1 Becton Drive

Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417

www.bd.com

News Release

Contact:

Colleen T. White, Corporate Communications – 201-847-5369

Patricia A. Spinella, Investor Relations – 201-847-5453

BD BOARD DECLARES DIVIDEND

Franklin Lakes, NJ (July 25, 2006) – The Board of Directors of BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company) (NYSE:BDX) has declared a quarterly dividend of 21.5 cents per common share. The dividend will be payable on September 29, 2006 to holders of record on September 8, 2006. The indicated annual dividend rate is 86 cents per share.

ABOUT BD

BD, a leading global medical technology company that makes and sells medical devices, instrumented systems and reagents, is dedicated to improving people's health throughout the world. BD is focused on improving drug therapy, enhancing the quality and speed of diagnosing infectious diseases, and advancing research and discovery of new drugs and vaccines. The Company's capabilities are instrumental in combating many of the world's most pressing diseases. Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, BD employs more than 25,000 people in approximately 50 countries throughout the world. The Company serves healthcare institutions, life science researchers, clinical laboratories, industry and the general public. For more information, please visit www.bd.com.

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