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                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1


                                                                 [PULITZER LOGO]

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
                                                      900 North Tucker Boulevard
                                                       St. Louis, Missouri 63101
                                                                Tel 314/340-8402
                                                                Fax 314/340-3125



                 PULITZER INC. DECLARES $0.20 QUARTERLY DIVIDEND


     ST. LOUIS, April 12, 2005 -- The Board of Directors of Pulitzer Inc. (NYSE:
PTZ) has declared a quarterly dividend of $0.20 per share on its Common Stock and Class B Common Stock, payable on May 2, 2005 to stockholders of record on April 22, 2005.

     Pulitzer Inc., through various subsidiaries and affiliated entities, is engaged in newspaper publishing and related new media activities. The Company's newspaper operations include two major metropolitan dailies, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the Arizona Daily Star in Tucson, Ariz., and, through its Pulitzer Newspapers, Inc. (PNI) subsidiary, 12 other dailies and more than 75 weekly newspapers, shoppers, and niche publications. The PNI dailies are The Pantagraph, Bloomington, Ill.; The Daily Herald, Provo, Utah; the Santa Maria Times, Santa Maria, Calif.; The Napa Valley Register, Napa, Calif.; The World, Coos Bay, Ore.; The Sentinel, Hanford, Calif.; the Arizona Daily Sun, Flagstaff, Ariz.; the Daily Chronicle, DeKalb, Ill.; The Garden Island, Lihue, Hawaii; the Daily Journal, Park Hills, Mo.; The Lompoc Record, Lompoc, Calif.; and The Daily News, Rhinelander, Wisc. The Company's newspaper operations also include the Suburban Journals of Greater St. Louis, a group of 36 weekly papers and various niche publications.

     On January 30, 2005, Lee Enterprises, Incorporated (NYSE: LEE), and Pulitzer Inc. (NYSE: PTZ) announced that they have entered into a definitive agreement for Lee to acquire all of Pulitzer's capital stock for a cash purchase price of $64 per share, with enterprise value totaling $1.46 billion based upon a value of $64 per share. The boards of directors of both companies have unanimously approved the transaction. The transaction is subject to customary closing conditions and approval by Pulitzer shareholders. The transaction is expected to close by the end of the second calendar quarter of 2005.

     The Company's new media and interactive initiatives include STLtoday.com in St. Louis, azstarnet.com in Tucson, and Web sites for all of its other dailies. Pulitzer Inc. is the successor to the company originally founded by Joseph Pulitzer in St. Louis in 1878. For more information, visit our Web site at www.pulitzerinc.com.

     For more information, please contact James V. Maloney, director of shareholder relations at Pulitzer Inc., at (314) 340-8402.



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NOTES:

     This press release contains forward-looking statements based on current management expectations. Numerous factors may cause events to differ materially from those anticipated in the forward-looking statements including regulatory and other factors. Many of the factors that will determine those events are beyond our capability to control or predict. These statements are subject to risks and uncertainties and therefore actual events may differ materially. Readers should not place undue reliance on such forward-looking statements which reflect management's view only as of the date hereof. We undertake no obligation to revise or update any forward-looking statements, or to make any other forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND WHERE TO FIND IT

     The proposed transaction will be submitted to Pulitzer's stockholders for their consideration, and Pulitzer will file with the SEC a proxy statement to be used to solicit the stockholders' approval of the proposed transaction, as well as other relevant documents concerning the proposed transaction. STOCKHOLDERS OF PULITZER ARE URGED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT REGARDING THE PROPOSED TRANSACTION AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED WITH THE SEC WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE, AS WELL AS ANY AMENDMENTS OR SUPPLEMENTS TO THOSE DOCUMENTS, BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION. A free copy of the proxy statement, as well as other filings containing information about Pulitzer, may be obtained at the SEC's Internet site (http://www.sec.gov). Copies of the proxy statement and the SEC filings that will be incorporated by reference in the proxy statement can also be obtained, without charge, by directing a request to James V. Maloney, Secretary, Pulitzer Inc., 900 North Tucker Boulevard, St. Louis, Missouri 63101.

PARTICIPANTS IN THE SOLICITATION

     Pulitzer and its directors and executive officers and other members of management and employees may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the stockholders of Pulitzer in connection with the proposed transaction. Information regarding Pulitzer's directors and executive officers is available in Pulitzer's annual report on Form 10-K, which was filed with the SEC on March 17, 2005. Additional information regarding the interests of such potential participants will be included in the proxy statement and the other relevant documents filed with the SEC when they become available.

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