Exhibit 99.1

                    Press Release


JACKSONVILLE BANCORP, INC. ISSUES $4M TRUST PREFERRED
SECURITIES

Jacksonville Bancorp Inc. (NASDAQ: JAXB) announced the
private placement of $4 million in floating rate trust
preferred securities through a newly formed Delaware
statutory trust.

The securities qualify as Tier 1 capital for bank
regulatory purposes and have a maturity of 30 years.
The holders are entitled to receive cumulative cash
distributions on a quarterly basis at a variable annual
rate.

Jacksonville Bancorp intends to use the proceeds from the
sale of the securities to fund future growth.

Jacksonville Bancorp, Inc., a bank holding company, is
the parent of The Jacksonville Bank, a Florida state-
chartered bank focusing on the Northeast Florida market.
The Jacksonville Bank opened for business on May 28, 1999,
and provides a variety of community banking services to
businesses and individuals in Jacksonville, Florida.  More
information is available at its website at www.jaxbank.com.