Exhibit 99.1

Sinovac Biotech Receives Positive Decision on its Hepatitis A Vaccine from World Health Organization

BEIJING, Dec. 22, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- Sinovac Biotech Ltd. (Nasdaq: SVA) (the "Company" or "Sinovac"), a leading provider of biopharmaceutical products in China, announced today that it has received a positive decision from the World Health Organization (“WHO”) on the acceptability, in principle, of its Healive, a hepatitis A vaccine product, for purchase by United Nations (“UN”) agencies. The Company’s Healive product was assessed according to the WHO Prequalification Procedure.

Mr. Weidong Yin, Chairman, President and CEO of the Company, commented that “I am very pleased that Healive has passed the assessment under WHO Prequalification procedures. This is an important milestone for Sinovac which we expect will provide opportunities to supply this vaccine to respective UN agencies as well as accelerate the regulatory approval process for this vaccine in international countries outside China.”

About Sinovac

Sinovac Biotech Ltd. is a China-based biopharmaceutical company that focuses on the research, development, manufacturing and commercialization of vaccines that protect against human infectious diseases. Sinovac's product portfolio includes vaccines against enterovirus71, or EV71, hepatitis A and B, seasonal influenza, H5N1 pandemic influenza (avian flu), H1N1 influenza (swine flu), and mumps. The EV71 vaccine, an innovative vaccine developed by Sinovac against hand foot and mouth disease caused by EV71, was commercialized in China in 2016. In 2009, Sinovac was the first company worldwide to receive approval for its H1N1 influenza vaccine, which it has supplied to the Chinese Government's vaccination campaign and stockpiling program. The Company is also the only supplier of the H5N1 pandemic influenza vaccine to the government stockpiling program. The Company is developing a number of new products including a Sabin-strain inactivated polio vaccine, pneumococcal polysaccharides vaccine, pneumococcal conjugate vaccine and varicella vaccine. Sinovac primarily sells its vaccines in China, while also exploring growth opportunities in international markets. The Company has exported select vaccines to over 10 countries in Asia and South America.  For more information, please visit the Company's website at www.sinovac.com.

Safe Harbor Statement

This announcement may include certain statements that are not descriptions of historical facts, but are forward-looking statements. These statements are made under the "safe harbor" provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements can be identified by terminology such as "will," "expects," "anticipates," "future," "intends," "plans," "believes," "estimates" and similar statements. Forward-looking statements involve risks, uncertainties and other factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any such statements.

Contact

Sinovac Biotech Ltd.
Helen Yang
Tel: +86-10-8279-9871
Fax: +86-10-6296-6910
Email: ir@sinovac.com

ICR Inc.
Bill Zima
U.S: 1-646-308-1707
Email: william.zima@icrinc.com