NEWS RELEASE

BROOKFIELD OFFICE PROPERTIES RESPONDS TO
BROOKFIELD PROPERTY PARTNERS NEWS RELEASE AND ESTABLISHES A SPECIAL COMMITTEE

NEW YORK, September 30, 2013 – Brookfield Office Properties Inc. (BPO: NYSE, TSX) acknowledges the news release issued by Brookfield Property Partners L.P. (NYSE: BPY; TSX: BPY.UN) earlier today announcing its proposal to acquire Brookfield Office Properties by way of a tender offer for “any or all” of the common shares of Brookfield Office Properties that it does not own. Under its proposal, Brookfield Property Partners would offer Brookfield Office Properties shareholders the ability to elect to receive for each common share either $19.34 in cash or 1.0 limited partnership unit of Brookfield Property Partners, subject in each case to pro-ration based on a maximum cash consideration of $1.7 billion and a maximum of 174 million Brookfield Property Partners limited partnership units.

The board of directors of Brookfield Office Properties has established a special committee to review and consider the proposal. Shareholders of Brookfield Office Properties do not need to take any action with respect to the proposal at this time.

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About Brookfield Office Properties

Brookfield Office Properties owns, develops and manages premier office properties in the United States, Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom. Its portfolio is comprised of interests in 109 properties totaling 80 million square feet in the downtown cores of New York, Washington, D.C., Houston, Los Angeles, Denver, Seattle, Toronto, Calgary, Ottawa, London, Sydney, Melbourne and Perth, making it the global leader in the ownership and management of office assets. Landmark properties include Brookfield Places in New York City, Toronto and Perth, Bank of America Plaza in Los Angeles, Bankers Hall in Calgary, and Darling Park in Sydney. The company’s common shares trade on the NYSE and TSX under the symbol BPO. For more information, visit www.brookfieldofficeproperties.com.

Forward Looking Statements

This news release contains “forward-looking information” within the meaning of Canadian provincial securities laws and applicable regulations and “forward-looking statements.” Such forward-looking statements and forward-looking information include, but are not limited to statements concerning the proposal from Brookfield Property Partners. Forward-looking statements include statements that are predictive in nature, depend upon or refer to future events or conditions, include statements regarding our operations, business, financial condition, expected financial results, performance, prospects, opportunities, priorities, targets, goals, ongoing objectives, strategies and outlook, as well as the outlook for North American and international economies for the current fiscal year and subsequent periods, and include words such as “expects”, “anticipates”, “plans”, “believes”, “estimates”, “seeks”, “intends”, “targets”, “projects”, “forecasts”, “likely”, or negative versions thereof and other similar expressions, or future or conditional verbs such as “may”, “will”, “should”, “would” and “could”.

Although we believe that our anticipated future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements and information are based upon reasonable assumptions and expectations, the reader should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements and information because they involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, many of which are beyond our control, which may cause our actual results, performance or achievements to differ materially from anticipated future results, performance or achievement expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements and information.

Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those contemplated or implied by forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to: the proposal from Brookfield Property Partners and the fact that our business may suffer as a result of uncertainty surrounding the offer; risks incidental to the ownership and operation of real estate properties including local real estate conditions; the impact or unanticipated impact of general economic, political and market factors in the countries in which we do business; the ability to enter into new leases or renew leases on favorable terms; business competition; dependence on tenants’ financial condition; the use of debt to finance our business; the behavior of financial markets, including fluctuations in interest and foreign exchanges rates; uncertainties of real estate development or redevelopment; global equity and capital markets and the availability of equity and debt financing and refinancing within these markets; risks relating to our insurance coverage; the possible impact of international conflicts and other developments including terrorist acts; potential environmental liabilities; changes in tax laws and other tax related risks; dependence on management personnel; illiquidity of investments; the ability to complete and effectively integrate acquisitions into existing operations and the ability to attain expected benefits therefrom; operational and reputational risks; catastrophic events, such as earthquakes and hurricanes; and other risks and factors detailed from time to time in our documents filed with the securities regulators in Canada and the United States.

We caution that the foregoing list of important factors that may affect future results is not exhaustive. When relying on our forward-looking statements or information, investors and others should carefully consider the foregoing factors and other uncertainties and potential events. Except as required by law, we undertake no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements or information, whether written or oral, that may be as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Brookfield Office Properties Contact

Matt Cherry, Director, Investor Relations and Communications

(212) 417-7488; matthew.cherry@brookfield.com