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                                                                   EXHIBIT 99(a)

MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION
AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

Liquidity and Financial Resources

     Liquidity refers to the ability to generate adequate amounts of cash to satisfy the financial needs of an enterprise. Cash flow from operations, a major source of the Company's liquidity, provided funds of $466.3 million over the past three years. The generation of cash through operations during this time period was sufficient to fund working capital requirements, support the Company's internal capital investment program, and sustain an increasing rate of dividends paid. Additional details regarding operating, investing, and financing activities can be found in the Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows. It is the Company's belief that cash flow from operations will be sufficient to fund, for the foreseeable future, capital investments, dividend payments, commitments on environmental remediation projects, and operating requirements.

     Early in the year the Company redeemed its $150 million outstanding 5-1/2% Convertible Subordinated Debentures due 2012, of which $149.9 million was converted into the Company's common stock. The redemption was called to provide greater financial flexibility as the Company continues its efforts to expand product lines and marketing capabilities of its core businesses. As a result of its strong balance sheet, the Company has the financial capacity needed should an acquisition opportunity present itself.

     Further progress has been made in divesting noncore businesses. During the second quarter of 1994, the Company sold its metal finishing and metal working businesses for $24.2 million in cash. The Company completed the divestiture of its Diversified Products segment during the second quarter of 1995 with the sale of its battery parts and carbon black operations in March and June, respectively, for approximately $140 million in cash. The resulting cash flow from these divestitures will be used to further strengthen the Company's core businesses of specialty chemical and petroleum products.

     Currently, the Company's primary international operations are based in Western Europe and Canada. Although there are certain risks inherent in carrying on international business, including currency devaluations and controls, export and import restrictions, product supply,

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and economic controls, the Company does not believe these factors will
significantly affect its operations.

     As the Company continues to focus on global expansion, it has, through certain of its international subsidiaries, arrangements with various banks for lines of credit. At December 31, 1994, these lines of credit aggregated $36.7 million, of which $36.4 million was unused at year-end. The Company has also entered into certain long-term hedging arrangements to protect against possible adverse currency exchange and interest rate fluctuations (see Note 13 of the Notes to Financial Statements for additional details).

     During the fourth quarter of 1995, the Company acquired OSi Specialties Holding Company ("Holding") and its wholly owned subsidiary OSi Specialties, Inc. ("OSi Specialties", and collectively with Holding, "OSi") in a cash transaction for $486 million. The acquisition was financed with cash on hand and short-term bank loans of $375 million under a credit agreement totaling $675 million with a consortium of banks.

     The Company subsequently purchased for cash all of Holding's 11-1/2% Senior Secured Discount Debentures due 2004 for $137.6 million and more than 99% of OSi Specialties' 9-1/4% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2003 for $140.1 million. The Company funded the acquisition of the Debentures and Notes with additional short-term bank loans available under the $675 million credit agreement.

     The Company intends to replace all or part of the short-term bank loans with long-term financing in the public markets.

     The Company periodically evaluates its liquidity requirements, capital needs, and availability of external funds. As a result of this process, the Company has in the past and may in the future seek to restructure indebtedness, raise additional capital, or take such other steps to increase or manage its liquidity and financial resources.

Capital Investments and Commitments

     In 1994, the Company continued to upgrade existing facilities and to expand capacity to meet changing market demands. Internal capital expenditures were $107.4 million, bringing the total for the past three years to

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$283.7 million. The capital investment program in 1995 will continue to focus on
capacity expansion and market share growth and is expected to reach $100
million. Investments in the form of research and development, quality initiatives, and marketing alliances will also continue in all key product
lines.

     The Company is committed to developing business opportunities in Asia and is currently focusing on both the immediate and longer term actions that are necessary to expand and leverage new and existing business in this region of the world. The strategy includes both capital investment and new marketing initiatives. The Company presently anticipates that initial capital investments may be in the form of joint ventures. For noncapital initiatives, cooperative marketing and technical agreements will be pursued.

     The acquisition of OSi not only adds strategic research and development capabilities along with a full line of silicone surfactant, amine catalysts, organofunctional silanes and specialty fluids, but provides the base for acceleration of growth of the Company's existing products in Asia, South America and Eastern Europe. During 1996, the Company will be committed to the successful integration of this acquisition.

     The screening and development of specific businesses will take place throughout 1996 with the focus on: surfactants for agriculture, personal care, and laundry products; polyurethane systems for footwear manufacturers; and lubricants for plastics including polyethylene, polypropylene, and film.

     In addition, to effectively service the expanding customer base in Asia, the Company plans on establishing a local technical support center. This service center will house lab personnel and technical service representatives whose function will be to address the specific needs of customers in that part of the world.

Environmental Matters

     The Company operates in an industry subject to extensive regulations related to the protection of the environment and the health and safety of
employees  and  others.  Domestic   operations  are  subject to a myriad  of
environmental statutes and regulations at the Federal,

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state, and local levels. The Company's international production facilities
operate in an environmental regulatory framework in which governmental authorities typically are granted broad discretionary powers which require manufacturing facilities to obtain operating permits to continue operations.

     The Company believes that expenditures for compliance with these statutes, regulations, and permits will continue to have a significant impact upon the conduct of its business. The trend toward greater environmental awareness and more stringent environmental regulations is likely to continue, and while the Company cannot accurately predict how this will affect future operations and earnings, the Company does not believe its costs will significantly vary from those of its competitors.

     Consistent with the Company's concern for the protection and improvement of the environment worldwide, the Company continually monitors the environmental impact of past and present operating practices in light of changing environmental standards. Where remedial action is indicated, the Company assesses the probability and scope of potential remediation costs. To determine the appropriate reserve amounts, management reviews, on a quarterly basis, currently available information pertaining to each environmental site. Inherent in this process are considerable uncertainties which affect the Company's ability to estimate the ultimate costs of remediation. Such uncertainties include the nature and extent of contamination at each site, evolving governmental standards regarding remediation requirements, changes in environmental regulations, widely varying costs of alternate cleanup methods, the number and financial condition of other potentially responsible parties at multi-party sites, innovations in remediation and restoration technology, and the identification of additional environmental sites. As a result, as remediation efforts proceed at existing sites and new sites are assimilated into the review process, charges against income for environmental reserves could have a material effect on results of operations in a particular quarter or year. However, such charges are not expected to have a material adverse effect on the Company's consolidated financial position, cash flow, or liquidity.

     The Company has numerous insurance policies which it believes provide coverage for certain environmental liabilities. The Company is currently in litigation with many of its insurers concerning the applicability and amount of

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insurance coverage for environmental costs under these policies. Except for
amounts reflected in executed settlement agreements, no provision for recovery under any of these policies is included in the December 31, 1994 balance sheet. Refer to Note 16 to the Consolidated Financial Statements for further information regarding insurance settlements subsequent to December 31, 1994.

     Environmental reserves at December 31, 1994 amounted to $97.4 million, which reflects management's assessment of future remediation costs in light of currently available information. Remediation expenditures charged to those reserves were $11 million in 1994 and include expenditures currently mandated as well as those not required by any regulatory authority or third party. The Company anticipates 1995 expenditures to approximate $18 million.

     Capital expenditures for air, water, and solid waste control equipment and facilities amounted to $8 million in 1994, and $30 million for the past three fiscal years. The Company estimates that from 1995 through 1997, approximately $46 million will be expended on similar capital projects.

     The Company is continuing its efforts to reduce hazardous waste and emissions generated by its operations. Through improved operating efficiencies, installation of additional environmental control equipment, and utilization of the latest innovations in waste treatment technology, management believes that direct recurring operating costs associated with managing hazardous substances and pollution can be controlled. Such costs amounted to $21.2 million in 1994 and $20 million in 1993.

Contingencies

     The Company has been notified, or is named as a potentially responsible party or a defendant in a number of governmental (federal, state, and local) and private actions associated with environmental matters, such as those relating to hazardous wastes, including certain sites which are on the United States EPA National Priorities List. These actions seek cleanup costs, penalties, and/or damage for personal injury or damage to property or natural resources.

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     The  Company is not a party  to any  legal  proceedings  or  environmental
matters  which  it  believes will  have a  material   adverse  effect  on  its
consolidated financial position. It is possible, however, that future results of operations and cash flows, for any particular quarterly or annual period, could be materially affected by such legal proceedings or environmental matters. However, the Company does not expect the results of such proceedings or environmental matters to materially affect its competitive position.

Discontinued Operation

     On September  11, 1995,  the Company  announced its intention to divest its
Lubricants Group. See Note 16   to the Consolidated  Financial Statements for
further information.

Results of Continuing Operations

     The Company reported record income from continuing operations in 1994 of $94.4 million compared to $25.1 million in 1993 and $38.4 million in 1992. The three year period included several non-recurring items which affect comparison. The following table shows the effect of these non-recurring items on earnings. The pre-tax values of these items, except the accounting change which was shown separately, were included in the "Other expense (income) -- net" caption of the Consolidated Statements of Income.

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<TABLE>
(Millions of dollars except
     per share data)
--------------------------
                                                       1994                          1993                         1992
                                          -----------------------------   ---------------------------  -----------------------------
                                                                                              Income
                                           Pre-Tax              Income    Pre-Tax               Per    Pre-Tax               Income
                                            Income    Income   Per Share   Income   Income     Share    Income    Income   Per Share
                                            ------    ------   ---------   ------   ------     -----    ------    ------   ---------
Income from continuing operations
   excluding non-recurring items             $140.4    $91.3     $1.64     $110.6   $ 70.1     $1.37     $78.6    $ 51.7     $1.15

Provision for environmental remediation
   and compliance                                 -        -         -      (29.1)   (18.9)     (.34)        -         -         -

Provision for disposition of a business           -        -         -      (19.2)   (12.4)     (.23)        -         -         -

Provision for work force reduction                -        -         -      (12.2)    (7.9)     (.14)        -         -         -

Gain on sale of the operations of
   subsidiaries                                 4.8      3.1       .06        8.8      5.7       .11          -        -         -

Provision for loss on sublease of office
   facilities                                     -        -         -       (9.2)    (6.1)     (.11)         -        -         -

Other - net                                       -        -         -       (8.4)    (5.4)     (.10)         -        -         -

Provision for consolidation of offices            -        -         -          -        -         -     (20.1)    (13.3)      (.27)
                                             ------    -----     -----     ------    -----     -----     -----     -----      -----

Income from continuing operations            $145.2    $94.4     $1.70     $ 41.3   $ 25.1     $ .56    $ 58.5    $ 38.4      $ .88
                                             ======    =====     =====     ======   ======     =====    ======    ======      =====


     Included in 1994 results was a $3.1  million  gain  on the  sale of the
Allied-Kelite  operations which reflects the  Company's  continued  efforts to
divest its noncore businesses.

     Results for 1993 included an $18.9 million  environmental  provision  which
reflected the Company's assessment of the remediation  and compliance  costs it
will incur to comply with regulatory requirements and standards. Additionally,
the  Company established provisions of $12.4  million in 1993 for the planned
divestiture  of the Battery  Parts Division and $7.9 million for a reduction of
the  Company's  worldwide work force, as part of its  strategy to realign and
reorganize  operations  to  emphasize core  businesses. Consistent  with  this
strategy,  during  1993  the Company sold the operations  of  its Chemprene
subsidiary for a net gain of $5.7 million.

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     A loss of $6.1 million, attributable to an agreement to sublease two office
facilities resulting  from the Company's  commitment to relocate to a new world
headquarters, was also recorded in 1993.

     The Company's decision in 1992 to bring  certain  operating  management
together with executive  management  and administrative  functions  through the
consolidation of offices into a new world headquarters resulted in recording a
charge of $13.3 million.  Additionally, as a result of the Company's adoption of
Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 106 for postretirement benefits
other than pensions, the Company recorded a charge of $14.7 million in 1992.

1994 vs. 1993

     Excluding non-recurring items, income from continuing  operations totaled
$91.3 million in 1994, compared to $70.1 million in 1993.  Record sales,  which
were  4 percent  above the  previous year,  and  higher  gross  margins  were
responsible for approximately 85 percent of the $21.2 million increase in income
from continuing operations,  before non-recurring items. Despite the disposition
of certain  operations in late 1993 and 1994, sales rose on the strength of a 7
percent  increase  in  shipment  volume. Although increases in  raw  material
feedstock  costs caused gross margins to  deteriorate during the second half of
1994,  cost saving  initiatives  and lower feedstock costs earlier in the year
enabled full year margins to be 1 percent ahead of 1993. Chiefly the result of
the Company's  redemption of its 5-1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures,
lower net  interest  costs  also  contributed  to the  higher  net  earnings.  A
comparison of 1993 and 1994 selling and  administrative  expenses  shows an
increase of 2 percent, however, through careful monitoring the Company was able
to reduce these expenses as a percentage of sales.

     The Company does not allocate  income and  expenses  that are of a general
corporate  nature to industry  segments in computing operating income.  These
include general  corporate  expenses, interest income and expense, and certain
other income and expenses.

     The  Petroleum  Segment for all periods  presented  consists solely of the
Petroleum Specialties Group. This was a result of the Company's decision to sell
the

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Lubricants Group, the  operating  results  of which  have been  reported  as a
discontinued operation.

     The Company's 1994 operating income of $182.8 million represents an
increase of $62.6 million over 1993. Comparison of these earnings for each of
the Company's industry segments is affected by non-recurring items. Exclusive of
these items, operating income rose to $178.0 million in 1994 from $159.7 million
in 1993. The contribution of the Company's international operations to net sales
and operating income, exclusive of non-recurring items, increased in 1994.
Continued emphasis on global growth and an overall improvement in the European
economy led to a change in geographic composition. International operations
accounted for 36 percent of the Company's net sales in 1994 compared to 34
percent in 1993 and its contribution to operating income, excluding
non-recurring items, increased 7 percent to a 40 percent share.

     Effective  January 1, 1995,  the Company  changed its method of inventory
valuation under dollar value LIFO from LIFO double extension to LIFO link chain.
Management believes that the LIFO link chain method is preferable because it is
the predominate method used in the industry and will  mitigate the impact of
volume  fluctuations  on results of operations. It is not possible to determine
the effect of the change on retained earnings as of January 1, 1995 or income as
previously reported for the year ended December 31, 1994. This change is not
expected to have a material effect on 1995 net income.

Chemical Segment

     Net sales of $1.3  billion  in 1994  were $105  million  greater  than the
previous year. Each of the  segment's  business  groups  participated  in an 8
percent increase in shipment volume, while prices remained stable. Growth in all
but a  few  markets, both  domestically  and  abroad,  was  achieved  in  1994.
Improvements in both the domestic and  European  economies,  and  aggressive
marketing translated into higher sales volume.

     Operating income for 1993 was  adversely  affected  by a  $5.6  million
provision  for  environmental  remediation  and  compliance.   Excluding  this
non-recurring  charge, operating income rose $11.6 million, or 11 percent, over
1993. The segment's  Polymer  Additives Group  registered the largest  increase,
accounting for two-thirds of the segment's

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total improvement. The group benefited from a strong domestic economy, evidenced
by a rise in the construction  industry, and a more robust European economy. All
major business  units  contributed  to the  group's 23 percent  improvement  in
operating income. A 9 percent  increase in net sales  attributable  to greater
domestic shipment volume, the introduction of a new antioxidant product and a
favorable European sales product mix led to the group's higher earnings. Process
improvements, the  most  notable  involving the  production  of  amides,  also
contributed to the group's strong performance. The International/Europe Group's
operating income rose  approximately 15 percent, accounting for the remaining
portion of the segment's favorable operating results.  The overall strength of
the European economy led to greater sales and improved earnings for each of the
group's major business units. An increase in shipment volume of approximately 10
percent, a favorable product sales mix in key businesses, cost saving programs,
and plant efficiencies proved to be a successful  combination.  Although  the
Oleo/Surfactants Group increased its shipment volume by 9 percent, its operating
income  remained  relatively  unchanged.  Sales  growth  was  achieved  through
aggressive  marketing, new product introductions  in the  Oilfield and Laundry
Products  business  units, and an  increase  in  overseas  shipments.  However,
significant increases in raw material costs in the second half of 1994, which
the group  was  unable to fully  recover  through  higher  sales  prices due to
competitive pricing pressures, offset the increase in sales.

Petroleum Segment

     Segment 1994 sales of $375.6  million were $10.4 million ahead of 1993. The
segment reported an increase in volume of  approximately 4 percent which offset
the effect of a 1 percent drop in prices.

     Non-recurring  charges of $15.2 million for environmental matters severely
affected 1993 operating earnings. Excluding these charges, 1994 operating income
of $43.4 million was $3.6 million greater than 1993. The 9 percent  increase in
operating  income was  primarily due to an  improvement  in  material  margins
attributable to a decline in raw  material feedstock costs  that  outpaced a
corresponding decrease in sales prices. A favorable product sales mix, higher
sales volume, and efficiencies in manufacturing  techniques also contributed to
the segment's favorable results.

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Diversified Products Segment

     The Company completed its divestiture program during the second quarter of
1995 with the sale of its battery parts and carbon black operations. Refer to
Note 16 to the Consolidated Financial Statements for further information.

     Reported segment operating income for 1994 included a non-recurring gain of
$4.8 million from the sale of the  Allied-Kelite  operations,  while prior year
earnings included a net charge of $18.7 million covering an expected loss on the
disposition of the Battery Parts business and an environmental remediation and
compliance provision, partially offset by the gain on the sale of the operations
of Chemprene. Sales and operating income for the segment's businesses which were
not sold in 1993 or 1994 (Concarb and Battery  Parts) rose $13 million and $7.4
million, respectively. A 15 percent increase in carbon black net sales, spurred
in part by greater automotive  market  demand  in both the  tire  and  nontire
sectors, accounted  for  approximately  75  percent  of the  higher  sales  and
operating earnings. The remaining increase was attributable to an increase in
demand for battery components due to the severe winter of 1994 and understocked
customer inventory levels.

1993 vs. 1992

     Income from continuing operations adjusted to exclude non-recurring items,
was $70.1  million in 1993, compared to $51.7  million in 1992.  The 36 percent
increase in net income, before non-recurring items, was primarily attributable
to  record sales, which rose 31  percent  to $1.8  billion,  and a 1  percent
improvement in gross margins.  The November 1992  acquisition of the Industrial
Chemicals and Natural  Substances divisions of  Schering  AG (the  "Schering
Acquisition")  accounted for 95 percent of the higher sales and approximately 85
percent of the  improved  margins. The  remaining  improvement  in margins  was
attributable to a reduction in key raw material  feedstock  costs and operating
efficiencies in both the Petroleum and Diversified Products Segments.  Increases
in selling and  administrative  expenses,  depreciation  and  amortization,  and
interest, primarily

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attributable to the Schering Acquisition, partially offset the higher sales
and improved margins.

     Operating income in 1993 was $120.2 million, compared to $100.8 million in
1992.  A  comparison  of the  results of these periods was affected  by a net
non-recurring charge of $39.5 million recorded in 1993. Excluding non-recurring
items,  operating income increased $58.9 million to $159.7 million. All segments
reported  operating  earnings,  exclusive  of  non-recurring items,  that  were
appreciably higher than the preceding year.

Chemical Segment

     Chemical net sales of $1.2 billion in 1993  exceeded the previous year by
approximately  $396 million.  The segment was able to sustain  sales, excluding
those relating to the  acquisition,  at 1992 levels despite a soft demand due to
sluggish  domestic and European  economies. Sales  attributable to the Schering
Acquisition accounted for the 47 percent increase.

     Excluding the segment's $5.6 million of environmental  charges recorded in
1993,  operating income of $110.6 million in 1993 increased $41.8 million, or 61
percent,  from  1992.  Each of the  segment's business groups  reported 1993
operating  income that was  substantially  higher than the preceding year. The
inclusion of the acquired  Schering  businesses' full year operating results in
1993, compared income to two months for 1992, accounted for the higher operating
income. The Schering  Acquisition  contributed $41 million to the segment's 1993
operating income,  compared  to the  reported  loss of $2.2 million in  1992.
International (principally Western Europe) and domestic operations  contributed
equally  to the Schering Acquisition's current  year  operating  income.  The
favorable operating income  was also,  in part,  attributable  to cost  saving
programs and the consolidation of sales and administrative  functions in Europe,
which minimized the effect the persistent European recession had on operations.
Partially  offsetting the positive impact that the Schering Acquisition and cost
saving  programs had on  operations, the Oleo/Surfactants Group was adversely
affected  by a $3  million  decrease in operating earnings, the result of an
increase in the cost of major commodity raw material feedstocks.

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Petroleum Segment

     Net sales in 1993 were $365.2  million,  an increase of $19.3  million over
the $345.9 million  recorded  in 1992.  Despite a soft  global  economy and the
strengthening of the dollar overseas,  1993 sales volume  increased 12 percent
over  the  prior year.  The  acquisition  of  the  business  of  IGI  Petroleum
Specialties, Inc. ("PSI") late in 1992  bolstered  1993 sales.  This business,
which  enhanced the segment's white oils  and  petroleum  jellies  marketing
capabilities, contributed  approximately $30 million to sales in 1993, compared
to $2 million in 1992.

     Operating income for 1993, excluding  $15.2  million  of  non-recurring
charges,  was $39.7 million, an increase of $10.9 million,  or 38 percent,  over
1992.  Operating income from the segment's  domestic  operations rose despite a
sluggish economy and a shortage  of  critical  sulfonate  feedstocks.  The PSI
business added approximately $3 million to 1993 operating earnings. In addition,
the  ability to hold down manufacturing expenses  and the  inclusion  of $3.1
million  of  demolition  costs  in 1992 contributed  to the  improved  domestic
results.  The segment's Holland  operation reported lower  operating  earnings
attributable to the depressed European economy and a stronger dollar.

Diversified Products Segment

     Net sales,  excluding those attributable  to Chemprene,  Inc., were $153.4
million in 1993, an increase of 7 percent  above  sales for the  corresponding
operations  in 1992. Operating income, excluding the results of Chemprene and
non-recurring items of $18.7 million, principally  for the  divestiture of the
battery parts business, increased $7.7 million to $7.4 million in 1993.  Higher
carbon  black  sales and  earnings  more than offset  declines  from each of the
segment's  other businesses. The carbon black business  benefited  from a 12
percent increase in volume, higher sales prices, and manufacturing efficiencies.

Outlook

     Having  completed the  divestiture  of the  businesses  in the  Diversified
Products Group and the acquisition of OSi Specialties Holding Company in 1995,
the Company will  continue to sharpen its focus upon its specialties  chemicals
and specialties petroleum businesses. In 1996 the Company

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expects to complete the  disposition  of its  Lubricant Group as a part of this
effort.   The  Company  will  also  focus  upon reducing raw  material  costs,
eliminating  inefficient  operations,  and increasing  margins  as  part of its
efforts to  increase  profitability.  In addition, the  Company  will begin to
consolidate its Asian  operations with those of OSi as a part of its continuing
efforts to develop a stronger presence in that area of the world.

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