Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

     Attention Business Editors:
     Northcore schedules Q2 2008 financial results

     (TSX: NTI; OTCBB: NTLNF)

     TORONTO, Aug. 5 /CNW/ - Northcore Technologies Inc. (TSX: NTI;
OTCBB:NTLNF), a global provider of core asset solutions, today announced that
it is scheduled to release its second quarter results on Tuesday, August 12
following the close of the markets. The Company will hold a conference call at
10:00 a.m. (Eastern) on Wednesday, August 13 to discuss its financial results
and review operational activities. Followers of Northcore are invited to
listen to the call live over the Internet on the Investor Relations section of
the Company's website, www.northcore.com.

     About Northcore Technologies Inc.
     ---------------------------------
     Northcore Technologies provides software solutions and services that help
organizations source, manage and sell their capital equipment and assets.
Northcore works with a growing number of customers and partners in a variety
of sectors including financial services, manufacturing, oil and gas, and
government. Some of our current customers include GE Commercial Finance,
Paramount Resources, The Brick and Trilogy Energy Trust among others.
     Northcore owns a 50 percent interest in GE Asset Manager, a joint
business venture with GE.

     This news release may include comments that do not refer strictly to
historical results or actions and may be deemed to be forward-looking within
the meaning of the Safe Harbor provisions of the U.S. federal securities laws.
These include, among others, statements about expectations of future revenues,
cash flows, and cash requirements. Forward-looking statements are subject to
risks and uncertainties that may cause Northcore's ("the Company") results to
differ materially from expectations. These risks include the Company's ability
to raise additional funding, develop its business-to-business sales and
operations, develop appropriate strategic alliances and successful development
and implementation of technology, acceptance of the Company's products and
services, competitive factors, new products and technological changes, and
other such risks as the Company may identify and discuss from time to time,
including those risks disclosed in the Company's Form 20-F filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission. Accordingly, there is no certainty that
the Company's plans will be achieved.

     %SEDAR: 00019461E          %CIK: 0001079171

     /For further information: At Northcore Technologies Inc., Investor
Relations, Tel: (416) 640-0400 ext. 273, Email:
InvestorRelations(at)northcore.com/
     (NTI. NTLNF)

CO:  Northcore Technologies Inc.

CNW 17:29e 05-AUG-08