Contacts:    Investors                    Media
             Michael J. Taunton           Robert J. Mahony
             (718) 403-3265               (718) 403-2503

                    KEYSPAN REPORTS STRONG EARNINGS FOR 2000
               -- EARNINGS GROWTH EXPECTED TO CONTINUE IN 2001 --

           BROOKLYN,  NEW YORK,  JANUARY 25, 2001 -- KeySpan  Corporation [NYSE:
KSE]  reported  today  that  its  consolidated   earnings  in  2000,   excluding
restructuring   charges,  were  $323.8  million,  or  $2.41  per  share,  versus
consolidated  earnings  of $223.9  million,  or $1.62 per share in 1999.  Higher
earnings  resulted  from  solid  performances  from  all of  KeySpan's  business
segments.  The  restructuring  charges,   primarily  for  early  retirement  and
severance  programs  relating to the  November 8, 2000  acquisitions  of Eastern
Enterprises  and  EnergyNorth,  amounted to $41.1 million after tax, or $.31 per
share,  which  reduced  consolidated  earnings to $282.7  million,  or $2.10 per
share.

           For the fourth  quarter  of 2000,  consolidated  earnings,  excluding
restructuring  charges,  were $100.0  million,  or $.74 per share,  versus $74.7
million,  or  $.56  per  share  earned  in  the  fourth  quarter  of  1999.  The
restructuring  charge  recorded  during the  fourth  quarter  reduced  quarterly
earnings to $58.9 million or $.44 cents per share.

           Commenting on the Company's performance,  Robert B. Catell,  chairman
and chief executive officer, emphasized that KeySpan is in an excellent position
to continue its earnings growth in 2001. "We are pleased that our 2000 earnings,
excluding  restructuring charges, were 79 cents, or 49% higher than 1999. All of
our business segments performed exceptionally well. In addition, we successfully
completed the acquisitions of Eastern Enterprises and EnergyNorth,  and achieved
profitability in our energy services business on schedule.  By delivering on our
promises, we have laid the foundation for continued success in 2001."

           Mr.  Catell  continued,  "We are also very aware of the  impact  that
rising gas commodity costs are having on our customers. We have taken every step
possible  to  minimize  the  increase  in  our   customers'   bills,   including
diversifying  our energy supply  portfolio and reducing our operating  costs. We
remain  committed to providing our customers  reliable  service at a competitive
price."

           The  following  summarizes  highlights  of 2000  results by  business
segment, excluding restructuring charges:

     o    The gas distribution  business serving New York City, Long Island, and
          New England produced  earnings of $187.3 million,  or $1.39 per share,
          compared to $151.2 million,  or $1.09 per share in the prior year. The
          increase  reflects a 5%  increase  in  normalized  firm gas sales as a
          result of a record  number of customers  converting to gas from oil in
          the New York / Long Island area, as well as  two-months  earnings from
          our newly  acquired  gas  companies  in New  England.  Earnings in the
          fourth quarter of $86.3 million, or $.64 per share,  compared to $58.3
          million, or $.44 per share last year,  reflected an increase primarily
          from results from our newly acquired gas operations.

o          The electric services segment  generated  earnings of $122.2 million,
           or $.91 per share,  compared to $77.1 million, or $.56 per share last
           year. The increase  reflects a full year's earnings and higher energy
           sales at our Ravenswood  generating plant. Acquired in June 1999, the
           facility provides over 25% of the generating capacity in the critical
           New York City "load pocket." In the fourth quarter, electric services
           had  earnings  of $18.9  million,  or $.14 per  share,  versus  $17.3
           million, or $.13 per share last year.

o          Gas exploration and production  operations  resulting  primarily from
           our 70%  ownership  in The  Houston  Exploration  Company  [NYSE:THX]
           contributed  a  record  $58.2   million,   or  $.43  per  share,   to
           consolidated  earnings,  compared to $15.8 million, or $.11 per share
           last year.  On an annual  basis,  these  operations  reflected  a 60%
           increase  in gas  prices and a 12%  increase  in  production.  In the
           fourth  quarter,  earnings from gas  exploration  and production were
           $28.8 million,  or $.21 per share,  versus $6.5 million,  or $.05 per
           share last year,  reflecting  a 97% increase in gas prices and an 11%
           increase in production.

o          Energy Services  (KeySpan  Services,  Inc.) achieved its first annual
           profit,  adding $40.9  million,  or $.31 per share,  to  consolidated
           earnings,  compared to a loss of $2.5 million, or $.02 per share last
           year.  The increase  reflects  primarily  the  operations  of KeySpan
           Energy Supply,  which provides energy procurement and fuel management
           to KeySpan affiliates.  In addition, our energy management businesses
           have  achieved  profitability  according to  schedule.  In the fourth
           quarter,  Energy  Services  earned $15.1 million,  or $.11 per share,
           versus essentially break-even results last year.

o          KeySpan has  investments  in the Canadian  mid-stream  gas processing
           industry,  in  domestic  and  international  pipelines,  and in a gas
           distribution  system in Northern  Ireland.  These energy  investments
           contributed $13.9 million, or $.10 per share to consolidated results,
           compared to $8.5 million,  or $.06 per share last year.  The increase
           reflects our increase in ownership to 100% in KeySpan  Energy  Canada
           (formerly Gulf Midstream  Services) on October 1, 2000. In the fourth
           quarter, earnings from energy investments were $6.1 million, or $.05,
           compared to $2.6 million, or $.02 per share last year.

o          The Other business segment,  which represents  unallocated  corporate
           expenses,  preferred stock dividends and interest income, resulted in
           a loss of $98.9  million,  or $.73 per share,  versus a loss of $26.2
           million,  or $.19 per share in 1999.  This decrease  reflects  losses
           incurred  with the  write-off of systems that became  obsolete due to
           the  acquisitions  of  Eastern  Enterprises  and  EnergyNorth,  a $10
           million  contribution  to the KeySpan  Foundation,  and a decrease in
           interest income. In the fourth quarter,  this segment reported a loss
           of $55.2 million,  or $.41 per share, versus a loss of $10.0 million,
           or $.07 per share last year.

                                EARNINGS OUTLOOK

           Looking to the future, Mr. Catell said, "We have a sound strategy and
a strong foundation for future earnings growth. All our business segments have a
positive   outlook  and  should  be  able  to  build  upon  this  year's  strong
performance.  Conversions  from oil to natural  gas in New  England  and on Long
Island are expected to continue at a healthy pace. We maintain a rigorous budget
process to control costs and expect to achieve our synergy savings target.  As a
result, we expect to earn between $2.60 to $2.65 per share in 2001. We will keep
our  shareholders  abreast of any changes to this  earnings  forecast  which may
arise from factors  including the level of gas prices,  winter weather patterns,
and the demand for electricity this summer."

           A member of the S & P 500,  KeySpan  Corporation  (NYSE:  KSE) is the
largest  distributor  of natural  gas in the  Northeast,  with 2.4  million  gas
customers  and  more  than  13,000  employees.   KeySpan  is  also  the  largest
investor-owned  electric  generator in New York State and operates Long Island's
electric  system under contract with the Long Island Power Authority for its 1.1
million  customers.  With  headquarters  in  Brooklyn,  Boston and Long  Island,
KeySpan also manages a portfolio of service  companies.  They  include:  KeySpan
Energy  Delivery,  the group of regulated  natural gas  utilities;  KeySpan Home
Energy  Services,  a  full-service  energy  company  for  residential  and small
commercial  customers;  and KeySpan Business  Solutions,  a full-service  energy
company for  business  customers.  KeySpan  also has  strategic  investments  in
natural-gas exploration and production,  pipeline  transportation,  distribution
and storage,  as well as Canadian gas processing and fiber-optic cable. For more
information    about   the    company,    visit    KeySpan's    Web   site   at:
http://www.keyspanenergy.com

           Certain statements  contained herein are forward-looking  statements,
which  reflect   numerous   assumptions  and  involve  a  number  of  risks  and
uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from those discussed in such
statements.  Among  the  factors  that  could  cause  actual  results  to differ
materially  are:  general  economic  trends;  fluctuations  in gas and  electric
prices;  available  sources  and  costs of fuel;  State and  Federal  regulatory
initiatives that increase  competition,  threaten cost and investment  recovery,
and impact rate  structures;  the ability of the company to successfully  reduce
its cost  structure;  the  ability  of the  company  to  successfully  integrate
acquired  operations;  the degree to which the  company  develops  non-regulated
business ventures;  the effect of inflationary  trends and increases in interest
rates; and risks detailed from time to time in reports and other documents filed
by the company with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Earnings Conference Call: Investors are invited to participate in the KeySpan
Corporation 2000 Earnings Conference Call on
Friday, January 26, at 8:30 a.m. (EST)
Dial Number: 888-552-7850
Access Code: 690984
Replay Number: 800-642-1687
AudioCast: www.keyspanenergy.com
           ---------------------
     (Investor Relations Section)

                                                                                KeySpan Corporation
                                                                      Consolidated Summary of Earnings
                                                                  (IN THOUSANDS  OF DOLLARS, EXCEPT PER SHARE AMOUNTS)





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                                                        THREE MONTHS          Three Months        TWELVE MONTHS        Twelve Months
                                                             ENDED                 Ended             ENDED                   Ended
                                                      DECEMBER 31, 2000     December 31, 1999   DECEMBER 31, 2000  December 31, 1999
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<S>                                                    <C>                    <C>                  <C>                  <C>
REVENUES
  Gas Distribution                                 $    1,097,190 $            544,878   $          2,555,785 $           1,753,132
  Electric Services                                       347,095              255,030              1,444,711               861,582
  Gas Exploration and Production                          104,243               46,959                274,209               150,581
  Energy Services                                         291,741               63,364                771,861               186,529
  Energy Investments and Other                             69,883                1,279                 74,924                 2,789
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Total Revenues                                          1,910,152              911,510              5,121,490             2,954,613
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OPERATING EXPENSES
  Purchased gas                                           691,481              245,823              1,408,621               744,432
  Purchased fuel & power                                  126,765               17,252                460,900                17,252
  Operations and maintenance                              571,926              325,945              1,695,507             1,091,166
  Early retirement and severance programs                  65,175                    -                 65,175                     -
  Depreciation, depletion and amortization                118,742               72,742                335,106               253,440
  Operating taxes                                         126,348              107,799                424,358               366,154
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Total Operating Expenses                                1,700,437              769,561              4,389,667             2,472,444
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OPERATING INCOME                                          209,715              141,949                731,823               482,169

Other Income and (Deductions)                             (23,971)              10,664                (20,145)               42,866
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INCOME BEFORE INTEREST CHARGES
        AND INCOME TAXES                                  185,744              152,613                711,678               525,035

Interest Charges                                           79,799               31,238                194,635               130,062
Income Taxes                                               45,378               37,990                216,236               136,362
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NET INCOME                                                 60,567               83,385                300,807               258,611
Preferred stock dividend requirements                       1,660                8,685                 18,113                34,752
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EARNINGS  FOR COMMON STOCK                         $       58,907 $             74,700   $            282,694 $             223,859
Average Common Shares Outstanding (000)                   135,333              133,866                134,357               138,526
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EARNINGS  PER COMMON SHARE                         $         0.44 $               0.56   $               2.10 $                1.62
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</TABLE>