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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

(WILLIAMS LOGO)

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04/11/2002

                     WILLIAMS COMPLETES SALE OF PIPELINE TO
                            WILLIAMS ENERGY PARTNERS

TULSA -- Williams (NYSE:WMB) announced today that it has closed the sale of
Williams Pipe Line to Williams Energy Partners L.P. (NYSE:WEG) for $1 billion.
Williams received cash proceeds in the amount of $674 million and the balance of
the purchase price in Class B units of limited partnership interests in Williams
Energy Partners.

The transaction was approved by Williams' board of directors, along with the
board of directors and the conflicts committee, which is comprised of
independent directors, for the general partner of Williams Energy Partners.

Williams Pipe Line delivers refined petroleum products to the Midwest through
6,700 miles of pipeline and 39 storage and distribution terminals.

"We believe this is an attractive transaction for Williams shareholders. The
proceeds we're receiving reflect the high quality and strong value of the
asset," said Steve Malcolm, Williams president and CEO. "When you couple this
transaction with previous actions taken this year, we have already over-achieved
in our plan to strengthen Williams' balance sheet."

Phil Wright, president of the general partner of Williams Energy Partners, said,
"The acquisition of Williams Pipe Line is an excellent strategic and financial
fit for Williams Energy Partners. This is the fifth and most significant
acquisition we've made to increase distributable cash flow per unit since our
inception in February 2001.

"From an asset perspective, the pipeline becomes a fixture in our virtual supply
network to help our customers move their petroleum products to key markets
throughout the nation. From a financial perspective, the pipeline generates
stable cash flows based on FERC-regulated tariffs with modest capital
expenditure requirements," Wright added.

Williams Energy Partners plans to finance the purchase initially with equity
issued to Williams and short-term debt. Williams Energy Partners expects to
replace this interim financing in the future with permanent financing in the
form of equity and long-term debt. Williams Pipe Line is expected to be more
than 50 cents accretive to cash flow per unit on an annualized basis to the
partnership's unitholders. In addition, the partnership expects first full-year
earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization to be
approximately $122 million.


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Williams Energy Partners will discuss the acquisition at an investor conference
call at 9 a.m. Eastern on Friday, April 12. To participate in the conference
call, dial (800) 289-0496 and provide code 610178. International callers should
dial (913) 981-5519 and provide the same code. A webcast will also be available
at http://www.williams.com/weg/weg_news.html.

About Williams (NYSE: WMB)

Williams, through its subsidiaries, connects businesses to energy, delivering
innovative, reliable products and services. Williams information is available at
http://www.williams.com.

About Williams Energy Partners L.P. (NYSE: WEG)

Williams Energy Partners L.P. was formed to own, operate and acquire a
diversified portfolio of energy assets. The partnership is engaged principally
in the transportation, storage and distribution of refined petroleum products
and ammonia. The general partner of Williams Energy Partners is a unit of
Williams, which specializes in a broad array of energy-related services,
including energy marketing and trading and natural gas pipeline transportation.

Portions of this document may constitute "forward-looking statements" for both
Williams and Williams Energy Partners as defined by federal law. Although the
organizations believe any such statements are based on reasonable assumptions,
there is no assurance that actual outcomes will not be materially different. Any
such statements are made in reliance on the "safe harbor" protections provided
under the Private Securities Reform Act of 1995. Such statements are subject to
certain risks, uncertainties and assumptions. Should one or more of these risks
or uncertainties materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect,
actual results may vary materially from those anticipated, estimated or
projected. Examples of such risk factors are set forth in both organizations'
latest Form 10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.


CONTACT INFORMATION:

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<S>                             <C>                                         <C>
Kelly Swan, Media Relations     Richard George, Investor Relations WMB      Paula Farrell, Investor Relations WEG
(918) 573-6932                  (918) 573-3679                              (918) 573-9233
kelly.swan@williams.com         richard.george@williams.com                 paula.farrell@williams.com