Fourth Quarter & FY 2009
Earnings Presentation
March 31, 2010

 Our disclosure and analysis in this presentation concerning our operations, cash flows and financial position,
including, in particular, the likelihood of our success in developing and expanding our business, include forward-
looking statements. Statements that are predictive in nature, that depend upon or refer to future events or conditions, or
that include words such as ‘‘expects,’’ ‘‘anticipates,’’ ‘‘intends,’’ ‘‘plans,’’ ‘‘believes,’’ ‘‘estimates,’’ ‘‘projects,’’
‘‘forecasts,’’ ‘‘will,’’ ‘‘may,’’ ‘‘should,’’ and similar expressions are forward-looking statements. Although these
statements are based upon assumptions we believe to be reasonable based upon available information, including
projections of revenues, operating margins, earnings, cash flow, working capital, and capital expenditures, they are
subject to risks and uncertainties. These forward-looking statements represent our estimates and assumptions only as
of the date of this presentation and are not intended to give any assurance as to future results. As a result, you should
not place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements. We assume no obligation to update any forward-looking
statements to reflect actual results, changes in assumptions or changes in other factors, except as required by
applicable securities laws.

Factors that might cause future results to differ include, but are not limited to, the following:
 – unexpected future operating or financial results
 – delays or increased costs in pending or recent acquisitions, deviations from our business strategy or unexpected
 increases in capital spending or operating expenses, including drydocking and insurance costs
 – changes in general market conditions and trends, including charter rates, vessel values, and factors affecting
 vessel supply and demand
 – our ability to obtain additional financing
 – changes in our financial condition and liquidity, including our ability to obtain financing in the future to fund capital
 expenditures, acquisitions and other general corporate activities
 – deviations from our expectations about the availability of vessels to purchase, the time that it may take to
 construct new vessels, or vessels’ useful lives
 – delays or defaults by our contract counter-parties in performing their obligations to us
 – loss of one or more key members of our management team
 – changes in governmental rules and regulations or actions taken by regulatory authorities
 – adverse weather conditions that can affect production of the goods we transport and navigability of the river
 system
 – the highly competitive nature of the oceangoing transportation industry
 – the loss of one or more key customers
 – unexpected fluctuations in foreign exchange rates and devaluations
 – liabilities from future litigation
 – other factors discussed in the section titled ‘‘Risk factors” in our annual report on form 20-F for the year ended
 December 31, 2009
 – Adjusted EBITDA consists of net income (loss) prior to deductions for interest expense and other financial gains
 and losses related to the financing of the Company, income taxes, depreciation of vessels and equipment and
 amortization of drydock expense, intangible assets, financial gain (loss) on extinguishment of debt and a premium
 paid for redemption of preferred shares. We have provided Adjusted EBITDA in this report because we use it to,
 and believe it provides useful information to investors to evaluate our ability to incur and service indebtedness. We
 do not intend for Adjusted EBITDA to represent cash flows from operations, as defined by GAAP (on the date of
 calculation) and it should not be considered as an alternative to measure our liquidity. This definition of Adjusted
 EBITDA may not be comparable to similarly titled measures disclosed by other companies. Generally, funds
 represented by Adjusted EBITDA are available for management’s discretionary use. Adjusted EBITDA has
 limitations as an analytical tool, and should not be considered in isolation, or as a substitute for analysis of our
 results as reported.
Forward Looking Statements & EBITDA

Ultrapetrol’s FY 2009 Highlights
(1) Includes discontinued operations
(2) A reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted Net Income to US GAAP measures is available on the Appendix
           to this presentation
(3) Please refer to our 20-F filed March 17, 2009, with US SEC for a full disclosure on Non-Cash Losses on FFAs
Ø On August 7, 2009, we received delivery of our PSV UP Rubi which subsequently entered
into a 4-year contract with Petrobras
Ø Our Capesize vessel Princess Susana was sold and subsequently delivered on December
10, 2009
Ø On December 18, 2009, we entered into a contract to sell our Princess Nadia which was
delivered on January 28, 2010
Ø Our Net Income in FY 2009 includes a non-cash loss of $25.0 million corresponding to an
impairment of the book value of our Princess Marisol
Ø The new yard for building barges was inaugurated on December 15, 2009 and is now fully
operational

(1) Includes discontinued operations
(2) A reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted Net Income to US GAAP measures is available on the Appendix
           to this presentation
Ultrapetrol’s 4Q 2009 & Subsequent Events Highlights
Ø Fully drew down BNDES 17-year loan facility on December 10, 2009: $18.7 million at a 3%
fixed interest rate to partially post-finance the construction of our PSV UP Rubi
Ø Our three PSVs, UP Topazio, UP Esmeralda and UP Safira operating in the North Sea were
repositioned to Brazil and delivered to Petrobras. All our existing PSVs are currently
operating in the Brazilian offshore market for Petrobras on long term TC at attractive rates
Ø Remaining passenger vessel, Blue Monarch, was sold and subsequently delivered to
buyers on February 5, 2010
Ø On February 17, 2010 we entered into an MOA whereby we agreed to sell our Capesize
vessel, Princess Marisol

River
Business

River Business FY 2009 & 4Q 09 Highlights
§ Paraguayan soybean production suffered in 2009 the
worst drought in the last 50 years
§ Lower volumes in Q4 09 due to low water levels of the
Paraguay River à No shipments of iron ore in 4Q 08
ü During 2009 through company-wide efforts Running Costs (which are relatively fixed and
not sensitive to cargo volumes) were reduced but not proportionally to volume reductions
30% reduction in volumes
transported in 2009

FY 2009 vs FY 2008 - Breakdown per Ton Transported
Ø Freight rates decreased mostly as a consequence of fuel price adjustments which are neutral (pass-through)
to our earnings
Ø Despite much lower volumes, average freight levels per ton remained unaltered (actually increased by $0.12
per ton)
Ø Our average running costs per ton increased by 15% despite volume reduction of 30% as a result of
adjustments in fixed costs to adapt to lower volumes available
Ø The increase in costs on a per ton basis we have experienced in 2009 reflects mainly the effect of the fixed
cost component of expenses in our River Business
(In $ / Ton)	FY 2009	FY 2008	Difference
Average Freight Rate	23.74	27.53	-13.8%
Difference	-3.79
	Of which
Fuel adjustment explains	-$3.91, or 103.3%
Average price increases and cargo mix explain	$0.12, or -3.3%

Increase in Running Costs	$1.28 or 15%

River Business Outlook

ü Our River Business operates the largest and most modern fleet in Hidrovia. Our fleet was repaired
during 2009
ü More efficient cost structure will allow higher margins as volume level increases
ü New yard for building barges has been completed and is now in production à Most modern of its kind
and unique in South America. The only company in Hidrovia capable of adding capacity in a cost efficient
way
ü Re-engining process is underway à Our first two pushboats with new, high-powered engines will
be operational in Q2 10. Engines will consume heavy fuel which is 30.4%(2) cheaper on average. We will
initially re-engine and re-power 11 of our main pushboats
ü Soy production for Paraguay is estimated to be 7.0 million tons in 2010 à Increase of almost 80% with respect
to FY 2009
Ready for 2010
(1) Source: USDA Foreign Agricultural Service
(2) Source: Platts Latin American Wire
Record Crop Expected
Wall Street Journal - March 22, 2010
+ 3.1 MT
“Increased planted area and favorable weather is
expected to push output up 20% from Paraguay’s
previous record, set in 2007-08”

River Business Outlook
• Pro-Forma Assumptions:
ü Pro-Forma EBITDA Margin: Average of 06-08 Actual Segment EBITDA Margin
ie: 18.9%
üPro-Forma Freight per Ton: Average of 06-08 Actual RB Average Freight Rate
per Ton ie: $23.5 per ton
ü Pro-Forma volume transported: Equal to 2008 ie: 4.3 Million Tons

Offshore
Supply
Business

Offshore Supply Business FY 2009 & 4Q 09 Highlights
Ø Our revenues in 2009 decreased 19% mainly as a result of lower earnings of our vessels operating in
the North Sea. Average Spot rate in the North Sea decreased 64%, from £22,146 in 2008 to £8,012 in
2009(1)
Ø Our three vessels operating in the North Sea UP Topazio, UP Esmeralda and UP Safira were
positioned in Brazil in 3Q 09 and 4Q 09 and chartered to Petrobras for 3-year term contracts at
attractive rates
Ø Increase in voyage expenses resulted mainly from the repositioning of our vessels from the North
Sea to Brazil and the contractual penalty associated with the late delivery of our UP Rubi to Petrobras
which was delivered into her 4-year time charter on August 18, 2009. This penalty corresponds to the
entire duration of the charter but the full impact is accounted for in 2009 under voyage expenses
Ø Our vessels UP Agua-Marinha and UP Diamante, were also recently re-chartered during 3Q 09 to
Petrobras for 3 additional years at significantly higher rates than those at which they had been
operating for the past two years
Ø 4Q 08 EBITDA included approximately $3.0 million of non-cash gains on account of mark to market
of foreign currency (British pounds) hedges which were meant to cover 2009 pound revenues
(1) Source: ODS - Petrodata

Offshore Supply Business FY 2009 & 4Q 09 Overview
Six vessels in Operation:
(1) Company calculations / data
(2) Includes income related to delay and loss of hire insurances in 2008 - basis calendar days
Our 6 PSVs are now operating in Brazil for
Petrobras on 3-4 year term contracts with
time charter values in line with average
rates of our Brazilian fleet in the 4Q 09
Ø The North Sea market experienced lower spot rates during 2009
North Sea Spot Rates
Ø UP Brazil Fleet Daily Average Time Charter (1) (2)
Our 3 vessels operating in the NS market
were re-positioned to Brazil towards the
end of FY 2009
£ 10,562
£ 10,000
£ 35,900
£ 34,604
Source: Seabreeze, February 2010
Feb 10
Average 08: £ 22,146
Average 09: £ 8,012

Offshore Supply Business Outlook - GPC
(1) Gross Profit Contribution = Revenues minus Voyage Expenses minus Running Costs
(2) Gross Profit Contribution of vessels can be affected by the devaluation of Brazilian Real against US Dollar
(3) The $1.5 million penalty associated to the late delivery of the UP Rubi has not been included in the Pro-Forma
     calculation as part of the Voyage Expense
Gross Profit Contribution (1) (2)
• Pro-Forma Assumptions:
ü 6 vessels operational in Brazil
ü At same average gross rates as obtained by Brazilian fleet operating in 4Q 09
($28,961 / day minus $2,600 / day of tax retentions)
ü At same average Running Costs and Voyage Expenses as incurred by
Brazilian fleet operating in 4Q 09
ü Pro-Forma annualized basis for 6 vessels = GPC of $25.4 million
(3)

Six vessels under construction
Offshore Supply Business Outlook
ü Petrobras’ Oil Production in Brazil for 2009 was 2.0 mm bpd. Expected increase in Oil
Production of 31% and 91% by 2013 and 2020 (1) à Iraq's oil production in 2008 was 2.4
mm bpd(2)
ü Pre-Salt discoveries nearly doubled level of reserves in Brazil
ü Latest 5-year Petrobras investment plan - 2009-2013: $174.4 B à an increase of 55%
over 2008 investment plan. From this figure $36.6 B is expected to be invested in E&P (of
which $28.0 B will in turn be invested in pre-salt projects)
§ Well positioned for growth in Brazil and the rest of the world à Deep sea E&P worldwide will
require very modern equipment
(1) Source: Petrobras - Plano de Negocios 2009 - 2013
(2) Source: U.S. Energy Information Agency
(3) Deliveries have been delayed therefore these dates should not be considered as final
2Q 10
3Q 10
4Q 10
1H 11
2H 11
UP Jasper
UP Turquoise
2 PSVs
1 PSV
Bharati V-381
2 PSVs
Bharati V-382
 Bharati V-386
1 PSV
Bharati V-387
UP Jasper and UP Turquoise (Chinese-built): Launched
V-381 / V-382 / V-386 (Indian-built): Keel laid
V-387 (Indian-built): Steel cutting progressing
Delivery dates (informed by Yards) (3)
CHINA
INDIA

Fleet in Operation
Fleet under Construction
Offshore Supply Fleet Overview

Ocean
Business

Ocean Business FY 2009 & 4Q 09 Highlights
Ø Decrease in revenues is mainly attributable to the lower time charter rates obtained by our four Capesize
vessels in 2009. The average TC rate of the BCI in 2008 was $106,025 per day as compared to $42,656 in
2009
Ø Our FFAs coverage strategy proved to be successful à FFA’s accounted as Cash flow hedges resulted in
a net increase in Ocean Business revenues of $32.3 million
Ø Increase in voyage expenses resulted mainly from the employment of our four Capesize vessels under
COA mode during most part of 2009 (under COAs, port expenses and bunker costs are for our account
while if vessels operate under time charters these expenses are for charterer’s account)
Ø Our Capesize vessels Princess Susana and Princess Nadia were sold and delivered on December 10,
2009 and January 28, 2010 respectively
Ø On February 17, 2010 we entered into an MOA whereby we agreed to sell our Capesize vessel, Princess
Marisol

Capesize Fleet Overview and Outlook
Ø Our remaining Capesize vessel, Princess
Katherine, will remain 100% covered with FFAs
Ø Our FFA hedging strategy allowed us to
maintain a substantial contribution from the four
Capesize vessels that operated during 2009,
despite a 60 % drop in the average TC rate of the
BCI
Ø As of March 15, 2010, mark-to-market of OTC
FFAs was $13.8 million (includes positions
related to the FFA coverage of our P.Katherine)
Q3 10
Q4 10
$32,156
$29,719
$28,647
Actual
Future Curve
Q2 10
4 Capesize Time Charter Route Average(1) (2)
Remaining capesize vessel is fully covered with
FFAs at an average of $56,500 per day
(1) Baltic Exchange Forward Assessment as of March 15, 2010.
(2) The time charter rates mentioned in this graph correspond to the typical index vessel of 175,000 dwt. Our ships
 trade at a discount of this typical ship.
FFA Coverage
à Pro-forma gross profit contribution (including FFA results): $19.4 million
$56,500
§ Pro-Forma Assumptions:
Ø Revenues: 4TC Route Average forward curve discounted at 25% for FY 2010 of P.
Katherine + 1Q 10 operation of P. Marisol
Ø Running Costs and Voyage Expenses pro-forma 2009
Ø FFA Coverage: Mark-to-market @ 15/03/10 + Net January 2010 settlement + Net
February 2010 settlement

We have agreed to sell part of our Capesize vessels
§ Current orderbook for Capesize vessels represents 71% of current existing tonnage (or abt 670 vessels)
 § 51.7% of current existing tonnage to be delivered from March 2010 to December 2011
 § We believe this orderbook will put further pressure on Capesize rates
(1) Source: SSY - Simpson, Spence & Young - London - As of February 2010
24.1%
27.6%
15.6%
3.6%
0.2%
Capesize Fleet Overview

Ø We operate a fleet of 5 product tankers
Ø Our fleet is employed in South America on long term charters with Oil Majors
Ø Local demand for modern capacity is very stable
Product Tanker Fleet
Tanker Fleet Overview and Outlook / New Acquisitions
New Acquisitions
Ø On February 26, 2010, we agreed to purchase MV Asturiano, a 2003-built container vessel of 13,700
mt dwt and a nominal rated carrying capacity of 1,118 TEUS
Ø This vessel will be employed in South America

Ocean Fleet Overview
(1) On February 17, 2010, we entered into an MOA for the sale of this vessel.
(2) Expected delivery on Mid April, 2010.

2010-2011 Total CAPEX = $ 121.6 Million
Ø Cash & Cash Equivalents as of December 31, 2009 of $53.2 million
Ø Undrawn portion of DVB / Natixis Financing as of Dec 31, 2009: $69.5 million
This table is provided as a general guide of expected Capital Expenditures under the assumption
that certain long term strategies are implemented and all assets / ships can be purchased / built at
desired prices and delivered within expected timeframes. This program may change in the future
according to the view the Company may have of any particular part of our business at a given point
in time.
Expected Expansion CAPEX Program

Current Fleet List
(1) On February 17, 2010, we entered into an MOA for the sale of this vessel.
(2) Expected delivery Mid April, 2010

Year-on-Year Ultrapetrol’s Income Statement
(1) A reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA to US GAAP measures is available on the Appendix in this presentation

Year-on-Year Ultrapetrol’s Income Statement

Ultrapetrol’s Balance Sheet

Ø Balanced yearly principal repayments in the medium term
Ø No refinancing in the short and medium term
Ø Our $ 180.0 million note does not have any loan to value ratios to be maintained and has bullet
repayment in 2014
Ø All of our long term loans are conservatively structured with loan to value ratios that match current
values
Ø We may finance UP Jasper and UP Turquoise when delivered
Debt Repayment Schedule
Yearly Capital Repayments Excluding Repayment of $
180.0 million note in 2014

Thank You
Q & A

Appendix
(1) Adjusted EBITDA consists of net income (loss) prior to deductions for interest expense and other financial gains and losses
related to the financing of the Company, income taxes, depreciation of vessels and equipment and amortization of drydock
expense, intangible assets, financial gain (loss) on extinguishment of debt and a premium paid for redemption of preferred
shares. We have provided Adjusted EBITDA in this report because we use it to, and believe it provides useful information to
investors to evaluate our ability to incur and service indebtedness. We do not intend for Adjusted EBITDA to represent cash
flows from operations, as defined by GAAP (on the date of calculation) and it should not be considered as an alternative to
measure our liquidity. This definition of Adjusted EBITDA may not be comparable to similarly titled measures disclosed by other
companies. Generally, funds represented by Adjusted EBITDA are available for management’s discretionary use. Adjusted
EBITDA has limitations as an analytical tool, and should not be considered in isolation, or as a substitute for analysis of our
results as reported.

Appendix (cont’d)

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