EXHIBIT 99.1

                                                       EL PASO
News
For Immediate Release

EL PASO CORPORATION ANNOUNCES SALE OF MID-CONTINENT AND NORTHERN
LOUISIANA MIDSTREAM ASSETS AND THE CLOSE OF THE SALE OF ENERPLUS
GLOBAL ENERGY MANAGEMENT COMPANY

HOUSTON, TEXAS, APRIL 24, 2003-El Paso Corporation (NYSE:EP) announced today that it executed an agreement to sell various Mid-Continent and Northern Louisiana midstream assets to Regency Gas Services LLC, an investment of Charlesbank Capital Partners, LLC, which is a private equity and real estate investment firm with more than $2 billion of capital under management. The transaction, which is subject to customary closing conditions, is valued at approximately $120 million and is expected to close by the end of the second quarter 2003.

El Paso also announced that on April 23 it closed the transaction
on the sale of its interests in Enerplus Global Energy Management
Company to Enerplus Resources Fund (NYSE:ERF, TSX:ERF.UN) for $35
million.

These sales support El Paso's previously announced 2003 five-point business plan, which includes exiting non-core businesses quickly but prudently, and strengthening and simplifying the balance sheet while maximizing liquidity. El Paso now has either closed or has under contract non-core asset sales totaling approximately $2.3 billion for 2003, or approximately 67 percent of its asset sales goal of $3.4 billion for calendar year 2003.

El Paso Corporation is the leading provider of natural gas services and the largest pipeline company in North America. The company has core businesses in pipelines, production, midstream services, and power. El Paso Corporation, rich in assets and fully integrated across the natural gas value chain, is committed to developing new supplies and technologies to deliver energy. For more information, visit www.elpaso.com.

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements
This release includes forward-looking statements and projections, made in reliance on the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. The company has made every reasonable effort to ensure that the information and assumptions on which these statements and projections are based are current, reasonable, and complete. However, a variety of factors could cause actual results to differ materially from the projections, anticipated results or other expectations expressed in this release, including, without limitation, our ability to attract and retain qualified members of the Board of Directors; the successful recruitment and retention of a qualified CEO; the successful implementation of the 2003 operational and financial plan; the successful implementation of the settlement related to the Western Energy Crisis; material and adverse impacts from our proxy contest with Selim Zilkha/Oscar Wyatt; actions by the credit rating agencies; the successful close of financing transactions; our ability to successfully exit the energy trading business; our ability to divest of certain non-core assets; changes in commodity prices for oil, natural gas, and power; general economic and weather conditions in geographic regions or markets served by El Paso Corporation and its affiliates, or where operations of the company and its affiliates are located; the uncertainties associated with governmental regulation; political and currency risks associated with international operations of the company and its affiliates; inability to realize anticipated synergies and cost savings associated with restructurings and divestitures on a timely basis; difficulty in integration of the operations of previously acquired companies, competition, and other factors described in the company's (and its affiliates') Securities and Exchange Commission filings. While the company makes these statements and projections in good faith, neither the company nor its management can guarantee that anticipated future results will be achieved. Reference must be made to those filings for additional important factors that may affect actual results. The company assumes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements made herein or any other forward-looking statements made by the company, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise.


Additional Important Information
On April 9, 2003, El Paso Corporation filed a preliminary proxy statement relating to its 2003 annual meeting with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Prior to the annual meeting, El Paso will furnish a definitive proxy statement to its shareholders, together with a WHITE proxy card. Shareholders are strongly advised to read El Paso's proxy statement as it contains important information.

Shareholders may obtain a copy of El Paso's preliminary proxy statement, any amendments or supplements to the proxy statement and any other documents filed by El Paso with the Securities and Exchange Commission for free at the Internet Web site maintained by the Securities and Exchange Commission at www.sec.gov. Copies of the preliminary proxy statement and any amendments and supplements are available for free at El Paso's Internet Web site at www.elpaso.com or by writing to El Paso Corporation, Investor Relations, P.O. Box 2511, Houston, TX 77252. In addition, copies of El Paso's proxy materials may be requested by contacting El Paso's proxy solicitor, MacKenzie Partners, Inc. at (800) 322-2885 Toll-Free or by email at proxy@mackenziepartners.com.

To the extent that individual customers, independent industry researchers, financial analysts, or El Paso commissioned research, are quoted in this document, it is El Paso's policy to use reasonable efforts to verify the source and accuracy of the quote. El Paso has not, however, sought or obtained the consent of the quoted source to the use of such quote as proxy soliciting material. This document may contain expressions of opinion and belief. Except as otherwise expressly attributed to another individual or entity, these opinions and beliefs are the opinions and beliefs of El Paso.

Information regarding the names, affiliation and interests of
individuals who may be deemed participants in the solicitation of
proxies of El Paso's shareholders is contained in El Paso's
preliminary proxy statement.

Contacts
Communications and Government Affairs
Norma F. Dunn, Senior Vice President
Office: (713) 420-3750
Fax: (713) 420-3632

Investor Relations
Bruce L. Connery, Vice President
Office:  (713) 420-5855
Fax:     (713) 420-4417

Alternate Contacts
Joele Frank/Dan Katcher
Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher
Office: (212) 355-4449
Fax: (212) 355-4554