NEWS  RELEASE                                            FOR  IMMEDIATE  RELEASE

   GENESIS BIOVENTURES ANNOUNCES 2004 ANNUAL REPORT DELAY AND RELEASES UNAUDITED
                            PRELIMINARY 2004 RESULTS

NEW YORK, NY, APRIL 18, 2005 - Genesis Bioventures, Inc. (AMEX:GBI) (GBI) today reported that its Annual Report on Form 10-KSB for the year ended December 31, 2004 was not filed by the deadline of Friday, April 15, 2005. The Company expects to file the 2004 annual report on or before May 15, 2005.

GBI explained that the delay in filing was caused by the termination of the proposed merger with Corgenix Medical Corporation (Corgenix) in January of 2005, which resulted in the collapse of a merger associated financing. GBI was forced to identify new funding sources based on a non-merger related structure. GBI has signed a letter of intent in this regard.

The Company's accountants as well as its auditors would not commence work on the year-end financial statements before past payments were received. An agreement was reached whereby the accountants would be engaged as auditors for the year-end financial statements. The Company filed an extension through Form 12b-25 for late filing of its year-end audited financial statements Form 10-KSB on March 30, 2005. Subsequent to filing Form 12b-25, GBI's accountants were found to be in a conflict of interest that would not permit them to perform the audit.

It was impossible for the Company to engage another firm at such a late date that did not have scheduling constraints and would be able to complete a review and report on the financial statements within the prescribed time period. GBI has now identified alternative auditors and is proceeding to an engagement.

GBI also today released the following unaudited preliminary financial information. The Company stressed that this information was unaudited and had not yet been completed, but that it was not aware of any issues that were likely to result in material adjustments to the amounts reported upon completion of the 2004 audit.


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<TABLE>

(UNAUDITED)                                                  2004          2003
INCOME STATEMENT DATA:
Amortization                                             $ 1,869,108   $ 1,880,315
Loss on foreign exchange                                      15,275        71,899
Investor relations
Stock-based compensation                                     239,671       434,136
  Incurred                                                     2,372        62,267
Legal and accounting                                         266,385       477,030
Listing and share transfer fees                              100,879        82,925
Management and consulting fees
  Stock-based compensation                                    44,594        27,500
  Incurred                                                   (39,300)      112,177
Office and miscellaneous                                      36,733        83,608
Rent and occupancy costs                                      56,499        86,875
Salaries and benefits
  Stock based compensation                                  (335,700)      388,550
  Incurred                                                   412,129       548,020
Telephone                                                     16,609        15,791
Travel and promotion                                          53,900        41,476
Research and development                                     339,548       367,964
Royalty fees                                                   5,000
Loss before other expense                                 (3,083,722)   (4,707,746)
Other income (expense)
  Other income                                                19,246       104,179
  Interest income                                                744
  Interest and bank charges
    Incurred                                                (409,418)     (179,015)
    Amortization of deemed discount                       (1,196,042)     (262,317)
  Gain on debt settlements                                       457       501,189
Net loss                                                 $(4,669,479)  $(4,542,786)
Net loss per common share, basic and diluted             $      0.15   $      0.17
Weighted average common shares outstanding                30,225,365    27,201,652

BALANCE SHEET DATA:
Current assets                                           $    59,389   $    92,905
Total assets                                               7,820,948     9,027,588
Current liabilities                                        4,751,953     3,680,750
Total liabilities                                          4,751,953     3,680,750
Shareholders' equity                                       3,068,975     5,346,838

THE COMPANY'S NET LOSSES CAN BE SUMMARIZED AS FOLLOWS:
                                                                2004          2003   Variances
Loss before other income (expense)                       $(3,083,722)  $(4,707,746)  $ 1,624,024
Other income (expense)                                    (1,585,757)      164,960    (1,750,717)
                                                         ------------  ------------  ------------
Loss for the period                                      $(4,669,479)  $ 4,542,786   $  (126,693)


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THE  LOSS BEFORE OTHER INCOME (EXPENSE) OF $3,083,722, a decrease of $1,624,024,
compared  to  the  2003  loss of $4,707,746, reflects a lower level of operating
activity  as  a  result of financing, planning and executing the proposed merger
with  Corgenix.  The  major  items contributing to the decrease were as follows:
-    Investor  relations are costs incurred by the Company for general financing
     services  and  investor relations. These costs of $242,043 incurred in 2004
     showed  a  reduction  of  $254,360  compared to the previous years costs of
     $496,403  due  to reduced activity during 2004 primarily as a result of the
     merger  and  financing  negotiations.
-    Legal  and  accounting  costs  of  $266,385  incurred in 2004 were lower by
     $210,645  than the $477,030 incurred in 2003 primarily due to the increased
     activity  during  2003  planning  and  executing  the documentation for the
     merger.
-    Management  and  consulting  fees  of $5,294 incurred in 2004 were lower by
     $134,383,  than  the  $139,677  incurred  in  2003,  as a result of reduced
     activity  planning  the  merger.
-    Salaries  and  benefits  incurred  in 2004, of $412,129, were $135,891 less
     than  $548,020 incurred in 2003 due to reduction in personnel. Salaries and
     benefits,  stock  based  compensation is as a result of variable accounting
     after  the repricing of stock options to officers, directors and employees.
     During 2004 the decline in the Company's stock price resulted in a recovery
     of  $335,000,  a  reduction  in cost of $724,250 compared to the expense of
     $388,550  incurred  in  2003.

OTHER  INCOME (EXPENSE) AMOUNTING TO $1,585,757 IN 2004 represented an increased
cost  of  $1,750,717  compared  to other income of $164,960 earned in 2003.  The
major  items  contributing  to  this  increased  cost  were  as  follows:
-    Interest  and  bank charges incurred and amortized, increased by $1,164,308
     for  2004  due  to  the  increase in the beneficial conversion features and
     discounts  related  to  equity instruments issued along with the promissory
     notes.  The  fair  value  of  the  equity instruments issued along with the
     promissory notes is amortized to interest expense over the term to maturity
     of  the  promissory  notes.
-    Gain  on  debt  settlements  of  $457  for  2004  is a decrease of $500,732
     compared  to  the  $501,732 earned in 2003 in preparation for the financing
     anticipated  relating  to  the  proposed  merger.

LOSS  PER  SHARE  WAS  ($0.15)  for the year ended December 31, 2004 compared to
($0.17)  for  2003.  The  decrease  in  loss  per  share is due to the increased
weighted  average  number of shares outstanding.  The weighted average number of
shares outstanding for the year ending December 31, 2004 was 30,225,365 compared
to  27,201,652  for  2003.

THE  COMPANY'S  TOTAL  ASSETS as at December 31, 2004 was $7,820,948 compared to
total  assets of $9,027,588 for 2003.  The decrease of  $1,206,640 was primarily
due  to  the  amortization  of  the  Company's  medical  technology  licenses of
$1,807,988  reduced  by  a  loan  receivable  granted  to  Corgenix of $470,000.

ABOUT  GENESIS  BIOVENTURES,  INC.
Genesis Bioventures, Inc. (GBI) is a biomedical development corporation focusing
on  the  development  and  marketing  of  novel  diagnostics. GBI's wholly owned
subsidiary,  Biomedical  Diagnostics,  LLC,  specializes  in  the development of
cancer  diagnostics.  The  first  product commercially available is the MSA as a
screen  for  breast  cancer risk. Further information on testing can be found on
GBI's  website.  In  addition,  the  Company  has  an  equity  interest in Prion
Developmental  Laboratories, Inc., (PDL) which specializes in the development of
diagnostic  tests to detect prion disease. PDL received United States Department
of Agriculture (USDA) approval for its Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) strip test.
CWD is similar to Mad Cow Disease but affects deer and elk.  More information on
PDL  can  be  accessed  through  GBI's  website.

Statements  in  this  press  release  that are not strictly historical facts are
"forward  looking"  statements  (identified  by the words "believe", "estimate",
"project",  "expect"  or  similar expressions) within the meaning of the Private
Securities  Litigation  Reform Act of 1995.  These statements inherently involve
risks  and  uncertainties  that  could cause actual results to differ materially
from  the forward-looking statements.  Factors that would cause or contribute to
such  differences  include,  but are not limited to, continued acceptance of the
Company's products and services in the marketplace, competitive factors, changes
in  the  regulatory  environment,  and  other  risks  detailed  in the Company's
periodic  report  filings  with  the  Securities  and  Exchange Commission.  The
statements  in  this  press release are made as of today, based upon information
currently known to management, and the company does not undertake any obligation
to  publicly  update  or  revise  any  forward-looking  statements.

CONTACT:
GBI  Investor  Relations,  (604)  542-0820,  gbi@gnsbio.com,  www.gnsbio.com
                                             --------------   --------------
Aurelius  Consulting  Group,  (800) 644-6297, info@aurcg.com, www.runonideas.com
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