EXHIBIT 99.1      PRESS RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE
VIRGINIA CAPITAL BANCSHARES, INC.
                                                                        CONTACT:
                                                                 Peggy J. Newman
                                         Executive Vice President, Treasurer and
                                                                       Secretary
                                               Virginia Capital Bancshares, Inc.
                                                                  (540) 899-5500

                        VIRGINIA CAPITAL BANCSHARES, INC.
                           TO REPURCHASE COMMON STOCK

      Fredericksburg, Virginia, January 27, 2000 -- Virginia Capital Bancshares, Inc. (NASDAQ; VCAP), the holding company for Fredericksburg Savings Bank, Fredericksburg, Virginia, has announced that it has received regulatory clearance to purchase up to 541,728 shares of its common stock.

      Samuel C. Harding, President of Virginia Capital Bancshares, Inc. said that the Company has been authorized by its Board of Directors to repurchase up to 5% of the Company's 10,834,560 outstanding shares during the next six months. The repurchases will be made in open-market transactions, subject to the availability of stock, market conditions and other factors.

      Fredericksburg Savings Bank is headquartered in Fredericksburg, Virginia, and operates through its four banking offices located in the city of Fredericksburg and Stafford and Spotsylvania Counties in Virginia.

     Statements contained in this news release, which are not historical facts, contain forward-looking statements as that term is defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements are subject to risk and uncertainties, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those currently anticipated due to a number of factors, which include, but are not limited to, factors discussed in documents filed by the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission from time to time.