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                                                                       EXHIBIT 1

                                5,000,000 Shares

                                  dELiA*s Corp.

                              Class A Common Stock

                             UNDERWRITING AGREEMENT
                             ----------------------

                                                                   June 20, 2001

U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray
As Representative of the several
  Underwriters named in Schedule 1
800 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN  55402


Dear Sirs:

      dELiA*s Corp., a Delaware corporation (the "Company"), proposes, subject to the terms and conditions set forth herein, to issue and sell to the Underwriters named in Schedule 1 hereto (each, an "Underwriter" and, together, the "Underwriters") 5,000,000 shares (the "Firm Stock") and, at the Underwriters' option, up to an additional 740,000 shares (the "Option Stock"), of the Company's Class A Common Stock, par value $0.01 per share (the "Common Stock"). The Firm Stock and the Option Stock, if purchased, are hereinafter collectively called the "Stock".

      1. REPRESENTATIONS, WARRANTIES AND AGREEMENTS OF THE COMPANY. The Company represents and warrants to, and agrees with, each Underwriter that:

         (a) A registration statement on Form S-3 with respect to the Stock
      (the "Initial Registration Statement") has (i) been prepared by the Company in conformity with the requirements of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), and the rules and regulations (the "Rules and Regulations") of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Commission") thereunder, and pursuant to Rule 415 under the Securities Act or any successor rule providing for the offering of securities on a continuous or delayed basis, (ii) been filed with the Commission under the Securities Act and (iii) become effective under the Securities Act. Copies of such registration statement have been delivered by the Company to you as the representative of the Underwriters (the "Representative"). Other than a registration statement, if any, increasing the size of the offering (a "Rule 462(b) Registration Statement"), filed pursuant to Rule 462(b) under the Securities Act, which became effective upon filing, no other document with respect to the Initial Registration Statement or any document incorporated by reference therein has heretofore been filed with the Commission; and no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the

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      Initial Registration Statement, any post-effective amendment thereto or
      the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, if any, has been issued and no proceeding for that purpose has been initiated or threatened. As used in this Agreement, "Effective Time" means the date and the time as of which the Initial Registration Statement, or the most recent post-effective amendment thereto, if any, and the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement were declared effective by the Commission (or otherwise became effective); "Effective Date" means the date of the Effective Time; "Preliminary Prospectus" means each prospectus included in such registration statement, or amendments thereof, before it became effective under the Securities Act and any prospectus filed with the Commission by the Company with the consent of the Underwriters pursuant to Rule 424(a) of the Rules and Regulations; "Registration Statement" means, collectively, the Initial Registration Statement and the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, each as amended at the Effective Time, including any documents incorporated by reference therein at such time and all information contained in the final prospectus filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) of the Rules and Regulations in accordance with Section 5 hereof and deemed to be a part of the registration statement as of the Effective Time pursuant to paragraph (b) of Rule 430A of the Rules and Regulations; and "Prospectus" means such final prospectus, as first filed with the Commission pursuant to paragraph (2) or (5) of Rule 424(b) of the Rules and Regulations. Reference made herein to any Preliminary Prospectus or to the Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include any documents incorporated by reference therein pursuant to Item 12 of Form S-3 under the Securities Act, as of the date of such Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus, as the case may be, and any reference to any amendment or supplement to any Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include any document filed under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"), after the date of such Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus, as the case may be, and incorporated by reference in such Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus, as the case may be; and any reference to any amendment to the Registration Statement shall be deemed to include any annual report of the Company filed with the Commission pursuant to Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Exchange Act after the Effective Time that is incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement. The Commission has not issued any order preventing or suspending the use of any Preliminary Prospectus.

         (b) The Registration Statement conforms, and the Prospectus and any further amendments or supplements to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus will, when they become effective or are filed with the Commission, as the case may be, conform in all respects to the requirements of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations and do not and will not, as of the applicable effective date (as to the Registration Statement and any amendment thereto) and as of the applicable filing date (as to the Prospectus and any amendment or supplement thereto) contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; PROVIDED


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      that no representation or warranty is made as to information contained in
      or omitted from the Registration Statement or the Prospectus in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company through the Representative by any Underwriter specifically for inclusion therein.

         (c) The documents incorporated by reference in the Prospectus, when they became effective or were filed with the Commission, as the case may be, conformed in all material respects to the requirements of the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder, and none of such documents contained an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; and any further documents so filed and incorporated by reference in the Prospectus, when such documents become effective or are filed with the Commission, as the case may be, will conform in all material respects to the requirements of the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder and will not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading.

         (d) Each of the Company and its subsidiaries has been duly
      incorporated and is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation, is duly qualified to do business and is in good standing as a foreign corporation in each jurisdiction in which its ownership or lease of property or the conduct of its business requires such qualification, except where the failure to so qualify could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect (as defined below), and has all power and authority necessary to own or hold its properties and to conduct the business in which it is engaged.

         (e) The Company has an authorized capitalization as will be set
      forth in the Prospectus, and all of the issued shares of capital stock of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued, are fully paid and non-assessable and conform to the description thereof contained in the Prospectus; and all of the issued shares of capital stock of each subsidiary of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued and are fully paid and non-assessable and are owned directly or indirectly by the Company, free and clear of all liens, encumbrances, equities or claims, except as otherwise described in the Prospectus.

         (f) The unissued shares of the Stock to be issued and sold by the Company to the Underwriters hereunder have been duly and validly authorized and, when issued and delivered against payment therefor as provided herein will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable; and the Stock will conform to the description thereof contained in the Prospectus.


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         (g) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered
      by the Company, and is enforceable against the Company in accordance with its terms.

         (h) The execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement by the Company and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not conflict with or result in a breach or violation of any of the terms or provisions of, or constitute a default under, any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or other agreement or instrument to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which the Company or any such subsidiary is bound or to which any of the property or assets of the Company or any such subsidiary is subject, nor will such actions result in any violation of the provisions of the charter or by-laws of the Company or of any such subsidiary or any statute or any order, rule or regulation of any court or governmental agency or body having jurisdiction over the Company or any such subsidiary or any of their respective properties or assets; and except for the registration of the Stock under the Securities Act and such consents, approvals, authorizations, registrations or qualifications as may be required under the Exchange Act and applicable state securities laws in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Stock by the Underwriters, no consent, approval, authorization or order of, or filing or registration with, any such court or governmental agency or body is required for the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement by the Company and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

         (i) There are no contracts, agreements or understandings between the Company and any person granting such person the right to require the Company to file a registration statement under the Securities Act with respect to any securities of the Company owned or to be owned by such person (other than registration statements which have already been filed and the obligation of the Company to file a registration statement with respect to restricted shares of Common Stock and options to acquire shares of Common Stock) or to require the Company to include such securities in the securities registered pursuant to the Registration Statement or in any securities being registered pursuant to any other registration statement filed by the Company under the Securities Act.

         (j) Except as described in the Prospectus, the Company has not sold
      or issued any shares of Common Stock during the six-month period preceding the date of the Prospectus, including any sales pursuant to Rule 144A under, or Regulations D or S of, the Securities Act other than shares issued (a) pursuant to employee benefit plans, qualified stock options plans or other employee compensation plans or employment agreements, (b) pursuant to outstanding options, rights or warrants and (c) to the former stockholders of TheSpark.com Inc. on June 1, 2001 in connection with the merger agreement, as amended, pursuant to which the Company acquired TheSpark.com Inc.


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         (k) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has sustained,
      since the date of the latest audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Prospectus, any material loss or interference with its business from fire, explosion, flood or other calamity, whether or not covered by insurance, or from any labor dispute or court or governmental action, order or decree, otherwise than as set forth or contemplated in the Prospectus; and, since such date, there has not been any change in the capital stock or long-term debt of the Company or any material adverse change, or any development involving a prospective material adverse change, in or affecting the management, financial position, stockholders' equity, prospects or results of operations of the Company, otherwise than as set forth or contemplated in the Prospectus.

         (l) The financial statements (including the related notes and supporting schedules) filed as part of the Registration Statement or included or incorporated by reference in the Prospectus present fairly the financial condition and results of operations of the entities purported to be shown thereby, at the dates and for the periods indicated, and have been prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved.

         (m) Ernst & Young LLP, who have certified certain financial
      statements of the Company, whose report appear in the Prospectus or incorporated by reference therein and who have delivered the letter referred to in Section 7(g) hereof, are independent public accountants as required by the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations; and Deloitte & Touche LLP, whose reports appear in the Prospectus or are incorporated by reference therein and who have delivered the letter referred to in
      Section 7(g) hereof, were independent accountants as required by the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations during the periods covered by the financial statements on which they reported contained or incorporated in the Prospectus.

         (n) All real property and buildings held under lease by the Company or its subsidiaries are held by each of them under valid, subsisting and enforceable leases, with such exceptions as are not material and do not interfere with the use made and proposed to be made of such property and buildings by the Company.

         (o) Each of the Company and its subsidiaries carries, or is covered by, insurance in such amounts and covering such risks as is adequate for the conduct of its business and the value of its properties.

         (p) Each of the Company and its subsidiaries owns or possesses
      adequate rights to use all material patents, patent applications, trademarks, service marks, trade names, trademark registrations, service mark registrations, copyrights and licenses necessary for the conduct of its business and has no reason to believe that the conduct of its business will conflict with, and has not received any notice of



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      any claim of conflict with, any such rights of others which could
      reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect (as defined
      below).

         (q) Except as described in the Prospectus, there are no legal or governmental proceedings pending to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or of which any property or assets of the Company or any of it subsidiaries is the subject which, if determined adversely to the Company, could reasonably be expected to have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial position, stockholders' equity, results of operations, business or prospects of the Company (a "Material Adverse Effect"); and to the best of the Company's knowledge, no such proceedings are threatened or contemplated by governmental authorities or threatened by others.

         (r) The conditions for use of Form S-3, as set forth in the General Instructions thereto, have been satisfied.

         (s) There are no contracts or other documents which are required to
      be described in the Prospectus or filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement by the Securities Act or by the Rules and Regulations which have not been described in the Prospectus or filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement or incorporated therein by reference as permitted by the Rules and Regulations.

         (t) No relationship, direct or indirect, exists between or among the Company or any of its subsidiaries on the one hand, and the directors, officers, stockholders, customers or suppliers of the Company or any such subsidiary on the other hand, which is required to be described in the Prospectus which is not so described.

         (u) No labor disturbance by the employees of the Company exists or, to the knowledge of the Company, is imminent which could reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

         (v) The Company is in compliance in all material respects with all presently applicable provisions of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended, including the regulations and published interpretations thereunder ("ERISA"); no "reportable event" (as defined in ERISA) has occurred with respect to any "pension plan" (as defined in ERISA) for which the Company would have any liability; the Company has not incurred and does not expect to incur liability under (i) Title IV of ERISA with respect to termination of, or withdrawal from, any "pension plan" or (ii) Sections 412 or 4971 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, including the regulations and published interpretations thereunder (the "Code"); and each "pension plan" for which the Company would have any liability that is intended to be qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code is



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      so qualified in all material respects and nothing has occurred, whether by
      action or by failure to act, which would cause the loss of such qualification.

         (w) The Company has filed all federal, state and local income and franchise tax returns required to be filed through the date hereof (or has obtained valid extensions) and has paid all taxes due thereon, and no tax deficiency has been determined adversely to the Company which has had (nor does the Company have any knowledge of any tax deficiency which, if determined adversely to the Company, could reasonably be expected to have) a Material Adverse Effect.

         (x) Since the date as of which information is given in the
      Prospectus through the date hereof, and except as may otherwise be disclosed in the Prospectus, the Company has not (i) issued or granted any securities other than pursuant to qualified stock options plans or other employee compensation plans or pursuant to outstanding options, rights or warrants, (ii) incurred any liability or obligation, direct or contingent, other than liabilities and obligations which were incurred in the ordinary course of business, (iii) entered into any transaction not in the ordinary course of business or (iv) declared or paid any dividend on its capital stock.

         (y) The Company and each of its subsidiaries (i) makes and keeps accurate books and records and (ii) maintains internal accounting controls which provide reasonable assurance that (A) transactions are executed in accordance with management's authorization, (B) transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of its financial statements and to maintain accountability for its assets, (C) access to its assets is permitted only in accordance with management's authorization and (D) the reported accountability for its assets is compared with existing assets at reasonable intervals.

         (z) Except as disclosed in the Prospectus, neither the Company nor
      any of its subsidiaries (i) is in violation of its charter or by-laws,
      (ii) is in default in any material respect, and no event has occurred which, with notice or lapse of time or both, would constitute such a default, in the due performance or observance of any term, covenant or condition contained in any material indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or other agreement or instrument to which it is a party or by which it is bound or to which any of its properties or assets is subject and (iii) is in violation in any material respect of any law, ordinance, governmental rule, regulation or court decree to which it or its property or assets may be subject or has failed to obtain any material license, permit, certificate, franchise or other governmental authorization or permit necessary for the ownership of its property or the conduct of its business.

         (aa) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries, nor any director, officer, agent, employee or other person associated with or acting on behalf of the Company or any such subsidiary, has used any corporate funds for any unlawful



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      contribution, gift, entertainment or other unlawful expense relating to
      political activity; made any direct or indirect unlawful payment to any foreign or domestic government official or employee from corporate funds; violated or is in violation of any provision of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977; or made any bribe, rebate, payoff, influence payment, kickback or other unlawful payment.

         (ab) Except as disclosed in the Prospectus, there has been no
      storage, disposal, generation, manufacture, refinement, transportation, handling or treatment of toxic wastes, medical wastes, hazardous wastes or hazardous substances by the Company or any of its subsidiaries (or, to the knowledge of the Company, any of their predecessors in interest) at, upon or from any of the property now or previously owned or leased by the Company and any such subsidiary in violation of any applicable law, ordinance, rule, regulation, order, judgment, decree or permit or which would require remedial action under any applicable law, ordinance, rule, regulation, order, judgment, decree or permit, except for any violation or remedial action which would not have, or could not be reasonably be expected to have, singularly or in the aggregate with all such violations and remedial actions, a Material Adverse Effect ; there has been no material spill, discharge, leak, emission, injection, escape, dumping or release of any kind onto such property or into the environment surrounding such property of any toxic wastes, medical wastes, solid wastes, hazardous wastes or hazardous substances due to or caused by the Company or any or its subsidiaries or with respect to which the Company has knowledge, except for any such spill, discharge, leak, emission, injection, escape, dumping or release which could not reasonably be expected to have, singularly or in the aggregate with all such spills, discharges, leaks, emissions, injections, escapes, dumpings and releases, a Material Adverse Effect ; and the terms "hazardous wastes", "toxic wastes", "hazardous substances" and "medical wastes" shall have the meanings specified in any applicable local, state, federal and foreign laws or regulations with respect to environmental protection.

         (ac) The Company is not an "investment company" within the meaning
      of such term under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder.

      2. PURCHASE OF THE STOCK BY THE UNDERWRITERS. On the basis of the representations and warranties contained in, and subject to the terms and conditions of, this Agreement, the Company agrees to sell an aggregate of 5,000,000 shares of the Firm Stock to the several Underwriters and each of the Underwriters, severally and not jointly, agrees to purchase from the Company, at a purchase price per share of $5.17, the number of shares of the Firm Stock set opposite that Underwriter's name in Schedule 1 hereto. The respective purchase obligations of the Underwriters with respect to the Firm Stock shall be rounded among the Underwriters to avoid fractional shares, as the Representative may determine.



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      In addition, the Company grants to the Underwriters the right to purchase,
at their election, up to 740,000 shares of Option Stock, at the purchase price set forth in the immediately preceding paragraph, for the sole purpose of covering over-allotments in the sale of the Firm Stock. Shares of Option Stock shall be purchased severally for the account of the Underwriters in proportion
to the number of shares of Firm Stock set opposite the name of such Underwriters in Schedule 1 hereto. The Underwriters' right to purchase Option Stock may be exercised by the Representative delivering written notice thereof to the Company (the "Option Stock Notice"), given within a period of thirty (30) days following the date of this Agreement, setting forth the number of shares of Option Stock
to be purchased and the date and time at which such shares are to be delivered, as determined by the Representative but in no event earlier than the First Delivery Date (as defined below) nor earlier than the second business day after the date of the Option Stock Notice nor later than the fifth business day following such date. The date and time at which the shares of Option Stock are delivered are sometimes referred to as the "Second Delivery Date" and the First Delivery Date and the Second Delivery Date are sometimes each referred to as a "Delivery Date".

      The Company shall not be obligated to deliver the Stock to be delivered to any Underwriter on the First Delivery Date or the Second Delivery Date (as hereinafter defined), as the case may be, except upon payment for such Stock by such Underwriter on such Delivery Date as provided herein.

      3. OFFERING OF STOCK BY THE UNDERWRITERS.

      Upon authorization by the Representative of the release of the Stock, the several Underwriters propose to offer the Stock for sale upon the terms and conditions set forth in the Prospectus.

      4. DELIVERY OF AND PAYMENT FOR THE STOCK. Delivery of and payment for the Firm Stock, and delivery of the documents to be delivered at the First Delivery Date, shall be made at the office of Solomon, Zauderer, Ellenhorn, Frischer & Sharp, 45 Rockefeller Plaza, New York, New York 10111, at 10:00 A.M., New York City time, on the third full business day following the date of this Agreement or at such other date or place as shall be determined by agreement between the Representative and the Company. This date and time are sometimes referred to as the "First Delivery Date." On the First Delivery Date, the Company shall deliver or cause to be delivered certificates representing the Firm Stock to the Representative for the account of each Underwriter against payment to or upon the order of the Company of the purchase price by certified or official bank check or by federal wire transfer of immediately available funds. Time shall be of the essence, and delivery at the time and place specified pursuant to this Agreement is a further condition of the obligation of each Underwriter hereunder. Upon delivery, the Firm Stock shall be registered in such names and in such denominations as the Representative shall request in writing not less than two full business days prior to the First Delivery Date. For the purpose of expediting the checking and packaging of the certificates for the Firm Stock, the Company shall make the certificates representing the Firm Stock available for inspection by the Representative in



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New York, New York, not later than 2:00 P.M., New York City time, on the
business day prior to the First Delivery Date.

      Delivery of and payment for the Option Stock, and delivery of the documents to be delivered at the Second Delivery Date, shall be made at the place specified in the first sentence of the first paragraph of this Section 4 (or at such other place as shall be determined by agreement between the Representative and the Company) at 10:00 A.M., New York City time, on the Second Delivery Date. On the Second Delivery Date, the Company shall deliver or cause to be delivered the certificates representing the Option Stock to the Representative for the account of each Underwriter against payment to or upon the order of the Company of the purchase price by certified or official bank check or by federal wire transfer of immediately available funds. Time shall be of the essence, and delivery at the time and place specified pursuant to this Agreement is a further condition of the obligation of each Underwriter hereunder. Upon delivery, the Option Stock shall be registered in such names and in such denominations as the Representative shall request in the Option Stock Notice. For the purpose of expediting the checking and packaging of the certificates for the Option Stock, the Company shall make the certificates representing the Option Stock available for inspection by the Representative in New York, New York, not later than 2:00 P.M., New York City time, on the business day prior to the Second Delivery Date.

      5. FURTHER AGREEMENTS OF THE COMPANY. The Company agrees with each
Underwriter:

         (a) To prepare the Prospectus in a form approved by the
      Representative and to file such Prospectus pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Securities Act not later than the Commission's close of business on the second business day following the execution and delivery of this Agreement or, if applicable, such earlier time as may be required by Rule 430A(a)(3) under the Securities Act; to make no further amendment or any supplement to the Registration Statement or to the Prospectus prior to the First Delivery Date except as permitted herein; to advise the Representative, promptly after it receives notice thereof, of the time when any amendment to the Registration Statement has been filed or becomes effective or any supplement to the Prospectus or any amended Prospectus has been filed and to furnish the Representative with copies thereof; to file promptly all reports and any definitive proxy or information statements required to be filed by the Company with the Commission pursuant to Section 13(a), 13(c), 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act subsequent to the date of the Prospectus and for so long as the delivery of a prospectus is required in connection with the offering or sale of the Stock; to advise the Representative, promptly after it receives notice thereof, of the issuance by the Commission of any stop order or of any order preventing or suspending the use of any Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus, of the suspension of the qualification of the Stock for offering or sale in any jurisdiction, of the initiation or threatening of any proceeding for any such purpose, or of any request by the Commission for the amending or supplementing of the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or for additional information; and, in the event of the issuance of any stop order or of any



                                       10
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      order preventing or suspending the use of any Preliminary Prospectus or
      the Prospectus or suspending any such qualification, to use promptly its reasonable best efforts to obtain its withdrawal;

         (b) To furnish promptly to the Representative and to counsel for the Underwriters a signed copy of the Registration Statement as originally filed with the Commission, and each amendment thereto filed with the Commission, including all consents and exhibits filed therewith;

         (c) To deliver promptly to each Underwriter such number of the following documents as such Underwriter shall reasonably request: (i) conformed copies of the Registration Statement as originally filed with the Commission and each amendment thereto (in each case excluding exhibits other than this Agreement and the computation of the ratio of earnings to fixed charges and the computation of per share earnings) and, (ii) each Preliminary Prospectus, the Prospectus and any amended or supplemented Prospectus and (iii) any document incorporated by reference in the Prospectus (excluding exhibits thereto); and, if the delivery of a prospectus is required at any time after the Effective Time in connection with the offering or sale of the Stock or any other securities relating thereto and if at such time any events shall have occurred as a result of which the Prospectus as then amended or supplemented would include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made when such Prospectus is delivered, not misleading, or, if for any other reason it shall be necessary to amend or supplement the Prospectus or to file under the Exchange Act any document incorporated by reference in the Prospectus in order to comply with the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, to notify the Representative and, upon the Representative's request, to file such document and to prepare and furnish without charge to each Underwriter and to any dealer in securities as many copies as the Representative may from time to time reasonably request of an amended or supplemented Prospectus which will correct such statement or omission or effect such compliance.

         (d) To file promptly with the Commission any amendment to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or any supplement to the Prospectus that may, in the reasonable judgment of the Company or the Representative, be required by the Securities Act or requested by the Commission;

         (e) Beginning on the date of this Agreement and at any time during which delivery of a prospectus is required in connection with the offering or sale of the Stock by any Underwriter, prior to filing with the Commission any amendment to the Registration Statement or supplement to the Prospectus, any document incorporated by reference in the Prospectus or any Prospectus pursuant to Rule 424 of the Rules and Regulations, to furnish a copy thereof to the Representative and



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<PAGE>

      counsel for the Underwriters and not make any such filing to which the Representative reasonably objects based upon the Representative's reasonable belief that such filing would include an untrue statement of a material fact or would omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein not misleading;

         (f) As soon as practicable after the Effective Date, to make
      generally available to the Company's security holders and to deliver to the Representative an earnings statement of the Company (which need not be audited) complying with Section 11(a) of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations (including, at the option of the Company, Rule 158);

         (g) For a period of five years following the Effective Date, to furnish to the Representative copies of all materials furnished by the Company to its stockholders and all public reports and all reports and financial statements furnished by the Company to the principal national securities exchange upon which the Common Stock may be listed pursuant to requirements of or agreements with such exchange or to the Commission pursuant to the Exchange Act or any rule or regulation of the Commission thereunder (it being understood that materials filed with the Commission and available on the Commission's Web site shall be deemed to have been furnished to the Representative);

         (h) Promptly from time to time to take such action as the Representative may reasonably request to qualify the Stock for offering and sale under the securities laws of such jurisdictions as the Representative may reasonably request and to comply with such laws so as to permit the continuance of sales and dealings therein in such jurisdictions for as long as may be necessary to complete the distribution of the Stock;

         (i) (A) For a period of 90 days from the date of the Prospectus, not to, directly or indirectly, (1) offer for sale, sell, pledge or otherwise dispose of (or enter into any transaction or device which is designed to, or could be expected to, result in the disposition by any person at any time in the future of) any shares of Common Stock or securities convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock (other than the Stock and shares issued pursuant to employee benefit plans, qualified stock option plans or other employee compensation plans existing on the date hereof or pursuant to currently outstanding options, warrants or rights), or sell or grant options, rights or warrants with respect to any shares of Common Stock or securities convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock (other than the grant of options pursuant to option plans existing on the date hereof), or (2) enter into any swap or other derivatives transaction that transfers to another, in whole or in part, any of the economic benefits or risks of ownership of such shares of Common Stock, whether any such transaction described in clause (1) or (2) above is to be settled by delivery of Common Stock or other securities, in cash or otherwise, in each case without the prior written consent of the Representative; and (B) to cause each of Christopher C. Edgar, Dennis Goldstein, Evan Guillemin, Stephen I. Kahn, and Andrea Weiss to furnish to each Underwriter, prior to the First Delivery Date, a letter, in form and substance satisfactory to counsel for the Underwriters, pursuant to which such person shall agree not to, directly or indirectly, (1) offer for sale, sell or otherwise dispose of (or enter into any transaction or device which is designed to, or could be expected to, result in the disposition by any person at any time in the future of) any shares of Common Stock or (2) enter into any swap or other derivatives transaction that transfers to another, in whole or in part, any of the economic benefits or risks of ownership of such shares of Common Stock, whether any such transaction described in clause (1) or (2) above is to be settled by delivery of Common Stock or other securities, in cash or otherwise, in each case during the period beginning on the date of the Prospectus and ending at the close of business on the Business Day immediately following the date on which the Company publicly announces its financial results for the second quarter of the current fiscal year, without the prior written consent of the Representative;

         (j) Prior to the First Delivery Date, to notify the NASDAQ National Market System ("Nasdaq") of the prospective issuance of the Stock in accordance with Nasdaq's listing requirements;

         (k) If the Company elects or has elected to rely on Rule 462(b)
      under the Securities Act, to file a Rule 462(b) Registration Statement with the Commission in compliance with Rule 462(b) by 6:00 p.m., eastern time, on the date of this Agreement, and at the time of filing to either pay to the Commission the filing fee for the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement or give irrevocable instructions for the payment of such fee pursuant to Rule 111(b) under the Securities Act.

         (l) To apply the net proceeds from the sale of the Stock being sold by the Company as set forth in the Prospectus; and

         (m) To take such steps as shall be necessary to ensure that the Company shall not become an "investment company" within the meaning of such term under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder.

      6. EXPENSES. The Company agrees to pay (a) the costs incident to the authorization, issuance, sale and delivery of the Stock and any taxes payable in that connection; (b) the costs incident to the preparation, printing and filing under the Securities Act of the Registration Statement and any amendments and exhibits thereto; (c) the costs of distributing the Registration Statement as originally filed and each amendment thereto and any post-effective amendments thereof (including, in each case, exhibits), any Preliminary Prospectus, the Prospectus and any amendment or supplement to the Prospectus or any document incorporated by reference
      therein, all as provided in this Agreement; (d) the costs of producing and distributing this Agreement and any other related documents in connection with the offering, purchase, sale and delivery of the stock; (e) the filing fees incident to securing any required review by the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. of the terms of sale of the Stock;
      (f) any applicable listing or other fees; (g) the fees and expenses of qualifying the Stock under the securities laws of the several jurisdictions as provided in Section 5(h) and of preparing, printing and distributing a Blue Sky Memorandum (including related fees and expenses of counsel to the Underwriters not to exceed $5,000); and (h) all other costs and expenses incident to the performance of the obligations of the Company under this Agreement; PROVIDED that, except as provided in this Section 6 and in Section 11 the Underwriters shall pay their own costs and expenses, including the costs and expenses of their counsel, any transfer taxes on the Stock which they may sell and the expenses of advertising any offering of the Stock made by the Underwriters

      7. CONDITIONS OF UNDERWRITERS' OBLIGATIONS. The obligations of each Underwriter hereunder are subject to the accuracy, when made and on any Delivery Date, of the representations and warranties of the Company contained herein, to the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder, and to each of the following additional terms and conditions:

         (a) The Prospectus shall have been timely filed with the Commission
      in accordance with Section 5(a); no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any part thereof shall have been issued and no proceeding for that purpose shall have been initiated or threatened by the Commission; and any request of the Commission for inclusion of additional information in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or otherwise shall have been complied with.

         (b) No Underwriter shall have discovered and disclosed to the
      Company on or prior to such Delivery Date that the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or any amendment or supplement thereto contains an untrue statement of a fact which, in the opinion of counsel for the Underwriters, is material or omits to state a fact which, in the opinion of such counsel, is material and is required to be stated therein or is necessary to make the statements therein not misleading.

         (c) All corporate proceedings and other legal matters incident to
      the authorization, form and validity of this Agreement, the Stock, the Registration Statement and the Prospectus, and all other legal matters relating to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby shall be reasonably satisfactory in all material respects to counsel for the Underwriters, and the Company shall have furnished to such counsel all documents and information that they may reasonably request to enable them to pass upon such matters.

         (d) Proskauer Rose LLP shall have furnished to the Representative
      their written opinion, as counsel to the Company, addressed to the Underwriters and
      dated such Delivery Date, in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Representative, to the effect that:

                  (i) Each of the Company and its subsidiaries which is a
            Significant Subsidiary (as defined in Rule 1-02(w) under Regulation S-X of the Rules and Regulations) has been incorporated and, based solely on certificates of public officials, is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation, is duly qualified to do business and is in good standing as a foreign corporation in each jurisdiction in which its ownership or lease of property or the conduct of its business requires such qualification, except where the failure to so qualify could not reasonably be expected to have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial position, stockholders' equity, results of operations or business of the Company, and has all power and authority necessary to own or hold its properties and to conduct the business in which it is engaged;

                  (ii) The Company has an authorized capitalization as set forth
            in the Prospectus, and all of the issued shares of capital stock of the Company (including the shares of Stock being delivered on such Delivery Date) have been duly and validly authorized and issued, are fully paid and non-assessable and conform to the description thereof contained in the Prospectus

                  (iii) There are no preemptive or other rights to subscribe for
            or to purchase, nor any restriction upon the voting or transfer of, any shares of the Stock pursuant to the Company's charter or by-laws or any agreement or other instrument known to such counsel (other than the voting agreements set forth in (A) the family stockholders agreement among the Company, Stephen I. Kahn and the other parties named therein, dated November, 1996, (B) the employment agreement among the Company, Andrea Weiss and Stephen I. Kahn, dated as of May 7, 2001, and other than the rights to purchase stock pursuant to employee benefit plans adopted by the Company);

                  (iv) To the best of such counsel's knowledge and other than as
            set forth in the Prospectus, there are no legal or governmental proceedings pending to which the Company is a party or of which any property or assets of the Company is the subject which, if determined adversely to the Company, might have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial position, stockholders' equity, results of operations or business of the Company; and, to the best of such counsel's knowledge, no such proceedings are threatened or contemplated by governmental authorities or threatened by others;

                  (v) The Registration Statement became effective under the
            Securities Act as of the date(s) and time(s) specified in such opinion, the Prospectus was filed with the Commission pursuant to the subparagraph of Rule 424(b) of the Rules and Regulations specified in such opinion on the date specified therein and, to the best of such counsel's knowledge, no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement has been issued and, to the knowledge of such counsel, no proceeding for that purpose is pending or threatened by the Commission;

                  (vi) The Registration Statement and the Prospectus and any
            further amendments or supplements thereto made by the Company prior to such Delivery Date (other than the financial data, financial statements and related schedules therein, as to which such counsel need express no opinion) comply as to form in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations; and the documents incorporated by reference in the Prospectus and any further amendment or supplement to any incorporated document made by the Company prior to such Delivery Date (other than the financial data, financial statements and related schedules therein, as to which such counsel need express no opinion), when they became effective or were filed with the Commission, as the case may be, complied as to form in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder;

                  (vii) To the best of such counsel's knowledge, there are no
            contracts or other documents which are required to be described in the Prospectus or filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement by the Securities Act or by the Rules and Regulations which have not been described or filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement or incorporated therein by reference as permitted by the Rules and Regulations;

                  (viii) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and
            delivered by the Company;

                  (ix) The issue and sale of the shares of Stock being delivered
            on such Delivery Date by the Company and the compliance by the Company with all of the provisions of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not conflict with or result in a breach or violation of any of the terms or provisions of, or constitute a default under, any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or other agreement or instrument known to such counsel to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is bound or to which any of their respective property or assets is
            subject, nor will such actions result in any violation of the provisions of the charter or by-laws of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any statute or any order, rule or regulation known to such counsel of any court or governmental agency or body having jurisdiction over the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of their respective properties or assets; and, except for the registration of the Stock under the Securities Act and such consents, approvals, authorizations, registrations or qualifications as may be required under the Exchange Act and applicable state securities laws in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Stock by the Underwriters, no consent, approval, authorization or order of, or filing or registration with, any such court or governmental agency or body is required for the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement by the Company and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby; and

                  (x) To the best of such counsel's knowledge, there are no
            contracts, agreements or understandings between the Company and any person granting such person the right to require the Company to file a registration statement under the Securities Act with respect to any securities of the Company owned or to be owned by such person (other than registration statements which have already been filed and the obligation of the Company to file a registration statement with respect to restricted shares of Common Stock and options to acquire shares of Common Stock) or to require the Company to include such securities in the securities registered pursuant to the Registration Statement or in any securities being registered pursuant to any other registration statement filed by the Company under the Securities Act.

      In rendering such opinion, such counsel may state that their opinion is limited to matters governed by the Federal laws of the United States of America, the laws of the State of New York and the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and that such counsel is not admitted in the State of Delaware. Such counsel shall also have furnished to the Representative a written statement, addressed to the Underwriters and dated such Delivery Date, in form and substance satisfactory to the Representative, to the effect that (x) such counsel has acted as counsel to the Company on a regular basis (although the Company is also represented by its General Counsel and, with respect to certain other matters, by other outside counsel), has acted as counsel to the Company in connection with previous financing transactions and has acted as counsel to the Company in connection with the preparation of the Registration Statement, and (y) based on the foregoing, no facts have come to the attention of such counsel which lead them to believe that (I) the Registration Statement, as of the Effective Date, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a
      material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein not misleading, or that the Prospectus contains any untrue statement of a material fact or omits to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading or (II) any document incorporated by reference in the Prospectus or any further amendment or supplement to any such incorporated document made by the Company prior to such Delivery Date, when they became effective or were filed with the Commission in the case of a registration statement which became effective under the Securities Act, any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein not misleading, or, in the case of other documents which were filed under the Exchange Act with the Commission, an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The foregoing opinion and statement may be qualified by a statement to the effect that the foregoing statement does not apply to financial data, financial statements and related schedules and that such counsel does not assume any responsibility for the accuracy, completeness or fairness of the statements contained in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus except for the statements made in the Prospectus insofar as such statements relate to the Stock and concern legal matters.

         (e) The Representative shall have received from SOLOMON, ZAUDERER, ELLENHORN, FRISCHER & SHARP, counsel for the Underwriters, such opinion or opinions, dated such Delivery Date, with respect to the issuance and sale of the Stock, the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and other related matters as the Representative may reasonably require, and the Company shall have furnished to such counsel such documents as they reasonably request for the purpose of enabling them to pass upon such matters.

         (f) At the time of execution of this Agreement, the Representative shall have received from each of Ernst & Young LLP and Deloitte & Touche LLP a letter, in form and substance satisfactory to the Representative, addressed to the Underwriters and dated the date hereof (i) confirming that they are independent public accountants within the meaning of the Securities Act and are in compliance with the applicable requirements relating to the qualification of accountants under Rule 2-01 of Regulation S-X of the Commission, (ii) stating, as of the date hereof (or, with respect to matters involving changes or developments since the respective dates as of which specified financial information is given in the Prospectus, as of a date not more than five days prior to the date hereof), the conclusions and findings of such firm with respect to the financial information and other matters ordinarily covered by accountants' "comfort letters" to underwriters in connection with registered public offerings.

         (g) With respect to each of the letters of Ernst & Young LLP and Deloitte & Touche LLP referred to in the preceding paragraph and delivered to the

      Representative concurrently with the execution of this Agreement (the "initial letter"), the Company shall have furnished to the Representative a letter (the "bring-down letter") of each of such accountants, addressed to the Underwriters and dated such Delivery Date (i) confirming that they are independent public accountants within the meaning of the Securities Act and are in compliance with the applicable requirements relating to the qualification of accountants under Rule 2-01 of Regulation S-X of the Commission, (ii) stating, as of the date of the bring-down letter (or, with respect to matters involving changes or developments since the respective dates as of which specified financial information is given in the Prospectus, as of a date not more than five days prior to the date of the bring-down letter), the conclusions and findings of each such firm with respect to the financial information and other matters covered by the initial letter and (iii) confirming in all material respects the conclusions and findings set forth in their respective initial letters.

         (h) The Company shall have furnished to the Representative a certificate, dated such Delivery Date, of its Chairman of the Board, its President or a Vice President and its Chief Financial Officer stating that:

                  (i) The representations, warranties and agreements of the
            Company in Section 1 are true and correct as of such Delivery Date; the Company has complied with all its agreements contained herein; and the conditions set forth in Sections 7(a) and 7(m) have been fulfilled; and

                  (ii) They have carefully examined the Registration Statement
            and the Prospectus and, in their opinion (A) as of the Effective Date, the Registration Statement and Prospectus did not include any untrue statement of a material fact and did not omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, and (B) since the Effective Date no event has occurred which should have been set forth in a supplement or amendment to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus.

            (i) (a) The Company shall not have sustained since the date of the latest audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Prospectus any loss or interference with its business from fire, explosion, flood or other calamity, whether or not covered by insurance, or from any labor dispute or court or governmental action, order or decree, otherwise than as set forth or contemplated in the Prospectus or
      (b) since such date there shall not have been any change in the capital stock or long-term debt of the Company or any change, or any development involving a prospective change, in or affecting the general affairs, management, financial position, stockholders' equity or results of operations of the Company, otherwise than as set forth or contemplated in the Prospectus, the effect of which, in any such case described in clause
      (i) or (ii), is, in the judgment of the

      Representative, so material and adverse as to make it impracticable or inadvisable to proceed with the public offering or the delivery of the Stock being delivered on such Delivery Date on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Prospectus.

         (j) Subsequent to the execution and delivery of this Agreement (i)
      no downgrading shall have occurred in the rating accorded the Company's debt securities by any "nationally recognized statistical rating organization", as that term is defined by the Commission for purposes of Rule 436(g)(2) of the Rules and Regulations and (ii) no such organization shall have publicly announced that it has under surveillance or review, with possible negative implications, its rating of any of the Company's debt securities.

         (k) Subsequent to the execution and delivery of this Agreement there shall not have occurred any of the following: (i) trading in securities generally on the New York Stock Exchange or the American Stock Exchange or in the over-the-counter market, or trading in any securities of the Company on any exchange or in the over-the-counter market, shall have been suspended or minimum prices shall have been established on any such exchange or such market by the Commission, by such exchange or by any other regulatory body or governmental authority having jurisdiction, (ii) a banking moratorium shall have been declared by Federal or state authorities, (iii) the United States shall have become engaged in hostilities, there shall have been an escalation in hostilities involving the United States or there shall have been a declaration of a national emergency or war by the United States or (iv) there shall have occurred such a material adverse change in general economic, political or financial conditions (or the effect of international conditions on the financial markets in the United States shall be such) as to make it, in the judgment of a majority in interest of the several Underwriters, impracticable or inadvisable to proceed with the public offering or delivery of the Stock being delivered on such Delivery Date on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Prospectus.

         (l) The Company shall not have received any comment or request for further information from the NASD relating to the filing described in paragraph 5(j) hereof.

      All opinions, letters, evidence and certificates mentioned above or elsewhere in this Agreement shall be deemed to be in compliance with the provisions hereof only if they are in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to counsel for the Underwriters.

      8. INDEMNIFICATION AND CONTRIBUTION.

         (a) The Company shall indemnify and hold harmless each Underwriter,
      its officers, directors and employees and each person, if any, who controls any Underwriter within the meaning of the Securities Act (each, an "Underwriter Indemnified Party" and, collectively, the "Underwriter Indemnified Parties"), from
      and against any loss, claim, damage or liability, joint or several, or any action in respect thereof (including, but not limited to, any loss, claim, damage, liability or action relating to purchases and sales of Stock), to which that Underwriter Indemnified Party may become subject, under the Securities Act or otherwise, insofar as such loss, claim, damage, liability or action arises out of, or is based upon, (i) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained (A) in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or in any amendment or supplement thereto or (B) in any blue sky application or other document prepared or executed by the Company (or based upon any written information furnished by the Company) specifically for the purpose of qualifying any or all of the Stock under the securities laws of any state or other jurisdiction (any such application, document or information being hereinafter called a "Blue Sky Application"), or (ii) the omission or alleged omission to state in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, or in any amendment or supplement thereto, or in any Blue Sky Application any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, and shall reimburse each Underwriter Indemnified Party promptly upon demand for any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by that Underwriter Indemnified Party in connection with investigating or defending or preparing to defend against any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action as such expenses are incurred; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company shall not be liable to an Underwriter Indemnified Party in any such case to the extent that any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action arises out of, or is based upon, any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission made in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, or in any such amendment or supplement, or in any Blue Sky Application, in reliance upon and in conformity with written information concerning such Underwriter Indemnified Party furnished to the Company through the Representative by any Underwriter Indemnified Party specifically for inclusion therein. The foregoing indemnity agreement is in addition to any liability which the Company may otherwise have to any Underwriter Indemnified Party.

         (b) Each Underwriter, severally and not jointly, shall indemnify and hold harmless the Company, its officers, directors and employees, and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of the Securities Act (each, a "Company Indemnified Party" and, collectively, the Company Indemnified Parties"}, from and against any loss, claim, damage or liability, joint or several, or any action in respect thereof, to which that Company Indemnified Party may become subject, under the Securities Act or otherwise, insofar as such loss, claim, damage, liability or action arises out of, or is based upon, (i) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained (A) in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or in any amendment or supplement thereto, or (B) in any Blue Sky Application or
      (ii) the omission or alleged omission to state in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, or in any amendment or supplement thereto, or in any Blue Sky

      Application any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, but in each case only to the extent that the untrue statement or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission was made in reliance upon and in conformity with written information concerning such Underwriter furnished to the Company through the Representative by that Underwriter specifically for inclusion therein, and shall reimburse such Company Indemnified Party for any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such Company Indemnified Party in connection with investigating or defending or preparing to defend against any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action as such expenses are incurred. The foregoing indemnity agreement is in addition to any liability which any Underwriter may otherwise have to any Company Indemnified Party.

         (c) Promptly after receipt by an indemnified party under this
      Section 8 of notice of any claim or the commencement of any action, the indemnified party shall, if a claim in respect thereof is to be made against the indemnifying party under this Section 8, notify the indemnifying party in writing of the claim or the commencement of that action; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the failure to notify the indemnifying party shall not relieve it from any liability which it may have under this
      Section 8 except to the extent it has been materially prejudiced by such failure and, PROVIDED FURTHER, that the failure to notify the indemnifying party shall not relieve it from any liability which it may have to an indemnified party otherwise than under this Section 8. If any such claim or action shall be brought against an indemnified party, and it shall notify the indemnifying party thereof, the indemnifying party shall be entitled to participate therein and, to the extent that it wishes, jointly with any other similarly notified indemnifying party, to assume the defense thereof with counsel reasonably satisfactory to the indemnified party. After notice from the indemnifying party to the indemnified party of its election to assume the defense of such claim or action, the indemnifying party shall not be liable to the indemnified party under this
      Section 8 for any legal or other expenses subsequently incurred by the indemnified party in connection with the defense thereof other than reasonable costs of investigation; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Representative shall have the right to employ counsel to represent jointly the Representative and those other Underwriter Indemnified Parties who may be subject to liability arising out of any claim in respect of which indemnity may be sought by such Underwriter Indemnified Parties against the Company under this Section 8 if, in the reasonable judgment of the Representative, it is advisable for the Representative and those Underwriter Indemnified Parties to be jointly represented by separate counsel, and in that event the fees and expenses of such separate counsel shall be paid by the Company. No indemnifying party shall (i) without the prior written consent of the indemnified parties (which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld), settle or compromise or consent to the entry of any judgment with respect to any pending or threatened claim, action, suit or proceeding in respect of which indemnification or contribution may be sought hereunder (whether or not the indemnified parties are
      actual or potential parties to such claim or action) unless such settlement, compromise or consent includes an unconditional release of each indemnified party from all liability arising out of such claim, action, suit or proceeding, or (ii) be liable for any settlement of any such action effected without its written consent (which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld), but if settled with the consent of the indemnifying party or if there be a final judgment of the plaintiff in any such action, the indemnifying party agrees to indemnify and hold harmless any indemnified party from and against any loss or liability by reason of such settlement or judgment.

            (d) If the indemnification provided for in this Section 8 shall for any reason be unavailable to or insufficient to hold harmless an indemnified party under Section 8(a) or 8(b) in respect of any loss, claim, damage or liability, or any action in respect thereof, referred to therein, then each indemnifying party shall, in lieu of indemnifying such indemnified party, contribute to the amount paid or payable by such indemnified party as a result of such loss, claim, damage or liability, or action in respect thereof, (i) in such proportion as shall be appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other from the offering of the Stock or (ii) if the allocation provided by clause (i) above is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to in clause (i) above but also the relative fault of the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other with respect to the statements or omissions which resulted in such loss, claim, damage or liability, or action in respect thereof, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other with respect to such offering shall be deemed to be in the same proportion as the total net proceeds from the offering of the Stock purchased under this Agreement (before deducting expenses) received by the Company, on the one hand, and the total underwriting discounts and commissions received by the Underwriters with respect to the shares of the Stock purchased under this Agreement, on the other hand, bear to the total gross proceeds from the offering of the shares of the Stock under this Agreement, in each case as set forth in the table on the cover page of the Prospectus. Relative fault shall be determined by reference to whether the untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company or the Underwriters, the intent of the parties and their relative knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or omission. The Company and the Underwriters agree that it would not be just and equitable if contributions pursuant to this Section 8 were to be determined by pro rata allocation (even if the Underwriters were treated as one entity for such purpose) or by any other method of allocation which does not take into account the equitable considerations referred to herein. The amount paid or payable by an indemnified party as a result of the loss, claim, damage or liability, or action in respect thereof, referred to above in this Section 8 shall be deemed to
      include, for purposes of this Section 8(d), any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in connection with investigating or defending any such action or claim. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section 8(d), no Underwriter shall be required to contribute any amount in excess of the amount by which the total price at which the Stock underwritten by it and distributed to the public was offered to the public exceeds the amount of any damages which such Underwriter has otherwise paid or become liable to pay by reason of any untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission. No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of
      Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. The Underwriters' obligations to contribute as provided in this Section 8(d) are several in proportion to their respective underwriting obligations and not joint.

         (e) The Underwriters severally confirm and the Company acknowledges that the statements with respect to the public offering of the Stock by the Underwriters set forth on the cover page of, the legend concerning over-allotments on the front cover page of the Prospectus is correct and constitutes the only information concerning such Underwriters furnished in writing to the Company by the Underwriters specifically for inclusion in the Registration Statement and the Prospectus.

      9. DEFAULTING UNDERWRITERS.

      If, on any Delivery Date, either Underwriter defaults in the performance of its obligations under this Agreement, the remaining Underwriter shall be obligated to purchase the Stock which the defaulting Underwriter agreed but failed to purchase on such Delivery Date; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the non-defaulting Underwriter shall not be obligated to purchase any of the Stock on such Delivery Date if the total number of shares of the Stock which the defaulting Underwriter agreed but failed to purchase on such date exceeds 9.99% of the total number of shares of the Stock to be purchased on such Delivery Date, and the non-defaulting Underwriter shall not be obligated to purchase more than 110% of the number of shares of the Stock which it agreed to purchase on such Delivery Date pursuant to the terms of Section 2. If the foregoing maximums are exceeded, the non-defaulting Underwriter, or those other underwriters satisfactory to the Representative who so agree, shall have the right, but shall not be obligated, to purchase, in such proportion as may be agreed upon among them, all the Stock to be purchased on such Delivery Date. If the remaining Underwriter or other underwriters satisfactory to the Representative do not elect to purchase the shares which the defaulting Underwriter agreed but failed to purchase on such Delivery Date, this Agreement (or, with respect to the Second Delivery Date, the obligation of the Underwriters to purchase, and of the Company to sell, the Option Stock) shall terminate without liability on the part of the non-defaulting Underwriter or the Company, except for the indemnity and contribution agreements set forth in Section 8 and that the Company will continue to be liable for the payment of expenses to the extent set forth in
Section 11. As used in this Agreement, the term "Underwriter" includes, for all purposes of this Agreement unless the context requires
otherwise, any party not listed in Schedule 1 hereto who, pursuant to this
Section 9, purchases Stock which a defaulting Underwriter agreed but failed to purchase.

      Nothing contained herein shall relieve a defaulting Underwriter of any liability it may have to the Company for damages caused by its default. If other underwriters are obligated or agree to purchase the Stock of a defaulting or withdrawing Underwriter, either the Representative or the Company may postpone any Delivery Date for up to seven full business days in order to effect any changes that in the opinion of counsel for the Company or counsel for the Underwriters may be necessary in the Registration Statement, the Prospectus or in any other document or arrangement.

      10. TERMINATION. The obligations of the Underwriters hereunder may be terminated by the Representative by notice given to and received by the Company prior to delivery of and payment for the Stock if, prior to that time, any of the events described in Sections 7(k) or 7(l), shall have occurred or if the Underwriters shall decline to purchase the Stock for any reason permitted under this Agreement.

      11. REIMBURSEMENT OF UNDERWRITERS' EXPENSES. If (a) the Company shall fail to tender the Stock for delivery to the Underwriters by reason of any failure, refusal or inability on the part of the Company to perform any agreement on its part to be performed, or because any other condition of the Underwriters' obligations hereunder required to be fulfilled by the Company is not fulfilled, the Company will reimburse each Underwriter for all reasonable out-of-pocket expenses (including fees and disbursements of counsel) incurred by such Underwriter in connection with this Agreement and the proposed purchase of the Stock, and upon demand the Company shall pay the full amount thereof to the Representative. If this Agreement is terminated pursuant to Section 10 by reason of the default of an Underwriter, the Company shall not be obligated to reimburse such defaulting Underwriter on account of those expenses.

      12. NOTICES, ETC. All statements, requests, notices and agreements hereunder shall be in writing, and:

         (a) if to the Underwriters, shall be delivered or sent by mail or facsimile transmission to U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray, 800 Nicollet Mall,
      Minneapolis, MN 55402, Attn:        (Fax:        ) and to Lazard Freres
      & Co. LLC, 30 Rockefeller Plaza, New York, NY 10020, Attn:
      (Fax:         ), with a copy, in the case of any notice pursuant to
      Section 8(b), to Solomon, Zauderer, Ellenhorn, Frischer & Sharp, 45 Rockefeller Plaza, New York, New York 10111, Attn: Robert L.
      Mazzeo, Esq. (Fax: 212-956-4068);

         (b) if to the Company, shall be delivered or sent by mail or facsimile transmission to the address of the Company set forth in the Registration Statement, Attention: Legal Department (Fax: 212-590-6310), with a copy to Proskauer Rose LLP, 1585 Broadway, New York, New York 10036-8299, Attn: Jeffrey A. Horwitz, Esq. (Fax: 212-969-2900).

Any such statements, requests, notices or agreements shall take effect at the time of receipt thereof. The Company shall be entitled to rely on any request, consent, notice or agreement given or made on behalf of the Underwriters by the Representative.

      13. PERSONS ENTITLED TO BENEFIT OF AGREEMENT. This Agreement shall inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the Underwriters, the Company, and their respective successors. This Agreement and the terms and provisions hereof are for the sole benefit of only those persons, except that (A) the representations, warranties, indemnities and agreements of the Company contained in this Agreement shall also be deemed to be for the benefit of any and all Underwriter Indemnified Parties and (B) the indemnity agreement of the Underwriters contained in Section 8(b) of this Agreement shall be deemed to be for the benefit of any and all Company Indemnified Parties. Nothing in this Agreement is intended or shall be construed to give any person, other than the persons referred to in this Section 13, any legal or equitable right, remedy or claim under or in respect of this Agreement or any provision contained herein.

      14. SURVIVAL. The respective indemnities, representations, warranties and agreements of the Company and the Underwriters contained in this Agreement or made by or on behalf on them, respectively, pursuant to this Agreement, shall survive the delivery of and payment for the Stock and shall remain in full force and effect, regardless of any investigation made by or on behalf of any of them or any person controlling any of them.

      15. DEFINITION OF THE TERMS "BUSINESS DAY" AND "SUBSIDIARY." For purposes of this Agreement, (a) "business day" means any day on which the New York Stock Exchange, Inc. is open for trading and (b) "subsidiary" has the meaning set forth in Rule 405 of the Rules and Regulations.

      16. GOVERNING LAW. This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of New York applicable to contracts made entirely within such State. Each party irrevocably agrees that any legal suit, action or proceeding arising out of or based upon this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby ("Related Proceedings") may be instituted in the federal courts or the courts of the State of New York in each case located in the Borough of Manhattan in the City of New York (collectively, the "Specified Courts"), and irrevocably submits to the exclusive jurisdiction (except for proceedings instituted in regard to the enforcement of a judgment of any such court, as to which such jurisdiction is non-exclusive) of such courts in any such suit, action or proceeding. The parties further agree that service of any process, summons, notice or document by mail to such party's address set forth above shall be effective service of process for any lawsuit, action or other proceeding brought in any such court. The parties hereby irrevocably and unconditionally waive any objection to the laying of venue of any lawsuit, action or other proceeding in the Specified Courts, and hereby further irrevocably and unconditionally waive and agree not to plead or claim in any such court that any such lawsuit, action or other proceeding brought in any such court has been brought in an inconvenient forum.

      17. COUNTERPARTS. This Agreement may be executed in one or more counterparts and, if executed in more than one counterpart, the executed counterparts shall each be deemed to be an original but all such counterparts shall together constitute one and the same instrument.

      18. HEADINGS. The headings herein are inserted for convenience of reference only and are not intended to be part of, or to affect the meaning or interpretation of, this Agreement.






                           [Signature Page to Follow]

If the foregoing correctly sets forth the agreement between the Company and the Underwriters, please indicate your acceptance in the space provided for that purpose below.

                                    Very truly yours,

                                    dELiA*s Corp.


                                    By ________________________
                                       Name:  Alex S. Navarro
                                       Title:  Assistant Secretary
Accepted:

U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray

By: ___________________________
     AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE

For itself and as Representative
of the other Underwriter named
in Schedule 1 hereto

                                   SCHEDULE 1
                                   ----------

                                                                     Number of
      Underwriters                                                     Shares
      ------------                                                  ----------
U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray                                           3,250,000

Lazard Freres & Co. LLC                                              1,750,000

           Total                                                     5,000,000
                                                                     =========




                                      - i -