SCOTIA PACIFIC CO LLC (CIK 1066797)
Form 10-Q
period 2002-03-31
filed 2002-05-15

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
                       THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                  FOR THE QUARTERLY PERIOD ENDED MARCH 31, 2002

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

    Item 1.   Financial Statements:
              Balance Sheet at March 31, 2002 and December 31, 2001
              Statement of Income for the three months ended March 31, 2002
                and 2001
              Statement of Cash Flows for the three months ended March 31, 2002
                and 2001
              Condensed Notes to Financial Statements

    Item 2.   Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and
                Results of Operations

PART II.  -  OTHER INFORMATION

    Item 1.   Legal Proceedings
    Item 6.   Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K
    Signature

APPENDIX A - GLOSSARY OF DEFINED TERMS

                           SCOTIA PACIFIC COMPANY LLC

                                  BALANCE SHEET
                            (IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS)

                                                                                          MARCH 31,   DECEMBER 31,
                                                                                            2002          2001
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
                                                                                                (UNAUDITED)

ASSETS
Current assets:
   Cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash......................................... $        8.0  $       37.8
   Marketable securities, restricted...................................................         17.7          17.1
   Receivables from Pacific Lumber.....................................................          6.1           3.8
   Prepaid timber harvesting costs.....................................................          8.0           7.9
   Other current assets................................................................          0.2           0.6
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
      Total current assets.............................................................         40.0          67.2
Timber and timberlands, net of accumulated depletion of $264.4 and
   $261.6, respectively................................................................        246.1         247.9
Property and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation of $13.5 and
    $13.0, respectively................................................................         21.2          20.9
Deferred financing costs, net..........................................................         16.1          16.4
Restricted cash, marketable securities and other investments...........................         54.6          87.6
Other assets...........................................................................          6.3           6.5
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
                                                                                        $      384.3  $      446.5
                                                                                        ============= =============

LIABILITIES AND MEMBER DEFICIT
Current liabilities:
   Due to Pacific Lumber............................................................... $        0.9  $        1.0
   Accrued interest....................................................................         11.0          25.4
   Other accrued liabilities...........................................................          2.5           3.0
   Current maturities of long-term debt, excluding $2.4 and $2.3, respectively, of
      repurchased Timber Notes held in the SAR Account.................................         15.4          14.9
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
      Total current liabilities........................................................         29.8          44.3
Long-term debt, less current maturities and excluding $53.5 and $55.4, respectively,
      of repurchased Timber Notes held in the SAR Account..............................        742.3         754.5
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
      Total liabilities................................................................        772.1         798.8
                                                                                        ------------- -------------

Contingencies (See Note 3)

Member deficit.........................................................................       (387.8)       (352.3)
                                                                                        ------------- -------------
                                                                                        $      384.3  $      446.5
                                                                                        ============= =============

   The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

                           SCOTIA PACIFIC COMPANY LLC

                               STATEMENT OF INCOME
                            (IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS)

                                                                                              THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                                  MARCH 31,
                                                                                            -----------------------
                                                                                               2002        2001
                                                                                            ----------  -----------
                                                                                                  (UNAUDITED)

Log sales to Pacific Lumber...............................................................  $    15.9   $     13.1
                                                                                            ----------  -----------

Operating expenses:
   General and administrative.............................................................        4.5          3.6
   Depletion, depreciation and amortization...............................................        3.4          1.7
                                                                                            ----------  -----------
                                                                                                  7.9          5.3
                                                                                            ----------  -----------

Operating income..........................................................................        8.0          7.8

Other income (expense):
   Interest and other income..............................................................        1.4          2.4
   Interest expense.......................................................................      (14.5)       (14.8)
                                                                                            ----------  -----------
                                                                                                (13.1)       (12.4)
                                                                                            ----------  -----------

Net loss..................................................................................  $    (5.1)  $     (4.6)
                                                                                            ==========  ===========

   The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

                           SCOTIA PACIFIC COMPANY LLC

                             STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS
                            (IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS)

                                                                                               THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                                   MARCH 31,
                                                                                             ----------------------
                                                                                                2002       2001
                                                                                             ---------- -----------
                                                                                                   (UNAUDITED)

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Net loss................................................................................  $    (5.1) $     (4.6)
   Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used for operating activities:
      Depletion, depreciation and amortization.............................................        3.4         1.7
      Amortization of deferred financing costs.............................................        0.3         0.3
      Increase (decrease) in cash resulting from changes in:
        Receivables from Pacific Lumber....................................................       (2.3)        6.3
        Prepaid timber harvesting costs....................................................       (0.1)       (0.8)
        Due to Pacific Lumber..............................................................       (0.3)        0.1
        Accrued interest...................................................................      (14.4)      (15.1)
        Other accrued liabilities..........................................................       (0.5)       (1.8)
        Other..............................................................................        0.3         0.2
                                                                                             ---------- -----------
        Net cash used for operating activities.............................................      (18.7)      (13.7)
                                                                                             ---------- -----------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Capital expenditures....................................................................       (1.3)       (0.7)
                                                                                             ---------- -----------
        Net cash used for investing activities.............................................       (1.3)       (0.7)
                                                                                             ---------- -----------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Principal payments on Timber Notes and other timber related debt........................      (11.6)      (11.4)
   Other changes in restricted cash........................................................       31.2         9.9
   Member distributions....................................................................      (29.4)      (73.1)
                                                                                             ---------- -----------
        Net cash used for financing activities.............................................       (9.8)      (74.6)
                                                                                             ---------- -----------

NET DECREASE IN CASH, CASH EQUIVALENTS AND RESTRICTED CASH.................................      (29.8)      (89.0)
CASH, CASH EQUIVALENTS AND RESTRICTED CASH AT BEGINNING OF PERIOD..........................       37.8        98.1
                                                                                             ---------- -----------
CASH, CASH EQUIVALENTS AND RESTRICTED CASH AT END OF PERIOD................................  $     8.0  $      9.1
                                                                                             ========== ===========

SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
   Interest paid...........................................................................  $    28.5  $     29.5

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
the Company at March 31, 2002, and the results of operations and cash flows for
the three months ended March 31, 2002 and 2001. The Company is a wholly owned
subsidiary of Pacific Lumber which is a wholly owned subsidiary of MGI. MGI is a
wholly owned subsidiary of MGHI which is a wholly owned subsidiary of MAXXAM.

      NEW ACCOUNTING STANDARDS

      In June 2001, the FASB issued SFAS No. 143, which addresses accounting and
reporting standards for obligations associated with the retirement of tangible
long-lived assets and the related asset retirement costs. The Company is
required to adopt SFAS no. 143 beginning on January 1, 2003. In general, SFAS
No. 143 requires the recognition of a liability resulting from anticipated asset
retirement obligations, offset by an increase in the value of the associated
productive asset for such anticipated costs. Over the life of the asset,
depreciation applies to all legal obligations associated with the retirement of
a tangible long-lived asset that results from the acquisition, construction, or
development and (or) the normal operation of a long-lived asset, except for
certain lease obligations. Excluded from this statement are obligations arising
solely from a plan to dispose of a long-lived asset and obligations that result
from the improper operation of an asset (i.e. certain types of environmental
obligations). The Company is continuing its evaluation of SFAS No. 143. However,
the Company does not currently expect the adoption of SFAS No. 143 to have a
material impact on its future financial statements.

      In April 2002, the FASB issued SFAS No. 145, which rescinds the previous
guidance for debt extinguishments. This statement also amends other existing
authoritative pronouncements to make various technical corrections, clarify
meanings, or describe applicability under changed conditions. SFAS No. 145
eliminates the requirement that gains and losses from extinguishment of debt be
aggregated and, if material, classified as an extraordinary item, net of related
income tax effect. However, transactions would not be prohibited from
extraordinary item classification if they meet the criteria in APB Opinion 30,
"Reporting the Results of Operations - Reporting the Effects of Disposal of a
Segment of a Business, and Extraordinary, Unusual and Infrequently Occurring
Events and Transactions." Applying the provisions of APB 30 will distinguish
transactions that are part of an entity's recurring operations from those that
are unusual or infrequent or that meet the criteria for classification as an
extraordinary item. This statement is effective for fiscal years beginning after
May 15, 2002. The Company does not expect the adoption of SFAS No. 145 to have a
material impact on its financial statements.

2.    CASH, MARKETABLE SECURITIES AND OTHER INVESTMENTS

      Restricted Cash, Marketable Securities and Other Investments
      Cash, marketable securities and other investments include the following
amounts which are restricted under the terms of the Company's debt agreements
(in millions):

                                                                                          March 31,    DECEMBER 31,
                                                                                            2002           2001
                                                                                        -------------  ------------
Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents, restricted..............................................  $        6.0   $      35.3
   Marketable securities, restricted:
      Amounts held in SAR Account.....................................................          17.7          17.1
                                                                                        -------------  ------------
                                                                                                23.7          52.4
Long-term restricted cash, marketable securities and other investments:
   Amounts held in SAR Account........................................................         102.5         137.8
   Other amounts restricted under the Indenture.......................................           2.7           2.8
   Less: Amounts attributable to Timber Notes held in SAR Account.....................         (50.6)        (53.0)
                                                                                        -------------  ------------
                                                                                                54.6          87.6
                                                                                        -------------  ------------
Total restricted cash, marketable securities and other investments....................  $       78.3   $     140.0
                                                                                        =============  ============

      Other Investments
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

                                                                                          MARCH 31,     DECEMBER 31,
                                                                                            2002            2001
                                                                                        -------------   -------------

Investment in Equity Fund Partnership................................................   $        7.7    $       10.6

Percentage of ownership held.........................................................            2.4%            3.1%

      As of March 31, 2002, long-term restricted cash, marketable securities,
and other investments also included $4.9 million related to an investment in a
limited partnership which invests in, among other things, debt and equity
securities associated with developed and emerging markets.

3.    CONTINGENCIES

      Regulatory and environmental matters play a significant role in the
Company's forest products business, which is subject to a variety of California
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
factors. The HCP and incidental take permits related to the HCP allow incidental
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
TMDL requirements for these water courses. The North Coast Water Board has begun
the process of establishing the final TMDL requirements applicable to the
Company's timberlands. This will be a lengthy process, and the final TMDL
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
improvements have been experienced thus far in 2002. Although delays in the
approvals of THPs may from time to time continue to impact the Company's ability
to meet its harvesting goals, the Company anticipates that once the
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
continued violation of the CWA. The EPA has been joined as a defendant in this
case. The Company believes that the requirements under the HCP are adequate to
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
reduce or minimize such challenges.

4.    COMPREHENSIVE LOSS AND MEMBER DEFICIT

      Comprehensive loss includes the following (in millions):

                                                                                            THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                                 MARCH 31,
                                                                                        ---------------------------
                                                                                            2002           2001
                                                                                        ------------   ------------
Net loss..............................................................................  $      (5.1)   $      (4.6)
Other comprehensive income (loss):
   Net change in fair value of available-for-sale investments.........................         (1.0)           0.6
                                                                                        ------------   ------------
Total comprehensive loss..............................................................  $      (6.1)   $      (4.0)
                                                                                        ============   ============

      A reconciliation of the activity in member deficit is as follows (in
millions):

                                                                                            THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                                 MARCH 31,
                                                                                            2002           2001
                                                                                        ------------   ------------
Balance at beginning of period........................................................  $    (352.3)   $    (288.0)

Comprehensive loss....................................................................         (6.1)          (4.0)
Member distribution...................................................................        (29.4)         (73.1)
                                                                                        ------------   ------------
Balance at end of period..............................................................  $    (387.8)   $    (365.1)
                                                                                        ============   ============

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
improvements have been experienced thus far in 2002. Although delays in the
approvals of THPs may from time to time continue to impact the Company's ability
to meet its harvesting goals, the Company anticipates that once the
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
Statements.

      Log Sales to Pacific Lumber
      Net sales from logs were $15.9 million and $13.1 million for the three
months ended March 31, 2002 and 2001, respectively. The increase in sales was
due to a 19,400 Mbfe increase in the volume of log deliveries over the first
quarter of 2001. However, this increase was almost completely offset by a
significant decrease in log prices. The SBE Prices published for the six months
beginning January 1, 2002, reflected declines in the prices for redwood logs in
the range of 40% to 50% from the six month period beginning January 1, 2001. The
volume of log deliveries for the quarters ended March 31, 2002 and 2001, were
32,100 Mbfe and 12,700 Mbfe, respectively. The increase in volume was
predominantly due to an increase in THP approvals beginning in the third quarter
of 2001.

      Operating Income and Net Loss
      Operating income was $8.0 million and $7.8 million for the three months
ended March 31, 2002 and 2001, respectively. The increase was principally due to
the increase in log sales discussed above offset by an increase in depletion
which is directly related to the increase in log volume.

      Net losses were $5.1 million and $4.6 million for the three months ended
March 31, 2002 and 2001, respectively. The increase between periods is due to a
decrease in interest income realized from cash and investments. This decrease in
income was offset by a slight decrease in interest expense.

FINANCIAL CONDITION AND INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES

      This section contains statements which constitute "forward-looking
statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act
of 1995. See above for cautionary information with respect to such
forward-looking statements.

      At March 31, 2002, the Company could have borrowed a maximum of $60.0
million under the Line of Credit, and there were no borrowings outstanding under
the Line of Credit. The Company has requested that the Scotia LLC Line of Credit
be extended for a period of not less than 364 days beginning July 12, 2002. If
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
reviews were conducted in an effort to identify ways in which Pacific Lumber
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
operations (which performed approximately half of Pacific Lumber's logging
operations) as of March 31, 2002, and intends to rely on third party contract
loggers to conduct these activities.

      The $29.4 million release from the SAR Account discussed above improved
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
and Results of Operations--Critical Accounting Policies" of the Form 10-K for a
discussion of the Company's critical accounting policies.

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
Timber Notes.

      On May 2, 2002, the Company filed a current report on Form 8-K dated as of
April 30, 2002 (under Item 4), related to the change of Registrant's certifying
accountant.

                                    SIGNATURE

      Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the
Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized, who has signed this report on behalf of
the Registrant and as the principal financial and accounting officer of the
Registrant.

                                                SCOTIA PACIFIC COMPANY LLC

Date: May 15, 2002          By:                      /S/ GARY L. CLARK
                                    ---------------------------------------------------
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

ESA:  The federal Endangered Species Act

FASB:  Financial Accounting Standards Board

Form 10-K: The Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the Securities
and Exchange Commission for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2001

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
for Asset Retirement Obligations"

SFAS No. 145: Statement of Financial Accounting Standard No. 145, "Rescission of
FASB Statements No. 4, 44, and 64, Amendment of FASB Statement No. 13, and
Technical Corrections"

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