

      5.6     Reasonable Efforts; Notification.

      (a) Upon the terms and subject to the conditions set forth in this Agreement, each of the parties agrees to use all commercially reasonable efforts to take, or cause to be taken, all actions, and to do, or cause to be done, and to assist and cooperate with the other parties in doing, all things necessary, proper or advisable to consummate and make effective, in the most expeditious manner practicable, the Merger and the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement, including using all commercially reasonable efforts to accomplish the following: (i) causing the conditions precedent set forth in Article 6 to be satisfied, (ii) obtaining all necessary actions or nonactions, waivers, consents, approvals, orders and authorizations from Governmental Entities and making of all necessary registrations, declarations and filings (including registrations, declarations and filings with Governmental Entities) and taking all steps that may be necessary to avoid any suit, claim, action, investigation or proceeding by any Governmental Entity, (iii) obtaining all necessary consents, approvals or waivers from third parties, (iv) defending any suits, claims, actions, investigations or proceedings, whether judicial or administrative, challenging this Agreement or the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby, including seeking to have any stay or temporary restraining order entered by any court or other Governmental Entity vacated or reversed and (v) executing and delivering any additional instruments necessary to consummate the transactions contemplated by, and to fully carry out the purposes of, this Agreement. Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the contrary, neither Parent nor any of its affiliates shall be under any obligation to make proposals, execute or carry out agreements or submit to orders providing for the sale or other disposition or holding separate (through the establishment of a trust or otherwise) of any assets or categories of assets of Parent or any of its affiliates or the Company or any of its subsidiaries or the holding separate of the shares of Company Common Stock (or shares of stock of the Surviving Corporation) or imposing or seeking to impose any limitation on the ability of Parent or any of its subsidiaries or affiliates to conduct their business or own such assets or to acquire, hold or exercise full rights of ownership of the shares of Company Common Stock (or shares of stock of the Surviving Corporation).

      (b) Each of the Company and Parent will give prompt notice to the other of (i) any notice or other communication from any person alleging that the consent of such person is or may be required in connection with the Merger, (ii) any notice or other communication from any Governmental Entity in connection with the Merger, (iii) any litigation relating to, involving or otherwise affecting the Company, Parent or their respective subsidiaries that relates to the consummation of the Merger. The Company shall give prompt notice to Parent of any representation or warranty made by it contained in this Agreement becoming untrue or inaccurate, or any failure of the Company to comply with or satisfy in any material respect any covenant, condition or agreement to be complied with or satisfied by it under this Agreement; provided, however, that no such notification shall affect the representations, warranties, covenants or agreements of the parties or the conditions to the obligations of the parties under this Agreement. Parent shall give prompt notice to the Company of any representation or warranty made by it or Merger Sub contained in this Agreement becoming untrue or inaccurate, or any failure of Parent or Merger Sub to comply with or satisfy in any material respect any covenant, condition or agreement to be complied with or satisfied by it under this Agreement; provided, however, that no such notification shall affect the representations, warranties, covenants or agreements of the parties or the conditions to the obligations of the parties under this Agreement.

      (c) The Company shall give prompt notice to Parent of receipt by the Company of any demand for appraisal rights pursuant to 23B.13 of the WBCA.

      5.7     Third Party Consents. As soon as practicable following the date hereof, Parent and the Company will each use all commercially reasonable efforts to obtain any consents, waivers and approvals under any of its or its subsidiaries’ respective agreements, contracts, licenses or leases required to be obtained in connection with the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

      5.8     Stock Options; Warrants and ESPP.

      At the Effective Time, each outstanding In-the-Money Company Option will be assumed by Parent. Each Company Option so assumed by Parent under this Agreement will continue to have, and be subject to, the same terms and conditions set forth in the applicable Company Stock Option Plan, if any, pursuant to which the Company Option was issued and any option agreement between the Company and the optionee with regard to the Company Option immediately prior to the Effective Time, except that (i) each Company Option will be exercisable for that number of whole shares of Parent Common Stock equal to the product of the number of shares of Company Common Stock that were issuable upon exercise of such Company Option immediately prior to the Effective Time multiplied by the Exchange Ratio, rounded down to the nearest whole number of shares of Parent Common Stock and (ii) the per share exercise price for the shares of Parent Common Stock issuable upon exercise of such assumed Company Option will be equal to the quotient determined by dividing the exercise price per share of Company Common Stock at which such Company Option was exercisable immediately prior to the Effective Time by the Exchange Ratio, rounded up to the nearest whole cent.

(a) It is intended that Company Options assumed by Parent shall qualify following the Effective Time as incentive stock options as defined in Section 422 of the Code to the extent Company Options qualified as incentive stock options immediately prior to the Effective Time and the provisions of this Section 5.8 shall be applied consistent with such intent.

(b) At the Effective Time, each outstanding In-the-Money Company Warrant will be assumed by Parent. Each Company Warrant so assumed by Parent under this Agreement will continue to have, and be subject to, the same terms and conditions set forth in the applicable Company Warrant immediately prior to the Effective Time, except that (i) each Company Warrant will be exercisable for that number of whole shares of Parent Common Stock equal to the product of the number of shares of Company Common Stock that were issuable upon exercise of such Company Warrant immediately prior to the Effective Time multiplied by the Exchange Ratio, rounded down to the nearest whole number of shares of Parent Common Stock and (ii) the per share exercise price for the shares of Parent Common Stock issuable upon exercise of such assumed Company Warrant will be equal to the quotient determined by dividing the exercise price per share of Company Common Stock

at which such Company Warrant was exercisable immediately prior to the Effective Time by the Exchange Ratio, rounded up to the nearest whole cent.

(c) The Company shall take all actions necessary pursuant to the terms of the Company ESPP in order to shorten the participation period(s) under such plan which includes the Effective Time (the “Current Offerings”) such that a new purchase date for each such participation period shall occur prior to the Effective Time and shares shall be purchased by the Company ESPP participants prior to the Effective Time. The Current Offerings shall expire immediately following such new purchase date, and the Company ESPP shall terminate immediately prior to the Effective Time. Subsequent to such new purchase date, the Company shall take no action, pursuant to the terms of the Company ESPP, to commence any new offering period.

      5.9     Form S-8. Parent agrees to file a registration statement on Form S-8 for the shares of Parent Common Stock issuable with respect to assumed Company Options promptly, but in no event later than five business days, following the Effective Time and shall maintain the effectiveness of such registration statement thereafter for so long as any of such options or other rights remain outstanding.

      5.10     Indemnification. From and after the Effective Time, Parent will cause the Surviving Corporation to fulfill and honor in all respects the obligations of the Company pursuant to any indemnification agreements between the Company and its directors and officers as of the Effective Time (the “Indemnified Parties”) and any indemnification provisions under Company’s Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws as in effect on the date hereof. The Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the Surviving Corporation will contain provisions with respect to exculpation and indemnification that are at least as favorable to the Indemnified Parties as those contained in the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the Company as in effect on the date hereof, which provisions will not be amended, repealed or otherwise modified for a period of six (6) years from the Effective Time in any manner that would adversely affect the rights thereunder of individuals who, immediately prior to the Effective Time, were directors, officers, employees or agents of the Company, unless such modification is required by law. This Section 5.10 shall survive the consummation of the Merger, is intended to benefit the Surviving Corporation and each Indemnified Party, shall be binding on all successors and assigns of the Surviving Corporation and Parent, and shall be enforceable by the Indemnified Parties. For a period of six years after the Effective Time, Parent will cause the Surviving Corporation to use its commercially reasonable efforts to maintain in effect, if available, directors’ and officers’ liability insurance covering those persons who are currently covered by the Company’s directors’ and officers’ liability insurance policy on terms (including coverage) not substantially less advantageous than those applicable to the directors and officers of the Company on the date of this Agreement; provided, however, that in no event will Parent or the Surviving Corporation be required to expend an annual premium for such coverage in excess of 150% of the annual premium currently paid by the Company.

      5.11     Nasdaq Listing. Parent agrees to authorize for listing on the Nasdaq National Market or, if the shares of Parent Common Stock are then listed on the Nasdaq Small Cap Market, on such market, the shares of Parent Common Stock issuable, and those required to be reserved for issuance, in connection with the Merger, effective upon official notice of issuance.

      5.12     Rights Agreement; Takeover Statutes. The Board of Directors of Parent shall take such action necessary in order to render the Rights inapplicable to the Merger, and the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement. If any anti-takeover, control share acquisition, fair price, moratorium or other similar statute is or may become applicable to the Merger or the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement, each of Parent and Company and their respective Boards of Directors shall grant such approvals and take such lawful actions as are necessary to ensure that such transactions may be consummated as promptly as practicable on the terms contemplated by this Agreement and otherwise act to eliminate or minimize the effects of such statute and any regulations promulgated thereunder on such transactions.

      5.13     Certain Employee Benefits. As soon as practicable after the execution of this Agreement, the Company and Parent shall confer and work together in good faith to agree upon mutually acceptable

employee benefit and compensation arrangements (and terminate the Company Employee Plans immediately prior to the Effective Time if appropriate). In addition, the Company agrees that it and its subsidiaries shall terminate its and their 401(k) plans and, at the request of Parent, any other Employee Plans, severance, separation, retention and salary continuation plans, programs or arrangements, in each case prior to the Effective Time. Parent shall, to the extent permitted by any employee benefit plan or program sponsored or maintained by Parent or any affiliate thereof (including, with limitation, the Company after the Effective Time), give Employees credit for their service with the Company both prior to and after the Effective Time for purposes of determining eligibility to participate in and vesting or accrual in such plan or program.

      5.14     Company Affiliates; Restrictive Legend. Parent will give stop transfer instructions to its transfer agent with respect to any Parent Common Stock received pursuant to the Merger by any Company Affiliate, and there will be placed on the certificates representing such Parent Common Stock, or any substitutions therefor, a legend stating in substance:

THE SHARES REPRESENTED BY THIS CERTIFICATE WERE ISSUED IN A TRANSACTION TO WHICH RULE 145 PROMULGATED UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, APPLIES AND MAY BE TRANSFERRED ONLY (A) IN CONFORMITY WITH RULE 145(D) UNDER SUCH ACT, (B) IN ACCORDANCE WITH A WRITTEN OPINION OF COUNSEL, REASONABLY ACCEPTABLE TO THE ISSUER, IN FORM AND SUBSTANCE REASONABLY ACCEPTABLE TO THE ISSUER THAT THE TRANSFER IS EXEMPT FROM THE REGISTRATION AND PROSPECTUS DELIVERY REQUIREMENTS OF THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED.

      5.15     Letter of Company’s Accountants. The Company shall use all reasonable efforts to cause to be delivered to Parent a letter of KPMG LLP, the Company’s independent accountants, dated no more than two business days before the date on which the Registration Statement becomes effective (and satisfactory in form and substance to Parent), that is customary in scope and substance for letters delivered by independent public accountants in connection with registration statements similar to the Registration Statement.

      5.16     Section 16. Provided that the Company delivers to Parent the Section 16 Information (as defined below) in a timely fashion, the Board of Directors of Parent, or a committee of two or more Non-Employee Directors thereof (as such term is defined for purposes of Rule 16b-3 under the Exchange Act), shall adopt resolutions prior to the consummation of the Merger, providing that the receipt by the Company Insiders (as defined below) of the Parent Common Stock upon conversion of the Company Common Stock, and of options for Parent Common Stock upon conversion of the Company Options, in each case pursuant to the transactions contemplated hereby and to the extent such securities are listed in the Section 16 Information, are intended to be exempt from liability pursuant to Section 16(b) under the Exchange Act. Such resolutions shall comply with the approval conditions of Rule 16b-3 under the Exchange Act for purposes of such Section 16(b) exemption, including, but not limited to, specifying the name of the Company Insiders, the number of securities to be acquired or disposed of for each such person, the material terms of any derivative securities, and that the approval is intended to make the receipt of such securities exempt pursuant to Rule 16b-3(d).

      “Section 16 Information” shall mean information regarding the Company Insiders, the number of shares of the Company Common Stock held by each such Company Insider and expected to be exchanged for Parent Common Stock in connection with the Merger, and the number and description of the Company Options held by each such Company Insider and expected to be converted into options for Parent Common Stock in connection with the Merger. “Company Insiders” shall mean those officers and directors of the Company who will be subject to the reporting requirement of Section 16(b) of the Exchange Act with respect to Parent and who are listed in the Section 16 Information.

ARTICLE 6

CONDITIONS TO THE MERGER

      6.1     Conditions to Obligations of Each Party to Effect the Merger. The respective obligations of each party to this Agreement to effect the Merger shall be subject to the satisfaction at or prior to the Closing Date of the following conditions:

(a) Shareholder Approvals. Each of the Company Shareholder Approval and the Parent Shareholder Approval shall have been obtained.

(b) Registration Statement Effective; Proxy Statement. The SEC shall have declared the Registration Statement effective. No stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any part thereof shall have been issued and no proceeding for that purpose, and no similar proceeding in respect of the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus, shall have been initiated or threatened in writing by the SEC.

(c) No Order. No Governmental Entity shall have enacted, issued, promulgated, enforced or entered any statute, rule, regulation, executive order, decree, injunction or other order (whether temporary, preliminary or permanent) which is in effect and which has the effect of making the Merger illegal or otherwise prohibiting consummation of the Merger.

(d) No Restraints. There shall not be instituted or pending any action or proceeding by any Governmental Entity (i) seeking to restrain, prohibit or otherwise interfere with the ownership or operation by Parent or any of its subsidiaries of all or any portion of the business of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or of Parent or any of its subsidiaries or to compel Parent or any of its subsidiaries to dispose of or hold separate all or any portion of the business or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or of Parent or any of its subsidiaries, (ii) seeking to impose or confirm limitations on the ability of Parent or any of its subsidiaries effectively to exercise full rights of ownership of the shares of Company Common Stock (or shares of stock of the Surviving Corporation) including the right to vote any such shares on any matters properly presented to shareholders or (iii) seeking to require divestiture by Parent or any of its subsidiaries of any such shares.

      6.2     Additional Conditions to Obligations of the Company. The obligation of the Company to consummate and effect the Merger shall be subject to the satisfaction at or prior to the Closing Date of each of the following conditions, any of which may be waived, in writing, exclusively by the Company:

(a) Representations and Warranties. Each representation and warranty of Parent and Merger Sub contained in this Agreement (i) shall have been true and correct as of the date of this Agreement and (ii) shall be true and correct on and as of the Closing Date with the same force and effect as if made on the Closing Date except, (A) in each case, or in the aggregate, as does not constitute a Material Adverse Effect on Parent or Merger Sub as of the Closing Date; provided, however, such Material Adverse Effect qualification shall be inapplicable with respect to the representations and warranties contained in Sections 3.2 and 3.3 (which representations shall be true and correct at the applicable times in all material respects), and (B) for those representations and warranties which address matters only as of a particular date (which representations shall have been true and correct (subject to the qualifications set forth in the preceding clause (A)) as of such particular date) (it being understood that, for purposes of determining the accuracy of such representations and warranties, any update of or modification to the Parent Disclosure Schedule made or purported to have been made after the execution of this Agreement shall be disregarded). Company shall have received a certificate with respect to the foregoing signed on behalf of Parent by an authorized officer of Parent. In the event that Parent shall have given any notice required by Section 5.6 that any representation or warranty by Parent in this Agreement is or has become untrue or inaccurate, such certification shall make specific reference to such notice and shall state concisely the basis of Parent’s judgment that the matter or matters identified in any such notice do not

individually, or in the aggregate, constitute a Material Adverse Effect on Parent or Merger Sub as of the Closing Date.

(b) Agreements and Covenants. Parent and Merger Sub shall have performed or complied in all material respects with all agreements and covenants required by this Agreement to be performed or complied with by them on or prior to the Closing Date, and the Company shall have received a certificate to such effect signed on behalf of Parent by an authorized officer of Parent.

(c) Tax Opinion. The Company shall have received an opinion of Preston Gates & Ellis LLP, dated as of the Closing Date, in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to it, on the basis of the facts, representations and assumptions set forth or referred to in such opinion, that the Merger will constitute a reorganization within the meaning of section 368(a) of the Code and that each of Parent and the Company will be a party to the reorganization within the meaning of section 368(a) of the Code, provided, however, that if Preston Gates & Ellis LLP does not render such opinion, this condition shall nonetheless be deemed to be satisfied with respect to the Company if Foley Hoag LLP renders such opinion to the Company. The parties to this Agreement agree to make such reasonable representations as requested by such counsel for the purpose of rendering such opinion.

(d) Material Adverse Effect. No Material Adverse Effect with respect to Parent shall have occurred since the date of this Agreement and be continuing.

(e) Nasdaq Listing. The shares of Parent Common Stock to be issued in the Merger shall have been approved for listing on the Nasdaq National Market or, if the Parent Common Stock is then listed on the Nasdaq Small Cap Market, on such market, in either case subject to official notice of issuance.

(f) Board of Directors. Parent shall have caused to be taken all actions necessary to appoint Daniel C. Regis as a Class II director of Parent and Michael A. Brochu as a Class III director of Parent, each effective immediately following the Effective Time.

      6.3     Additional Conditions to the Obligations of Parent and Merger Sub. The obligations of Parent and Merger Sub to consummate and effect the Merger shall be subject to the satisfaction at or prior to the Closing Date of each of the following conditions, any of which may be waived, in writing, exclusively by Parent:

(a) Representations and Warranties. Each representation and warranty of the Company contained in this Agreement (i) shall have been true and correct as of the date of this Agreement and (ii) shall be true and correct on and as of the Closing Date with the same force and effect as if made on and as of the Closing Date except (A) in each case, or in the aggregate, as does not constitute a Material Adverse Effect on the Company as of the Closing Date; provided, however, such Material Adverse Effect qualification shall be inapplicable with respect to the representations and warranties contained in Sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.4, 2.19, 2.20 and 2.22 (which representations shall be true and correct at the applicable times in all material respects), and (B) for those representations and warranties which address matters only as of a particular date (which representations shall have been true and correct (subject to the qualifications set forth in the preceding clause (A)) as of such particular date) (it being understood that, for purposes of determining the accuracy of such representations and warranties, any update of or modification to the Company Disclosure Schedule made or purported to have been made after the execution of this Agreement shall be disregarded). Parent shall have received a certificate with respect to the foregoing signed on behalf of the Company by the Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer of the Company. In the event that the Company shall have given any notice required by Section 5.6 that any representation or warranty by the Company in this Agreement is or has become untrue or inaccurate, such certification shall make specific reference to such notice and shall state concisely the basis of the Company’s judgment that the matter or matters identified in any such notice do not individually, or in the aggregate, constitute a Material Adverse Effect on the Company or Merger Sub as of the Closing Date.

(b) Agreements and Covenants. The Company shall have performed or complied in all material respects with all agreements and covenants required by this Agreement to be performed or complied with by it at or prior to the Closing Date, and Parent shall have received a certificate to such effect signed on behalf of the Company by the Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer of the Company.

(c) Material Adverse Effect. No Material Adverse Effect with respect to the Company shall have occurred since the date of this Agreement and be continuing.

(d) Consents. (i) All required approvals or consents of any Governmental Entity or other person in connection with the Merger, including, without limitation, that of each person and entity identified on Part 6.3(d) of the Parent Disclosure Schedule, and the consummation of the other transactions contemplated hereby shall have been obtained (and all relevant statutory, regulatory or other governmental waiting periods, shall have expired) unless the failure to receive any such approval or consent would not be reasonably likely, directly or indirectly, to result in a Material Adverse Effect on Parent, the Company or the Surviving Corporation, considered as separate entities, and (ii) all such approvals and consents which have been obtained shall be on terms that are not reasonably likely, directly or indirectly, to result in a Material Adverse Effect on Parent, the Company or the Surviving Corporation, considered as separate entities.

(e) Dissenters’ Rights. As of the Closing Date, the aggregate number of Dissenting Shares shall not exceed five percent (5%) of the number of issued and outstanding shares of Company Common Stock.

(f) Company Options and Company Warrants. The Company shall have taken all actions necessary such that all Company Options and Company Warrants shall be vested and exercisable immediately prior to the Effective Time.

ARTICLE 7

TERMINATION, AMENDMENT AND WAIVER

      7.1     Termination. This Agreement may be terminated at any time prior to the Effective Time, whether before or after the requisite approvals of the shareholders of Parent and the Company:

(a) by mutual written consent duly authorized by the Boards of Directors of Parent and the Company;

(b) by either the Company or Parent if the Merger shall not have been consummated by March 31, 2005 for any reason; provided, however, that the right to terminate this Agreement under this Section 7.1(b) shall not be available to any party whose action or failure to act has been a principal cause of or resulted in the failure of the Merger to occur on or before such date and such action or failure to act constitutes a breach of this Agreement;

(c) by either the Company or Parent if a Governmental Entity shall have issued an order, decree or ruling or taken any other action, in any case having the effect of permanently restraining, enjoining or otherwise prohibiting the Merger, which order, decree, ruling or other action is final and nonappealable;

(d) by either the Company or Parent, if the Company Shareholder Approval shall not have been obtained by reason of the failure to obtain the required vote at a meeting of the Company shareholders duly convened therefore or at any adjournment thereof; provided, however, that the right to terminate this Agreement under this Section 7.1(d) shall not be available to the Company where the failure to obtain the Company Shareholder Approval shall have been caused by (i) the action or failure to act of the Company and such action or failure to act constitutes a material breach by the Company of this Agreement or (ii) a breach of any of the Voting Agreements by any party thereto other than Parent;

(e) by either the Company or Parent, if the Parent Shareholder Approval shall not have been obtained by reason of the failure to obtain the required vote at a meeting of Parent’s shareholders duly convened therefore or at any adjournment thereof; provided, however, that the right to terminate this Agreement under this Section 7.1(e) shall not be available to Parent where the failure to obtain the Parent Shareholder Approval shall have been caused by the action or failure to act of Parent and such action or failure to act constitutes a material breach by Parent of this Agreement;

(f) by Parent (at any time prior to the adoption and approval of this Agreement and the Merger by the required vote of the shareholders of the Company) if a Triggering Event (as defined below) shall have occurred;

(g) by the Company, upon a breach of any representation, warranty, covenant or agreement on the part of Parent set forth in this Agreement, or if any representation or warranty of Parent shall have become untrue, in either case such that the conditions set forth in Section 6.2(a) or Section 6.2(b) would not be satisfied, provided that if such inaccuracy in Parent’s representations and warranties or breach by Parent is curable by Parent, then the Company may not terminate this Agreement under this Section 7.1(g) for 30 days after delivery of written notice from the Company to Parent of such breach and intent to terminate, provided Parent continues to exercise commercially reasonable efforts to cure such breach (it being understood that the Company may not terminate this Agreement pursuant to this paragraph (g) if such breach by Parent is cured during such 30-day period, or if the Company shall have materially breached this Agreement);

(h) by Parent, upon a breach of any representation, warranty, covenant or agreement on the part of the Company set forth in this Agreement, or if any representation or warranty of the Company shall have become untrue, in either case such that the conditions set forth in Section 6.3(a) or Section 6.3(b) would not be satisfied, provided that if such inaccuracy in the Company’s representations and warranties or breach by the Company is curable by the Company, then Parent may not terminate this Agreement under this Section 7.1(h) for 30 days after delivery of written notice from Parent to the Company of such breach, and intent to terminate, provided the Company continues to exercise commercially reasonable efforts to cure such breach (it being understood that Parent may not terminate this Agreement pursuant to this paragraph (h) if such breach by the Company is cured during such 30-day period, or if Parent shall have materially breached this Agreement); or

(i) by Parent, if the Company shall fail to deliver on the date specified in Section 1.8 above, a Closing Certificate certifying that the Company’s Adjusted Working Capital on the Measurement Date is a working capital deficiency no greater in magnitude than $(5.5 million).

      For the purposes of this Agreement, a “Triggering Event” shall be deemed to have occurred if: (i) the Board of Directors of the Company or any committee thereof shall for any reason have withdrawn or shall have amended or modified in a manner adverse to Parent its recommendation in favor of the adoption and approval of the Agreement or the approval of the Merger; (ii) the Company shall have failed to include in the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the Company in favor of the adoption and approval of the Agreement and the approval of the Merger; (iii) the Board of Directors of the Company fails publicly to reaffirm its recommendation in favor of the adoption and approval of the Agreement and the approval of the Merger within 10 business days after Parent requests in writing that such recommendation be reaffirmed at any time following the public announcement of an Acquisition Proposal; (iv) the Board of Directors of the Company or any committee thereof shall have approved or publicly recommended any Acquisition Proposal; (v) the Company shall have entered into any letter of intent or similar document or any agreement, contract or commitment accepting any Acquisition Proposal; (vi) the Company shall have breached any of the provisions of Sections 5.2 or 5.4; or (vii) a tender or exchange offer relating to securities of the Company shall have been commenced by a person unaffiliated with Parent, and the Company shall not have sent to its security holders pursuant to Rule 14e-2 promulgated under the Exchange Act, within 10 business days after such tender or exchange offer is first published sent or given, a statement disclosing that the Company recommends rejection of such tender or exchange offer.

      7.2     Notice of Termination; Effect of Termination. Any proper termination of this Agreement under Section 7.1 will be effective immediately upon the delivery of written notice of the terminating party to the other parties hereto. In the event of the termination of this Agreement as provided in Section 7.1, this Agreement shall be of no further force or effect, except (i) as set forth in this Section 7.2, Section 7.3 and Article 8, each of which shall survive the termination of this Agreement, and (ii) nothing herein shall relieve any party from liability for any willful breach of this Agreement. No termination of this Agreement shall affect the obligations of the parties contained in the Confidentiality Agreement, all of which obligations shall survive termination of this Agreement in accordance with their terms.

      7.3     Fees and Expenses.

      (a) Except as set forth in this Section 7.3, all fees and expenses incurred in connection with this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby shall be paid by the party incurring such expenses whether or not the Merger is consummated; provided, however, that Parent and Company shall share equally (i) all fees and expenses, other than attorneys’ and accountants fees and expenses, incurred in relation to the printing and filing with the SEC of the Proxy Statement/ Prospectus (including any preliminary materials related thereto) and the Registration Statement (including financial statements and exhibits) and any amendments or supplements thereto (including SEC filing fees), and (ii) the applicable filing fees associated with the Antitrust Filings, if any.

      (b) In the event that this Agreement is terminated by Parent or the Company, as applicable, pursuant to Sections 7.1(b), 7.1(d) or 7.1(f), the Company shall promptly, but in no event later than two days after the date of such termination, pay Parent a fee equal to $1.0 million in immediately available funds (the “Termination Fee”); provided, that in the case of a termination under Sections 7.1(b) or 7.1(d) prior to which no Triggering Event has occurred, (i) such payment shall be made only if (A) following the date of this Agreement and prior to the termination of this Agreement, a person has publicly announced an Acquisition Proposal and (B) within 18 months following the termination of this Agreement a Company Acquisition (as defined below) is consummated or the Company enters into a binding agreement providing for a Company Acquisition and (ii) such payment shall be made promptly, but in no event later than two days after the consummation of such Company Acquisition or the entry by the Company into such agreement.

      (c) Each of Parent and the Company acknowledges that the agreements contained in this Section 7.3 are an integral part of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and that, without these agreements, neither Parent nor the Company would enter into this Agreement. Accordingly, if Parent or the Company fails to pay in a timely manner amounts due pursuant to Section 7.3(b), and, in order to obtain such payment, Parent or the Company makes a claim for such amounts that results in a judgment against the other for the amounts described in Section 7.3(b), the judgment debtor shall pay to judgment creditor its reasonable costs and expenses (including reasonable attorneys’ fees and expenses as provided in Section 8.7(b)) in connection with such suit, together with interest on the amounts described in Section 7.3(b) (at the prime rate of Bank of America, N.A. in effect on the date such payment was required to be made) from such date until the payment of such amount (together with such accrued interest). Payment of the fees described in Section 7.3(b) shall not be in lieu of damages incurred in the event of breach of this Agreement.

      For the purposes of this Agreement, “Company Acquisition” shall mean any of the following transactions (other than the transactions contemplated by this Agreement); (i) a merger, consolidation, business combination, recapitalization, liquidation, dissolution or similar transaction involving the Company pursuant to which the shareholders of the Company immediately preceding such transaction hold less than 50% of the aggregate equity interests in the surviving or resulting entity of such transaction, (ii) a sale or other disposition by the Company of assets representing in excess of 50% of the aggregate fair market value of the Company’s business immediately prior to such sale, or (iii) the acquisition by any person or group (including by way of a tender offer or an exchange offer or issuance by the Company), directly or indirectly, of beneficial ownership or a right to acquire beneficial ownership of shares representing in excess of 50% of the voting power of the then outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company.

      7.4     Amendment. Subject to applicable law, this Agreement may be amended by the parties hereto at any time by execution of an instrument in writing signed on behalf of each of Parent and the Company.

      7.5     Extension; Waiver. At any time prior to the Effective Time any party hereto may, to the extent legally allowed, (i) extend the time for the performance of any of the obligations or other acts of the other parties hereto, (ii) waive any inaccuracies in the representations and warranties made to such party contained herein or in any document delivered pursuant hereto and (iii) waive compliance with any of the agreements or conditions for the benefit of such party contained herein. Any agreement on the part of a party hereto to any such extension or waiver shall be valid only if set forth in an instrument in writing signed on behalf of such party. Delay in exercising any right under this Agreement shall not constitute a waiver of such right.

ARTICLE 8

GENERAL PROVISIONS

      8.1     Non-Survival of Representations and Warranties. The representations and warranties of the Company, Parent and Merger Sub contained in this Agreement shall terminate at the Effective Time, and only the covenants that by their express terms survive the Effective Time shall survive the Effective Time.

      8.2     Notices. All notices and other communications hereunder shall be in writing and shall be deemed given upon delivery either personally or by commercial delivery service, or sent via facsimile (receipt confirmed) to the parties at the following addresses or facsimile numbers (or at such other address or facsimile numbers for a party as shall be specified by like notice):

(a)	if to Parent or Merger Sub, to:

Art Technology Group, Inc.
25 First Street
Cambridge, MA 02141
Facsimile: (617) 386-1111
Attention: Chief Executive Officer

with a copy to:

Foley Hoag LLP
Seaport World Trade Center West
155 Seaport Boulevard
Boston, Massachusetts 02210
Facsimile: (617) 832-7000
Attention: John D. Patterson, Jr. and Robert W. Sweet, Jr.

(b)	if to Company, to:

Primus Knowledge Solutions, Inc.
1601 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1900
Seattle, WA 98101
Facsimile: (206) 834-8111
Attention: Chief Executive Officer

with a copy to:

Preston Gates & Ellis LLP
925 Fourth Avenue, Suite 2900
Seattle, Washington 98104-1158
Facsimile: (206) 623-7022
Attention: Gary J. Kocher and Christopher H. Cunningham

      8.3     Interpretation; Certain Defined Terms.

      (a) When a reference is made in this Agreement to Exhibits, such reference shall be to an Exhibit to this Agreement unless otherwise indicated. When a reference is made in this Agreement to Sections, such

reference shall be to a Section of this Agreement unless otherwise indicated. The words “include,” “includes” and “including” when used herein shall be deemed in each case to be followed by the words “without limitation.” The table of contents and headings contained in this Agreement are only for reference purposes and shall not affect in any way the meaning or interpretation of this Agreement. When reference is made herein to “the business of” an entity, such reference shall be deemed to include the business of all direct and indirect subsidiaries of such entity. Reference to the subsidiaries of an entity shall be deemed to include all direct and indirect subsidiaries of such entity. Reference to an agreement herein is to such agreement as amended in accordance with its terms up to the date hereof. Reference to a statute herein is to such statute, as amended.

      (b) For purposes of this Agreement, “knowledge” means, with respect to any fact, circumstance, event or other matter in question, the actual knowledge of such fact, circumstance, event or other matter of (i) an individual, if used in reference to an individual, or (ii) any officer or director of such party, if used in reference to a person that is not an individual. Any such individual will be deemed to have actual knowledge of a particular fact, circumstance, event or other matter if (x) such fact, circumstance, event or other matter is reflected in one or more documents (whether written or electronic, including e-mails sent to or by such individual) in, or that have been in, such individual’s possession, including personal files of such individual, or (y) such fact, circumstance, event or other matter is reflected in one or more documents (whether written or electronic) contained in books and records of such party (in the case of knowledge of a party that is not an individual) that would reasonably be expected to be reviewed by an individual who has the duties and responsibilities of such individual in the customary performance of such duties and responsibilities.

      (c) For purposes of this Agreement, the term “Material Adverse Effect” when used in connection with any party means any change, event, circumstance or effect (whether or not such change, event, circumstance or effect constitutes a breach of a representation, warranty or covenant made by such party in this Agreement) that is or is reasonably likely to be materially adverse to the business, assets (other than intangible assets), capitalization, financial condition, operations or results of operations of such party taken as a whole with its subsidiaries, except to the extent that any such change, event, violation, inaccuracy, circumstance or effect directly and primarily results from (i) changes in general economic conditions or changes generally affecting the industry in which such entity operates (provided that such changes do not affect such entity in a disproportionate manner) or (ii) changes, effects or events resulting from the announcement or pendency of the Merger or from the taking of any action required by this Agreement. Any change in the price at which the shares of a party are traded, or failure of a party to meet any particular revenue or earnings forecast or estimate for any period ending after the date of this Agreement, or, in the case of the Company, its failure to have any particular amount of Adjusted Working Capital at the Measurement Date, shall not, in and of itself, constitute a Material Adverse Effect.

      (d) For purposes of this Agreement, the term “person” shall mean any individual, corporation (including any non-profit corporation), general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, joint venture, estate, trust, company (including any limited liability company or joint stock company), firm or other enterprise, association, organization, entity or Governmental Entity.

      (e) For purposes of this Agreement, “subsidiary” of a specified entity will be any corporation, partnership, limited liability company, joint venture or other legal entity of which the specified entity (either alone or through or together with any other subsidiary) owns, directly or indirectly, 50% or more of the stock or other equity or partnership interests the holders of which are generally entitled to vote for the election of the Board of Directors or other governing body of such corporation or other legal entity.

      8.4     Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in counterparts, all of which shall be considered one and the same agreement and shall become effective when one or more counterparts have been signed by each of the parties and delivered to the other party, it being understood that all parties need not sign the same counterpart.

      8.5     Entire Agreement; Third Party Beneficiaries. This Agreement, its Exhibits and the documents and instruments and other agreements among the parties hereto as contemplated by or referred to herein,

including the Company Disclosure Schedule and the Parent Disclosure Schedule (a) constitute the entire agreement among the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof and supersede all prior agreements and understandings, both written and oral, among the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof, it being understood that the Confidentiality Agreement shall continue in full force and effect until the Closing and shall survive any termination of this Agreement; and (b) are not intended to confer upon any other person any rights or remedies hereunder, except as specifically provided in Section 5.10.

      8.6     Severability. In the event that any provision of this Agreement or the application thereof becomes or is declared by a court of competent jurisdiction to be illegal, void or unenforceable, the remainder of this Agreement will continue in full force and effect and the application of such provision to other persons or circumstances will be interpreted so as reasonably to effect the intent of the parties hereto. The parties further agree to replace such void or unenforceable provision of this Agreement with a valid and enforceable provision that will achieve, to the extent possible, the economic, business and other purposes of such void or unenforceable provision.

      8.7     Other Remedies; Specific Performance; Fees.

      (a) Except as otherwise provided herein, any and all remedies herein expressly conferred upon a party will be deemed cumulative with and not exclusive of any other remedy conferred hereby, or by law or equity upon such party, and the exercise by a party of any one remedy will not preclude the exercise of any other remedy. The parties hereto agree that irreparable damage would occur in the event that any of the provisions of this Agreement were not performed in accordance with their specific terms or were otherwise breached. It is accordingly agreed that the parties shall be entitled to seek an injunction or injunctions to prevent breaches of this Agreement and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions hereof in any court of the United States or any state having jurisdiction, this being in addition to any other remedy to which they are entitled at law or in equity.

      (b) If any action, suit or other proceeding (whether at law, in equity or otherwise) is instituted concerning or arising out of this Agreement or any transaction contemplated hereunder, the prevailing party shall recover, in addition to any other remedy granted to such party therein, all such party’s costs and attorneys fees incurred in connection with the prosecution or defense of such action, suit or other proceeding.

      8.8     Governing Law. The Merger shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of Washington. Other than the Merger, this Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of Delaware, regardless of the laws that might otherwise govern under applicable principles of conflicts of law thereof.

      8.9     Rules of Construction. The parties hereto agree that they have been represented by counsel during the negotiation and execution of this Agreement and, therefore, waive the application of any law, regulation, holding or rule of construction providing that ambiguities in an agreement or other document will be construed against the party drafting such agreement or document.

      8.10     Assignment. No party may assign either this Agreement or any of its rights, interests, or obligations hereunder without the prior written consent of the other parties hereto. Subject to the preceding sentence, this Agreement shall be binding upon and shall inure to the benefit of the parties hereto and their respective successors and permitted assigns. Any purported assignment in violation of this Section 8.10 shall be void.

      8.11     Waiver of Jury Trial. EACH OF PARENT, THE COMPANY AND MERGER SUB HEREBY IRREVOCABLY WAIVES ALL RIGHT TO TRIAL BY JURY IN ANY ACTION, SUIT, PROCEEDING OR COUNTERCLAIM (WHETHER BASED ON CONTRACT, TORT OR OTHERWISE) ARISING OUT OF OR RELATING TO THIS AGREEMENT OR THE ACTIONS OF PARENT, THE COMPANY OR MERGER SUB IN THE NEGOTIATION, ADMINISTRATION, PERFORMANCE AND ENFORCEMENT HEREOF.

*     *     *     *     *

      IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this Agreement and Plan of Merger to be executed by their duly authorized respective officers as of the date first written above.

ART TECHNOLOGY GROUP, INC.

/s/ BOB BURKE

BY: BOB BURKE

TITLE:	PRESIDENT & CEO

AUTOBAHN ACQUISITION, INC.

/s/ BOB BURKE

BY: BOB BURKE

TITLE:	PRESIDENT & CEO

PRIMUS KNOWLEDGE SOLUTIONS, INC.

/s/ MICHAEL A. BROCHU

BY: MICHAEL A. BROCHU

TITLE:	PRESIDENT & CEO

List of Exhibits

Exhibit A	Form of Voting Agreement (filed as Item 99.2 to this current report)

      Schedules and Exhibits Omitted Pursuant to Item 601(b)(2) of Regulation S-K

      The following schedules to the Agreement and Plan of Merger were omitted from this Exhibit 99.1 pursuant to Item 601(b)(2) of Regulation S-K. We agree to furnish supplementally to the Securities and Exchange Commission copies of these omitted schedules upon request.

Company Disclosure Letter

Parent Disclosure Letter