WHX CORP (CIK 106618)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-06-30
filed 2003-08-08

                                    FORM 10-Q

                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

/X/   QUARTERLY  REPORT  PURSUANT  TO  SECTION  13 OR  15(d)  OF THE  SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended               June 30, 2003
                              -------------------------------------------------

/ /   TRANSITION  REPORT  PURSUANT  TO  SECTION  13 OR 15(d)  OF THE  SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from                      to
                              ----------------------  --------------------------

    For Quarter Ended June 30, 2003            Commission File Number 1-2394

                                 WHX CORPORATION
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

        DELAWARE                                                 13-3768097
 (State of Incorporation)                                     (IRS Employer
                                                             Identification No.)

    110 East 59th Street
     New York, New York                                           10022
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

The number of shares of Common Stock issued and outstanding as of August 1, 2003
was 5,485,856.

                                 WHX CORPORATION
                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                      Three Months Ended June 30, Six Months Ended June 30,
                                                                           2003         2002         2003          2002
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                 (in thousands - except per-share)

Net sales                                                               $  83,519    $ 109,159    $ 164,519    $ 201,982

Cost of goods sold                                                         67,131       86,030      134,080      161,221
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Gross profit                                                               16,388       23,129       30,439       40,761

Selling, general and administrative expenses                               20,772       17,413       42,758       34,431
Restructuring charges                                                        --         10,700         --         10,700
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------
Loss from operations                                                       (4,384)      (4,984)     (12,319)      (4,370)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Other:
           Interest expense                                                 4,903        6,537        9,920       15,340
           Gain on early retirement of debt                                 1,966       11,218        2,999       40,235
           Other income (expense)                                           1,696       (1,562)         188         (324)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Income (loss) from continuing operations before taxes                      (5,625)      (1,865)     (19,052)      20,201

Tax provision (benefit)                                                    (1,567)      (3,159)      (6,146)      (3,944)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Income (loss) from continuing operations                                   (4,058)       1,294      (12,906)      24,145

Income from discontinued operation - net of tax                              --          6,492         --          8,343
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Income (loss) before cumulative effect of an
   accounting change                                                       (4,058)       7,786      (12,906)      32,488

Cumulative effect of an accounting change (Note 4)                           --           --           --        (44,000)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------

Net income (loss)                                                       $  (4,058)   $   7,786    $ (12,906)   $ (11,512)
                                                                        =========    =========    =========    =========

Dividend requirement for preferred stock                                $   4,856    $   4,737    $   9,712    $   9,512
                                                                        =========    =========    =========    =========

Net income (loss) applicable to common stock                            $  (8,914)   $   3,049    $ (22,618)   $ (21,024)
                                                                        =========    =========    =========    =========

Basic per share of common stock

Income (loss) from continuing operations - net of preferred dividends   $   (1.67)   $   (0.66)   $   (4.24)   $    2.75
Income from discontinued operation                                           --           1.23         --           1.57
Cumulative effect of an accounting change                                    --           --           --          (8.26)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------
Net income (loss) per share                                             $   (1.67)   $    0.57    $   (4.24)   $   (3.94)
                                                                        =========    =========    =========    =========

Diluted per share of common stock

Income (loss) from continuing operations                                $   (1.67)   $   (0.66)   $   (4.24)   $    2.29
Income from discontinued operation                                           --           1.23         --           0.79
Cumulative effect of an accounting change                                    --           --           --          (4.18)
                                                                        ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------
Net income (loss) per share                                             $   (1.67)   $    0.57    $   (4.24)   $   (1.10)
                                                                        =========    =========    =========    =========

SEE NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                                 WHX CORPORATION
                      CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEET
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                            June 30,      December 31,
                                                              2003           2002
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       (Dollars and shares in thousands)
ASSETS
Current Assets:
      Cash and cash equivalents                             $  85,719    $  18,396
      Short term investments                                    6,270      205,275
      Trade receivables - net                                  48,739       43,540
      Inventories                                              69,238       68,921
      Other current assets                                     28,081       15,412
                                                            ---------    ---------
                 Total current assets                         238,047      351,544

Advances to WPC                                                 7,113        7,458
Note receivable - WPC                                          32,444       31,959
Property, plant and equipment at cost, less
      accumulated depreciation and amortization               104,630      107,590
Goodwill and other intangibles                                215,276      215,426
Intangibles - pension asset                                    40,270       40,270
Assets held for sale                                           12,007       11,751
Prepaid pension asset                                          18,325       26,385
Deferred taxes - non-current                                   31,523       24,315
Other non-current assets                                       17,106       17,690
                                                            ---------    ---------

                                                            $ 716,741    $ 834,388
                                                            =========    =========
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current Liabilities:
     Trade payables                                         $  61,584    $  60,172
     Accrued liabilities                                       17,474       20,924
     Short-term debt                                             --        107,857
     Restructuring                                               --          5,424
     Deferred income taxes - current                            6,432        6,432
     Interest payable                                           2,058        2,514
     Payroll and employee benefits                              6,207        2,776
                                                            ---------    ---------
               Total current liabilities                       93,755      206,099

Long-term debt                                                254,447      249,706
Other employee benefit liabilities                              8,738        8,784
Loss in excess of investment in WPC                            61,307       60,667
Additional minimum pension liability                           93,728       93,728
Other liabilities                                               1,572        1,543
                                                            ---------    ---------
                                                              513,547      620,527

Stockholders' Equity:
Preferred stock - $.10 par value; authorized 10,000
   shares; issued and outstanding: 5,523 shares                   552          552
Common stock -  $.01 par value; authorized 60,000
   shares; issued and outstanding: 5,486 and 5,406 shares          55           54
    Accumulated other comprehensive loss                      (33,603)     (35,775)
    Additional paid-in capital                                556,207      556,009
    Unearned compensation - restricted stock awards              (132)        --
    Accumulated earnings (deficit)                           (319,885)    (306,979)
                                                            ---------    ---------
Total stockholders' equity                                    203,194      213,861
                                                            ---------    ---------

                                                            $ 716,741    $ 834,388
                                                            =========    =========

SEE NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                                 WHX CORPORATION
                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                          Six Months Ended
                                                              June 30,
                                                          2003         2002
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss                                              $ (12,906)   $ (11,512)
Less: Income from discontinued operations                  --          8,343
                                                      ---------    ---------
Net loss from continuing operations and
  cumulative effect of accounting change                (12,906)     (19,855)
Items not affecting cash from operating activities:
  Cumulative effect of accounting change                   --         44,000
  Restructuring charge                                     --          9,514
  Depreciation and amortization                           7,485        8,610
  Amortization of debt related costs                        829        1,391
  Other postretirement benefits                             125          190
  Gain on early retirement of debt                       (2,999)     (40,235)
  Deferred income taxes                                  (7,208)         (76)
  Gain on asset dispositions                               (490)         (34)
  Earned compensation - restricted stock awards              66         --
  Pension expense                                         8,060        3,800
  Equity loss (income)  in affiliated companies              31         (175)
Decrease (increase) in working capital elements,
  net of effect of acquisitions:
      Trade receivables                                  (5,199)     (19,969)
      Inventories                                          (317)      (2,007)
      Short term investments - trading                  199,005      237,659
      Investment account borrowings                    (107,857)    (110,946)
      Other current assets                                3,298       (7,062)
      Other current liabilities                          (4,487)      27,666
  Other items - net                                        (534)        (430)
                                                      ---------    ---------
Net cash provided by operating activities                76,902      132,041
                                                      ---------    ---------
Cash flows from investing activities:
  Receipts from WPC                                         500         --
  Purchase of aircraft                                  (19,171)        --
  Capital expenditures                                   (5,939)      (3,363)
  Proceeds from sales of assets                           3,704           51
                                                      ---------    ---------
Net cash used in investing activities                   (20,906)      (3,312)
                                                      ---------    ---------
Cash flows from financing activities:
   Long-term debt retirements - net                        --        (77,664)
   Long-term debt proceeds                               22,425         --
   Cash paid on early extinguishment of debt            (14,302)     (23,559)
   Due from Unimast                                       3,204        2,220
                                                      ---------    ---------
Net cash provided by/(used in) financing activities      11,327      (99,003)
                                                      ---------    ---------
Net cash provided by continuing operations               67,323       29,726
Net cash used by discontinued operations                   --         (1,259)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period         18,396        7,789
                                                      ---------    ---------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period            $  85,719    $  36,256
                                                      =========    =========

SEE NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
results of  operations  for the three  months and six months ended June 30, 2003
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
June 30,  2003  and  December  31,  2002 do not  include  any of the  assets  or
liabilities of WPC, and the  accompanying  condensed  consolidated  statement of
operations and the condensed  consolidated statement of cash flows for the three
months and six months ended June 30, 2003 and 2002 exclude the operating results
of WPC. As discussed in Note 1 a Chapter 11 Plan of  Reorganization  (the "POR")
for the WPC Group was  consummated on August 1, 2003.  Among other things,  as a
result of the consummation of the POR, each member of the WPC Group is no longer
a subsidiary of WHX Corporation.

Nature of Operations
--------------------

            WHX  Corporation  is a holding  company that has been  structured to
invest in and/or acquire a diverse group of businesses on a decentralized basis.
WHX's primary  business is Handy & Harman ("H&H"),  a diversified  manufacturing
company whose strategic business units encompass three segments: precious metal,
wire & tubing, and engineered  materials.  WHX also owns Canfield Metal Coatings
Corporation,  formerly Pittsburgh-Canfield  Corporation ("CMCC"), a manufacturer
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
to their  customers.  A Chapter 11 POR was confirmed by the Bankruptcy  Court on
June 18, 2003 and was  consummated  on August 1, 2003.  Pursuant to the terms of
the POR,  among other  things,  the WPC Group ceased to be a  subsidiary  of WHX
effective  August 1, 2003,  and from that date  forward has been an  independent
company. See below for additional  information  regarding the Bankruptcy Filing.
The following is a  chronological  summary of the Bankruptcy  Filing through the
consummation of the POR, and related matters.

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
WHX's  participation  interest in the Term Loan.  The DIP Credit  Agreement  was
terminated and repaid upon the consummation of the POR (see below). As discussed
below, the WHX participation interest was forgiven by WHX in connection with the
consummation of the POR.

            WPC  borrowings  outstanding  under  the  DIP  Credit  Facility  for
revolving  loans totaled  $130.9 million and $135.0 million at June 30, 2003 and
December  31,  2002,  respectively.  Term Loans  under the DIP  Credit  Facility
totaled  $35.8 million and $35.2 million at June 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002,
respectively.  Letters of credit  outstanding  under the  facility  totaled $2.8
million at June 30,  2003.  At June 30,  2003,  net  availability  under the DIP
Credit Facility was $147.5 million.  As a result of the  consummation of the POR
the DIP credit facility was repaid (except for the WHX  participation  described
below).

            At January  1, 2000,  $136.8  million  of the  Company's  net equity
represented its investment in the WPC Group. In addition to this investment, WHX
owned a $32.0 million  participation  interest in the Term Loan discussed  above
and held other claims against WPC and WPSC totaling  approximately  $7.1 million
all of which were forgiven in connection  with the  consummation of the POR. The
recognition  of the WPC  Group's net loss of $176.6  million,  in the year 2000,
eliminated the investment's  carrying value of $136.8 million. In November 2000,
WHX recorded a liability  of $39.8  million  representing  the excess of the WPC
Group's loss over the carrying amount of the investment.

            During the period  November 17, 2000 through June 30, 2003,  the WPC
Group incurred cumulative net losses of $338.5 million. Pursuant to the terms to
the amended POR, WHX agreed to  contribute  $20.0  million to the WPC Group (see
discussion below pertaining to WHX Contributions).  As a result of the Company's
obligation  to fund $20.0  million to WPC Group,  the  Company  recorded a $20.0
million  charge as Equity in loss of WPC as of December 31, 2002. All conditions
to the WHX Contributions were satisfied  effective upon consummation of the POR,
and the WHX Contributions have been made.

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
superceded by the WHX Contributions described below). Through June 30, 2003, WHX
had advanced $5.0 million of the loans and up to $5.5 million of  financing.  At
June 30,  2003,  the  outstanding  balance of these  secured  advances  was $5.0
million plus interest of $0.5 million,  and $1.6  million,  respectively.  These
secured  advances,  totaling $7.1 million were  forgiven in connection  with the
consummation of the POR.

            The October Order also approved a Supplemental  Agreement  among the
members of the WPC Group and WHX,  under which all of the  extensions  of credit
referred to in the preceding paragraph were granted  super-priority claim status
in WPSC's Chapter 11 case and are secured by a lien on substantially  all of the
assets of WPSC,  junior to the  liens,  security  interests  and  super-priority
claims of the lenders to WPSC under the DIP Credit  Agreement.  The Supplemental
Agreement also provided, among other things, that the Company may sell, transfer
or dispose of the stock of WPC free from the  automatic  stay imposed  under the
Bankruptcy  Code,  and under  specified  circumstances  required  WPC to support
certain changes to the WHX Pension Plan.

            Additionally,  the October Order  approved the terms of the Modified
Labor Agreement  ("MLA") by and among WPC, WPSC and the USWA. WHX is not a party
to the  MLA.  The MLA  modified  the then  current  WPSC  collective  bargaining
agreement to provide for, among other things,  immediate reductions in wages and
the cost of  providing  medical  benefits  to active and  retired  employees  in
exchange for improvement in wages and pension benefits for hourly employees upon
a confirmed  WPSC Plan of  Reorganization.  The MLA was part of a  comprehensive
support arrangement that also involved concessions from WPSC salaried employees,
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
approved on March 26,  2003.  The  approval of the  guaranty  was subject to the
satisfaction  of various  conditions  on or before June 30,  2003,  subsequently
extended to August 15, 2003,  including,  without limitation,  resolution of the
treatment  of the WHX Pension  Plan that is  acceptable  to and  approved by the
PBGC,  confirmation  of a Plan of  Reorganization  for the  WPC  Group,  and the
execution of  definitive  agreements  satisfactory  in form and substance to the
ESLGB. All such conditions were satisfied on or before August 1, 2003.

            The amended RBC application contained a business plan that assumed a
confirmed Chapter 11 plan of  reorganization  ("POR") for the WPC Group. As part
of the POR, the Company has  conditionally  to make certain  contributions  (the
"WHX  Contributions") to the reorganized  company.  Under the WHX Contributions,
the  Company  forgave  the  repayment  of its  claims  against  the WPC Group of
approximately  $39 million and,  additionally,  contributed  to the  reorganized
company $20 million of cash, for which the Company received a note in the amount
of $10 million.  As a result of the WHX  Contributions,  the Company  recorded a
$20.0 million charge as Equity in loss of WPC as of December 31, 2002.

            On June 18, 2003 the POR was confirmed by the  Bankruptcy  Court and
on August 1, 2003 it was consummated. In connection with the consummation of the
POR the loan with the RBC  closed on  August 1, 2003 and all  conditions  to the
guaranty by the ESLGB were satisfied and the guaranty was granted.  The proceeds
of the RBC Loan,  among  other  things,  were  used to repay  the DIP  creditors
(except for WHX).  In addition  all  conditions  to the WHX  Contributions  were
satisfied and the WHX Contributions were made. Accordingly,  effective on August
1,  2003 the WPC  Group  ceased  to be a  subsidiary  of WHX and from  that date
forward has been an independent company.

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
2003,  contesting the PBGC's action.  On July 24, 2003, the Company entered into
an  agreement  among  the  Pension  Benefit   Guaranty   Corporation   ("PBGC"),
Wheeling-Pittsburgh  Corporation ("WPC"),  Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation
("WPSC"),  and the  United  Steelworkers  of  America,  AFL-CIO-CL  ("USWA")  in
settlement of matters relating to the PBGC v. WHX Corporation,  Civil Action No.
03-CV-1553, in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New
York ("Termination Litigation"),  in which the PBGC was seeking to terminate the
WHX Pension Plan ("Plan").  Under the  settlement,  among other things,  WHX has
agreed (a) that the Plan, as it is currently  constituted,  is a single employer
pension plan, (b) to contribute funds to the Plan equal to moneys spent (if any)
by WHX or its affiliates to purchase WHX 10.5% Senior Notes ("Senior  Notes") in
future  open  market  transactions,  and (c) to grant  to the PBGC a pari  passu
security  interest  of up to $50  million  in the event WHX  obtains  any future
financing  on a secured  basis or provides any  security or  collateral  for the
Senior Notes.

            Also under the  settlement,  all parties  have agreed that as of the
effective date of the WPC Plan of Reorganization, (a) no shutdowns have occurred
at any WPC Group  facility,  (b) no  member of the WPC Group is a  participating
employer  under the Plan,  (c)  continuous  service for WPC Group  employees  is
broken,  (d) no WPC Group  employees  will  become  entitled  to "Rule of 65" or
"70/80" Retirement  Benefits  (collectively,  "Shutdown  Benefits") by reason of
events  occurring  after the  effective  date of the POR, and (e) the Plan shall
provide  for  a  limited  early  retirement  option  to  allow  up to  650  WPSC
USWA-represented employees the right to receive retirement benefits based on the
employee's  years of  service  as of July 1, 2003  with a  benefit  equal to $40
multiplied by the employee's years of service as of July 31, 2003.

            Finally,  under the settlement,  the PBGC has agreed (a) that, after
the effective  date of the POR, if it terminates the Plan at least one day prior
to a WPC Group  facility  shutdown,  WHX shall be released  from any  additional
liability to PBGC resulting from the shutdown, (b) to withdraw its claims in the
WPC Bankruptcy Proceedings; and (c) to dismiss the Termination Litigation.

            For accounting purposes,  the cost of the early retirement incentive
will be recognized in the third quarter of 2003 as a special termination benefit
in  accordance  with  Statement  of  Financial   Accounting  Standards  No.  88,
"Employers'  Accounting  for  Settlement  and  Curtailments  of Defined  Benefit
Pension  Plans  and for  Termination  Benefits"  ("SFAS  88").  In  addition,  a
Curtailment  arises as a result of the break in service for WPC Group  employees
that also  requires a charge  pursuant  to SFAS 88. The amount of these  charges
will depend on many  factors  including  the number and  characteristics  of the
employees  who  choose  to  retire  and  the  Plan's  funded  status  as of  the
measurement  date. Based on preliminary  estimates,  the combined impact of both
charges may be in the range of $40.0 to $55.0 million.

            For Plan  funding  purposes,  the impact of the changes  will not be
recognized  until the next  actuarial  valuation  which  occurs as of January 1,
2004.  The funding  requirements  will depend on many  factors  including  those
identified above as well as future investment  returns on Plan assets.  Based on
preliminary estimates, using the current statutory discount rate, it is possible
that average annual contributions to the Plan of approximately $10.0 million may
be required for the years 2004, 2005 and 2006.

            The agreement  with the PBGC also  contains the  provision  that WHX
will not contest a future action by the PBGC to terminate the Plan in connection
with a future  WPC  Group  facility  shutdown.  In the  event  that  such a plan
termination  occurs, the PBGC has agreed to release WHX from any claims relating
to the  shutdown.  However,  there  may  be  PBGC  claims  related  to  unfunded
liabilities that may exist as a result of a termination of the Plan.

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
any of these  agreements.  However,  WHX previously had separately  agreed to be
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
Obligations are represented by the USWA. As a result of the  consummation of the
POR, WHX's contingent liability for the OPEB Obligation was eliminated.

            As a result of the consummation of the POR any balance  remaining in
the loss in excess  of  investment  will be  reversed  into  income in the third
quarter of 2003.

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

                                                    Three       Six
                                                   Months     Months
                                                    Ended      Ended
                                                  June 30,   June 30,
                                                    2002       2002
                                               -----------  ---------
                                                     (in thousands)

                         Net sales                $ 71,890   $127,052

                         Operating income           10,849     14,215

                         Interest/other expense        601        892

                         Income taxes                3,756      4,980

                         Net income                  6,492      8,343

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
charge included $6.6 million in employee separation expenses  (approximately 251
employees,  substantially  all of whom were  terminated by June 30, 2003);  $0.6

million  of  contractual  obligations,  and $4.8  million  in costs to close the
facilities,  including refining charges for inventory remaining after operations
ceased.

            The Company  received  $1.8 million in 2003 and $8.5 million in 2002
for the sale of certain  property and  equipment  associated  with this segment.
Included  in the  Company's  Balance  Sheet as Assets  Held For Sale at June 30,
2003, is $12.0 million related to the Fairfield,  CT property.  The sale of this
property is expected to occur in 2003.

            The following  table  represents  the activity of the  restructuring
reserve:

                                         Reserve                             Reserve
                                         Balance                             Balance
                                      December 31,    Cost                   June 30,
                                         2002       Incurred  Adjustment      2003
                                      ------------  --------  ----------   -----------
(in thousands)

Employee separation and related costs   $ 1,358    $  (882)   $  (476)         $-

Facility closing and refining costs       1,117     (1,622)       505          --

Contractual obligations                     137        (63)       (74)         --
                                        -------    -------    -------         ---

                                        $ 2,612    $(2,567)   $   (45)        $-
                                        =======    =======    =======         ===

            In  September  2002,  the  Company  decided  to exit  certain of its
stainless  steel  wire  activities.   The  affected  operations  were  at  H&H's
facilities  in  Liversedge,  England and  Willingboro,  NJ. The decision to exit
these operating activities resulted in restructuring  charges of $8.0 million in
the second half of 2002. The components of the restructuring  charges were: $2.8
million in employee  separation  expenses  (approximately 121 employees,  all of
whom were  terminated  by June 30,  2003),  $4.8 million for the  write-down  of
production supplies and consumables and facility closing costs, and $0.4 million
in contractual  obligations.  As of June 30, 2003, the Company has received $1.4
million  for  the  sale  of  the  Liversedge,   England  property.  The  Company
anticipates  additional  cash  proceeds  in the  range of $1.5  million  to $2.5
million on the sale of the Willingboro, NJ property. The estimated settlement of
certain  pension  obligations  is expected to be in the range of $1.0 million to
$1.5 million.

            The following  table  represents the activity of this  restructuring
reserve:

                                       10

                                          Reserve                              Reserve
                                          Balance                              Balance
                                         December 31,    Cost                  June 30,
                                            2002       Incurred    Adjustment   2003
                                          ----------- ----------  ----------- ----------
(in thousands)

Employee separation and related costs     $ 1,197      $(1,121)     $   (76)     $-

Facility closing costs                      1,241       (1,592)         351      --

Contractual obligations                       374         (144)        (230)     --
                                          -------      -------      -------      ---

                                          $ 2,812      $(2,857)     $    45      $-
                                          =======      =======      =======      ===

            All of the accrued  restructuring  costs for the precious metals and
stainless wire activities  were paid by June 30, 2003. The  adjustments  made to
the restructuring reserves during the six months ended June 30, 2003 represented
revisions to the original cost estimates based on actual costs incurred.

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
2003 were as follows:

(in thousands)
                                          Precious        Wire &     Engineered
                                           Metals         Tubing      Materials        Total
                                        ----------     -----------   -----------   -----------

Balance as of January 1, 2003            $ 106,971     $  60,464      $  47,150     $ 214,585

Pre acquisition foreign NOL utilized          --            (100)          --            (100)
                                         ---------     ---------      ---------     ---------

Balance at June 30, 2003                 $ 106,971     $  60,364      $  47,150     $ 214,485
                                         =========     =========      =========     =========

            As of  June  30,  2003,  the  Company  had  $0.9  million  of  other
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

                                       11

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
accounted for as a discontinued  operation in accordance with SFAS 144 (see Note
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
Stock-Based  Compensation - Transition and  Disclosure"  ("SFAS 148").  SFAS 148
amends SFAS No. 123, "Accounting for Stock-Based  Compensation" ("SFAS 123"), to
provide  alternative  methods of  transition  to SFAS 123's fair value method of
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
indicated below:

                                                   Three Months Ended                 Six Months Ended
                                               June 30, 2003  June 30, 2002  June 30, 2003    June 30, 2002
                                               -------------  -------------  -------------    -------------
                                                            (in thousands - except per share)

Reported:
  Income (loss) from continuing operations     $  (4,058)     $   1,294      $  (12,906)     $   24,145
  Basic earnings (loss) per share              $   (1.67)     $   (0.66)     $    (4.24)     $     2.75
  Diluted earnings (loss) per share            $   (1.67)     $   (0.66)     $    (4.24)     $     2.29

Adjustment to compensation expense for
   stock-based awards - net of tax             $    (193)     $    (157)     $     (320)     $     (265)

Pro forma:
  Income (loss) from continuing operations     $  (4,251)     $   1,137      $  (13,226)     $   23,880
  Basic earnings (loss) per share              $   (1.71)     $   (0.68)     $    (4.30)     $     2.70
  Diluted earnings (loss) per share            $   (1.71)     $   (0.68)     $    (4.30)     $     2.27

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

            In April 2003, the FASB issued SFAS no. 149, "Amendment of Statement
of 133 on Derivative Instruments and Hedging Activities." ("SFAS 149"). SFAS 149
amends and  clarifies  the  accounting  for  derivative  instruments,  including
certain  derivative  instruments  embedded in other  contracts,  and for hedging
activities  under SFAS No.  133,  "Accounting  for  Derivative  Instruments  and
Hedging  Activities," SFAS 149 is generally effective for contracts entered into
or modified after June 30, 2003 and for hedging relationships designated after

                                       12

June 30,  2003.  The  adoption  of SFAS 149 is not  expected  to have a material
effect on the  Company's  financial  position,  results of  operations,  or cash
flows.

            In May 2003, the FASB issued SFAS No. 150,  "Accounting  for Certain
Financial  Instruments  with  Characteristics  of both  Liabilities  and Equity"
("SFAS 150"). SFAS 150 requires that certain financial instruments,  which under
previous  guidance were  accounted  for as equity,  must now be accounted for as
liabilities.  The financial instruments affected include mandatorily  redeemable
stock,  certain financial  instruments that require or may require the issuer to
buy back some its  shares  in  exchange  for cash or other  assets  and  certain
obligations that can be settled with shares of stock.  SFAS 150 is effective for
all financial  instruments  entered into or modified after May 31, 2003 and must
be applied to our existing  financial  instruments  effective  July 6, 2003, the
beginning of the first fiscal  period after June 15, 2003.  The Company  adopted
SFAS 150 on June 1, 2003.  The  adoption  of SFAS 150 did not have any effect on
the Company's financial position, results of operations, or cash flows.

Note 5 - Earnings Per Share
---------------------------

            The computation of basic earnings per common share is based upon the
average  number of shares of Common Stock  outstanding.  In the  computation  of
diluted earnings per common share in the three-month and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2003 and the three-month and six-month  period ended June 30, 2002, the
conversion  of  preferred  stock,  redeemable  common  stock and the exercise of
options would have had an  anti-dilutive  effect.  In the computation of diluted
earnings per common  share in the  six-month  period  ended June 30,  2002,  the
exercise of options would have had an anti-dilutive  effect. A reconciliation of
the income and shares used in the computation follows:

RECONCILIATION OF INCOME AND SHARES IN EPS CALCULATION
(in thousands except per share amounts)

                                        For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2003

                                           Income         Shares       Per-Share
                                         (Numerator)   (Denominator)    Amount
                                         -----------   -------------   ---------

Net loss from continuing operations       $(4,058)
Less: Preferred stock dividends             4,856
                                          -----

Basic and Diluted EPS
Loss from continuing operations
    applicable to common stockholders     $(8,914)       5,340     $  (1.67)
                                          =======      =======     ========

                                         For the Six Months Ended June 30, 2003

                                           Income         Shares       Per-Share
                                         (Numerator)   (Denominator)    Amount
                                         -----------   -------------   ---------

Net loss from continuing operations       $(12,906)
Less: Preferred stock dividends              9,712
                                          --------

Basic and Diluted EPS
Loss from continuing operations
    applicable to common stockholders     $(22,618)        5,339     $  (4.24)
                                          ========      ========     =========

                                       13

                                       For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2002

                                          Income        Shares      Per-Share
                                        (Numerator)  (Denominator)   Amount
                                       ------------  -------------  ----------

Net income from continuing operations     $ 1,294
Less: Preferred stock dividends             4,737
                                          -----

Basic and Diluted EPS
Loss from continuing operations
    applicable to common stockholders     $(3,443)       5,335     $  (0.66)
                                          =======      =======     =========

                                       For the Six Months Ended June 30, 2002

                                          Income        Shares      Per-Share
                                        (Numerator)  (Denominator)   Amount
                                       ------------  -------------  ----------

Net income from continuing operations    $24,145
Less: Preferred stock dividends            9,512
                                         -----

Basic EPS
Income from continuing operations
    applicable to common stockholders   $14,633       5,325         $   2.75

Effect of Dilutive Securities
     Convertible Preferred Stock          9,512       5,136
     Redeemable Common Stock                             73
                                        -------     -------

Diluted EPS
Income from continuing operations
  applicable to common stockholders
  plus assumed conversion               $24,145      10,534         $   2.29
                                        =======     =======         ========

            Outstanding  stock  options for common  stock  granted to  officers,
directors, key employees and others totaled 2.1 million at June 30, 2003.

PREFERRED STOCK DIVIDENDS

            At June 30,  2003,  dividends  in  arrears  to Series A and Series B
Convertible  Preferred  Shareholders  were  $23.0  million  and  $30.4  million,
respectively.  Presently  management  believes  that it is not  likely  that the
Company will be able to pay these dividends in the foreseeable future.

REDEEMABLE COMMON STOCK

            At December 31, 2000,  certain  present and former  employees of the
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
$45 per share or, upon qualified  retirement,  $60 per share.  These  contingent
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
their  shares to WPC.  Approximately  65,000  shares of Common Stock of WHX were
held by the ESOP at June 30, 2003.

                                       14

2003 INCENTIVE STOCK PLAN

            The 2003  Incentive  Stock Plan  authorizes  the  granting  of stock
options and restricted  stock awards.  In the second quarter of 2003 the Company
granted 80,000  restricted  stock awards under this plan to members of the Board
of  Directors.  The market value of shares issued under this plan is recorded as
unearned compensation and shown as a separate component of shareholders' equity.
This  compensation is amortized to expense over the vesting period.  The vesting
period is  one-third at date of grant and an  additional  one-third on the first
and second anniversaries of grant date, respectively.

Note 6 - Comprehensive Income (Loss)
------------------------------------

            Comprehensive  income  (loss)  for  the  three-month  and  six-month
periods ended June 30, 2003 and 2002 is as follows:

(in thousands)                                                      Three Months Ended        Six Months Ended
                                                                        June 30,                   June 30,
                                                                    2003         2002         2003          2002
                                                                 ---------     --------   -----------     --------

Net income (loss)                                                $ (4,058)     $  7,786     $(12,906)     $(11,512)

Other comprehensive income (loss):

   Write off of deferred foreign currency translation losses        1,142          --          1,142          --

   Foreign currency translation adjustments                           269         1,105        1,030           796
                                                                 --------      --------     --------      --------

Comprehensive income (loss)                                      $ (2,647)     $  8,891     $(10,734)     $(10,716)
                                                                 ========      ========     ========      ========

            The write off of deferred foreign currency losses of $1.1 million is
included in other income and expense.

            Accumulated  other  comprehensive  income (loss) balances as of June
30, 2003 and December 31, 2002 were comprised as follows:

(in thousands)

June 30, 2003
-----------------------------------------------

Balance on January 1, 2003                            $(35,775)
Foreign currency translation adjustment                  2,172
                                                      --------

Balance on June 30, 2003                              $(33,603)
                                                      ========

December 31, 2002
-----------------------------------------------

Balance on January 1, 2002                            $ (2,268)
Foreign currency translation adjustment                  1,241
Minimum pension liability adjustment - net of tax      (34,748)
                                                      --------

Balance on December 31, 2002                          $(35,775)
                                                      ========

Note 7 - Short Term Investments and Other Current Assets
--------------------------------------------------------

            Net realized and unrealized  gains and losses on trading  securities
included in other income  (expense) for the  six-months  ended June 30, 2003 and
2002 were income of $1.6 million and losses of $0.1 million,  respectively.  Net

                                       15

realized and unrealized gains on trading securities included in other income for
the  three-months  ended June 30, 2003 and 2002,  was income of $2.6 million and
$0.2 million, respectively.

            In the first  quarter of 2003 the Company  purchased an aircraft for
$19.1  million  which it intends to re-sell.  The  aircraft is included in other
current assets on the Company's Consolidated Balance Sheet at June 30, 2003.

Note 8 - Inventories
--------------------

            Inventories  at June 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002 are comprised as
follows:

(in thousands)                                                          June 30,    December 31,
                                                                          2003         2002
                                                                       ---------    -----------

Finished products                                                      $ 15,666      $ 13,067
In-process                                                               10,026        11,291
Raw materials                                                            20,204        19,925
Fine and fabricated precious metal in various stages of completion       23,949        25,322
                                                                       --------      --------
                                                                         69,845        69,605
LIFO reserve                                                               (607)         (684)
                                                                       --------      --------
                                                                       $ 69,238      $ 68,921
                                                                       ========      ========

            The operating loss for the six-months ended June 30, 2003,  includes
a first quarter  non-cash  charge  included in cost of sales  resulting from the
lower of cost or market  adjustment on precious metal  inventories in the amount
of $1.3 million.

Note 9 - Long-Term Debt
-----------------------

            The  Company's   long-term  debt  consists  of  the  following  debt
instruments:

(in thousands)                                   June 30,    December 31,
                                                   2003         2002
                                                ----------    -----------

Senior Notes due 2005, 10 1/2%                    $ 92,820     $110,504
Handy & Harman Senior Secured Credit Facility      154,127      130,465
Other                                                7,500        8,737
                                                  --------     --------
                                                   254,447      249,706
Less portion due within one year                      --           --
                                                  --------     --------
Total long-term debt                              $254,447     $249,706
                                                  ========     ========

            In the  six-months  ended June 30, 2003,  the Company  purchased and
retired $17.7 million aggregate  principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in the
open market for $14.3  million.  After the write off of $0.4 million of deferred
debt related costs,  the Company  recognized a pre-tax gain of $3.0 million.  In
the quarter ended June 30, 2003, the Company purchased and retired $12.8 million
aggregate  principal  amount of the 10 1/2% Senior  Notes in the open market for
$9.8 million.  After the write-off of deferred debt related  costs,  the Company
recognized a pre-tax gain of $2.0 million.

                                       16

            In the  six-months  ended June 30, 2002,  the Company  purchased and
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
$27.0 million.  After the write-off of deferred debt related costs,  the Company
recognized a pre-tax gain of $11.2 million.

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
was resolved.  Effective upon the  consummation of the POR and the signing of an
agreement  with the PBGC the dispute with the PBGC has been resolved and H&H has
resumed borrowings under the H&H Facilities.

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
review the decision and a brief,  but only as to the All Holders Rule Claim.  On
June 4,  2003,  the SEC issued an  opinion  that,  in  overturning  the  initial
decision of the  Administrative  law Judge,  found that the Company had violated
the "All Holders  Rule." The SEC ordered that the Company  cease and desist from
committing or causing any  violations  or future  violations of the "All Holders
Rule." No other  sanction  was  imposed.  The Company  has filed a petition  for
review of the SEC's  decision  with the United  States  Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia. Briefing and oral argument of the appeal have not been set
at this time.

PBGC ACTION

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
2003,  contesting the PBGC's action.  On July 24, 2003, the Company entered into
an  agreement  among  the  Pension  Benefit   Guaranty   Corporation   ("PBGC"),
Wheeling-Pittsburgh  Corporation ("WPC"),  Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation
("WPSC"),  and the  United  Steelworkers  of  America,  AFL-CIO-CL  ("USWA")  in
settlement of matters relating to the PBGC v. WHX Corporation,  Civil Action No.
03-CV-1553, in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New

                                       17

York ("Termination Litigation"),  in which the PBGC was seeking to terminate the
WHX Pension Plan ("Plan").  Under the  settlement,  among other things,  WHX has
agreed (a) that the Plan, as it is currently  constituted,  is a single employer
pension plan, (b) to contribute funds to the Plan equal to moneys spent (if any)
by WHX or its affiliates to purchase WHX 10.5% Senior Notes ("Senior  Notes") in
future  open  market  transactions,  and (c) to grant  to the PBGC a pari  passu
security  interest  of up to $50  million  in the event WHX  obtains  any future
financing  on a secured  basis or provides any  security or  collateral  for the
Senior Notes.

            Also under the  settlement,  all parties  have agreed that as of the
effective date of the WPC Plan of Reorganization  ("POR"), (a) no shutdowns have
occurred at any WPC or WPSC (collectively, "Steel") facility, (b) Steel is not a
participating  employer  under  the  Plan,  (c)  continuous  service  for  Steel
employees is broken, (d) no Steel employees will become entitled to "Rule of 65"
or "70/80" Retirement Benefits (collectively,  "Shutdown Benefits") by reason of
events  occurring  after the  effective  date of the POR, and (e) the Plan shall
provide  for  a  limited  early  retirement  option  to  allow  up to  650  WPSC
USWA-represented employees the right to receive retirement benefits based on the
employee's  years of  service  as of July 1, 2003  with a  benefit  equal to $40
multiplied by the employee's years of service.

            Finally,  under the settlement,  the PBGC has agreed (a) that, after
the effective  date of the POR, if it terminates the Plan at least one day prior
to a Steel  facility  shutdown,  WHX  shall  be  released  from  any  additional
liability to PBGC resulting from the shutdown, (b) to withdraw its claims in the
WPC Bankruptcy Proceedings; and (c) to dismiss the Termination Litigation.

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

ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS

            The WPC Group has been identified as a potentially responsible party
under the Comprehensive  Environmental Response,  Compensation and Liability Act
("Superfund") or similar state statutes at several waste sites. The WPC Group is
subject to joint and  several  liability  imposed by  Superfund  on  potentially
responsible  parties. The WPC Group entered into a Settlement Agreement with the
US EPA that resolves all of the US EPA's pre-petition unsecured claims under the
Superfund  law and  releases  the WPC Group from any future  liability  for such
claims. The Bankruptcy Court approved the Settlement  Agreement by order entered
June 13, 2003.

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
six-months ended June 30, 2003, respectively. The WPC Group anticipates spending
approximately $19.2 million in the aggregate on major  environmental  compliance
projects through the year 2005,  estimated to be spent as follows:  $2.5 million
in 2003,  $13.2  million in 2004 and $3.5 million in 2005.  However,  due to the
possibility of unanticipated factual or regulatory  developments and in light of
limitations  imposed by the pending  Chapter 11 cases,  the amount and timing of
future expenditures may vary substantially from such estimates.

                                       18

            The WPC Group  entered into a Settlement  Agreement  with the US EPA
that resolves all of the US EPA's pre-petition unsecured claims and releases the
WPC Group from any future  liability  for such claims with  respect to fines and
penalties under various  environmental  laws. The Bankruptcy  Court approved the
Settlement Agreement by order entered June 13, 2003.

            After adjusting for the resolution of pre-petition  claims described
above, the WPC Group's accrued  environmental  liabilities totaled $11.1 million
at June 30, 2003. WPC Group management believes, based on its best estimate that
WPC has  adequately  provided  for  remediation  costs that might be incurred or
penalties   that  might  be  imposed  under  present   environmental   laws  and
regulations.  However,  final agreement with applicable  regulatory agencies has
yet to be reached in a number of instances.  In addition,  unasserted claims may
exist of which WPC Group management is presently unaware and therefore unable to
evaluate.  As a result,  there is at least a remote  possibility  that  material
additional  losses  may have  been  incurred,  the  amount  of which  cannot  be
estimated.

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
the three and six-month period ending June 30, 2003 and 2002:

(in thousands)                                                      Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                          June 30,                     June 30,
                                                                    2003           2002           2003           2002
                                                                -----------     ----------      ---------      ---------
Revenue

   Precious Metal                                                $  21,365      $  42,792      $  43,719      $  77,664
   Wire & Tubing                                                    30,759         35,528         62,907         70,141
   Engineered Materials                                             31,395         30,839         57,893         54,177
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
           Consolidated revenue                                  $  83,519      $ 109,159      $ 164,519      $ 201,982
                                                                 =========      =========      =========      =========

Segment operating income
   Precious Metal                                                $    (177)     $  (7,757)     $  (1,376)     $  (6,170)
   Wire & Tubing                                                       159          2,297           (566)         4,140
   Engineered Materials                                              2,906          4,506          3,521          6,394
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
                                                                     2,888           (954)         1,579          4,364
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

Unallocated corporate expenses                                       7,272          4,030         13,898          8,734
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

    Operating loss                                                  (4,384)        (4,984)       (12,319)        (4,370)

Interest expense                                                     4,903          6,537          9,920         15,340
Gain on early retirement of debt                                     1,966         11,218          2,999         40,235
Other income (expense)                                               1,696         (1,562)           188           (324)
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

         Income (loss) before taxes, discontinued operations
           and cumulative effect of an accounting change            (5,625)        (1,865)       (19,052)        20,201

Income tax expense (benefit)                                        (1,567)        (3,159)        (6,146)        (3,944)
Income from discontinued operations - net of tax                      --            6,492           --            8,343
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

          Income (loss) before cumulative effect of an
            accounting change                                       (4,058)         7,786        (12,906)        32,488

Cumulative effect of an accounting change - net of tax                --             --             --          (44,000)
                                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

          Net income (loss)                                      $  (4,058)     $   7,786      $ (12,906)     $ (11,512)
                                                                 =========      =========      =========      =========

                                       20

Note 12 - Supplemental WPC Group Income Statement Data
------------------------------------------------------

            During the  six-months  ended June 30, 2003 and 2002,  the WPC Group
incurred a net loss of $67.1  million  and $51.5  million,  respectively.  These
results are not reflected in WHX's June 30, 2003 and 2002  consolidated  results
of operations. (See Note 1) The WPC Group's summarized income statement data for
the  three  and six-  months  ended  June 30,  2003 and 2002 is as  follows  (in
thousands):

                                                    Three months ended             Six months ended
                                                          June 30,                    June 30,
                                                    2003          2002            2003           2002
                                                -----------     ----------     ---------      ----------

Net sales                                        $ 250,469      $ 241,642      $ 489,141      $ 447,723
Cost of goods sold, excluding depreciation         239,702        216,457        486,955        428,115
Depreciation                                        16,349         19,436         33,794         37,253
Selling, general and administrative expenses        11,394         11,614         25,258         23,454
Reorganzation expenses                               2,845          2,343          6,145          5,300
                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

Operating profit/(loss)                            (19,821)        (8,208)       (63,011)       (46,399)

Interest expense                                     4,072          4,056          7,723          7,861
Reorganization income (expense)                        169          1,297            160          1,297
Other income (expense)                               1,612            487          2,846          1,464
                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

Pre-tax profit/(loss)                              (22,112)       (10,480)       (67,728)       (51,499)

Tax provision                                         (638)             6           (629)            12
                                                 ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------

Net income/(loss)                                $ (21,474)     $ (10,486)     $ (67,099)     $ (51,511)
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
            results of operations;

                        o The WPC Group has a large net operating tax loss carry
            forward due to prior losses and  continues to incur  losses.  WPC is
            part of the Company's  consolidated  tax group.  In accordance  with
            federal tax laws and  regulations,  WPC's tax  attributes  have been
            utilized  by  the  Company's   consolidated   group  to  reduce  its
            consolidated federal tax obligations. The WPC Group's tax attributes
            will be available to the WHX Group  through  December 31, 2003,  and
            thereafter will no longer be available;

                        o Various  members  of the WPC Group have  existing  and
            contingent liabilities relating to environmental matters,  including
            environmental compliance costs, costs of remediation,  and fines and
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

                                       22

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
to their customers. A Chapter 11 Plan of Reorganization ("POR") was confirmed by
the  Bankruptcy  Court on June 18, 2003 and was  consummated  on August 1, 2003.
Pursuant to the terms of the POR, among other things, the WPC Group ceased to be
a subsidiary  of WHX  effective  August 1, 2003,  and from that date forward has
been an independent company. See below for additional  information regarding the
Bankruptcy  Filing.  The following is a chronological  summary of the Bankruptcy
Filing through the consummation of the POR, and related matters.

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
WHX's  participation  interest  in the Term Loan.  The DIP Credit  Facility  was
terminated and repaid upon the consummation of the POR (see below). As discussed
below, the WHX participation interest was forgiven by WHX in connection with the
consummation of the POR.

            WPC  borrowings  outstanding  under  the  DIP  Credit  Facility  for
revolving  loans totaled $130.9 million and $ 135.0 million at June 30, 2003 and
December 31, 2002 respectively. Term Loans under the DIP Credit Facility totaled
$35.8  million  and  $35.2  million  at June 30,  2003  and  December  31,  2002
respectively. Letters of credit outstanding under the facility totaled $ million
at June 30,  2003.  At June 30,  2003,  net  availability  under the DIP  Credit
Facility was $147.5 million.  As a result of the consummation of the POR the DIP
credit facility was repaid (except for the WHX participation described below).

            At January  1, 2000,  $136.8  million  of the  Company's  net equity
represented its investment in the WPC Group. In addition to this investment, WHX
owned a $32.0 million  participation  interest in the Term Loan discussed  above
and held other claims against WPC and WPSC totaling  approximately  $7.1 million
all of which were forgiven in connection  with the  consummation of the POR. The
recognition  of the WPC  Group's net loss of $176.6  million,  in the year 2000,
eliminated the investment's  carrying value of $136.8 million. In November 2000,
WHX recorded a liability  of $39.8  million  representing  the excess of the WPC
Group's loss over the carrying amount of the investment.

            During the period  November 17, 2000 through June 30, 2003,  the WPC
Group incurred cumulative net losses of $338.5 million. Pursuant to the terms to
the amended POR, WHX agreed to  contribute  $20.0  million to the WPC Group (see
discussion below pertaining to WHX Contributions).  As a result of the Company's
obligation  to fund $20.0  million to WPC Group,  the  Company  recorded a $20.0
million  charge as Equity in loss of WPC as of December 31, 2002. All conditions
to the WHX contributions were satisfied  effective upon consummation of the POR,
and the WHX Contributions have been made.

            A Settlement and Release Agreement  ("Settlement  Agreement") by and
among WPSC,  WPC,  WHX, and certain  affiliates of WPSC,  WPC and WHX,  received
approval of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Ohio
on May 24, 2001, was entered into on May 25, 2001,  and became  effective on May
29, 2001.

                                       23

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
superceded by the WHX Contributions described below). Through June 30, 2003, WHX
had advanced $5.0 million of the loans and up to $5.5 million of  financing.  At
June 30,  2003,  the  outstanding  balance of these  secured  advances  was $5.0
million plus interest of $0.5 million,  and $1.6  million,  respectively.  These
secured  advances,  totaling $7.1 million were  forgiven in connection  with the
consummation of the POR.

            The October Order also approved a Supplemental  Agreement  among the
members of the WPC Group and WHX,  under which all of the  extensions  of credit
referred to in the preceding paragraph were granted  super-priority claim status
in WPSC's Chapter 11 case and are secured by a lien on substantially  all of the
assets of WPSC,  junior to the  liens,  security  interests  and  super-priority
claims of the lenders to WPSC under the DIP Credit  Agreement.  The Supplemental
Agreement also provided, among other things, that the Company may sell, transfer
or dispose of the stock of WPC free from the  automatic  stay imposed  under the
Bankruptcy  Code,  and under  specified  circumstances  required  WPC to support
certain changes to the WHX Pension Plan.

            Additionally,  the October Order  approved the terms of the Modified
Labor Agreement  ("MLA") by and among WPC, WPSC and the USWA. WHX is not a party
to the  MLA.  The MLA  modified  the then  current  WPSC  collective  bargaining
agreement to provide for, among other things,  immediate reductions in wages and
the cost of  providing  medical  benefits  to active and  retired  employees  in
exchange for improvement in wages and pension benefits for hourly employees upon
a confirmed  WPSC Plan of  Reorganization.  The MLA was part of a  comprehensive
support arrangement that also involved concessions from WPSC salaried employees,
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
approved on March 26,  2003.  The  approval of the  guaranty  was subject to the
satisfaction of various conditions on or before June 30, 2003 including, without

                                       24

limitation,  resolution  of the  treatment  of the  WHX  Pension  Plan  that  is
acceptable to and approved by the PBGC, confirmation of a Plan of Reorganization
for the WPC Group,  and the execution of definitive  agreements  satisfactory in
form and substance to the ESLGB. All such conditions were satisfied on or before
August 1, 2003.

            The amended RBC application contained a business plan that assumed a
confirmed Chapter 11 plan of  reorganization  ("POR") for the WPC Group. As part
of the POR, the Company agreed conditionally to make certain contributions ("WHX
Contributions") to the reorganized  company.  Under the WHX  Contributions,  the
Company   forgave  the  repayment  of  its  claims  against  the  WPC  Group  of
approximately  $39 million and,  additionally,  contributed  to the  reorganized
company $20 million of cash, for which the Company received a note in the amount
of $10 million.  As a result of the WHX  Contributions,  the Company  recorded a
$20.0 million charge as Equity in loss of WPC as of December 31, 2002.

            On June 18, 2003 the POR was confirmed by the  Bankruptcy  Court and
on August 1, 2003 it was consummated. In connection with the consummation of the
POR the loan with the RBC  closed on  August 1, 2003 and all  conditions  to the
Guaranty by the ESLGB were satisfied and the guaranty was granted.  The proceeds
of the RBC Loan,  among  other  things,  were  used to repay  the DIP  creditors
(except for WHX).  In addition  all  conditions  to the WHX  Contributions  were
satisfied and the WHX Contributions were made. Accordingly,  effective on August
1,  2003 the WPC  Group  ceased  to be a  subsidiary  of WHX and from  that date
forward has been an independent company.

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
2003,  contesting the PBGC's action.  On July 24, 2003, the Company entered into
an  agreement  among  the  Pension  Benefit   Guaranty   Corporation   ("PBGC"),
Wheeling-Pittsburgh  Corporation ("WPC"),  Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation
("WPSC"),  and the  United  Steelworkers  of  America,  AFL-CIO-CL  ("USWA")  in
settlement of matters relating to the PBGC v. WHX Corporation,  Civil Action No.
03-CV-1553, in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New
York (the "Termination Litigation"),  in which the PBGC was seeking to terminate
the WHX Pension Plan (the "Plan"). Under the settlement, among other things, WHX
has  agreed  (a) that the  Plan,  as it is  currently  constituted,  is a single
employer pension plan, (b) to contribute funds to the Plan equal to moneys spent
(if any) by WHX or its  affiliates  to  purchase  WHX 10.5%  Senior  Notes  (the
"Senior Notes") in future open market transactions, and (c) to grant to the PBGC
a pari passu security interest of up to $50 million in the event WHX obtains any
future  financing on a secured basis or provides any security or collateral  for
the Senior Notes.

            Also under the  settlement,  all parties  have agreed that as of the
effective date of the WPC Plan of Reorganization  (the "POR"),  (a) no shutdowns
have  occurred  at any WPC Group  facility,  (b) no member of the WPC Group is a
participating  employer  under the Plan,  (c)  continuous  service for WPC Group
employees is broken, (d) no WPC Group employees will become entitled to "Rule of
65" or "70/80" Retirement Benefits (collectively, "Shutdown Benefits") by reason
of events  occurring after the effective date of the POR, and (e) the Plan shall
provide  for  a  limited  early  retirement  option  to  allow  up to  650  WPSC
USWA-represented employees the right to receive retirement benefits based on the
employee's  years of  service  as of July 1, 2003  with a  benefit  equal to $40
multiplied by the employee's years of service as of July 31, 2003.

            Finally,  under the settlement,  the PBGC has agreed (a) that, after
the effective  date of the POR, if it terminates the Plan at least one day prior
to a WPC Group  facility  shutdown,  WHX shall be released  from any  additional
liability to PBGC resulting from the shutdown, (b) to withdraw its claims in the
WPC Bankruptcy Proceedings; and (c) to dismiss the Termination Litigation.

            For accounting purposes,  the cost of the early retirement incentive
will be recognized in the third quarter of 2003 as a special termination benefit
in  accordance  with  Statement  of  Financial   Accounting   Standards  No.  88
"Employers'  Accounting  for  Settlement  and  Curtailments  of Defined  Benefit
Pension  Plans  and for  Termination  Benefits"  ("SFAS  88").  In  addition,  a
Curtailment  arises as a result of the break in service for WPC Group  employees
that also  requires  a charge  pursuant  to the SFAS 88.  The  amounts  of these
charges will depend on many factors including the number and  characteristics of
the  employees  who  choose to retire  and the  Plan's  funded  status as of the
measurement  date. Based on preliminary  estimates,  the combined impact of both
charges may be in the range of $40.0 to $55.0 million.

                                       25

            For Plan  funding  purposes,  the impact of the changes  will not be
recognized  until the next  actuarial  valuation  which  occurs as of January 1,
2004.  The funding  requirements  will depend on many  factors  including  those
identified above as well as future investment  returns on Plan assets.  Based on
preliminary estimates, using the current statutory discount rate, it is possible
that average annual contributions to the Plan of approximately $10.0 million may
be required for the years 2004, 2005 and 2006.

            The agreement  with the PBGC also  contains the  provision  that WHX
will not contest a future action by the PBGC to terminate the Plan in connection
with a future  WPC  Group  facility  shutdown.  In the  event  that  such a plan
termination  occurs, the PBGC has agreed to release WHX from any claims relating
to the  shutdown.  However,  there  may  be  PBGC  claims  related  to  unfunded
liabilities that may exist as a result of a termination of the Plan.

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
any of these  agreements.  However,  WHX previously had separately  agreed to be
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
Obligations are represented by the USWA. In connection with the  consummation of
the POR WHX's contingent liability for the OPEB Obligations was eliminated.

            As a result of the consummation of the POR any balance  remaining in
the loss in excess  of  investment  will be  reversed  into  income in the third
quarter of 2003.

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
WHX  also  owns  Canfield  Metal  Coating   Corporation,   a   manufacturer   of
electrogalvanized products used in the construction and appliance industries. In
July 2002, the Company sold its wholly owned subsidiary, Unimast Incorporated, a
leading  manufacturer  of steel framing and other  products for  commercial  and
residential  construction.  As  a  result,  Unimast  has  been  classified  as a
discontinued   operation  for  all  periods   presented.   Effective   upon  the
consummation the POR on August 1, 2003, WPC and its subsidiaries including WPSC,
a  vertically  integrated  manufacturer  of  value-added  and flat rolled  steel
products,  which sought  bankruptcy  protection in November 2000, ceased to be a
subsidiary of WHX and from that day forward has been an independent company.

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
for such purposes.

Results of Operations
---------------------

Comparison of the Second Quarter of 2003 with the Second Quarter of 2002
------------------------------------------------------------------------

            Net sales for the second quarter of 2003 were $83.5 million compared
to $109.2 million in the second quarter of 2002. Sales decreased at the Precious
Metal Segment by $21.4 million and by $4.8 million at the Wire & Tubing Segment.
Sales  increased  by $0.6 million at the  Engineered  Materials  Segment.  Gross
profit percentage  declined in the second quarter of 2003 to 19.6% from 21.2% in
the second  quarter of 2002  primarily due to increased  raw material  costs and
lower sales volume.

                                       26

            Selling,  general and administrative expenses increased $3.4 million
to $20.8  million  in the  second  quarter  of 2003 from  $17.4  million  in the
comparable  2002 period.  This resulted from increased  pension  expense of $2.1
million,  increased legal and professional fees related to the PBGC action,  and
incremental costs,  primarily  employee related,  associated with the closure of
certain H&H operations.

            Operating  loss for the  second  quarter  of 2003  was $4.4  million
compared to an operating  loss of $5.0  million for the second  quarter of 2002.
Operating  income at the segment level was $2.9 million compared to an operating
loss of $1.0 million in 2002.  The 2002  operating  results at the segment level
included a $10.7  million  restructuring  charge  related to the Precious  Metal
Segment.

            Unallocated  corporate  expenses increased from $4.0 million to $7.3
million. This increase is primarily related to increased pension expense of $2.1
million and increased  legal and  professional  fees related to the PBGC action.
The  increased  pension  expense is  primarily  related to the  lowering  of the
assumed  long-term  rate of return on the WHX Pension  Plan assets from 9.25% to
8.5% and a reduction in the discount rate.

            Interest  expense  for the  second  quarter of 2003  decreased  $1.6
million to $4.9 million from $6.5  million in the second  quarter of 2002.  This
decrease was due to lower borrowings, primarily from the retirement of a portion
of the 10 1/2% Senior Notes in 2003 and 2002,  lower  interest rates and reduced
amortization of deferred financing and consent fees.

            Other income was $1.7 million in the second quarter of 2003 compared
to expense of $1.6 million in 2002. Included in 2003 is net investment income of
$.7 million, an unrealized gain on short-term  investments of $2.6 million, loss
on  interest  rate  swap  of  $0.3,  and the  recognition  of  $1.1  million  of
accumulated foreign currency translation losses.

            In the three-months  ended June 30, 2003, the Company  purchased and
retired $12.0 million aggregate  principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in the
open market for $9.8  million.  After the write off of $0.2  million of deferred
debt related costs,  the Company  recognized a pre-tax gain of $2.0 million.  In
the quarter ended June 30, 2002, the Company purchased and retired $39.5 million
aggregate  principal  amount of the 10 1/2% Senior  Notes in the open market for
$27.0 million.  After the write off of deferred debt related costs,  the Company
recognized a pre-tax gain of $11.2 million.

            The 2003 second quarter tax benefit is based on a Federal benefit of
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

Precious Metal
--------------

            Sales for the Precious  Metal Segment  decreased  $21.4 million from
$42.8 million in 2002 to $21.4 million in 2003.  Approximately  $17.4 million of
this decrease was due to the closing of the Fairfield, CT facility at the end of
the third quarter 2002.

            Operating  income increased $7.6 million from a loss of $7.8 million
in 2002 to a loss of $0.2 million in 2003. The 2002 operating  results include a
$10.7 million  restructuring  charge  related to the closure of the Fairfield CT
facility.  Excluding this charge operating income declined by $3.1 million. This
decline is primarily  attributable  to  incremental  costs,  primarily  employee
related, of $1.4 million associated with the closure of facilities, and to lower
sales at the remaining operating units reflecting weak U.S. industrial output.

Wire & Tubing
-------------

            Sales for the Wire & Tubing  Segment  decreased  $4.7  million  from
$35.5  million in 2002 to $30.8  million in 2003 due to lower  sales  volume and
pricing in the  specialty  tubing  group,  and the  shutdown of the  Liversedge,

                                       27

England and  Willingboro,  N.J.  specialty  wire  facilities at the end of 2002.
These specialty wire facilities had sales of $4.4 million in the 2002 period.

            Operating income decreased by $2.1 million from $2.3 million in 2002
to $0.2 million in 2003.  The  decrease in operating  income is due to increased
raw material  costs and declining  sales prices  associated  with this segment's
refrigeration business, lower margins in the stainless steel tubing markets, and
incremental  costs,  primarily  employee related,  of approximately $1.0 million
associated with the closure of the above mentioned specialty wire facilities.

Engineered Materials
--------------------

            Sales for the  Engineered  Materials  Segment  increased $.6 million
from $30.8  million in 2002 to $31.4  million in 2003 due to market  share gains
and new products in this  segment's  fastener  business,  offset by a decline in
sales   in  the   construction   and   appliance   markets   in  this   segments
electro-galvanizing business.

            Operating income decreased by $1.6 million from $4.5 million in 2002
to $2.9 million in 2003. The decrease in operating income is due to a decline in
sales  in  the   construction   and   appliance   markets   in  this   segment's
electro-galvanizing business.

Comparison of the First Six Months of 2003 with the First Six Months of 2002
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

            Net  sales for the first  six  months  of 2003 were  $164.5  million
compared to $202.0 million in the first six months of 2003.  Sales  decreased by
$33.9  million at the Precious  Metal  Segment and by $7.2 million at the Wire &
Tubing  Segment.  Sales  increased by $3.7 million at the  Engineered  Materials
Segment.  Gross  profit  percentage  declined in the six month period of 2003 to
18.5% from 20.2% in the  comparable  2002 period  primarily due to increased raw
material  costs and lower  sales  volume,  and a $1.3  million  lower of cost or
market adjustment for precious metal inventory in the first quarter of 2003.

            Selling,  general and administrative expenses increased $8.3 million
to $42.8  million  in the first six  months of 2003 from  $34.4  million  in the
comparable  2002 period.  This resulted from increased  pension  expense of $4.2
million,  increased  legal and  professional  fees  related to the PBGC  action,
incremental  costs (primarily  employee  related) of approximately  $2.4 million
associated  with the shut down of certain  H&H  operations,  and a $3.5  million
charge for  employee  separation  and related  expenses in the first  quarter of
2003.   This  $3.5  million   charge   relates  to  a  reduction  in  executive,
administrative and information technology personnel at H&H.

            Operating  loss for the first six  months of 2003 was $12.3  million
compared  to a $4.4  million  operating  loss for the first six  months of 2002.
Operating  income at the segment  level was $1.6  million  compared to operating
income of $4.4 million in 2002. The 2003 operating  results at the segment level
include the $3.5 million charge for employee  separation  and related  expenses,
and incremental costs (primarily  employee  related) of $2.2 million  associated
with the shut down of certain H&H  operations  discussed  above.  The  operating
results in the 2002 period include a $10.7 million  restructuring charge related
to the Company's Precious Metal Segment.

            Unallocated  corporate expenses increased from $8.7 million to $13.9
million. This increase is primarily related to increased pension expense of $4.2
million and  increased  legal and  professional  fees related to the PBGC action
seeking to terminate the WHX Pension Plan.

            Interest  expense  for the first six months of 2003  decreased  $5.4
million to $9.9 million from $15.3 million in the first six months of 2002. This
decrease was due to lower borrowings, primarily from the retirement of a portion
of the 10 1/2% Senior Notes in 2003 and 2002,  lower  interest rates and reduced
amortization of deferred financing and consent fees.

            Other  income  was $0.2  million  in the  first  six  months of 2003
compared to expense of $0.3 million in 2002.  Included in 2003 is net investment
income of $1.7 million,  an unrealized  gain on short-term  investments  of $1.6
million,  a loss on an interest rate swap of $0.6 million,  loss on the disposal
of assets of $.8 million,  and the  recognition  of $1.1 million of  accumulated
foreign currency  translation losses. The expense for 2002 was primarily related

                                       28

to an  unrealized  loss on an  interest  rate  swap of $1.7  million,  losses on
disposal of property,  plant and equipment of $0.6 million  partially  offset by
net investment income of $2.5 million.

            In the six months ended June 30,  2003,  the Company  purchased  and
retired $17.7 million aggregate  principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in the
open market for $14.3  million.  After the write-off of $0.4 million of deferred
debt related costs, the Company recognized a gain of $3.0 million.

            In the six months ended June 30,  2002,  the Company  purchased  and
retired $122.0 million aggregate principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in the
open market for $77.0  million.  After the write-off of $4.1 million of deferred
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
six-month tax provision  assumes no liability for federal taxes. This assumption
is  based  on the  utilization  of  current  year  losses  generated  by WPC,  a
non-consolidated  subsidiary.  The cumulative  effect of an accounting change in
2002 had no tax consequence as it relates to non-deductible goodwill.

            The comments that follow compare  revenues and operating income from
continuing operations by segment for the six-month periods 2003 and 2002:

Precious Metal
--------------

            Sales for the Precious  Metal Segment  decreased  $33.9 million from
$77.7 million in 2002 to $43.7 million in 2003.  Approximately  $32.3 million of
this decrease was due to the closing of the Fairfield, CT facility at the end of
the third quarter 2002.

            Operating  loss was $1.4  million in 2003  compared to an  operating
loss of $6.2  million in 2002.  Included in the 2002 period is a second  quarter
restructuring  charge of $10.7 million  relating to the closure of the Fairfield
CT facility.  Excluding this charge  operating  income declined by $5.9 million.
Included  in 2003 is a non cash lower of cost or market  charge of $1.3  million
related to precious metal  inventory and an additional $1.1 million of severance
related expenses  allocated to this segment from the reduction in salaried staff
at H&H. The remainder of the decline is primarily attributable to lower sales at
the remaining  operating  units  reflecting  weak U.S.  industrial  output,  and
incremental costs,  primarily  employee related,  associated with the closure of
facilities.

Wire & Tubing
-------------

            Sales for the Wire & Tubing  Segment  decreased  $7.2  million  from
$70.1  million in 2002 to $62.9  million in 2003.  This  decline  was due to the
shutdown  of the  Liversedge,  England  and  Willingboro,  N.J.  specialty  wire
facilities at the end of 2002. These facilities had sales of $8.9 million in the
2002 period.

            Operating income decreased by $4.7 million from $4.1 million in 2002
to an operating loss of $0.6 million in 2003.  The decrease in operating  income
is due to increased  raw material  costs and declining  sales prices  associated
with this segment's refrigeration business, lower margins in the stainless steel
tubing markets,  and incremental costs,  primarily employee related,  associated
with the closure of the above mentioned specialty wire facilities.  In addition,
the 2003 period includes $1.5 million of severance related expenses allocated to
this segment from the reduction in salaried staff at H&H.

                                       29

Engineered Materials
--------------------

            Sales for the Engineered  Materials  Segment  increased $3.7 million
from $54.2 in 2002 to $57.9 million in 2003  primarily due to market share gains
and new products in this  segment's  fastener  business,  partially  offset by a
decline in sales in the  construction  and appliance  markets in this  segment's
electro-galvanizing business.

            Operating income decreased $2.9 million from $6.4 million in 2002 to
$3.5  million in 2003.  Included in 2003 is $0.9  million of  severance  related
expenses  allocated to this segment from the reduction in salaried staff at H&H.
The  remaining  operating  income  decrease  is due to a decline in sales in the
construction  and  appliance  markets  in  this  segment's   electro-galvanizing
business.

Financial Position
------------------

            Net cash flow  provided  by  operating  activities  from  continuing
operations for the six months ended June 30, 2003 totaled $76.8 million.  Income
from continuing  operations  adjusted for non-cash income and expense items used
$6.5 million of cash.  Working capital accounts provided $83.5 million of funds,
as follows: Short-term trading investments and related short-term borrowings are
reported as cash flow from operating activities and provided a net $91.1 million
of funds in the first six months of 2003. Accounts receivable used $5.5 million,
trade payables used $1.4 million,  and net other current items used $.4 million.
Inventories,  valued  principally  by the LIFO  method for  financial  reporting
purposes, totaled $69.2 million at June 30, 2003, and used $.3 million.

            In the six  months  of 2003,  $5.9  million  was  spent  on  capital
improvements.

            In the first  quarter of 2003 the Company  purchased an aircraft for
$19.1  million  which it intends to re-sell.  The  aircraft is included in other
current assets on the Company's Consolidated Balance Sheet at June 30, 2003.

            The  Company's  major  subsidiary,  H&H,  maintains  a separate  and
distinct credit facility with various financial institutions.

            Borrowings   outstanding  against  the  H&H  Senior  Secured  Credit
Facility at June 30, 2003 totaled $154.1 million.  Letters of credit outstanding
under the H&H Revolving  Credit Facility were $13.4 million at June 30, 2003. At
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
of July 1, 2004.

            In the six months  ended June 30,  2003 the  Company  purchased  and
retired $17.7 million aggregate  principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in the
open market for $14.3  million.  After the write off of $0.4 million of deferred
debt related costs, the Company recognized a gain of $3.0 million.

            As a result of the recent PBGC action to  terminate  the WHX Pension
Plan,  H&H elected  not to borrow any  additional  funds  against the H&H Credit
Facilities  until  such time as the PBGC  action  was  resolved.  This  election
resulted  in an  increase  in H&H  borrowings  under its Senior  Secured  Credit
Facility  of $23.7  million,  as H&H did not use  cash to  reduce  its  revolver
balance.  Effective  upon  the  consummation  of the POR and the  signing  of an
agreement with the PBGC the current  dispute with the PBGC has been resolved and
H&H has resumed borrowings under the H&H Facilities.

Liquidity
---------

            At June 30,  2003 the WHX  Group  had cash and cash  equivalents  of
$85.7 million and short-term investments of $6.3 million.

            In the twelve months ended December 31, 2002, the Company  purchased
and retired $134.6 million aggregate principal amount of 10 1/2% Senior Notes in
the open market for $87.6  million.  During the period  January 1, 2003  through
June 30, 2003,  purchased  $17.7 million  aggregate  principal  amount of Senior
Notes in the open  market  for $14.3  million.  The  cumulative  result of these
purchases  amounted to a reduction  of  principal  of $152.3  million and annual
reduction in future cash interest expense of $16.0 million.

                                       30

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
million. In addition,  at June 30, 2003, WHX had balances due from WPSC totaling
$7.1 million in the form of advances and liquidity  support.  As part of the POR
the Company agreed to make certain  contributions to the reorganized company. In
connection with the  consummation of the POR, on August 1, 2003 the Company made
the WHX contributions, which consisted of forgoing repayment of the above claims
and contributing $20 million in cash to the reorganized company.

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
capital spending and interest coverage must be maintained.  In second quarter of
2003, H&H received a capital  contribution  of $3.0 million from WHX in order to
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
was resolved.  Effective upon the  consummation of the POR and the signing of an
agreement  with the PBGC the dispute with the PBGC has been resolved and H&H has
resumed borrowings under the H&H Facilities.

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
borrowing  availability under the H&H Credit Facilities and funds generated from
operations.  The WHX Group believes that,  cash on hand,  assuming it is able to
sustain  the  current  outstanding  borrowings  under the H&H  Facilities,  will
provide  the WHX Group for the next  twelve  months  with the funds  required to
satisfy working capital and capital expenditure requirements.

            At June  30,  2003  there  were  2.6  million  shares  of  Series  A
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
not satisfied at June 30, 2003.  Presently,  management  believes that it is not
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
Preferred  Stock have not elected such  directors.  At June 30, 2003,  preferred
dividends in arrears totaled $53.4 million.

                                       31

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
accounted for as a discontinued  operation in accordance with SFAS 144 (see Note
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
Stock-Based  Compensation - Transition and  Disclosure"  ("SFAS 148").  SFAS 148
amends SFAS No. 123, "Accounting for Stock-Based  Compensation" ("SFAS 123"), to
provide  alternative  methods of  transition  to SFAS 123's fair value method of
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

            In April 2003, the FASB issued SFAS no. 149, "Amendment of Statement
of 133 on Derivative  Instruments and Hedging Activities" ("SFAS 149"). SFAS 149
amends and  clarifies  the  accounting  for  derivative  instruments,  including
certain  derivative  instruments  embedded in other  contracts,  and for hedging
activities  under SFAS No.  133,  "Accounting  for  Derivative  Instruments  and
Hedging  Activities." SFAS 149 is generally effective for contracts entered into
or modified after June 30, 2003 and for hedging relationships designated after

                                       32

June 30,  2003.  The  adoption  of SFAS 149 is not  expected  to have a material
effect on the  Company's  financial  position,  results of  operations,  or cash
flows.

            In May 2003, the FASB issued SFAS No. 150,  "Accounting  for Certain
Financial  Instruments  with  Characteristics  of both  Liabilities  and Equity"
("SFAS 150"). SFAS 150 requires that certain financial instruments,  which under
previous  guidance were  accounted  for as equity,  must now be accounted for as
liabilities.  The financial instruments affected include mandatorily  redeemable
stock,  certain financial  instruments that require or may require the issuer to
buy back some its  shares  in  exchange  for cash or other  assets  and  certain
obligations that can be settled with shares of stock.  SFAS 150 is effective for
all financial  instruments  entered into or modified after May 31, 2003 and must
be applied to our existing  financial  instruments  effective  July 6, 2003, the
beginning of the first fiscal  period after June 15, 2003.  The Company  adopted
SFAS 150 on June 1, 2003.  The  adoption  of SFAS 150 did not have any effect on
the Company's financial position, results of operations, or cash flows.

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
December 31, 2002.

ITEM 4.      CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES

            Based on their  evaluation,  as of the end of the period  covered by
this  Form  10-Q,  the  Company's  Principal  Executive  Officer  and  Principal
Financial  Officer  have  concluded  the  Company's   disclosure   controls  and
procedures  (as defined in Rules  13a-15(e)  or 15d-15(e)  under the  Securities
Exchange Act of 1934) are effective.  There have been no significant  changes in
internal controls over financial  reporting that have materially affected or are
reasonably likely to materially affect these controls  subsequent to the date of
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

                                       33

an answer  denying any violations and seeking  dismissal of the  proceeding.  On
October 6, 2000, the initial decision of the  Administrative Law Judge who heard
the case  dismissed all charges  against the Company,  with the finding that the
Company had not violated the law.

            The  Division  of  Enforcement  has filed a petition  for the SEC to
review the decision and a brief,  but only as to the All Holders Rule Claim.  On
June 4,  2003,  the SEC issued an  opinion  that,  in  overturning  the  initial
decision of the  Administrative  law Judge,  found that the Company had violated
the "All Holders  Rule." The SEC ordered that the Company  cease and desist from
committing or causing any  violations  or future  violations of the "All Holders
Rule." No other  sanction  was  imposed.  The Company  has filed a petition  for
review of the SEC's  decision  with the United  States  Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia. Briefing and oral argument of the appeal have not been set
at this time.

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
to  provide  uninterrupted  services  to its  customers.  A  Chapter  11 POR was
confirmed by the Bankruptcy Court on June 18, 2003. Pursuant to the terms of the
POR,  among  other  things,  the WPC  Group  ceased  to be a  subsidiary  of WHX
effective  August 1, 2003,  and from that date  forward has been an  independent
company.  Reference is made to Note 1 of the  Condensed  Consolidated  Financial
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
not satisfied as of June 30, 2003. Presently, management believes that it is not
likely that the Company will be able to pay these  dividends in the  foreseeable
future. At June 30, 2003 dividends in arrear amounted to $53.4 million.

ITEM 4.     SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

2003 Annual Meeting of Stockholders
-----------------------------------

     (a)    The 2003 Annual Meeting of Stockholders was held on June 3, 2003.

     (b)    All of the  Company's  nominees as Class I  directors,  as set forth
            below, were elected.  There was no solicitation in opposition to the
            Company's  nominees.  The other  members of the  Company's  Board of
            Directors  as of  the  date  of  the  Company's  annual  meeting  of
            stockholders were Neil D. Arnold,  Robert A. Davidow,  Ronald LaBow,
            Marvin L. Olshan, Garen W. Smith and Raymond S. Troubh.

     (c)    Matters voted on at the meeting and the number of votes cast:

                                                   Voted For       Withheld
                                                   ---------       --------
            (1)   Election of Directors

                                       34

                              William Goldsmith   4,472,633         466,848
                              Louis Klein Jr.     4,509,008         430,473
                              Howard Mileaf       4,508,689         430,792

                                                                           Voted                      Broker
                                                            Voted For     Against  Abstentions       Non-Votes
                                                            ---------     -------  -----------       ---------
            (2)   Adoption of 2003 Incentive Stock
                  Plan                                      4,289,904     609,438     40,139             0
            (3)   Ratification of Pricewaterhouse
                  Coopers LLP as the Company's
                  Independent Public Accountants for
                  the fiscal year ending December 31,
                  2003                                      4,550,177     366,858     22,446             0

     (d)    In  addition  to the  matters  voted upon at the  Annual  Meeting as
            described  above,  holders  of the  Company's  Series A  Convertible
            Preferred  Stock and Series B Convertible  Preferred  Stock,  voting
            together as a class,  had the right to elect up to two  directors to
            the Board of  Directors  of the  Company.  No  quorum  of  preferred
            stockholders was present at the Annual Meeting, and accordingly,  no
            action was conducted at such meeting by the preferred stockholders.

ITEM 6.  EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

         * Exhibit 31.1 Certification of Principal Executive Officer

         * Exhibit 31.2 Certification of Principal Executive Officer

         * Exhibit 32.1 Certification of Principal Executive Officer

         * Exhibit 32.2 Certificate of Principal Financial Officer

          Form 8-K filed on May 13, 2003

         * Filed herewith

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
                                 August 8, 2003

                                       36