Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

     Attention Business Editors:
     Northcore closes first tranche with GEM Global Yield Fund Limited

     (TSX: NTI; OTCBB: NTLNF)

     TORONTO, Aug. 11 /CNW/ - Northcore Technologies Inc. (TSX: NTI; OTCBB:
NTLNF), a global provider of technology solutions for capital asset
management, confirmed that it has closed an equity transaction with GEM Global
Yield Fund Limited, resulting in the issuance of 2,191,000 common shares for
gross proceeds of $383,000.
     In connection with the first tranche draw down of funds, the Company
issued 6,000,000 share-purchase warrants to finalize the availability of the
committed $6,000,000 equity line of credit. The warrants are exercisable for a
period of three years from the closing date at an exercise price of $0.27 per
share.

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     About Northcore Technologies Inc.
     ---------------------------------
     >>
     Northcore Technologies provides a Working Capital Engine(TM) that helps
organizations source, manage, appraise and sell their capital equipment.
Northcore offers its software solutions and support services to a growing
number of customers in a variety of sectors including financial services,
manufacturing, oil and gas and government.
     Northcore owns 50 percent of GE Asset Manager, LLC, a joint business
venture with GE. Together, the companies work with leading organizations
around the world to help them liberate more capital value from their assets.
     Additional information about Northcore can be obtained at
www.northcore.com.
     This news release may include comments that do not refer strictly to
historical results or actions and may be deemed to be forward-looking within
the meaning of the Safe Harbor provisions of the U.S. federal securities laws.
These include, among others, statements about expectations of future revenues,
cash flows, and cash requirements. Forward-looking statements are subject to
risks and uncertainties that may cause Northcore's results to differ
materially from expectations. These risks include the Company's ability to
raise additional funding, develop its business-to-business sales and
operations, develop appropriate strategic alliances and successful development
and implementation of technology, acceptance of the Company's products and
services, competitive factors, new products and technological changes, and
other such risks as the Company may identify and discuss from time to time,
including those risks disclosed in the Company's Form 20-F filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission. Accordingly, there is no certainty that
the Company's plans will be achieved. Important factors that could cause
actual results to differ materially from the Company's expectations are
disclosed in the Company's documents filed from time to time with the Toronto
Stock Exchange, on SEDAR (the System for Electronic Document Analysis and
Retrieval at www.sedar.com) and the US Securities and Exchange Commission.
This news release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of
an offer to buy securities of the Company in any jurisdiction.

     %SEDAR: 00019461E %CIK: 0001079171

     /For further information: Northcore Technologies Inc., Investor
Relations, Tel: (416) 640-0400 ext. 273, Fax: (416) 640-0412, E-mail:
InvestorRelations(at)northcore.com/
     (NTI. NTLNF)

CO:  Northcore Technologies Inc.

CNW 13:30e 11-AUG-10