EXHIBIT XI
PRESS RELEASE
MAY 18, 2004


OCR - NEW CONTRACTS WITH STATOIL
OCEAN RIG SECURES NEW CONTRACTS WITH STATOIL FOR EIRIK RAUDE
Stavanger, Norway

Ocean Rig has entered into an agreement with Statoil, subject to partner approvals, for two deepwater wells and one optional well in continuation of the exploration campaign in the Barents Sea, which is expected to be completed in April 2005.

The total contract value of the additional wells will upon lifting the subjects be in the order of USD 35 mill and USD 21 mill respectively. The wells will be drilled for Statoil in the Norwegian sector of the North Sea.

Final subjects related to the first two wells, with a total estimated duration of 150 days, will be lifted on or before June 15 and August 6, 2004. The optional well with an estimated duration of 90 days, can be exercised by Statoil on or before August 31, 2004.

Eirik Raude has now a continuing program of nine wells, including the optional well, expected to be completed by the end of 2005. Total backlog for the rig is USD 108 mill for the firm period and USD 129 mill including the optional well. During the last four weeks Ocean Rig has secured new contracts with a total contract value of USD 112 mill for Eirik Raude when the optional well is included.

Ocean Rig owns and operates two of the world's largest and most modern drilling-rigs, built for ultra deep waters and extreme weather conditions. The units are currently operating offshore Angola and Cuba.

NOTE: THIS PRESS RELEASE CONTAINS FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS (WITHIN THE MEANING OF SECTION 27A OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, AND
SECTION 21E OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934, AS AMENDED) WHICH REFLECT THE COMPANY'S CURRENT VIEWS WITH RESPECT TO CERTAIN FUTURE EVENTS AND FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE. ACTUAL EVENTS OR RESULTS MAY DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM THOSE PROJECTED OR IMPLIED IN SUCH FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT FACTORS, AMONG OTHER, COULD CAUSE ACTUAL RESULTS TO DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM THOSE PROJECTED OR IMPLIED IN ANY FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS: (I) THE LIMITED OPERATIONS AND OPERATING HISTORY OF THE COMPANY; (II) THE FAILURE OF THE BINGO 9000 DESIGN TO PERFORM SATISFACTORILY OR THE COMPANY'S FAILURE TO ADEQUATELY PROTECT THE PROPRIETARY NATURE OF THE BINGO 9000 DESIGN; (III) THE COMPANY'S SIGNIFICANT LEVERAGE OR INABILITY TO GENERATE SUFFICIENT CASH-FLOW TO MEET ITS DEBT SERVICE REQUIREMENTS; (IV) THE COMPANY'S INABILITY TO MEET ANY FUTURE CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS; (V) THE COMPANY'S INABILITY TO RESPOND TO TECHNOLOGICAL CHANGES; (VI) THE IMPACT OF CHANGED CONDITIONS IN THE OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY; (VII) THE OCCURRENCE OF ANY ACCIDENTS INVOLVING THE COMPANY OR ITS ASSETS; (VIII) CHANGES IN GOVERNMENTAL REGULATIONS, PARTICULARLY WITH RESPECT TO ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS; (IX) INCREASED COMPETITION OR THE ENTRY OF NEW COMPETITORS INTO THE COMPANY'S MARKETS; AND (X) UNFORESEEN OCCURRENCES IN ANY OF THE AREAS IN WHICH THE COMPANY MAY CONDUCT ITS OPERATIONS, SUCH AS WAR, EXPROPRIATION, NATIONALIZATION, RENEGOTIATION OR NULLIFICATION OF EXISTING LICENSES OR TREATIES, TAXATION AND RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT POLICIES, FOREIGN EXCHANGE RESTRICTIONS, CHANGING POLITICAL CONDITIONS AND OTHER RISKS RELATING TO FOREIGN GOVERNMENTAL SOVEREIGNTY OVER CERTAIN AREAS IN WHICH THE


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COMPANY WILL CONDUCT OPERATIONS. DUE TO SUCH UNCERTAINTIES AND RISKS, INVESTORS
ARE CAUTIONED NOT TO PLACE UNDUE RELIANCE UPON SUCH FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. REFERENCE SHOULD BE MADE TO THE COMPANY'S FILINGS WITH THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION.

For further information, please contact Geir Aune, Executive Chairman, tel: +47 51 96 90 00.

Stavanger, May 18, 2004
        Ocean Rig ASA


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