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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1


STATEMENT UNDER OATH OF PRINCIPAL EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND PRINCIPAL FINANCIAL OFFICER REGARDING FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES RELATING TO EXCHANGE ACT FILINGS

I, James J. Postl, state and attest that:

     (1) To the best of my knowledge, based upon a review of the covered reports of Pennzoil-Quaker State Company, and, except as corrected or supplemented in a subsequent covered report:

          o no covered report contained an untrue statement of a material fact as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed); and

          o no covered report omitted to state a material fact necessary to make the statements in the covered report, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed).


     (2) I have reviewed the contents of this statement with the Company's audit committee.

     (3) In this statement under oath, each of the following, if filed on or before the date of this statement, is a "covered report":

          o Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001 of Pennzoil-Quaker State Company;

          o all reports on Form 10-Q, all reports on Form 8-K and all definitive proxy materials of Pennzoil-Quaker State Company filed with the Commission subsequent to the filing of the Form 10-K identified above; and

          o    any amendments to any of the foregoing.

/s/ James J. Postl
----------------------------------------           Subscribed and sworn to
James J. Postl                                     before me this 12th day of
Chief Executive Officer                            August, 2002
August 12, 2002
                                                   /s/ Susan Diane Koontz
                                                   ---------------------------
                                                   Susan Diane Koontz
                                                   Notary Public
                                                   My Commission Expires 2/28/04

                                                   [NOTARY STAMP]