FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE	March 20, 2012

Micromem Technologies Inc. Cancels Options

Toronto, New York, March 20, 2012: Micromem Technologies Inc. (the “Company”) (CNSX: MRM, OTCBB: MMTIF) announces the cancellation of 2,700,000 options to purchase common shares of the Corporation (the “Options”), in accordance with Policy 6 of the Canadian National Stock Exchange (the “CNSX Policy”), and section 9.1 of the 2007 Micromem Technologies Inc. Stock Option Plan, as amended on one or more occasions (the “Plan”). These Options were granted to employees and directors of the Company at a strike price of US$1.00 and US$1.50. Pursuant to the CNSX Policy the Company may not issue Options to these individuals for a 30 day period from the date of cancellation.

About Micromem and MASTInc

MASTInc is a wholly owned U.S.-based subsidiary of Micromem Technologies Inc., a publicly traded (OTC BB: MMTIF, CNSX: MRM) company. MASTInc responsibly analyzes the specific industry sectors to create intelligent game-changing applications that address unmet market needs. By leveraging its expertise and experience with sophisticated magnetic sensor applications, MASTInc successfully powers the development and implementation of innovative solutions for healthcare/biomedical, natural resource exploration, government, information technology, manufacturing, and other industries. Visit www.micromeminc.com www.mastinc.com.

Safe Harbor Statement

This press release contains forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements are subject to a number of risks, assumptions and uncertainties that could cause the Company’s actual results to differ materially from those projected in such forward-looking statements. In particular, factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those in forward looking statements include: our inability to obtain additional financing on acceptable terms; risk that our products and services will not gain widespread market acceptance; continued consumer adoption of digital technology; inability to compete with others who provide comparable products; the failure of our technology; the infringement of our technology with proprietary rights of third parties; inability to respond to consumer and technological demands; inability to replace significant customers; seasonal nature of our business; and other risks detailed in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Forward-looking statements speak only as of the date made and are not guarantees of future performance. We undertake no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements. When used in this document, the words “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “project,” “plan,” “should,” “intend,” “may,” “will,” “would,” “potential,” and similar expressions may be used to identify forward-looking statements.

The CNSX or any other securities regulatory authority has not reviewed and does not accept responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this press release that has been prepared by management.

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Listing: NASD OTC-Bulletin Board - Symbol: MMTIF
                CNSX - Symbol: MRM
Shares issued: 120,206,666
SEC File No: 0-26005
Investor Contact: Jason Baun; Chief Information Officer; Tel.416-364-2023