1601 Lower Water Street Suite 402, Summit Place
TSX: GAM / AMEX: GRS / BSX: GL7	(PO Box 2067)
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3J 2Z1, CANADA
Tel: +1 (902) 468-0614
Fax: +1 (902) 468-0631
Website: www.gammongoldcom

PRESS RELEASE

Halifax, August 1, 2007

Gammon Gold Inc. Responds to Media Reports of Complaint Filed by Midas Funds

Gammon Gold Inc. (TSX: GAM / AMEX: GRS) ("Gammon") advises that it has become aware through media reports that Midas Funds Inc. appears to have filed a complaint with the United States District Court Southern District of New York claiming damages from Gammon in the amount of US$3 million. Gammon has not been served with the complaint, believes that such a complaint would be without merit, and, if served, would vigorously be defended. Further, the amount of the claim would not be financially material to the Company and will have no affect on its operations.

About Gammon Gold Inc.

Gammon Gold Inc. is a Nova Scotia based mid tier gold and silver producer with properties in Mexico. The Company’s flagship Ocampo Project achieved commercial production in January 2007. Gammon Gold remains 100% unhedged and is targeting an annual production run rate of 400,000 gold equivalent ounces (200,000 ounces of gold and 10 million ounces of silver) by the end of 2007 from the Company’s Ocampo and El Cubo Mines.

For further information please visit the Gammon Gold website at www.gammongold.com or contact:

Russell Barwick	Glenn Hynes
Chief Executive Officer	Chief Financial Officer
Gammon Gold Inc.	Gammon Gold Inc.
902-468-0614	902-468-0614

Cautionary Statement

Cautionary Note to US Investors – The United State Securities and Exchange Commission permits US mining companies, in their filings with the SEC, to disclose only those mineral deposits that a company can economically and legally extract or produce. This press release uses certain terms, such as "measured," "indicated," and "inferred" "resources," that the SEC guidelines strictly prohibit US registered companies from including in their filings with the SEC. US Investors are urged to consider closely the disclosure in Gammon Gold’s Annual Report on Form 40-F (File No. 001-31739), which may be secured from Gammon Gold, or from the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml.

No stock exchange, securities commission or other regulatory authority has approved or disapproved the information contained herein.

This News Release includes certain "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and "forward-looking information" within the meaning of applicable Canadian legislation. All statements other than statements of historical fact, included in this release, including, without limitation, statements regarding potential mineralization and reserves, exploration results, and future plans and objectives of Gammon Gold, are forward-looking statements (or forward-looking information) that involve various risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate and actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from Gammon Gold’s expectations include, among others, risks related to international operations, the actual results of current exploration activities, conclusions of economic evaluations and changes in project parameters as plans continue to be refined as well as future prices of gold and silver, as well as those factors discussed in the section entitled "Risk Factors" in Gammon Gold’s Form 40-F and Annual Information Form as filed with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Although Gammon Gold has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially, there may be other factors that cause results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended.

There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Accordingly, readers should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Gammon Gold does not undertake to update any forward-looking statements that are included herein, except in accordance with applicable securities laws.

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