Exhibit 99.2

NEITHER THIS DEBENTURE NOR THE SECURITIES INTO WHICH THIS DEBENTURE IS CONVERTIBLE HAVE BEEN REGISTERED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR THE SECURITIES COMMISSION OF ANY STATE IN RELIANCE UPON AN EXEMPTION FROM REGISTRATION UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED (THE "SECURITIES ACT"), AND, ACCORDINGLY, MAY NOT BE OFFERED OR SOLD EXCEPT PURSUANT TO AN EFFECTIVE REGISTRATION STATEMENT UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OR PURSUANT TO AN AVAILABLE EXEMPTION FROM, OR IN A TRANSACTION NOT SUBJECT TO, THE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS OF THE SECURITIES ACT AND IN ACCORDANCE WITH APPLICABLE STATE SECURITIES LAWS.

                                                              No. [ ] $1,000,000

                                ONEMAIN.COM, INC.
                       FORM OF 6.75% CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURE
                               DUE APRIL 27, 2003

         THIS DEBENTURE is one of a series of duly authorized and issued debentures of OneMain.com, Inc., a Delaware corporation, having a principal place of business at 1860 Michael Faraday Drive, Suite 200, Reston, Virginia 20190 (the "Company"), designated as its 6.75% Convertible Debentures, due April 27, 2003, in the aggregate principal amount of twelve million dollars ($12,000,000) (the "Debentures").

         FOR VALUE RECEIVED, the Company promises to pay to [ ], or its registered assigns (the "Holder"), the principal sum of One Million Dollars ($1,000,000), on April 27, 2003, or such earlier date as the Debentures are required or permitted to be repaid as provided hereunder (the "Maturity Date") and to pay interest to the Holder on the aggregate unconverted and then outstanding principal amount of this Debenture at the rate of 6.75% per annum, payable in arrears on each Conversion Date (as defined herein) and, if the Underlying Shares Registration Statement (as defined in Section 6) applicable to this Debenture shall not have been declared effective by the Effectiveness Date (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) on March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31 of each year, commencing the earlier of the first Conversion Date and the first quarterly payment date following the Effectiveness Date applicable (for purposes of payment of interest, each Conversion Date and each quarterly date being an "Interest Payment Date"), in cash or shares of Common Stock (as defined in Section 6). Subject to the terms and conditions herein, the decision whether to pay interest hereunder in shares of Common Stock or cash shall be at the discretion of the Company. Not less than ten Trading Days (as defined in Section 6) prior to each Interest Payment Date, the Company shall provide

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the Holder with written notice of its election to pay interest hereunder either
in cash or shares of Common Stock pursuant to the terms of Section 4(a)(i) (the Company may indicate in such notice that the election contained in such notice shall continue for later periods until revised). Failure to timely provide such notice shall be deemed an election by the Company not to pay such interest in cash. Interest shall be calculated on the basis of a 360-day year and shall accrue daily (but compound annually) commencing on the Original Issue Date (as defined in Section 6) until payment (whether through conversion of all outstanding principal amount hereunder or otherwise) in full of the principal sum, together with all accrued and unpaid interest and other amounts which may become due hereunder, has been made. Interest hereunder will be paid to the Person (as defined in Section 6) in whose name this Debenture is registered on the records of the Company regarding registration and transfers of Debentures (the "Debenture Register"). All overdue accrued and unpaid interest to be paid in cash hereunder shall entail a late fee at the rate of 18% per annum (or such lower maximum amount of interest permitted to be charged under applicable law) (to accrue daily, from the date such interest is due hereunder through and including the date of payment), payable in cash.

         This Debenture is subject to the following additional provisions:

         Section 1. This Debenture is exchangeable for an equal aggregate principal amount of Debentures of different authorized denominations, as requested by the Holder surrendering the same. No service charge will be made for such registration of transfer or exchange.

         Section 2. This Debenture has been issued subject to certain investment representations of the original Holder set forth in the Purchase Agreement (as defined in Section 6) and may be transferred or exchanged to another Person only in compliance with the Purchase Agreement. Prior to due presentment to the Company for transfer of this Debenture, the Company and any agent of the Company may treat the Person (as defined in Section 6) in whose name this Debenture is duly registered on the Debenture Register as the owner hereof for the purpose of receiving payment as herein provided and for all other purposes, whether or not this Debenture is overdue, and neither the Company nor any such agent shall be affected by notice to the contrary.

         Section 3. Events of Default.

                  (a) "Event of Default", wherever used herein, means any one of the following events (whatever the reason and whether it shall be voluntary or involuntary or effected by operation of law or pursuant to any judgment, decree or order of any court, or any order, rule or regulation of any administrative or governmental body):

                           (i) any default in the payment of the principal of, interest on or liquidated damages in respect of, any Debentures, free of any claim of subordination, by the fifth Business Day (as defined in
         Section 6) following the date the same shall become due and payable (whether on an Interest Payment Date or the Maturity Date, by acceleration or otherwise);


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                           (ii) the Company shall fail to observe or perform any
         other material covenant, agreement or warranty contained in, or otherwise commit any breach of, any Transaction Document (as defined in
         Section 6) or any other Debenture (other than those
         matters that are the specific subject of another Event of Default under this Section), and such failure or breach shall not have been remedied within fifteen Business Days after the date on which notice of such failure or breach shall have been given;

                           (iii) the Company or any of its subsidiaries shall commence, or there shall be commenced against the Company or any such subsidiary a case under any applicable bankruptcy or insolvency laws as now or hereafter in effect or any successor thereto, or the Company commences any other proceeding under any reorganization, arrangement, adjustment of debt, relief of debtors, dissolution, insolvency or liquidation or similar law of any jurisdiction whether now or hereafter in effect relating to the Company or any subsidiary thereof or there is commenced against the Company or any subsidiary thereof any such bankruptcy, insolvency or other proceeding which remains undismissed for a period of 60 days; or the Company or any subsidiary thereof is adjudicated insolvent or bankrupt; or any order of relief or other order approving any such case or proceeding is entered; or the Company or any subsidiary thereof suffers any appointment of any custodian or the like for it or any substantial part of its property which continues undischarged or unstayed for a period of 60 days; or the Company or any subsidiary thereof makes a general assignment for the benefit of creditors; or the Company shall fail to pay, or shall state that it is unable to pay, or shall be unable to pay, its debts generally as they become due; or the Company or any subsidiary thereof shall call a meeting of its creditors with a view to arranging a composition, adjustment or restructuring of its debts; or the Company or any subsidiary thereof shall by any act or failure to act expressly indicate its consent to, approval of or acquiescence in any of the foregoing; or any corporate or other action is taken by the Company or any subsidiary thereof for the purpose of effecting any of the foregoing;

                           (iv) the Company shall default in any of its
         obligations under any other Debenture of any mortgage, credit agreement or other facility, indenture agreement, factoring agreement or other instrument under which there may be issued, or by which there may be secured or evidenced any indebtedness for borrowed money or money due under any long term leasing or factoring arrangement of the Company in an amount exceeding one million dollars ($1,000,000), whether such indebtedness now exists or shall hereafter be created and such default shall result in such indebtedness becoming or being declared due and payable prior to the date on which it would otherwise become due and payable;

                           (v) the Common Stock shall not be quoted for trading on the Nasdaq National Market ("NASDAQ") or, if the Common Stock shall hereafter become listed or quoted for trading on the Nasdaq SmallCap Market, New York Stock Exchange, or American Stock Exchange (each, a "Subsequent Market"), it shall fail to be quoted or listed for trading on such Subsequent Market, for an aggregate of five Trading Days;


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                           (vi) the Company shall be a party to any Change of
         Control Transaction (as defined in Section 6), shall agree to sell or dispose all or in excess of 50% of its assets in one or more transactions (whether or not such sale would constitute a Change of Control Transaction), or shall redeem or repurchase an aggregate of more than $1,000,000 of shares of Common Stock (measured by reference to the market price thereof) or other equity securities of the Company (other than redemptions of Underlying Shares (as defined in
         Section 6));

                           (vii) an Underlying Shares Registration Statement shall not have been declared effective by the Commission (as defined in
         Section 6) on or prior to the 180th day after the Original Issue Date;

                           (viii) if, during the Effectiveness Period (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement (as defined in Section
         8)), the effectiveness of the Underlying Shares Registration Statement lapses for any reason or the Holder shall not be permitted to resell Registrable Securities (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) under an Underlying Shares Registration Statement, in either case, for an aggregate of twenty or more Trading Days (which need not be consecutive Trading Days) in any twelve month period;

                           (ix) an Event (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) shall not have been cured to the satisfaction of the Holder prior to the expiration of thirty days from the Event Date (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) relating thereto (other than an Event resulting from a failure of an Underlying Shares Registration Statement to be declared effective by the Commission on or prior to the 180th day after the Original Issue Date, which shall be covered by
         Section 3(a)(viii));

                           (x) the Company shall fail for any reason to deliver certificates to a Holder prior to the twelfth (12th) Trading Day after a Conversion Date pursuant to and in accordance with Section 4(b) or the Company shall provide notice to the Holder, including by way of public announcement, at any time, of its intention not to comply with requests for conversions of any Debentures in accordance with the terms hereof; or

                           (xi) the Company shall fail for any reason to deliver the payment in cash pursuant to a Buy-In (as defined herein) within seven Business Days after written notice for such Buy-In is provided.

                  (b) If any Event of Default occurs and is continuing, the full principal amount of this Debenture (and, at the Holder's option, all other Debentures then held by such Holder), together with interest and other amounts owing in respect thereof, to the date of acceleration shall become, at the Holder's election immediately due and payable in cash. The aggregate amount payable upon an Event of Default shall be equal to the sum of (i) the Mandatory Prepayment Amount (as defined in Section 6) plus (ii) the product of (A) the number of Underlying Shares issued in respect of conversions hereunder within thirty (30) days of the date of a declaration of an Event of Default and then held by the Holder and (B) the closing sales price of the Common

Stock as reported by Bloomberg L.P. (or the successor to its function of reporting share prices) on the date prepayment is due or the date the full prepayment price is paid, whichever is greater. Interest shall accrue on the prepayment amount hereunder from the seventh Business Day after such amount is due (being the date of an Event of Default) through the date of prepayment in full thereof at the rate of 18% per annum (or such lesser maximum amount that is permitted to be paid by applicable law), to accrue daily from the date such payment is due hereunder through and including the date of payment. All Debentures and Underlying Shares for which the full prepayment price hereunder shall have been paid in accordance herewith shall promptly be surrendered to or as directed by the Company. The Holder need not provide and the Company hereby waives any presentment, demand, protest or other notice of any kind, and the Holder may immediately and without expiration of any grace period enforce any and all of its rights and remedies hereunder and all other remedies available to it under applicable law. Such declaration may be rescinded and annulled by Holder at any time prior to payment hereunder. No such rescission or annulment shall affect any subsequent Event of Default or impair any right consequent thereon.

         Section 4. Conversion.

                  (a)(i) Conversion at Option of Holder.

                     (A) This Debenture shall be convertible into shares of Common Stock at the option of the Holder, in whole or in part (but subject to the limitations on conversion set forth in Section 4(a)(iv)) at any time and from time to time commencing the 90th day following Original Issue Date (the "Conversion Commencement Date"). The maximum principal amount of Debentures issued on the same Original Issue Date to a Holder that such Holder may convert pursuant to this Section 4(a)(i) is limited in each 30 day period to 25% of the principal amount of all Debentures issued on such Original Issued Date to such Holder. All monthly periods shall be measured cumulatively, so that all Debentures issued to a Holder on an Original Issue Date may be tendered for conversion by such Holder commencing the 91st day after the Conversion Commencement Date.

                     (B) The Holder shall effect conversions by surrendering to the Company the principal amount of Debentures to be converted, together with a completed conversion notice in the form attached as Exhibit A (a "Holder Conversion Notice"). Each Holder Conversion Notice shall specify the date on which such conversion is to be effected, which date may not be prior to the date such Holder Conversion Notice is deemed to have been delivered hereunder (a "Holder Conversion Date"). If no Holder Conversion Date is specified in a Holder Conversion Notice, the Holder Conversion Date shall be the date that such Holder Conversion Notice is deemed delivered hereunder. Subject to Section 4(b), each Holder Conversion Notice, once given, shall be irrevocable. If the Holder is converting less than all of the principal amount represented by the Debenture(s) tendered by the Holder with the Holder Conversion Notice, or if a conversion hereunder cannot be effected in full for any reason, the Company shall honor such conversion to the extent permissible hereunder and shall promptly deliver to such Holder (in the manner and within the time set forth in Section 4(b)) a new Debenture for such principal amount as has not been converted.

                  (ii) Conversion At Option of the Company.

                     (A) If the conditions set forth in this subsection are satisfied, the Company may require the conversion of all or a portion of the principal amount of the Debentures subject to an effective Underlying Shares Registration Statement. The Company shall only have the right to require conversions hereunder if (i) the closing sales price of the Common Stock as reported by Bloomberg L.P. (or any successor to its function of reporting share prices) exceeds (x) for the first 100 Trading Days following the Original Issue Date, $12.15 (subject to equitable adjustment in the event of stock splits and similar events), and (y) thereafter $10.00 (subject to equitable adjustment in the event of stock splits and similar events), for 20 consecutive Trading Days following the date on which an Underlying Shares Registration Statement shall have first been declared effective by the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Effective Date"), (ii) the Underlying Shares Registration Statement shall have been effective and the prospectus thereunder available to the Holders for the resale of all Underlying Shares issuable upon such conversion during the entire 20 Trading Day period and on the Company Conversion Date (as defined below) or Underlying Shares may be sold by the Holder subject to such conversion without volume limitation under Rule 144(k) promulgated under the Securities Act, (iii) the Company has available sufficient unreserved and available shares of Common Stock to fulfill its share delivery requirements upon such conversion,
(iv) the Common Stock is listed or quoted for trading on the NASDAQ or a Subsequent Market during the entire twenty-five Trading Day calculation period described above in this subsection, (v) such conversion would not result in a violation of Section 4(a)(iv), and (vi) the Company shall not have been more than three Trading Days late in delivering any conversion shares pursuant to
Section 4(b).

                     (B) The Company shall exercise its right to require conversions under Section 4(a)(ii) by delivering to the Holder a completed conversion notice in the form attached as Exhibit B (a "Company Conversion Notice"). Each of a Company Conversion Notice and a Holder Conversion Notice are sometimes referred to herein as a Conversion Notice. Each Company Conversion Notice shall specify the principal amount of Debentures to be converted and the date on which such conversion is to be effected, which date may not be prior to the date such Company Conversion Notice is deemed to have been delivered hereunder (a "Company Conversion Date"). Each of a Company Conversion Date and a Holder Conversion Date are referred to herein as a "Conversion Date". If no Conversion Date is specified in a Company Conversion Notice, the Conversion Date shall be the date that such Company Conversion Notice is deemed delivered hereunder. Subject to the Holder's rights under Section 4(b), the conversion subject to each Company Conversion Notice, once given, shall be irrevocable. Not more than two Trading Days following receipt of the Company Conversion Notice, the Holder shall deliver to the Company the principal amount of Debentures subject to such Company Conversion Notice. If the Company is requiring conversion of less than the full principal amount represented by the Debenture(s) tendered by the Holder following a Company Conversion Notice, or if a conversion hereunder cannot be effected in full for any reason, the Company shall honor such conversion to the extent permissible hereunder and shall promptly deliver to such Holder (in the manner and within the time set forth in
Section 4(b)) a new Debenture for such principal amount as has not been
converted.

                  (iii) Automatic Conversion. Subject to the provisions in this paragraph, the principal amount of Debentures for which conversion notices have not previously been received or for which prepayment has not been made or required hereunder shall be automatically converted on the third anniversary of the Original Issue Date for the resale of all Underlying Shares issuable upon such conversion, at the Conversion Price on such date. The conversion contemplated by this paragraph shall not occur if (a) an Underlying Securities Registration Statement is not then effective and the prospectus thereunder available for use by the Holder for the resale of all Underlying Shares issuable upon such conversion or the Holder is not permitted to resell Underlying Shares without volume restrictions pursuant to Rule 144(k) promulgated under the Securities Act; (b) there are not sufficient shares of Common Stock authorized and reserved for issuance upon such conversion. Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary, the Automatic Conversion Date shall be extended (on a day-for-day basis) for any Trading Days that the Holder is unable to resell Underlying Shares due to (a) the Common Stock not being listed or quoted for trading on the NASDAQ or a Subsequent Market, (b) the failure of an Underlying Securities Registration Statement to be declared effective by the Commission or, if so declared, to remain effective during the Effectiveness Period as to all Underlying Shares, or (c) the suspension of the Holder's right to use the prospectus thereunder to resell Underlying Shares. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, a conversion pursuant to this Section shall not be subject to the provisions of Section 4(a)(iv).

                  (iv) Number of Underlying Shares Issuable Upon Conversion.

                     (A) The number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon a conversion hereunder shall be determined by adding the sum of (i) the quotient obtained by dividing (x) the principal amount of this Debenture to be converted and (y) the Conversion Price (as defined herein), and (ii) the amount equal to
(I) the product of (x) the principal amount of this Debenture to be converted and (y) the product of (1) the quotient obtained by dividing .0675 by 360 and
(2) the number of days for which such principal amount was outstanding, divided by (II) the Conversion Price on the Conversion Date, provided, that (1) if the Company shall have timely elected to pay the interest at issue in cash, subsection (ii) shall not be used in the calculation of the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon such conversion, and (2) only such portion of the accrued and outstanding amount of interest owing on the principal amount being converted shall be calculated in subsection (ii), giving credit for previously paid interest on such principal amount.

                     (B) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, if on any Conversion Date: (1) the number of shares of Common Stock at the time authorized, unissued and unreserved for all purposes, or held as treasury stock, is insufficient to pay interest hereunder in shares of Common Stock; (2) after the Interest Effectiveness Date (as defined in Section 6) such shares of Common Stock (x) are not registered for resale pursuant to an effective Underlying Shares Registration Statement and (y) may not be sold without volume restrictions pursuant to Rule 144(k) promulgated under the Securities Act (as defined in Section 6), as determined by counsel to the Company pursuant to a written opinion letter, addressed to the Company's transfer agent in the form and substance acceptable to the applicable Holder and such

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transfer agent; (3) the Common Stock is not listed or quoted for trading on
the NASDAQ or on a Subsequent Market; or (4) the issuance of such shares of Common Stock would result in a violation of Sections 4(a)(iv), then, at the option of the Holder, the Company, in lieu of delivering shares of Common Stock pursuant to Section 4(a)(i)(A)(ii), shall deliver, within ten Trading Days of each applicable Conversion Date, an amount in cash equal to the product of (a) the outstanding principal amount of the Debentures to be converted on such Conversion Date and (b) the product of (x) the quotient obtained by dividing
 .0675 by 360 and (y) the number of days for which such principal amount was outstanding.

                  (v) Certain Conversion Restrictions.

                     (A) A Holder may not convert Debentures or receive shares of Common Stock as payment of interest hereunder to the extent such conversion or receipt of such interest payment would result in the Holder, together with any affiliate thereof, beneficially owning (as determined in accordance with
Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act and the rules promulgated thereunder) in excess of 4.999% of the then issued and outstanding shares of Common Stock, including shares issuable upon conversion of, and payment of interest on, the Debentures held by such Holder after application of this Section. Since the Holder will not be obligated to report to the Company the number of shares of Common Stock it may hold at the time of a conversion hereunder, unless the conversion at issue would result in the issuance of shares of Common Stock in excess of 4.999% of the then outstanding shares of Common Stock without regard to any other shares which may be beneficially owned by the Holder or an affiliate thereof, the Holder shall have the authority and obligation to determine whether the restriction contained in this Section will limit any particular conversion hereunder and to the extent that the Holder determines that the limitation contained in this Section applies, the determination of which portion of the principal amount of Debentures are convertible shall be the responsibility and obligation of the Holder. If the Holder has delivered a Conversion Notice for a principal amount of Debentures that, without regard to any other shares that the Holder or its affiliates may beneficially own, would result in the issuance in excess of the permitted amount hereunder, the Company shall notify the Holder of this fact and shall honor the conversion for the maximum principal amount permitted to be converted on such Conversion Date in accordance with the periods described in Section 4(b) and, at the option of the Holder, either retain any principal amount tendered for conversion in excess of the permitted amount hereunder for future conversions or return such excess principal amount to the Holder. The provisions of this Section may be waived by a Holder (but only as to itself and not to any other Holder) upon not less than 61 days prior notice to the Company. Other Holders shall be unaffected by any such waiver.

                     (B) A Holder may not convert Debentures or receive shares of Common Stock as payment of interest hereunder to the extent such conversion or receipt of such interest payment would result in the Holder, together with any affiliate thereof, beneficially owning (as determined in accordance with
Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act and the rules promulgated thereunder) in excess of 9.999% of the then issued and outstanding shares of Common Stock, including shares issuable upon conversion of, and payment of interest on, the Debentures held by such Holder after application of this Section. Since the Holder will not be obligated to report to the Company the number of shares of Common Stock it may hold at the
time of a conversion hereunder, unless the conversion at issue would result in the issuance of shares of Common Stock in excess of 9.999% of the then outstanding shares of Common Stock without regard to any other shares which may be beneficially owned by the Holder or an affiliate thereof, the Holder shall have the authority and obligation to determine whether the restriction contained in this Section will limit any particular conversion hereunder and to the extent that the Holder determines that the limitation contained in this Section applies, the determination of which portion of the principal amount of Debentures are convertible shall be the responsibility and obligation of the Holder. If the Holder has delivered a Conversion Notice for a principal amount of Debentures that, without regard to any other shares that the Holder or its affiliates may beneficially own, would result in the issuance in excess of the permitted amount hereunder, the Company shall notify the Holder of this fact and shall honor the conversion for the maximum principal amount permitted to be converted on such Conversion Date in accordance with the periods described in
Section 4(b) and, at the option of the Holder, either retain any principal amount tendered for conversion in excess of the permitted amount hereunder for future conversions or return such excess principal amount to the Holder. The provisions of this Section may be waived by a Holder (but only as to itself and not to any other Holder) upon not less than 61 days prior notice to the Company. Other Holders shall be unaffected by any such waiver.

                  (C) If the Common Stock is then listed for trading on the NASDAQ or the Nasdaq SmallCap Market and the Company has not obtained the Shareholder Approval (as defined below), then the Company is precluded from issuing at a Conversion Price or, with respect to the Warrants described below in this sentence, an exercise price, that is less than the closing sales price per share of the Common Stock on the Trading Day immediately preceding the first closing of the transactions contemplated by the Purchase Agreement, subject to equitable adjustment in the event of stock splits and similar events (such price, the "Market Price"), in excess of 5,019,766 shares of Common Stock (the "Issuable Maximum") upon conversion of the Debentures and as payment of interest thereon and exercise of the Warrants (as defined in the Purchase Agreement). The Issuable Maximum equals 19.999% of the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately prior to the first closing of transactions set forth in the Purchase Agreement. Accordingly, if on any Conversion Date (A) the Common Stock is listed for trading on the NASDAQ or the Nasdaq SmallCap Market and (B) the Company shall not have previously obtained the vote of shareholders (the "Shareholder Approval"), if any, as may be required by the applicable rules and regulations of the Nasdaq Stock Market (or any successor entity) applicable to approve the issuance of a number of shares of Common Stock in excess of the Issuable Maximum at a price below the Market Price, then the Company shall issue to the Holder requesting a conversion a number of shares of Common Stock equal to the lesser of (x) the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon such conversion at the Conversion Price and (y) the Issuable Maximum less all shares of Common Stock previously issued upon conversion of the Debentures and as payment of interest thereon (but only those shares issued at a Conversion Price less than the Market Price) and all shares of Common Stock previously issued upon any exercise of Warrants (but only those shares issued at an exercise price less than the Market Price). With respect to the principal amount of Debentures tendered for conversion at issue for which a conversion in accordance with the Conversion Price would, when aggregated with all shares of Common Stock previously issued on account of conversions of Debentures and payment of interest thereon and upon exercise of Warrants (at the exercise and Conversion Price
described in the immediately preceding sentence) (the "Excess Principal"), result in the issuance of a number of shares of Common Stock in excess of the Issuable Maximum, the converting Holder shall have the option to require the Company to either (1) use its best efforts to obtain the Shareholder Approval applicable to such issuance as soon as is possible, but in any event not later than the first to occur of (x) the twenty-fifth day from the date that the Commission approves or indicates that it has no further comments to the Company's preliminary proxy statement, if any, prepared for delivery to the shareholders of the Company in connection with the Shareholder Approval contemplated hereby and (y) the 90th day after such request (such date the "Approval Date"), or (2) pay cash to the converting Holder in an amount equal to the Mandatory Prepayment Amount for the Excess Principal. If the converting Holder shall have elected the first option pursuant to the immediately preceding sentence and the Company shall have failed for any reason to obtain the Shareholder Approval on or prior to the Approval Date, then within three days of the Holder's demand therefore, which may be given at any time following the Approval Date, the Company shall pay cash to the converting Holder in an amount equal to the Mandatory Prepayment Amount for the Excess Principal. If the Company fails to pay the Mandatory Prepayment Amount in full pursuant to this Section within seven days of the date payable, the Company will pay interest thereon at a rate of 18% per annum (or such lesser maximum amount that is permitted to be paid by applicable law) to the converting Holder, accruing daily from the Conversion Date until such amount, plus all such interest thereon, is paid in full. In the event there is more than one holder of Debentures, the Issuable Maximum applicable to each Debenture shall be determined pro rata by reference to the percentage of the principal amount of all Debentures held by such Holder, provided that if one or more Debentures shall have been prepaid or converted without having been issued its pro rata allocated portion of the Issuable Maximum such unissued shares shall be allocated pro rata to the remaining Holders. It is understood and agreed that shares of Common Stock delivered to and held by the Holder or one of its affiliates on account of conversion hereunder may not cast votes on the matter of Shareholder Approval. Shares delivered on account of conversion hereunder and not held by the Holder or its affiliates may cast votes on the matter of Shareholder Approval. Any Mandatory Prepayment Amount owing pursuant to this Section shall be due and payable by the 20th day following the demand therefor.

                  (b) (i) Not later than three Trading Days after any Conversion Date, the Company will deliver to the Holder (i) a certificate or certificates which shall be free of restrictive legends and trading restrictions (other than those required by Section 3.1(b) of the Purchase Agreement) representing the number of shares of Common Stock being acquired upon the conversion of Debentures, (ii) Debentures in a principal amount equal to the principal amount of Debentures not converted, and (iii) a bank check in the amount of accrued and unpaid interest (if the Company has timely elected or is required to pay accrued interest in cash), provided, that the Company shall not be obligated to issue certificates evidencing the shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of the principal amount of Debentures until Debentures are delivered for conversion to the Company, or the Holder notifies the Company that such Debentures have been lost, stolen or destroyed and provides a bond (or other adequate security) reasonably satisfactory to the Company to indemnify the Company from any loss incurred by it in connection therewith. The Company shall, upon request of the Holder, if available, use its best efforts to deliver any certificate or certificates required to be delivered by the Company
under this Section electronically through the Depository Trust Corporation or another established clearing corporation performing similar functions. If in the case of any Conversion Notice such certificate or certificates are not delivered to or as directed by the applicable Holder by the third Trading Day after a Conversion Date, the Holder shall be entitled by written notice to the Company at any time on or before its receipt of such certificate or certificates thereafter, to rescind such conversion, in which event the Company shall immediately return the certificates representing the principal amount of Debentures tendered for conversion.

                  (ii) If the Company fails to deliver to the Holder such certificate or certificates pursuant to Section 4(b)(i) by the third Trading Day after the Conversion Date, the Company shall pay to such Holder, in cash, as liquidated damages and not as a penalty, $5,000 for each Trading Day after such third Trading Day until such certificates are delivered. Nothing herein shall limit a Holder's right to pursue actual damages or declare an Event of Default pursuant to Section 3 herein for the Company's failure to deliver certificates representing shares of Common Stock upon conversion within the period specified herein and such Holder shall have the right to pursue all remedies available to it at law or in equity including, without limitation, a decree of specific performance and/or injunctive relief. The exercise of any such rights shall not prohibit the Holders from seeking to enforce damages pursuant to any other Section hereof or under applicable law. Further, if the Company shall not have delivered any cash due in respect of conversions of Debentures or as payment of interest thereon by the third Trading Day after the Conversion Date, the Holder may, by notice to the Company, require the Company to issue shares of Common Stock pursuant to Section 4(c), except that for such purpose the Conversion Price applicable thereto shall be the lesser of the Conversion Price on the Conversion Date and the Conversion Price on the date of such Holder demand. Any such shares will be subject to the provision of this Section.

                  (iii) In addition to any other rights available to the Holder, if the Company fails to deliver to the Holder such certificate or certificates pursuant to Section 4(b)(i) by the third Trading Day after the Conversion Date, and if after such third Trading Day the Holder purchases (in an open market transaction or otherwise) Common Stock to deliver in satisfaction of a sale by such Holder of the Underlying Shares which the Holder anticipated receiving upon such conversion (a "Buy-In"), then the Company shall (A) pay in cash to the Holder (in addition to any remedies available to or elected by the Holder) the amount by which (x) the Holder's total purchase price (including brokerage commissions, if any) for the Common Stock so purchased at the prevailing market price at the time of such purchase exceeds (y) the product of (1) the aggregate number of shares of Common Stock that such Holder anticipated receiving from the conversion at issue multiplied by (2) the market price of the Common Stock at the time of the sale giving rise to such purchase obligation and (B) at the option of the Holder, either reissue Debentures in principal amount equal to the principal amount of the attempted conversion or deliver to the Holder the number of shares of Common Stock that would have been issued had the Company timely complied with its delivery requirements under Section 4(b)(i). For example, if the Holder purchases Common Stock having a total purchase price of $11,000 to cover a Buy-In with respect to an attempted conversion of Debentures with respect to which the market price of the Underlying Shares on the date of conversion was a total of $10,000 under clause (A) of the immediately preceding sentence, the Company shall be required to pay the

Holder $1,000. The Holder shall provide the Company written notice indicating the amounts payable to the Holder in respect of the Buy-In. Notwithstanding anything contained herein to the contrary, if a Holder requires the Company to make payment in respect of a Buy-In for the failure to timely deliver certificates hereunder and the Company timely pays in full such payment, the Company shall not be required to pay such Holder liquidated damages under
Section 4(b)(ii) in respect of the certificates resulting in such Buy-In.

                     (c) (i) The Conversion Price of the Debentures on any Conversion Date (the "Conversion Price") shall initially equal the Fixed Conversion Price and, from and after the 90th day following the Original Issue Date, shall equal the lower of the Fixed Conversion Price and the Variable Conversion Price (each as defined in Section 6).

                  (ii) If the Company, at any time while any Debentures are outstanding, (a) shall pay a stock dividend or otherwise make a distribution or distributions on shares of its Common Stock or any other equity or equity equivalent securities payable in shares of Common Stock (other than PIK dividend preferred stock), (b) subdivide outstanding shares of Common Stock into a larger number of shares, (c) combine (including by way of reverse stock split) outstanding shares of Common Stock into a smaller number of shares, or (d) issue by reclassification of shares of the Common Stock any shares of capital stock of the Company, then the Conversion Price shall be multiplied by a fraction of which the numerator shall be the number of shares of Common Stock (excluding treasury shares, if any) outstanding before such event and of which the denominator shall be the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding after such event. Any adjustment made pursuant to this Section shall become effective immediately after the record date for the determination of stockholders entitled to receive such dividend or distribution and shall become effective immediately after the effective date in the case of a subdivision, combination or re-classification.

                  (iii) If the Company, at any time while any Debentures are outstanding, shall issue rights, options or warrants to all holders of Common Stock (and not to Holders) entitling them to subscribe for or purchase shares of Common Stock at a price per share less than the Per Share Market Value at the record date mentioned below, then the Conversion Price shall be multiplied by a fraction, of which the denominator shall be the number of shares of the Common Stock (excluding treasury shares, if any) outstanding on the date of issuance of such rights or warrants plus the number of additional shares of Common Stock offered for subscription or purchase, and of which the numerator shall be the number of shares of the Common Stock (excluding treasury shares, if any) outstanding on the date of issuance of such rights or warrants plus the number of shares which the aggregate offering price of the total number of shares so offered would purchase at such Per Share Market Value. Such adjustment shall be made whenever such rights or warrants are issued, and shall become effective immediately after the record date for the determination of stockholders entitled to receive such rights, options or warrants. However, upon the expiration of any such right, option or warrant to purchase shares of the Common Stock the issuance of which resulted in an adjustment in the Conversion Price pursuant to this Section, if any such right, option or warrant shall expire and shall not have been exercised, the Conversion Price shall immediately upon such expiration be recomputed and effective immediately upon such expiration be increased to the price which it
would have been (but reflecting any other adjustments in the
Conversion Price made pursuant to the provisions of this Section after the issuance of such rights or warrants) had the adjustment of the Conversion Price made upon the issuance of such rights, options or warrants been made on the basis of offering for subscription or purchase only that number of shares of the Common Stock actually purchased upon the exercise of such rights, options or warrants actually exercised.

                  (iv) If the Company or any subsidiary thereof, as applicable with respect to Common Stock Equivalents (as defined below), at any time while Debentures are outstanding shall issue shares of Common Stock or rights, warrants, options or other securities or debt that are convertible into or exchangeable for shares of Common Stock ("Common Stock Equivalents"), entitling any Person to acquire shares of Common Stock at a price per share less than the Conversion Price (if the holder of the Common Stock or Common Stock Equivalent so issued shall at any time, whether by operation of purchase price adjustments, reset provisions, floating conversion, exercise or exchange prices or otherwise, or due to warrants, options or rights issued in connection with such issuance, be entitled to receive shares of Common Stock at a price less than the Conversion Price, such issuance shall be deemed to have occurred for less than the Conversion Price), then, the Conversion Price shall be multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which shall be the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately prior to the issuance of such shares of Common Stock or such Common Stock Equivalents plus the number of shares of Common Stock which the offering price for such shares of Common Stock or Common Stock Equivalents would purchase at the Conversion Price, and the denominator of which shall be the sum of the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately prior to such issuance plus the number of shares of Common Stock so issued or issuable, provided, that for purposes hereof, all shares of Common Stock that are issuable upon conversion, exercise or exchange of Common Stock Equivalents shall be deemed outstanding immediately after the issuance of such Common Stock Equivalents. Such adjustment shall be made whenever such shares of Common Stock or Common Stock Equivalents are issued. However, upon the expiration of any Common Stock Equivalents the issuance of which resulted in an adjustment in the Conversion Price pursuant to this Section, if any such Common Stock Equivalents shall expire and shall not have been exercised, the Conversion Price shall immediately upon such expiration be recomputed and effective immediately upon such expiration be increased to the price which it would have been (but reflecting any other adjustments in the Conversion Price made pursuant to the provisions of this Section after the issuance of such Common Stock Equivalents) had the adjustment of the Conversion Price made upon the issuance of such Common Stock Equivalents been made on the basis of offering for subscription or purchase only that number of shares of Common Stock actually purchased upon the exercise of such Common Stock Equivalents actually exercised. The foregoing shall not apply to any (i) issuances of securities as consideration in a merger, consolidation or acquisition of assets, or in connection with any strategic partnership or joint venture (the primary purpose of which is not to raise equity capital), or as consideration for the acquisition of a business, product or license by the Company, (ii) the issuance of securities upon the exercise or conversion of the Company's options, warrants or other convertible securities outstanding as of the date hereof, or (iii) the grant of options or warrants, or the issuance of additional securities, under any duly authorized Company stock option, restricted stock plan or stock purchase plan for the benefit of the Company's employees.

                  (v) If the Company, at any time while Debentures are outstanding, shall distribute to all holders of Common Stock (and not to Holders) evidences of its indebtedness or assets or rights or warrants to subscribe for or purchase any security, then in each such case the Conversion Price at which Debentures shall thereafter be convertible shall be determined by multiplying the Conversion Price in effect immediately prior to the record date fixed for determination of stockholders entitled to receive such distribution by a fraction of which the denominator shall be the Per Share Market Value determined as of the record date mentioned above, and of which the numerator shall be such Per Share Market Value on such record date less the then fair market value at such record date of the portion of such assets or evidence of indebtedness so distributed applicable to one outstanding share of the Common Stock as determined by the Board of Directors in good faith. In either case the adjustments shall be described in a statement provided to the Holders of the portion of assets or evidences of indebtedness so distributed or such subscription rights applicable to one share of Common Stock. Such adjustment shall be made whenever any such distribution is made and shall become effective immediately after the record date mentioned above.

                  (vi) In case of any reclassification of the Common Stock or any compulsory share exchange pursuant to which the Common Stock is converted into other securities, cash or property, the Holders shall have the right thereafter to, at their option, (A) convert the then outstanding principal amount, together with all accrued but unpaid interest and any other amounts then owing hereunder in respect of this Debenture only into the shares of stock and other securities, cash and property receivable upon or deemed to be held by holders of the Common Stock following such reclassification or share exchange, and the Holders of the Debentures shall be entitled upon such event to receive such amount of securities, cash or property as the shares of the Common Stock of the Company into which the then outstanding principal amount, together with all accrued but unpaid interest and any other amounts then owing hereunder in respect of this Debenture could have been converted immediately prior to such reclassification or share exchange would have been entitled or (B) require the Company to prepay the aggregate of its outstanding principal amount of Debentures, plus all interest and other amounts due and payable thereon, at a price determined in accordance with Section 3(b). The entire prepayment price shall be paid in cash. This provision shall similarly apply to successive reclassifications or share exchanges.

                  (vii) All calculations under this Section 4 shall be made to the nearest cent or the nearest 1/100th of a share, as the case may be. No adjustments in either the Conversion Price or the Initial Conversion Price shall be required if such adjustment is less than $0.01, provided, however, that any adjustments which by reason of this Section are not required to be made shall be carried forward and taken into account in any subsequent adjustment.

                  (viii) Whenever the Conversion Price is adjusted pursuant to any of Section 4(c)(ii) - (v), the Company shall promptly mail to each Holder a notice setting forth the Initial Conversion Price or Conversion Price (as applicable) after such adjustment and setting forth a brief statement of the facts requiring such adjustment.

                  (ix) If (A) the Company shall declare a dividend (or any other distribution) on the Common Stock; (B) the Company shall declare a special nonrecurring cash dividend on or a redemption of the Common Stock; (C) the Company shall authorize the granting to all holders of the Common Stock rights or warrants to subscribe for or purchase any shares of capital stock of any class or of any rights; (D) the approval of any stockholders of the Company shall be required in connection with any reclassification of the Common Stock, any consolidation or merger to which the Company is a party, any sale or transfer of all or substantially all of the assets of the Company, of any compulsory share exchange whereby the Common Stock is converted into other securities, cash or property; (E) the Company shall authorize the voluntary or involuntary dissolution, liquidation or winding up of the affairs of the Company; then, in each case, the Company shall cause to be filed at each office or agency maintained for the purpose of conversion of the Debentures, and shall cause to be mailed to the Holders at their last addresses as they shall appear upon the stock books of the Company, at least 20 calendar days prior to the applicable record or effective date hereinafter specified, a notice stating (x) the date on which a record is to be taken for the purpose of such dividend, distribution, redemption, rights or warrants, or if a record is not to be taken, the date as of which the holders of the Common Stock of record to be entitled to such dividend, distributions, redemption, rights or warrants are to be determined or (y) the date on which such reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, transfer or share exchange is expected to become effective or close, and the date as of which it is expected that holders of the Common Stock of record shall be entitled to exchange their shares of the Common Stock for securities, cash or other property deliverable upon such reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, transfer or share exchange, provided, that the failure to mail such notice or any defect therein or in the mailing thereof shall not affect the validity of the corporate action required to be specified in such notice. Holders are entitled to convert Debentures during the 20-day period commencing the date of such notice to the effective date of the event triggering such notice.

                  (x) In case of any (1) merger or consolidation of the Company with or into another Person, or (2) sale by the Company of more than one-half of the assets of the Company (on an as valued basis) in one or a series of related transactions, a Holder shall have the right to (A) if permitted under Section 3(b) hereof, exercise its rights of prepayment under Section 3(b) with respect to such event, or (B) convert its aggregate principal amount of Debentures then outstanding into the shares of stock and other securities, cash and property receivable upon or deemed to be held by holders of Common Stock following such merger, consolidation or sale, and such Holder shall be entitled upon such event or series of related events to receive such amount of securities, cash and property as the shares of Common Stock into which such aggregate principal amount of Debentures could have been converted immediately prior to such merger, consolidation or sales would have been entitled, or (C) in the event that the Holder shall have elected under clause (A) above and the Company shall not have failed to pay the amounts due under Section 3(b) by the second Business Day prior to the closing of such Change of Control Transaction, or shall have indicated its intention to do so, then in the case of a merger or consolidation at the closing thereof, (x) require the surviving entity to issue shares of convertible preferred stock or convertible debentures with such aggregate stated value or in such face amount, as the case may be, equal to the aggregate principal amount of Debentures then held by such Holder, plus all accrued and unpaid interest and other amounts
owing thereon, which newly issued shares of preferred stock or debentures shall have terms identical (including with respect to conversion) to the terms of this Debenture (except, in the case of preferred stock, as may be required to reflect the differences between equity and debt) and shall be entitled to all of the rights and privileges of a Holder of Debentures set forth herein and the agreements pursuant to which the Debentures were issued (including, without limitation, as such rights relate to the acquisition, transferability, registration and listing of such shares of stock other securities issuable upon conversion thereof), and (y) simultaneously with the issuance of such convertible preferred stock or convertible debentures, shall have the right to convert such instrument only into shares of stock and other securities, cash and property receivable upon or deemed to be held by holders of Common Stock following such merger or consolidation. In the case of clause (C), the conversion price applicable for the newly issued shares of convertible preferred stock or convertible debentures shall be based upon the amount of securities, cash and property that each share of Common Stock would receive in such transaction and the Conversion Price in effect immediately prior to the effectiveness or closing date for such transaction. The terms of any such merger, sale or consolidation shall include such terms so as to continue to give the Holders the right to receive the securities, cash and property set forth in this Section upon any conversion or redemption following such event. This provision shall similarly apply to successive such events.

                  (d) The Company covenants that it will at all times reserve and keep available out of its authorized and unissued shares of Common Stock solely for the purpose of issuance upon conversion of the Debentures and payment of interest on the Debentures, each as herein provided, free from preemptive rights or any other actual contingent purchase rights of persons other than the Holders, not less than such number of shares of the Common Stock as shall (subject to any additional requirements of the Company as to reservation of such shares set forth in the Purchase Agreement) be issuable (taking into account the adjustments and restrictions of Section 4(b)) upon the conversion of the outstanding principal amount of the Debentures and payment of interest hereunder. The Company covenants that all shares of Common Stock that shall be so issuable shall, upon issue, be duly and validly authorized, issued and fully paid, nonassessable and, if the Underlying Shares Registration Statement has been declared effective under the Securities Act, registered for public sale in accordance with such Underlying Shares Registration Statement.

                  (e) Upon a conversion hereunder the Company shall not be required to issue stock certificates representing fractions of shares of the Common Stock, but may if otherwise permitted, make a cash payment in respect of any final fraction of a share based on the Per Share Market Value at such time. If the Company elects not, or is unable, to make such a cash payment, the Holder shall be entitled to receive, in lieu of the final fraction of a share, one whole share of Common Stock.

                  (f) The issuance of certificates for shares of the Common Stock on conversion of the Debentures shall be made without charge to the Holders thereof for any documentary stamp or similar taxes that may be payable in respect of the issue or delivery of such certificate, provided that the Company shall not be required to pay any tax that may be payable in respect of any transfer involved in the issuance and delivery of any such certificate upon conversion in a
name other than that of the Holder of such Debentures so converted and the Company shall not be required to issue or deliver such certificates unless or until the person or persons requesting the issuance thereof shall have paid to the Company the amount of such tax or shall have established to the satisfaction of the Company that such tax has been paid.

                  (g) Any and all notices or other communications or deliveries to be provided by the Holders hereunder, shall be in writing and delivered personally, by facsimile, sent by a nationally recognized overnight courier service or sent by certified or registered mail, postage prepaid, addressed to the Company, at 1860 Michael Faraday Drive, Suite 200, Reston, Virginia 20190, Facsimile No.: (703) 375-3160, attention General Counsel, or such other address or facsimile number as the Company may specify for such purposes by notice to the Holders delivered in accordance with this Section, with a copy to (other than for Conversion Notices) to Hogan & Hartson L.L.P. (facsimile number (202) 637-5910), attention J. Hovey Kemp, Esq.. Any and all notices or other communications or deliveries to be provided by the Company hereunder shall be in writing and delivered personally, by facsimile, sent by a nationally recognized overnight courier service or sent by certified or registered mail, postage prepaid, addressed to each Holder at the facsimile telephone number or address of such Holder appearing on the books of the Company, or if no such facsimile telephone number or address appears, at the principal place of business of the Holder. Any notice or other communication or deliveries hereunder shall be deemed given and effective on the earliest of (i) the date of transmission, if such notice or communication is delivered via facsimile at the facsimile telephone number specified in this Section prior to 6:30 p.m. (New York City
time), (ii) the date after the date of transmission, if such notice or communication is delivered via facsimile at the facsimile telephone number specified in this Section later than 6:30 p.m. (New York City time) on any date and earlier than 11:59 p.m. (New York City time) on such date, (iii) four days after deposit in the United States mail, (iv) the Business Day following the date of mailing, if sent by nationally recognized overnight courier service, or
(v) upon actual receipt by the party to whom such notice is required to be
given.

         Section 5. Except as expressly provided herein, no provision of this Debenture shall alter or impair the obligation of the Company, which is absolute and unconditional, to pay the principal of, interest and liquidated damages (if
any) on, this Debenture at the time, place, and rate, and in the coin or currency, herein prescribed. This Debenture is a direct obligation of the Company. This Debenture ranks pari passu with all other Debentures now or hereafter issued under the terms set forth herein. As long as there are Debentures outstanding, the Company shall not and shall cause it subsidiaries not to, without the consent of the Holders, (i) amend its certificate of incorporation, bylaws or other charter documents so as to adversely affect any rights of the Holders (creation of a class of preferred stock that does not otherwise alter the relative rights, preferences or terms of this Debenture or otherwise breach other provisions of the Transaction Documents will not violate this clause); or (ii) enter into any agreement with respect to the foregoing. The Company may not prepay principal amount under the Debentures without the consent of the Holders.

         Section 6. Definitions. For the purposes hereof, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

                  "Business Day" means any day except Saturday, Sunday and any day which shall be a federal legal holiday in the United States or a day on which banking institutions in the State of New York or the Commonwealth of Virginia are authorized or required by law or other government action to close.

                  "Change of Control Transaction" means the occurrence of any of
(i) an acquisition after the date hereof by an individual or legal entity or "group" (as described in Rule 13d-5(b)(1) promulgated under the Exchange Act) of effective control (whether through legal or beneficial ownership of capital stock of the Company, by contract or otherwise) of in excess of 50% of the voting securities of the Company, (ii) a replacement at one time or over time of more than one-half of the members of the Company's board of directors which is not approved by a majority of those individuals who are members of the board of directors on the date hereof (or by those individuals who are serving as members of the board of directors on any date whose nomination to the board of directors was approved by a majority of the members of the board of directors who are members on the date hereof), (iii) the merger of the Company with or into another entity that is not wholly-owned by the Company, consolidation or sale of 50% or more of the assets of the Company in one or a series of related transactions, or (iv) the execution by the Company of an agreement to which the Company is a party or by which it is bound, providing for any of the events set forth above in (i), (ii) or (iii).

                  "Commission" means the Securities and Exchange Commission.

                  "Common Stock" means the common stock, par value $.001 per share, of the Company and stock of any other class into which such shares may hereafter have been reclassified or changed.

                  "Exchange Act" means the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.

                  "Fixed Conversion Price" (A) initially equals $9.00; (B) from the Effective Date through the 30th day thereafter the Fixed Conversion Price shall equal the lesser of (1) $12.00 (subject to equitable adjustments for stock splits and reverse stock splits occurring after the Original Issue Date) and (2) 125% of the average Per Share Market Values for the five Trading Days immediately preceding the Effective Date; and (C) if on the 30th day following the Effective Date, the closing sales price of the Common Stock as reported by Bloomberg L.P. (or the successor to its function of reporting share prices) is less than the then effective Fixed Conversion Price, the Fixed Conversion Price shall thereafter equal the lower of (x) the Fixed Conversion Price in effect prior to such time and (y) 110% of the average Per Share Market Values for the five Trading Days immediately preceding such 30th day.

                  "Interest Effectiveness Date" means the earlier to occur of
(x) the Effectiveness Date and (y) the date that an Underlying Shares Registration Statement is declared effective by the Commission.

                  "Mandatory Prepayment Amount" shall equal the sum of (i) the greater of (A)

120% of the principal amount of Debentures to be prepaid, plus all accrued and unpaid interest thereon, and (B) the principal amount of Debentures to be prepaid, plus all accrued and unpaid interest thereon, divided by the Conversion Price on (x) the date the Mandatory Prepayment Amount is demanded or otherwise due or (y) the date the Mandatory Prepayment Amount is paid in full, whichever is less, multiplied by the closing sales price of the Common Stock as reported by Bloomberg L.P. (or the successor to its function of reporting share prices) on (x) the date the Mandatory Prepayment Amount is demanded or otherwise becomes due or (y) the date the Mandatory Prepayment Amount is paid in full, whichever is greater, and (ii) all other amounts, costs, expenses and liquidated damages due in respect of such principal amount. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if the event giving rise to the obligation to pay any Mandatory Prepayment Amount shall be a merger or business combination or sale that would constitute a Change of Control Transaction, then (x) if the consideration to be received by the Holder were it to participate in such transaction would result in a premium of 20% or more above the outstanding Debenture principal amount and interest hereunder, clause (A) in this definition shall be deleted for such purposes and (y) if the consideration to be received by the Holder were it to participate in such transaction would result in a premium of 10% to 19.99% above the outstanding Debenture principal amount and interest hereunder, clause (A) in this definition shall equal 110%.

                  "Original Issue Date" shall mean the date of the first issuance of the Debentures regardless of the number of transfers of any Debenture and regardless of the number of instruments which may be issued to evidence such Debenture.

                  "Per Share Market Value" means on any particular date (a) the closing bid price per share of Common Stock on such date on the Subsequent Market on which the shares of Common Stock are then listed or quoted, or if there is no such price on such date, then the closing bid price on the Subsequent Market on the date nearest preceding such date, or (b) if the shares of Common Stock are not then listed or quoted on a Subsequent Market, the closing bid price for a share of Common Stock in the NASDAQ, as reported by the National Quotation Bureau Incorporated or similar organization or agency succeeding to its functions of reporting prices) at the close of business on such date, or (c) if the shares of Common Stock are not then reported by the National Quotation Bureau Incorporated (or similar organization or agency succeeding to its functions of reporting prices), then the average of the "Pink Sheet" quotes for the relevant conversion period, as determined in good faith by the Holder, or (d) if the shares of Common Stock are not then publicly traded the fair market value of a share of Common Stock as determined by an Appraiser selected in good faith by the Holders of a majority in interest of the principal amount of Debentures then outstanding.

                  "Person" means a corporation, an association, a partnership, organization, a business, an individual, a government or political subdivision thereof or a governmental agency.

                  "Purchase Agreement" means the Convertible Debenture Purchase Agreement, dated April 26, 2000, to which the Company and the original Holder are parties, as amended, modified or supplemented from time to time in accordance with its terms.

                  "Registration Rights Agreement" means the Registration Rights Agreement, dated April 26, 2000, to which the Company and the original Holder are parties, as amended, modified or supplemented from time to time in accordance with its terms.

                  "Securities Act" means the Securities Act of 1933, as amended.

                  "Trading Day" means (a) a day on which the shares of Common Stock are traded on a Subsequent Market on which the shares of Common Stock are then listed or quoted, or (b) if the shares of Common Stock are not listed on a Subsequent Market, a day on which the shares of Common Stock are traded in the over-the-counter market, as reported by the NASDAQ, or (c) if the shares of Common Stock are not quoted on the NASDAQ, a day on which the shares of Common Stock are quoted in the over-the-counter market as reported by the National Quotation Bureau Incorporated (or any similar organization or agency succeeding its functions of reporting prices); provided, that in the event that the shares of Common Stock are not listed or quoted as set forth in (a), (b) and (c) hereof, then Trading Day shall mean any day except a Business Day.

                  "Transaction Documents" shall have the meaning set forth in the Purchase Agreement.

                  "Underlying Shares" means the shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of Debentures or as payment of interest in accordance with the terms hereof.

                  "Underlying Shares Registration Statement" means a registration statement meeting the requirements set forth in the Registration Rights Agreement, covering among other things the resale of the Underlying Shares and naming the Holder as a "selling stockholder" thereunder.

                  "Variable Conversion Price" equals the lowest average price for all periods derived by calculating the average of the Per Share Market Values during the five Trading Days immediately prior to (and not including) each 30 day period following the Original Issue Date. Accordingly, if the average price for one 30 day period is lower than the average price calculated for a subsequent 30 day period, then the price derived from the calculation of the first (and lower derived period) shall prevail. The 30 day periods for this purpose shall be consecutive and not rolling. If the closing sales price of the Common Stock, as reported by Bloomberg L.P. (or the successor to its function of reporting share prices) for any twenty-five consecutive Trading Day period (measured on a rolling basis) following the Effective Date (provided an Underlying Shares Registration Statement shall be effective at all times during such period and the prospectus thereunder available for use by the Holder to resell Underlying Shares) exceeds (x) for the first 100 Trading Days following the Original Issue Date, $12.15 (subject to equitable adjustment in the event of stock splits and similar events), and (y) thereafter $10.00 (subject to equitable adjustment in the event of stock splits and similar events), there will be no further adjustments to the Variable Conversion Price following such period.

         Section 7. This Debenture shall not entitle the Holder to any of the rights of a stockholder of the Company, including without limitation, the right to vote, to receive dividends
and other distributions, or to receive any notice of, or to attend, meetings of stockholders or any other proceedings of the Company, unless and to the extent converted into shares of Common Stock in accordance with the terms hereof.

         Section 8. If this Debenture shall be mutilated, lost, stolen or destroyed, the Company shall execute and deliver, in exchange and substitution for and upon cancellation of a mutilated Debenture, or in lieu of or in substitution for a lost, stolen or destroyed debenture, a new Debenture for the principal amount of this Debenture so mutilated, lost, stolen or destroyed but only upon receipt of evidence of such loss, theft or destruction of such Debenture, and of the ownership hereof, and indemnity, if requested, all reasonably satisfactory to the Company.

         Section 9. No current indebtedness of the Company is, and no future indebtedness of the Company will be, senior to this Debenture in right of payment, whether with respect to interest, damages or upon liquidation or dissolution or otherwise other than Senior Indebtedness (as defined below), indebtedness secured by purchase money security interests (which will be senior as to the underlying asset covered thereby) and capital lease obligations (which will be senior as to the property covered thereby).

                           (a) Subordination to Senior Indebtedness. The
indebtedness evidenced by this Debenture, and the payment of the principal hereof, and any interest hereon, is wholly subordinated, junior and subject in right of payment, to the extent and in the manner hereinafter provided, to the prior payment of all Senior Indebtedness of the Company now outstanding or hereinafter incurred. "Senior Indebtedness" means the principal of, and premium, if any, and interest on (i) all indebtedness of the Company for monies borrowed from banks, trust companies, insurance companies and other financial institutions whose primary business is lending money, including commercial paper and accounts receivable sold or assigned by the Company to such institutions,
(ii) principal of, and premium, if any, and interest on any indebtedness or obligations of a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company of the kinds described in (i) above assumed or guaranteed in any manner by the Company.

                           (b) No Payment if Default in Senior Indebtedness. No
payment on account of principal of or interest on the Debenture shall be made, and no Debenture shall be redeemed or purchased by the Company, if at the time of such payment or purchase or immediately after giving effect thereto, (i) there shall exist a payment default on any Senior Indebtedness or (ii) there shall have occurred an event of default (other than a default in the payment of amounts due thereon) with respect to any Senior Indebtedness, as defined in the instrument under which the same is outstanding, permitting the holders thereof to accelerate the maturity thereof, and such event of default shall not have been cured or waived or shall not have ceased to exist (collectively, a "Blockage Event"). In the event there should exist a "Blockage Event" at a time when there shall be an obligation to prepay Debentures, then the holder of the Senior Indebtedness to which such Blockage Event exists shall have 20 Business Days to declare in default and accelerate all amounts owed under such Senior Indebtedness. If after such 20 Business Day period such declaration and acceleration shall not have taken place, then the Company shall be obligated to pay all prepayment amounts due hereunder, without regard to the provisions of this Section.

         Section 10. This Debenture shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York, without giving effect to conflicts of laws thereof. The Company and the Holder hereby irrevocably submits to the exclusive jurisdiction of the state and federal courts sitting in the City of New York, Borough of Manhattan, for the adjudication of any dispute hereunder or in connection herewith or with any transaction contemplated hereby or discussed herein, and hereby irrevocably waives, and agrees not to assert in any suit, action or proceeding, any claim that it is not personally subject to the jurisdiction of any such court, or that such suit, action or proceeding is improper. Each of the Company and the Holder hereby irrevocably waives personal service of process and consents to process being served in any such suit, action or proceeding by receiving a copy thereof sent to the Company at the address in effect for notices to it under this instrument and agrees that such service shall constitute good and sufficient service of process and notice thereof. Nothing contained herein shall be deemed to limit in any way any right to serve process in any manner permitted by law.

         Section 11. Any waiver by the Company or the Holder of a breach of any provision of this Debenture shall not operate as or be construed to be a waiver of any other breach of such provision or of any breach of any other provision of this Debenture. The failure of the Company or the Holder to insist upon strict adherence to any term of this Debenture on one or more occasions shall not be considered a waiver or deprive that party of the right thereafter to insist upon strict adherence to that term or any other term of this Debenture. Any waiver must be in writing.

         Section 12. If any provision of this Debenture is invalid, illegal or unenforceable, the balance of this Debenture shall remain in effect, and if any provision is inapplicable to any person or circumstance, it shall nevertheless remain applicable to all other persons and circumstances. If it shall be found that any interest or other amount deemed interest due hereunder shall violate applicable laws governing usury, the applicable rate of interest due hereunder shall automatically be lowered to equal the maximum permitted rate of interest.

         Section 13. Whenever any payment or other obligation hereunder shall be due on a day other than a Business Day, such payment shall be made on the next succeeding Business Day.



                   [REMAINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK
                             SIGNATURE PAGE FOLLOWS]

                  IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Company has caused this Convertible Debenture to be duly executed by a duly authorized officer as of the date first above indicated.


                                       ONEMAIN.COM, INC.



                                       By:
                                          ------------------------------
                                            Name:
                                            Title:

Attest:



By:
   ------------------------------
     Name:
     Title:

                                    EXHIBIT A

                            HOLDER CONVERSION NOTICE


(To be Executed by the Registered Holder
in order to Convert the Debenture)

The undersigned hereby elects to convert the attached Debenture into shares of the Common Stock (the "Common Stock") of OneMain.com, Inc. (the "Company") according to the conditions hereof, as of the date written below. If shares are to be issued in the name of a person other than undersigned, the undersigned will pay all transfer taxes payable with respect thereto and is delivering herewith such certificates and opinions as reasonably requested by the Company in accordance therewith. No fee will be charged to the holder for any conversion, except for such transfer taxes, if any.

                                            Conversion calculations:
                                 Date to Effect Conversion


                                 Principal Amount of Debentures to be Converted


                                 Number of shares of Common Stock to be Issued


                                 Applicable Conversion Price


                                 Signature


                                 Name


                                 Address

                                    EXHIBIT B

                            COMPANY CONVERSION NOTICE


(To be Executed by the Company
to Require Conversion of Debentures)

The undersigned authorized officer of the OneMain.com, Inc. (the "Company") hereby requires the conversion of the principal amount of the Company's Debentures held by the registered holder addressee hereof of the Company's Common Stock (the "Common Stock") pursuant to the conditions of the Dentures as of the date written below. No fee will be charged to the holder for any conversion, except for such transfer taxes, if any.

                                            Conversion calculations:
                                 Date to Effect Conversion


                                 Principal Amount of Debentures to be Converted


                                 Number of shares of Common Stock to be Issued


                                 Applicable Conversion Price


                                 Signature


                                 Name and Office