Exhibit 99.2

GOLD RESERVE INC.

IMPORTANT SPECIAL MEETING INFORMATION

Electronic Voting Instructions

Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!

Instead of mailing your proxy, you may choose one of the voting methods outlined below to vote your proxy.

VALIDATION DETAILS ARE LOCATED BELOW IN THE TITLE BAR

Proxies submitted by the Internet or telephone must be received by 1:00 a.m., Pacific Time, on September 5, 2014.

Vote by Internet

Go to www.investorvote.com/GDRZF

Or scan the QR code with your smartphone

Follow the steps outlined on the secure website

Vote by telephone

Call toll free 1-800-652-VOTE (8683) within the USA, US territories & Canada on a touch tone telephone

Follow the instructions provided by the recorded message

Using a black ink pen, mark your votes with an X as shown in this example. x

Please do not write outside the designated areas.

Special Meeting Proxy Card

IF YOU HAVE NOT VOTED VIA THE INTERNET OR  TELEPHONE, FOLD ALONG THE PERFORATION, DETACH AND RETURN THE BOTTOM PORTION IN THE ENCLOSED ENVELOPE.

A.  Proposals – Management recommends that you vote “FOR” proposal 1.

1.    Approval of the continuance of the Company to Alberta, as set forth in the Management Information Circular.

B.  Non-Voting Items

Change of Address – Please print your new address below.

Comments – Please print your comments below.

Meeting Attendance

Mark the box to the right if you plan to attend the Annual Meeting. ¨

C.  Authorized Signatures – This section must be completed for your vote to be counted. – Date and Sign Below

Please sign exactly as name(s) appears hereon. Joint owners should each sign. When signing as attorney, executor, administrator, corporate officer, trustee, guardian, or custodian, please give full title.

Date (mm/dd/yyyy) – Please print date below.

Signature 1 – Please keep signature within the box.

Signature 2 – Please keep signature within the box.

IF YOU HAVE NOT VOTED VIA THE INTERNET OR  TELEPHONE, FOLD ALONG THE PERFORATION, DETACH AND RETURN THE BOTTOM PORTION IN THE ENCLOSED ENVELOPE.

Proxy – GOLD RESERVE INC.

SPECIAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS

September 5, 2014

PROXY IS SOLICITED BY THE MANAGEMENT OF GOLD RESERVE INC.

The undersigned shareholder of Gold Reserve Inc. (the “Company”) hereby appoints Rockne J. Timm, Chief Executive Officer of the Company, or failing him, Robert A. McGuinness, Vice President Finance and Chief Financial Officer of the Company, or instead of either of them, ____________________, as proxyholder for the undersigned, with power of substitution, to attend, act and vote for and on behalf of the undersigned at the Special Meeting of Shareholders of the Company to be held on September 5, 2014 (the “Meeting”) at 9:30 a.m. (Pacific daylight time) and at any adjournment or postponement thereof, in the same manner, to the same extent and with the same powers as if the undersigned were present at the Meeting or any adjournment or postponements thereof and, without limiting the general authorization given, the persons above named are specifically directed to vote on behalf of the undersigned in the following manner:

Management recommends that you vote “FOR” proposal 1 if no specification is made, to vote “FOR”. In their discretion, the Proxies are authorized to vote upon such other business as may properly come before the meeting.

(Items to be voted appear on reverse side.)