PDC 1998-D LTD PARTNERSHIP (CIK 1080504)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-03-31
filed 2003-05-14

CONFORMED COPY

QUARTERLY REPORT UNDER SECTION 13 OR 15(d)

OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

[X] Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

For the period ended March 31, 2003

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an accelerated filer (as definition in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.) Yes No XX

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

INDEX

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

Balance Sheets

March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002

Assets
	2003	2002
	(Unaudited)

Current assets:
Cash	$ 2,036	1,816
Accounts receivable - oil and gas revenues	576,120	373,683
Total current assets	578,156	375,499

Oil and gas properties, successful efforts method	10,146,279	10,123,711
Less accumulated depreciation, depletion
and amortization	3,765,320	3,622,985
	6,380,959	6,500,726

	$6,959,115	6,876,225

Current Liabilities and Partners' Equity

Current liabilities:
Accrued expenses	$ 165,713	111,913
Total current liabilities	165,713	111,913

Asset retirement obligation	28,919	-

Partners' Equity	6,764,483	6,764,312

	$6,959,115	6,876,225

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

Statements of Operations

Three months ended March 31, 2003 and 2002

(Unaudited)

	2003	2002
Revenues:
Sales of oil and gas	$ 712,919	339,536
Interest income	277	543
	713,196	340,079
Expenses:
Lifting cost	203,076	193,635
Direct administration cost	486	58
Depreciation, depletion, and amortization	134,258	193,250
	337,820	386,943

Income (loss) before cumulative effect of accounting change	375,376	(46,864)

Cumulative effect of accounting change	14,001	-

Net income (loss) after cumulative effect of accounting change	$361,375	(46,864)

Net income (loss) per limited and additional
general partner unit	$ 282	(37)

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

Statement of Partners' Equity

Three months ended March 31, 2003

(Unaudited)
	Limited and Additional General Partners	Managing General Partner	Accumulated Other Comprehensive Income	Total

Balance, December 31, 2002	$5,446,489	1,382,596	(64,773)	6,764,312

Distributions to partners	(289,201)	(64,837)	-	(354,038)

Comprehensive income:
Net income	289,100	72,275	-	361,375
Change in fair value of outstanding hedging positions			(42,542)
Less reclassification adjustments for settled contracts included in net income			35,376
Other comprehensive loss			(7,166)	(7,166)
Comprehensive income				354,209

Balance, March 31, 2003	$ 5,446,388	1,390,034	(71,939)	6,764,483

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

Statements of Cash Flows

Three months ended March 31, 2003 and 2002

(Unaudited)

	2003	2002
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net income (loss)	$361,375	(46,864)
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash
provided from operating activities:
Depreciation, depletion and amortization	134,258	193,250
Cumulative effect of accounting change	14,001	-
Accretion of asset retirement obligation	427	-
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
(Increase) decrease in accounts receivable - oil and gas revenues	(147,422)	124,264
Decrease in accounts payable	(8,381)	(5,066)
Net cash provided from operating activities	354,258	265,584

Cash flows from financing activities:
Distributions to partners	(354,038)	(265,098)
Net cash used by financing activities	(354,038)	(265,098)

Net increase in cash	220	486
Cash at beginning of period	1,816	6,101
Cash at end of period	$ 2,036	6,587

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

PDC 1998-D LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

(A West Virginia Limited Partnership)

Notes to Financial Statements

(Unaudited)

1. Accounting Policies

Reference is hereby made to the Partnership's Annual Report on Form 10-K for 2002, which contains a summary of significant accounting policies followed by the Partnership in the preparation of its financial statements. These policies were also followed in preparing the quarterly report included herein except as noted below.

2. Basis of Presentation

The Management of the Partnership believes that all adjustments (consisting of only normal recurring accruals) necessary to a fair statement of the results of such periods have been made. The results of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2003 are not necessarily indicative of the results to be expected for the full year.

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

5. Change in Accounting Principle

In June 2001, the Financial Accounting Standard Board issued SFAS No. 143, "Accounting for Asset Retirement Obligations" that requires entities to record the fair value of a liability for an asset retirement obligation in the period in which it is incurred and a corresponding increase in the carrying amount of the related long-lived asset. This statement is effective for fiscal years beginning after June 15, 2002. The Partnership adopted SFAS No. 143 on January 1, 2003 and recorded a net asset of $14,491 and a related liability of $28,492 (using a 6% discount rate) and a cumulative effect on change in accounting principle on prior years of $14,001.

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

The Partnership began exploration and development activities subsequent to the funding of the Partnership and completed well drilling activities by March 31, 1999. Ninety-seven wells have been drilled of which eighty-nine have been completed as producing wells.

The Partnership had net working capital at March 31, 2003 of $412,443.

Operations are expected to be conducted with available funds and revenues generated from oil and gas activities. No bank borrowings are anticipated.

Results of Operations

Sales of oil and gas increased 109.97% during the first quarter of 2003 compared to 2002 due to higher average sales prices of natural gas offset in part by lower sales volumes of natural gas. The partnership distributed $354,038 to the partners during the first quarter of 2003.

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

Commodity Price Risk

Natural gas and oil prices have been unusually volatile for the past few years, and the Partnership anticipates continued volatility in the future. Currently, the NYMEX futures reflect a market expectation of gas prices at Henry Hub close to or above record prices per million Btu's (mmbtu). These prices look strong for the remainder of the year with natural gas storage levels at five-year low levels. The Partnership believes that volatility creates the possibility of both periods of low prices and continued high prices.

Because of the uncertainty surrounding gas prices the Managing General Partner used hedging agreements to manage some of the impact of fluctuations in prices for the Managing General Partner and its various limited partnership's share of production. Through March of 2004 the Partnership has in place a series of costless collars and option contracts. Under the collar arrangements, if the applicable index rises above the ceiling price, the Partnership pays the counterparty, however if the index drops below the floor the counterparty pays the Partnership. For the period from April 2003 through October 2003, the Partnership has floors in place in a range from $3.40 to $5.50 on 51,002 Mmbtu of monthly production and ceilings in place in a range from $3.80 to $5.95 on 26,094 Mmbtu of monthly production. For the period November, 2003 through March, 2004, the Partnership has floors in place in a range from $4.20 to $4.45 on 16,605 Mmbtu of monthly production and ceilings in place in a range from $5.00 to $5.40 on 8,303 Mmbtu of monthly production. The fair value of these floors and ceilings as of March 31, 2003 is $(71,939).

As of March 31, 2003 the Partnership had option contracts for the sale of 224,172 Mmbtu of natural gas with an average ceiling price of $4.99 and for the sale of 440,042 Mmbtu of natural gas with an average floor price of $4.25.

Disclosure of Limitations

As the information above incorporates only those exposures that exist at March 31, 2003, it does not consider those exposures or positions which could arise after that date. As a result, the Partnership's ultimate realized gain or loss with respect to commodity price fluctuations will depend on the exposures that arise during the period, the Partnership's hedging strategies at the time and commodity prices at the time.

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

CONFORMED COPY

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.     Legal Proceedings

            None.

Item 6.    Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K

           (a) Exhibits
Exhibit Name	Exhibit Number

Certification by Chief Executive Officer	99.1
Certification by Chief Financial Officer	99.2

           (b) No reports on Form 8-K have been filed during the quarter ended

               March 31, 2003.

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.
PDC 1998-D Limited Partnership (Registrant) By its Managing General Partner Petroleum Development Corporation

Date: May 14, 2003	/s/ Steven R. Williams Steven R. Williams President

Date: May 14, 2003	/s/ Dale G. Rettinger Dale G. Rettinger Executive Vice President and Treasurer

FORM 10-Q CERTIFICATION

I, Dale G. Rettinger, certify that:

1. I have reviewed this quarterly report on Form 10-Q of PDC 1998-D Limited Partnership;

2. Based on my knowledge, this quarterly report does not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary to make the statements made, in light of the circumstances under which such statements were made, not misleading with respect to the period covered by this quarterly report;

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

(a) designed such disclosure controls and procedures to ensure that material information relating to the registrant, including its consolidated subsidiaries, is made known to us by others within those entities, particularly during the period in which this quarterly report is being prepared;

(b) evaluated the effectiveness of the registrant's disclosure controls and procedures as of a date within 90 days prior to the filing date of this quarterly report (the "Evaluation Date"); and

(c) presented in this quarterly report our conclusions about the effectiveness of the disclosure controls and procedures based on our evaluation as of the Evaluation Date;

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

Date:  May 14, 2003

/s/ Dale G. Rettinger

Dale G. Rettinger

Chief Financial Officer

of Petroleum Development Corporation

FORM 10-Q CERTIFICATION

I, James N. Ryan, certify that:

1. I have reviewed this quarterly report on Form 10-Q of PDC 1998-D Limited Partnership;

2. Based on my knowledge, this quarterly report does not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary to make the statements made, in light of the circumstances under which such statements were made, not misleading with respect to the period covered by this quarterly report;

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

(a) designed such disclosure controls and procedures to ensure that material information relating to the registrant, including its consolidated subsidiaries, is made known to us by others within those entities, particularly during the period in which this quarterly report is being prepared;

(b) evaluated the effectiveness of the registrant's disclosure controls and procedures as of a date within 90 days prior to the filing date of this quarterly report (the "Evaluation Date"); and

(c) presented in this quarterly report our conclusions about the effectiveness of the disclosure controls and procedures based on our evaluation as of the Evaluation Date;

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

Date:   May 14, 2003

/s/ James N. Ryan

James N. Ryan

Chief Executive Officer

of Petroleum Development Corporation