                                                                    Exhibit 99.2


                          SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT

                                  BY AND AMONG

                       GENTLE DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION,
                         GENTLE DENTAL MANAGEMENT, INC.
                                       AND
                           DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE, INC.,

                                   AS ISSUERS,

                INTERDENT, INC. AND CERTAIN OF ITS SUBSIDIARIES,

                                 AS GUARANTORS,

                                       AND

                   LEVINE LEICHTMAN CAPITAL PARTNERS II, L.P.,

                                  AS PURCHASER

                ------------------------------------------------

                          $25,500,000 Principal Amount
                        Senior Subordinated Note Due 2005

                     Warrant to Purchase 2,125,000 Shares of
                         Common Stock of Interdent, Inc.

               2,750,000 Shares of Common Stock of Interdent, Inc.

                ------------------------------------------------


                            Dated as of June 15, 2000


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                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

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<CAPTION>

                                                                                                                PAGE

1.       DEFINITIONS; ACCOUNTING TERMS............................................................................2
         1.1      Definitions.....................................................................................2
         1.2      Accounting Terms and Computations..............................................................26
         1.3      Headings; Construction and Interpretation......................................................26
         1.4      Determinations.................................................................................26
         1.5      Knowledge of the Company Parties...............................................................26

2.       PURCHASE AND SALE OF THE SECURITIES.....................................................................26
         2.1      Authorization..................................................................................26
         2.2      Purchase of the Securities; Issue Price........................................................27
         2.3      Closing........................................................................................27
         2.4      Use of Proceeds................................................................................27

3.       REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES..........................................................................27
         3.1      Organization and Qualification.................................................................28
         3.2      Corporate or Other Power.......................................................................28
         3.3      Authorization; Binding Obligations.............................................................28
         3.4      Subsidiaries...................................................................................28
         3.5      Conflict with Other Instruments; Existing Defaults; Ranking....................................29
         3.6      Governmental and Other Third Party Consents....................................................30
         3.7      Capitalization.................................................................................31
         3.8      Validity and Issuance of Warrant Shares........................................................33
         3.9      Company SEC Documents..........................................................................33
         3.10     Financial Statements...........................................................................33
         3.11     Existing Indebtedness; Existing Liens; Investments; Etc........................................35
         3.12     Absence of Certain Changes.....................................................................36
         3.13     Material Contracts.............................................................................38
         3.14     Accounts Receivable............................................................................40
         3.15     Labor Relations................................................................................41
         3.16     Employee Benefit Plans; ERISA..................................................................41
         3.17     Taxes..........................................................................................45
         3.18     Litigation.....................................................................................45
         3.19     Transactions with Affiliates...................................................................46
         3.20     Investment Company Act.........................................................................47
         3.21     Governmental Regulation........................................................................47
         3.22     Compliance with Laws; Operating Licenses.......................................................48
         3.23     Title to Property..............................................................................48
         3.24     Real Property..................................................................................48
         3.25     Environmental Matters..........................................................................49
         3.26     Intellectual Property..........................................................................50
         3.27     Nature of Business.............................................................................51
         3.28     Powers of Attorney.............................................................................52

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<TABLE>

         3.29     Listing of Common Stock........................................................................52
         3.30     Insurance......................................................................................52
         3.31     Significant Affiliated Dental Practices........................................................52
         3.32     Affiliated Dental Practices....................................................................52
         3.33     Business Relationships.........................................................................53
         3.34     Reserved.......................................................................................53
         3.35     Employment Agreements..........................................................................53
         3.36     Solvency.......................................................................................53
         3.37     Use of Proceeds; Margin Stock..................................................................54
         3.38     Depository and Other Accounts..................................................................54
         3.39     Year 2000 Compliance...........................................................................54
         3.40     Books and Records..............................................................................54
         3.41     Burdensome Obligations; Future Expenditures....................................................55
         3.42     Brokers; Certain Expenses......................................................................55
         3.43     Disclosure.....................................................................................55

4.       REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE PURCHASER.........................................................55
         4.1      Organization...................................................................................55
         4.2      Authorization..................................................................................56
         4.3      Due Execution and Delivery; Binding Obligations................................................56
         4.4      No Violation...................................................................................56
         4.5      Investment Intent..............................................................................56
         4.6      Accredited Investor Status.....................................................................56
         4.7      Purchaser Consents.............................................................................57
         4.8      Brokers........................................................................................57

5.       CONDUCT PRIOR TO CLOSING................................................................................57
         5.1      Conduct of Business Prior to Closing...........................................................57
         5.2      Access to Information and Documents............................................................59
         5.3      Non-Solicitation...............................................................................59
         5.4      Covenant to Close..............................................................................59

6.       CONDITIONS TO THE OBLIGATIONS OF THE PURCHASER..........................................................60
         6.1      Closing Date...................................................................................60
         6.2      Representations and Warranties; No Default.....................................................60
         6.3      Payment of Fees and Purchaser Expenses.........................................................60
         6.4      Purchase Permitted By Applicable Laws..........................................................60
         6.5      No Material Adverse Change.....................................................................60
         6.6      No Injunction, Order or Suit; California Permit................................................61
         6.7      Certain Principal Documents....................................................................61
         6.8      Consent of Senior Agents.  ....................................................................61
         6.9      Subordination Relationships....................................................................62
         6.10     Governmental Approvals.........................................................................62
         6.11     Opinion Letters of Counsel.....................................................................62
         6.12     Delivery of Corporate Documents................................................................62
         6.13     Solvency Certificate...........................................................................63



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<TABLE>

         6.14     Compliance Certificate.........................................................................63
         6.15     Insurance......................................................................................63
         6.16     Delivery of Financial Projections..............................................................63
         6.17     Third-Party Consents...........................................................................63
         6.18     Capital Structure..............................................................................64
         6.19     Proceedings Satisfactory.......................................................................64

7.       CONDITIONS TO THE OBLIGATIONS OF THE ISSUERS AND PARENT.................................................64
         7.1      Representations and Warranties.................................................................64
         7.2      Purchase Permitted By Applicable Laws..........................................................64
         7.3      No Injunction or Order.........................................................................64
         7.4      Payment for Securities.........................................................................65

8.       TAXES; INDEMNIFICATION; FEES AND EXPENSES...............................................................65
         8.1      Taxes..........................................................................................65
         8.2      Indemnity......................................................................................65
         8.3      Indemnification Procedures.....................................................................67
         8.4      Contribution...................................................................................67
         8.5      Reimbursement of Deal-Related Costs and Expenses...............................................68
         8.6      Costs and Expenses.............................................................................68

9.       AFFIRMATIVE COVENANTS...................................................................................69
         9.1      Payment of Note and Other Obligations..........................................................69
         9.2      Performance of Investment Documents............................................................69
         9.3      Information Reporting Requirements.............................................................69
         9.4      Company SEC Documents..........................................................................74
         9.5      Compliance with Laws; Consents.................................................................74
         9.6      Legal Existence................................................................................75
         9.7      Books and Records; Inspections.................................................................75
         9.8      Maintenance of Properties......................................................................75
         9.9      Insurance......................................................................................76
         9.10     Taxes..........................................................................................76
         9.11     ERISA Matters..................................................................................77
         9.12     Communication with Accountants.................................................................77
         9.13     Compliance with Material Contracts.............................................................77
         9.14     Environmental Matters..........................................................................78
         9.15     Additional Company Parties.....................................................................79
         9.16     Nasdaq Listing.................................................................................79
         9.17     Subordination of Acquisition Notes; New Acquisition Notes......................................79
         9.18     Enforcement of Rights..........................................................................80
         9.19     Security for Obligations.......................................................................80
         9.20     Future Information.............................................................................81
         9.21     Further Assurances.............................................................................81

10.      NEGATIVE AND FINANCIAL COVENANTS........................................................................81
         10.1     Limitations on Indebtedness....................................................................82

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<TABLE>

         10.2     Limitations on Liens...........................................................................82
         10.3     Limitations on Investments.....................................................................83
         10.4     Sale and Lease-Back Transactions...............................................................83
         10.5     Limitations on Payments........................................................................84
         10.6     Limitations on Payment Restrictions Affecting Subsidiaries.....................................84
         10.7     Limitations on Transactions With Affiliates....................................................85
         10.8     Change in Business.............................................................................85
         10.9     Sales of Receivables...........................................................................85
         10.10    Fundamental Changes............................................................................85
         10.11    Agreements Affecting Capital Stock and Indebtedness; Amendments to Material Contracts..........86
         10.12    Conditional Sales..............................................................................87
         10.13    Margin Stock...................................................................................87
         10.14    Accounting Changes.............................................................................87
         10.15    Negative Pledge................................................................................87
         10.16    Financial Covenants............................................................................87

11.      SUBSIDIARY GUARANTY.....................................................................................91
         11.1     Unconditional Guaranty.........................................................................91
         11.2     Continuing and Irrevocable Guaranty............................................................92
         11.3     Nature of Guaranty.............................................................................92
         11.4     Authorization..................................................................................93
         11.5     Certain Waivers................................................................................94
         11.6     Subrogation; Certain Agreements................................................................95
         11.7     Bankruptcy No Discharge........................................................................97
         11.8     Subordination..................................................................................98
         11.9     Maximum Liability of Guarantors................................................................98
         11.10    Financial Benefit..............................................................................99
         11.11    Review of Documents; Understanding with Respect to Waivers.....................................99
         11.12    Guarantor Acknowledgment.......................................................................99

12.      DEFAULTS AND REMEDIES...................................................................................99
         12.1     Events of Default..............................................................................99
         12.2     Acceleration..................................................................................103
         12.3     Other Remedies................................................................................103
         12.4     Appointment of Receiver.......................................................................104
         12.5     Waiver of Past Defaults.......................................................................104

13.      TERMINATION............................................................................................104
         13.1     Termination...................................................................................104
         13.2     Effect of Termination.........................................................................105
         13.3     Waiver........................................................................................105
         13.4     Alternative Transaction Fee...................................................................105

14.      MISCELLANEOUS..........................................................................................106
         14.1     Survival of Representations and Warranties; Purchaser Investigation...........................106

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<TABLE>

         14.2     Consent to Amendments.........................................................................106
         14.3     Entire Agreement..............................................................................106
         14.4     Severability..................................................................................106
         14.5     Successors and Assigns; Assignments...........................................................107
         14.6     Notices.......................................................................................107
         14.7     Counterparts..................................................................................109
         14.8     Governing Law.................................................................................109
         14.9     Consent to Jurisdiction and Venue.............................................................109
         14.10    Limitation of Liability.......................................................................110
         14.11    Publicity.....................................................................................110
         14.12    Confidentiality...............................................................................110
         14.13    Waiver of Trial by Jury.......................................................................111


                                    EXHIBITS

         Exhibit A      --               Form of Note
         Exhibit B      --               Form of Warrant
         Exhibit C      --               Form of Compliance Certificate
         Exhibit D-1, D-2, D-3 --        Forms of Management Agreements
         Exhibit E      --               Form of Shares Acquisition Agreement

                              DISCLOSURE SCHEDULES

         Schedule 1.1A        --     Management Agreements
         Schedule 1.1B        --     Other Acquisition Notes
         Schedule 1.1C        --     Subordinated Acquisition Notes
         Schedule 3.4         --     Subsidiaries
         Schedule 3.5(a)      --     Conflicts
         Schedule 3.5(b)      --     Defaults of Company Parties
         Schedule 3.5(c)      --     Contractual Restrictions
         Schedule 3.5(d)      --     Senior Indebtedness
         Schedule 3.6         --     Consents
         Schedule 3.7(a)      --     Capitalization
         Schedule 3.7(b)      --     Description of Authorized Capital Stock of
                                     Parent
         Schedule 3.7(c)      --     Description of Authorized Capital Stock of
                                     each Subsidiary
         Schedule 3.9         --     Company SEC Documents
         Schedule 3.10(c)     --     Pro Forma Closing Balance Sheet
         Schedule 3.11(a)(i)  --     Existing Indebtedness
         Schedule 3.11(a)(ii) --     Existing Liens
         Schedule 3.11(a)(iii)--     Investments
         Schedule 3.11(a)(iv) --     UCC Financing Statements
         Schedule 3.11(a)(v)  --     Trade Payables
         Schedule 3.12(a)     --     Changes
         Schedule 3.13(a)     --     Material Contracts
         Schedule 3.15        --     Labor Relations
         Schedule 3.16        --     Employee Benefits Plan
         Schedule 3.18        --     Litigation
         Schedule 3.19        --     Transactions with Affiliates
         Schedule 3.22        --     Operating Licenses
         Schedule 3.24        --     Real Property
         Schedule 3.25        --     Environmental Matters
         Schedule 3.26        --     Patents, Trademark, Trade Name
         Schedule 3.30        --     Insurance
         Schedule 3.31        --     Significant Affiliated Dental Practices
         Schedule 3.32        --     Affiliated Dental Practices
         Schedule 3.35        --     Employment Agreements
         Schedule 3.37        --     Use of Proceeds
         Schedule 3.38        --     Depositary and Other Accounts
         Schedule 3.42        --     Company Party Brokers

         Schedule 10.1        --     Permitted Indebtedness
         Schedule 10.2        --     Permitted Liens
         Schedule 10.7        --     Loans to Management

                          SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT


         THIS SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT is entered into as of the 15th day
of June 2000 (this "AGREEMENT"), by and among GENTLE DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION,
a Washington corporation ("GDSC"), GENTLE DENTAL MANAGEMENT, INC., a Delaware
corporation ("GDMI"), DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE, INC., a Delaware corporation
("DCA"), INTERDENT, INC., a Delaware corporation ("PARENT"), the Subsidiaries of
the Issuers named as "SUBSIDIARY GUARANTORS" herein, and LEVINE LEICHTMAN
CAPITAL PARTNERS II, L.P., a California limited partnership (the "PURCHASER").
GDSC, GDMI and DCA may be individually referred to as an "ISSUER" and
collectively referred to as the "ISSUERS," and the Issuers, Parent and the
Subsidiary Guarantors are individually referred to as a "COMPANY PARTY" and
collectively referred to as the "COMPANY PARTIES." Capitalized terms used and
not otherwise defined herein shall have the meanings set forth in SECTION 1.1.


                                 R E C I T A L S

         A. The Issuers and their Subsidiaries are engaged as an integrated
enterprise in the business of providing dental practice management and related
services to dental professional corporations and associations within the United
States of America.

         B. In connection with the financing of the business operations of the
Issuers and their Subsidiaries, the Issuers have authorized the issuance and
sale, jointly and severally, to the Purchaser of a Senior Subordinated Note as
provided herein in the aggregate principal amount of $25,500,000, and the
Purchaser is willing to purchase the Note on the terms and subject to the
conditions set forth herein.

         C. To induce the Purchaser to purchase the Note, Parent is willing to
issue and sell to the Purchaser (i) a warrant to purchase 2,125,000 shares of
Parent Common Stock and (ii) 2,750,000 shares of Parent Common Stock. The
2,125,000 shares of Parent Common Stock issuable upon exercise of such warrant,
together with such 2,750,000 shares of Parent Common Stock, will represent,
immediately after the closing of the transactions contemplated hereby,
approximately 12.877% of the Parent Common Stock on a Fully Diluted Basis.

         D. To further induce the Purchaser to purchase the Note, and in
consideration therefor, Parent and the Subsidiary Guarantors have agreed, at the
request of the Issuers, to guaranty absolutely and unconditionally the
Guarantied Obligations. Each of Parent and the Subsidiary Guarantors has
acknowledged that it derived and expects to derive, directly or indirectly, a
substantial benefit from the purchase by the Purchaser of the Note, both in its
separate capacity and as a member of the integrated enterprise.

         E. To further induce the Purchaser to purchase the Note, Parent and
certain of its Affiliates are willing to enter into other Investment Documents,
including, without limitation, an Investor Rights Agreement under which Parent
will grant to the Purchaser (or one of its Affiliates), in connection with the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement, certain investment monitoring and
other rights with respect to the Company Parties.


                                A G R E E M E N T

         NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the mutual covenants and agreements
set forth herein, and for other good and valuable consideration, the receipt and
sufficiency of which are hereby acknowledged, the parties hereby agree as
follows:

1.       DEFINITIONS; ACCOUNTING TERMS.

         1.1 DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this Agreement, the following terms
shall have the following meanings (such meanings to be equally applicable to the
singular and the plural forms thereof):

                  "ACQUISITION NOTES" shall mean the Other Acquisition Notes
         and/or the Subordinated Acquisition Notes, as applicable.

                  "AFFILIATE" shall mean, with respect to any specified Person,
         (i) any other Person that, directly or indirectly, owns or controls, or
         has the right to acquire, whether beneficially or of record, or as a
         trustee, guardian or other fiduciary (other than a commercial bank or
         trust company), five percent (5%) or more of the Capital Stock of such
         specified Person, (ii) any other Person that, directly or indirectly,
         controls, is controlled by, is under direct or indirect common control
         with, or is included in the Immediate Family of, such specified Person
         or any Affiliate of such specified Person, or (iii) any Executive
         Officer, director, joint venturer, partner or member of such specified
         Person, or anyone in the Immediate Family of such specified Person, or
         any Person included in the Immediate Family of any of the foregoing.
         For the purposes of this definition, the term "CONTROL," when used with
         respect to any specified Person, shall mean the power (x) to direct or
         cause the direction of the management or policies of such Person,
         directly or indirectly, whether through the ownership of voting
         securities, by contract or otherwise or (y) to vote ten percent (10.0%)
         or more of the Voting Stock of such Person; and the terms "CONTROLLING"
         and "CONTROLLED" have correlative meanings. Notwithstanding anything to
         the contrary, for the purposes of this Agreement and the other
         Investment Documents, (A) neither the Purchaser nor any of its
         Affiliates, officers, directors, partners or employees shall be deemed
         to be an Affiliate of any Company Party and (B) no Affiliated Dental
         Practice shall be deemed to be an Affiliate of any Company

         Party.

                  "AFFILIATE REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT" shall mean the
         Registration Rights Agreement dated as of March 11, 1999, among Parent
         and the Holders (as such term is defined therein).

                  "AMENDED AFFILIATE REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT" shall mean
         the Affiliate Registration Rights Agreement, as amended by the First
         Amendment to Affiliate Registration Rights Agreement.

                  "AFFILIATED DENTAL PRACTICE" shall mean a dental practice,
         professional association or professional corporation which has entered
         into a Management Agreement (and a Shares Acquisition Agreement, if the
         Management Agreement is in substantially the form of EXHIBIT D-1) and
         Purchase Agreement with any Company Party or Subsidiary.

                  "AGREEMENT" shall mean this Agreement, together with the
         Exhibits and the Disclosure Schedules, in each case as amended,
         restated, supplemented or otherwise modified from time to time.

                  "ALTERNATIVE TRANSACTION" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 5.3.

                  "ALTERNATIVE TRANSACTION FEE" shall have the meaning specified
         in SECTION 13.4.

                  "APPLICABLE LAWS" shall mean all applicable provisions of all
         (i) constitutions, treaties, statutes, laws, rules, regulations and
         ordinances of any Governmental Authority and all common law duties,
         (ii) Consents of any Governmental Authority and (iii) orders,
         decisions, rulings, judgments, directives or decrees of any
         Governmental Authority.

                  "ASSET SALE" shall mean any sale, lease, transfer or other
         disposition (or series of related sales, leases, transfers or other
         dispositions) by Parent or any of its Subsidiaries, including any
         disposition by means of a merger, consolidation or similar transaction,
         of (i) any shares of Capital Stock of any Subsidiary of Parent or (ii)
         any assets of any Subsidiary of Parent other than inventory in the
         ordinary course of business.

                  "ASSIGNEE" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 14.5.

                  "ASSIGNMENT" shall mean an assignment or other transfer of any
         Note pursuant to the terms of such Note.

                  "BANKRUPTCY LAWS" shall mean Title 11 of the United States
         Code (11 U.S.C. Section 101 ET seq.), as amended from time to time, and
         any other federal or state law relating to bankruptcy, insolvency or
         reorganization or for the relief of debtors.

                  "BENEFIT PLAN" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION
         3.16.

                  "BOARD OF DIRECTORS" shall mean, with respect to any Person,
         the board of directors (or similar governing body) of such Person.

                  "BUSINESS DAY" shall mean any day that is not a Saturday, a
         Sunday or a day on which banking institutions in the City of New York,
         New York or in the City of Los Angeles, California, are authorized or
         required by law to close.

                  "CALIFORNIA DMO" means a DMO that is subject to the Knox-Keene
         Laws and includes, without limitation, Dedicated Dental and any future
         subsidiary of any Company Party or Subsidiary that is a DMO that is
         subject to the Knox-Keene Laws or a regulatory dental care service
         contractor.

                  "CALIFORNIA DMO REGULATIONS" means any law (statutory or
         common), treaty, rule or regulation applicable to any California DMO
         under federal or state law and any regulations, orders or directives
         promulgated or issued pursuant to the foregoing, including, without
         limitation, the Knox-Keene Laws which may apply to any Company Party or
         Subsidiary and any undertakings required by a California DMO Regulator.

                  "CALIFORNIA DMO REGULATOR" means any Governmental Authority
         charged with the administration, oversight or enforcement of a
         California DMO Regulation, whether primarily, secondarily, or jointly.

                  "CALIFORNIA PERMIT" shall mean a permit or permits dated June
         15, 2000, issued by the California Department of Corporations under
         Section 25113 of the California Corporate Securities Law of 1968, as
         amended, qualifying without any restrictions or conditions on the
         issuance and sale by the Issuers and Parent of the Securities and the
         Warrant Shares, respectively, to the Purchaser pursuant to the terms of
         this Agreement.

                  "CAPITAL EXPENDITURES" shall have the meaning set forth in the
         March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement.

                  "CAPITAL LEASE" shall mean any lease or other agreement for
         (or other arrangement conveying the right to use) property, whether
         real, personal or mixed, which has been or is required to be classified
         or accounted for as a capital lease on a consolidated balance sheet of
         Parent and its Subsidiaries prepared in accordance with GAAP.

                  "CAPITAL LEASE OBLIGATIONS" shall mean any and all liabilities
         or other obligations to pay rent or other amounts under any Capital
         Lease.

                  "CAPITAL STOCK" shall mean, with respect to any Person, (i) if
         such Person is a corporation, any and all shares of capital stock,
         participations in profits or other equivalents (however designated) or
         other equity interests of such Person, (ii) if such Person is a limited
         liability company, any and all membership units or other interests, or
         (iii) if such Person is a partnership or other entity, any and all
         partnership or entity units or other interests.

                  "CHANGE IN CONTROL" shall mean the occurrence of one or more
         of the following events:

                           (i) any "person" (other than the Purchaser) or
                  "group" (as such terms are used in Sections 13(d)(3) and
                  14(d)(2) of the Exchange Act or any successor provisions to
                  either of the foregoing), including any group acting for the
                  purpose of acquiring, holding, voting or disposing of
                  securities within the meaning of Rule 13d-5(b)(1) of the
                  Exchange Act, becomes the "beneficial owner" (as such term is
                  defined in Rule 13d-3 and 13d-5 of the Exchange Act (PROVIDED
                  that such Person will be deemed to have "beneficial ownership"
                  of all shares that any such Person has the right to acquire,
                  whether such right is exercisable immediately or only after
                  the passage of time)), directly or indirectly, of twenty
                  percent (20.0%) or more of the total voting power of the
                  Voting Stock of Parent; or

                           (ii) (A) the sale, transfer, assignment, lease,
                  conveyance or other disposition, directly or indirectly, of
                  all or substantially all the assets of Parent or any direct or
                  indirect Subsidiary of Parent to any other Person; (B) Parent
                  shall cease to own one hundred percent (100.0%) of the Capital
                  Stock and Equity Rights of each of GDSC and DCA; (C) GDSC
                  shall cease to own one hundred percent (100.0%) of the Capital
                  Stock and Equity Rights of each of its Subsidiaries (other
                  than Celebration Dental Services, L.C.), whether existing on
                  the date hereof or acquired thereafter; or (D) DCA shall cease
                  to own one hundred percent (100.0%) of the Capital Stock and
                  Equity Rights of each of its Subsidiaries, whether existing on
                  the date hereof or acquired thereafter; or

                           (iii) Parent or any of its Subsidiaries is acquired
                  by, or merges, consolidates or amalgamates with or into, any
                  other Person and, in any such event, any Person who is not an
                  Affiliate of Parent as of the date hereof acquires control of
                  Parent or any such Subsidiary (for purposes of this clause
                  (iii) only, the term "control" means the power (A) to direct
                  or cause the direction of the management or policies of Parent
                  or any such Subsidiary, directly or indirectly, whether
                  through the ownership of voting securities, by contract or
                  otherwise, or (B) to vote twenty percent (20.0%) or more of
                  the Voting Stock of Parent or any such Subsidiary); or

                           (iv) Michael T. Fiore shall cease to be the
                  Co-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Parent with
                  significant daily senior management responsibilities, PROVIDED
                  that Mr. Fiore is not replaced on an interim basis by the
                  Board of Directors of Parent within ninety (90) days after his
                  effective date of resignation, termination, removal or death
                  and such Board of Directors does not thereafter use its best
                  efforts to retain a permanent replacement; or

                           (v) Steven R. Matzkin, D.D.S. shall cease to be the
                  Co-Chairman, President and Chief Dental Officer of Parent with
                  significant daily senior management responsibilities, PROVIDED
                  that Mr. Matzkin is not replaced on an interim basis by the
                  Board of Directors of Parent within ninety (90) days after his
                  effective date of resignation, termination, removal or death
                  and such Board of Directors does not thereafter use its best
                  efforts to retain a permanent replacement; or

                           (vi) Norman R. Huffaker (or the then current Chief
                  Financial Officer) shall cease to be the Chief Financial
                  Officer of Parent with significant daily senior financial
                  reporting responsibilities, PROVIDED that Mr. Huffaker (or the
                  then current Chief Financial Officer) is not replaced on an
                  interim basis by the Board of Directors of Parent within sixty
                  (60) days after his effective date of resignation,
                  termination, removal or death and such Board of Directors does
                  not thereafter use its best efforts to retain a permanent
                  replacement; or

                           (vii) the Board of Directors or the shareholders of
                  Parent, any Issuer or any Subsidiary shall have approved any
                  plan of liquidation, dissolution or bankruptcy.

                  "CLOSING" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 2.3.

                  "CLOSING DATE" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION
         2.3.

                  "COBRA" shall mean the Consolidated Omnibus Budget
         Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended, as set forth in Section 4980B
         of the Code and Part 6 of Title I of ERISA.

                  "CODE" shall mean the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as
         amended, or any successor statute, and the rules and regulations
         promulgated thereunder, all as the same may from time to time be in
         effect.

                  "COLLATERAL" shall have the meaning set forth in SECTION 11.2.

                  "COMMISSION" shall mean the Securities and Exchange Commission
         or any
         successor agency.

                  "COMPANY PARTY" and "COMPANY PARTIES" shall have the meaning
         specified in the preamble.

                  "COMPANY PARTY INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY" shall have the meaning
         specified in SECTION 3.26.

                  "COMPANY SEC DOCUMENTS" shall mean all registration
         statements, prospectuses, reports, schedules, forms, proxy or other
         statements and other documents (including all exhibits, schedules and
         other information included or incorporated by reference therein) which
         were filed or required to be filed by GDSC, DCA or Parent, as the case
         may be, prior to the date hereof, and which are required to be filed by
         Parent on or after the date hereof, with the Commission under the
         Securities Act, the Exchange Act or the rules and regulations
         promulgated thereunder, and all filings, reports and other documents
         which were filed or required to be filed by GDSC, DCA or Parent, as the
         case may be, or are required to be filed by Parent, with the Nasdaq or
         any securities exchange on which its securities were or are listed.

                  "COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 9.3.

                  "CONSENT" shall mean any consent, approval, authorization,
         waiver, permit, grant, franchise, license, exemption or order of, or
         any registration, certificate, qualification, declaration or filing
         with, or any notice to, any Person, including, without limitation, any
         Governmental Authority.

                  "CONSOLIDATED" shall mean, with respect to any Person and as
         applied to any financial or accounting term, such term determined on a
         consolidated basis in accordance with GAAP for such Person and all of
         its subsidiaries.

                  "CONTINGENT OBLIGATIONS" shall mean, with respect to any
         Person, any obligation, or arrangement, direct or indirect, contingent
         or otherwise, of such Person (i) with respect to any Indebtedness,
         lease, dividend, letter of credit or other obligation ("PRIMARY
         OBLIGATIONS") of another Person, including, without limitation, any
         direct or indirect guarantee of such Indebtedness (other than any
         endorsement for collection or deposit in the ordinary course of
         business) or any other direct or indirect obligation, by agreement or
         otherwise, to purchase or repurchase any such Primary Obligation or any
         property constituting direct or indirect security therefor, or to
         provide funds for the payment or discharge of any such Primary
         Obligation (whether in the form of loans, advances, or purchases of
         property, securities or services, capital contributions, dividends or
         otherwise), letters of credit and reimbursement obligations for letters
         of credit, (ii) to provide funds to maintain the financial condition of
         any other Person, (iii) otherwise to
         indemnify or hold harmless the holders of Primary Obligations of
         another Person against loss in respect thereof or (iv) in connection
         with any synthetic lease or other off-balance sheet lease transaction.
         The amount of any Contingent Obligation under clauses (i) and (ii)
         above shall be the maximum amount guaranteed or otherwise supported by
         the Contingent Obligation.

                  "CONVERTIBLE SECURITIES" shall mean, with respect to any
         Person, any securities or other obligations issued or issuable by such
         Person or any other Person that are exercisable or exchangeable for, or
         convertible into, any Capital Stock of such Person, including, without
         limitation, with respect to GDSC, the Convertible Subordinated Notes.

                  "CONVERTIBLE SUBORDINATED NOTE DOCUMENTS" shall mean the
         Securities Purchase Agreement dated as of May 12, 1998, between GDSC
         and "purchasers" named therein, as amended by an Acknowledgment,
         Amendment and Affirmation of Subordination dated on or about March 31,
         2000, as further amended by the Acknowledgment, Amendment and
         Affirmation of Subordination referenced in SECTION 6.9(b), and the
         Convertible Subordinated Notes, subject to SECTION 10.11.

                  "CONVERTIBLE SUBORDINATED NOTES" shall mean the 7% Convertible
         Subordinated Notes due May 15, 2006, in the original aggregate amount
         of $30.0 million, issued by GDSC under or pursuant to the Convertible
         Subordinated Note Documents, including all Additional Notes (as such
         term is defined in such 7% Convertible Subordinated Notes) issued from
         time to time thereunder.

                  "CUSTOMARY PERMITTED LIENS" shall mean:

                           (i) judgment and attachment Liens in connection with
         (a) judgments that do not constitute an Event of Default so long as the
         judgment creditor has not succeeded in the foreclosure thereof and
         reserves have been established to the extent required by GAAP and (b)
         litigation and legal proceedings that are being contested in good faith
         by appropriate proceedings so long as (i) reserves have been
         established to the extent required by GAAP and (ii) such Liens do not
         encumber assets by an aggregate amount (together with the amount of any
         unstayed judgments against any Company Party or Subsidiary) in excess
         of $50,000;

                           (ii) Liens for Taxes, assessments or other
         governmental charges or levies on property of the Company Parties or
         Subsidiaries if the same shall not at the time be delinquent or
         thereafter can be paid without penalty, or are being contested in good
         faith by appropriate proceedings;

                           (iii) pledges or deposits by the Company Parties or
         Subsidiaries under worker's compensation laws, unemployment insurance
         laws or similar legislation;

                           (iv) Liens on the property of any Company Party or
         Subsidiary incurred in the ordinary course of business to secure
         performance of obligations with respect to statutory or regulatory
         requirements, performance or return-of-money bonds, surety or indemnity
         bonds or other obligations of like nature and incurred in a manner
         consistent with industry practice, in each case which are not incurred
         in connection with the borrowing of money, the obtaining of advances or
         credit or the payment of the deferred purchase price of property;

                           (v) Liens imposed by operation of law, such as
         carriers', warehousemen's and mechanics' Liens, on property of any of
         the Company Parties or Subsidiaries arising in the ordinary course of
         business and securing payment of obligations which are not more than
         sixty (60) days past due or are being contested in good faith by
         appropriate proceedings and, if required by GAAP, are appropriately
         reserved on the books of the Company Parties or Subsidiaries; and

                           (vi) utility easements, building restrictions and
         such other encumbrances or charges against real property as are of a
         nature generally existing with respect to properties of a similar
         character;

         PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that each of the Liens described in the foregoing
         clauses (i) through (vi) inclusive shall only constitute a Customary
         Permitted Lien so long as such Liens do not materially interfere with
         the conduct of the Company Parties' business, individually or taken as
         a whole, or create a Material Adverse Change.

                  "DCA" shall have the meaning set forth in the preamble.

                  "DEFAULT" shall mean any Event of Default or any event or
         condition which, with the giving of notice or the lapse of time or
         both, becomes an Event of Default.

                  "DENTAL INSURANCE BUSINESS" shall mean (a) the provision,
         administration or arrangement of (pursuant to state licensor,
         certification or other authorization, if necessary), (i) dental care
         services, related ancillary products or both, directly or through a
         DMO, a provider, a regulated service contractor or any other business
         which in the ordinary course provides, administers or arranges for such
         services, products or both, or (ii) dental and related insurance, (b)
         the provision or management of dental care services (including dental
         management claims services and management through dental information
         services), pursuant to state licensor, certification or other
         authorization, if necessary, and (c) any business activities related
         and incidental to any of the foregoing.

                  "DISCLOSURE SCHEDULES" shall have the meaning specified in the
         introductory paragraph of SECTION 3.

                  "DMO" shall mean any Person that operates as a dental
         maintenance organization or a similar organization which provides,
         manages or arranges dental care services, pursuant to state licensure,
         certification or other authorization, if necessary, in the
         jurisdictions in which any Company Party or Subsidiary conducts
         business.

                  "EBITDA" shall have the meaning set forth in the March 2000
         Senior Credit Agreement.

                  "ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS" shall mean any Release of any
         Hazardous Materials (whether or not such Release constituted at the
         time thereof a violation of any Environmental Laws) or any violation of
         any Environmental Law as a result of which any Environmental Person has
         or may become liable to any Person or by reason of which the business,
         condition or operations of such Environmental Person or any of its
         assets or properties may suffer or be subjected to any Lien or
         liability.

                  "ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS" shall mean all Applicable Laws relating
         to Hazardous Materials or the protection of human health or the
         environment, including all requirements pertaining to reporting,
         permitting, investigating or remediating Releases or threatened
         Releases of Hazardous Materials into the environment, or relating to
         the manufacture, processing, distribution, use, treatment, storage,
         disposal, transport or handling of Hazardous Materials. Without
         limiting the generality of the foregoing, the term "ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS"
         shall include the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
         and Liability Act (42 U.S.C. Section 9601 ET SEQ.) ("CERCLA"), the
         Hazardous Materials Transportation Act (49 U.S.C. Section 1801 ET
         SEQ.), the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (42 U.S.C. Section
         6901 ET SEQ.) ("RCRA"), the Federal Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. Section
         1251 ET SEQ.), the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 ET SEQ.), the
         Toxic Substances Control Act (15 U.S.C. Section 2601 ET SEQ.) and the
         Occupational Safety and Health Act (29 U.S.C. Section 651 ET SEQ.), as
         such laws may be amended from time to time, and any other present or
         future federal, state, local or foreign statute, ordinance, rule,
         regulation, order, judgment, decree, permit, license or request or
         binding determination of, or agreement with, any Governmental Authority
         relating to or imposing liability or establishing standards of conduct
         for the protection of human health or safety or the environment.

                  "ENVIRONMENTAL PERSONS" shall mean, collectively, (i) Parent,
         its Subsidiaries and any of their respective Affiliates, (ii) any other
         Person in which any of the Persons listed in clause (i) above was at
         any time, or is, a partner, joint venturer, member or other
         participant, and (iii) any predecessor or former partnership, joint
         venture, trust, association, corporation, limited liability company or
         other Person, whether in existence as of the date hereof or at any time
         prior to the date hereof, the assets, properties, liabilities or
         obligations of which have been acquired or assumed by any of the
         Persons listed in clause (i) above or to which any of the Persons
         listed in clause (i) above has
         succeeded.

                  "EQUITY RIGHTS" shall mean, with respect to any Person, any
         warrants, options or other rights to subscribe for or purchase, or
         obligations to issue, any Capital Stock of such Person, or any
         Convertible Securities of such Person, including, without limitation,
         any options or similar rights issued or issuable under any employee
         stock option plan, pension plan or other employee benefit plan of such
         Person.

                  "ERISA" shall mean the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
         of 1974, as amended, and any successor statute, including the rules and
         regulations promulgated thereunder, in each case as amended from time
         to time.

                  "ERISA AFFILIATE" shall mean, with respect to any Person, any
         Person that is, or was at any time within the last six (6) years, a
         member of a "controlled group of corporations" with, or is under
         "common control" with, or is a member of the same "affiliated service
         group" with, such Person (as defined in Sections (b), (c), (m) or (o)
         of Section 414 of the Code).

                  "EVENT OF DEFAULT" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION
         12.1.

                  "EVENT OF LOSS" shall mean, with respect to an asset of any
         Person, any of the following: (i) any loss, destruction or damage, of
         such asset; (ii) any pending or threatened institution of any
         proceedings for the condemnation or seizure of such asset or of any
         right of eminent domain; or (iii) any actual condemnation, seizure or
         taking, by exercise of the power of eminent domain or otherwise, of
         such asset, or confiscation of such asset or requisition of the use of
         such asset.

                  "EXCHANGE ACT" shall mean the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
         as amended, and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, as
         amended from time to time.

                  "EXECUTIVE OFFICER" shall mean, individually or collectively,
         Michael T. Fiore, Steven R. Matzkin, D.D.S., Norman R. Huffaker, L.
         Theodore Van Eerden, Grant M. Sadler and Randy Henry.

                  "FEDERAL RESERVE BOARD" shall mean the Board of Governors of
         the Federal Reserve System and any successor thereto.

                  "FINANCIAL STATEMENTS" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 3.10(a).

                  "FIRST AMENDMENT TO AFFILIATE REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT"
         shall have the meaning set forth in SECTION 6.7(d).

                  "FISCAL QUARTER" shall mean any of the four (4) quarters of a
         Fiscal Year.

                  "FISCAL YEAR" shall mean the fiscal year of Parent, which
         shall be the twelve (12) month period ending on December 31, or such
         other period as Parent may designate in writing and the Purchaser may
         approve in writing.

                  "FREMONT NOTE" shall mean the Amended and Restated Promissory
         Note dated May 14, 1999, made by GDMI in favor Joseph M. Checchio, Jr.,
         Alexander J. Gonzales, Frederick L. Johnston and John J. Maguire, each
         as trustee of the 1997 Dental Groups Trust under the 1997 Dental Groups
         Trust Agreement, in the original principal amount of $6,229,174. The
         Fremont Note amends and restates a subordinated promissory note dated
         as of July 24, 1997, made in favor of Fremont Dental Group in the
         original principal amount of $6,226,174 (or such lesser amount as may
         become due and payable under and in accordance with an earn-out
         agreement of even date therewith).

                  "FULLY DILUTED BASIS" shall mean, with respect to any Person
         at any time, a basis that includes all shares of Capital Stock of such
         Person issued and outstanding at such time and all additional shares of
         Capital Stock of such Person which would be issued upon the conversion
         or exercise of all Equity Rights of such Person outstanding at such
         time.

                  "GAAP" shall mean generally accepted accounting principles and
         practices set forth in the opinions and pronouncements of the
         Accounting Principles Board and the American Institute of Certified
         Public Accountants and statements and pronouncements of the Financial
         Accounting Standards Board or in such other statements by such other
         entity as may be approved by a significant segment of the accounting
         profession, all as in effect on the date hereof, applied on a basis
         consistent with prior periods.

                  "GDMI" shall have the meaning set forth in the preamble.

                  "GDSC" shall have the meaning set forth in the preamble.

                  "GOVERNMENTAL AUTHORITY" shall mean any nation or government,
         and any state or political subdivision thereof, any entity exercising
         executive, legislative, judicial, regulatory or administrative
         functions of or pertaining to government (including, without
         limitation, the Commission, any California DMO Regulator, the Board of
         Dental Examiners of California and any similar federal, state or local
         governing body regulating the practice of dentistry and the United
         States Environmental Protection Agency ("EPA")), and any court,
         tribunal or arbitrator(s) of competent jurisdiction, and any
         self-regulatory organization.

                  "GOVERNMENTAL REPORTS" shall mean any reports issued by any
         Governmental

         Authority with respect to the compliance or non-compliance of Parent or
         any of its Subsidiaries with Applicable Laws.

                  "GUARANTEE" shall mean any obligation, contingent or
         otherwise, of any Person guaranteeing or having the economic effect of
         guaranteeing any Indebtedness or obligation of any other Person in any
         manner, whether directly or indirectly, and shall in any event include
         the Guaranty and shall include, without limitation, any obligation of
         such Person, direct or indirect, to (i) purchase or pay (or advance or
         supply funds for the purchase or payment of) such Indebtedness or
         obligation or the purchase of (or to advance or supply funds for the
         purchase of) any security for the payment of such Indebtedness or
         obligation, (ii) purchase property, securities or services for the
         purpose of assuring the holder of such Indebtedness or obligation of
         the payment of such Indebtedness or obligation, or (iii) maintain
         working capital, equity capital, available cash or other financial
         requirements of the primary obligor so as to enable the primary obligor
         to pay such Indebtedness or obligation; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the
         term Guarantee shall not include endorsements for collection or
         collections for deposit, in either case in the ordinary course of
         business.

                  "GUARANTIED OBLIGATIONS" shall have the meaning specified in
         the Guaranties.

                  "GUARANTORS" shall mean, collectively, Parent, each Subsidiary
         of the Issuers existing on the Closing Date (other than the Regulated
         Subsidiaries) and any direct or indirect Subsidiary of Parent which
         becomes a guarantor of the Obligations at any time after the date
         hereof.

                  "GUARANTY" or "GUARANTIES" shall mean the Parent Guaranty
         and/or the Subsidiary Guaranty, as applicable.

                  "HAZARDOUS MATERIALS" shall mean any substance (i) the
         presence of which requires investigation or remediation under any
         Applicable Laws; (ii) that is defined or becomes defined as a
         "hazardous waste" or "hazardous substance" under any Applicable Laws
         (including, without limitation, all Environmental Laws); (iii) that is
         toxic, explosive, corrosive, inflammable, infectious, radioactive,
         carcinogenic, mutagenic, bio-hazardous or otherwise hazardous and is or
         becomes regulated by any Governmental Authority; (iv) the presence of
         which on any real property causes or threatens to cause a nuisance upon
         the real property or to adjacent properties or poses or threatens to
         pose a hazard to any real property or to the health or safety of
         Persons on or about any real property; or (v) that contains gasoline or
         other petroleum hydrocarbons, polychlorinated biphenyls or asbestos.

                  "HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CLAIM" shall have the meaning set forth
         in SECTION 9.14.

                  "HOLDER" shall mean any Person (including, without limitation,
         the Purchaser) in whose name any Note is registered in the register
         required to be maintained by the Issuers pursuant to SECTION 10 of the
         Note.

                  "IMMEDIATE FAMILY" of a Person includes such Person's spouse,
         and the parents, children, grandchildren and siblings of such Person or
         his or her spouse and their spouses and other Persons related to the
         foregoing by blood, adoption or marriage within the second degree of
         kinship, and, with respect to any officer or director of any Company
         Party, shall also include any Person who is primarily a personal friend
         rather than a business associate.

                  "INDEBTEDNESS" shall mean, with respect to any Person and
         without duplication, (i) any indebtedness, liabilities or other
         obligations, contingent or otherwise, for borrowed money; (ii) all
         obligations evidenced by bonds, notes, debentures or similar
         instruments; (iii) all obligations to pay the deferred purchase or
         acquisition price of property or services (other than trade accounts
         payable arising in the ordinary course of business that are less than
         sixty (60) days past their due dates or that are being contested in
         good faith by appropriate proceedings) and any installment payment
         non-compete agreements; (iv) all indebtedness created or arising under
         any conditional sale or other title retention agreement with respect to
         property acquired by such Person (even though the rights or remedies of
         the seller or lender under such agreement in the event of default are
         limited to repossession or sale of such property); (v) all Capital
         Lease Obligations; (vi) all obligations of others secured by a Lien to
         which any property or assets owned by such Person is subject, whether
         or not the obligations secured thereby have been assumed by such
         Person; (vii) all net obligations in respect of Rate Contracts; (viii)
         all obligations of such Person, contingent or otherwise, in respect of
         any letters of credit or bankers' acceptances; (ix) all reimbursement
         or other obligations of such Person in respect of any bank guaranties,
         shipside bonds, surety bonds and similar instruments issued for the
         account of such Person or as to which such Person is otherwise liable
         for reimbursement of drawings or payments; (x) all obligations under
         facilities for the discount or sale of receivables; (xi) the maximum
         repurchase price of any redeemable Capital Stock of such Person; (xii)
         all Contingent Obligations; and (xiii) all obligations which are
         required to be classified as long-term liabilities on the balance sheet
         of such Person under GAAP as liabilities. The Indebtedness of any
         Person shall also include all recourse Indebtedness of any partnership
         or joint venture or limited liability company in which such Person is a
         general partner or a joint venturer or a member.

                  "INDEMNIFIED ENVIRONMENTAL COSTS" shall mean all actual or
         threatened liabilities, claims, actions, causes of action, judgments,
         orders, damages (including foreseeable and unforeseeable consequential
         damages), costs, expenses, fines, penalties and losses (including sums
         paid in settlement of claims and all reasonable consultant, expert and
         legal fees and reasonable expenses of counsel) incurred in connection
         with any

         Hazardous Materials Claim, any investigation of Site conditions or any
         clean-up, Remedial Work or other remedial, removal or restoration work
         (whether of any Real Property or any other real property), or any
         resulting damages, harm or injuries to the Person or property of any
         third parties or to any natural resources.

                  "INDEMNIFIED PARTIES" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 8.2.

                  "INITIAL FINANCIAL PROJECTIONS" shall have the meaning set
         forth in SECTION 6.16.

                  "INTANGIBLE ASSETS" shall mean the book value of all
         intangible assets (as defined under GAAP) shown on the consolidated
         balance sheet of Parent and its Subsidiaries, including, without
         limitation, organization costs, securities issuance costs, goodwill
         (including any amounts, however designated on such balance sheet,
         representing the excess of the purchase price paid for assets or stock
         acquired over the value assigned thereto on the books of any Company
         Party or Subsidiary), covenants not to compete, patents, trademarks,
         copyrights, trade secrets, customer lists, know-how, licenses,
         contracts, franchises, software costs, research and development costs,
         investments in and monies from Affiliates and any other intangible
         assets.

                  "INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY" shall mean all intellectual property,
         including, without limitation, (i) inventions, whether or not
         patentable, whether or not reduced to practice, and whether or not yet
         made the subject of a pending patent application or applications, (ii)
         ideas and conceptions of potentially patentable subject matter,
         including, without limitation, any patent disclosures, whether or not
         reduced to practice and whether or not yet made the subject of a
         pending patent application or applications, (iii) national (including
         the United States) and multinational statutory invention registrations,
         patents, patent registrations and patent applications (including all
         reissues, divisions, continuations, continuations-in-part, extensions
         and reexaminations) and all rights therein provided by international
         treaties or conventions and all improvements to the inventions
         disclosed in each such registration, patent or application, (iv)
         trademarks, service marks, domain names, trade dress, logos, trade
         names and corporate names, whether or not registered, including all
         common law rights, and registrations and applications for registration
         thereof, including, without limitation, all marks registered in the
         United States Patent and Trademark Office, the trademark offices of the
         states and other territories of the United States of America, and the
         trademark offices of other countries or nations throughout the world,
         and all rights therein provided by international treaties or
         conventions, (v) copyrights (registered or otherwise) and registrations
         and applications for registration thereof, (vi) computer software,
         (vii) trade secrets and confidential, technical and business
         information (including ideas, formulas, compositions, inventions, and
         conceptions of inventions whether patentable or unpatentable and
         whether or not reduced to practice), (viii) whether or not
         confidential, technology (including know-how and show-how),
         manufacturing and production processes and techniques, research and
         development information, drawings, specifications, designs, plans,
         proposals, technical data, copyrightable works, financial, marketing
         and business data, pricing and cost information, business and marketing
         plans and customer and supplier lists and information, (ix) copies and
         tangible embodiments of all the foregoing, in whatever form or medium,
         (x) all rights to obtain and rights to apply for patents, and to
         register trademarks and copyrights, and (xi) all rights to sue or
         recover and retain damages and costs and attorneys' fees for present
         and past infringement of any of the foregoing.

                  "INVESTMENT DOCUMENTS" shall mean, collectively, this
         Agreement, the Note, the Warrant, the Amended Affiliate Registration
         Rights Agreement, the Guaranties, the Investor Rights Agreement, the
         certificates representing the June 2000 LLCP Shares, the Subordination
         Agreements and all other agreements, instruments, certificates, closing
         and other letters and other documents executed and/or delivered in
         connection herewith or therewith, in each case as amended, restated,
         supplemented or otherwise modified from time to time.

                  "INVESTMENTS" shall mean, as applied to any Person, (i) any
         direct or indirect acquisition by such Person of Capital Stock, other
         securities or other interests of, or investments in, any other Person,
         or all or any substantial part of the business or assets of any other
         Person, and (ii) any direct or indirect loan, gift, advance or capital
         contribution by such Person to any other Person.

                  "INVESTOR RIGHTS AGREEMENT" shall mean an Investor Rights
         Agreement, in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, among
         Parent, the Principal Shareholders and the Purchaser.

                  "ISSUER" and "ISSUERS" have the meaning specified in the
         preamble.

                  "JUNE 2000 LLCP SHARES" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 2.1.

                  "KNOX-KEENE LAWS" means the Knox-Keene Health Care Service
         Plan Act of 1975, as amended, under the California Health and Safety
         Act, including, without limitation, any rules or regulations
         promulgated thereunder or related thereto.

                  "LLCP PERMITTED ACQUISITION" shall mean any acquisition of
         and/or affiliation with dental practices, dental practice management
         companies or persons engaged in the Dental Insurance Business which (i)
         shall have been approved by the Senior Agents under the Senior Credit
         Agreements (to the extent that approval by the Senior Agent is
         required), (ii) after giving effect to the completion of such
         acquisition or affiliation and any financing therefor, the Pro Forma
         Interest Leverage Ratio (as such term is defined in the March 2000
         Senior Credit Agreement) on a PRO FORMA basis for the Fiscal Quarter
         ending immediately preceding the Fiscal Quarter in which the effective
         date of such
         acquisition or affiliation is proposed to occur shall not be less than
         4.75:1.00 and (iii) any promissory note or notes or other evidence of
         indebtedness issued or to be issued in connection with any such
         acquisition or affiliation shall be subordinated in right of payment to
         the prior payment in full in cash of all Indebtedness under the Note.

                  "LIEN" shall mean any lien (statutory or other), pledge,
         mortgage, deed of trust, assignment, deposit arrangement, priority,
         security interest, charge or encumbrance or other preferential
         arrangement of any kind or nature whatsoever (including, without
         limitation, the interest of a lessor under a Capital Lease having
         substantially the same economic effect), any agreement to give or
         refrain from giving any lien, pledge, mortgage, security interest,
         charge or other encumbrance of any kind, any conditional sale or other
         title retention agreement, any lease in the nature thereof and the
         filing or existence of any financing statement or other similar form of
         notice under the laws of any jurisdiction or any security agreement
         authorizing any Person to file such a financing statement, whether
         arising by contract, operation of law, or otherwise.

                  "LOSSES" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 8.2.

                  "MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS" shall mean the Management Agreements
         entered into by any Company Party or Subsidiary and a dental practice,
         professional corporation or professional association, pursuant to which
         the Company Parties or Subsidiaries provide comprehensive management
         and administrative services to such dental practice, professional
         corporation or professional association, and which shall (i) be in
         substantially the form attached as EXHIBIT D-1, D-2 or D-3, (ii) meet
         the criteria set forth on SCHEDULE 1.1A or (iii) otherwise be a form
         approved in writing by the Purchaser. (Notwithstanding the requirements
         of this definition, the Administrative Services Agreement dated as of
         January 1, 1998, by and between Serra Park Dental Services,
         Incorporated, and Douglas Maxson D.D.S., Dental Corporation, shall be
         deemed to be a Management Agreement.)

                  "MARCH 2000 SENIOR CREDIT AGREEMENT" shall have the meaning
         specified in the definition of Senior Credit Agreements.

                  "MARGIN REGULATIONS" shall mean Regulations T, U and X of the
         Federal Reserve Board, as amended from time to time.

                  "MARGIN STOCK" shall mean "margin stock" as defined in the
         Margin Regulations.

                  "MATERIAL ADVERSE EFFECT" or "MATERIAL ADVERSE CHANGE" shall
         mean any event, matter, condition or circumstance which (i) has or
         could have a material adverse effect on or material adverse change in,
         as the case may be, the business, assets, condition (financial or
         otherwise), properties (whether real, personal or otherwise),
         operations,
         profitability or prospects of Parent and each Issuer, individually, or
         Parent and the Subsidiaries taken as a whole, (ii) would materially
         impair the ability of any Company Party to perform or observe its
         obligations under this Agreement, the Note, any other Investment
         Document to which it is a party or any Senior Credit Document to which
         it is a party or (iii) affects the legality, binding affect, validity
         or enforceability of this Agreement or any other Investment Document.

                  "MATERIAL CONTRACTS" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 3.13.

                  "MONTHLY REPORTING PACKAGE" shall have the meaning specified
         in SECTION 9.3.

                  "MULTIEMPLOYER PLAN" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 3.16.

                  "NASDAQ" shall mean The Nasdaq National Market.

                  "NET AVAILABLE CASH" from any Asset Sale shall mean the sum
         of: (i) net cash payments received therefrom (including any cash
         payments received by way of deferred payment of principal but only as
         and when received, but excluding any other consideration received in
         the form of assumption by the acquiring Person of Indebtedness or other
         obligations relating to the property that is the subject of such Asset
         Sale or received in any other non-cash form); and (ii) net cash
         payments received upon the sale, conversion, collection or other
         liquidation of any non-cash proceeds therefrom (including notes, debt
         securities, other rights to payment, Capital Stock or other
         consideration received from any Asset Sale). For purposes of this
         definition, the term "NET" means net of (a) the principal amount of any
         Indebtedness secured by any Customary Permitted Lien on the assets
         subject to and required to be prepaid, and actually prepaid, upon such
         Asset Sale, (b) all legal, title, transfer and recording Taxes payable
         as a result of such Asset Sale, and any reasonable professional fees
         and expenses, reasonable broker's commissions, reasonable fees to
         investment bankers, severance costs and other reasonable out-of-pocket
         expenses of sale paid to any Person (other than a Company Party or any
         Affiliate of a Company Party) attributable to such Asset Sale, and (c)
         any income Taxes reasonably estimated by the Company Parties to be
         payable in respect of such Asset Sale.

                  "NOTE" shall have the meaning set forth in SECTION 2.1, and
         shall also include, where applicable, any additional note or notes
         issued by the Issuers in connection with any Assignments.

                  "OBLIGATIONS" shall mean any and all present and future loans,
         advances, Indebtedness, claims, guarantees, liabilities or obligations
         of the Company Parties, or of any other Person for or on behalf of the
         Company Parties, owing to the Purchaser, any Affiliate of the Purchaser
         or any Indemnified Party, of whatever nature, character or
         description, arising under or in connection with this Agreement, the
         Note, the PIK Notes (as such term is defined in the Note), the Warrant,
         the Amended Affiliate Registration Rights Agreement, the Guaranties,
         the Investor Rights Agreement, any other Investment Document or
         otherwise, any and all agreements, instruments or other documents
         heretofore or hereafter executed or delivered in connection with any of
         the foregoing, in each case whether due or not due, direct or indirect,
         joint and/or several, absolute or contingent, voluntary or involuntary,
         liquidated or unliquidated, determined or undetermined, now or
         hereafter existing, amended, renewed, extended, exchanged, replaced,
         restated, refinanced, refunded or restructured, whether or not from
         time to time decreased or extinguished and later increased, created or
         incurred, whether for principal, interest, premiums, fees, costs,
         expenses (including, without limitation, attorneys' fees) or other
         amounts incurred for administration, collection, enforcement or
         otherwise, whether or not arising after the commencement of any
         proceeding under the Bankruptcy Laws (including, without limitation,
         post-petition interest) and whether or not allowed or allowable as a
         claim in any such proceeding, and whether or not recovery of any such
         obligation or liability may be barred by any statute of limitations or
         such Indebtedness, claim, liability or obligation may otherwise be
         unenforceable.

                  "OBLIGOR" shall have the meaning set forth in the Guaranties.

                  "OPERATING LICENSES" shall mean, collectively, all licenses,
         franchises, permits, consents, approvals, registrations, certificates
         and authorizations of all Governmental Authorities necessary or
         advisable to the conduct of the businesses of the Company Parties and
         Subsidiaries.

                  "OTHER ACQUISITION NOTES" shall mean, collectively, any
         promissory notes or similar evidences of indebtedness issued prior to,
         on or after the date hereof by any Company Party or Subsidiary, as
         payor, in connection with any acquisition of and/or affiliation with
         dental practices, dental practice management companies or persons
         engaged in the Dental Insurance Business, the terms of which promissory
         notes or similar evidences of indebtedness do not subordinate payments
         thereunder to payments due by the payor to "banks and other financial
         institutions," including, without limitation, the promissory notes
         listed on SCHEDULE 1.1B.

                  "OTHER DEBT DOCUMENT" shall mean any agreement, instrument or
         other document evidencing or governing any Indebtedness of the Company
         Parties and Subsidiaries other than the Note and any other Investment
         Document, but including, without limitation, the Senior Credit
         Documents and the Convertible Subordinated Note Documents.

                  "PARENT" shall have the meaning specified in the preamble.

                  "PARENT COMMON STOCK" shall mean the Common Stock, $.001 par
         value per
         share, of Parent.

                  "PARENT GUARANTY" shall mean a General and Continuing Guaranty
         of Parent in favor of the Purchaser, in form and substance satisfactory
         to the Purchaser.

                  "PBGC" shall mean the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, as
         defined in Title IV of ERISA.

                  "PERMITTED INVESTMENTS" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 10.3.

                  "PERMITTED LIENS" shall mean the Liens permitted under SECTION
         10.2.

                  "PERSON" shall mean any individual, trustee, sole
         proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, trust, unincorporated
         organization, association, corporation, limited liability company,
         limited liability partnership and other entity or any Governmental
         Authority.

                  "PRINCIPAL SHAREHOLDERS" shall mean, collectively, (i) Sprout
         Capital VII, L.P., Sprout Growth II, L.P., The Sprout CEO Fund, L.P.,
         DLJ Capital Corporation and DLJ First ESC L.L.C. (collectively, the
         "SPROUT GROUP"); (ii) SRM 1993 Children's Trust; (iii) CB Capital
         Investors, L.P.; (iv) Michael T. Fiore; (v) Steven R. Matzkin, D.D.S.
         and (vi) Curtis Lee Smith, Jr.

                  "PRO FORMA CLOSING BALANCE SHEET" shall have the meaning
         specified in SECTION 3.10(c).

                  "PURCHASE AGREEMENT" shall mean an agreement between any
         Company Party or Subsidiary and a dental practice or a manager of
         dental practices whereby such Company Party or Subsidiary acquired or
         will acquire all or substantially all of the assets or stock of such
         dental practice or such manager of dental practices.

                  "PURCHASE PRICE" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION
         2.2.

                  "PURCHASER" shall have the meaning set forth in the preamble.

                  "RATE CONTRACTS" shall mean rate swaps, caps, floors and
         collars, currency swaps, or other similar financial products designed
         to provide protection against fluctuations in interest, currency or
         exchange rates.

                  "REAL PROPERTY" shall mean any and all real property now or
         hereafter owned, leased or operated by any Company Party or Subsidiary.

                  "REGULATED SUBSIDIARIES" shall mean Dedicated Dental Systems,
         Inc., a California corporation ("DEDICATED DENTAL"), Capitol Dental
         Care, Inc., an Oregon corporation ("CAPITOL DENTAL"), and Managed
         Dental Care of Oregon, Inc., an Oregon corporation ("MANAGED DENTAL OF
         OREGON").

                  "REGULATED TANGIBLE NET EQUITY" means, for any California DMO,
         "tangible net equity," "net worth" or such similar financial concept as
         defined by any California DMO Regulation promulgated by any California
         DMO Regulator as shall be applicable to California DMOs.

                  "REGULATED TANGIBLE NET EQUITY REQUIREMENT" means, as to any
         California DMO, the minimum level at which a California DMO is required
         by any applicable California DMO Regulation or California DMO Regulator
         to maintain its Regulated Tangible Net Equity.

                  "RELEASE" shall mean any release (whether threatened or
         actual), migration, spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting,
         emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping, seeping, leaching, dumping
         or disposing into the environment or the workplace of any Hazardous
         Materials, and otherwise as defined in any Environmental Laws.

                  "SECURITIES" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 2.1.

                  "SECURITIES ACT" shall mean the Securities Act of 1933, as
         amended, and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, all as
         the same shall be in effect at the time.

                  "SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE AGENT" shall mean Union Bank of
         California, N.A., as administrative agent for the Senior Lenders,
         including its successors and assigns.

                  "SENIOR AGENT/LLCP SUBORDINATION AGREEMENT" shall mean a
         Subordination Agreement, in form and substance satisfactory to the
         Purchaser, among the Senior Administrative Agent, the Purchaser, Parent
         and the Issuers.

                  "SENIOR AGENTS" shall mean the Senior Administrative Agent and
         The Chase Manhattan Bank, as syndication agent for the Senior Lenders,
         including their successors and assigns.

                  "SENIOR CREDIT AGREEMENTS" shall mean (i) the Amended and
         Restated Credit Agreement dated as of June 15, 1999, among the Issuers,
         as borrowers, the guarantors named therein, the Senior Lenders and the
         Senior Agents, as amended by Amendment Agreement No. 1 dated July 30,
         1999, Amendment Agreement No. 2 dated August 9, 1999, Amendment
         Agreement No. 3 dated as of March 31, 2000, and an Amendment,
         Acknowledgment, Waiver and Consent (June 15, 1999 Agreement) dated as
         of June 14,

         2000, and (ii) the Credit Agreement dated as of March 31, 2000 (the
         "MARCH 2000 SENIOR CREDIT AGREEMENT"), among the Issuers, as borrowers,
         the guarantors named therein, the Senior Lenders and the Senior Agents,
         as amended by an Amendment, Acknowledgment, Waiver and Consent (March
         31, 2000 Agreement) dated as of June 14, 2000, in each of clauses (i)
         and (ii) above as amended from time to time after the date hereof
         subject to SECTION 10.11 and the Senior Agent/LLCP Subordination
         Agreement.

                  "SENIOR CREDIT DOCUMENTS" shall mean the Senior Credit
         Agreements and all notes, guaranties, security agreements, pledge
         agreements and other documents contemplated by the Senior Credit
         Agreements and executed and delivered in connection therewith, as
         amended from time to time after the date hereof subject to SECTION
         10.11 and the Senior Agent/LLCP Subordination Agreement.

                  "SENIOR FINANCIAL COVENANTS" shall mean, individually or
         collectively, the financial covenants set forth in Sections 7.08 (Net
         Worth), 7.09 (Interest Leverage Ratio; Leverage Ratio), 7.10 (Interest
         Coverage Ratios) and 7.11 (Fixed Charge Ratio) of the Senior Credit
         Agreements, as such financial covenants may be modified from time to
         time, together with any new financial covenants included in the Senior
         Credit Documents on or after the date hereof.

                  "SENIOR INDEBTEDNESS" shall mean, with respect to any Person,
         the principal of, premium, if any, interest on any Indebtedness of such
         Person, whether now outstanding or hereafter created, incurred, assumed
         or guaranteed, unless such Indebtedness is contractually subordinate or
         junior in right of payment and rights upon liquidation to the
         Indebtedness evidenced by the Note. The term "SENIOR INDEBTEDNESS" of
         the Issuers shall include, without limitation, Indebtedness existing
         under the Senior Credit Agreements.

                  "SENIOR LENDERS" shall mean the "Lenders" as such term is
         defined under the Senior Credit Agreements.

                  "SHARES ACQUISITION AGREEMENT" shall mean a Shares Acquisition
         Agreement entered into by any Company Party (or Parties) and the
         owner(s) of any dental practice, and, in the case of a Shares
         Acquisition Agreement entered into after September 30, 1998, each of
         which shall (i) contain a provision substantially similar to Section 3
         of the form of Shares Acquisition Agreement attached as EXHIBIT E and
         (ii) permit the assignment to the Purchaser of all rights granted to
         such Company Party (or Parties) pursuant to the provision described in
         clause (i) above.

                  "SITE" shall mean any real property previously, currently or
         hereafter owned, leased or operated by any Environmental Person.

                  "SOLVENT" shall mean, with respect to any Person on the date
         of determination,
         that: (i) the present fair saleable value of the assets (I.E., the
         price a buyer is willing to pay for such assets in an arm's-length
         transaction) of such Person will exceed the amount that will be
         required to be paid on or with respect to the probable liability on the
         existing debts and other liabilities (whether matured or unmatured,
         liquidated or unliquidated, absolute, fixed or contingent) of such
         Person as they become absolute and matured; (ii) the sum of the debts
         (whether matured or unmatured, liquidated or unliquidated, absolute,
         fixed or contingent) of such Person will not exceed all of the property
         of such Person at a fair valuation (including, without limitation, the
         value of all intangible property); (iii) the assets of such Person do
         not constitute unreasonably small capital for such Person to carry on
         its business as now conducted and as proposed to be conducted; and (iv)
         such Person does not intend to, and does not believe it will, incur
         debts or liabilities beyond such Person's ability to pay such debts and
         liabilities as they mature (taking into account the timing and amounts
         of cash to be received by such Person and of amounts to be payable on
         or with respect to debt of such Person). For purposes of this
         definition, the amount of Contingent Obligations outstanding at any
         time shall be computed as the amount that, in the light of all the
         facts and circumstances existing at such time, represents the amount
         that is reasonably expected to become an actual or matured liability.

                  "SUBORDINATED ACQUISITION NOTES" shall mean, collectively, any
         promissory notes and similar evidences of indebtedness issued prior to,
         on or after the date hereof by any Company Party or Subsidiary, as
         payor, in connection with any acquisition of and/or affiliation with
         dental practices, dental practice management companies or persons
         engaged in the Dental Insurance Business, the terms of which promissory
         notes or similar evidences of indebtedness subordinate payment
         thereunder to payments due by the payor to "banks and other financial
         institutions," including, without limitation, the promissory notes
         listed on SCHEDULE 1.1C.

                  "SUBORDINATED INDEBTEDNESS" shall mean any and all
         Indebtedness of the Company Parties, whether now outstanding or
         hereafter created, incurred, assumed or guaranteed, that is subordinate
         or junior in right of payment to the Indebtedness evidenced by the Note
         pursuant to a written agreement to that effect or otherwise, including,
         without limitation, the Convertible Subordinated Notes, subject to
         SECTION 10.11.

                  "SUBORDINATION AGREEMENTS" shall have the meaning set forth in
         SECTION 6.9.

                  "SUBSIDIARY" and "SUBSIDIARIES" shall mean, with respect to
         any specified Person, any other Person of which more than ten percent
         (10.0%) of the total voting power of Capital Stock entitled to vote
         (without regard to the occurrence of any contingency) in the election
         of directors (or other Persons performing similar functions) are at the
         time directly or indirectly owned by such specified Person. Unless
         otherwise indicated, the term "SUBSIDIARY" refers to any subsidiary of
         Parent or any other Company Party, as
         applicable, whether directly or indirectly owned, including, without
         limitation, any Regulated Subsidiary, but specifically excludes Dental
         XChange, Inc. and any Affiliated Dental Practice.

                  "SUBSIDIARY GUARANTY" shall mean the guaranty by the
         Subsidiary Guarantors of the Guaranteed Obligations pursuant to SECTION
         11.

                  "SYSTEMS" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 3.39.

                  "TAX" or "TAXES" shall mean any present and future income,
         excise, sales, use, stamp or franchise taxes and any other taxes, fees,
         duties, levies, withholdings or other charges of any nature whatsoever
         imposed by any taxing authority, whether federal, state, local or
         foreign, together with any interest and penalties and additions to tax.

                  "TERMINATION EVENT" shall mean (i) any Company Party, any
         Benefit Plan or any fiduciary (within the meaning of Section 3(21) of
         ERISA) of a Benefit Plan being named as a defendant in a lawsuit filed
         under ERISA; (ii) the Internal Revenue Service giving notice that it
         intends to revoke the tax-qualified status of any Benefit Plan; (iii)
         the occurrence of a "Reportable Event" described in Section 4043 of
         ERISA with respect to a Benefit Plan, regardless of whether the PBGC
         has waived the notice requirements with respect to such event in its
         regulations; (iv) the imposition of liability (whether absolute or
         contingent) as a result of a complete or partial withdrawal from a
         multiemployer plan; (v) the filing of a notice to terminate a Benefit
         Plan in a distress termination under Section 4041(c) of ERISA; (vi) the
         institution of proceedings by the PBGC to terminate a Benefit Plan or
         to appoint a trustee pursuant to Section 4042 of ERISA, or the
         occurrence of any event or set of circumstances that might reasonably
         constitute grounds for the PBGC to do either; (vii) the restoration of
         a plan by the PBGC pursuant to Section 4047 of ERISA; or (viii) any
         Company Party's withdrawal from a single-employer plan during the plan
         year in which it is a substantial employer pursuant to Section 4063 of
         ERISA.

                  "THIRD PARTY INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS" shall have the
         meaning specified in SECTION 3.26.

                  "UCC" shall mean the Uniform Commercial Code, as adopted and
         in force in the State of California as from time to time in effect, and
         the Uniform Commercial Code of any other jurisdiction as required under
         Division 9103 of the California Commercial Code.

                  "VOTING STOCK" of a Person shall mean all classes of Capital
         Stock of such Person then outstanding and normally entitled (without
         regard to the occurrence of any contingency) to vote in the election of
         directors, managers or trustees thereof.

                  "WARRANT" shall have the meaning specified in SECTION 2.1.

                  "WARRANT SHARES" shall have the meaning specified in the
         Warrant.

                  "YEAR 2000 COMPLIANT" shall have the meaning specified in
         SECTION 3.39.

         1.2 ACCOUNTING TERMS AND COMPUTATIONS. For purposes of this Agreement,
(a) all accounting terms used in this Agreement that are not expressly defined
herein have the meanings given to them under GAAP, (b) all computations made
pursuant to this Agreement or any other Investment Document shall be made in
accordance with GAAP, (c) all financial statements and other financial
information to be delivered by any Company Party hereunder or under any other
Investment Document shall be prepared in accordance with GAAP, except that any
interim financial statements or other financial information which are unaudited
may be subject to year-end audit adjustments and may omit footnotes and (d) all
computations, financial statements and other financial information of the
Company Parties hereunder shall be determined on a consolidated basis in
accordance with GAAP (except as otherwise permitted under clause (c) above).

         1.3 HEADINGS; CONSTRUCTION AND INTERPRETATION. The headings in this
Agreement are for convenience of reference only, do not constitute a part of
this Agreement and are not to be considered in construing or interpreting this
Agreement. All section, preamble, recital, exhibit, schedule, disclosure
schedule, annex, clause and party references are to this Agreement unless
otherwise stated. No party, nor its counsel, shall be deemed the drafter of this
Agreement for purposes of construing the provisions of this Agreement, and all
provisions of this Agreement shall be construed in accordance with their fair
meaning, and not strictly for or against any party.

         1.4 DETERMINATIONS. Any determination or calculation permitted or
required to be made by the Purchaser under this Agreement or any other
Investment Document that is made by the Purchaser shall be final and conclusive
and binding upon the Company Parties in the absence of manifest error.

         1.5 KNOWLEDGE OF THE COMPANY PARTIES. Whenever the term "knowledge,"
"knowledge of the Company Parties," "aware" or words of similar import are used
in this Agreement or any other Investment Document with respect to the existence
or absence of any fact, it shall mean that Michael T. Fiore, Steven R. Matzkin,
D.D.S., Norman R. Huffaker and each other Executive Officer or director of the
Company Parties and Subsidiaries knows or should have known, based upon
reasonable inquiry, of the existence or absence of such fact.

2.       PURCHASE AND SALE OF THE SECURITIES.

         2.1 AUTHORIZATION. The Issuers have authorized the issuance and sale,
jointly and severally, to the Purchaser of a Senior Subordinated Note due 2005
in the principal amount of

$25,500,000, in substantially the form of EXHIBIT A (as the same may be amended,
restated, supplemented, modified, renewed, restated, replaced, refinanced or
restructured from time to time, the "NOTE"). In addition, Parent has authorized
the issuance and sale to the Purchaser of (a) a Warrant to Purchase 2,125,000
shares of Parent Common Stock, in substantially the form of EXHIBIT B (as the
same may be amended, restated, supplemented or otherwise modified from time to
time, the "WARRANT"), and (b) 2,750,000 shares of Parent Common Stock (the "JUNE
2000 LLCP SHARES"). The Note, the Warrant and the June 2000 LLCP Shares are
collectively referred to herein as the "SECURITIES." The repayment of the
Indebtedness evidenced by the Note and all other Obligations shall be guarantied
by Parent and the Subsidiary Guarantors under the Guaranties.

         2.2 PURCHASE OF THE SECURITIES; ISSUE PRICE. Subject to the terms and
conditions contained herein and in the other Investment Documents, and in
reliance upon the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements of the
Company Parties contained herein and therein, at the Closing, the Issuers shall
jointly and severally issue and sell to the Purchaser the Note, Parent shall
issue and sell to the Purchaser the Warrant and the June 2000 LLCP Shares, and
the Purchaser shall purchase the Securities from the Issuers and Parent,
respectively. The aggregate purchase price to be paid by the Purchaser for the
Securities (the "PURCHASE PRICE") shall be $36,500,000, payable as provided in
SECTION 2.3. The Issuers and Parent, on the one hand, and the Purchaser, on the
other hand, agree that, for purposes of Section 1271 ET SEQ. of the Code, the
original issue price of the Note will be 89.258% of its principal amount, the
purchase price of the Warrant will be $2,739,125 and the aggregate purchase
price of the June 2000 LLCP Shares will be $11,000,000, and that this agreement
is intended to constitute an agreement as to the issue prices of the Securities
for all federal, state and local income tax purposes.

         2.3 CLOSING. The closing of the issuance and sale of the Securities
under this Agreement (the "CLOSING") shall take place at the offices of Riordan
& McKinzie, 300 South Grand Avenue, Suite 2900, Los Angeles, California 90071,
on the date hereof or as soon as practicable thereafter immediately following
the satisfaction or waiver of the conditions precedent set forth in SECTION 6
and SECTION 7 (such date being referred to as the "CLOSING DATE"), subject to
SECTION 13.1. At the Closing, the Issuers and Parent shall deliver to the
Purchaser, among other things, the Securities, duly executed by the Issuers and
Parent, respectively, against delivery by the Purchaser of the Purchase Price
(net of amounts permitted to be withheld pursuant to SECTIONS 6.3 and 8.5) by
wire transfer in immediately available funds to such bank as the Issuers may
request in writing for credit to an account designated by the Issuers in such
request.

         2.4 USE OF PROCEEDS. The Issuers shall use the proceeds from the
issuance and sale of the Securities as contemplated hereunder solely for the
purposes set forth in SCHEDULE 3.37.

3. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES. In connection with the following
representations and warranties, the Company Parties have delivered to the
Purchaser disclosure
schedules (the "DISCLOSURE SCHEDULES") arranged in numbered parts corresponding
to the Section numbering of the following representations and warranties. The
information disclosed in any numbered part shall, should the existence of the
information be responsive to any other Section of the Disclosure Schedules, be
deemed to relate to and to qualify the other representations or warranties set
forth in this Agreement, but only to the extent that the responsiveness of such
information is reasonably apparent. To induce the Purchaser to purchase the
Securities under this Agreement, the Company Parties hereby jointly and
severally represent and warrant to the Purchaser that, except as expressly set
forth in the Disclosure Schedules:

         3.1 ORGANIZATION AND QUALIFICATION. Each Company Party is a corporation
duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the
jurisdiction of its incorporation, has all requisite power and authority, and
all Operating Licenses, necessary to own or lease and operate its properties and
assets and to carry on its business as now conducted and as proposed to be
conducted, and is duly qualified or licensed to do business in each jurisdiction
in which the character of the properties or assets owned, leased or operated by
it or the nature of the activities conducted makes such qualification or
licensing necessary, except where the failure to be so qualified or licensed
could not reasonably be expected to result in a Material Adverse Effect.

         3.2 CORPORATE OR OTHER POWER. Each Company Party has the requisite
power and authority to execute, deliver, carry out and perform its obligations
under this Agreement and all other Investment Documents to which it is a party,
including, without limitation, with respect to the Issuers and Parent, the power
and authority to issue, sell and deliver the Securities to be issued and sold by
it or them to the Purchaser hereunder.

         3.3 AUTHORIZATION; BINDING OBLIGATIONS. The execution, delivery and
performance of this Agreement and each of the other Investment Documents to
which any Company Party is a party, the issuance, sale and delivery by the
Issuers and Parent of the Securities as contemplated hereunder and the
consummation by the Company Parties of the other transactions contemplated
hereby and thereby have been duly authorized by all requisite action on the part
of the Company Parties, as applicable. This Agreement has been duly executed and
delivered by the Company Parties and, at the Closing, each of the other
Investment Documents will be duly executed and delivered by each Company Party
that is a party thereto. This Agreement is, and each other Investment Document
will at the Closing be, a legal, valid and binding obligation of each Company
Party that is a party thereto, enforceable against such Company Party in
accordance with its terms, except as enforcement may be limited by bankruptcy,
insolvency, reorganization, moratorium, fraudulent transfer or conveyance or
similar laws relating to or limiting creditors' rights generally or by equitable
principles relating to enforceability, and except as rights of indemnity or
contribution may be limited by federal or state securities laws or the public
policy underlying such laws.

         3.4      SUBSIDIARIES.

                  (a) SCHEDULE 3.4 sets forth a true, complete and correct list
of all direct and indirect Subsidiaries of Parent, setting forth, as to each
such Subsidiary, its full name, the address of its principal executive offices,
its jurisdiction of incorporation, its federal and state Tax identification
numbers and each state and other jurisdiction in which it is qualified to do
business. Parent owns directly one hundred percent (100.0%) of the outstanding
Capital Stock of GDSC and DCA. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.4, no
Subsidiary of any Issuer owns or holds any Capital Stock of any other Person.

                  (b) Each Subsidiary of Parent (other than a Company Party) (i)
is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the
laws of its state or other jurisdiction of organization, (ii) has all requisite
power and authority, and all Operating Licenses, necessary to own or lease and
operate its properties and assets and to carry on its business as now conducted
and as proposed to be conducted and (iii) is duly qualified or licensed to do
business in good standing in each jurisdiction in which the character of the
properties or assets owned, leased or operated by such Subsidiary or the nature
of the activities conducted makes such qualification or licensing necessary,
except where the failure to be so qualified or licensed could not reasonably be
expected to result, individually or in the aggregate, in a Material Adverse
Effect.

                  (c) No Regulated Subsidiary is permitted under Applicable Laws
to issue or be liable for any guarantee of the Indebtedness evidenced by the
Note or any other Obligations of the Company Parties hereunder or under any
other Investment Document without obtaining prior Governmental Approval in the
form of a "material modification" or similar approval from the Governmental
Authority that licenses or otherwise regulates such entity.

         3.5      CONFLICT WITH OTHER INSTRUMENTS; EXISTING DEFAULTS; RANKING.

                  (a) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.5(a), the execution,
delivery and performance of this Agreement by the Company Parties and each other
Investment Document to which any Company Party is a party, the issuance, sale
and delivery by the Issuers and Parent of the Securities and the consummation of
the other transactions contemplated hereby and thereby do not and will not
violate, or cause a default under, or give rise to a right of termination under,
(i) the charter or bylaws of any Company Party or Subsidiary, in each case as in
effect on the date hereof, (ii) any term of any material lease, credit
agreement, indenture, note, mortgage, instrument or other agreement to which any
Company Party or Subsidiary is a party or by which any of its or their
properties or assets are bound (including, without limitation, any Material
Contract or Other Debt Document) or (iii) any Applicable Laws.

                  (b) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.5(b), no Company Party
or Subsidiary is
in default, breach or violation of (i) its charter or bylaws, as in effect as of
the date hereof, (ii) any material lease, credit agreement, indenture, note,
mortgage, instrument or other agreement to which it is a party or by which any
of its properties or assets are bound (including, without limitation, any
Material Contract or Other Debt Document) or (iii) any Applicable Laws, except
where such default, breach or violation could not reasonably be expected to have
a Material Adverse Effect. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing,
there does not exist any "default" or "event of default" (in each case as
defined in any Other Debt Document) or any default under any other credit or
financing agreement to which any Company Party is a party or by which any of its
properties or assets are bound.

                  (c) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.5(c), there are no
contractual or other restrictions or limitations which prohibit or restrict (i)
any merger, sale of assets or other event which could cause a Change in Control
or (ii) any other financings by any Company Party or Subsidiary, including,
without limitation, any public or private debt or equity financings.

                  (d) SCHEDULE 3.5(d) sets forth a true, correct and complete
list of all Senior Indebtedness of each Company Party and Subsidiary. Payment of
principal of, premium, if any, and interest on the Note and of all other
Obligations is subordinate only to the Senior Indebtedness of the Company
Parties and Subsidiaries. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.5(d), no
Indebtedness of Parent, any other Company Party or any Subsidiary ranks senior
to or PARI PASSU with any Indebtedness evidenced by the Note.

                  (e) The Purchaser is and will be deemed by the Company Parties
to be a "financial institution" for purposes of interpreting and enforcing the
subordination provisions of the Subordinated Acquisition Notes.

                  (f) The First Amendment to Affiliate Registration Rights
Agreement has been, or will be at the Closing, duly executed and delivered by
the Requisite Holders (as such term is defined therein), and the Acknowledgment,
Amendment and Affirmation of Subordination described in SECTION 6.9(b) has been,
or will be at the Closing, duly executed and delivered by the Requisite Holders
and the Requisite Purchasers (as such terms are defined in the Convertible
Subordinated Note Documents).

         3.6 GOVERNMENTAL AND OTHER THIRD PARTY CONSENTS. Except for the
Consents listed in SCHEDULE 3.6 and those that have already been obtained or
made (including, without limitation, the California Permit), no Company Party or
Subsidiary is required to obtain any Consent from, or is required to make any
declaration or filing with, any Governmental Authority or any other Person in
connection with the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement or any
other Investment Document, including, without limitation, the issuance, sale and
delivery of the Securities as contemplated hereunder, or for the purpose of
maintaining in full force and effect any Operating Licenses. Each of the
Consents which have been obtained or made in connection with the execution,
delivery and performance of this Agreement or any other Investment

Document is in full force and effect. The California Permit has been duly and
validly issued, without any qualification or other condition, and is in full
force and effect, and no stop order or similar order has been issued which
postpones, suspends or revokes its effectiveness or otherwise changes any of the
original terms thereof. The time within which any administrative or judicial
appeal, reconsideration, rehearing or other review of any such Consent may be
taken or instituted has lapsed, and no such appeal, reconsideration or rehearing
or other review has been taken or instituted.

         3.7      CAPITALIZATION.

                  (a) SCHEDULE 3.7(a) sets forth a true, correct and complete
description of the authorized capital stock of each Issuer and the number of
shares of each class of Capital Stock that is issued and outstanding as of the
date hereof. All of the issued and outstanding shares of Capital Stock of each
Issuer have been duly authorized and are validly issued, fully paid and
non-assessable and, except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.7(a), are free and clear
of any Liens (including any restrictions on the right to vote, sell or otherwise
dispose of such Capital Stock) and of any preemptive or other similar rights to
subscribe for or to purchase any such Capital Stock. As of the date hereof,
there are: (i) no outstanding Equity Rights of any Issuer; (ii) no voting trusts
or other agreements or undertakings with respect to the voting of the Capital
Stock of any Issuer; (iii) no obligations or rights (whether fixed or
contingent) on the part of any Issuer, any of its directors or officers, or any
other Person to purchase, repurchase, redeem or "put" any outstanding shares of
the Capital Stock of any Issuer or Equity Rights of any Issuer; and (iv) no
agreements to which any Issuer, any of their directors or officers, or any other
Person is a party granting any other Person any rights of first offer or first
refusal, registration rights or "drag-along," "tag-along" or similar rights with
respect to any transfer of any Capital Stock or Equity Rights of the Issuers.
All shares of Capital Stock and Equity Rights of the Issuers have been issued
and offered in compliance with all applicable federal and state securities laws.
No shares of Capital Stock of any Issuer will become issuable to any Person
pursuant to any "anti-dilution" provisions of any such issued and outstanding
securities of the Issuer on account of the issuance of the Securities, the
exercise of the Warrant or the application of the "anti-dilution" provisions
contained in the Warrant.

                  (b) SCHEDULE 3.7(b) sets forth a true, correct and complete
description of the authorized capital stock of Parent and the number of shares
of each class of Capital Stock that is issued and outstanding as of the date
hereof. All of the issued and outstanding shares of Capital Stock of Parent have
been duly authorized and are validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable and,
except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.7(b), are free and clear of any preemptive or
other similar rights to subscribe for or to purchase any such Capital Stock.
Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.7(b), as of the date hereof, there are: (i) no
outstanding Equity Rights of Parent; (ii) no voting trusts or other agreements
or undertakings with respect to the voting of the Capital Stock of Parent; (iii)
no obligations or rights (whether fixed or contingent) on the part of Parent,
any of its directors or officers, or any other Person to purchase, repurchase,
redeem or "put" any outstanding shares of the Capital Stock of Parent or Equity
Rights of Parent; and (iv) no agreements to which Parent, any of its directors
or officers, or any other Person is a party granting any other Person any rights
of first offer or first refusal, registration rights or "drag-along,"
"tag-along" or similar rights with respect to any transfer of any Capital Stock
or Equity Rights of Parent. All shares of Capital Stock and Equity Rights of
Parent have been issued and offered in compliance with all applicable federal
and state securities laws. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.7(b), no additional
shares of Capital Stock of Parent will become issuable to any Person pursuant to
any "anti-dilution" provisions on account of the issuance of the Securities, the
exercise of the Warrant or the application of the "anti-dilution" provisions
contained in the Warrant. The shares of Parent Common Stock issuable upon
exercise of the Warrant and the June 2000 LLCP Shares shall constitute in the
aggregate, immediately following the Closing, approximately 12.877% of the
shares of Parent Common Stock on a Fully Diluted Basis. Immediately following
the Closing, the June 2000 LLCP Shares shall constitute approximately 11.498% of
the total number of issued and outstanding shares of Parent Common Stock.
Assuming the exercise of the Warrant immediately following the Closing, the June
2000 LLCP Shares, together with the shares of Common Stock issued upon exercise
of the Warrant, would constitute approximately 18.719% of the total number of
shares of Parent Common Stock issued and outstanding immediately following the
Closing.

                  (c) SCHEDULE 3.7(c) sets forth a true, correct and complete
description of the authorized capital stock of each Subsidiary, the number of
shares of each class of Capital Stock of such Subsidiary that is issued and
outstanding as of the date hereof and the name of the owner of record of such
issued and outstanding shares. All of the issued and outstanding shares of
Capital Stock of each Subsidiary have been duly authorized and are validly
issued, fully paid and non-assessable, and, except as set forth on SCHEDULE
3.7(c), are free and clear of any Liens and other restrictions (including any
restrictions on the right to vote, sell or otherwise dispose of any such Capital
Stock) and of any preemptive or other similar rights to subscribe for or to
purchase any such Capital Stock. As of the date hereof, there are: (i) no
outstanding Equity Rights of any Subsidiary; (ii) no voting trusts or other
agreements or undertakings with respect to the voting of the Capital Stock of
any Subsidiary; (iii) no obligations or rights (whether fixed or contingent) on
the part of any Subsidiary or any other Person to purchase, repurchase, redeem
or "put" any outstanding shares of the Capital Stock or Equity Rights of any
Subsidiary; and (iv) no agreements granting any Person any rights of first offer
or first refusal, registration rights or "drag-along," "tag-along" or similar
rights with respect to any transfer of any Capital Stock or Equity Rights of any
Subsidiary. All shares of Capital Stock and Equity Rights of any Subsidiary that
have been issued by such Subsidiary have been issued and offered in compliance
with all applicable federal and state securities laws. No additional shares of
Capital Stock of any Subsidiary will become issuable to any Person pursuant to
any "anti-dilution" provisions of any such issued and outstanding securities of
any Subsidiary on account of the issuance of the Securities, the exercise of the
Warrant or the application of the "anti-dilution" provisions contained in the
Warrant.

         3.8 VALIDITY AND ISSUANCE OF WARRANT SHARES. The Warrant Shares have
been duly authorized and reserved and, when issued, delivered and paid for
pursuant to the terms of the Warrant, will be duly and validly issued, fully
paid and non-assessable.

         3.9      COMPANY SEC DOCUMENTS.

                  (a) Each of GDSC and DCA timely filed with the Commission all
Company SEC Documents which were required to be filed by it from December 31,
1997, through and including March 12, 1999, the date upon which GDSC and DCA
terminated their listings with the Nasdaq. Parent has timely filed with the
Commission all Company SEC Documents which were required to be filed by it with
the Commission since March 12, 1999. SCHEDULE 3.9 sets forth a true, complete
and correct list of all Company SEC Documents filed with the Commission by GDSC,
DCA and Parent, respectively, since December 31, 1998, and the respective dates
on which they were filed.

                  (b) Each Company SEC Document previously filed by GDSC, DCA or
Parent, as the case may be, complies with all applicable requirements of the
Securities Act and the Exchange Act, and did not contain any untrue statement of
a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein
or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the
circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The financial
statements included in each Company SEC Document filed by GDSC, DCA or Parent,
as the case may be, complied as to form with applicable accounting requirements
and the published rules and regulations of the Commission with respect thereto,
were prepared in accordance with GAAP (except, in the case of unaudited
statements, as permitted by the Commission) and fairly present the consolidated
financial position of GDSC, DCA and Parent, respectively, as of the dates
thereof and the consolidated results of their operations and cash flows for the
periods then ended (subject, in the case of unaudited statements, to normal
year-end audit adjustments consistent with past practices and consistently
applied).

                  (c) All information regarding the "Y2K" issue is fully and
adequately disclosed in the Company SEC Documents with respect to the Company
Parties.

         3.10     FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

                  (a) The Issuers have delivered to the Purchaser copies of:

                           (i) audited consolidated balance sheets of GDSC and
                  its Subsidiaries as of December 31, 1998 and 1997, and audited
                  consolidated statements of operations, shareholders' equity
                  and changes in financial position or cash flows for each of
                  the two (2) years then ended, together with a report and an
                  unqualified opinion of KPMG Peat Marwick, the independent
                  public accountants of GDSC;

                           (ii) audited consolidated balance sheets of DCA and
                  its Subsidiaries as of December 31, 1998 and 1997, and audited
                  consolidated statements of operations, shareholders' equity
                  and changes in financial position or cash flows for each of
                  the two (2) years then ended, together with a report and an
                  unqualified opinion of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, the
                  independent public accountants of DCA;

                           (iii) an audited consolidated balance sheet of Parent
                  and its Subsidiaries as of December 31, 1999, and audited
                  consolidated statements of operations, shareholders' equity
                  and changes in financial position or cash flows for twelve
                  (12)-months then ended, together with a report and an
                  unqualified opinion of KPMG LLP, the independent public
                  accountants of Parent; and

                           (iv) unaudited financial statements of Parent and its
                  Subsidiaries consisting of a consolidated balance sheet as of
                  April 30, 2000, and a statement of operations and cash flows
                  for the four (4) months ended April 30, 2000 (the financial
                  statements referred to in clauses (i), (ii), (iii) and (iv)
                  being collectively referred to as the "FINANCIAL STATEMENTS").

                  The Financial Statements (including, in each case, the related
schedules and notes) fairly present the consolidated financial position of GDSC
and its Subsidiaries, DCA and its Subsidiaries or Parent and its Subsidiaries,
as the case may be, as of the respective dates of such balance sheets and the
consolidated results of operations of GDSC and its Subsidiaries, DCA and its
Subsidiaries or Parent and its Subsidiaries, as the case may be, for the
respective periods covered by such statements of operations, shareholders'
equity and changes in financial position or cash flows, as the case may be, and
have been prepared in accordance with GAAP. Since December 31, 1999, there has
not been any Material Adverse Change.

                  (b) No Company Party or Subsidiary, officer, director or other
Affiliate thereof (i) is contemplating the filing of a petition under the
Bankruptcy Laws with respect to any Company Party or Subsidiary, or the
liquidation of all or any major portion of its or their assets or properties, or
(ii) is aware of any Person contemplating the filing of any petition against any
Company Party or Subsidiary under the Bankruptcy Laws. No Company Party or
Subsidiary is contemplating changing its business, as such business is being
conducted on the date hereof.

                  (c) The Issuers have furnished to the Purchaser a consolidated
balance sheet of Parent and its Subsidiaries as of March 31, 2000, as adjusted
to give PRO FORMA effect to the consummation of the transactions contemplated by
this Agreement as if such transactions had occurred on such date (the "PRO FORMA
CLOSING BALANCE SHEET"). SCHEDULE 3.10(c) sets forth a true, correct and
complete copy of the Pro Forma Closing Balance Sheet, together with footnotes
describing the PRO FORMA adjustments and the assumptions underlying the Pro
Forma Closing

Balance Sheet. The Pro Forma Closing Balance Sheet presents fully and fairly in
all material respects the PRO FORMA consolidated financial position of Parent
and its Subsidiaries as of March 31, 2000, and properly gives effect to the
application of the PRO FORMA adjustments described therein and contemplated
herein. All assumptions underlying the Pro Forma Closing Balance Sheet were made
in good faith and are reasonable under the circumstances, and no Company Party
is aware of any facts or information that would lead it to believe that such
projections are incorrect or misleading in any respect.

         3.11     EXISTING INDEBTEDNESS; EXISTING LIENS; INVESTMENTS; ETC.

                  (a) SCHEDULES 3.11(a)(i) through (v) set forth a true, correct
and complete list, and describes, as of the date or dates indicated therein, as
applicable:

                           (i) all Indebtedness of the Company Parties and
         Subsidiaries on a consolidated and consolidating basis outstanding
         immediately prior to the Closing Date, showing, as to each item of
         Indebtedness, the payee thereof and the total amount outstanding (by
         principal, interest and other amounts, if applicable);

                           (ii) all Liens in respect of any property or assets
         of the Company Parties and Subsidiaries existing immediately prior to
         the Closing Date, showing, as to each Lien, the name of the grantor and
         secured party and the assets or other properties covered by such Lien;

                           (iii) all Investments of the Company Parties and
         Subsidiaries immediately prior to the Closing Date;

                           (iv) all UCC financing statements as of the
         respective dates set forth therein naming any Company Party or
         Subsidiary as a debtor; and

                           (v) a trade payables aging schedule for the Company
         Parties and Subsidiaries, on a consolidated basis as of April 30, 2000.

                  (b) No Company Party or Subsidiary has on the date hereof any
Contingent Obligations, liabilities for Taxes, unusual forward or long-term
commitments or unrealized or anticipated losses from any unfavorable
commitments, except as referred to or reflected in the Pro Forma Closing Balance
Sheet.

                  (c) Immediately following the Closing, the Company Parties and
Subsidiaries will not have any Indebtedness, whether accrued, absolute,
contingent or otherwise (whether individually or in the aggregate), except for
the Indebtedness permitted under SECTION 10.1.

                  (d) The total Indebtedness outstanding under the Fremont Note
does not
exceed $2.5 million, and the Liens existing in favor of the payees of the
Fremont Note do not secure more than such total Indebtedness. Such total
Indebtedness is payable by GDMI.

         3.12 ABSENCE OF CERTAIN CHANGES. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE
3.12(a), since December 31, 1999, there has not been, and there is no agreement,
commitment or obligation to do, any of the following:

                  (a) Any transaction involving any Company Party or Subsidiary
not in the ordinary course of business, including, without limitation, any sale
of any assets or properties (other than inventory in the ordinary course of
business);

                  (b) Any declaration, setting aside or payment of any dividend
or other distribution or payment (whether in cash, stock or property) with
respect to the Capital Stock of any Company Party or Subsidiary, or any
redemption, purchase or other acquisition of securities of any Company Party or
Subsidiary, or any payment to any stockholder of Parent not in his, her or its
capacity as a stockholder;

                  (c) Any damage, destruction or loss, whether or not covered by
insurance, to any material assets or properties of any Company Party or
Subsidiary;

                  (d) Any Material Adverse Change;

                  (e) Any loan or advance made by any Company Party or
Subsidiary to any Person, except normal travel advances or other reasonable
business expense advances made in the ordinary course of business to its own
employees;

                  (f) Any Indebtedness for borrowed money incurred by any
Company Party or Subsidiary or any commitment to incur Indebtedness for borrowed
money entered into by any Company Party or Subsidiary (other than as
contemplated by this Agreement);

                  (g) Any capital expenditures or commitments to make capital
expenditures in excess of the amount reflected in the Initial Financial
Projections;

                  (h) Any indemnity or other claims made by or against any
Company Party or Subsidiary with respect to or in connection with any
acquisition or sale or other disposition, whether direct or indirect, of the
Capital Stock or assets of any other Person;

                  (i) Any amendment or other modification to the charter or
bylaws of any Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (j) The formation or creation of any direct or indirect
subsidiary of any Company Party, or the disposition of the Capital Stock or
assets of any Company Party or

Subsidiary;

                  (k) Any waiver by any Company Party or Subsidiary of a
valuable right or of Indebtedness owed to it;

                  (l) Any payment, satisfaction, discharge or cancellation of
any debts or claims of any Company Party or Subsidiary other than in the
ordinary course of business consistent with past practices;

                  (m) Any amendment, modification or termination of any Material
Contract or of any employment or consulting agreement;

                  (n) Any change in the Contingent Obligations of any Company
Party or Subsidiary, by way of guarantee or otherwise;

                  (o) Any mortgage, pledge or Lien encumbering any of the assets
or properties of any Company Party or Subsidiary, or any assumption of, or
taking any assets or properties subject to, any liability;

                  (p) Any resignation by, or termination of the employment of,
any director or officer of any Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (q) Any Investment by any Company Party or Subsidiary in the
Capital Stock of any Person;

                  (r) Any payment of management, consulting or similar fees by
any Company Party or Subsidiary to any of its Affiliates;

                  (s) Any offer, issuance or sale of any shares of Capital Stock
or Equity Rights of any Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (t) Any alteration or change in any credit guidelines and
policies, charge-off policies or accounting methods, quality control procedures
or policies or manner of preparing its financial statements or maintaining its
books of account;

                  (u) Any increase in, or commitment to increase, the salaries,
wages, bonuses or other compensation payable or to become payable to any
officer, other employee or consultant of any Company Party or Subsidiary, other
than increases in salaries and wages or compensation in the ordinary course of
business consistent with past practices;

                  (v) Any adoption by any Company Party or Subsidiary of any new
Benefit Plan or amendment to any Benefit Plan to provide any new or additional
plans, programs,
contracts, benefits or arrangements involving direct or indirect compensation to
any officer, director, employee, former employee, or their dependents or
beneficiaries, of any Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (w) Any settlement of any litigation, entry of a consent
decree or entry of any judgment against any Company Party or Subsidiary with a
value of $10,000 or more;

                  (x) Any revaluation by any Company Party or Subsidiary of any
of its assets, including without limitation, any write-offs, increases in any
reserves except in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice
or any write-up or write-down of the value of inventory, property, plant,
equipment or any other asset;

                  (y) Any revaluation or repricing of any Equity Rights of any
Company Party or Subsidiary; or

                  (z) The occurrence of any other event or the development of
any other condition which has had or could have a Material Adverse Effect.

          3.13    MATERIAL CONTRACTS.

                  (a) SCHEDULE 3.13(a) sets forth a true, correct and complete
list of all contracts, commitments, licenses, agreements, obligations or
arrangements, whether oral or written, formal or informal, to which any Company
Party or Subsidiary is a party (or intends to become a party) or to which any of
its assets or properties is bound:

                           (i) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary is
          indemnified for or against any liability in excess of $100,000 or
          under which any Company Party or Subsidiary is or could be obligated
          to indemnify any Person in excess of $100,000;

                           (ii) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary
          leases personal property from or to third parties under Capital Leases
          which involve rental payments of at least $100,000 per annum or under
          operating leases which involve rental payments of at least $100,000;

                           (iii) (A) granting representation, marketing or
          distribution rights or (B) relating to Intellectual Property
          (including, without limitation, license, franchise or similar
          agreements);

                           (iv) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary has
          created, incurred, assumed or guaranteed (or may create, incur, assume
          or guarantee) Indebtedness in excess of $100,000;

                           (v) establishing or maintaining any partnership,
          joint venture or strategic alliance, or which provides for the
          retention of the services of a third party to locate or identify
          potential acquisitions of dental practices;

                           (vi) under which there is or may be imposed a
          security interest or other Lien on any of its assets, whether tangible
          or intangible, whose net book value or fair market value is in excess
          of $100,000 (other than the security interests or Liens granted in
          favor of the Purchaser and the Senior Agents);

                           (vii) concerning any confidentiality or
          non-solicitation obligations entered into outside the ordinary course
          of business;

                           (viii) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary is
          restricted from carrying on its business or any part thereof, or from
          competing in any line of business or with any Person;

                           (ix) with officers, directors, employees, consultants
          or independent contractors of any Company Party or Subsidiary;

                           (x) resulting in the creation of any Lien (including
          any lease notifications) other than a Customary Permitted Lien;

                           (xi) involving any Affiliates of any Company Party or
          Subsidiary;

                           (xii) under which the consequences of a default or
          termination could have a Material Adverse Effect;

                           (xiii) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary
          will make aggregate payments to any vendors or other suppliers in
          excess of $250,000 per annum;

                           (xiv) under which any Company Party or Subsidiary
          manages any dental practice, professional corporation or professional
          association (including, without limitation, the Management
          Agreements), whether or not the financial statements of such practice,
          corporation or association are consolidated with the financial
          statements of Parent and its Subsidiaries, and under which any Company
          Party or Subsidiary is a party to any contract or other agreement
          relating to the Dental Insurance Business; and

                           (xv) not entered into in the ordinary course of
          business and not otherwise disclosed on SCHEDULE 3.13(a) in response
          to any of the foregoing clauses.

                  All of the contracts, commitments, licenses, agreements,
obligations or arrangements described in clauses (i) through (xv) above,
together with the Senior Credit

Documents and all Other Debt Documents, the real property leases, subleases,
licenses and other interests described in SECTION 3.24, whether entered into
prior to, on or after the Closing Date, are collectively referred to herein as
the "MATERIAL CONTRACTS."

                  (b) Except as disclosed on SCHEDULE 3.13(a), each Material
Contract existing as of the date hereof is a legal, valid and binding obligation
of the Company Parties or Subsidiary that are parties thereto, on the one hand,
and the other parties thereto, on the other hand, enforceable against each of
them in accordance with its terms, except as enforcement may be limited by
bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, moratorium, fraudulent transfer or
conveyance or similar laws relating to or limiting creditors' rights generally
or by equitable principles relating to enforceability, and is in full force and
effect. The parties to each Material Contract existing as of the date hereof are
in substantial compliance with the terms thereof, and no default or event of
default by any Company Party or Subsidiary or, to the knowledge of the Company
Parties, any other party thereto exists thereunder.

                  (c) Except as expressly set forth on SCHEDULE 3.13(a), no
Company Party or Subsidiary is a party to any contract, commitment, license,
agreement, obligation or arrangement that restricts it from carrying on its
business or any part thereof, or from competing in any line of business or with
any other Person.

                  (d) Each of the Management Agreements entered into by any
Company Party or Subsidiary since November 1997 either satisfies the criteria
set forth on SCHEDULE 1.1A or is substantially in the form of EXHIBIT D-1, D-2
OR D-3.

         3.14 ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE. All accounts receivable of the Company
Parties and/or Subsidiaries (a) are legal, valid and binding obligations of the
Persons shown in the accounting records of the Company Parties and/or
Subsidiaries as the obligor with respect thereto (and if any such accounts
receivable is not legal, valid and binding obligations of such Persons, reserves
have been established therefor, which reserves are adequate in accordance with
GAAP), (b) arose out of bona fide sales actually made or services actually
performed on or prior to such date in the ordinary course of business, (c) are
not subject to discount, rebate or return privilege claim (other than as
reflected in the reserves taken in recording the accounts receivable on the
books of the Company Parties and/or Subsidiaries, which reserves are adequate in
accordance with GAAP), (d) are not subject to any known offsets or
counter-claims and (e) are valid and collectible in the ordinary course of
business.

         3.15     LABOR RELATIONS.

                  (a) The Company Parties and Subsidiaries are in full
compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act (29 U.S.C. Section 201 ET SEQ.),
all state wage and hour laws and all worker's compensation laws and is not
engaged in any unfair labor practice which has had or could have a Material
Adverse Effect.

                  (b) There is no labor strike, slowdown, work stoppage or
charge of unfair labor practice, and there are no labor disputes, grievances,
complaints or arbitration proceedings, pending or materially affecting any
Company Party or Subsidiary nor, to the knowledge of the Company Parties, is
there any basis therefor or threat thereof.

                  (c) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.15, no Company Party or
Subsidiary is bound by or subject to any written or oral, express or implied,
contract, commitment or arrangement with any labor union or other employee
organization, and no labor union or other employee organization has requested or
sought to represent any of the employees, representatives or agents of the
Company Parties or any Subsidiary.

                  (d) Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.15, no Company Party or
Subsidiary is aware of (i) any labor union or other employee organization
activity involving employees of any Company Party or Subsidiary or (ii) any
Executive Officer who intends to terminate his or her employment with any
Company Party or Subsidiary.

                  (e) There are no petitions pending before the National Labor
Relations Board in connection with any pending claim for union representation.

         3.16 EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLANS; ERISA. For purposes of this SECTION 3.16,
the term "Parent" shall include Parent, its Subsidiaries and any Person that is
or would be aggregated with Parent under Section 414(b), (c), (m), or (o) of the
Code. However, this SECTION 3.16 will not apply to a "Multiemployer Plan" (as
defined in Section 4001(a)(3) of ERISA), except as expressly referred to herein.

                  (a) SCHEDULE 3.16 sets forth a true, correct and complete list
of:

                           (i) Each termination or severance agreement involving
         Parent, on the one hand, and any of its respective employees whose
         annual compensation is at a base rate equal to or exceeding $50,000, on
         the other hand;

                           (ii) All employee benefit plans, as defined in ERISA
         Section 3(3); and

                           (iii) All other profit-sharing, bonus, stock option,
         stock purchase, stock bonus, restricted stock, stock appreciation
         right, phantom stock, vacation pay, holiday pay, tuition reimbursement,
         scholarship, severance, dependent care assistance, excess benefit,
         incentive compensation, salary continuation, supplemental retirement,
         employee loan or loan guarantee program, split dollar, cafeteria plan,
         and other compensation arrangements;

in each case maintained or contributed to by Parent for the benefit of its
employees (or former
employees) and/or their beneficiaries. All of these types of arrangements shall
be collectively referred to as "BENEFIT PLANS." An arrangement will not fail to
be a Benefit Plan simply because it only covers one individual, or because
Parent's obligations under the plan arise by reason of its being a "successor
employer" under Applicable Laws. Furthermore, a Voluntary Employees' Beneficiary
Association under Section 501(c)(9) of the Code will be considered a Benefit
Plan for this purpose.

                  (b) Parent has made available to Buyer true and complete
copies of the following documents, to the extent that they are applicable:

                           (i) Each Benefit Plan and any related funding
         agreements (E.G., trust agreements or insurance contracts), including
         all amendments (and SCHEDULE 3.16 includes a description of any such
         amendment that is not in writing);

                           (ii) The current summary plan description and any
         subsequent summary descriptions of material modifications to each
         Benefit Plan for which a summary plan description is required by ERISA;

                           (iii) The most recent Internal Revenue Service
         determination letter for each Benefit Plan that is intended to qualify
         for favorable income tax treatment under Section 401(a) or 501(c)(9) of
         the Code, if any such determination letter exists, which determination
         letter reflects all amendments that have been made to the plan (except
         for amendments not yet required to be included in the plan document
         reflecting changes in Applicable Laws and as set forth in SCHEDULE
         3.16); and

                           (iv) The two (2) most recent Form 5500s (including
         all applicable Schedules and the opinions of the independent
         accountants) that were filed on behalf of the Benefit Plan, if such
         forms were required to be filed with respect to such Benefit Plan.

                  (c) All costs of administering and contributions required to
be made to each Benefit Plan under the terms of that Benefit Plan, ERISA, the
Code, or any other applicable law have been timely made, and are fully
deductible in the year for which they were paid. All other amounts that should
be accrued to date as liabilities of Parent under or with respect to each
Benefit Plan (including administrative expenses and incurred but not reported
claims) for the current plan year of the plan have been recorded on the books of
Parent. There will be no liability of Parent (i) with respect to any Benefit
Plan that has previously been terminated or (ii) under any insurance policy or
similar arrangement procured in connection with any Benefit Plan in the nature
of a retroactive rate adjustment, loss sharing arrangement, or other liability
arising wholly or partially out of events occurring before the Closing.

                  (d) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.16, each Benefit Plan
has been operated at all times in accordance with its terms, and complies
currently, and has complied in the past,
both in form and in operation, with all Applicable Laws, including ERISA and the
Code. The Internal Revenue Service has issued a favorable determination letter
(or a determination letter has been requested and is pending before the Internal
Revenue Service) with respect to each Benefit Plan that is intended to qualify
under Section 401(a) or 501(c)(9) of the Code, and no event has occurred (either
before or after the date of the letter) that would disqualify the plan.

                  (e) Parent does not maintain any plan that provides (or will
provide) medical or death benefits to one or more former employees or
independent contractors (including retirees) following termination of
employment, other than benefits that are required to be provided under COBRA or
any state law continuation coverage or conversion rights. Parent has complied in
all material respects with the continuation coverage requirements of COBRA.

                  (f) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.16, there are no
investigations, proceedings, lawsuits or claims pending or, to the knowledge of
the Company Parties, threatened relating to any Benefit Plan.

                  (g) Parent does not have any intention or commitment, whether
legally binding or not, to create any additional Benefit Plan, or to modify any
existing Benefit Plan so as to increase benefits to participants or the cost of
maintaining the plan. The benefits under all Benefit Plans are as represented,
and have not been, and will not be increased subsequent to the date documents
are provided to the Purchaser except in the ordinary course of business and
consistent with competitive business standards. No statement, either oral or
written, has been made by Parent (or any agent of Parent) to any Person
regarding any Benefit Plan that is not in accordance with the terms of such
Benefit Plan and that could have adverse economic consequences to the Purchaser.

                  (h) None of the persons performing services for Parent have
been improperly classified as being independent contractors, leased employees,
or as being exempt from the payment of wages for overtime.

                  (i) None of the Benefit Plans provide any benefits that (i)
become payable or become vested solely as a result of the consummation of this
transaction or (ii) would result in excess parachute payments (within the
meaning of Section 280G of the Code), either (A) solely as a result of the
consummation of this transaction or (B) as a result of the consummation of this
transaction and any actions taken by the Purchaser after the Closing Date.
Furthermore, the consummation of this transaction will not require the funding
(whether formal or informal) of the benefits under any Benefit Plan (E.G.,
contributions to a "rabbi trust").

                  (j) None of the assets of any Benefit Plan that is a "pension
plan" within the meaning of Section 3(2) of ERISA are invested in a group
annuity contract or other insurance contract that is subject to any surrender
charge, interest rate adjustment, or other similar expense upon its premature
termination.

                  (k) No Benefit Plan has any interest in any annuity contract
or other investment or insurance contract issued by an insurance company that is
the subject of bankruptcy, conservatorship, rehabilitation, or similar
proceeding.

                  (l) With respect to each Benefit Plan that is subject to Title
IV of ERISA:

                           (i) No amount is due or owing from Parent to the
         PBGC, other than a liability for premiums under ERISA Section 4007;

                           (ii) All premiums have been paid to the PBGC on a
         timely basis;

                           (iii) The value, determined on a termination basis
         using the actuarial assumptions stated in the plan, of all accrued and
         ancillary benefits (whether or not vested) under each such plan did not
         exceed, as of the most recent valuation date, and will not exceed as of
         the Closing Date, the then current fair market value of the assets of
         the plan; and

                           (iv) No reportable events (within the meaning of
         ERISA Section 4043) have occurred.

                  (m) In the case of each Benefit Plan that is subject to Code
Section 412, there is no accumulated funding deficiency (within the meaning of
Code Section 4971), whether or not such deficiency has been waived.

                  (n) Parent has not incurred any withdrawal liability
(including any contingent or secondary withdrawal liability) to any
Multiemployer Plan, and no event has occurred, and there exists no condition or
set of circumstances, that presents a material risk of the occurrence of any
withdrawal (partial or otherwise) from, or the partition, termination,
reorganization, or insolvency of any Multiemployer Plan that could result in any
liability on behalf of Parent to a Multiemployer Plan.

                  (o) The aggregate liability that Parent would have to all
Multiemployer Plans in the event of a complete withdrawal therefrom, as of the
close of the most recent plan year of the Multiemployer Plan ended prior to the
date hereof, would not exceed $10,000. There has been no material change in the
(i) financial condition of any Multiemployer Plan, (ii) the actuarial
assumptions, (iii) required level of Parent contributions, or (iv) level of
benefits provided under any Multiemployer Plan since the close of the most
recent plan year of the Multiemployer Plan that, individually or in the
aggregate, would materially increase the amount of this liability.

         3.17     TAXES.

                  (a) Each of Company Party and Subsidiary has filed within the
required time periods (after giving effect to any permitted extensions) all
federal, state and other Tax returns required to have been filed by it or them,
and has paid all Taxes which were due and payable by it or them, prior to the
date hereof, other than Taxes that are being contested in good faith and for
which reserves have been properly established on the Pro Forma Closing Balance
Sheet.

                  (b) Each Company Party and Subsidiary has withheld and paid
all Taxes required to be withheld and paid by it or them in connection with
amounts paid or owing to any employee, creditor, shareholder or other third
party.

                  (c) (i) No Company Party or Subsidiary has been advised that
any Tax returns have been or are being audited by any Governmental Authority;
(ii) there are no agreements, waivers or other arrangements providing for an
extension of time with respect to the assessment of any Taxes or deficiency
against Parent or any of its Subsidiaries; (iii) there are no actions, suits,
proceedings or claims now pending by or against Parent or any of its
Subsidiaries in respect of any Taxes or assessments; and (iv) there is no
pending or, to the knowledge of the Company Parties, threatened audit or
investigation of Parent or any of its Subsidiaries by any Governmental Authority
relating to any Taxes or assessments, or any claims for additional taxes or
assessments asserted by any Governmental Authority.

                  (d) No Company Party or Subsidiary is a party to or bound by
any tax sharing, tax indemnity or tax allocation agreement or other similar
arrangement.

         3.18 LITIGATION. SCHEDULE 3.18 sets forth a true, complete and correct
list of all actions, suits, arbitration proceedings, investigations, inquiries
or other proceedings, whether governmental or non-governmental, before any
Governmental Authority pending or, to the knowledge of the Company Parties,
threatened on the date hereof, or at any time since March 1, 1999, against,
relating to or affecting any Company Party or Subsidiary, or any officer,
director or employee thereof in his or her capacity as such, or any of its or
their respective assets, properties or businesses, and which involve a monetary
claim or claims in excess of $25,000 or injunctive or other equitable relief.
Such Schedule sets forth, as to each matter identified therein, the names of the
parties thereto, the forum for such matter, a summary of the details of the
matter, the settlement or other disposition of the matter (including the
monetary value of such settlement or other disposition) or, if such matter is
still pending, a statement to that effect. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.18:

                  (a) There is not in effect any order, judgment, decree,
injunction or ruling of any Governmental Authority against, relating to or
affecting any Company Party, any Subsidiary or any officer, director or employee
thereof in his or her capacity as such, enjoining, barring, suspending,
prohibiting or otherwise limiting the same from conducting or engaging in any
aspect of the businesses of such Company Party or Subsidiary, or requiring any
Company Party,

Subsidiary or Affiliated Dental Practice, or any such officer, director or
employee, to take certain action with respect to any aspect of its or their
business;

                  (b) No Company Party or Subsidiary is in default under any
order, judgment, decree, injunction or ruling of any Governmental Authority, or
is subject to or a party to any order, judgment, decree or ruling arising out of
any action, suit or proceeding under any Applicable Laws, respecting antitrust,
monopoly, restraint of trade, unfair competition or similar matters; and

                  (c) There is no action, suit, arbitration or other proceeding,
investigation or inquiry pending or, to the knowledge of the Company Parties,
threatened before any Governmental Authority which questions the validity of
this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant, the Guaranties or any other Investment
Document or any actions taken or to be taken pursuant hereto or thereto, or
which could, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect.

         3.19     TRANSACTIONS WITH AFFILIATES.

                  (a) Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.19, (i) there is no
Indebtedness owing by any Company Party to any Subsidiary or other Affiliate of
such Company Party, and (ii) there is no Indebtedness owing by any Subsidiary or
other Affiliate of any Company Party (other than another Company Party) to any
Company Party.

                  (b) Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.19, immediately
following the Closing:

                           (i) no Company Party or Subsidiary will be indebted,
         directly or indirectly, to any of its own officers or directors, the
         officers or directors of its Affiliates or to any members of the
         Immediate Families of such officers or directors, except for, in the
         case of officers, compensation payable in the ordinary course of
         business and reasonable travel advances accrued in the ordinary course
         of business consistent with past practices;

                           (ii) no officer or director of any Company Party or
         Subsidiary, and no member of their Immediate Families, will (A) be
         indebted to any Company Party or Subsidiary in any amount whatsoever or
         (B) have any direct or indirect ownership interests in any Person which
         competes, directly or indirectly, with any Company Party or Subsidiary;
         and

                           (iii) to the knowledge of the Company Parties, there
         are no voting or similar agreements between or among the shareholders
         of Parent.

                  (c) Except for the matters set forth on SCHEDULE 3.16,
SCHEDULE 3.19 and

SCHEDULE 3.35, no officer, director, Affiliate or employee of any Company Party
or Subsidiary, and no Affiliate of any of the foregoing, has any direct or
indirect interest in any contract (including, without limitation, any Material
Contract), commitment, license, agreement, obligation or arrangement to which
any Company Party or Subsidiary is a party.

                  (d) No Company Party or Subsidiary is a party to any agreement
relating to the voting or disposition of the Capital Stock of any Company Party
or any of its Subsidiaries.

                  (e) Since March 15, 1999, except as set forth on SCHEDULE
3.19, no shareholder, employee, officer, director or Affiliate of any Company
Party or Subsidiary, and no Affiliate of any such Person, has engaged in any
transaction or relationship with any Company Party or Subsidiary (other than
with respect to compensation payable to, and Benefit Plans made available to,
its officers and employees and reasonable travel advances accrued in the
ordinary course of business).

         3.20 INVESTMENT COMPANY ACT. No Company Party or Subsidiary is an
"investment company," or a company "controlled" by an "investment company,"
within the meaning of the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

         3.21 GOVERNMENTAL REGULATION. No Company Party or Subsidiary is (a) a
"holding company" or a "subsidiary company" of a "holding company," or an
"affiliate" of a "holding company" or of a "subsidiary company" of a "holding
company," within the meaning of the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935,
as amended, or (b) subject to regulations under the Federal Power Act, the
Interstate Commerce Act, any state public utilities code or any other federal or
state statute or regulation limiting its ability to incur Indebtedness.

         3.22 COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS; OPERATING LICENSES. Each Company Party and
Subsidiary, and each of the employees, agents and other representatives of the
Company Parties and the Subsidiaries in the course of performing services
therefor, is in material compliance with all Applicable Laws, including, without
limitation, those regulating the corporate practice of dentistry, fee-splitting,
kickbacks and referrals and the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977, as
amended (15 U.S.C. Section 78dd-2 ET SEQ.). Each Regulated Subsidiary is in good
standing with the Governmental Authority which licenses or otherwise regulates
its business and operations and is in material compliance with the rules and
regulations promulgated by such Governmental Authority. Each of the Company
Parties and the Subsidiaries has all material Operating Licenses required under
Applicable Laws to own their respective assets or conduct their respective
businesses as now conducted and as proposed to be conducted. All material
Operating Licenses of the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries are validly
issued and in full force and effect, and the Company Parties and the
Subsidiaries have fulfilled and performed in all material respects their
obligations with respect thereto and have full power and authority to operate
thereunder. Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.22, no Company Party is aware of
any law, rule, regulation, decree, order or position issued, enacted or
published by any Governmental Authority to the
effect that the business of the Company Parties or any aspect thereof is
unlawful or is being or will be challenged.

         3.23 TITLE TO PROPERTY; LIENS. Each Company Party and Subsidiary has
good and marketable title to its real properties (or holds valid leasehold
interests in real property) and good and merchantable title to its other
properties, and none of such properties is subject to any Liens except for Liens
in favor of the Senior Agents and the Purchaser and for other Permitted Liens.
Each of Parent and its Subsidiaries enjoys quiet possession under all real
property leases to which they are parties as lessees, and all of such leases are
valid, subsisting and in full force and effect. None of such leases contain any
provision restricting the incurrence of indebtedness by the lessee or any
unusual or burdensome provision which could reasonably be expected to have a
Material Adverse Effect.

         3.24     REAL PROPERTY.

                  (a) SCHEDULE 3.24 sets forth a true, correct and complete list
of all Real Property in which any Company Party or Subsidiary owns or holds a
fee interest, which list includes, as to each parcel of such Real Property, the
legal owner, its common name, a legal description and the name of any mortgagee
or trustee thereof.

                  (b) SCHEDULE 3.24 sets forth a true, correct and complete list
of all Real Property leases, subleases or licenses pursuant to which any Company
Party or Subsidiary is a lessor, lessee, sublessor, sublessee, licensor or
licensee, in each case as amended through the date hereof, which list includes
the street address, the identity of the lessors, lessees, sublessors,
sublessees, licensors or licensees, the term thereof (referencing applicable
extension or renewal periods, the rent payment terms and the current use). The
Real Property interests described or listed on SCHEDULE 3.24 constitute all of
the interests in Real Property owned, leased or otherwise held for use by any
Company Party or Subsidiary. With respect to each such lease, sublease and
license, except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.24:

                           (i) to the knowledge of the Company Parties, there
         are no disputes, oral agreements or forbearance programs in effect as
         to any such lease, sublease or license; and

                           (ii) no Company Party or Subsidiary has assigned,
         transferred, conveyed, mortgaged, deeded in trust or encumbered any
         interest therein.

                  (c) To the knowledge of the Company Parties, all parking lots
located on any Real Property subject thereto are in compliance with Applicable
Laws, including, without limitation, zoning requirements, and are adequate for
the employees and business operations of the Company Parties and Subsidiaries.

         3.25     ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS.  Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3.25:

                  (a) Each Environmental Person and each Site is in material
compliance with all, and no Environmental Person has any liability under, any
Environmental Laws, and no Hazardous Materials are being used by any Company
Party or Subsidiary on any Real Property in excess of a DE MINIMIS amount.

                  (b) No Release has occurred at any Site, and there are no
present or past Environmental Conditions in any way relating to any
Environmental Person, any Site or the business or operations of any
Environmental Person.

                  (c) SCHEDULE 3.25 sets forth a true, correct and complete list
of all environmental site assessments, audits, studies or reports relating to
any Environmental Condition or relating to the business, condition or operations
of all Environmental Persons. The Issuers have delivered to the Purchaser true,
correct and complete copies of all such environmental site assessments, audits,
studies or reports.

                  (d) No Environmental Person is a "potentially responsible
party" within the meaning of CERCLA with respect to any federal, state, local or
foreign environmental clean-up site or with respect to investigations or
corrective actions under any Environmental Laws.

                  (e) No Environmental Person has received notice of any
alleged, actual or potential responsibility, inquiry, investigation or
administrative or judicial proceeding regarding (i) any Release by any
Environmental Person at any Site or other location or (ii) any violation of or
non-compliance by any Environmental Person with the conditions of any License or
Permit required under any Environmental Laws or the provisions of any
Environmental Laws. No Environmental Person has received notice of any other
claim, demand or action by any Person alleging any actual or threatened injury
or damage to any Person, property, natural resources or the environment arising
from or relating to any Release, transportation or disposal of any Hazardous
Materials.

                  (f) Each Environmental Person has furnished all notices and
warnings, made all reports and has kept and maintained all records required by,
and in compliance with, all Environmental Laws, including, without limitation,
any notices and Consents required under any Environmental Laws in connection
with the consummation of the transactions contemplated by the Investment
Documents.

                  (g) To the knowledge of the Company Parties, each Affiliated
Dental Practice disposes of all bio-hazardous and other medical wastes in
compliance with Applicable Laws.

         3.26     INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY.

                  (a) Each Company Party and Subsidiary owns, licenses or
otherwise possesses legally enforceable rights to use all patents, trademarks,
trade names, service marks, copyrights, and any applications therefor,
maskworks, net lists, schematics, technology, know-how, trade secrets,
inventory, ideas, algorithms, processes, computer software programs or
applications (in both source code and object code form), tangible or intangible
proprietary information or material and other Intellectual Property that are
currently used in, or material to, its or their business (the "COMPANY PARTY
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY"). SCHEDULE 3.26 contains a true, correct and complete
list of (i) all registered patents, trademarks, trade names, service marks, and
copyrights owned, used or licensed by any Company Party or Subsidiary (excluding
any copyrights of licensed "off-the-shelf" software), (ii) the registration
number and date of registration and (iii) any applications for any of the
foregoing.

                  (b) The Issuers have provided to the Purchaser (i) all
documents, if any, relative to patents and patent applications and all
registered and unregistered trademarks, trade names and service marks,
registered and unregistered copyrights, and maskworks owned by the Company
Parties and Subsidiaries and included in the Company Party Intellectual
Property, including the jurisdictions in which each such Intellectual Property
right has been issued or registered or in which any application for such
issuance and registration has been filed, (ii) all licenses, sublicenses and
other agreements as to which any Company Party or Subsidiary is a party and
pursuant to which any person is authorized to use any Company Party Intellectual
Property, and (iii) all licenses, sublicenses and other agreements as to which
any Company Party or Subsidiary is a party and pursuant to which any Company
Party or Subsidiary is authorized to use any third party patents, trademarks or
copyrights, including any proprietary software (excluding any "off-the-shelf"
software), or any other third party Intellectual Property ("THIRD PARTY
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS") which are or are presently expected to be
incorporated in, or are or expected to form a part of any existing or proposed
Company Party or Subsidiary product or services, or which are or are presently
expected to be utilized in the development, modification or support of any
existing or proposed Company Party or Subsidiary product or services.

                  (c) To the knowledge of the Company Parties, there is no
unauthorized use, disclosure, infringement or misappropriation of any Company
Party Intellectual Property, any trade secret material to the Company Parties or
the Subsidiaries, or any Third Party Intellectual Property Right to the extent
licensed by or through any Company Party or Subsidiary, by any third party.
Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.26, no Company Party or Subsidiary has entered
into any agreement to indemnify any other Person against any charge of
infringement of any Company Party Intellectual Property, other than
indemnification provisions arising in the ordinary course of business, such as
those in purchase orders, invoices or similar sales-related documents.

                  (d) All patents, registered trademarks, service marks and
copyrights held by any Company Party or Subsidiary are validly issued and
presently subsisting. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.26, no Company Party or
Subsidiary (i) has been sued in any suit, action or
proceeding which involves a claim of infringement of any patents, trademarks,
service marks, copyrights or violation of any trade secret or other proprietary
or Intellectual Property right of any third party and (ii) has brought any
action, suit or proceeding for infringement of Company Party Intellectual
Property or breach of any license or agreement involving Company Party
Intellectual Property against any third party. To the knowledge of the Company
Parties, the provision of dental practice management and related services by the
Company Parties and the Subsidiaries as currently conducted and proposed to be
conducted does not infringe any patent, trademark, service mark, copyright,
trade secret or other proprietary right of any third party.

                  (e) The Company Parties and the Subsidiaries have taken steps
which they believe to be sufficient to protect and preserve the confidentiality
of all Company Party Intellectual Property not otherwise protected by patents,
or patent applications or copyright. All use, disclosure or appropriation by the
Company Parties and the Subsidiaries of such Intellectual Property owned by any
Company Party by or to a third party has been pursuant to written agreements
between the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries and such third party except
where the failure to do so could not reasonably be expected to result in a
Material Adverse Effect. All use, disclosure or appropriation of such
Intellectual Property not owned by any Company Party or Subsidiary has been
pursuant to written agreements between the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries
and the owner of such Intellectual Property, or is otherwise lawful.

         3.27 NATURE OF BUSINESS. The Company Parties and the Subsidiaries are
engaged only in the business described in recital A.

         3.28 POWERS OF ATTORNEY. There are no outstanding powers of attorney
with respect to the Company Parties or the Subsidiaries (or any one of them)
other than in favor of the Senior Agents under the Senior Credit Documents.

         3.29 LISTING OF COMMON STOCK. No Capital Stock or securities of any
Company Party or Subsidiary is listed for trading on any securities exchange or
on the Nasdaq, other than the Parent Common Stock which is listed for trading
solely on the Nasdaq.

         3.30 INSURANCE. SCHEDULE 3.30 sets forth a true and complete list of
all liability and other insurance coverage (including, without limitation,
product liability and product recall insurance) insuring the Company Parties and
the Subsidiaries against losses arising out of or related to their respective
businesses (which list accurately describes the coverage carried and the
expiration dates of such policies). The Company Parties and the Subsidiaries are
covered by insurance in scope and amount customary and reasonable for the
business in which they are engaged and will be so covered after consummation of
the transactions contemplated hereby. The insurance policies listed on SCHEDULE
3.30 constitute insurance protection against all liability, claims and risks
occurring in the ordinary course of business customarily included within
comprehensive liability coverage and at amounts and levels customarily
maintained for a business of this type. SCHEDULE 3.30 also sets forth all claims
made by the Company Parties and
the Subsidiaries under such policies since March 15, 1999. All such policies are
in full force and effect.

         3.31 SIGNIFICANT AFFILIATED DENTAL PRACTICES. SCHEDULE 3.31 lists the
names and addresses of the ten (10) most significant Affiliated Dental Practices
(by revenue) during the Fiscal Years ended December 31, 1998 and 1999, and the
amount of revenues accounted for by each such Affiliated Dental Practice during
each such period. No such Affiliated Dental Practice accounts for more than four
percent (4%) of the total consolidated patient level revenues of Parent and its
Subsidiaries during such years. No Company Party or Subsidiary has received any
notice, nor has any Company Party or Subsidiary any reason to believe, that any
significant dental practice of any Company Party or Subsidiary has ceased, or
will cease, to use the services of any Company Party or Subsidiary, or has
reduced, or will reduce, the use of such products or services at any time.

         3.32 AFFILIATED DENTAL PRACTICES. SCHEDULE 3.32 sets forth a true,
complete and correct list of all Affiliated Dental Practices, setting forth, as
to each such Affiliated Dental Practice, its full name, the address of its
principal executive office and its jurisdiction of incorporation or
organization. To the actual knowledge of the Company Parties at the time of
acquisition of or affiliation with each Affiliated Dental Practice and except as
otherwise set forth in the schedules to the applicable acquisition or
affiliation agreements, each such Affiliated Dental Practice: (a) was a
corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws
of its state or other jurisdiction of organization, (b) had all requisite power
and authority reasonably required to own and operate its properties and assets
and to carry on its business as conducted on the date thereof, (c) held all
licenses, permits, franchises, easements and authorizations necessary for the
lawful conduct of its dental practice pursuant to applicable statutes, laws,
ordinances, rules and regulations of all governmental bodies, agencies and other
authorities having jurisdiction over it or any part of its operations and (d)
had conducted their respective dental practices in compliance with all
applicable laws and regulations, except where the failure to hold any such
permits or to be in compliance with any applicable laws or regulations could not
reasonably be expected to result, individually or in the aggregate, in a
Material Adverse Effect.

         3.33 BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS. There exists no actual or, to the
knowledge of the Company Parties, threatened termination, cancellation or
limitation of, or any adverse modification or change in, the business
relationship between the Company Parties or any Subsidiary, on the one hand, and
any material suppliers, on the other hand, and there exists no present condition
or state of facts or circumstances known to the Company Parties which could
materially and adversely affect the Company Parties or the Subsidiaries or
prevent the Company Parties or the Subsidiaries from conducting business with
such suppliers after the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this
Agreement in substantially the same manner in which it has been heretofore
conducted.

         3.34     RESERVED.

         3.35 EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENTS. SCHEDULE 3.35 sets forth a true, correct
and complete list of all employment contracts or agreements, agency, independent
contractor and sales representative agreements involving annual compensation at
a base rate equal to or exceeding $50,000, golden parachute agreements, change
of control agreements and employee-related non-competition and non-solicitation
agreements, in each case to which any Company Party or Subsidiary is a party.
The Issuers have previously delivered true, correct and complete copies of all
such agreements, including all amendments thereto. Each such agreement is in
writing, is a valid and binding agreement enforceable against the respective
parties thereto in accordance with its terms, and no Company Party, Subsidiary
or, to the knowledge of the Company Parties, any other Person that is a party to
any such agreement is in breach of, or in default with respect to, any of its
obligations thereunder, nor is any Company Party or Subsidiary aware of any
facts or circumstances which might give rise to any breach or default thereunder
which could reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

         3.36 SOLVENCY. Each Issuer is, and the Company Parties and the
Subsidiaries taken as a whole are, Solvent, and immediately following the
Closing, each Issuer, and the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries taken as
whole, will be Solvent. No Company Party or Subsidiary will, by virtue of the
consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby and by the other Investment
Documents, incur debts that will be beyond its ability to pay as they mature. No
transfer of property is being made and no obligation is being incurred in
connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement and the other
Investment Documents with the intent to hinder, delay or defraud either present
or future creditors of the Company Parties or the Subsidiaries.

         3.37 USE OF PROCEEDS; MARGIN STOCK. The proceeds to be received by the
Issuers from the issuance and sale of the Securities as contemplated hereunder
shall be used solely for the purposes set forth in SCHEDULE 3.37 and applied in
accordance with the uses described therein. No Company Party or Subsidiary is
engaged in extending credit for the purposes of purchasing or carrying Margin
Stock. No Company Party or Subsidiary has any Margin Stock, as determined in
accordance with the Margin Regulations. None of the proceeds from the issuance
and sale of the Note will be used to buy or carry any Margin Stock.

         3.38 DEPOSITORY AND OTHER ACCOUNTS. SCHEDULE 3.38 sets forth a true,
correct and complete list of all banks, financial institutions and other
depositories at which any Company Party or Subsidiary maintains (or has caused
to be maintained) deposit accounts, spread accounts, yield supplement reserve
accounts, operating accounts, trust accounts, trust receivable accounts or other
accounts of any kind or nature into which funds of any Company Party or
Subsidiary is deposited from time to time. Such SCHEDULE 3.38 correctly
identifies the name and address of each depository, the name in which each
account is held, the purpose of the account, the account number, the contact
person at such depository and his or her telephone number. The Issuers will
notify the Purchaser and supplement SCHEDULE 3.38 as new accounts are
established
within two (2) Business Days thereof.

         3.39 YEAR 2000 COMPLIANCE. All devices, systems, machinery, information
technology, computer software and hardware and other data sensitive technology
necessary for the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries to carry on their
businesses as presently conducted and as contemplated to be conducted in the
future (individually and collectively, the "SYSTEMS") are Year 2000 Compliant.
For purposes of this Agreement, the term "YEAR 2000 COMPLIANT" shall mean that
such Systems are designed to be used prior to, during and after the Gregorian
calendar year 2000 A.D. and will operate during each such time period without
error relating to date data, specifically including any error relating to, or
the product of, date data which represents or references different centuries or
more than one century.

         3.40 BOOKS AND RECORDS. The minute books and other similar records of
each Company Party and Subsidiary contain true and complete records of all
actions taken at any meeting of the Company Party's and Subsidiary's
shareholders, Board of Directors or any committees thereof, as the case may be,
and of all written consents executed in lieu of the holding of any such meeting.
The books and records of the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries accurately
reflect in all material respects the assets, liabilities, business, financial
condition and results of operations of the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries,
as the case may be, and have been maintained in accordance with good business,
accounting and bookkeeping practices.

         3.41 BURDENSOME OBLIGATIONS; FUTURE EXPENDITURES. No Company Party or
Subsidiary is a party to or bound by any agreement, instrument, deed, lease or
other document, or is subject to any charter, bylaw or other restriction,
commitment or requirement, which, in the opinion of its management, is so
unusual or burdensome that in the foreseeable future it could have a Material
Adverse Effect. No Company Party or Subsidiary anticipates that future
expenditures, if any, by the Company Parties or the Subsidiaries, as the case
may be, needed to meet the provisions of any Applicable Laws will be so
burdensome as to have or cause, or create a material risk of having or causing,
a Material Adverse Effect.

         3.42 BROKERS; CERTAIN EXPENSES. No Company Party, Subsidiary or
Affiliate thereof has paid or is obligated to pay any fee or commission to any
broker, finder, investment banker or other intermediary, in connection with this
Agreement, any other Investment Document or any of the transactions contemplated
hereby or thereby. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3.42, no Company Party,
Subsidiary or Affiliate thereof is bound by any agreement or commitment for the
provision of investment banking or financial advisory services with respect to
any recapitalization, issuance of debt or equity securities or other capital or
financing transactions involving the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries that
would operate to restrict or prevent the Closing.

         3.43 DISCLOSURE. Neither this Agreement, the Disclosure Schedules nor
any other

Investment Document, nor any certificate, questionnaire or oral statement
furnished by or on behalf of any Company Party or Subsidiary, nor any
representation or warranty contained in any of the foregoing, whether included
in any materials provided to the Purchaser prior to the date hereof or included
in this Agreement or any other Investment Document or in any Exhibit or
Disclosure Schedule, is, or will be, untrue with respect to any material fact or
omits, or will omit, to state a material fact necessary in order to make the
statement made herein or therein, in light of the circumstances in which such
statement was made, not misleading. To the knowledge of the Company Parties,
there are no facts or circumstances existing which could have a Material Adverse
Effect. The information contained in each of the management questionnaires
completed by certain officers, directors and employees of Parent and the Issuers
prior to the date hereof and in the corporate questionnaire dated May 1, 2000,
is true and correct.

4. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE PURCHASER. The Purchaser hereby
represents and warrants to the Issuers as follows:

         4.1 ORGANIZATION. The Purchaser is a limited partnership formed and
validly existing under the laws of the State of California, and has all
requisite power and authority to enter into this Agreement and each other
Investment Document to which it is a party and to consummate the transactions
contemplated hereby and thereby.

         4.2 AUTHORIZATION. The execution, delivery and performance by the
Purchaser of this Agreement and of each of the other Investment Documents to
which the Purchaser is a party, and the consummation of the transactions
contemplated hereby and thereby, have been duly authorized by all necessary
partnership action taken on the part of the Purchaser.

         4.3 DUE EXECUTION AND DELIVERY; BINDING OBLIGATIONS. This Agreement has
been duly executed and delivered by the Purchaser. This Agreement is, and at the
time of the Closing each of the other Investment Documents to which the
Purchaser is a party will be, a legal, valid and binding obligation of the
Purchaser, enforceable against the Purchaser in accordance with its terms,
except as enforcement may be limited by bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization,
moratorium, fraudulent transfer or conveyance or similar laws relating to or
limiting creditors' rights generally or by equitable principles relating to
enforceability, and except as rights of indemnity or contribution may be limited
by federal or state securities laws or the public policy underlying such laws.

         4.4 NO VIOLATION. The execution, delivery and performance by the
Purchaser of this Agreement and each of the other Investment Documents to which
the Purchaser is a party, and the consummation of the transactions contemplated
hereby, do not violate (a) the limited partnership agreement of the Purchaser as
in effect on the date hereof, (b) any law, statute, rule or regulation
applicable to the Purchaser, (c) any order, ruling, judgment or decree of any
Governmental Authority binding on the Purchaser or (d) any material indenture,
mortgage, lease, agreement or instrument to which the Purchaser is a party.

         4.5 INVESTMENT INTENT. The Purchaser is acquiring the Securities for
its own account, for investment purposes, and not with a view to or for sale in
connection with any distribution thereof. The Purchaser understands that the
Securities have not been registered under the Securities Act or registered or
qualified under any state securities laws in reliance upon specific exemptions
therefrom, which exemptions may depend upon, among other things, the BONA FIDE
nature of the Purchaser's investment intent as expressed herein. Therefore, the
Securities are "restricted securities" which cannot be sold without registration
under the Securities Act or pursuant to an exemption therefrom, and may have to
be held indefinitely, subject, however, to the Purchaser's registration rights
under the Amended Affiliate Registration Rights Agreement, and the Purchaser
accepts the risk of such restrictions on resale.

         4.6 ACCREDITED INVESTOR STATUS. The Purchaser is an "accredited
investor" (as such term is defined in Rule 501(a) of Regulation D promulgated
under the Securities Act). By reason of its business and financial experience,
the Purchaser has such knowledge, sophistication and experience in business and
financial matters so as to be capable of evaluating the merits and risks of the
investment in the Securities, has the capacity to protect its own interests and
is able to bear the economic risk of such investment.

         4.7 PURCHASER CONSENTS. The execution and delivery by the Purchaser of
this Agreement and each of the other Investment Documents to which it is a
party, and the consummation by the Purchaser of the transactions contemplated
hereby, do not and will not require the Consent of any Governmental Authority or
any other Person, other than the California Permit and Consents that have
already been obtained or made.

         4.8 BROKERS. The Purchaser has not paid and is not obligated to pay any
fee or commission to any broker, finder, investment banker or other intermediary
in connection with this Agreement, any other Investment Document or any of the
transactions contemplated hereby or thereby.

5.       CONDUCT PRIOR TO CLOSING.

         5.1 CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PRIOR TO CLOSING. From and after the date of
this Agreement and until the Closing, the Company Parties shall, and shall cause
each Subsidiary to, operate its business in the ordinary course consistent with
past practices. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Company Parties shall not,
and shall cause the Subsidiaries not to, without the prior written consent of
the Purchaser (which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld):

                  (a) amend or otherwise modify any Material Contract on terms
less favorable than those that exist on the date hereof;

                  (b) make any change to its authorized capital stock, or amend
its charter or
bylaws;

                  (c) take or fail to take any act which could have a Material
Adverse Effect;

                  (d) enter into any new employment or consulting agreement in
excess of $250,000 per annum;

                  (e) create any Contingent Obligation, by way of guarantees or
otherwise;

                  (f) declare, pay or set aside any dividend or other
distribution or payment in cash, stock or property in respect of shares of its
Capital Stock, or adopt or consider any plan or arrangement with respect
thereto, or redeem, retire, purchase or otherwise acquire for value, directly or
indirectly, any of its Capital Stock or split, combine or reclassify outstanding
shares of its Capital Stock;

                  (g) issue or sell any shares of its Capital Stock or any
Equity Rights;

                  (h) (i) increase the level of compensation of any officer or
employee, except in the ordinary course of business or (ii) amend any existing
Benefit Plan or adopt any new Benefit Plan;

                  (i) (i) incur any Indebtedness for borrowed money (other than
under the Senior Credit Documents); (ii) transfer, lease, license, sell,
mortgage, pledge, dispose of, or encumber any asset of any Company Party with a
value exceeding $10,000 individually and $50,000 in the aggregate; (iii)
purchase or acquire any business or any securities or assets of any Other
Person; (iv) enter into any partnership, joint venture or strategic alliance;
(v) settle any litigation at a cost to any Company Party or Subsidiary in excess
of $50,000; or (vi) accelerate payment on any Indebtedness;

                  (j) acquire or affiliate with any dental practice, dental
practice management company or person engaged in the Dental Insurance Business,
whether or not it is an LLCP Permitted Acquisition;

                  (k) make any Capital Expenditures in excess of $2.0 million in
the aggregate or sell any assets (other than inventory in the ordinary course of
business consistent with past practices);

                  (l) fail to use commercially reasonable efforts to preserve
intact its business organization, to keep available the services of its
operating personnel or to preserve the goodwill of those having business
relationships with the Company Parties, including, without limitation, the
Affiliated Dental Practices;

                  (m) enter into any transactions with its or their Affiliates;

                  (n) fail to maintain its books and records in accordance with
past practices and in conformity with GAAP;

                  (o) take any action enumerated in SECTION 3.12 or which would
be prohibited by any other Investment Document determined as if the transactions
contemplated by this Agreement had been consummated; or

                  (p) take, or fail to take, any commercially reasonable action
so that any of the representations or warranties of the Company Parties
contained in this Agreement cease to be true and correct in all respects.

         The Issuers shall notify the Purchaser in writing of the occurrence of
any Material Adverse Effect or breach of the representations and warranties of
the Company Parties under this Agreement within one (1) Business Day following
the occurrence thereof.

         5.2 ACCESS TO INFORMATION AND DOCUMENTS. From and after the date of
this Agreement and until the Closing, the Issuers shall give the Purchaser and
its authorized representatives and agents full and complete access during normal
business hours and upon one (1) Business Day's prior notice to the properties,
documents, books and records of the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries, and
shall furnish the Purchaser with such information concerning the Company Parties
and the Subsidiaries as the Purchaser may request.

         5.3 NON-SOLICITATION. In consideration of the capital and other
resources (human and otherwise) committed and to be committed to the Purchaser's
due diligence investigation of the Company Parties and Affiliates, the
preparation and negotiation of this Agreement and the other Investment Documents
and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby, the
Company Parties shall not, and shall not permit any of its Affiliates,
Subsidiaries, shareholders, directors, officers, employees, attorneys,
accountants, investment bankers, representatives or agents to, directly or
indirectly, initiate contact with, make, solicit or encourage any inquiries or
proposals from, furnish any information regarding the Company Parties, their
Affiliates or their respective businesses or assets to, or engage or participate
in any discussions or negotiations with any Person with respect to any proposal
pursuant to which any Company Party would (a) obtain any debt or equity capital
(other than (i) to increase the revolving credit financing commitment of the
Senior Agents and the Senior Lenders to $120.0 million and (ii) to obtain no
greater than an additional $30.0 million of financing on terms and conditions
reasonably acceptable to the Purchaser allocated between (A) subordinated debt
financing from a financial institution and (B) equity financing, PROVIDED that
the Purchaser purchases the Note in connection with either such financing under
clauses (A) and (B) above), (b) enter into any agreement to be acquired by, sold
to, merged into or combined with any such Person. Any transaction referred to in
clauses (a) or (b) above is referred to herein as an

"ALTERNATIVE TRANSACTION." The Issuers will immediately communicate to the
Purchaser in writing the fact that it has received any proposal or inquiry
regarding an Alternative Transaction.

         5.4 COVENANT TO CLOSE. Each Company Party and the Purchaser shall use
its best efforts to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement
in accordance with the terms, and subject to the conditions, of this Agreement.
Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Company Parties shall use
their best efforts to obtain all Consents from third parties which are required
to be obtained in connection with the consummation of each of the transactions
contemplated by this Agreement, including, without limitation, any Consents of
the holders of any Indebtedness of the Company Parties to the incurrence by the
Company Parties of the Indebtedness evidenced by the Note.

6. CONDITIONS TO THE OBLIGATIONS OF THE PURCHASER. The obligations of the
Purchaser to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby, including, without
limitation, to purchase the Securities as provided herein, is subject to the
satisfaction, prior to or at the Closing, of the conditions set forth in this
SECTION 6; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that any or all of such conditions may be waived,
in whole or in part, by the Purchaser in its sole and absolute discretion:

         6.1 CLOSING DATE. The Closing Date shall occur on or before June 15,
2000.

         6.2 REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES; NO DEFAULT. Each of the
representations and warranties made by the Company Parties in this Agreement
shall be true and correct in all respects as of the date made, and shall be true
and correct in all respects as of the Closing Date, with the same effect as if
made on and as of the Closing Date (except where such representations and
warranties specifically relate to an earlier date, in which case such
representations and warranties shall be true and correct as of such earlier
date); each of the covenants, agreements and obligations of the Company Parties
under this Agreement to be performed or satisfied by it or them on or prior to
the Closing Date shall have been performed or satisfied by it or them on or
before the date hereof; and no Default or Event of Default shall exist or result
from the issuance and sale of the Securities or the other transactions
contemplated by this Agreement or the Senior Credit Agreement. The Company
Parties shall have delivered to the Purchaser an officers' certificate, signed
by the President and Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of
each Company Party, dated as of the Closing Date, to such effect and to the
effect that each of the other conditions set forth in this SECTION 6 has been
satisfied and fulfilled.

         6.3 PAYMENT OF FEES AND PURCHASER EXPENSES. The Issuers shall have paid
to the Purchaser at the Closing, in immediately available funds to a bank
account designated by the Purchaser, or the Purchaser shall have withheld the
same from such proceeds to be delivered by the Purchaser against delivery of the
Securities, (i) a non-refundable, non-accountable closing fee in the amount of
$1,315,000 and (ii) all out-of-pocket fees, costs and expenses incurred by or on
behalf of the Purchaser as provided in SECTION 8.5.

         6.4 PURCHASE PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAWS. The consummation of the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement shall not be prohibited by or
violate any Applicable Laws and shall not subject any party to any Tax, penalty
or liability, under or pursuant to any Applicable Laws, and shall not be
enjoined (temporarily or permanently) under, or prohibited by or contrary to,
any injunction, order, decree or ruling. Without limiting the generality of the
foregoing, the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby shall
otherwise comply with all applicable requirements of federal securities and
state securities or "blue sky" laws.

         6.5 NO MATERIAL ADVERSE CHANGE. No Material Adverse Change shall have
occurred since December 31, 1999, and the Company Parties shall have delivered
to the Purchaser an officers' certificate, signed by the President and Chief
Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of each Company Party, dated
as of the Closing Date, to such effect.

         6.6 NO INJUNCTION, ORDER OR SUIT; CALIFORNIA PERMIT. There shall not
have been issued any injunction, order, decree or ruling that prohibits or
limits any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the other
Investment Documents, and there shall not be any action, suit, proceeding or
investigation pending or, to the knowledge of the Company Parties, threatened
that (a) draws into question the validity, legality or enforceability of this
Agreement or the other Investment Documents or the consummation of the
transactions contemplated hereby or thereby or (b) might result, in the judgment
of the Purchaser, (i) in the imposition of a penalty if the Securities were
delivered as contemplated hereunder or (ii) in any Material Adverse Change. The
Issuers shall have obtained and delivered to the Purchaser the California Permit
which shall continue in full force and effect.

         6.7 CERTAIN PRINCIPAL DOCUMENTS. The Issuers shall have delivered to
the Purchaser the following closing documents, each dated as of the Closing
Date:

                  (a) This Agreement, duly executed by the Company Parties,
together with the Exhibits and Disclosure Schedules;

                  (b) The Note, duly executed by the Issuers;

                  (c) The Warrant, duly executed by Parent;

                  (d) A first amendment to the Affiliate Registration Rights
Agreement, in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser (the "FIRST
AMENDMENT TO AFFILIATE REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT"), duly executed by Parent
and the Requisite Holders (as such term is defined in the Affiliate Registration
Rights Agreement);

                  (e) The Investor Rights Agreement, duly executed by Parent and
each Principal Shareholder;

                  (f) The Parent Guaranty, duly executed by Parent; and

                  (g) The June 2000 LLCP Shares, duly and validly issued by
Parent.

         6.8 CONSENT OF SENIOR AGENTS. The Issuers shall have delivered to the
Purchaser a written consent, duly executed by the Senior Agents and the
Requisite Lenders (as such term is defined under the March 2000 Senior Credit
Agreement), under which the Senior Agents and the Requisite Lenders consent
under the Senior Credit Documents to the incurrence of the Indebtedness under
the Note and to the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

         6.9 SUBORDINATION RELATIONSHIPS. The Issuers shall have delivered to
the Purchaser the following agreements (collectively, the "SUBORDINATION
AGREEMENTS") with respect to certain other creditors of the Company Parties:

                  (a) The Senior Agent/LLCP Subordination Agreement, duly
executed by the Senior Administrative Agent, the Senior Lenders (as such term is
defined therein), Parent and the Issuers; and

                  (b) An Acknowledgment, Amendment and Affirmation of
Subordination, in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, duly
executed by Parent, GDSC, the "Requisite Holders" and the "Requisite Purchasers"
(as such terms are defined in the Convertible Subordinated Note Documents).

         6.10 GOVERNMENTAL APPROVALS. The Issuers shall have obtained and
delivered to the Purchaser the California Permit which shall continue in full
force and effect.

         6.11 OPINION LETTERS OF COUNSEL. The Purchaser shall have received (a)
a written opinion letter of Morrison & Foerster LLP, special counsel to the
Company Parties, dated as of the Closing Date and addressed to the Purchaser, in
form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser and its legal counsel, and (b)
a written opinion letter of Stoel Rives LLP, special counsel to the Company
Parties, dated as of the Closing Date and addressed to the Purchaser, in form
and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser and its legal counsel.

         6.12 DELIVERY OF CORPORATE DOCUMENTS. The Issuers shall have delivered
to the Purchaser the following for each Company Party and Subsidiary:

                  (a) A copy of its articles or certificate of incorporation or
constitutive documents, as amended through the Closing Date, certified as of a
recent practicable date by the Secretary of State or other appropriate official
of the state of its incorporation;

                  (b) A certificate as to the good standing (and a certificate
as to the tax good
standing, if available) from the Secretary of State or other official from the
state of its incorporation (and the taxing authority), in each case dated as of
a recent practicable date;

                  (c) A certificate as to the good standing (and a certificate
as to the tax good standing, if available) from the Secretary of State or other
official from each state in which it is qualified to do business, in each case
dated as of the most recent practicable date;

                  (d) A certificate of its Secretary, dated as of the Closing
Date and in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, certifying as to
(i) its Bylaws; (ii) the resolutions adopted by such Person's Board of Directors
authorizing the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement, the Note,
the Warrant, the Guaranties and the other Investment Documents to which it is a
party (including, without limitation and with respect to Parent, the reservation
for issuance of Parent Common Stock upon exercise of the Warrant); and (iii) the
incumbency of such Person's officers executing this Agreement, the Note and the
other Investment Documents; and

                  (e) Such other documents as the Purchaser may reasonably
request.

         6.13 SOLVENCY CERTIFICATE. The Purchaser shall have received a Solvency
Certificate, in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, duly executed
by the Co-Chairmen of Parent and the Chief Financial Officer of Parent,
certifying as to the matters set forth therein.

         6.14 COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE. The Purchaser shall have received a
Compliance Certificate signed by the Chief Financial Officer of each of the
Issuers, certifying that each of them has reviewed this Agreement and the other
Investment Documents and that, after giving effect to the incurrence of
Indebtedness hereunder and the consummation of the other transactions
contemplated hereby and thereby, Parent and its Subsidiaries were in compliance
with the covenants set forth in SECTION 10.16 (Financial Covenants) as of March
31, 2000, and including calculations demonstrating the same.

         6.15 INSURANCE. The Issuers shall have delivered to the Purchaser
certificates of liability insurance with respect to the insurance policies
required to be maintained by the Company Parties as of the Closing Date pursuant
to SECTION 9.9, together with additional insured endorsements in favor of the
Purchaser, all in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser.

         6.16 DELIVERY OF FINANCIAL PROJECTIONS. Parent shall have finalized and
delivered to the Purchaser prior to the Closing Date, and the Purchaser shall
have approved, the financial projections of Parent and its subsidiaries for the
three (3) Fiscal Years ending December 31, 2002 (the "INITIAL FINANCIAL
PROJECTIONS"). The Initial Financial Projections shall specify the assumptions
on which they are based and shall be made in good faith. The Initial Financial
Projections shall be accompanied by an officer's certificate, in form and
substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, duly executed by Michael T. Fiore,
Co-Chairman of Parent, and the Chief Financial Officer of Parent, specifying,
among other things, the assumptions on which the Initial

Financial Projections are based.

         6.17 THIRD-PARTY CONSENTS. The Issuers shall have obtained and
delivered to the Purchaser all Consents required to be obtained from all
Governmental Authorities and other Persons in connection with the transactions
contemplated by this Agreement (including, without limitation, the Consents
listed on SCHEDULE 3.6), and the Purchaser shall have approved the terms and
conditions thereof, and all applicable waiting periods shall have expired.

         6.18 CAPITAL STRUCTURE. The Purchaser shall have approved the form,
substance and scope of the legal and capital structure of the Company Parties
and Subsidiaries.

         6.19 PROCEEDINGS SATISFACTORY. All corporate and other proceedings to
be taken prior to or at the Closing in connection with the consummation of the
transactions contemplated hereby, and all papers and other documents relating
thereto, shall be in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser and its
counsel, and the Purchaser shall have received copies of such documents and
papers, all in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser and its counsel,
all such documents, where appropriate, to be counterpart originals and/or
certified by proper authorities, corporate officials and other Persons. Without
limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Issuers shall have made such
arrangements as may be requested by the Purchaser to ensure that the proceeds
from the issuance and sale of the Securities are applied in the manner set forth
in SCHEDULE 3.37, including, without limitation, provision for the direct
payment of the obligations of the Issuers to be paid from such proceeds as
provided in SECTION 8.5, the withholding of fees and expenses payable to the
Purchaser as provided in SECTION 8.5 and the segregation of funds to be paid to
third parties concurrent with or following the Closing.

7. CONDITIONS TO THE OBLIGATIONS OF THE ISSUERS AND PARENT. The obligations of
the Company Parties to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby are
subject to the satisfaction, prior to the Closing, of the conditions set forth
in this SECTION 7; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that any or all of such conditions may be
waived, in whole or in part, by the Company Parties in their sole and absolute
discretion:

         7.1 REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES. The representations and warranties
of the Purchaser contained in this Agreement shall be true and correct in all
respects at and as of the Closing Date after giving effect to the transactions
contemplated by this Agreement, as if made on and as of such date, and the
Purchaser shall have performed or satisfied all of its covenants and agreements
hereunder to be performed or satisfied on or prior to the Closing Date.

         7.2 PURCHASE PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAWS. The consummation of the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement shall not be prohibited by or
violate any Applicable Laws and shall not subject any party to any Tax, penalty
or liability, under or pursuant to any Applicable Laws, and shall not be
enjoined (temporarily or permanently) under, or prohibited by or contrary to,
any injunction, order, decree or ruling. Without limiting the generality of the
foregoing, the
consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby shall otherwise comply with
all applicable requirements of federal and state securities laws.

         7.3 NO INJUNCTION OR ORDER. There shall not have been issued any
injunction, order, decree or ruling that prohibits or limits any of the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the other Investment Documents.

         7.4 PAYMENT FOR SECURITIES. The Purchaser shall have delivered to the
Issuers the Purchase Price required to be paid by SECTION 2.3, LESS the amounts
provided for in SECTIONS 6.3 and 8.5.

8.       TAXES; INDEMNIFICATION; FEES AND EXPENSES.

         8.1      TAXES.

                  (a) Any and all payment by the Company Parties hereunder or
under the Note shall be made free and clear of, and without deduction for, any
and all present or future taxes, levies, imposts, deductions, charges or
withholdings, and all liabilities with respect thereto, EXCLUDING Taxes that are
imposed on the Purchaser's overall net income by the United States and Taxes
that are imposed on its overall net income (and franchise taxes imposed in lieu
thereof) under the laws of any state or foreign jurisdiction under which the
Purchaser is formed or any political subdivision thereof. If any Company Party
shall be required by law to deduct any such non-excluded Taxes from any sum
payable by such Company Party, (i) the amount payable shall be increased as may
be necessary so that after such Company Party and the Purchaser have made all
required deductions (including deductions applicable to additional sums payable
under this SECTION 8.1) the Purchaser receives an amount equal to the sum it
would have received had no such deductions been made, (ii) such Company Party
shall make all such deductions and (iii) such Company Party shall pay the full
amount deducted to the relevant Governmental Authority in accordance with
Applicable Law. The Company Parties shall jointly and severally indemnify and
hold harmless the Purchaser for and against the full amount of such non-excluded
Taxes, and for the full amount of Taxes of any kind imposed by any jurisdiction
on amounts payable under this SECTION 8.1, imposed on or paid by the Purchaser
and any liability (including penalties, additions to tax, interest and expenses)
arising therefrom or with respect thereto. This indemnification shall be made
within two (2) Business Days from the date the Purchaser makes written demand
therefor.

                  (b) The Issuers shall pay all present or future stamp,
documentary, excise, property, transfer and other similar Taxes (together in
each case with interest and penalties, if any) payable or determined to be
payable in connection with the execution and delivery of this Agreement, any
payment made hereunder, or the issuance and sale of the Securities and shall
hold harmless the Purchaser from and against any and all liabilities with
respect to or resulting from any delay in paying, or omission to pay, such
Taxes.

         8.2      INDEMNITY.

                  (a) Whether or not the transactions contemplated by this
Agreement are consummated, the Company Parties shall jointly and severally
indemnify, defend and save and hold harmless the Purchaser and its Affiliates,
employees, partners, officers, directors, representatives, agents, attorneys,
successors and assigns (the "INDEMNIFIED PARTIES") from and against, and shall
pay on demand, any and all losses, claims, damages, liabilities, judgments,
Indemnified Environmental Costs, expenses and costs, including, without
limitation, attorneys' fees and other fees and expenses incurred in, and the
costs of preparing for, investigating or defending any matter (collectively,
"LOSSES"), incurred by or asserted or awarded against such Indemnified Party in
connection with, by reason of, or arising from:

                           (i) Any breach of any warranty or the inaccuracy of
         any representation made by the Company Parties (or any Company Party)
         in this Agreement or any other Investment Document;

                           (ii) The failure of the Company Parties (or any
         Company Party) to fulfill any of their (or its) covenants, agreements
         or undertakings under this Agreement or any other Investment Document
         (or any other document or instrument executed herewith or pursuant
         hereto);

                           (iii) Any third party actions, suits, proceedings or
         claims brought against any Indemnified Party in connection with,
         arising out of or with respect to (i) any other matters arising out of
         or in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement,
         the Note, the Warrant or any other Investment Document, (ii) the
         business, operations or affairs of the Company Parties or Subsidiaries
         (including, without limitation, any litigation in which any Company
         Party is involved) or (iii) the lawsuit entitled IN RE INTERDENT, INC.
         STOCKHOLDERS LITIGATION, filed and currently pending in the Court of
         Chancery in the State of Delaware in and for New Castle County
         (Consolidated Civil Action No. 17496-NC), and any and all actions,
         suits and other proceedings consolidated therewith, related thereto or
         otherwise arising out of the same set of facts and circumstances or
         gravamen (whether pending in any other court in the State of Delaware
         or any court or other forum in any other state or jurisdiction); or

                           (iv) The actual or alleged presence of Hazardous
         Materials on any property of any Company Party or any Environmental
         Condition.

                  (b) The Company Parties shall either pay directly all Losses
which they are required to pay hereunder or reimburse any Indemnified Party
within ten (10) days after any request for such payment. The obligations of the
Company Parties to the Indemnified Parties under this SECTION 8 shall be
separate obligations to each Indemnified Party, and the liability of
the Company Parties to such Indemnified Parties hereunder shall not be
extinguished solely because any Indemnified Party is not entitled to indemnity
hereunder.

                  (c) The obligations of the Company Parties to the Indemnified
Parties under this SECTION 8 shall survive (i) the repayment of the Note
(whether at maturity, by prepayment or acceleration or otherwise), (ii) any
transfer of the Note or any interest therein, (iii) the termination of this
Agreement or any other Investment Document and (iv) the issuance, exercise,
assignment and/or sale of the Warrant (or any interest therein) or the sale of
the Warrant Shares.

         8.3 INDEMNIFICATION PROCEDURES. Any Person entitled to indemnification
under this SECTION 8 shall (a) give prompt written notice to the Issuers of any
claim with respect to which it is entitled to seek indemnification and (b)
permit the Issuers to assume the defense of such claim with counsel selected by
them and reasonably acceptable to such Person; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that any
Person entitled to indemnification hereunder shall have the right to employ
separate counsel and to participate in the defense of such claim and the fees
and expenses of such counsel shall be at the expense of such Person, UNLESS (i)
the Issuers have agreed to pay such fees or expenses; (ii) the Issuers have
failed to notify such Person in writing within ten (10) days of its or their
receipt of written notice from such Person that they will assume the defense of
such claim and employ counsel reasonably acceptable to such Person; or (iii) in
the judgment of any such Person, a conflict of interest exists between such
Person, on the one hand, and any Company Party, on the other hand, with respect
to such claims (in which case, if the Person notifies the Issuers in writing
that such Person elects to employ separate counsel at the expense of the
Issuers, the Issuers shall not have the right to assume the defense of such
claim on behalf of such Person). The Issuers will not be subject to any
liability for any settlement made without their consent (but such consent may
not be unreasonably withheld). No Indemnified Party may, without the consent of
the Issuers (which consent will not be unreasonably withheld), consent to the
entry of any judgment or enter into any settlement which does not include as an
unconditional term thereof the giving by the claimant or plaintiff to the
Issuers of a release from all liability in respect of such claim or litigation.

         8.4 CONTRIBUTION. If the indemnification provided for in this SECTION 8
is unavailable to the Purchaser or any other Indemnified Party in respect of any
Losses, then the Company Parties, in lieu of indemnifying such Indemnified
Party, shall contribute to the amount paid or payable by the Indemnified Party
as a result of such Losses, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the
relative fault of the Company Parties, on the one hand, and such Indemnified
Party, on the other hand, in connection with the actions, statements or
omissions which resulted in such Losses, as well as any other relevant equitable
considerations. The relative fault of the Company Parties, on the one hand, and
such Indemnified Party, on the other hand, shall be determined by reference to,
among other things, whether any action in question, including any untrue or
alleged untrue statement of a material fact or omission or alleged omission to
state a material fact, has been taken by, or relates to information supplied by,
either any Company Party or such Indemnified Party, and the parties' relative
intent, knowledge, access to information and
opportunity to correct or prevent any such action, statement or omission. The
parties agree that it would not be just and equitable if contribution pursuant
to this SECTION 8.4 were determined by PRO RATA allocation or by any other
method of allocation which does not take account of the equitable considerations
referred to above. No Person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the
meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to
contribution from any Person who was not guilty of such fraudulent
misrepresentation.

         8.5 REIMBURSEMENT OF DEAL-RELATED COSTS AND EXPENSES. Notwithstanding
anything to the contrary contained herein or otherwise, whether or not the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement are consummated or this Agreement is
terminated for any reason, and in addition to all other amounts due or owing to
the Purchaser hereunder, under any other Investment Document or otherwise, the
Company Parties shall be jointly and severally responsible, and jointly and
severally agree to promptly reimburse the Purchaser, for all costs and expenses
of every type and nature (including, without limitation, all fees and expenses
of counsel, accounting fees and expenses and other deal-related costs and
expenses) incurred by or on behalf of the Purchaser, in connection with the
Purchaser's due diligence investigation of the Company Parties and their
Affiliates, the preparation, negotiation, execution, delivery and enforcement of
this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant and the other Investment Documents and the
consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby (which costs
and expenses may be withheld by the Purchaser from the proceeds to be delivered
by the Purchaser at the Closing pursuant to SECTION 7.4). At the Purchaser's
request and direction, the Company Parties shall reimburse third party providers
of the Purchaser directly for all of such costs and expenses. In addition, the
Company Parties shall jointly and severally pay to the Purchaser such fees,
costs and expenses at the Closing, if the Closing occurs, or within two (2)
Business Days of any written demand therefor by the Purchaser, if the Closing
shall not occur for any reason whatsoever.

         8.6 COSTS AND EXPENSES. The Company Parties jointly and severally agree
to pay to the Purchaser on demand all costs and expenses of every type and
nature (including, without limitation, all fees and expenses of attorneys,
accountants and other experts and all due diligence, collateral review,
appraisal, search, filing and recording fees and expenses) which are expended or
incurred by or on behalf of the Purchaser in connection with (a) the
administration of the Investment Documents and the collection and enforcement of
the Obligations, whether or not any action, suit or other proceeding is
commenced; (b) any actions for declaratory relief in any way related to the
Obligations; (c) the protection or preservation of any rights, powers or
remedies of the Purchaser under this Agreement or any other Investment Document;
(d) any actions taken by the Purchaser in negotiating any amendment, waiver,
consent or release of or under this Agreement, the Note or any other Investment
Document; (e) if the Purchaser believes that a Default or Event of Default has
occurred or is likely to occur, any actions taken in reviewing the Company
Parties' financial affairs, which actions shall include, but not be limited to,
(i) inspecting the facilities of any Company Party or any of its Affiliates or
conducting audits or appraisals of the financial condition of any Company Party
or any of its Affiliates; (ii) having an accounting or other firm selected by
the Purchaser review the books and records of any Company

Party and perform a thorough and complete examination thereof; (iii)
interviewing the Company Parties' employees, attorneys, accountants, customers
and any other Persons related to the Company Parties which the Purchaser
believes may have relevant information concerning the business, condition
(financial or otherwise), results of operations or prospects of any of the
Company Parties; and (iv) undertaking any other action which the Purchaser
believes is necessary to assess accurately the financial condition and prospects
of the Company Parties; (f) any refinancing, restructuring (whether in the
nature of a "work out" or otherwise), bankruptcy or insolvency proceeding
involving any Company Party or any of its Affiliates, including, without
limitation, any refinancing or restructuring of this Agreement, the Note or any
other Investment Documents; (g) any actions taken to verify, maintain, perfect
and protect any Lien granted to the Purchaser by any Company Party or any other
Person under the Investment Documents; (h) any effort by the Purchaser to
protect, assemble, complete, collect, sell, liquidate or otherwise dispose of
any collateral, including in connection with any case under Bankruptcy Laws; or
(i) having counsel advise the Purchaser as to its rights and responsibilities,
the perfection, protection or preservation of rights or interests under the
Investment Documents, with respect to negotiations with any Company Party or
with other creditors of any Company Party or with respect to any proceeding
under any Bankruptcy Law. The Company Parties hereby consent to the taking of
the foregoing actions by the Purchaser without condition or restriction.

9. AFFIRMATIVE COVENANTS. The Company Parties jointly and severally covenant and
agree that, except as provided in SECTION 9.22, so long as any Obligations under
the Note remain outstanding or the Purchaser owns or holds, or has the right to
acquire, directly or indirectly, at least 1,000,000 shares of Parent Common
Stock, they shall perform, comply with and observe each of the covenants set
forth in this SECTION 9, as applicable.

         9.1 PAYMENT OF NOTE AND OTHER OBLIGATIONS. The Company Parties shall
fully and timely pay all Obligations owing pursuant to the terms of this
Agreement, the Note (including, without limitation, all principal thereof,
premium, if any, and interest thereon), the Warrant, the Guaranties and the
other Investment Documents, in each case on the dates and in the manner provided
for herein and therein.

         9.2 PERFORMANCE OF INVESTMENT DOCUMENTS. The Company Parties shall, and
shall cause the Subsidiaries to, perform, comply with and observe all of their
obligations under this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant and each other
Investment Document to which they are a party.

         9.3 INFORMATION REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. The Issuers shall furnish to
the Purchaser:

                  (a) Within 105 days after the end of each Fiscal Year, (i)
consolidated balance sheets and consolidated income statements showing the
financial condition of Parent and its subsidiaries as of the close of such
Fiscal Year and the results of their operations during such year, (ii) a
consolidated statement of shareholders' equity and a consolidated statement of
cash
flows, as of the close of such Fiscal Year, comparing such financial condition
and results of operations to such financial condition and results of operations
for the comparable period during the immediately preceding Fiscal Year, all the
foregoing financial statements to be audited by independent public accountants
acceptable to the Senior Administrative Agent (which report shall not contain
any qualification except with respect to new accounting principles mandated by
the Financial Accounting Standards Board) and to be in form and substance
acceptable to the Senior Administrative Agent, (iii) consolidating income
statements by market place as of the close of such Fiscal Year, such
consolidating income statements to be in form and substance acceptable to the
Senior Agents and (iv) consolidating balance sheets, income statements and
statements of cash flows showing the financial condition of Parent, GDSC and DCA
as of the close of such Fiscal Year and the results of such Person's operations
during such Fiscal Year, comparing such financial condition and results of
operations to such financial condition and results of operations for the
comparable period during the immediately preceding Fiscal Year, in the case of
clauses (iii) and (iv), prepared and certified by the Chief Financial Officers
of the Issuers as having been prepared in accordance with GAAP and, with respect
to clause (iv), as presenting fairly the financial condition and results of
operations of the applicable Person;

                  (b) Within 45 days after the end of each Fiscal Quarter of
Parent, (i) unaudited consolidated balance sheets and consolidated income
statements showing the financial condition and results of operations of Parent
and its subsidiaries as of the end of each such Fiscal Quarter, (ii) a
consolidated statement of shareholders' equity, (iii) a consolidated statement
of cash flows, in each case for the Fiscal Quarter just ended and for the period
commencing at the end of the immediately preceding Fiscal Year and ending with
the last day of such Fiscal Quarter, and comparing such financial condition and
results of operations to the projections for the applicable period provided
under clause (g) below and to the results for the comparable period during the
immediately preceding Fiscal Year, (iv) consolidating income statements by
market place as of the end of each such Fiscal Quarter, such consolidating
income statements to be in form and substance acceptable to the Senior Agents
and shall reconcile with the consolidated income statements delivered pursuant
to clause (i) of this clause (b) and (v) "same practice" performance comparative
information in form and substance satisfactory to the Senior Administrative
Agent;

                  (c) Within (x) 30 days after the end of each month other than
for any month coinciding with the end of a Fiscal Quarter and (y) within 45 days
after the end of each month coinciding with the end of a Fiscal Quarter, (i)
unaudited consolidated balance sheets and income statements showing the
financial condition and results of operations of Parent and its subsidiaries as
of the end of each such month, (ii) a consolidated statement of shareholders'
equity, (iii) a consolidated statement of cash flows, in each case for the month
just ended and for the period commencing at the end of the immediately preceding
Fiscal Year and ending with the last day of such month, and comparing such
financial condition and results of operations to the projections for the
applicable period provided under clause (g) below and to the results for the
comparable period during the immediately preceding Fiscal Year and (iv) income
statements by market place as of the end of each such month, such financial
statements to be in form and substance
satisfactory to the Senior Agents, in each case prepared and certified by the
Chief Financial Officer of the Issuers as presenting fairly the financial
condition and results of operations of Parent and its subsidiaries and as having
been prepared in accordance with GAAP, in each case subject to the absence of
footnotes and normal year-end audit adjustments;

                  (d) Promptly after the same become publicly available (but not
later than five (5) days thereafter), copies of such registration statements,
annual, periodic and other reports, and such proxy statements and other
information, if any, as shall be filed by Parent or any of its subsidiaries with
the Commission pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Act or the
Exchange Act;

                  (e) Simultaneously with the delivery of the financial
statements required to be delivered to the Purchaser under clauses (a) and (b)
of this SECTION 9.3, (i) a Compliance Certificate, in substantially the form of
EXHIBIT C (a "COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE"), executed by the Chief Financial Officer
of each of the Issuers and Parent, certifying that, to the best of his or her
knowledge, no Default or Event of Default has occurred (including (A)
calculations demonstrating compliance, as of the dates of the financial
statements being delivered, with the financial covenants set forth in SECTION
10.16 and (B) appropriate schedules as may be requested by the Purchaser in
support of such calculations) and, if such a Default or Event of Default has
occurred, specifying the nature and extent thereof and any corrective action
taken or proposed to be taken with respect thereto, and (ii) an update to the
organizational chart for Parent and its subsidiaries, evidencing any
acquisitions made during the applicable period;

                  (f) Concurrently with any delivery under clause (a) above, any
related management letters prepared by the independent public accountants who
reported on the financial statements delivered thereunder, with respect to the
internal audit and financial controls of Parent or any of its subsidiaries;

                  (g) Within 30 days after the beginning of each Fiscal Year, a
summary of business plans and financial operation projections (including,
without limitation, with respect to Capital Expenditures) for the Issuers and
their respective subsidiaries for such Fiscal Year (including monthly balance
sheets, statements of income and of cash flow) and annual projections through
the final maturity date of the Note prepared by management and in form,
substance and detail (including, without limitation, principal assumptions)
satisfactory to the Senior Administrative Agent;

                  (h) As soon as practicable (but not later than five (5) days
after availability), copies of all reports, forms, filings, loan documents and
financial information submitted to or received from any Governmental Authorities
and/or Parent's shareholders;

                  (i) As soon as possible (and in any event within two (2)
Business Days) after any Company Party or Subsidiary obtains knowledge thereof,
written notice of the occurrence of
any event, act, development or condition which constitutes a Default or Event of
Default or any "default" or "event of default" under the terms of any Other Debt
Documents (including, without limitation, the Senior Credit Documents),
specifying the nature and extent thereof and the action (if any) which is
proposed to be taken with respect thereto;

                  (j) Within thirty (30) days of the closing of any Permitted
Acquisition, copies of all documents related thereto and which were not
previously required to be delivered to the Purchaser pursuant to the terms of
this Agreement;

                  (k) Promptly (but not later than three (3) days thereafter),
written notice of:

                           (i) the issuance by any Governmental Authority of any
         injunction, order, decision or other restraint invalidating, or having
         the effect of invalidating, any provision of this Agreement, the Note
         or the other Investment Documents, or the filing or commencement of any
         action, suit or other proceeding seeking any such injunction, order,
         decision or other restraint;

                           (ii) the filing or commencement of any action, suit
         or other proceeding against Parent or any of its subsidiaries or, to
         the extent known by an Executive Officer of any Issuer, against any
         Affiliated Dental Practice, whether at law or in equity or by or before
         any Governmental Authority, (i) which is material and is brought by or
         on behalf of any Governmental Authority, or in which injunctive or
         other equitable relief is sought or (ii) as to which it is probable
         (within the meaning of Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No.
         5) that there will be an adverse determination and which, if adversely
         determined, would (A) reasonably be expected to result in liability of
         one or more Issuers or a subsidiary thereof or an Affiliated Dental
         Practice in an aggregate amount of $200,000 or more, not reimbursable
         by insurance or (B) materially impair the right of Parent, any Issuer
         or a subsidiary thereof to perform its obligations under this
         Agreement, the Note or any other Investment Document to which it is a
         party; and

                           (iii) any occurrence or development in the business
         or affairs of Parent or any of its subsidiaries which has had or which
         is reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect;

                  (l) Within forty-five (45) days after the end of each Fiscal
Quarter of Parent:

                           (i) a detailed analysis of loans and advances made to
         Affiliated Dental Practices during such Fiscal Quarter, by Affiliated
         Dental Practice, including the total amount of loans and advances to
         Affiliated Dental Practices outstanding as at the end of such Fiscal
         Quarter;

                           (ii) a "same store sales" analysis in reasonable
         detail, for each

         Affiliated Dental Practice, as of the end of such Fiscal Quarter; and

                           (iii) such additional information regarding the
         financial performance (including, without limitation, revenues,
         expenses and capital expenditures) of the Affiliated Dental Practices
         as the Issuers and the Purchaser may mutually agree;

                  (m) Promptly (but not later than three (3) Business Days)
after receipt of any Governmental Report, or series of Governmental Reports, a
copy (or copies) of such Governmental Report(s) (or written summaries of any
substantially similar oral Governmental Report);

                  (n) Promptly after the release thereof (and in any event not
later than one (1) Business Days thereafter), copies of all press releases;

                  (o) Promptly after any Company Party or Subsidiary has
knowledge or becomes aware thereof (and in any event not later than three (3)
Business Days thereafter), written notice of the occurrence of any Event of Loss
with respect to the property or assets of any Company Party or Subsidiary
aggregating $100,000 or more;

                  (p) Prompt written notice, in reasonable detail, of any
proposed creation, incorporation or acquisition of any Company Party or
Subsidiary in connection with any Permitted Acquisition which involves a
purchase price of $5,000,000 or more;

                  (q) Prompt written notice of all actions, suits and
proceedings before any Governmental Authority or arbitrator pending, or to the
best of the Company Parties' knowledge, threatened against or affecting any
Company Party or Subsidiary which (A) if adversely determined would involve an
aggregate liability of $100,000 (or its equivalent in another currency) or more,
or (B) otherwise may have a Material Adverse Effect;

                  (r) Within ten (10) days of the date thereof, notice of any
material change in accounting policies or financial reporting practices by any
Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (s) Promptly after the occurrence thereof (and in any event
not later than three (3) Business Days thereafter), notice of any labor
controversy resulting in or threatening to result in any strike, work stoppage,
boycott, shutdown or other material labor disruption against or involving any
Company Party or Subsidiary;

                  (t) Promptly upon request (and in any event not later than
three (3) Business Days thereafter), such other notices and other information
(whether or not in the possession of third parties) concerning the business,
operations, condition (financial or otherwise), affairs or prospects of Parent
and its Subsidiaries and Affiliates as the Purchaser may from time to time
request, including, without limitation, written notices of any issuances or
sales of Parent

Common Stock.

         9.4 COMPANY SEC DOCUMENTS. So long as Parent has securities registered
pursuant to Section 12 of the Exchange Act or is subject to the reporting
requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act, Parent shall timely
file with the Commission, and provide to the Purchaser concurrently therewith,
all Company SEC Documents as are specified in the Exchange Act as being required
to be filed by U.S. corporations that are subject to reporting requirements of
the Exchange Act. In addition, Parent shall timely file with the Nasdaq, and
provide to the Purchaser concurrently therewith, all Company SEC Documents
required to be filed therewith. Each Company SEC Document to be filed by Parent,
when filed with the Commission or the Nasdaq, as the case may be, will comply
with all applicable requirements of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or the
Nasdaq rules, as the case may be, and will not contain any untrue statement of a
material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or
necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances
under which they were made, not misleading. The financial statements to be
included in each Company SEC Document to be filed by Parent will comply as to
form, as of the date of its filing with the Commission, with applicable
accounting requirements and the published rules and regulations of the
Commission with respect thereto, will be prepared in accordance with GAAP
(except, in the case of unaudited statements, as permitted by the Commission)
and will fairly present in all material respects the consolidated financial
position of Parent and its Subsidiaries as of the dates thereof and the
consolidated results of their operations and cash flows for the periods then
ended (subject, in the case of unaudited statements, to normal year-end audit
adjustments consistent with past practices and consistently applied).

         9.5 COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS; CONSENTS. The Company Parties shall, and
shall cause the Subsidiaries to, comply at all times in all material respects
with all Applicable Laws (including, without limitation, all DMO Regulations)
and governmental orders relating to public and employee health and safety and
all Environmental Laws) in respect of the conduct of its or their businesses and
the ownership of its or their properties in the states or other jurisdictions in
which it or they conduct their respective businesses, except to the extent that
non-compliance could not have a Material Adverse Effect. The Company Parties
shall obtain and maintain all Consents necessary in connection with the
execution, delivery and performance of the Investment Documents, the
consummation of the transactions therein contemplated and the conduct of their
business and the ownership of its properties and the properties of the
Subsidiaries.

         9.6 LEGAL EXISTENCE. The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the
Subsidiaries to, at all times do or cause to be done all things necessary to (a)
maintain and preserve their existence and their material rights and privileges,
(b) become or remain duly qualified and in good standing in each jurisdiction in
which the character of the properties owned or leased by them or in which the
transaction of their business makes such qualification necessary, except where
the failure to be so qualified could not have a Material Adverse Effect and (c)
preserve,
renew and keep in full force and effect all of their Operating Licenses, except
where the failure to maintain such Operating Licenses could not have a Material
Adverse Effect.

         9.7 BOOKS AND RECORDS; INSPECTIONS. The Company Parties shall, and
shall cause the Subsidiaries to, maintain proper books of record and account in
which full, true and complete entries in conformity with GAAP and all
requirements of Applicable Laws shall be made of all material dealings and
transactions in relation to their business and activities. The Company Parties
shall permit the designated representatives and/or agents of the Purchaser to
visit and inspect any of the properties of the Company Parties and their
Subsidiaries, and to examine and make copies of, and abstracts from, the books
of record and account of the Company Parties and their Subsidiaries and, without
placing any conditions on the same, to discuss the affairs, finances and
accounts of the Company Parties and their Subsidiaries with, and be advised as
to the same by, its officers, employees, attorneys and independent accountants,
all during normal business hours and at such reasonable times and to such extent
as the Purchaser may request (and in any event as soon as practicable (and not
later than three (3) Business Days) thereafter).

         9.8 MAINTENANCE OF PROPERTIES. The Company Parties shall, and shall
cause the Subsidiaries to, maintain and preserve all of their properties which
are necessary or otherwise material in the conduct of their business in good
working order and condition, ordinary wear and tear excepted, and comply at all
times with the provisions of all material personal property leases to which each
of them is a party as lessee or under which each of them occupies property, so
as to prevent any loss or forfeiture thereof or thereunder. The Company Parties
shall, and shall cause the Subsidiaries to, (a) make all payments and otherwise
perform their material obligations under all leases of Real Property, and all
leases of material personal property, to which any Company Party or Subsidiary
is a party, (b) keep all such leases in full force and effect and not permit any
of such leases entered into outside of the ordinary course of business to
expire, lapse or be terminated, (c) promptly notify the Purchaser of any default
by any party thereto and cooperate with the Purchaser in all respects to cure
any such default. The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the Subsidiaries
to, pay and discharge each lawful claim which, if unpaid, would by law become a
Lien (other than a Customary Permitted Lien) upon their properties.

         9.9      INSURANCE.

                  (a) The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the
Subsidiaries to, maintain with financially sound and reputable insurers policies
of insurance, coverage amounts and related terms and conditions normally
maintained by companies engaged in the same or similar business as the Company
Parties and their Subsidiaries against loss or damage and such other policies of
insurance and coverage amount as may be reasonably requested by the Purchaser.
Such insurance shall include, without limitation, comprehensive general
liability, fire and extended coverage, property damage, workers' compensation,
business interruption insurance (either for loss of revenues or for additional
expenses) and directors and officers liability insurance as provided in the
Investor Rights Agreement. In addition, the Company Parties shall cause each

Affiliated Dental Practice to maintain such medical malpractice insurance as is
customary for similar dental practices and maintain such other insurance as may
be reasonably requested by the Purchaser. All insurance covering liability of
the Company Parties or any Subsidiary shall name the Purchaser as an additional
insured.

                  (b) The Issuers shall procure from financially sound and
reputable insurers acceptable to the Purchaser within ninety (90) days after the
Closing, and maintain until the Obligations have been indefeasibly paid in full,
key man life insurance policies on the lives of each of Michael T. Fiore and
Steven R. Matzkin, D.D.S. in a coverage amount of $5.0 million ($10.0 million in
the aggregate). Each such policy shall provide that the full amount of insurance
proceeds shall be payable to the Issuers.

                  (c) Each of the insurance policies required to be maintained
under this SECTION 9.9 shall provide for at least thirty (30) days' prior
written notice to the Purchaser of the cancellation or substantial modification
thereof. Receipt of such notice shall entitle the Purchaser to renew any such
policies, cause the coverages and amounts thereof to be maintained at levels
required pursuant to the first sentence of this SECTION 9.9 or otherwise to
obtain similar insurance in place of such policies, in each case at the expense
of the Issuers.

         9.10 TAXES. The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the Subsidiaries
to, pay and discharge promptly when due all Taxes imposed upon them or any of
its or their properties or in respect of any of their franchises, business,
income or property before any penalty shall be incurred with respect to such
Taxes; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company Parties and the Subsidiaries need not
pay or discharge any such Tax so long as (a) the validity or amount thereof is
being contested in good faith and by appropriate proceedings, (b) such Person's
outside Tax counsel shall have advised it in writing that it has a reasonable
legal basis for contesting the validity or amount of such Tax and (c) reserves
as may be required by GAAP shall have been made therefor.

         9.11     ERISA MATTERS.

                  (a) The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the
Subsidiaries to, cause each Benefit Plan to be operated in compliance with the
terms of such Benefit Plan and Applicable Law and shall pay and discharge
promptly any liability imposed upon it or them pursuant to the provisions of
such Benefit Plan and Applicable Law; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that no Company Party
or Subsidiary shall be required to pay any such liability if (i) the amount,
applicability, or validity thereof shall be diligently contested in good faith
by appropriate proceedings and (ii) such Person shall have set aside on its
books reserves which, in the good faith judgment of the Board of Directors of
such Person, are adequate with respect thereto.

                  (b) The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the
Subsidiaries to, deliver to the Purchaser promptly, but in no event more than
five (5) Business Days after any officer of any

Company Party or Subsidiary obtains knowledge of (i) the Internal Revenue
Service's (A) revocation of the tax-qualified status of any Benefit Plan that is
a tax-qualified retirement plan, (B) imposition of an excise tax upon the
occurrence of a "prohibited transaction" as such term is defined in Section 4975
of the Code, or (C) disallowance of a deduction (in whole or in part) for a
contribution to a Benefit Plan, (ii) the institution of a lawsuit against a
Benefit Plan (or a Fiduciary of such plan), or (iii) the United States
Department of Labor's imposition of a penalty under Section 502 of ERISA
relating to a Benefit Plan, a written notice specifying the nature of such
action, what action has been taken, is being taken, or is proposed to be taken
with respect thereto, and a copy of any correspondence or other documentation
relating to the matter.

         9.12 COMMUNICATION WITH ACCOUNTANTS. The Company Parties hereby
authorize the Purchaser to communicate directly with the Company Parties'
independent certified public accountants and instruct such accountants to
disclose to the Purchaser any and all financial statements and other supporting
financial documents, workpapers and schedules as the Purchaser may request,
without any restrictions being placed on such communications.

         9.13 COMPLIANCE WITH MATERIAL CONTRACTS. The Company Parties shall, and
shall cause the Subsidiaries to, (a) perform, comply with and observe all terms
and provisions of each Material Contract to be performed, complied with or
observed by it or them, (b) subject to SECTION 10.11(d), maintain each Material
Contract in full force and effect and (c) enforce each Material Contract in
accordance with its terms. The Company Parties shall, and shall cause the
Subsidiaries to, promptly make such demands or requests for information from
each other party to any Material Contract, and take action against each other
party to any Material Contract, as the Purchaser may request and, in connection
with the enforcement of any rights or remedies of any Company Party or
Subsidiary under any employment agreement, non-competition, non-solicitation
and/or confidentiality agreement or similar agreement to which they are a party,
respectively, in the event the Purchaser requests that such Company Party or
Subsidiary file any action, suit or other proceeding seeking injunctive or other
equitable relief against such other party, such Company Party shall do so within
three (3) Business Days of its receipt of such request.

         9.14     ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS.

                  (a) The Company Parties shall, and shall use their
commercially reasonable efforts to cause all tenants and other Persons who may
come upon any Real Property to comply, with all Environmental Laws, including
those requiring disclosures to prospective and actual buyers or tenants of all
or any portion of the Real Property. The Company Parties shall not, and shall
not permit the Subsidiaries to, install or allow to be installed any underground
storage tanks on any Real Property.

                  (b) The Issuers shall each promptly (and in any event within
five (5) Business Days) notify the Purchaser in writing (i) if any of them
knows, suspects or believes there may be
any Hazardous Materials in or around any part of the Real Property, any
improvements constructed on the Real Property, or the soil, groundwater or soil
vapor on or under the Real Property, or that any Company Party or the Real
Property may be subject to any threatened or pending investigation by any
Governmental Authority under any Applicable Laws pertaining to any Hazardous
Materials, and (ii) of any claim made or threatened by any Person arising out of
or resulting from any Hazardous Materials being present or released in, on or
around any part of the Real Property, any improvements constructed on the Real
Property or the soil, groundwater or soil vapor on or under the Real Property
(any of the matters described in clauses (i) and (ii) above being referred to as
a "HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CLAIM").

                  (c) The Purchaser shall have the right, during normal business
hours, to enter and visit any Real Property for the purposes of observing the
Real Property, taking and removing soil or groundwater samples and conducting
tests on any part of the Real Property but to do so in such a manner as not to
materially interfere with the business of any Company Party, if the Purchaser
reasonably believes that Hazardous Materials may be present on the Real
Property, all at the cost and expense of the Company Parties; PROVIDED, HOWEVER,
that the Purchaser shall not have any duty to visit or observe the Real Property
or to conduct tests, and no site visit, observation or testing by the Purchaser
shall impose any liability on the Purchaser. The Company Parties shall use their
reasonable efforts to obtain all Consents necessary, if any, for the Purchaser
to do any of the same. In no event will any site visit, observation or testing
by the Purchaser be a representation that Hazardous Materials are or are not
present in, on or under the Real Property, or that there has been or will be
compliance with any Environmental Law. Neither the Company Parties, the
Subsidiaries nor any other Person shall be entitled to rely on any site visit,
observation or testing by the Purchaser. The Purchaser owes no duty of care to
protect the Company Parties or any other Person against or to inform the Company
Parties or any other Person of the presence of any Hazardous Materials or any
other adverse condition affecting the Real Property, except that the Purchaser
shall repair any damage to Real Property caused by or on behalf of the Purchaser
in connection with any inspection by the Purchaser of such Real Property. The
Purchaser shall use its reasonable efforts to avoid interfering with the
existing use of the Real Property by the Company Parties in exercising any
rights provided in this SECTION 9.14.

                  (d) The Company Parties shall, and shall cause each of their
Subsidiaries to, promptly undertake any and all remedial work in response to
Hazardous Materials Claims to the extent required by any Governmental Authority
involved or as recommended by prudent business practices, if such standard
requires a higher degree of remediation, and in all events to minimize any
impairment to the Real Property.

         9.15 ADDITIONAL COMPANY PARTIES. The Issuers shall cause any direct or
indirect Subsidiary of any Company Party formed, created or acquired at any time
after the Closing to execute and deliver to the Purchaser promptly (and in any
event within three (3) days after such formation, creation or acquisition) (a) a
joinder to the Subsidiary Guaranty, in form and
substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, pursuant to which such Subsidiary would
become a Subsidiary Guarantor and (b) such additional agreements, instruments,
approvals and documents, and legal opinions, as the Purchaser may reasonably
request to effect the intent that such Subsidiary shall become bound by all of
the covenants and agreements contained in this Agreement and the other
Investment Documents.

         9.16 NASDAQ LISTING. Parent shall maintain at all times the listing of
the Parent Common Stock on the Nasdaq (or on a national securities exchange
acceptable to Parent); PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that Parent shall not be obligated to
comply with this SECTION 9.16 following the occurrence of any Change in Control
described in clause (i) or (iii) of the definition thereof if Parent obtains a
customary fairness opinion with respect to such Change in Control transaction
from an investment banking firm of recognized national standing.

         9.17     SUBORDINATION OF ACQUISITION NOTES; NEW ACQUISITION NOTES.

                  (a) The Company Parties shall use their respective best
efforts to obtain and deliver to the Purchaser, within one hundred twenty (120)
days after the Closing Date, at the Company Parties' sole cost and expense
(PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company Parties shall not be required to incur more
than $50,000 of costs and expenses in using their best efforts), for each
Acquisition Note outstanding as of the date hereof, a subordination agreement,
in form and substance satisfactory to the Purchaser, duly executed by the
applicable Company Party or Subsidiary and each payee or holder of such
Acquisition Note, pursuant to which such payee or holder agrees substantially
that the obligations evidenced by such Acquisition Note shall be expressly
subordinate and junior in right of payment to all principal amounts of, and
accrued interest on (including, without limitation, any interest that accrues
after the commencement of any case, proceeding or other action relating to the
bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization of the applicable Company Party or
Subsidiary), the Note this Agreement or any instrument or agreement relating
thereto or hereto to which the applicable Company Party or Subsidiary is a party
with the Purchaser, or other indebtedness, obligation or liability of the
applicable Company Party or Subsidiary under this Agreement, the Note or any
other such instrument or agreement. For purposes of each such subordination
agreement, the phrase "subordinate and junior in right of payment" shall
substantially have the meaning set forth in the Subordinated Acquisition Notes.
At the request of the Purchaser, the Company Parties or Subsidiary shall permit
the Purchaser to participate in any discussions or negotiations conducted with
any such payees or holders in connection with obtaining such subordination
agreement. Nothing in this SECTION 9.17 shall require the Company Parties to
make any payment to any payee or holder of an Acquisition Note in consideration
for any subordination agreement referred to above.

                  (b) In the event that any Company Party or Subsidiary issues
at any time or from time to time after the date hereof any Acquisition Note in
connection with any acquisition of and/or affiliation with dental practices,
dental practice management companies or persons engaged in the Dental Insurance
Business, such Acquisition Note shall contain terms of
subordination that are substantially similar to the terms of subordination
provided for in SECTION 9.17(a).

         9.18 ENFORCEMENT OF RIGHTS. At the request of the Purchaser, the
Company Parties shall enforce any and all indemnification rights which might
arise under any Purchase Agreement to the extent the related loss, if not
indemnified, would be material.

         9.19 SECURITY FOR OBLIGATIONS. The Company Parties shall, on or prior
to June 30, 2001, (a) obtain all Consents necessary to permit the Company
Parties to grant to the Purchaser a valid first priority security interest and
Lien (subject only to the Liens granted under the Senior Credit Documents and
the Fremont Note) in and to the assets, properties and rights of the Company
Parties, respectively, to secure the payment and performance of the Obligations,
(b) immediately after obtaining such Consents, grant to the Purchaser such
security interest and Lien to secure the payment and performance of the
Obligations and (c) execute and deliver such agreements, instruments and other
documents as may be requested by the Purchaser, in form and substance
satisfactory to the Purchaser, in order to create, perfect, establish and
maintain such security interest and Lien. If the Company Parties fail to fulfill
each of the covenants and other obligations set forth in the immediately
preceding sentence on or prior to June 30, 2001, then the Warrant Purchase Price
(as such term is defined in the Warrant) in effect at such time shall be reset
in accordance with the provisions of Section 2.3(b) of the Warrant and the
Purchaser shall have no further right or remedy solely with respect to the
Company Parties' failure to perform such covenants and other obligations.

         9.20 FUTURE INFORMATION. All data, certificates, reports, statements,
documents and other information furnished to the Purchaser by or on behalf of
the Company Parties, any of their Subsidiaries or any of their respective
representatives or agents in connection with this Agreement, the other
Investment Documents or the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby, at the
time the information is so furnished, shall not contain any untrue statement of
a material fact, shall be complete and correct in all material respects to the
extent necessary to give the Purchaser sufficient and accurate knowledge of the
subject matter thereof, and shall not omit to state a material fact necessary in
order to make the statements contained therein not misleading in light of the
circumstances under which such information is furnished.

         9.21 FURTHER ASSURANCES. Promptly after request by the Purchaser, from
time to time after the date hereof, the Issuers shall, and shall use their
respective best efforts to cause any other Persons who are required to give
their Consent to execute and deliver, such instruments, certificates and
documents, and will take all such actions, for the purposes of implementing or
effectuating the provisions of this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant, the
Guaranties and the other Investment Documents. Upon exercise by the Purchaser of
any power, right, privilege or remedy pursuant to this Agreement or any other
Investment Document which requires any Consent, each Issuer will execute and
deliver, and will cause any other Persons to execute and deliver, all
applications, certifications, instruments and other documents and papers that
may be required to
be obtained for such Consent. Promptly upon request by the Purchaser, each
Issuer shall correct any material defect or error that may exist or be
discovered in this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant, the Guaranties or any other
Investment Document or in the execution, acknowledgment, filing or recordation
thereof.

         9.22 SURVIVAL OF CERTAIN AFFIRMATIVE COVENANTS. From and after the date
that the Obligations under the Note have been indefeasibly paid in full in cash,
the Company Parties shall no longer be obligated to perform, comply with and
observe the covenants set forth in SECTIONS 9.3 (Information Reporting
Requirements), 9.7 (Books and Records; Inspections), 9.8 (Maintenance of
Properties), 9.9 (Insurance), 9.12 (Communications with Accountants), 9.13
(Compliance with Material Contracts), 9.14 (Environmental Matters), 9.15
(Additional Company Parties), 9.17 (Subordination of Acquisition Notes; New
Acquisition Notes), 9.18 (Enforcement of Rights), 9.19 (Security for
Obligations) and 9.20 (Future Information).

10. NEGATIVE AND FINANCIAL COVENANTS. The Company Parties jointly and severally
covenant and agree that, except as provided in SECTION 10.17, so long as any
Obligations under the Note remain outstanding or the Purchaser owns or holds, or
has the right to acquire, directly or indirectly, at least 1,000,000 shares of
Parent Common Stock, they shall perform, comply with and observe each of the
covenants set forth in this SECTION 10, as applicable.

         10.1 LIMITATIONS ON INDEBTEDNESS. The Company Parties shall not, and
shall not permit any Subsidiary to, directly or indirectly, create, incur,
assume, guarantee, suffer to exist or become or remain liable with respect to
any Indebtedness, except for:

                  (a) The Obligations;

                  (b) Indebtedness under the Senior Credit Documents, subject to
SECTION 10.11;

                  (c) Indebtedness (including, without limitation, the
Convertible Subordinated Notes) existing on the date hereof and listed on
SCHEDULE 10.1, subject to SECTION 10.11;

                  (d) Indebtedness, earn-out liabilities and other obligations
listed on SCHEDULE 10.1 or incurred after the date hereof in connection with any
LLCP Permitted Acquisition;

                  (e) Guarantees of promissory notes or other evidences of
indebtedness issued in connection with any LLCP Permitted Acquisition made by
any Issuer or any Subsidiary Guarantor which is a direct Subsidiary of any
Issuer; and

                  (f) Unsecured Subordinated Indebtedness incurred after the
date hereof on terms and conditions reasonably acceptable to the Purchaser.

         10.2 LIMITATIONS ON LIENS. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, directly or indirectly, create, incur, assume or
suffer to exist, any Lien on or with respect to any of their properties (whether
tangible or intangible, now owned or hereafter acquired, including, without
limitation, accounts), except:

                  (a) Liens granted pursuant to the Senior Credit Documents;

                  (b) the Liens listed on SCHEDULE 10.2, but excluding any Liens
incurred in connection with Indebtedness incurred to refinance, renew, replace,
restructure, exchange or refund the Indebtedness secured by such listed Liens,
subject to SECTION 10.11;

                  (c) Liens granted by any Company Party which is a direct
Subsidiary of one of the Issuers in connection with any LLCP Permitted
Acquisition to secure the payment or performance of any Acquisition Notes issued
in connection with such LLCP Permitted Acquisition; and

                  (d)      Customary Permitted Liens.

         10.3 LIMITATIONS ON INVESTMENTS. The Company Parties shall not, and
shall not permit any Subsidiary to, directly or indirectly, purchase, make or
own any Investment other than (collectively, "PERMITTED INVESTMENTS"):

                  (a) any direct obligations of the United States of America
(including obligations issued or held in book-entry form on the books of the
Department of the Treasury of the United States of America) or obligations the
timely payment of the principal of and interest on which are fully guaranteed by
the United States of America, all of which mature within three (3) months from
the date of acquisition thereof;

                  (b) any interest-bearing demand or time deposits or
certificates of deposit that mature no more than sixty (60) days from the date
of creation thereof and that are either (a) insured by the Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation or (b) held in any United States commercial bank having
general obligations rated at least "AA" or equivalent by Standard & Poor's
Rating Group Corporation or Moody's Investors Service, Inc. and having capital
and surplus of at least $500,000,000 or the equivalent;

                  (c) investments in the Capital Stock of any Subsidiary
existing on the Closing Date, but not any additional investments therein;

                  (d) LLCP Permitted Acquisitions; and

                  (e) loans or advances by any Company Party or Subsidiary to
any Subsidiary (including, without limitation, any Regulated Subsidiary or
Affiliated Dental Practice), PROVIDED that such loans or advances are evidenced
by a subordinated promissory note, in form and substance satisfactory to the
Purchaser, and such subordinated promissory note is pledged to the Purchaser
pursuant to the Pledge Agreement.

         10.4 SALE AND LEASE-BACK TRANSACTIONS. The Company Parties shall not,
and shall not permit any Subsidiary to, enter into any arrangement, directly or
indirectly, with any Person whereby any Issuer or any of its Subsidiaries shall
sell or transfer any property, whether real, personal or mixed, and used or
useful in its business, whether now owned or hereafter acquired, and thereafter
rent or lease such property or other property which such Issuer or such
Subsidiary intends to use for substantially the same purpose or purposes as the
property being sold or transferred.

         10.5 LIMITATIONS ON PAYMENTS. The Company Parties shall not, and shall
not permit any Subsidiary to:

                  (a) Declare or pay, directly or indirectly, any cash dividends
or other distribution, whether in cash, securities, property or a combination
thereof, on account of or with respect to any shares of their Capital Stock or
other securities now or hereafter outstanding;

                  (b) Redeem, retire, purchase or otherwise acquire for value,
or set apart any money for a sinking, defeasance or other analogous fund for,
any shares of their Capital Stock now or hereafter outstanding;

                  (c) Pay or prepay any principal of, premium, if any, or
interest, fees or other amounts on or with respect to, or redeem, retire,
purchase or otherwise acquire for value or set apart any money for a sinking,
defeasance or other analogous fund for, or make any payment in violation of the
subordination terms of, any Indebtedness, except as expressly provided in the
Subordination Agreements;

                  (d) Make any advances or loans, or pay any management,
consulting or similar fees or any other payments of any kind, to any of their
officers, directors or other Affiliates, or to members of their respective
Immediate Families, except as may be contemplated by SCHEDULE 3.37; and

                  (e) Make any Investment in any Person other than a Permitted
Investment;

PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that (i) so long as no Default or Event of Default has
occurred and is continuing or would occur as a result thereof, GDMI may pay
dividends to GDSC and any Subsidiary Guarantor may pay dividends to its
immediate parent so long as such immediate parent is a Subsidiary Guarantor or
an Issuer and (ii) except as set forth in the Convertible Subordinated Note
Documents, GDSC may pay interest on the Convertible Subordinated Notes to the
holders thereof in accordance with the terms thereof.

         10.6 LIMITATIONS ON PAYMENT RESTRICTIONS AFFECTING SUBSIDIARIES. Except
as required by any Governmental Authority with respect to the Regulated
Subsidiaries, the Company Parties shall not, and shall not permit any Subsidiary
to, enter into or permit to exist any agreement, arrangement, instrument or
other document (other than the Senior Credit Documents, subject to SECTION
10.11) which, directly or indirectly, prohibits or restricts in any manner, or
would have the effect of prohibiting or restricting in any manner, the ability
of any Subsidiary of GDSC or DCA to (a) pay dividends or make other
distributions in respect of its Capital Stock, (b) pay or repay any Indebtedness
owed to any Company Party, (c) make loans or advances to any Company Party or
(d) transfer any of its properties or assets to any Company Party.

         10.7 LIMITATIONS ON TRANSACTIONS WITH AFFILIATES. The Company Parties
shall not, and shall not permit any Subsidiary to, enter into at any time any
contract, transaction or other arrangement involving any Company Party or
Subsidiary, on the one hand, and any other Company Party or any of its or their
respective Affiliates, officers, directors or employees, on the other hand,
unless such contract, transaction or arrangement (a) has been approved in
writing in advance by a majority of the disinterested directors of the Board of
Directors of Parent and (b) will be on terms and conditions that are no less
favorable to the applicable Company Party or Subsidiary, as the case may be,
than those that would be obtained from any Person who is not an Affiliate of (or
otherwise related to) the Company Party or Subsidiary, as the case may be, in a
similar transaction; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that this SECTION 10.7 shall not apply
to (i) any inter-
company transactions between or among any Company Parties (PROVIDED that each
such Company Party is a direct or indirect wholly owned Subsidiary of any
Issuer) or (ii) the loan transactions listed in SCHEDULE 10.7 between Parent and
the members of management of Parent listed therein for the dollar amounts set
forth therein. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not permit any
Subsidiary to, make any payments to any Affiliated Dental Practice unless such
payment is required to be made by such Company Party or Subsidiary under the
applicable Management Agreement with such Affiliated Dental Practice, an Other
Debt Document in existence as of the date hereof or incurred after the date
hereof in connection with any LLCP Permitted Acquisition.

         10.8 CHANGE IN BUSINESS. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, engage in any business other than the business of
providing dental practice management and related services to dental professional
corporations and associations within the United States of America.

         10.9 SALES OF RECEIVABLES. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, sell, assign, discount, transfer, or otherwise dispose
of any accounts receivable, chattel paper, promissory notes, drafts or trade
acceptances or other rights to receive payment held by them, with or without
recourse, except for the purpose of collection or settlement in the ordinary
course of business.

         10.10 FUNDAMENTAL CHANGES. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to:

                  (a) make any change in their business objectives, purposes,
structure or operations as the same exists on the date hereof;

                  (b) amend, modify or alter their charter, bylaws or other
organizational documents in any manner which is either (i) adverse to the
Purchaser or (ii) adversely affects the ability of the Company Party or
Subsidiary to repay the Obligations or the Guarantied Obligations, as the case
may be, or otherwise perform its obligations hereunder or under any other
Investment Document;

                  (c) merge, consolidate, amalgamate, reorganize or
recapitalize;

                  (d) form, create or acquire any additional Subsidiaries,
except in connection with any LLCP Permitted Acquisitions;

                  (e) sell, lease, transfer or otherwise dispose of, in any
transaction or series of transactions, any assets (whether now owned or
hereafter acquired), other than (i) inventory sold in the ordinary course of
business and (ii) dispositions of obsolete assets in the ordinary course of
business not to exceed $50,000 in the aggregate in any Fiscal Year;

                  (f) wind up, liquidate or dissolve any of them (or permit or
suffer any thereof);

                  (g) become a general partner in any limited partnership or
joint venture; or

                  (h) engage in any transactions involving commodity options or
futures contracts or any similar speculative transactions.

         10.11 AGREEMENTS AFFECTING CAPITAL STOCK AND INDEBTEDNESS; AMENDMENTS
TO MATERIAL CONTRACTS. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not permit any
Subsidiary to, without the prior written consent of the Purchaser:

                  (a) Enter into any voting agreement, voting trust, irrevocable
proxy or other agreement affecting the voting rights of the Capital Stock of any
Company Party, except for, in the case of Parent, the Investor Rights Agreement;

                  (b) Extend, refinance, renew, replace, restructure, exchange
or refund, or incur any Indebtedness for the purpose of repaying, any
Indebtedness of the Company Parties; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Issuers may
refinance, renew, replace, restructure, exchange or refund all Indebtedness
existing under the Senior Credit Documents if the terms of subordination which
would apply to the Indebtedness evidenced by the Note after giving effect to
such refinancing, renewal, replacement, restructuring, exchange or refunding
would be no less favorable to the Purchaser than those set forth in the Senior
Agent/LLCP Subordination Agreement;

                  (c) (i) Amend, supplement, restate or otherwise modify any
Other Debt Document (other than the Senior Credit Documents), or request a
waiver of any term or provision contained therein, or (ii) amend, supplement or
otherwise modify any Senior Credit Document in connection with any extension,
refinancing, renewal, replacement, restructuring, exchange or refunding of any
Indebtedness owing thereunder, other than as provided in the proviso set forth
in SECTION 10.11(B); or

                  (d) Cancel or terminate (or consent to or accept any
cancellation or termination of) any Material Contract, including, without
limitation, any Other Debt Document (but expressly excluding the Senior Credit
Documents), amend or otherwise modify any Material Contract (other than the
Senior Credit Documents) or give any consent, waiver or approval thereunder,
waive any breach of or default under any such Material Contract, or take any
action in connection with any such Material Contract that would impair the value
of the interests or rights of any Company Party or Subsidiary thereunder or that
would impair the interest or rights of the Purchaser hereunder or under this
Agreement or any other Investment Document.

         10.12 CONDITIONAL SALES. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, make any sale to any customer on a bill-and-hold,
guaranteed sale, sale and return, sale on approval, consignment or any other
repurchase or return basis, other than in the ordinary course of business
consistent with prior periods.

         10.13 MARGIN STOCK. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not permit
any Subsidiary to, directly or indirectly, use any of the proceeds from the
issuance and sale of the Securities for the purpose, whether immediate,
incidental or ultimate, of purchasing or carrying any Margin Stock or
maintaining or extending credit to others for such purpose or for any other
purpose that violates the Margin Regulations. If requested by the Purchaser, the
Issuers will promptly furnish to the Purchaser a statement in conformity with
the requirements of Federal Reserve Form U-1 referred to in the Margin
Regulations.

         10.14 ACCOUNTING CHANGES. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, make any change in accounting policies or reporting
practices, except as required by GAAP, or change their Fiscal Year without the
written approval of the Purchaser.

         10.15 NEGATIVE PLEDGE. The Company Parties shall not, and shall not
permit any Subsidiary to, enter into or suffer to exist any agreement
prohibiting or conditioning the creation or assumption of any Lien upon any of
their property or assets, except in favor of Purchaser, the Senior Agent and the
holders of the Fremont Note.

         10.16    FINANCIAL COVENANTS.

                  (a) NET WORTH. The Company Parties shall not permit the Net
Worth (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement) of
Parent and its subsidiaries (on a consolidated basis) at any time to be less
than 85.0% of the sum of (i)(x) the Net Worth of Parent and its subsidiaries (on
a consolidated basis) on March 31, 1999, MINUS (y) $750,000, PLUS (ii) 100.0% of
the extraordinary gains arising after March 31, 1999, through the date of
determination, PLUS (iii) 100% of the net proceeds received by Parent after
March 31, 1999, through the date of determination from the sale of any Parent
Common Stock, PLUS (iv) 100% of the value of any Capital Stock issued by Parent
as consideration in connection with any LLCP Permitted Acquisitions occurring
after March 31, 1999, through the date of determination, PLUS (v) 70.0% of the
positive Net Income (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit
Agreement) of Parent and its subsidiaries (on a consolidated basis) for the
period commencing on March 31, 1999, through and including the date of
determination.

                  (b) LEVERAGE RATIO. The Company Parties shall not permit the
Leverage Ratio (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit
Agreement) of Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis at the end of
any Fiscal Quarter to be greater than the respective amounts set forth below
opposite such dates:


                  Fiscal Quarter Ending:                                           Leverage Ratio
                  ----------------------                                           --------------
                  June 30, 2000.........................................              4.3125:1.00

                  September 30, 2000, December 31, 2000, March 31, 2001,
                  June 30, 2001 and September 30, 2001..................
                                                                                      3.7375:1.00

                  December 31, 2001 and March 31, 2002..................                3.45:1.00

                  June 30, 2002 and September 30, 2002..................               2.875:1.00

                  December 31, 2002 and March 31, 2003..................              2.5875:1.00

                  Each June 30, September 30, December 31 and March 31
                  thereafter............................................                 2.3:1.00



                  (c) INTEREST LEVERAGE RATIO. The Company Parties shall not
permit the Interest Leverage Ratio (as such term is defined in the March 2000
Senior Credit Agreement) of

Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis at the end of any Fiscal
Quarter to be greater than the respective amounts set forth below opposite such
dates:


                                                                                  Interest
                  Fiscal Quarter Ending:                                       Leverage Ratio
                  ----------------------                                       --------------
                  June 30, 2000.........................................              5.4625:1.00

                  September 30, 2000, December 31, 2000, March 31, 2001,
                  June 30, 2001 and September 30, 2001..................
                                                                                      4.8875:1.00

                  December 31, 2001 and
                  March 31, 2002........................................                 4.6:1.00

                  June 30, 2002 and September 30, 2002..................               4.025:1.00

                  December 31, 2002 and
                  March 31, 2003........................................              3.7375:1.00

                  Each June 30, September 30, December 31 and March 31
                  thereafter............................................                3.45:1.00


                  (d)      INTEREST COVERAGE RATIOS.

                           (i) The Company Parties shall not permit the ratio of
         (i) EBITDA of Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis for
         such period to (ii) the sum of (x) Cash Interest Expense (as such term
         is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit

         Agreement) and Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis for
         such period PLUS (y) the aggregate amount of all Preferred Dividends
         (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement)
         paid in cash during such period to be less than 2.3375:1.00 for each of
         the four Fiscal Quarter periods ending June 30, 2000, September 30,
         2000 and December 31, 2000, and 2.55:1.00 for each of the four Fiscal
         Quarter periods ending at the end of each Fiscal Quarter thereafter;
         and

                           (ii) The Company Parties shall not permit the ratio
         of (i) the sum of (x) EBITDA of Parent and its subsidiaries on a
         consolidated basis for such period, MINUS (y) the aggregate amount of
         all Maintenance Capital Expenditures made by the Issuers and their
         subsidiaries during such period to (ii) the sum of (x) Cash Interest
         Expense (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit
         Agreement) of Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis for
         such period, PLUS (y) the aggregate amount of all Preferred Dividends
         (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement)
         paid in cash during such period to be less than 1.9125:1.00 for each of
         the four Fiscal Quarter periods ending June 30, 2000, September 30,
         2000 and December 31, 2000, and 2.125:1.00 for each of the four Fiscal
         Quarter periods ending at the end of each Fiscal Quarter thereafter.

                  (e) FIXED CHARGE RATIO. The Company Parties shall not permit
the Fixed Charge Coverage Ratio (as such term is defined in the March 2000
Senior Credit Agreement) of Parent and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis
for the Fiscal Quarter period ending June 30, 2000, for the two Fiscal Quarter
period ending September 30, 2000, for the three Fiscal Quarter period ending
December 31, 2000 and for the four Fiscal Quarter period ending March 31, 2001,
and for each four Fiscal Quarter period thereafter, to be less than 1.0625:1.00.

                  (f) CAPITAL EXPENDITURES. Commencing with the four Fiscal
Quarter period ending June 30, 2000, and for each four Fiscal Quarter period
ending at the end of each Fiscal Quarter thereafter, the Company Parties shall
not permit the aggregate amount of payments made for Capital Expenditures and De
Novo Capital Expenditures (as such term is defined in the March 2000 Senior
Credit Agreement), including Capitalized Lease Obligations (as such term is
defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement) and Indebtedness secured by
Liens permitted under Section 7.01(e) of the Senior Credit Agreements, to exceed
6.0% of the Issuers' and their Subsidiaries' net patient revenues for such
period. Upon the written consent of the Required Lenders (as such term is
defined in the March 2000 Senior Credit Agreement), the foregoing limitation may
be increased to an amount not in excess of 8.0% of the Issuers' and their
Subsidiaries' net patient revenues for any such period. The Issuers shall
deliver to the Purchaser a copy of any such written consent furnished to it or
them by the Required Lenders within one (1) Business Day following the Issuers'
receipt thereof.

                  (g) MINIMUM ANNUAL EBITDA. For each of the Fiscal Years listed
in the table below, EBITDA of Parent and its Subsidiaries shall not be less than
the total amount set
forth opposite such Fiscal Year:


                                                                     Minimum Annual
                  Fiscal Year Ending:                                    EBITDA
                  -------------------                                    ------
                  December 31, 2001....................                $23,000,000

                  December 31, 2002....................                 26,000,000

                  December 31, 2003....................                 29,400,000

                  December 31, 2004....................                 33,200,000


                  (h) CHANGES TO SENIOR FINANCIAL COVENANTS. The parties
acknowledge and agree that the financial covenants set forth in clauses (a)
through (e) of this SECTION 10.16 correspond to the financial covenants set
forth in Article VII of the Senior Credit Agreements as of the date hereof and
that the dollar amounts and percentages contained in the financial covenants set
forth in such clauses have been set at 15.0% below the dollar amounts and
percentages set forth in the corresponding financial covenants set forth in such
Article VII. The parties hereby acknowledge and agree that, to the extent that
the financial covenants set forth in the Senior Credit Agreements as of the date
hereof are subsequently modified in any respect or any new financial covenants
are included to the Senior Credit Agreements, the Purchaser may, but shall not
be obligated to, modify the financial covenants set forth in this SECTION 10.16
to reflect the modifications made to the corresponding financial covenants
included in the Senior Credit Agreements or include a financial covenant in this
SECTION 10.16 that corresponds to the new financial covenant included in the
Senior Credit Agreements (with the dollar amounts and/or percentages set at
15.0% below the dollar amounts and percentages set forth in such new financial
covenant).

         10.17 SURVIVAL OF CERTAIN NEGATIVE COVENANTS. From and after the date
that the Obligations under the Note have been indefeasibly paid in full in cash,
the Company Parties shall no longer be obligated to perform, comply with and
observe the covenants set forth in SECTIONS 10.1 (Limitations on Indebtedness),
10.2 (Limitations on Liens), 10.3 (Limitations on Investments), 10.4 (Sale and
Lease-Back Transactions), 10.5 (Limitations on Payments), 10.6 (Limitations on
Payment Restrictions Affecting Subsidiaries), 10.9 (Sales of Receivables), 10.10
(Fundamental Changes), 10.11 (Agreements Affecting Capital Stock and
Indebtedness; Amendments to Material Contracts), 10.12 (Conditional Sales),
10.13 (Margin Stock), 10.14 (Accounting Changes), 10.15 (Negative Pledge) and
10.16 (Financial Covenants).

11.      SUBSIDIARY GUARANTY.

         11.1     UNCONDITIONAL GUARANTY.

                  (a) The Guarantors hereby absolutely, unconditionally, jointly
and severally
and irrevocably guaranty and promise to pay as and when due (whether at stated
maturity, acceleration, prepayment or otherwise), any and all Obligations of the
Company Parties from time to time owed to the Purchaser (collectively, the
"GUARANTIED OBLIGATIONS"). In addition, the Guarantors hereby agree to pay any
and all costs and expenses (including, without limitation, attorneys' fees and
expenses) incurred by the Purchaser in connection with (a) the collection of all
sums guaranteed hereunder and (b) the exercise or enforcement of any rights,
powers or remedies of the Purchaser under this Guaranty or Applicable Laws. All
of the Guarantied Obligations shall be conclusively presumed to have been
created in reliance of this Guaranty. For purposes of this SECTION 11, the term
"Guarantor" shall mean the Subsidiary Guarantors unless the context otherwise
requires.

                  (b) All payments under this Guaranty shall be made in lawful
money of the United States of America, free and clear of any and all deductions,
withholdings and setoffs, including withholding on account of Taxes. If any
deduction or withholding shall be required by Applicable Laws, each Guarantor
shall be required to pay such additional amounts as may be required so that the
net amount received by the Purchaser, after such deduction or withholding
(including with respect to such additional amounts), shall be equal to the
amount otherwise required to be paid under this Guaranty.

         11.2 CONTINUING AND IRREVOCABLE GUARANTY. This Guaranty is a continuing
guaranty of the Guarantied Obligations and may not be revoked and shall not
otherwise terminate unless and until all Guarantied Obligations have been
indefeasibly paid in full in cash. If, notwithstanding the foregoing, any
Guarantor shall have any right under Applicable Laws to terminate this Guaranty
prior to indefeasible payment in full in cash of the Guarantied Obligations, no
such termination shall be effective until noon the next Business Day after the
Purchaser shall receive written notice thereof, signed by such Guarantor. Any
termination pursuant to the immediately preceding sentence shall not affect (a)
any Guarantied Obligation that was incurred or arose prior to the effective time
of such notice, (b) any Guarantied Obligation incurred or arising after such
effective time where such Guarantied Obligation is incurred or arises either
pursuant to commitments existing at such effective time or incurred for the
purpose of protecting or enforcing rights against the Issuers, any Guarantor or
other guarantor of, or other Person directly or indirectly liable on, the
Guarantied Obligations (including, without limitations, Parent) or any part
thereof (each of the Issuers, the Guarantors, Parent and any such other
guarantor or Person is referred to herein as an "OBLIGOR") or any security or
other collateral ("COLLATERAL") given for the Guarantied Obligations or any
other guaranties of the Guarantied Obligations or any portion thereof, (c) any
renewals, extensions, readvances, modifications or rearrangements of any of the
foregoing or (d) the liability of any other Guarantor hereunder.

         11.3 NATURE OF GUARANTY. The liability of each Guarantor hereunder is
independent of and not in consideration of or contingent upon the liability of
the Issuers or any other Obligor, and a separate action or actions may be
brought or prosecuted against any Guarantor, whether or not any action is
brought or prosecuted against the Issuers or any other Obligor or whether the

Issuers or any other Obligor is joined in any such action or actions. This
Guaranty shall be construed as a continuing, absolute and unconditional guaranty
of payment (and not merely of collection), and the liability of each Guarantor
under this Guaranty shall be irrevocable, absolute and unconditional, without
regard to (and each Guarantor irrevocably waives):

                  (a) the legality, validity, voidability or enforceability of
this Agreement, the Note or any other Investment Document, any of the Guarantied
Obligations, any Lien or any Collateral;

                  (b) any defense (other than payment), set-off or counterclaim
that may at any time be available to any Issuer or other Obligor against, and
any right of setoff at any time held by, the Purchaser;

                  (c) any acts of commission or omission of any kind at any time
on the part of the Purchaser with respect to any matter whatsoever;

                  (d) the liquidation or dissolution of any Issuer or other
Obligor, any bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, arrangement, assignment for
the benefit of creditors, receivership or similar event or proceeding with
respect to any Issuer or other Obligor, or any action taken by any trustee or
receiver of any Issuer or other Obligor or by any court or any proceeding with
respect to any Issuer or other Obligor;

                  (e) any change of ownership of the Capital Stock of any Issuer
or other Obligor, or any change in the relationship between any Guarantor on the
one hand, and any Issuer or other Obligor, on the other hand (including, without
limitation, the termination of such relationship); or

                  (f) any other circumstance whatsoever (with or without notice
to or knowledge of any Guarantor or any other Obligor), whether or not similar
to any of the foregoing, that constitutes, or might be construed to constitute,
an equitable or legal discharge of the Issuers or any other Obligor, in
bankruptcy or in any other instance.

                  Any payment by any Obligor or other circumstance that operates
to toll any statute of limitations applicable to such Obligor shall also operate
to toll the statute of limitations applicable to each Guarantor. When making any
demand hereunder (including by commencement or continuance of any legal
proceeding), the Purchaser may, but shall be under no obligation to, make a
similar demand on all or any of the other Obligors, and any failure by the
Purchaser to make any such demand shall not relieve any Guarantor of its
obligations hereunder.

         11.4 AUTHORIZATION. Each Guarantor authorizes the Purchaser, without
notice to or further assent by such Guarantor, and without affecting such
Guarantor's liability hereunder

(regardless of whether any subrogation or similar right that such Guarantor may
have or any other right or remedy of such Guarantor is extinguished or
impaired), from time to time to:

                  (a) permit the Issuers to increase or create Guarantied
Obligations, or terminate, release, compromise, subordinate, extend, accelerate
or otherwise change the amount or time, manner or place of payment of, or
rescind any demand for payment or acceleration of, the Guarantied Obligations or
any part thereof (including increasing or decreasing the rate of interest
thereon), or otherwise amend the terms and conditions of this Agreement, the
Note or any other Investment Document or any provision thereof;

                  (b) take and hold Collateral from the Issuers, any other
Obligor or any other Person, perfect or refrain from perfecting a Lien on such
Collateral, and exchange, enforce, subordinate, release (whether intentionally
or unintentionally), or take or fail to take any other action in respect of, any
such Collateral or Lien or any part thereof;

                  (c) exercise in such manner and order as it elects in its sole
discretion (including any judicial or non-judicial foreclosure of any real
estate Collateral), fail to exercise, waive, suspend, terminate or suffer
expiration of, any of the remedies or rights of the Purchaser against the
Issuers or any other Obligor in respect of any Guarantied Obligations or any
Collateral;

                  (d) release, add or settle with any Issuer or other Obligor in
respect of this Guaranty, this Agreement, the Note, the other Investment
Documents or the Guarantied Obligations;

                  (e) accept partial payments on the Guarantied Obligations and
apply any and all payments or recoveries from any Obligor or Collateral to such
of the Guarantied Obligations as the Purchaser may elect in its sole discretion,
whether or not such Guarantied Obligations are secured or guaranteed;

                  (f) refund at any time, at the Purchaser's sole discretion,
any payments or recoveries received by the Purchaser in respect of any
Guarantied Obligations or any Collateral; and

                  (g) otherwise deal with the Issuers, any other Obligor and any
Collateral as the Purchaser may elect in its sole discretion.

         11.5     CERTAIN WAIVERS.  Each Guarantor hereby waives:

                  (a) the right to require the Purchaser to proceed against any
or all of the Issuers or other Obligors, to proceed against or exhaust any
Collateral or to pursue any other remedy in the Purchaser's power whatsoever,
and the right to have the property of the Issuers or
any other Obligor first applied to the discharge of the Guarantied Obligations;

                  (b) all rights and benefits under Section 2809 of the
California Civil Code and any other Applicable Laws purporting to reduce a
guarantor's obligations in proportion to the obligation of the principal or
providing that the obligation of a surety or guarantor must neither be larger
nor in other respects more burdensome than that of the principal;

                  (c) the benefit of any statute of limitations affecting the
Guarantied Obligations or such Guarantor's liability hereunder and under Section
359.5 of the California Code of Civil Procedure;

                  (d) any requirement of marshaling or any other principle of
election of remedies and all rights and defenses arising out of an election of
remedies by the Purchaser, even though that election of remedies, such as
non-judicial foreclosure with respect to the security for a Guarantied
Obligation, has destroyed such Guarantor's rights of subrogation and
reimbursement against any Issuer;

                  (e) any right to assert against the Purchaser any defense
(other than payment), set-off, counterclaim and other right that any Guarantor
may now or any time hereafter have against any Issuer or other Obligor;

                  (f) presentment, demand for payment or performance (including
diligence in making demands hereunder), notice of dishonor or nonperformance,
protest, acceptance and notice of acceptance of this Guaranty, and all other
notices of any kind, with respect to the Guarantied Obligations;

                  (g) any rights, defenses and other benefits that any Guarantor
may have by reason of (i) any failure of the Purchaser to hold a commercially
reasonable public or private foreclosure sale or otherwise to comply with
Applicable Laws in connection with a disposition of Collateral or (ii) any
election made by the Purchaser under Section 9501(4) of the California Uniform
Commercial Code (or similar provision);

                  (h) all defenses that at any time may be available to any
Guarantor by virtue of any valuation, stay, moratorium or other law now or
hereafter in effect, and ALL RIGHTS AND DEFENSES THAT ARE OR MAY BECOME
AVAILABLE TO SUCH GUARANTOR BY REASON OF SECTIONS 2787 TO 2855, INCLUSIVE, AND
SECTION 3433 OF THE CALIFORNIA CIVIL CODE OR OTHER SIMILAR APPLICABLE LAW; or

                  (i) any failure, omission, delay or lack of diligence on the
part of the Purchaser to enforce, assert or exercise any right, power or remedy
conferred on the Purchaser in respect of the Guarantied Obligations.

         11.6     SUBROGATION; CERTAIN AGREEMENTS.

                  (a) NOTWITHSTANDING ANYTHING TO THE CONTRARY, NO GUARANTOR
WILL EXERCISE ANY RIGHTS THAT IT MAY NOW OR HEREAFTER HAVE AGAINST THE ISSUERS
OR ANY OTHER GUARANTOR THAT ARISE FROM THE EXISTENCE, PAYMENT, PERFORMANCE OR
ENFORCEMENT OF ANY GUARANTOR'S OBLIGATIONS UNDER THIS GUARANTY, INCLUDING,
WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY RIGHT OF SUBROGATION, REIMBURSEMENT, EXONERATION,
CONTRIBUTION OR INDEMNIFICATION AND ANY RIGHT TO PARTICIPATE IN ANY CLAIM OR
REMEDY OF THE PURCHASER AGAINST THE ISSUERS OR ANY OTHER GUARANTOR OR ANY
COLLATERAL, WHETHER OR NOT SUCH CLAIM, REMEDY OR RIGHT ARISES IN EQUITY OR UNDER
CONTRACT, STATUTE OR COMMON LAW, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE RIGHT TO
TAKE OR RECEIVE FROM THE ISSUERS OR ANY OTHER GUARANTOR, DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY,
IN CASH OR OTHER PROPERTY OR BY SET-OFF OR IN ANY OTHER MANNER, PAYMENT OR
SECURITY SOLELY ON ACCOUNT OF SUCH CLAIM, REMEDY OR RIGHT, UNLESS AND UNTIL ALL
OF THE GUARANTIED OBLIGATIONS AND ALL OTHER AMOUNTS PAYABLE UNDER THIS GUARANTY
SHALL HAVE BEEN PAID IN FULL IN CASH. If any amount shall be paid to any
Guarantor in violation of the immediately preceding sentence at any time prior
to the payment in full in cash of the Guarantied Obligations and all other
amounts payable under this Guaranty, such amount shall be held in trust for the
benefit of the Purchaser and shall forthwith be paid to the Purchaser to be
credited and applied to the Guarantied Obligations and all other amounts payable
under this Guaranty, whether matured or unmatured, in accordance with the terms
of this Agreement, or to be held as Collateral for any Guarantied Obligations or
other amounts payable under this Guaranty thereafter arising. If all of the
Guarantied Obligations and all other amounts payable under this Guaranty shall
be paid in full in cash, the Purchaser will, at the Guarantor's request and
expense, execute and deliver to the Guarantor appropriate documents, without
recourse and without representation or warranty, necessary to evidence the
transfer by subrogation to the Guarantor of an interest in the Guarantied
Obligations resulting from such payment by the Guarantor.

                  (b) In furtherance and not by limitation of any other
provision of this Guaranty, the Guarantors acknowledge and understand that if
the Purchaser forecloses, either by judicial foreclosure or by exercise of power
of sale, any deed of trust securing the Guarantied Obligations, that foreclosure
could impair or destroy any ability that any Guarantor may have to seek
reimbursement, contribution or indemnification from the Issuers or other
Obligors based on any right such Guarantor may have of subrogation,
reimbursement, contribution or indemnification for any amounts paid by the
Guarantor under this Guaranty. The Guarantors further acknowledge and understand
that, in the absence of this SECTION 11.6, such potential impairment or
destruction of such Guarantor's rights, if any, may entitle such Guarantor to
assert a defense to this Guaranty based on Section 580d of the California Code
of Civil Procedure, as interpreted in UNION BANK V. GRADSKY, 265 Cal. App. 2d 40
(1968). By executing this Guaranty,
each Guarantor freely, irrevocably and unconditionally (i) waives and
relinquishes that defense and agrees that such Guarantor will be fully liable
hereunder even though the Purchaser may foreclose, either by judicial
foreclosure or by exercise of power of sale, any deed of trust securing the
Guarantied Obligations; (ii) agrees not to assert such defense in any action or
proceeding which the Purchaser may commence to enforce this Guaranty; (iii)
acknowledges and agrees that the rights and defenses waived by the Guarantor
herein include any right or defense that the Guarantor may have or be entitled
to assert based upon or arising out of Sections 580a, 580b, 580d, or 726 of the
California Code of Civil Procedure or Section 2848 of the California Civil Code,
and (iv) acknowledges and agrees that the Purchaser is relying on this waiver in
creating the Guarantied Obligations, and this waiver is a material part of the
consideration which the Purchaser is receiving for creating the Guarantied
Obligations.

                  (c) Each Guarantor assumes the responsibility for being and
keeping itself informed of the financial condition of Parent and each Issuer and
other Obligor and of all other circumstances bearing upon the risk of
non-payment of the Guarantied Obligations that diligent inquiry would reveal,
and agrees that the Purchaser shall have no duty to advise any Guarantor of
information regarding such condition or any such circumstances.

         11.7     BANKRUPTCY NO DISCHARGE.

                  (a) Without limiting SECTION 11.3, this Guaranty shall not be
discharged or otherwise affected by any bankruptcy, reorganization, liquidation,
dissolution or similar proceeding commenced by or against any Issuer or other
Obligor, including (i) any discharge of, or bar or stay against collecting, all
or any part of the Guarantied Obligations in or as a result of any such
proceeding, whether or not assented to by the Purchaser, and (ii) any
disallowance of all or any portion of the Purchaser's claim for repayment of the
Guarantied Obligations. Each Guarantor understands and acknowledges that by
virtue of this Guaranty, it has specifically assumed any and all risks of any
such proceeding with respect to the Issuers and each other Obligor.

                  (b) Any Event of Default under SECTION 12.1(h) or SECTION 12.1
(i) shall render all Guarantied Obligations automatically due and payable for
purposes of this Guaranty, notwithstanding any stay of the right of the
Purchaser to accelerate the Guarantied Obligations.

                  (c) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein contained,
this Guaranty (and any Lien on the Collateral securing this Guaranty or the
Guarantied Obligations) shall continue to be effective or be reinstated, as the
case may be, if at any time any payment, or any part thereof, of any or all of
the Guarantied Obligations is rescinded, invalidated, declared to be fraudulent
or voidable as a preference or otherwise required to be restored or returned by
the Purchaser in connection with any bankruptcy, reorganization, liquidation,
dissolution or similar proceeding involving the Issuers, any other Obligor or
otherwise, if the proceeds of any Collateral are required to be returned by the
Purchaser under any such circumstances, or if the

Purchaser elects to return any such payment or proceeds or any part thereof in
its sole discretion, all as though such payment had not been made or such
proceeds not been received.

         11.8     SUBORDINATION.

                  (a) Except as expressly provided for herein, each Guarantor
hereby absolutely subordinates, both in right of payment and in time of payment,
any and all present or future obligations and liabilities of the Issuers and
each other Obligor owing to such Guarantor ("GUARANTOR SUBORDINATED DEBT"), to
the prior payment in full in cash of the Guarantied Obligations, whether or not
such Guarantor Subordinated Debt constitutes or arises out of any subrogation,
reimbursement, contribution, indemnity or similar right attributable to this
Guaranty. Without limitation, no payment or distribution of assets of any Issuer
or other Obligor of any kind or character, whether in cash, securities or other
property, shall be made on or with respect to the Guarantor Subordinated Debt
prior to the payment in full in cash of the Guarantied Obligations. If, whether
or not at the Purchaser's request, any Guarantor shall receive, prior to payment
in full in cash of all Guarantied Obligations, payment of any sum from the
Issuers or any other Obligor upon any Guarantor Subordinated Debt, any such sum
shall be received by such Guarantor as trustee for the Purchaser and shall
forthwith be paid over to the Purchaser on account of the Guarantied
Obligations, without reducing or affecting in any manner the liability of any
Guarantor under this Guaranty.

                  (b) Each Guarantor shall file in any bankruptcy or
reorganization or similar proceeding in which the filing of claims is required
by Applicable Laws, all claims that such Guarantor may have against any Issuer
or other Obligor (or its nominee) relating to any Guarantor Subordinated Debt.
If the Guarantor does not file any such claim, the Purchaser (or its nominee) as
attorney-in-fact for the Guarantor is hereby authorized to do so in the name of
such Guarantor. Each Guarantor agrees that, in connection with any such
proceeding, it shall not contest or oppose the treatment of claims of the
Purchaser in any plan of reorganization or otherwise and it shall vote any
claims that exist by virtue of this Guaranty or the Guarantor Subordinated Debt
in connection with any plans of reorganization or otherwise, as may be requested
by the Purchaser.

                  (c) Each Guarantor hereby grants the Purchaser a power of
attorney for the purposes set forth in this SECTION 11.8. Such power of attorney
is coupled with an interest and cannot be revoked.

         11.9 MAXIMUM LIABILITY OF GUARANTORS. If the obligations of any
Guarantor hereunder otherwise would be subject to avoidance under Section 548 of
the Bankruptcy Law or any applicable state law relating to fraudulent
conveyances or fraudulent transfers, taking into consideration such Guarantor's
(a) rights of reimbursement and indemnity from the Issuers with respect to
amounts paid by such Guarantor, (b) rights of subrogation to the rights of the
Purchaser and (c) rights of contribution from each other Obligor, then such
obligations hereby
are reduced to the largest amount that would make them not subject to such
avoidance. Any Person asserting that such Guarantor's obligations are so
avoidable shall have the burden (including the burden of production and of
persuasion) of proving (i) that, without giving effect to this SECTION 11.9,
such Guarantor's obligations hereunder would be avoidable and (ii) the extent to
which such obligations are reduced by operation of this SECTION 11.9.

         11.10 FINANCIAL BENEFIT. Each Guarantor hereby acknowledges and
warrants it has derived or expects to derive substantial economic benefits,
directly and indirectly, from the consummation of the transactions contemplated
by this Agreement and the other Investment Documents.

         11.11 REVIEW OF DOCUMENTS; UNDERSTANDING WITH RESPECT TO WAIVERS. Each
Guarantor hereby acknowledges that it has copies of and is fully familiar with
this Agreement and each of the other Investment Documents executed and delivered
(or to be executed and delivered) by the Company Parties in connection herewith.
Each Guarantor warrants and agrees that each waiver set forth in this SECTION 11
is made with such Guarantor's full knowledge of its significance and
consequences and after opportunity to consult with counsel of its own choosing
and that, under the circumstances, each such waiver is reasonable and should not
be found contrary to public policy or law.

         11.12 GUARANTOR ACKNOWLEDGMENT. Each Guarantor hereby acknowledges that
the Purchaser would not have entered into this Agreement or any other Investment
Documents or agreed to purchase the Securities or consummate the other
transactions contemplated hereby and thereby but for the delivery by the
Guarantors of the Guaranties and other covenants and agreements set forth in
this SECTION 11.

12.      DEFAULTS AND REMEDIES.

         12.1 EVENTS OF DEFAULT. The occurrence of any one or more of the
following events, acts or occurrences shall constitute an event of default (each
an "EVENT OF DEFAULT"):

                  (a) Any Issuer shall fail to pay as and when due (whether at
stated maturity, upon acceleration, demand, required prepayment or otherwise)
any principal of, premium, if any, interest on or other amount under the Note,
or any Company Party shall fail to make payment of any other amounts (including,
without limitation, fees, costs or expenses) payable under this Agreement or any
other Investment Document (whether at stated maturity, upon acceleration,
demand, required prepayment or otherwise); or

                  (b) Any Company Party shall breach or fail to perform, comply
with or observe any agreement, covenant or obligation required to be performed
by it under this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant, the Investor Rights
Agreement, the Amended Affiliate Registration Rights Agreement, the Guaranties
or any other Investment Document (other than the
agreements, covenants or obligations expressly covered by SECTION 12.1(a));

                  (c) Any representation or warranty made by the Company Parties
under, relating to or in connection with this Agreement or any other Investment
Document shall be false or misleading or incorrect in any respect when made (or
deemed made); or

                  (d) Any event, breach, default or "event of default" shall
occur or exist under any Senior Credit Agreement or other Senior Credit
Document, if the effect of such occurrence or existence is to cause any
Indebtedness outstanding under the Senior Credit Agreement or other Senior
Credit Document to become or be declared due and payable prior to the stated
maturity thereof; or

                  (e) (i) Any Company Party or Subsidiary shall default in the
payment (whether at stated maturity, upon acceleration or demand or required
prepayment or otherwise), beyond any period of grace provided therefor, of any
principal of or interest on any other Indebtedness with a principal amount in
excess of $250,000, either individually or in the aggregate, or (ii) any other
breach or default (or other event or condition) shall occur under any agreement,
indenture or instrument evidencing or governing any such other Indebtedness
(including, without limitation, any Other Debt Document), if the effect of such
breach or default (or such other event or condition) is to cause, or to permit
the holder or holders of such other Indebtedness to cause (upon the giving of
notice or the passage of time or both), such other Indebtedness to mature or
become or be declared due and payable, or required to be prepaid, redeemed,
purchased or defeased prior to its stated maturity, unless such breach or
default has been waived within ten (10) days following such breach or default by
the Person or Persons entitled to give such waiver; or (iii) such other
Indebtedness shall be declared to be due and payable or required to be prepaid
or redeemed (other than by a regularly scheduled required prepayment or
redemption) purchased or defeased, or any offer to prepay, redeem, purchase or
defease such Indebtedness shall be required to be made, or is made, in each case
prior to the stated maturity thereof; or

                  (f) Any Investment Document, or any material provision
thereof, shall cease to be in full force and effect, valid and enforceable, for
any reason other than in accordance with its terms, or any Company Party shall
contest or purport to repudiate or disavow any of its obligations under or the
validity or enforceability of any Investment Document or any material provision
thereof, including by operation of law; or

                  (g) There shall occur any Change in Control; or

                  (h) There shall be commenced against any Company Party or
Subsidiary an involuntary case seeking the liquidation or reorganization of such
Person under the Bankruptcy Laws or any similar proceeding under any other
Applicable Laws or an involuntary case or proceeding seeking the appointment of
a receiver, custodian, trustee or similar official for it, or to
take possession of all or a substantial portion of its property or to operate
all or a substantial portion of its business, and any of the following events
occur: (i) any such Person consents to such involuntary case or proceeding or
fails to diligently contest it in good faith; (ii) the petition commencing the
involuntary case or proceeding is not timely controverted; (iii) the petition
commencing the involuntary case or proceeding remains undismissed and unstayed
for a period of thirty (30) days; or (iv) an order for relief shall have been
issued or entered therein or a receiver, custodian, trustee or similar official
appointed; or

                  (i) Any Company Party or Subsidiary shall institute a
voluntary case seeking liquidation or reorganization under the Bankruptcy Laws
or any similar proceeding under any other Applicable Laws, or shall consent
thereto; or shall consent to the conversion of an involuntary case to a
voluntary case; or shall file a petition, answer a complaint or otherwise
institute any proceeding seeking, or shall consent or acquiesce to the
appointment of, a receiver, custodian, trustee or similar official for it, or to
take possession of all or a substantial portion of its property or to operate
all or a substantial portion of its business; or shall make a general assignment
for the benefit of creditors; or shall generally not pay its debts as they
become due or shall admit in writing its inability to pay its debts generally;
or the Board of Directors of any such Person (or any committee thereof) adopts
any resolution or otherwise authorizes action to approve any of the foregoing;
or

                  (j) Any Company Party or Subsidiary shall suffer any money
judgment, writ, warrant of attachment or other order that involves an amount or
value, individually or in the aggregate, in excess of $50,000, and such
judgment, writ, warrant or other order shall continue unsatisfied and unstayed
for a period of ten (10) days, or any non-monetary judgment, writ, warrant or
other order, shall be rendered against any Company Party or Subsidiary that
could have a Material Adverse Effect and that continues unsatisfied and unstayed
for a period of ten (10) days; or

                  (k) The LLCP Representative, if appointed pursuant to Section
1.1 of the Investor Rights Agreement, shall be removed from the Board of
Directors of Parent, or the LLCP Representative shall not be elected or
appointed to such Board at any future election of directors in accordance with
the provisions of the Investor Rights Agreement, and, in each such case, Parent
shall not have caused any other individual designated by the Purchaser as the
LLCP Representative to have been elected or appointed as a member of such Board
within five (5) days after the Purchaser shall have designated such other
individual (PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the removal by the Purchaser of the LLCP
Representative shall not be deemed to constitute an Event of Default under this
clause (k)); or

                  (l) (i) Any Termination Event shall occur that, when taken
together with all other Termination Events that have occurred, could result in a
liability to any Company Party or any ERISA Affiliate in excess of $250,000;
(ii) any Company Party or any ERISA Affiliate shall have committed a failure
described in Section 302(f)(1) of ERISA and the amount determined
under Section 302(f)(3) of ERISA is at least $250,000; (iii) any failure to make
full payment (including all required installments) when due of all amounts that,
under the provisions of any Benefit Plan or Applicable Law, any Company Party or
any ERISA Affiliate is required to pay as contributions thereto, which would
result in a liability to any Company Party or ERISA Affiliate in excess of
$250,000; or (iv) any Company Party or any ERISA Affiliate shall have incurred
any accumulated funding deficiency in excess of $250,000, whether or not waived,
with respect to any Benefit Plan.

         The foregoing Events of Default shall be deemed to have occurred,
respectively, and any adjustments in the interest rate under any Note or other
remedies available to the Purchaser hereunder or thereunder shall begin to
apply, at the following times:

                  (i) In the case of the clause (a) above, as of 12:00 p.m.
         (noon) Los Angeles time) on the day on which such payment is due but
         has not been paid;

                  (ii) In the case of clause (b), immediately upon the
         occurrence of any such breach or failure;

                  (iii) In the case of clause (c) above, as of the close of
         business on the day on which any Company Party first became aware, or
         should have become aware, that such representation or warranty was
         false or misleading or incorrect in any material respect when made;

                  (iv) In the case of clause (d) above, immediately upon any
         such Indebtedness becoming or being declared due and payable prior to
         its stated maturity;

                  (v) In the case of clause (e)(i) above, as of the close of
         business on the day on which such payment of principal or interest is
         due, or in the case of clause (e)(ii), as of the close of business on
         the tenth (10th) day following such breach or default if such breach or
         default has not been waived by the Person or Persons entitled to give
         such waiver, or in the case of clause (e)(iii) above, immediately upon
         the occurrence of any event listed therein;

                  (vi) In the case of clause (f) above, as of the close of
         business on the day such Investment Document or provision, as the case
         may be, ceases to be enforceable or is contested, repudiated, revoked
         or disavowed;

                  (vii) In the case of clause (g) above, immediately upon the
         occurrence of the Change in Control;

                  (viii) In the case of clauses (h) and (i) above, immediately
         prior to the occurrence of any of the events enumerated therein;

                  (ix) In the case of clause (j) above, as of the close of
         business on the last day of such ten (10) day period if such judgment,
         writ, warrant or order is unsatisfied or unstayed;

                  (x) In the case of clause (k) above, as of the close of
         business on the last day of such five (5) day period if the Board of
         Directors of Parent shall not have duly elected or appointed such other
         LLCP Representative to such Board; or

                  (xi) In the case of clause (l) above, immediately upon the
         occurrence of any such events.

         12.2 ACCELERATION. If any Event of Default (other than an Event of
Default specified in clause (h) or (i) of SECTION 12.1) occurs and is
continuing, the Purchaser may, by written notice to the Issuers, declare all
outstanding principal of, premium, if any, accrued and unpaid interest on, and
all other amounts under the Note, and all other Obligations, to be due and
payable. Upon any such declaration of acceleration, such principal, premium, if
any, interest and other amounts shall become immediately due and payable. If an
Event of Default specified in clause (h) or (i) of SECTION 12.1 occurs, all
outstanding principal of, premium, if any, accrued and unpaid interest on, and
all other amounts under the Note, and all other Obligations, shall become
immediately due and payable without any declaration or other act on the part of
the Purchaser. The Company Parties hereby waive all presentment for payment,
demand, protest, notice of protest and notice of dishonor, and all other notices
of any kind to which it may be entitled under Applicable Laws or otherwise.

         12.3 OTHER REMEDIES. If any Default or Event of Default shall occur and
be continuing, the Purchaser may proceed to protect and enforce its rights and
remedies under this Agreement and any other Investment Document by exercising
all rights and remedies available under this Agreement, any other Investment
Document or Applicable Laws (including, without limitation, the Code), either by
suit in equity or by action at law, or both, whether for the collection of
principal of or interest on the Note, to enforce the specific performance of any
covenant or other term contained in this Agreement or any other Investment
Document. No remedy conferred in this Agreement upon the Purchaser is intended
to be exclusive of any other remedy, and each and every such remedy shall be
cumulative and shall be in addition to every other remedy conferred herein or
now or hereafter existing at law or in equity or by statute or otherwise.

         12.4 APPOINTMENT OF RECEIVER. In addition to all other rights, powers
and remedies that the Purchaser has under this Agreement, any other Investment
Document or Applicable Laws, the Purchaser shall, upon the occurrence of an
Event of Default, be entitled (to the extent permitted by Applicable Laws) to,
and the Company Parties hereby consent in advance to, the appointment of a
receiver by any court of competent jurisdiction to take control of the Issuer
and
the Guarantors for the purpose of operating and thereafter selling any Company
Party or Subsidiary to satisfy obligations to creditors, including the
Purchaser.

         12.5 WAIVER OF PAST DEFAULTS. The Purchaser may, by written notice to
the Issuers, waive any specified Default or Event of Default and its
consequences with respect to this Agreement, the Note or any other Investment
Document; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that no such waiver will extend to any subsequent
or other Default or Event of Default or impair any rights of the Purchaser which
may arise as a result of such other Default or Event of Default.

13.      TERMINATION.

         13.1 TERMINATION. This Agreement may be terminated at any time prior to
the Closing:

                  (a) By the Purchaser if, between the date hereof and the
Closing Date: (i) any event or condition occurs that has resulted in or could
reasonably be expected to result in a Material Adverse Change; (ii) any
representation or warranty of the Company Parties contained in this Agreement
shall have been breached such that the conditions set forth in SECTION 6 would
not or could not be satisfied on the earlier of (A) the Closing Date and (B)
June 15, 2000; (iii) the Company Parties (or any one of them) shall not have
complied with any covenant or other agreement to be complied with by it or them
and contained in this Agreement; or (iv) any Issuer or Guarantor makes a general
assignment for the benefit of creditors, or any proceeding shall be instituted
by or against any Company Party seeking to adjudicate any of them a bankrupt or
insolvent, or seeking liquidation, winding up or reorganization, arrangement,
adjustment, protection, relief or composition of its debts under any Applicable
Laws relating to bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization;

                  (b) By the Purchaser, on the one hand, or the Issuers, on the
other hand, if the Closing Date shall not have occurred on or before June 15,
2000; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the right to terminate this Agreement under this
SECTION 13.1(b) shall not be available to any party whose failure to fulfill any
obligation under this Agreement shall have been the cause of, or shall have
resulted in, the failure of the Closing Date to occur on or prior to such date;

                  (c) By the Purchaser, on the one hand, or the Issuers (for
themselves and the other Company Parties), on the other hand, if there shall
have been issued any injunction, order, decree or ruling that prohibits or
limits any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the other
Investment Documents and such injunction, order, decree or ruling shall have
become final and non-appealable; or

                  (d) By the mutual written consent of the Issuers (for
themselves and the other Company Parties) and the Purchaser.

         13.2 EFFECT OF TERMINATION. In the event of termination of this
Agreement as provided
in SECTION 12.1, this Agreement shall forthwith become void and there shall be
no liability on the part of any party, except (a) for SECTIONS 1, 8, 13 AND 14
and any other Sections or provisions which survive the termination of this
Agreement by their terms and (b) that nothing herein shall relieve any party
from liability for any breach or violation of this Agreement or payment of any
obligations hereunder.

         13.3 WAIVER. The Purchaser may (a) extend the time for the performance
of any of the obligations or other acts of the Company Parties, (b) waive any
inaccuracies in the representations or warranties of the Company Parties or (c)
waive compliance with any of the conditions, covenants or agreements of the
Company Parties contained herein. Any such extension or waiver shall be valid
only if set forth in an instrument signed by the Purchaser. Any waiver of the
breach of any term or condition shall not be construed as a waiver of any other
breach or as a subsequent waiver of the same term or condition, or as a waiver
of any other term or condition of this Agreement, the Note or the Warrant. The
failure by the Purchaser to assert, or any delay by the Purchaser in asserting
any of its rights under this Agreement, the Note or the Warrant shall not
constitute a waiver of any such rights and no single or partial exercise of any
such right shall preclude any other or further exercise thereof or the exercise
of any other right.

         13.4 ALTERNATIVE TRANSACTION FEE. If (a) this Agreement is terminated
by the Issuers or the Purchaser for any reason and, within one hundred eighty
(180) days after the date of such termination, any Company Party or Subsidiary
enters into any agreement, transaction or understanding with any other Person
relating to an Alternative Transaction, or (b) prior to the termination of this
Agreement, any Company Party or Subsidiary enters into an agreement, transaction
or understanding with any other Person relating to an Alternative Transaction,
then, in either case, in addition to any damages due to the Purchaser for breach
or violation of this Agreement or any other Investment Document by any Company
Party and any costs, expenses, Losses or other amounts due under SECTION 8 or
otherwise, the Issuers shall jointly and severally pay to the Purchaser an
amount in cash equal to $500,000 (the "ALTERNATIVE TRANSACTION FEE,") which
Alternative Transaction Fee shall compensate the Purchaser for the loss of
opportunity in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.
The Alternative Transaction Fee shall be due and payable to the Purchaser
immediately upon the entering into of such agreement, transaction or
understanding.

14.      MISCELLANEOUS.

         14.1 SURVIVAL OF REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES; PURCHASER
INVESTIGATION. All representations, warranties, covenants and agreements of the
Issuers and the other Company Parties (or any one of them) contained herein, or
made in writing by or on behalf of them pursuant hereto or in connection
herewith, shall survive the execution and delivery of this Agreement, the
issuance, sale and delivery of the Securities, the repayment of the Note and the
exercise of the Warrant and the due diligence or other investigation of the
Company Parties and their Affiliates made by and on behalf of the Purchaser. The
Company Parties hereby agree that
neither the Purchaser's review of the books and records or condition (financial
or otherwise), business, assets, properties, operations or prospects of any
Person, nor any other due diligence investigation conducted by or on behalf of
the Purchaser, shall be deemed to constitute knowledge by the Purchaser of the
existence or absence of any facts or any other matters so as to reduce the
Purchaser's right to rely on the accuracy of the representations and warranties
of the Company Parties contained in this Agreement or any other Investment
Document.

         14.2 CONSENT TO AMENDMENTS. No amendment, supplement or other
modification to this Agreement or any other Investment Document shall be
effective unless in writing and signed by the Purchaser, and the Company Parties
may take any action herein prohibited, or omit to perform any act herein
required to be performed by them, if, and only if, the Issuers and the
Guarantors shall have obtained the prior written consent of the Purchaser to
such action or omission. No course of dealing between the Company Parties, on
the one hand, and the Purchaser (or any successor or assignee thereof), on the
other hand, nor any delay in exercising any rights hereunder or under the Note
or any other Investment Document shall operate as a waiver of any rights of the
Purchaser (or any other Holder).

         14.3 ENTIRE AGREEMENT. This Agreement, together with the Exhibits, and
the Disclosure Schedules which are all incorporated herein by this reference and
are an integral part of this Agreement, the Note, the Warrant and the other
Investment Documents constitute the full and entire agreement and understanding
between the Purchaser, on the one hand, and the Company Parties, on the other
hand, relating to the subject matter hereof and thereof, and supersede all prior
oral and written, and all contemporaneous oral, agreements and understandings
relating to the subject matter hereof, including, without limitation, (a) any
confidentiality agreement existing between Parent and Purchaser (or an Affiliate
of the Purchaser) and (b) the investment proposal letter agreement dated March
28, 2000 between Parent and an Affiliate of the Purchaser, as amended from time
to time.

         14.4 SEVERABILITY. Any provision of this Agreement which is prohibited
or unenforceable in any jurisdiction shall, as to such jurisdiction, be
ineffective to the extent of such prohibition or unenforceability without
invalidating the remaining provisions hereof or affecting the validity or
enforceability of such provisions in any other jurisdiction.

         14.5 SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS; ASSIGNMENTS. This Agreement shall inure to
the benefit of, and be binding upon, the parties and their respective successors
and permitted assigns. No Company Party may assign or delegate any of its or
their rights and obligations hereunder or any interest herein or therein without
the prior written consent of the Purchaser. The Purchaser may, without the
consent of any Company Party, sell, assign or delegate to one or more Persons
(each an "ASSIGNEE") all or any part of its right, title and interest in and to
this Agreement and the other Investment Documents, including, without
limitation, all or any part of the Obligations, subject to compliance with
applicable federal and state securities laws; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that, in any
privately negotiated transaction involving a sale or assignment by the Purchaser
of any such
right, title or interest, the Purchaser shall obtain from the Assignee in
writing investment intent representations which would be customarily obtained in
transactions of such nature; and PROVIDED FURTHER, HOWEVER, that the Company
Parties shall continue to deal solely and directly with the Purchaser in
connection with any right, title or interest so assigned until written notice of
such assignment, together with payment instructions, addresses and related
information with respect to the Assignee, shall have been given to the Company
Parties. If the Purchaser assigns to any Assignee a fifty percent (50.0%) or
lesser interest in and to the aggregate principal amount of the Note then
outstanding, any decisions that the Purchaser is entitled to make under this
Agreement, the Note and the other Investment Documents shall be made by the
Purchaser, and the Company Parties may continue to deal solely and directly with
respect to the Purchaser in connection with the interests so assigned to the
Assignee. If the Purchaser assigns to any Assignee more than a fifty percent
(50.0%) interest in and to the aggregate principal amount of the Note then
outstanding, any decisions that the Purchaser is entitled to make under this
Agreement, the Note and the other Investment Documents shall be made (a) by the
Holders of a majority of the aggregate principal amount of the Note outstanding
at the time such decision is or is to be made, or (b) if notice thereof is given
to the Issuers by the Holders of a majority of the aggregate principal amount of
the Note outstanding at the time, such decisions shall be made in the manner
directed by such Holders.

         14.6 NOTICES. All notices, requests, demands and other communications
which are required or may be given under this Agreement shall be in writing and
shall be deemed to have been duly given if transmitted by telecopier with
receipt acknowledged, or upon delivery, if delivered personally or by recognized
commercial courier with receipt acknowledged, or upon the expiration of 72 hours
after mailing, if mailed by registered or certified mail, return receipt
requested, postage prepaid, addressed as follows:

                           (i)      If to the Purchaser, to:

                                    Levine Leichtman Capital Partners II, L.P.
                                    c/o Levine Leichtman Capital Partners, Inc.
                                    335 North Maple Drive, Suite 240
                                    Beverly Hills, CA 90210
                                    Attention:  Arthur E. Levine, President
                                    Telephone:       (310) 275-5335
                                    Telecopier:      (310) 275-1441

                           WITH A COPY TO:

                                    Riordan & McKinzie
                                    300 S. Grand Avenue, 29th Floor
                                    Los Angeles, CA  90071
                                    Attention:  Mitchell S. Cohen, Esq.

                                    Telephone:  (213) 629-4824
                                    Telecopier: (213) 229-8550

                           (ii) If to the Company Parties (or any one of them),
to:

                                    Interdent, Inc.
                                    222 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Suite 740
                                    El Segundo, CA  90245-4340
                                    Attention:  Michael T. Fiore
                                    Telephone:  (310) 765-2400
                                    Telecopier: (310) 640-9897

                           WITH A COPY TO:

                                    Morrison & Foerster
                                    19900 MacArthur Boulevard, 12th Floor
                                    Irvine, CA  92612-2445
                                    Attention:  Richard J. Babcock, Esq.
                                    Telephone:  (949) 251-7505
                                    Telecopier:  (949) 251-0900

or at such other address or addresses as the Purchaser or the Company Parties,
as the case may be, may specify by written notice given in accordance with this
SECTION 14.6.

         14.7 COUNTERPARTS. This Agreement may be executed in two or more
counterparts and by facsimile, each of which shall be deemed an original, but
all of which together shall constitute one instrument.

         14.8 GOVERNING LAW. IN ALL RESPECTS, INCLUDING ALL MATTERS OF
CONSTRUCTION, VALIDITY AND PERFORMANCE, THIS AGREEMENT SHALL BE GOVERNED BY, AND
CONSTRUED AND ENFORCED IN ACCORDANCE WITH, THE INTERNAL LAWS OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA APPLICABLE TO CONTRACTS MADE AND PERFORMED IN THAT STATE (WITHOUT
REGARD TO THE CHOICE OF LAW OR CONFLICTS OF LAW PROVISIONS THEREOF) AND ANY
APPLICABLE LAWS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

         14.9 CONSENT TO JURISDICTION AND VENUE. EACH OF THE COMPANY PARTIES AND
THE PURCHASER HEREBY IRREVOCABLY AND UNCONDITIONALLY CONSENTS AND AGREES THAT
ALL ACTIONS, SUITS OR OTHER PROCEEDINGS ARISING UNDER OR IN CONNECTION WITH THIS
AGREEMENT OR ANY OTHER INVESTMENT DOCUMENT SHALL BE TRIED AND LITIGATED IN STATE
OR FEDERAL COURTS LOCATED IN THE CITY OF LOS ANGELES, COUNTY OF LOS

ANGELES, STATE OF CALIFORNIA, WHICH COURTS SHALL HAVE EXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION TO
HEAR AND DETERMINE ANY AND ALL CLAIMS, CONTROVERSIES AND DISPUTES ARISING OUT OF
OR RELATED TO THIS AGREEMENT OR ANY OTHER INVESTMENT DOCUMENT. NOTWITHSTANDING
THE FOREGOING, NOTHING CONTAINED IN THIS SECTION 14.9 SHALL PRECLUDE THE
PURCHASER FROM BRINGING ANY ACTION, SUIT OR OTHER PROCEEDING IN THE COURTS OF
ANY OTHER LOCATION WHERE THE COMPANY PARTIES OR ANY ONE OF THEM OR ANY OF ITS OR
THEIR ASSETS OR THE COLLATERAL MAY BE FOUND OR LOCATED OR TO ENFORCE ANY
JUDGMENT OR OTHER COURT ORDER IN FAVOR OF THE PURCHASER.

                  EACH COMPANY PARTY AND THE PURCHASER HEREBY (A) IRREVOCABLY
SUBMITS TO THE JURISDICTION OF ANY SUCH COURT AND CONSENTS IN ADVANCE TO SUCH
JURISDICTION IN ANY ACTION, SUIT OR OTHER PROCEEDING COMMENCED IN ANY SUCH
COURT, (B) WAIVES ANY RIGHT IT MAY HAVE TO ASSERT THE DOCTRINE OF FORUM NON
CONVENIENS OR ANY OBJECTION THAT SUCH PERSON MAY HAVE BASED UPON LACK OF
PERSONAL JURISDICTION OR IMPROPER VENUE AND (C) CONSENTS TO THE GRANTING OF SUCH
LEGAL OR EQUITABLE RELIEF AS IS DEEMED APPROPRIATE BY SUCH COURT. EACH COMPANY
PARTY AND THE PURCHASER HEREBY WAIVES PERSONAL SERVICE OF THE SUMMONS, COMPLAINT
OR OTHER PROCESS ISSUED IN ANY SUCH ACTION, SUIT OR OTHER PROCEEDING AND AGREES
THAT SERVICE OF SUCH SUMMONS, COMPLAINT AND OTHER PROCESS MAY BE MADE BY
REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL ADDRESSED TO SUCH PARTY AT THE ADDRESS SET FORTH IN
SECTION 14.6 (NOTICES) AND THAT SERVICE SO MADE SHALL BE DEEMED COMPLETED UPON
THE EARLIER OF SUCH PERSON'S ACTUAL RECEIPT THEREOF OR FIVE DAYS AFTER DEPOSIT
IN THE UNITED STATES MAIL, PROPER POSTAGE PREPAID.

                  TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED UNDER THE APPLICABLE LAWS OF ANY SUCH
JURISDICTION, EACH COMPANY PARTY HEREBY WAIVES, IN RESPECT OF ANY SUCH ACTION,
SUIT OR OTHER PROCEEDING, THE JURISDICTION OF ANY OTHER COURT OR COURTS THAT NOW
OR HEREAFTER, BY REASON OF SUCH PERSON'S PRESENT OR FUTURE DOMICILE, OR
OTHERWISE, MAY BE AVAILABLE TO IT.

         14.10 LIMITATION OF LIABILITY. No claim shall be made by any Company
Party or any of its Affiliates against the Purchaser, or any Affiliates,
partners, directors, officers, employees, agents, representatives, attorneys,
accountants or advisors of the Purchaser, for any special, indirect,
consequential or punitive damages in respect of any claim for breach of contract
or under any other theory of liability arising out of or related to the
transactions contemplated by
this Agreement or any other Investment Document, or any act, omission or event
occurring in connection therewith. Each Company Party hereby waives, releases
and agrees not to sue upon any claim for such damages, whether or not accrued
and whether or not known or suspected to exist in its favor.

         14.11 PUBLICITY. The Company Parties and their Affiliates will consult
with the Purchaser before issuing, and provide the Purchaser the opportunity to
review and comment upon, and use reasonable efforts to agree on the form and
substance of, any press release or other public statement with respect to the
transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and shall not issue any such press
release or make such other public announcement prior to such consultation,
except as required under Applicable Laws. The parties agree that the initial
press release to be issued with respect to the transactions contemplated by this
Agreement shall be in the form heretofore agreed to by the parties. The Company
Parties hereby consent to the preparation and publication by the Purchaser of an
advertisement "tombstone" publicly disclosing the closing of the transactions
contemplated by this Agreement.

         14.12 CONFIDENTIALITY. The Purchaser will maintain any confidential
information that it has or may receive from the Company Parties pursuant to this
Agreement confidential and shall not disclose such information to third parties
without the prior consent of Parent, except for disclosures of such confidential
information (a) to legal counsel, accountants and other professional advisors to
the Purchaser, (b) to the partners, officers, directors and employees of the
Purchaser, (c) to regulatory officials having jurisdiction over the Purchaser,
(d) required by Applicable Laws or in connection with any legal proceeding, (e)
to any other Person in connection with any assignment of the Note or the Warrant
or any interest therein, and (f) that has been previously disclosed publicly
without breach of this Agreement. The Purchaser hereby acknowledges that the
federal securities laws prohibit any person who has material non-public
information regarding a company from purchasing or selling securities of such
company, or from communicating such information to any other person under
circumstances in which it is reasonably foreseeable that such person is likely
to purchase or sell such securities, in reliance upon such information.

         14.13 WAIVER OF TRIAL BY JURY. EACH COMPANY PARTY AND THE PURCHASER
HEREBY IRREVOCABLY AND UNCONDITIONALLY WAIVES THE RIGHT TO A TRIAL BY JURY IN
ANY ACTION, SUIT, COUNTERCLAIM OR OTHER PROCEEDING (WHETHER BASED ON CONTRACT,
TORT OR OTHERWISE) ARISING OUT OF, CONNECTED WITH OR RELATING TO THIS AGREEMENT,
ANY OTHER INVESTMENT DOCUMENT, THE TRANSACTIONS CONTEMPLATED HEREBY OR THEREBY,
OR THE ACTIONS OF PURCHASER IN THE NEGOTIATION, ADMINISTRATION, PERFORMANCE OR
ENFORCEMENT THEREOF, REGARDLESS OF WHICH PARTY INITIATES SUCH ACTION OR ACTIONS.


                     [REST OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

         IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this Agreement to be
executed and delivered by their duly authorized representatives as of the date
first written above.


                          ISSUERS

                          GENTLE DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION, a
                          Washington corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President and Chief Executive Officer


                          GENTLE DENTAL MANAGEMENT, INC., a Delaware
                          corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President and Chief Executive Officer


                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE, INC., a Delaware
                          corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President and Chief Executive Officer


                          PARENT AND GUARANTOR

                          INTERDENT, INC., a Delaware corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   Co-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

                          SUBSIDIARY GUARANTORS

                          GMS HAWAII ACQUISITION COMPANY, a Delaware
                          corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GMS DENTAL GROUP MANAGEMENT OF HAWAII,
                          INC., a Hawaii corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GMS DENTAL GROUP MANAGEMENT OF
                          SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA, INC., a California
                          corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GMS DENTAL GROUP MANAGEMENT OF THE
                          MOUNTAIN STATES, INC., a Delaware corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GENTLE DENTAL MANAGEMENT - PACIFIC
                          NORTHWEST, INC., a Delaware corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President

                          GENTLE DENTAL OF IRVINE, a California corporation

                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GDSC OF PIEDMONT, INC., a California corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          GENTLE DENTAL LEGACY, INC., a Nevada corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE OF FLORIDA, INC., a
                          Florida corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President


                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE OF MICHIGAN, INC., a
                          Michigan corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President

                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE OF GEORGIA, INC., a
                          Florida corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President


                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE OF INDIANA, INC., a
                          Florida corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President


                          DENTAL ONE ASSOCIATES, INC., a Georgia
                          corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President


                          DENTAL CARE ALLIANCE OF PENNSYLVANIA,
                          INC., a Florida corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Steven R. Matzkin
                                   President


                          SERRA PARK DENTAL SERVICES, INCORPORATED,
                          a Delaware corporation


                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          SPDS DMI, INCORPORATED, a California corporation

                          By:
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                   Michael T. Fiore
                                   President


                          PURCHASER

                          LEVINE LEICHTMAN CAPITAL PARTNERS, INC.,
                          a California corporation

                                   On behalf of LEVINE LEICHTMAN CAPITAL
                                   PARTNERS II, L.P., a California limited
                                   partnership

                                   By:
                                      ------------------------------------------
                                            Lauren B. Leichtman
                                            Chief Executive Officer