Phone: 800-213-0689 www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com	Ms. Briana L. Erickson New Energy Technologies, Inc. 3905 National Drive, Suite 110 Burtonsville, MD 20866 Email: Briana@NewEnergyTechnologiesInc.com

NewsRelease

New Energy to Build Commercial Scale MotionPower™ System for Generating Electricity from Motion of Heavy Trucks

Burtonsville,MD–September23,2009 – New EnergyTechnologies, Inc. (Symbol: NENE), a next-generation alternative and renewable energy developer, today announced that successful prototyping and testing of its MotionPower™ technology for generating electricity from the movement of heavy trucks and long-haul vehicles has prompted immediate development of a full-scale system suitable for field testing, and ultimately, commercial deployment.

The Company’s MotionPower™-‘Heavy’ system for heavy vehicles has been engineered to generate electricity while addressing utility demands and commercial considerations unique to large vehicles, including minimizing payload disruption, ensuring passenger comfort, and making special allowances for integration of the system at commercial trucking sites such as ports, weigh scales, border crossings, and central distribution sites.

Heavy-duty trucks have up to 25 times more kinetic energy than a typical car traveling at the same speed. New Energy engineers have developed the MotionPower™-Heavy technology as a fluid-based system, uniquely capable of drawing significant amounts of energy from a single vehicle without jarring its payload or creating passenger discomfort. The efficient transfer of energy from heavy vehicles to the MotionPower™-Heavy system ensures greater electricity production and easier device adoption.

The Company’s new MotionPower™-Heavy technology for generating electricity from the motion of heavy vehicles and big rigs is being developed alongside New Energy’s MotionPower™-‘Auto’ system for cars and light trucks, recently tested for durability during the Labor Day long weekend at Burger King® in Hillside, NJ.

“A few days ago, we announced that testing of our MotionPower™-Auto system for cars and light trucks has enabled engineers to make significant enhancements to that system, including the ability to increase power output and durability while lowering maintenance costs and size,” explained Mr. Meetesh V. Patel, Esq., President and CEO of New Energy Technologies, Inc.

“Today, I’m proud to announce that prototype test results of our MotionPower™-Heavy technology for generating electricity from the motion of heavy trucks and long haul vehicles have similarly produced encouraging outcomes. As a result, engineers have immediately begun development of a field-ready, full-scale MotionPower™ system for heavy trucks, designed to fully exploit the tremendous kinetic energy of moving big rigs.”

New Energy’s full scale MotionPower™ system capable of generating electricity from heavy trucks will be highly-scalable, have a low part count, and will feature smooth energy capture with minimal payload disruption.

Engineers anticipate retaining the overall architecture validated in ongoing tests of the small-scale prototype, while incorporating additional engineering appropriate for high loads, repeated load cycles, and extended outdoor exposure – all important considerations for field-deployment of the full-scale MotionPower™ system for heavy trucks.

Click here to view a video of a small scale first-generation prototype of New Energy’s MotionPower™ Heavy Vehicle Energy Harvesting System: http://www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com/motionpowerheavyvehicleprototype.html

About New Energy Technologies, Inc.

New Energy Technologies, Inc., together with its wholly owned subsidiaries, is a developer of next generation alternative and renewable energy technologies. Among the Company’s technologies under development are:

  MotionPower™ roadway systems for generating electricity by capturing the kinetic energy produced by moving vehicles. An estimated 250 million registered vehicles drive more than 6 billion miles on America’s roadways, every day; and

  SolarWindow™technologies which enable transparent glass windows to generate electricity by coating their glass surfaces with the world’s smallest known solar cells.
  These solar coatings are less than 1/10th the thickness of ‘thin’ films and make use of the world’s smallest functional solar cells, shown to successfully produce electricity in a recently published peer-reviewed study in the Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy of the American Institute of Physics.

Through established relationships with universities, research institutions, and commercial partners, we strive to identify technologies and business opportunities on the leading edge of renewable energy innovation. Unique to our business model is the use of established research infrastructure owned by the various institutions we deal with, saving us significant capital which would otherwise be required for such costs as land and building acquisition, equipment and capital equipment purchases, and other start up expenses. As a result, we are able to benefit from leading edge research while employing significantly less capital than conventional organizations.

For additional information, please call Ms. Briana L. Erickson toll-free at 1-800-213-0689 or visit: www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com.

To receive future press releases via email, please visit: http://www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com/alert.html

To view the full HTML text of this release, please visit: http://www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com/NENE20090923.html

For media inquiries please contact Mr. Jerry Schranz at 201-465-8020, or visit our Media Relations page for additional contact information: http://www.newenergytechnologiesinc.com/media_relations.html

Legal Notice Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

No statement herein should be considered an offer or a solicitation of an offer for the purchase or sale of any securities. This release contains forward-looking statements that are based upon current expectations or beliefs, as well as a number of assumptions about future events. Although New Energy Technologies, Inc. (the “Company” or “New Energy Technologies”) believes that the expectations reflected in the forward-looking statements and the assumptions upon which they are based are reasonable, it can give no assurance that such expectations and assumptions will prove to have been correct. Forward-looking statements, which involve assumptions and describe our future plans, strategies, and expectations, are generally identifiable by use of the words “may,” “will,” “should,” “could,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “believe,” “intend,” or “project” or the negative of these words or other variations on these words or comparable terminology. The reader is cautioned not to put undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, as these statements are subject to numerous factors and uncertainties, including but not limited to adverse economic conditions, intense competition, lack of meaningful research results, entry of new competitors and products, adverse federal, state and local government regulation, inadequate capital, unexpected costs and operating deficits, increases in general and administrative costs, termination of contracts or agreements, technological obsolescence of the Company's products, technical problems with the Company's research and products, price increases for supplies and components, litigation and administrative proceedings involving the Company, the possible acquisition of new businesses or technologies that result in operating losses or that do not perform as anticipated, unanticipated losses, the possible fluctuation and volatility of the Company's operating results, financial condition and stock price, losses incurred in litigating and settling cases, dilution in the Company's ownership of its business, adverse publicity and news coverage, inability to carry out research, development and commercialization plans, loss or retirement of key executives and research scientists, changes in interest rates, inflationary factors, and other specific risks. There can be no assurance that further research and development will validate and support the results of our preliminary research and studies. Further, there can be no assurance that the necessary regulatory approvals will be obtained or that New Energy Technologies, Inc. will be able to develop commercially viable products on the basis of its technologies. In addition, other factors that could cause actual results to differ materially are discussed in the Company's most recent Form 10-Q and Form 10-K filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. These reports and filings may be inspected and copied at the Public Reference Room maintained by the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission at 100 F Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20549. You can obtain information about operation of the Public Reference Room by calling the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission at 1-800-SEC-0330. The U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission also maintains an Internet site that contains reports, proxy and information statements, and other information regarding issuers that file electronically with the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission at http://www.sec.gov.The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly release the results of any revisions to these forward looking statements that may be made to reflect the events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.