FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

[Graphic omitted] Braskem



                          Braskem Announces Stock Split


Sao Paulo, September 25, 2003 --- BRASKEM S.A. (NYSE: BAK; BOVESPA: BRKM5) today
announced that its Board of Directors has endorsed a proposal for a stock split,
which  will  be  presented  for   shareholder   approval  at  an   extraordinary
Shareholders' Meeting to be held on October 20, 2003.

The proposal involves splitting each of the Company's common and preferred class
A and class B shares  using a ratio of 20 shares for every  share held as of the
date of the above-mentioned  Shareholders' Meeting. If the proposal is approved,
the Company's  ratio of  underlying  shares to ADRs traded on the New York Stock
Exchange would consequently  increase from 50:1 (50 preferred class A shares for
each Braskem ADR) to 1,000:1 (1,000 preferred class A shares for each ADR).

The proposed  stock split is intended to  contribute  to further  expanding  and
diversifying  Braskem's shareholder base, and thereby improving the liquidity of
Braskem's shares traded on the Sao Paulo Stock Exchange (BOVESPA).

The Company  believes that the results of the proposed stock split will include:
(a) a lower execution cost for round-lot trades of Braskem's shares,  permitting
share ownership by a potentially larger investor base,  particularly  individual
investors;  (b) a lower share price that is closer to the average share price of
companies  that  currently  make up the BOVESPA's  IBOVESPA  index;  and (c) the
alignment of the number of shares representing one ADR with the number of shares
in one  round-lot  of  shares  available  for  trading  on the Sao  Paulo  Stock
Exchange.   The  proposed  stock  split  will  not  alter  the  number  of  ADRs
outstanding.

The new shares  issued as a result of the stock  split will have the same rights
as existing outstanding shares of the same class.

Paul Altit,  Braskem's Chief Financial Officer,  remarked,  "We are pleased with
the  Board's  decision  to present  the stock  split  proposal  for  shareholder
approval.  We believe that the  implementation  of this  proposal will result in
greater  liquidity for current  shareholders as well as attract new shareholders
to the Company,  particularly  individual  investors.  We see significant growth
potential for the plastics segment in our regional market,  and we are committed
to attracting investors to participate in the Company's growth opportunities."

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Braskem  is a  world-class  Brazilian  company,  a leader in the  thermoplastics
segment in Latin  America and among the five largest  Brazilian  privately-owned
industrial  companies.  The company  operates 13  manufacturing  plants  located
throughout  Brazil,  and it has a yearly production of approximately 5.0 million
tons of petrochemical products.

This press release  includes  certain  forward-looking  statements  that are not
guarantees  of  future  performance.  Investors  are  cautioned  that  any  such
forward-looking  statements are subject to many risks, uncertainties and factors
relating  to  the  operating  and  business  environments  of  Braskem  and  its
subsidiaries that may cause the actual results of these companies to differ from
any future results expressed or implied in such forward-looking statements.

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CONTACTS:

Jose Marcos Treiger                      Luiz Henrique Valverde                 Vasco Barcellos
Investor Relations Officer               Investor Relations Manager             Investor Relations Manager
jm.treiger@braskem.com.br                (5511) 3443-9744                       (5511) 3443-9178
                                         luiz.valverde@braskem.com.br           vasco.barcellos@braskem.com.br


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