                                                                   Exhibit 99.1


                           CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO
                            18 U.S.C. SECTION 1350,
                             AS ADOPTED PURSUANT TO
                 SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002


In connection with the Quarterly Report of Landair Corporation (the "Company") on Form 10-Q for the period ending June 30, 2002 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on August 14, 2002 (the "Report"), I, Scott M. Niswonger, Chief Executive Officer of the Company, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

         (1) The Report fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

         (2) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and result of operations of the Company.


/s/ Scott M. Niswonger
------------------------------------
Scott M. Niswonger
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
August 14, 2002