                                                                    Exhibit 99.2


                Certification Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350,
                             as adopted pursuant to
                  Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

     In connection with the Quarterly Report of Blockbuster Inc. (the "Company") on Form 10-Q for the period ending June 30, 2002 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Report"), I, Larry J. Zine, certify pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that, to my knowledge:

     1. the Report fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

     2. the information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.


/s/ Larry J. Zine
-----------------
Larry J. Zine
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial
  Officer and Chief Administrative Officer
August 13, 2002