 EEI 2014  *  49th Annual EEI Financial ConferenceNovember 2014  Exhibit 99.1

 EEI 2014  *  Forward Looking Statements  Certain statements contained herein, regarding matters that are not historical facts, are forward-looking statements (as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995). These include statements regarding management’s intentions, plans, beliefs, expectations or forecasts for the future. Such forward-looking statements are based on our expectations and involve risks and uncertainties; consequently, actual results may differ materially from those expressed or implied in the statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, general economic conditions, conditions in the debt and equity markets (particularly as they affect the terms on which we can issue equity securities or incur borrowings in connection with the proposed acquisition of the operating assets and certain liabilities of Philadelphia Gas Works), legislative and regulatory changes, changes in demand for electricity, gas and other products and services, unanticipated weather conditions, changes in accounting principles, policies or guidelines, the expected timing and likelihood of completion of the proposed acquisition, including the timing, receipt and terms and conditions of any required governmental and regulatory approvals of the proposed acquisition that could reduce anticipated benefits or cause the parties to abandon the transaction, the allocation of personnel and resources to the proposed acquisition during this time period, as well as the ability to successfully integrate the businesses, and other economic, competitive, governmental, and technological factors affecting the operations, markets, products and services of our subsidiaries. All such factors are difficult to predict, contain uncertainties that may materially affect our actual results and are beyond our control. You should not place undue reliance on the forward-looking statements, each speaks only as of the date hereof and we undertake no obligation to revise or update such statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events or circumstances. New factors emerge from time to time and it is not possible for us to predict all such factors, nor can we assess the impact of each such factor on the business or the extent to which any factor, or combination of factors, may cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statements. The foregoing and other factors are discussed and should be reviewed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2013, as amended, and other subsequent filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.  James TorgersonPresident and Chief Executive OfficerRichard NicholasExecutive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerJohn PreteSenior Vice President Electric Operations  Visit our website at www.UIL.com

 EEI 2014  *  The UIL Family of Regulated Utilities  Diversified and virtually 100% regulated electric and gas distribution companies serving in Connecticut & Massachusetts  Service territory: 335 sq miles~317,000 customersAllowed Distribution ROE of 9.15%Earned ‘13 Transmission ROE (composite) of 12.2% (excl. reserve)50% interest in GenConn Energy LLC  Service territory: 512 sq miles from Westport, CT to Old Saybrook, CT ~188,000 customers2,300 miles of mains with ~133,000 servicesAllowed ROE of 9.36%  Service territory: 716 sq miles - Greater Hartford-New Britain & Greenwich~169,000 customers2,050 miles of mains with ~126,000 servicesAllowed ROE of 9.18%  Service territory: 738 sq miles in Western MA including Pittsfield and North Adams~39,000 customers750 miles of mains with ~31,000 servicesAllowed ROE of 10.50%

 EEI 2014  *  Investment Thesis  Investment in regulated electric and gas businesses……Ensuring safety and reliability for customersSatisfying responsibilities as a public utility companyProviding customers access to cleaner and lower cost fuelEnhancing shareholder value by earning regulated returns on increased investments  Pure Play Electric & Gas Utilities Strategy  Growth Strategy  Financial & Dividend Philosophy  Growth……Through investment in infrastructure in regulated electric and gas businessesThrough conversion of customers to natural gas heating Pursuing opportunities in Renewable Generation, LNG and other projectsThrough opportunistic strategic transactions – e.g. PGW Operations  Philosophy……Consistent history of dividend paymentsMaintain investment grade credit ratings

 EEI 2014  *  Proposed Acquisition

 EEI 2014  *  PGW Acquisition - Update  Reports by independent consultant, Concentric, are complete and have been publicly released On October 27th, City Council announced it would not endorse the sale of PGW to UILOn October 28th, we responded that we would make a determination whether to exercise our right to terminate the agreement and make a determination on future actions within two weeksUIL has had the right to terminate the agreement since July 16thIf the ordinance is not approved by the City Council by December 31, 2014, the asset purchase agreement will automatically terminate

 EEI 2014  *  Organic Growth - Capex

 EEI 2014  *  $4.2B 10-yr Capital Expenditure Plan(1)  (1) Excludes proposed PGW acquisitionAmounts may not add due to rounding  2015P-2024P

 EEI 2014  *  Attractive Rate Base Growth(1)  (1) Excludes proposed PGW acquisition * Includes Distributed Energy Resources** Includes 338(h)(10) electionAmounts may not add due to rounding  ‘15-’19 Rate Base CAGR 7.6%  Gas Distribution:8.1%Electric Transmission:6.7%Electric Distribution*:7.7%  Previous Forecast $2,318 $2,547 $2,801 $3,012 $3,195  $M

 EEI 2014  *  Gas Distribution

 EEI 2014  *  $1.9B Gas Distribution Capex Forecast  Amounts may not add due to rounding  Focused on expanding natural gas infrastructure in line with overall strategy in CT  Major Variances 1st 5 years:Inclusion of LNGTiming of gas growthTiming adjustment for replacement services/mains/meters Major Variances 2nd 5 years:Incremental new growthInclusion of LNG Timing adjustment for replacement services/mains/meters

 EEI 2014  *  Gas Distribution – Investing in expansion  Main and Service Replacement Programs  New Business Program  LNG Rocky Hill ModernizationProgram  LNG Milford Modernization Program  Replace Cast Iron and Bare Steel gas mains~ $56M per year*Expand gas distribution system ~ $93M per year*Upgrade existing CNG LNG facility to maintain reliability~ $51MUpgrade existing SCG LNG facility to maintain reliability~ $62M  * Avg. cost during current 10-yr plan** CT & MA

 EEI 2014  *  UIL Actual  ’14 Target  CES  Gas Heating Customers - OpportunityComprehensive Energy Strategy (CES) & Berkshire Plan  CES provides for converting ~280,000 new gas customers state-wide over 10 years~200,000 potential customers are SCG & CNG’s  Added over 11,770 households/businesses through October ’14 , 99% of YTD forecast

 EEI 2014  *  Why Now?  Lower gas prices in New England from Marcellus ShaleLong-term conversion potential from CES36% of households/businesses on UIL gas mains are not currently customersMain extensions and gas pipe replacement supported by legislation  Increased Capital Investments = Increased Rate Base = Increased Return  Pending the approval of a settlement agreement, non-firm margin can be utilized to expedite incremental distribution system expansionIncreases percent of projects that pass the hurdle rate modelA portion of non-firm margin will be used to offset CIACCustomer aggregation methodology defined by proposing a two-mile radius to group customers into potential gas expansion projectsFaster recovery than under traditional ratemaking through a trackerAnnual system expansion true-up

 EEI 2014  *  Electric Distribution

 EEI 2014  *  $1.2B Electric Distribution Capex Forecast  Amounts may not add due to rounding  Focused on infrastructure replacement, capacity & reliability to provide a safer Distribution system  Major Variances 1st 5 years:Incremental LED Street Light RelampingRenewables & Enhanced Distribution Mgt moved to DEROEI reduction in scope & moved to UIL Shared Services Deferment of splicing chamber, fleet, UG cable & line transformersReduced system hardeningMajor Variances 2nd 5 years:Renewables & Enhanced Distribution Mgt moved to DEROEI reduction in scope & moved to UIL Shared Services Deferment of substations and substation rebuilds Reduced system hardeningDeferment of feeder & line transformers

 EEI 2014  *  Replacing transformers ~ $4M per yearRepair/replace aging infrastructure~ $6M per yearReplace streetlights in towns with new LED fixtures and bulbs~ $27M  Electric Distribution - Customer & Safety Driven  Distribution Transformer Replacement Program  Distribution Network Replacement Program  LED Street Light Relamping

 EEI 2014  *  Distributed Energy Resources (DER)

 EEI 2014  *  $80M DER Capex Forecast  Amounts may not add due to rounding  Focused on opportunities that provide strategic and economic value  2.2 MW Solar and 2.8 MW Fuel Cell in Bridgeport2.8 MW Fuel Cell in New Haven  Renewable Connections

 EEI 2014  *  Our Strategy as we transform our Distribution System  Potential Impacts of Increased DER Penetration:Limited reduction in future capacity-oriented investmentsHigher and inequitable customer ratesReduced system reliabilityUIL investment opportunities in DER assetsUIL electric system investments to accommodate DER  UIL has developed a strategy that:Accepts item 1 as unavoidableManages items 2 & 3 to acceptable levelsSeeks to capitalize on items 4 & 5  What is DER?Power generation or storage units connected to the distribution network or on the customer side of the meterCapturing new DER investmentsIdentify and implement DER growth opportunities (electric & gas) that offer strategic and economic value aligned with UIL’s investment and risk profile  Distributed Energy Resources includes Distributed Generation as well as Storage, Electric Vehicles, Energy Management Systems, Demand Resources and more

 EEI 2014  *  The Emerging Grid has Opportunities

 EEI 2014  *  Electric Transmission

 EEI 2014  *  $0.6B Electric Transmission Capex Forecast  Reliability-based Transmission projects to meet the needs in Southwest CT  Amounts may not add due to rounding  Major Variances 1st 5 years:Additional spend for reliability projects in Southwest CT Major Variances 2nd 5 years:Additional spend for reliability projects in Southwest CT Deferment of substation rebuilds

 EEI 2014  *  Electric Transmission – Meeting the needs of Southwest CT  Pootatuck 115/13.8kV Substation  Substation Upgrades  Meeting area load growth~ $40M*Addresses condition of infrastructure; upgrades capacity and increases distribution voltage regulation; improves reliability, operability & personnel safety on-site~ $74M*Increases the capacity of the transmission lines along the Metro North corridorIncludes installing new transmission structures & line reconductoring~ $241MUI participation in CL&P ProjectUI’s portion, greater of $60M** or 8.4% of costs for the originally proposed projects costs for the CT portions~ $60M  115kV Railroad Upgrades   * Dollars shown are rounded/approximate expected total distribution & transmission Capex (generally including both spend to date and future expected spend); excluding AFUDC** Based on most recent information/estimate from NU   New England East-West Solution (NEEWS)

 EEI 2014  *  FERC ROE Complaint  Challenge to Transmission (T) Base ROE: “206” complaints filed at the FERC claiming that current approved base ROE of 11.14% on T investments is not just and reasonable  UI recorded a reserve of $3.2M, after-tax, in 3Q ’14, in addition to the $1.5M, after-tax, reserve recorded in 3Q ‘13   10.57% base ROE10.57% base ROE 10/16/14 and forward (subject to 2nd & 3rd Complaints)11.74% cap on total company T ROERehearing request related to initial complaint pending  FERC settlement procedures terminatedNo evidentiary record yet establishedHearings to begin in June ’15Initial decision expected by end of Oct. ‘15  Requests determination that financial markets have changed, and ROE should be reducedTOs requested consolidating with 2nd Complaint

 EEI 2014  *  Other Investments

 EEI 2014  *  Peaking Generation & NEEWS  GenConn Energy – Peaking Generation50/50 joint venture between UI & affiliates of NRGRegulated cost of service approachROE, 9.95%50/50 debt/equityNew England East-West Solution Transmission ProjectsUI participation in CT portion of 3 projects – greater of $60M* or 8.4% costs for the originally proposed projects costs for the CT portionsThe FERC approved a 125 basis point adder resulting in a total project ROE of 12.89%**  * Based on most recent information/estimate from NU ** Subject to final determination per the “206” ROE complaints at the FERC

 EEI 2014  *  Renewables & LNG  Renewables Connections ProgramPURA approved 2 projects totaling 7.8 MW (allowed up to 10 MW):Bridgeport: 2.2 MW solar & 2.8 MW fuel cellNew Haven: 2.8 MW fuel cellBase ROE:Electric D ROE + 25 basis points, plusRetain a percentage of market revenues, expected to be equivalent to 25 basis pointsLNGMilford, CT14.6 million gallon liquefied natural gas storage tankEarns an ROE equal to SCG’s allowed ROE of 9.36%Rocky Hill, CT14.6 million gallon liquefied natural gas storage tankIncluded in CNG’s rate base

 EEI 2014  *  The fuels used to produce New England’s electric energy have shifted as a result of economic and environmental factors“At Risk” Generator retirements have begunRecent & future retirements of non-gas fired generation further threaten reliabilityUIL is an active participant in NESCOE’s proposed RFPContinue to stay engaged and willing to participate with NESCOE & other parties to find solutions for electric and gas capacity into New England  Opportunities in New England  Source: ISO New England 2014 Regional Electricity Outlook  * Megawatts based on relevant Forward Capacity Auction (FCA) summer qualified capacity (NOTE: total includes full & partial generator and demand response Non-Price Retirement (NPR) request for Capacity Commitment Period (CCP) 2013-2014 through CCP 2018-2019)Source: ISO New England Non-Price Retirement Requests status 10/23/14

 EEI 2014  *  Regulatory & Legislative Update

 EEI 2014  *  Regulatory Update  Gas Distribution Rate Case – CNGFinal decision issued on 1/22/14 ordered a private letter ruling (PLR) request on 338 (h)(10) issue CT OCC filed an appeal of PURA’s rate case decision, including the PLRAt PURA’s request, CNG and CT OCC entered into settlement discussions, which are ongoingCT’s Comprehensive Energy Strategy - Regulatory Settlement AgreementSettlement agreement filed with PURA on 10/23/14; if approved:A portion of non-firm margin will be used to offset CIACCustomer aggregation methodology defined by proposing a two-mile radius to group customers into potential gas expansion projectsStreamlines certain reporting requirementsHearings yet to be scheduledGeneration Service Charge – UIDraft decision* issued on 10/2/14 - disallowed partial recovery of certain expenses, primarily carrying charges, relating to the period from ’04-’13Final decision expected 11/12/14  * If draft decision were adopted without change as final, a pre-tax write-off of approx. $3.1M will be recorded in 4Q ‘14

 EEI 2014  *  Legislative Update  ConnecticutGubernatorial RaceGovernor Dannel Malloy won re-election over Republican challenger Tom FoleyEnergy was not a campaign issueLegislative RacesDemocrats still have majority in both the House & the SenateRepublicans picked up 8 seats in the House & 1 seat in the SenateRepublicans will hold its most seats in the House since ‘94 (64 out of 151)MassachusettsGubernatorial RaceRepublican Charlie Baker won over Democrat Martha Coakley Proposed natural gas pipeline expansion was an issue in the campaignBaker was largely non-committal, while Coakley was opposedLegislative RacesDemocrats have majority in both the House & the SenateRepublicans picked up 6 seats in the House and 2 seats in the Senate

 EEI 2014  *  Financials

 EEI 2014  *  Solid Financial Performance YTD ’14 Net Income vs. YTD ’13 Net Income - $M  Amounts may not add due to rounding  Non-recurring expenses  Net income of $77.3M YTD ‘14 & $74.9M YTD ’13 included certain non-recurring after-tax expenses, as detailed aboveYTD earnings, excluding the non-recurring expenses, were $93.3M for ‘14, compared to $86.9M for ’13 -- increase in earnings primarily due to:Increased earnings from gas distribution from colder weather, increased customer growth and NUPCPartially offset by increased uncollectible expense

 EEI 2014  *  Debt Maturities & Liquidity  * Remarket $27.5M of UI tax exempt bonds ** Not including Bridge Term Loan AgreementAmounts may not add due to rounding  $M

 EEI 2014  *  2014 Earnings Guidanceas of 11/5/14  ‘15 Earnings Guidance will be presented on the 4Q ’14 earnings call

 EEI 2014  *  Investment Thesis  Investment in regulated electric and gas businesses……Ensuring safety and reliability for customersSatisfying responsibilities as a public utility companyProviding customers access to cleaner and lower cost fuelEnhancing shareholder value by earning regulated returns on increased investments  Pure Play Electric & Gas Utilities Strategy  Growth Strategy  Financial & Dividend Philosophy  Growth……Through investment in infrastructure in regulated electric and gas businessesThrough conversion of customers to natural gas heating Pursuing opportunities in Renewable Generation, LNG and other projectsThrough opportunistic strategic transactions – e.g. PGW Operations  Philosophy……Consistent history of dividend paymentsMaintain investment grade credit ratings

 EEI 2014  *  Questions

 EEI 2014  *  APPENDIX

 EEI 2014  *  Proposed Acquisition of PGW Announced on 3/3/14  Description    Acquisition of assets and certain liabilities of Philadelphia Gas Works (“PGW Operations”)        Purchase Price    Total consideration of $1.86B; PGW Operations acquired on a cash-free and debt-free basis        Financing Plan     UIL intends to issue long-term debt and equity (or in combination with equity like securities) in amounts consistent with maintaining investment grade credit ratings to permanently fund the transaction at closeUIL has secured a $1.90B fully committed facility to support the transaction        Approvals & Timing    Philadelphia City CouncilPennsylvania Public Utility Commission No shareowner vote requiredExpected closing by 1st half ‘15

 EEI 2014  *  Strategic Rationale for Acquisition  Growth Opportunities    Opportunities to drive long-term growth through infrastructure investments        Diversification    Increased operational diversification improves business profile and profitability         LDC Platform    Leverage business expertise, processes and IT/back-office infrastructure        Regulatory    Provides regulatory diversification        Attractive Financial Profile    Increases financial flexibility and scale while maintaining investment-grade credit rating

 EEI 2014  *  Current Forecast - Gas Distribution  * Includes 338(h)(10) electionAmounts may not add due to rounding  Capex  Rate Base* $M

 EEI 2014  *  Previous 10-yr Capex & Rate Base Forecasts  Capex(1)  (1) Excludes proposed PGW acquisition* Includes Renewable Generation - $47M ’14-’18  * Excludes proposed PGW acquisition** Includes 338(h)(10) election(1) Includes Renewable Generation(2) Represents investments at UIL CorporateAmounts may not add due to rounding  Rate Base*

 EEI 2014  *  Previous Gas Distribution Capex & Rate Base Forecasts  Capex  Rate Base *  * Includes 338(h)(10) electionAmounts may not add due to rounding

 EEI 2014  *  CT Renewable Portfolio Standards  Connecticut RPS Requirements(Percentage of Retail Load)  Class I resources include electricity derived from solar, wind, fuel cell, geothermal, landfill methane gas, anaerobic digestion or biogas, ocean thermal, wave, tidal, run-of-river hydropower (<30MW that meet certain state and federal requirements), sustainable biomass (NOx emission <0.075 lbs/MMBtu of heat input), thermal electric direct energy conversion from a Class I source Class II resources include other biomass (NOx emission <0.2 lbs/MMBtu of heat input, began operation before July 1, 1998), small run-of-river hydroelectric (<5MW, began operation before July 1, 2003) and municipal solid waste trash-to-energy facilities Class III include customer-sited combined heat and power (with operating efficiency >50% of facilities installed after January 1, 2006), waste heat recovery systems (installed on or after April 1, 2007), electricity savings from conservation and load management programs (began on or after January 1, 2006), provided that ratepayer funded conservation and load management ceased to qualify on January 1, 2014

 EEI 2014  *  Notes