QuickLinks -- Click here to rapidly navigate through this document

Exhibit 99.1

SCHEDULE 11

NOTIFICATION OF INTERESTS OF DIRECTORS AND CONNECTED PERSONS

1.
Name of company

  Imperial Tobacco Group PLC

2.
Name of director

  Mr Simon P Duffy

3.
Please state whether notification indicates that it is in respect of holding of the shareholder named in 2 above or in respect of a non-beneficial interest or in the case of an individual holder if it is a holding of that person's spouse or children under the age of 18 or in respect of a non-beneficial interest

  Holding by Director in 2 above

4.
Name of the registered holder(s) and, if more than one holder, the number of shares held by each of them (if notified)

  Mr Simon P Duffy

5.
Please state whether notification relates to a person(s) connected with the director named in 2 above and identify the connected person(s)

  N/A

6.
Please state the nature of the transaction. For PEP transactions please indicate whether general/single co PEP and if discretionary/non discretionary

  Dividend reinvestment

7.
Number of shares/amount of stock acquired

  11

8.
Percentage of issued class

  0.0000015

9.
Number of shares/amount of stock disposed

  N/A

10.
Percentage of issued class

  N/A

11.
Class of security

  Ordinary shares of 10p each

12.
Price per share

  £12.1473

13.
Date of transaction

  06/08/2004

14.
Date company informed

  09/08/2004

15.
Total holding following this notification

  8,060

16.
Total percentage holding of issued class following this notification

  0.0011

  If a director has been granted options by the company please complete the following boxes.

17.
Date of grant

  N/A

18.
Period during which or date on which exercisable

  N/A

19.
Total amount paid (if any) for grant of the option

  N/A

20.
Description of shares or debentures involved: class, number

  N/A

21.
Exercise price (if fixed at time of grant) or indication that price is to be fixed at time of exercise

  N/A

22.
Total number of shares or debentures over which options held following this notification

  N/A

23.
Any additional information

  N/A

24.
Name of contact and telephone number for queries

  C Deft, Assistant Company Secretary, 0117 963 6636

25.
Name and signature of authorised company official responsible for making this notification

  C Deft, Assistant Company Secretary

Date of Notification

09/08/2004

The FSA does not give any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy of this document or material and does not accept any liability for error or omission. The FSA is not liable for any damages (including, without limitation, damages for loss of business or loss of profits) arising in contract, tort or otherwise from the use of or inability to use this document, or any material contained in it, or from any action or decision taken as a result of using this document or any such material.

QuickLinks

  Exhibit 99.1
SCHEDULE 11 NOTIFICATION OF INTERESTS OF DIRECTORS AND CONNECTED PERSONS