Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

     Attention Business Editors:
     Kingsway Financial to work with Houlihan Lokey and Scotia Capital as
     co-financial advisors

     TORONTO, Nov. 21 /CNW/ - (TSX:KFS, NYSE:KFS) Kingsway Financial has
announced that the Company and its Board of Directors ("Board") will be
working with both Houlihan Lokey and Scotia Capital as co-financial advisors.
In that regard, Houlihan Lokey and Scotia Capital will provide independent
financial advice to the Company and its Board on matters which may arise over
time. The Company also noted that management has been working on certain
matters with Houlihan Lokey for a number of months. Scotia Capital has been a
long-term advisor to the Company and its Board and was advisor to the Company
in connection with the disposition of York Fire & Casualty Insurance Company
in September 2008.
     F. Michael Walsh, Chairman of the Board, stated: "We look forward to
continuing to work with our financial advisors who will provide the Company
and its Board with independent advice regarding a number of matters that may
from time to time be under consideration. Management continues to focus each
day on enhancing shareholder value and we believe that working with both
Scotia Capital and Houlihan Lokey can provide another important element to
that continued effort."

     About the Company

     Kingsway Financial Services Inc. is one of the largest non-standard
automobile insurers and truck insurers in North America based on A.M. Best
data that we have compiled. Kingsway's primary business is the insuring of
automobile risks for drivers who do not meet the criteria for coverage by
standard automobile insurers and trucking insurance. The Company currently
operates through eleven wholly-owned insurance subsidiaries in Canada and the
U.S. Canadian subsidiaries include Kingsway General Insurance Company and
Jevco Insurance Company. U.S. subsidiaries include Universal Casualty Company,
American Service Insurance Company, Southern United Fire Insurance Company,
Lincoln General Insurance Company, U.S. Security Insurance Company, American
Country Insurance Company, Zephyr Insurance Company, Mendota Insurance Company
and Mendakota Insurance Company. The Company also operates reinsurance
subsidiaries in Barbados and Bermuda. The common shares of Kingsway Financial
Services Inc. are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock
Exchange, under the trading symbol "KFS".

     %SEDAR: 00003152E          %CIK: 0001072627

     /For further information: Shelly Gobin, Senior Vice President and Chief
Financial Officer, Tel: (905) 677-8889, Fax: (905) 677-5008, Web Site:
www.kingsway-financial.com/
     (KFS. KFS)

CO:  Kingsway Financial Services Inc.

CNW 18:56e 21-NOV-08