Exhibit 99.1

DESCRIPTION OF THE NOTES

Set forth below is a description of the specific terms of the notes. This description supplements, and should be read together with, the description of the general terms and provisions of the junior subordinated notes set forth in the accompanying prospectus under the caption “Description of Debt Securities.” The following description does not purport to be complete and is subject to, and is qualified in its entirety by reference to, the description in the accompanying prospectus and the Indenture (as defined below).

General

The notes will be issued as a series of junior subordinated notes under an Indenture dated as of October 4, 2004, as amended and supplemented by the Tenth Supplemental Indenture thereto, dated as of June 30, 2007, and as further amended and supplemented by the Thirty-First Supplemental Indenture, to be dated the date of the closing of this offering (such indenture, as so amended and supplemented being referred to herein as the “Indenture”), among us, the Parent Guarantor and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association, as trustee (the “Trustee”). The notes will initially be issued in the aggregate principal amount of $700.0 million. We may, at any time and without the consent of the holders of the notes, issue additional notes having the same ranking and the same interest rate, maturity and other terms as the notes (except for the public offering price and issue date and the initial interest accrual date and initial interest payment date, if applicable); provided, however, that such additional notes must be fungible with the original notes for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Any additional notes having such similar terms, together with the notes offered hereby, will be fungible and constitute a single series of junior subordinated notes under the Indenture.

Unless earlier redeemed, the entire principal amount of the notes will mature and become due and payable, together with any accrued and unpaid interest thereon, on February 15, 2078. The notes are not subject to any sinking fund provision. The notes are available for purchase in denominations of $2,000 and integral multiples of $1,000 in excess thereof.

Interest

Fixed Rate Period

The notes will bear interest at 5.375% per year during the Fixed Rate Period. Subject to our right to defer interest payments as described below, interest on the notes will be payable semi-annually in arrears on February 15 and August 15 of each year, beginning on August 15, 2018. The amount of interest payable for any semi-annual interest accrual period during the Fixed Rate Period will be computed on the basis of a 360-day year consisting of twelve 30-day months.

Floating Rate Period

The notes will bear interest during the Floating Rate Period at the Three-Month LIBOR Rate plus 257 basis points (2.57%), reset quarterly. Subject to our right to defer interest payments as described below, interest on the notes will be payable quarterly in arrears on February 15, May 15, August 15 and November 15 of each year beginning on May 15, 2028. Each of such interest payment dates is also referred to herein as a “LIBOR Rate Reset Date,” except that the first LIBOR Rate Reset Date will occur on February 15, 2028. The amount of interest payable for any quarterly interest accrual period during the Floating Rate Period will be computed on the basis of the actual number of days elapsed during that quarterly interest period (determined by including the first day of the interest period and excluding the last day) divided by 360.

See “—Determining the Floating Rate” and “Risk Factors—Uncertainty relating to the LIBOR calculation process and potential phasing out of LIBOR after 2021 may adversely affect the value of the notes.”

General

Interest on the notes will be payable to the person in whose name such note is registered at the close of business (i) on the Business Day immediately preceding each interest payment date if the notes are in book-entry

only form or (ii) on the 15th calendar day preceding such interest payment date if the notes are not in book-entry only form (whether or not a Business Day), provided that interest payable at maturity or on a redemption date will be paid to the person to whom principal is payable. If interest payments are deferred or otherwise not paid, they will accrue and compound until paid at a rate equal to the interest rate then applicable to the notes. In this prospectus supplement, the term “interest” includes interest payments and interest on interest payments accrued but not paid on the applicable interest payment date.

“Business Day” means a day other than (i) a Saturday or Sunday, (ii) a day on which banks in New York, New York are authorized or obligated by law or executive order to remain closed or (iii) a day on which the Trustee’s corporate trust office is closed for business.

During the Fixed Rate Period, if an interest payment date or a redemption date of the notes falls on a day that is not a Business Day, the payment of interest and principal will be made on the next succeeding Business Day, and no interest on such payment will accrue for the period from and after the interest payment date or the redemption date, as applicable.

During the Floating Rate Period, if any interest payment date, other than a redemption date or the maturity date of the notes, falls on a day that is not a Business Day, the interest payment date will be postponed to the next day that is a Business Day, except that if that Business Day is in the next succeeding calendar month, the interest payment date will be the immediately preceding Business Day. Also, if a redemption date or the maturity date of the notes falls on a day that is not a Business Day, the payment of interest and principal will be made on the next succeeding Business Day, and no interest on such payment will accrue for the period from and after the redemption date or the maturity date, as applicable. During the Floating Rate Period, if any LIBOR Rate Reset Date falls on a day that is not a Business Day, the LIBOR Rate Reset Date will be postponed to the next day that is a Business Day, except that if that Business Day is in the next succeeding calendar month, the LIBOR Rate Reset Date will be the immediately preceding Business Day. During the Floating Rate Period, the interest rate in effect on any LIBOR Rate Reset Date will be the applicable interest rate as reset on that date, and the interest rate applicable to any other day will be the interest rate as reset on the immediately preceding LIBOR Rate Reset Date.

Determining the Floating Rate

The “Three-Month LIBOR Rate” means the rate determined in accordance with the following provisions:

On the LIBOR Interest Determination Date (as defined below), the Calculation Agent (as defined below) will determine the Three-Month LIBOR Rate which will be the rate for deposits in U.S. dollars having a three-month maturity which appears on the Reuters Page LIBOR01 (as defined below) as of 11:00 a.m., London time, on the LIBOR Interest Determination Date.

If three-month LIBOR has been discontinued, then the Calculation Agent will consult with an investment bank of national standing to determine whether there is an industry accepted substitute or successor base rate to three-month LIBOR. If, after such consultation, the Calculation Agent determines that there is an industry accepted substitute or successor base rate, the Calculation Agent shall use such substitute or successor base rate. In such case, the Calculation Agent in its sole discretion may (without implying a corresponding obligation to do so) also implement changes to the business day convention, the definition of Business Day and LIBOR Business Day, the LIBOR Interest Determination Date and any method for obtaining the substitute or successor base rate if such rate is unavailable on the relevant Business Day, in a manner that is consistent with industry accepted practices for such substitute or successor base rate. Unless the Calculation Agent determines that there is an industry accepted substitute or successor base rate as so provided above, the provisions of the following paragraph will apply.

If no rate appears on Reuters Page LIBOR01 on the LIBOR Interest Determination Date, the Calculation Agent will request the principal London offices of four major reference banks in the London Inter-Bank Market

to provide it with their offered quotations for deposits in U.S. dollars in a principal amount of not less than $1,000,000 for the period of three months, commencing on the LIBOR Rate Reset Date, to prime banks in the London Inter-Bank Market at approximately 11:00 a.m., London time, on that LIBOR Interest Determination Date and in a principal amount that is representative for a single transaction in U.S. dollars in that market at that time. If at least two quotations are provided, then the Three-Month LIBOR Rate will be the average (rounded, if necessary, to the nearest one hundredth (0.01) of a percent) of those quotations. If fewer than two quotations are provided, then the Three-Month LIBOR Rate will be the average (rounded, if necessary, to the nearest one hundredth (0.01) of a percent) of the rates quoted at approximately 11:00 a.m., Eastern Time, on the LIBOR Interest Determination Date by three major banks in New York City selected by the Calculation Agent for loans in U.S. dollars to leading European banks, having a three-month maturity and in a principal amount of not less than $1,000,000. If the banks selected by the Calculation Agent are not providing quotations in the manner described by this paragraph, the Calculation Agent, after consulting such sources as it deems comparable to any of the foregoing quotations or display page, or any such source as it deems reasonable from which to estimate three-month LIBOR or any of the foregoing lending rates, shall determine the rate for the quarterly interest period following the LIBOR Interest Determination Date in its sole discretion.

“Reuters Page LIBOR01” means the display designated as Reuters LIBOR01 on the Reuters service (or such other page as may replace the Reuters Page LIBOR01 on that service, or such other service as may be nominated as the information vendor, for the purpose of displaying rates or prices comparable to the London Interbank Offered rate for U.S. dollar deposits).

“LIBOR Interest Determination Date” means the second LIBOR Business Day (as defined below) preceding each LIBOR Rate Reset Date.

“LIBOR Business Day” means any Business Day on which dealings in deposits in U.S. dollars are transacted in the London Inter-Bank market.

“Calculation Agent” means a banking institution or trust company to be appointed by us to act as calculation agent prior to the commencement of the Floating Rate Period or, if we are unable to make such appointment on commercially reasonable terms, us.

Option to Defer Interest Payments

So long as no Event of Default under the Indenture has occurred and is continuing, at our option, we may, on one or more occasions, defer payment of all or part of the current and accrued interest otherwise due on the notes by extending the interest payment period for up to 10 consecutive years (each period, commencing on the date that the first such interest payment would otherwise have been made, an “Optional Deferral Period”). A deferral of interest payments may not extend beyond the maturity date of the notes or end on a day other than an interest payment date. Any deferred interest on the notes will accrue additional interest at the interest rate then applicable to the notes from the applicable interest payment date to the date of payment (such deferred interest and additional interest accrued thereon, “Additional Interest”), to the extent permitted under applicable law. No interest will be due and payable on the notes until the end of an Optional Deferral Period, except upon a redemption of the notes during such Optional Deferral Period.

At the end of an Optional Deferral Period or on any redemption date, we will be obligated to pay all accrued and unpaid interest, including any Additional Interest. Once we pay all accrued and unpaid interest payments on the notes, including any Additional Interest, we can again defer interest payments on the notes as described above, but not beyond the maturity date of the notes.

We are required to provide to the Trustee written notice of any optional deferral of interest at least 10 and not more than 60 Business Days prior to the earlier of (1) the next applicable interest payment date or (2) the date, if any, upon which it is required to give notice of such interest payment date or the record date therefor to the New York Stock Exchange or any applicable self-regulatory organization. In addition, we are required to

deliver to the Trustee an officers’ certificate stating that no default or Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing. Subject to receipt of the officers’ certificate, the Trustee is required to promptly forward such notice to each holder of record of the notes.

Certain Limitations During an Optional Deferral Period

During an Optional Deferral Period, subject to the exceptions noted below, we shall not:

•	declare, pay or make any distributions with respect to, or redeem, purchase, acquire or make a liquidation payment with respect to, any of our equity securities, or

•	make any payment of interest, principal or premium, if any, on or repay, repurchase or redeem any debt securities (including guarantees) issued by us that rank equally with or junior to the notes.

None of the foregoing, however, shall restrict:

•	any of the actions described in the preceding sentence resulting from any reclassification of our equity securities or the exchange or conversion of one class or series of our equity securities for another class or series of our equity securities;

•	the purchase of fractional interests in our equity securities pursuant to the conversion or exchange provisions of such equity security or the security being converted or exchanged;

•	payments or distributions payable in our equity securities;

•	redemptions, purchases or other acquisitions of our equity securities in connection with any employment contract, incentive plan, benefit plan or other similar arrangement of us or any of our subsidiaries or in connection with a dividend reinvestment plan; or

•	any declaration of a distribution in connection with implementation of any rights plan, or the issuance of rights, equity security or other property under any such plan, or the redemption, repurchase or other acquisition of any such rights pursuant thereto.

Optional Redemption

At any time and from time to time on or after February 15, 2028, the notes will be subject to redemption at our option in whole or in part upon not less than 10 nor more than 60 days’ notice, at a redemption price equal to 100% of the principal amount of the notes being redeemed plus accrued and unpaid interest (including any Additional Interest) on the notes being redeemed to the redemption date.

We may also redeem the notes before February 15, 2028 (i) in whole, but not in part, if certain changes in tax laws, regulations or interpretations occur, at the redemption price and under the circumstances described below under “—Right to Redeem Upon a Tax Event” and (ii) in whole, but not in part, if a rating agency makes certain changes in the equity credit criteria for securities such as the notes, at the redemption price and under the circumstances described below under “—Right to Redeem Upon a Rating Agency Event.”

If notice of redemption is given as aforesaid, the notes to be redeemed will, on the redemption date, become due and payable at the redemption price together with any accrued and unpaid interest thereon, and from and after such date (unless we have defaulted in the payment of the redemption price and accrued interest) the notes shall cease to bear interest. See “Description of our Debt Securities” in the accompanying prospectus.

Subject to the foregoing and to applicable law (including, without limitation, United States federal securities laws), we and our affiliates may, at any time and from time to time, purchase outstanding notes by tender, in the open market or by private agreement.

Right to Redeem Upon a Tax Event

Before February 15, 2028, we may redeem, upon a redemption notice, in whole but not in part, the notes following the occurrence of a Tax Event (as defined below), at 100% of their principal amount plus any accrued and unpaid interest thereon (including any Additional Interest) to the redemption date.

A “Tax Event” happens when we have received an opinion of counsel experienced in tax matters that, as a result of:

•	any amendment to, clarification of, or change, including any announced prospective change, in the laws or treaties of the United States or any of its political subdivisions or taxing authorities, or any regulations under those laws or treaties;

•	an administrative action, which means any judicial decision or any official administrative pronouncement, ruling, regulatory procedure, notice or announcement including any notice or announcement of intent to issue or adopt any administrative pronouncement, ruling, regulatory procedure or regulation;

•	any amendment to, clarification of, or change in the official position or the interpretation of any administrative action or judicial decision or any interpretation or pronouncement that provides for a position with respect to an administrative action or judicial decision that differs from the previously generally accepted position, in each case by any legislative body, court, governmental authority or regulatory body, regardless of the time or manner in which that amendment, clarification or change is introduced or made known; or

•	a threatened challenge asserted in writing in connection with our audit or an audit of any of our subsidiaries, or a publicly-known threatened challenge asserted in writing against any other taxpayer that has raised capital through the issuance of securities that are substantially similar to the notes,

which amendment, clarification or change is effective or the administrative action is taken or judicial decision, interpretation or pronouncement is issued or threatened challenge is asserted or becomes publicly-known after the date of the original issuance of the notes, there is more than an insubstantial risk that interest payable by us on the notes is not deductible, or within 90 days would not be deductible, in whole or in part, by us for U.S. federal income tax purposes.

Right to Redeem Upon a Rating Agency Event

Before February 15, 2028, we may redeem, upon a redemption notice, in whole but not in part, the notes following the occurrence of a Rating Agency Event (as defined below), at 102% of their principal amount plus any accrued and unpaid interest thereon (including any Additional Interest) to the redemption date.

“Rating Agency Event” means a change to the methodology or criteria that were employed by an applicable nationally recognized statistical rating organization for purposes of assigning equity credit to securities such as the notes on the date of original issuance of the notes (the “current methodology”), which change either (i) shortens the period of time during which equity credit pertaining to the notes would have been in effect had the current methodology not been changed or (ii) reduces the amount of equity credit assigned to the notes as compared with the amount of equity credit that such rating agency had assigned to the notes as of the date of original issuance thereof.

Ranking; Subordination

The notes will rank pari passu in right of payment with the following subordinated debt securities (our “Existing Subordinated Notes”):

•	Junior Subordinated Notes A, fixed/variable-rate, due August 2066;

•	Junior Subordinated Notes C, fixed/variable-rate, due June 2067;

•	Junior Subordinated Notes B, fixed/variable-rate, due January 2068;

•	Junior Subordinated Notes D, fixed/variable-rate, due August 2077; and

•	Junior Subordinated Notes E, fixed/variable-rate, due August 2077.

Our payment obligations under the notes will, to the extent provided in the Indenture, be subordinated to the prior payment in full of all of our present and future Senior Indebtedness, as defined below. The notes will rank senior in right of payment to all of our present and future equity securities.

The holders of our Senior Indebtedness will be entitled to receive payment in full of such Senior Indebtedness before holders of the notes will receive any payment of principal, premium or interest with respect to the notes:

•	upon any payment or distribution of our assets to our creditors in connection with our total or partial liquidation or dissolution; or

•	in a bankruptcy, receivership or similar proceeding relating to us or our property.

In these circumstances, until our Senior Indebtedness is paid in full, any distribution to which holders of notes would otherwise be entitled will be made to the holders of Senior Indebtedness, except that such holders may receive units representing limited partner interests and debt securities that are subordinated to Senior Indebtedness to at least the same extent as the notes.

If we do not pay any principal, premium or interest with respect to Senior Indebtedness within any applicable grace period (including at maturity), or any other default on Senior Indebtedness occurs and the maturity of such Senior Indebtedness is accelerated in accordance with its terms, we may not:

•	make any payments of principal, premium, if any, or interest with respect to the notes;

•	make any deposit for the purpose of defeasance of the notes; or

•	purchase, redeem or otherwise retire any of the notes,

unless, in any case,

•	the default has been cured or waived and the declaration of acceleration has been rescinded;

•	the Senior Indebtedness has been paid in full; or

•	we and the Trustee receive written notice approving the payment from the representatives of each issue of Designated Senior Indebtedness (as defined below).

During the continuance of any Senior Indebtedness default, other than a default described in the immediately preceding paragraph, that may cause the maturity of any Designated Senior Indebtedness to be accelerated immediately without further notice, other than any notice required to effect such acceleration, or the expiration of any applicable grace periods, we may not make payments on the notes for a period called the “Payment Blockage Period.” A Payment Blockage Period will commence on the receipt by us and the Trustee of written notice of the default, called a “Blockage Notice,” from the representative of any Designated Senior Indebtedness specifying an election to effect a Payment Blockage Period, and will expire 179 days thereafter.

Generally, “Designated Senior Indebtedness” will include any issue of Senior Indebtedness of at least $100 million and any issue of Senior Indebtedness designated by us or Enterprise Parent at the time of issuance as Designated Senior Indebtedness.

The Payment Blockage Period may be terminated before its expiration:

•	by written notice from the person or persons who gave the Blockage Notice;

•	by repayment in full in cash of the Senior Indebtedness with respect to which the Blockage Notice was given; or

•	if the default giving rise to the Payment Blockage Period is no longer continuing.

Unless the holders of Designated Senior Indebtedness shall have accelerated the maturity of the Senior Indebtedness, we may resume payments on the notes after the expiration of the Payment Blockage Period.

If (1) we do not pay principal, premium or interest with respect to Senior Indebtedness within any applicable grace period, (2) any other default on Senior Indebtedness occurs and the maturity of such Senior Indebtedness is accelerated in accordance with its terms or (3) we receive a Blockage Notice, then, notwithstanding any notice requirements necessary to invoke an Optional Deferral Period, we may elect to defer payment of all or part of the current and accrued interest otherwise due on the notes on an interest payment date by giving notice to the Trustee of such election not later than the time we must remit payment of interest on the notes to the Trustee on such interest payment date. Any such notice will be forwarded promptly by the Trustee to each holder of record of the notes. However, we may only exercise this right if we are otherwise entitled to elect to optionally defer payment of interest on the notes as described under “—Optional Deferral of Interest.”

Generally, not more than one Blockage Notice may be given in any period of 360 consecutive days. The total number of days during which any one or more Payment Blockage Periods are in effect, however, may not exceed an aggregate of 179 days during any period of 360 consecutive days.

After all Senior Indebtedness is paid in full and until the notes are paid in full, holders of the notes will be subrogated to the rights of holders of Senior Indebtedness to receive distributions applicable to Senior Indebtedness.

Because of the subordination, in the event of our insolvency, our creditors who are holders of Senior Indebtedness, as well as certain of our general creditors, may recover more, ratably, than the holders of the notes.

The term “Senior Indebtedness” as used in this section includes our obligations in respect of the principal of, any interest and premium, if any, on and any other payments in respect of any of the following, whether currently outstanding or hereafter created or incurred:

•	indebtedness for borrowed money;

•	indebtedness evidenced by securities, bonds, notes and debentures, including any of the same that are subordinated in right of payment (other than the notes), issued under credit agreements, indentures or other similar instruments, and other similar instruments;

•	obligations arising from or with respect to guarantees and direct credit substitutes (other than the Guarantee);

•	obligations arising from or with respect to hedges and derivative products (including, but not limited to, interest rate, commodity and foreign exchange contracts);

•	capitalized lease obligations;

•	obligations arising from or with respect to any letter of credit, banker’s acceptance, security purchase facility, cash management arrangement, or similar credit transactions;

•	operating leases (but only to the extent the terms of such leases expressly provide that the same constitute “Senior Indebtedness”);

•	guarantees of any of the foregoing; and

•	any modifications, refundings, deferrals, renewals or extensions of any of the foregoing or any other evidence of indebtedness issued in exchange therefor,

but does not include our obligations in respect of:

•	trade accounts payable;

•	any indebtedness incurred for the purchase of goods or materials or for services obtained in the ordinary course of business to the extent that the same is incurred from, and owed to, the vendor of such goods or materials or the provider of such services;

•	any indebtedness which by its terms is expressly made equal in rank and payment with or subordinated to the notes;

•	indebtedness owed by us to our majority-owned subsidiaries; and

•	our Existing Subordinated Notes.

The obligations under the notes will be structurally subordinated to all indebtedness and other liabilities of our subsidiaries and unconsolidated affiliates. In the event of an insolvency, liquidation, bankruptcy proceeding or other reorganization of any such entity, all of the existing and future liabilities of such entity, including any claims of lessors under capital and operating leases, trade creditors and holders of preferred stock or units of that entity have the right to be satisfied prior to receipt by us of any payment on account of our status as an equity owner of such entity. At September 30, 2017, the direct indebtedness of Enterprise that is senior to the notes totaled approximately $21.76 billion of principal, and the direct indebtedness of Enterprise that is pari passu with the notes (i.e., subordinated debt) totaled approximately $3.17 billion of principal. At September 30, 2017, the indebtedness of our subsidiaries and unconsolidated affiliates totaled approximately $67.1 million of principal. Moreover, the Indenture does not limit our ability or the ability of our subsidiaries or unconsolidated affiliates to incur additional indebtedness and other obligations, including indebtedness and other obligations that rank senior in priority of payment to or pari passu with the notes.

Certain Covenants

No Limitations on Liens. Holders of the notes will not have the benefit of and will not be entitled to enforce the covenant in the Indenture restricting the ability of the Parent Guarantor, Enterprise and their respective majority-owned subsidiaries to, create, assume, incur or suffer to exist any mortgage, lien, security interest, pledge, charge or other encumbrance other than Permitted Liens, as described in “Description of Debt Securities—Certain Covenants” in the accompanying prospectus.

No Restriction on Sale-Leasebacks. Holders of the notes will not have the benefit of and will not be entitled to enforce the covenant in the Indenture restricting the ability of the Parent Guarantor, Enterprise and their respective majority-owned subsidiaries to enter into Sale-Leaseback Transactions, as described in “Description of Debt Securities—Certain Covenants” in the accompanying prospectus.

Merger, Consolidation or Sale of Assets. Each of the Parent Guarantor and Enterprise will be subject to the restriction in the Indenture governing its ability to consolidate with or sell, lease, convey all or substantially all of its assets to, or merge with or into, any partnership, limited liability company or corporation, as described in “Description of Debt Securities—Certain Covenants” in the accompanying prospectus.

Non-Recourse Obligation

The notes are obligations of Enterprise and, to the extent provided in the Guarantee, are guaranteed by Enterprise Parent. Pursuant to the Indenture, holders of the notes will not have recourse against our general partner, the general partner of Enterprise Parent, any other partner of, or other person that owns an equity interest

directly or indirectly in, us, Enterprise Parent or such general partners or against any of their respective past, present or future directors, managers, officers, employees, agents, members or partners. In addition, holders of the notes by their purchase and holding thereof acknowledge the separateness of us, Enterprise Parent and our respective general partners from each other and from any other persons, including Enterprise GP Holdings L.P. and its affiliates and EPCO, Inc. and its affiliates and that we, Enterprise Parent and our respective general partners have assets and liabilities that are separate from those of other persons, including Enterprise GP Holdings L.P. and its affiliates and EPCO Inc. and its affiliates.

Events of Default

The following are the “Events of Default” with respect to the notes, which are modified from the events of default described in the accompanying prospectus:

•	failure to pay principal of, or premium, if any, on or interest on the notes when due at maturity or earlier redemption;

•	failure to pay interest on the notes (including Additional Interest) when due and payable (other than at maturity or upon earlier redemption) that continues for 30 days (subject to our right to optionally defer interest payments); or

•	certain events of bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization involving us or Enterprise Parent.

With respect to the notes, the term “Default” means the following event: default in the performance or breach of any covenant or warranty of us in the Indenture (other than (i) a covenant or warranty a default in whose performance or whose breach is addressed in the preceding paragraph or (ii) certain other covenants and warranties inapplicable to the notes), and continuance of such default or breach for a period of 90 days after specified written notice to us by the Trustee, or to us and the Trustee by the holders of at least 25% in principal amount of the outstanding notes.

Upon the occurrence and continuance of a Default, the Trustee and the holders of the notes will have the same rights and remedies, and will be subject to the same limitations, restrictions, protections and exculpations, and we will be subject to the same obligations and restrictions, in each case, as would apply if such Default were an Event of Default or an event which after notice or lapse of time or both would become an Event of Default; provided that the principal of and accrued interest on the notes may not be declared immediately due and payable by reason of the occurrence and continuation of a Default, and any notice of declaration or acceleration based on such Default will be null and void with respect to the notes; provided, further that in case a Default has occurred and is continuing, the Trustee will not be subject to the requirement to exercise, with respect to the notes, the same degree of care as a prudent individual would exercise in the conduct of his or her own affairs, unless an Event of Default has occurred and is continuing.

Parent Guarantee

The Parent Guarantor will fully and unconditionally guarantee on an unsecured and junior subordinated basis the full and prompt payment of principal of, premium, if any, and interest on the notes, when and as the same become due and payable (other than during an Optional Deferral Period), whether at stated maturity, upon redemption, by declaration of acceleration or otherwise. The Parent Guarantor’s obligations under such guarantee (the “Guarantee”) will, to the extent provided in the Indenture, be subordinated to the prior payment in full of all present and future Senior Indebtedness of the Parent Guarantor, as defined below. The Parent Guarantor’s obligations under the Guarantee will rank senior in right of payment to all of its present and future equity securities, including its common units.

The holders of the Parent Guarantor’s Senior Indebtedness will be entitled to receive payment in full of such Senior Indebtedness before holders of the notes receive from the Parent Guarantor any payment of principal, premium or interest with respect to the notes:

•	upon any payment or distribution of the Parent Guarantor’s assets to its creditors in connection with the Parent Guarantor’s total or partial liquidation or dissolution; or

•	in a bankruptcy, receivership or similar proceeding relating to the Parent Guarantor or its property.

In these circumstances, until the Parent Guarantor’s Senior Indebtedness is paid in full, any distribution to which holders of notes would otherwise be entitled under the Guarantee will be made to the holders of its Senior Indebtedness, except that such holders may receive equity securities and any debt securities that are subordinated to Senior Indebtedness to at least the same extent as the Guarantee.

If the Parent Guarantor does not pay any principal, premium or interest with respect to its Senior Indebtedness within any applicable grace period (including at maturity), or any other default on its Senior Indebtedness occurs and the maturity of such Senior Indebtedness is accelerated in accordance with its terms, the Parent Guarantor may not:

•	make any payments under the Guarantee of principal, premium, if any, or interest with respect to the notes;

•	make any deposit under the Guarantee for the purpose of defeasance of the notes; or

•	advance monies under the Guarantee to repurchase, redeem or otherwise retire any of the notes,

unless, in any case,

•	the default has been cured or waived and the declaration of acceleration has been rescinded;

•	the Senior Indebtedness has been paid in full; or

•	the Parent Guarantor and the Trustee receive written notice approving the payment from the representatives of each issue of Designated Senior Indebtedness (as defined below).

During the continuance of any Senior Indebtedness default, other than a default described in the immediately preceding paragraph, that may cause the maturity of any Designated Senior Indebtedness to be accelerated immediately without further notice, other than any notice required to effect such acceleration, or the expiration of any applicable grace periods, the Parent Guarantor may not make payments under the Guarantee for a period called the “Payment Blockage Period.” A Payment Blockage Period will commence on the receipt by the Parent Guarantor and the Trustee of written notice of the default, called a “Blockage Notice,” from the representative of any Designated Senior Indebtedness specifying an election to effect a Payment Blockage Period, and will expire 179 days thereafter.

Generally, “Designated Senior Indebtedness” will include any issue of Senior Indebtedness of at least $100 million and any issue of Senior Indebtedness designated by us or Enterprise Parent at the time of issuance as Designated Senior Indebtedness.

The Payment Blockage Period may be terminated before its expiration:

•	by written notice from the person or persons who gave the Blockage Notice;

•	by repayment in full in cash of the Senior Indebtedness with respect to which the Blockage Notice was given; or

•	if the default giving rise to the Payment Blockage Period is no longer continuing.

Unless the holders of the Designated Senior Indebtedness shall have accelerated the maturity of the Senior Indebtedness, the Parent Guarantor may resume making payments under the Guarantee after the expiration of the Payment Blockage Period.

Generally, not more than one Blockage Notice may be given in any period of 360 consecutive days. The total number of days during which any one or more Payment Blockage Periods are in effect, however, may not exceed an aggregate of 179 days during any period of 360 consecutive days.

After all Senior Indebtedness is paid in full and until the notes are paid in full, holders of the notes will be subrogated to the rights of holders of Senior Indebtedness to receive distributions applicable to Senior Indebtedness.

Because of the subordination, in the event of the Parent Guarantor’s insolvency, its creditors who are holders of Senior Indebtedness, as well as certain of its general creditors, may recover more, ratably, than the holders of the notes will recover under the Guarantee.

The term “Senior Indebtedness” as used in this section includes the Parent Guarantor’s obligations in respect of the principal of, any interest and premium, if any, on and any other payments in respect of any of the following, whether currently outstanding or hereafter created or incurred:

•	indebtedness for borrowed money;

•	indebtedness evidenced by securities, bonds, notes and debentures, including any of the same that are subordinated, issued under credit agreements, indentures or other similar instruments, and other similar instruments;

•	obligations arising from or with respect to guarantees and direct credit substitutes other than the Parent Guarantor’s obligations under the Guarantee;

•	obligations arising from or with respect to hedges and derivative products (including, but not limited to, interest rate, commodity, and foreign exchange contracts);

•	capitalized lease obligations;

•	obligations arising from or with respect to any letter of credit, banker’s acceptance, security purchase facility, cash management arrangement or similar credit transactions;

•	operating leases (but only to the extent the terms of such leases expressly provide that the same constitute “Senior Indebtedness”);

•	guarantees of any of the foregoing; and

•	any modifications, refundings, deferrals, renewals or extensions of any of the foregoing or any other evidence of indebtedness issued in exchange therefor,

but does not include the Parent Guarantor’s obligations in respect of:

•	trade accounts payable;

•	any indebtedness incurred for the purchase of goods or materials or for services obtained in the ordinary course of business to the extent that the same is incurred from, and owed to, the vendor of such goods or materials or the provider of such services;

•	any indebtedness which by its terms is expressly made equal in rank and payment with or subordinated to the Parent Guarantor’s obligations under the Guarantee;

•	indebtedness owed by the Parent Guarantor to its majority-owned subsidiaries; and

•	the Parent Guarantor’s guarantee of our Existing Subordinated Notes.

The Guarantee will rank pari passu with Enterprise Parent’s guarantee of our Existing Subordinated Notes.

The obligations under the Guarantee will be structurally subordinated to all indebtedness and other liabilities of the Parent Guarantor’s subsidiaries and unconsolidated affiliates. In the event of an insolvency, liquidation, bankruptcy proceeding or other reorganization of any such entity all of the existing and future liabilities of such entity, including any claims of lessors under capital and operating leases, trade creditors and holders of preferred stock or units of that entity have the right to be satisfied prior to receipt by the Parent Guarantor of any payment on account of its status as an equity owner of such entity. Moreover, the Guarantee does not limit the Parent Guarantor or any of its subsidiaries or unconsolidated affiliates from incurring or issuing other secured or unsecured debt, including Senior Indebtedness. Accordingly, claimants under the Guarantee should look only to the Parent Guarantor and not to any of its subsidiaries or unconsolidated affiliates for payments under the Guarantee.

Agreement by Holders to Certain Tax Treatment

Each holder of the notes will, by accepting the notes or a beneficial interest therein, be deemed to have agreed that the holder intends that the notes constitute indebtedness and will treat the notes as indebtedness for all U.S. federal, state and local tax purposes.

Book-Entry Only Issuance; The Depository Trust Company

DTC will act as the initial securities depositary for the notes. The notes will be issued only as fully registered securities registered in the name of Cede & Co., DTC’s nominee, or such other name as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. One or more fully registered global notes certificates will be issued, representing in the aggregate the total principal amount of notes, and will be deposited with the Trustee on behalf of DTC. Investors may hold interests in the notes through DTC if they are participants in DTC or indirectly through organizations that are participants in DTC, including Euroclear Bank SA/NV, as operator of the Euroclear system, or Clearstream Banking S.A., Luxembourg (“Clearstream”).

DTC is a limited-purpose trust company organized under the New York Banking Law, a “banking organization” within the meaning of the New York Banking Law, a member of the Federal Reserve System, a “clearing corporation” within the meaning of the New York Uniform Commercial Code and a “clearing agency” registered pursuant to the provisions of Section 17A of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. DTC holds and provides asset servicing for over 3.5 million issues of U.S. and non-U.S. equity issues, corporate and municipal debt issues and money market instruments (from over 100 countries) that DTC’s participants (“Direct Participants”) deposit with DTC. DTC also facilitates the post-trade settlement among Direct Participants of sales and other securities transactions in deposited securities, through electronic computerized book-entry transfers and pledges between Direct Participants’ accounts. This eliminates the need for physical movement of securities certificates. Direct Participants include both U.S. and non-U.S. securities brokers and dealers, banks, trust companies, clearing corporations and certain other organizations. DTC is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (“DTCC”). DTCC is the holding company for DTC, National Securities Clearing Corporation and Fixed Income Clearing Corporation, all of which are registered clearing agencies. DTCC is owned by the users of its regulated subsidiaries. Access to the DTC system is also available to others such as both U.S. and non-U.S. securities brokers and dealers, banks, trust companies and clearing corporations that clear through or maintain a custodial relationship with a Direct Participant, either directly or indirectly (“Indirect Participants”). The DTC rules applicable to its Direct and Indirect Participants are on file with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission. More information about DTC can be found at www.dtcc.com. The contents of such website do not constitute part of this prospectus supplement.

Purchases of notes under the DTC system must be made by or through Direct Participants, which will receive a credit for the notes on DTC’s records. The ownership interest of each actual purchaser of each note (“Beneficial Owner”) is in turn to be recorded on the Direct and Indirect Participants’ records. Beneficial Owners

will not receive written confirmation from DTC of their purchases. Beneficial Owners, however, are expected to receive written confirmations providing details of the transactions, as well as periodic statements of their holdings, from the Direct or Indirect Participants through which the Beneficial Owners purchased notes. Transfers of ownership interests in the notes are to be accomplished by entries made on the books of Direct and Indirect Participants acting on behalf of Beneficial Owners. Beneficial Owners will not receive certificates representing their ownership interests in notes, except in the event that use of the book-entry system for the notes is discontinued.

To facilitate subsequent transfers, all notes deposited by Direct Participants with DTC are registered in the name of DTC’s nominee, Cede & Co., or such other name as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. The deposit of notes with DTC and their registration in the name of Cede & Co. or such other DTC nominee do not effect any changes in beneficial ownership. DTC has no knowledge of the actual Beneficial Owners of the notes. DTC’s records reflect only the identity of the Direct Participants to whose accounts such notes are credited, which may or may not be the Beneficial Owners. The Direct and Indirect Participants will remain responsible for keeping account of their holdings on behalf of their customers.

Conveyance of notices and other communications by DTC to Direct Participants, by Direct Participants to Indirect Participants, and by Direct Participants and Indirect Participants to Beneficial Owners will be governed by arrangements among them, subject to any statutory or regulatory requirements as may be in effect from time to time.

Redemption notices will be sent to DTC. If less than all of the notes are being redeemed, DTC’s practice is to determine by lot the amount of interest of each Direct Participant in such notes to be redeemed.

Although voting with respect to the notes is limited, in those cases where a vote is required, neither DTC nor Cede & Co. (nor any other DTC nominee) will consent or vote with respect to the notes unless authorized by a Direct Participant in accordance with DTC’s procedures. Under its usual procedures, DTC mails an Omnibus Proxy to us as soon as possible after the record date. The Omnibus Proxy assigns Cede & Co.’s consenting or voting rights to those Direct Participants to whose accounts the notes are credited on the record date (identified in a listing attached to the Omnibus Proxy).

Payments on the notes will be made to Cede & Co., or such other nominee as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. DTC’s practice is to credit Direct Participants’ accounts upon DTC’s receipt of funds and corresponding detail information from us or the Trustee on the relevant payment date in accordance with their respective holdings shown on DTC’s records. Payments by Direct or Indirect Participants to Beneficial Owners will be governed by standing instructions and customary practices, as is the case with securities held for the account of customers registered in “street name,” and will be the responsibility of such Direct or Indirect Participant and not of DTC or us, subject to any statutory or regulatory requirements as may be in effect from time to time. Payment to Cede & Co. (or such other nominee as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC) is our responsibility, disbursement of such payments to Direct Participants is the responsibility of DTC, and disbursement of such payments to the Beneficial Owners is the responsibility of Direct and Indirect Participants.

Except in the limited cases provided in the Indenture, a Beneficial Owner of a global note will not be entitled to receive physical delivery of notes. Accordingly, each Beneficial Owner must rely on the procedures of DTC to exercise any rights under the notes. The laws of some jurisdictions require that certain purchasers of securities take physical delivery of securities in definitive form. Such laws may impair the ability to transfer beneficial interests in a global note.

DTC may discontinue providing its services as securities depositary with respect to the notes at any time by giving reasonable notice to us. Under such circumstances, in the event that a successor securities depositary is not obtained, notes certificates will be required to be printed and delivered to the holders of record. Additionally,

we may decide to discontinue use of the system of book-entry transfers through DTC (or a successor securities depositary) with respect to the notes. We understand, however, that under current industry practices, DTC would notify its Direct and Indirect Participants of our decision, but will only withdraw beneficial interests from a global note at the request of each Direct or Indirect Participant. In that event, certificates for the notes will be printed and delivered to the applicable Direct or Indirect Participant.

The information in this section concerning DTC and DTC’s book-entry system has been obtained from sources that we believe to be reliable, but neither we nor any underwriter take any responsibility for the accuracy thereof. Neither we nor any underwriter have any responsibility for the performance by DTC or its Direct or Indirect Participants of their respective obligations as described herein or under the rules and procedures governing their respective operations.

Global Clearance and Settlement Procedures

Secondary market trading between Clearstream participants and/or Euroclear system participants will occur in the ordinary way in accordance with the applicable rules and operating procedures of Clearstream and the Euroclear system, as applicable. Cross-market transfers between persons holding directly or indirectly through DTC on the one hand, and directly or indirectly through Clearstream participants or Euroclear system participants on the other, will be effected through DTC in accordance with DTC rules on behalf of the relevant European international clearing system by its U.S. depositary; however, such cross-market transactions will require delivery of instructions to the relevant European international clearing system by the counterparty in such system in accordance with its rules and procedures and within its established deadlines (European time). The relevant European international clearing system will, if the transaction meets its settlement requirements, deliver instructions to its U.S. depositary to take action to effect final settlement on its behalf by delivering or receiving securities in DTC, and making or receiving payment in accordance with normal procedures for same-day funds settlement applicable to DTC. Clearstream participants and Euroclear system participants may not deliver instructions directly to their respective U.S. depositaries. Because of time-zone differences, credits of notes received in Clearstream or the Euroclear system as a result of a transaction with a DTC participant will be made during subsequent securities settlement processing and dated the business day following the DTC settlement date. Such credits or any transactions in such notes settled during such processing will be reported to the relevant Euroclear system participant or Clearstream participant on such business day. Cash received in Clearstream or the Euroclear system as a result of sales of the notes by or through a Clearstream participant or a Euroclear system participant to a DTC participant will be received with value on the DTC settlement date but will be available in the relevant Clearstream or the Euroclear system cash account only as of the business day following settlement in DTC.

DESCRIPTION OF DEBT SECURITIES

In this Description of Debt Securities references to the “Issuer” mean only Enterprise Products Operating LLC (successor to Enterprise Products Operating L.P.) and not its subsidiaries. References to the “Guarantor” mean only Enterprise Products Partners L.P. and not its subsidiaries. References to “we” and “us” mean the Issuer and the Guarantor collectively.

The debt securities will be issued under an Indenture dated as of October 4, 2004, as amended by the Tenth Supplemental Indenture, dated as of June 30, 2007, and as further amended by one or more additional supplemental indentures (collectively, the “Indenture”), among the Issuer, the Guarantor, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association, as trustee (the “Trustee”). The terms of the debt securities will include those expressly set forth in the Indenture and those made part of the Indenture by reference to the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, as amended (the “Trust Indenture Act”). Capitalized terms used in this Description of Debt Securities have the meanings specified in the Indenture.

This Description of Debt Securities is intended to be a useful overview of the material provisions of the debt securities and the Indenture. Since this Description of Debt Securities is only a summary, you should refer to the Indenture for a complete description of our obligations and your rights.

General

The Indenture does not limit the amount of debt securities that may be issued thereunder. Debt securities may be issued under the Indenture from time to time in separate series, each up to the aggregate amount authorized for such series. The debt securities will be general obligations of the Issuer and the Guarantor and may be subordinated to Senior Indebtedness of the Issuer and the Guarantor. See “— Subordination.”

A prospectus supplement and a supplemental indenture (or a resolution of our Board of Directors and accompanying officers’ certificate) relating to any series of debt securities being offered will include specific terms relating to the offering. These terms will include some or all of the following:

•	the form and title of the debt securities;

•	the total principal amount of the debt securities;

•	the portion of the principal amount which will be payable if the maturity of the debt securities is accelerated;

•	the currency or currency unit in which the debt securities will be paid, if not U.S. dollars;

•	any right we may have to defer payments of interest by extending the dates payments are due whether interest on those deferred amounts will be payable as well;

•	the dates on which the principal of the debt securities will be payable;

•	the interest rate which the debt securities will bear and the interest payment dates for the debt securities;

•	any optional redemption provisions;

•	any sinking fund or other provisions that would obligate us to repurchase or otherwise redeem the debt securities;

•	any changes to or additional Events of Default or covenants;

•	whether the debt securities are to be issued as Registered Securities or Bearer Securities or both; and any special provisions for Bearer Securities;

•	the subordination, if any, of the debt securities and any changes to the subordination provisions of the Indenture; and

•	any other terms of the debt securities.

The prospectus supplement will also describe any material United States federal income tax consequences or other special considerations applicable to the applicable series of debt securities, including those applicable to:

•	Bearer Securities;

•	debt securities with respect to which payments of principal, premium or interest are determined with reference to an index or formula, including changes in prices of particular securities, currencies or commodities;

•	debt securities with respect to which principal, premium or interest is payable in a foreign or composite currency;

•	debt securities that are issued at a discount below their stated principal amount, bearing no interest or interest at a rate that at the time of issuance is below market rates; and

•	variable rate debt securities that are exchangeable for fixed rate debt securities.

At our option, we may make interest payments, by check mailed to the registered holders thereof or, if so stated in the applicable prospectus supplement, at the option of a holder by wire transfer to an account designated by the holder. Except as otherwise provided in the applicable prospectus supplement, no payment on a Bearer Security will be made by mail to an address in the United States or by wire transfer to an account in the United States.

Registered Securities may be transferred or exchanged, and they may be presented for payment, at the office of the Trustee or the Trustee’s agent in New York City indicated in the applicable prospectus supplement, subject to the limitations provided in the Indenture, without the payment of any service charge, other than any applicable tax or governmental charge. Bearer Securities will be transferable only by delivery. Provisions with respect to the exchange of Bearer Securities will be described in the applicable prospectus supplement.

Any funds we pay to a paying agent for the payment of amounts due on any debt securities that remain unclaimed for two years will be returned to us, and the holders of the debt securities must thereafter look only to us for payment thereof.

Guarantee

The Guarantor will unconditionally guarantee to each holder and the Trustee the full and prompt payment of principal of, premium, if any, and interest on the debt securities, when and as the same become due and payable, whether at maturity, upon redemption or repurchase, by declaration of acceleration or otherwise.

Certain Covenants

Except as set forth below or as may be provided in a prospectus supplement and supplemental indenture, neither the Issuer nor the Guarantor is restricted by the Indenture from incurring any type of indebtedness or other obligation, from paying dividends or making distributions on its partnership interests or capital stock or purchasing or redeeming its partnership interests or capital stock. The Indenture does not require the maintenance of any financial ratios or specified levels of net worth or liquidity. In addition, the Indenture does not contain any provisions that would require the Issuer to repurchase or redeem or otherwise modify the terms of any of the debt securities upon a change in control or other events involving the Issuer which may adversely affect the creditworthiness of the debt securities.

Limitations on Liens. The Indenture provides that the Guarantor will not, nor will it permit any Subsidiary to, create, assume, incur or suffer to exist any mortgage, lien, security interest, pledge, charge or other

encumbrance (“liens”) other than Permitted Liens (as defined below) upon any Principal Property (as defined below) or upon any shares of capital stock of any Subsidiary owning or leasing, either directly or through ownership in another Subsidiary, any Principal Property (a “Restricted Subsidiary”), whether owned or leased on the date of the Indenture or thereafter acquired, to secure any indebtedness for borrowed money (“debt”) of the Guarantor or the Issuer or any other person (other than the debt securities), without in any such case making effective provision whereby all of the debt securities outstanding shall be secured equally and ratably with, or prior to, such debt so long as such debt shall be so secured.

In the Indenture, the following terms are given the following meanings:

“Consolidated Net Tangible Assets” means, at any date of determination, the total amount of assets of the Guarantor and its consolidated subsidiaries after deducting therefrom:

(1) all current liabilities (excluding (A) any current liabilities that by their terms are extendable or renewable at the option of the obligor thereon to a time more than 12 months after the time as of which the amount thereof is being computed, and (B) current maturities of long-term debt); and

(2) value (net of any applicable reserves) of all goodwill, trade names, trademarks, patents and other like intangible assets, all as set forth, or on a pro forma basis would be set forth, on the consolidated balance sheet of the Guarantor and its consolidated subsidiaries for the Guarantor’s most recently completed fiscal quarter, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

“Permitted Liens” means:

(1) liens upon rights-of-way for pipeline purposes;

(2) any statutory or governmental lien or lien arising by operation of law, or any mechanics’, repairmen’s, materialmen’s, suppliers’, carriers’, landlords’, warehousemen’s or similar lien incurred in the ordinary course of business which is not yet due or which is being contested in good faith by appropriate proceedings and any undetermined lien which is incidental to construction, development, improvement or repair; or any right reserved to, or vested in, any municipality or public authority by the terms of any right, power, franchise, grant, license, permit or by any provision of law, to purchase or recapture or to designate a purchaser of, any property;

(3) liens for taxes and assessments which are (a) for the then current year, (b) not at the time delinquent, or (c) delinquent but the validity or amount of which is being contested at the time by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary in good faith by appropriate proceedings;

(4) liens of, or to secure performance of, leases, other than capital leases; or any lien securing industrial development, pollution control or similar revenue bonds;

(5) any lien upon property or assets acquired or sold by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary resulting from the exercise of any rights arising out of defaults on receivables;

(6) any lien in favor of the Guarantor or any Subsidiary; or any lien upon any property or assets of the Guarantor or any Subsidiary in existence on the date of the execution and delivery of the Indenture;

(7) any lien in favor of the United States of America or any state thereof, or any department, agency or instrumentality or political subdivision of the United States of America or any state thereof, to secure partial, progress, advance, or other payments pursuant to any contract or statute, or any debt incurred by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary for the purpose of financing all or any part of the purchase price of, or the cost of constructing, developing, repairing or improving, the property or assets subject to such lien;

(8) any lien incurred in the ordinary course of business in connection with workmen’s compensation, unemployment insurance, temporary disability, social security, retiree health or similar laws or regulations or to secure obligations imposed by statute or governmental regulations;

(9) liens in favor of any person to secure obligations under provisions of any letters of credit, bank guarantees, bonds or surety obligations required or requested by any governmental authority in connection with any contract or statute; or any lien upon or deposits of any assets to secure performance of bids, trade contracts, leases or statutory obligations;

(10) any lien upon any property or assets created at the time of acquisition of such property or assets by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary or within one year after such time to secure all or a portion of the purchase price for such property or assets or debt incurred to finance such purchase price, whether such debt was incurred prior to, at the time of or within one year after the date of such acquisition; or any lien upon any property or assets to secure all or part of the cost of construction, development, repair or improvements thereon or to secure debt incurred prior to, at the time of, or within one year after completion of such construction, development, repair or improvements or the commencement of full operations thereof (whichever is later), to provide funds for any such purpose;

(11) any lien upon any property or assets existing thereon at the time of the acquisition thereof by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary and any lien upon any property or assets of a person existing thereon at the time such person becomes a Subsidiary by acquisition, merger or otherwise; provided that, in each case, such lien only encumbers the property or assets so acquired or owned by such person at the time such person becomes a Subsidiary;

(12) liens imposed by law or order as a result of any proceeding before any court or regulatory body that is being contested in good faith, and liens which secure a judgment or other court-ordered award or settlement as to which the Guarantor or the applicable Subsidiary has not exhausted its appellate rights;

(13) any extension, renewal, refinancing, refunding or replacement (or successive extensions, renewals, refinancing, refunding or replacements) of liens, in whole or in part, referred to in clauses (1) through (12) above; provided, however, that any such extension, renewal, refinancing, refunding or replacement lien shall be limited to the property or assets covered by the lien extended, renewed, refinanced, refunded or replaced and that the obligations secured by any such extension, renewal, refinancing, refunding or replacement lien shall be in an amount not greater than the amount of the obligations secured by the lien extended, renewed, refinanced, refunded or replaced and any expenses of the Guarantor and its Subsidiaries (including any premium) incurred in connection with such extension, renewal, refinancing, refunding or replacement; or

(14) any lien resulting from the deposit of moneys or evidence of indebtedness in trust for the purpose of defeasing debt of the Guarantor or any Subsidiary.

“Principal Property” means, whether owned or leased on the date of the Indenture or thereafter acquired:

(1) any pipeline assets of the Guarantor or any Subsidiary, including any related facilities employed in the transportation, distribution, storage or marketing of refined petroleum products, natural gas liquids, and petrochemicals, that are located in the United States of America or any territory or political subdivision thereof; and

(2) any processing or manufacturing plant or terminal owned or leased by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary that is located in the United States or any territory or political subdivision thereof,

except, in the case of either of the foregoing clauses (1) or (2):

(a) any such assets consisting of inventories, furniture, office fixtures and equipment (including data processing equipment), vehicles and equipment used on, or useful with, vehicles; and

(b) any such assets, plant or terminal which, in the opinion of the board of directors of the managing member of the Issuer, is not material in relation to the activities of the Issuer or of the Guarantor and its Subsidiaries taken as a whole.

“Subsidiary” means:

(1) the Issuer; or

(2) any corporation, association or other business entity of which more than 50% of the total voting power of the equity interests entitled (without regard to the occurrence of any contingency) to vote in the election of directors, managers or trustees thereof or any partnership of which more than 50% of the partners’ equity interests (considering all partners’ equity interests as a single class) is, in each case, at the time owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by the Guarantor, the Issuer or one or more of the other Subsidiaries of the Guarantor or the Issuer or combination thereof.

Notwithstanding the preceding, under the Indenture, the Guarantor may, and may permit any Subsidiary to, create, assume, incur, or suffer to exist any lien (other than a Permitted Lien) upon any Principal Property or capital stock of a Restricted Subsidiary to secure debt of the Guarantor, the Issuer or any other person (other than the debt securities), without securing the debt securities, provided that the aggregate principal amount of all debt then outstanding secured by such lien and all similar liens, together with all Attributable Indebtedness from Sale-Leaseback Transactions (excluding Sale-Leaseback Transactions permitted by clauses (1) through (4), inclusive, of the first paragraph of the restriction on sale-leasebacks covenant described below) does not exceed 10% of Consolidated Net Tangible Assets.

Restriction on Sale-Leasebacks. The Indenture provides that the Guarantor will not, and will not permit any Subsidiary to, engage in the sale or transfer by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary of any Principal Property to a person (other than the Issuer or a Subsidiary) and the taking back by the Guarantor or any Subsidiary, as the case may be, of a lease of such Principal Property (a “Sale-Leaseback Transaction”), unless:

(1) such Sale-Leaseback Transaction occurs within one year from the date of completion of the acquisition of the Principal Property subject thereto or the date of the completion of construction, development or substantial repair or improvement, or commencement of full operations on such Principal Property, whichever is later;

(2) the Sale-Leaseback Transaction involves a lease for a period, including renewals, of not more than three years;

(3) the Guarantor or such Subsidiary would be entitled to incur debt secured by a lien on the Principal Property subject thereto in a principal amount equal to or exceeding the Attributable Indebtedness from such Sale-Leaseback Transaction without equally and ratably securing the debt securities; or

(4) the Guarantor or such Subsidiary, within a one-year period after such Sale-Leaseback Transaction, applies or causes to be applied an amount not less than the Attributable Indebtedness from such Sale-Leaseback Transaction to (a) the prepayment, repayment, redemption, reduction or retirement of any debt of the Guarantor or any Subsidiary that is not subordinated to the debt securities, or (b) the expenditure or expenditures for Principal Property used or to be used in the ordinary course of business of the Guarantor or its Subsidiaries.

“Attributable Indebtedness,” when used with respect to any Sale-Leaseback Transaction, means, as at the time of determination, the present value (discounted at the rate set forth or implicit in the terms of the lease included in such transaction) of the total obligations of the lessee for rental payments (other than amounts required to be paid on account of property taxes, maintenance, repairs, insurance, assessments, utilities, operating and labor costs and other items that do not constitute payments for property rights) during the remaining term of the lease included in such Sale-Leaseback Transaction (including any period for which such lease has been extended). In the case of any lease that is terminable by the lessee upon the payment of a penalty or other termination payment, such amount shall be the lesser of the amount determined assuming termination upon the first date such lease may be terminated (in which case the amount shall also include the amount of the penalty or termination payment, but no rent shall be considered as required to be paid under such lease subsequent to the first date upon which it may be so terminated) or the amount determined assuming no such termination.

Notwithstanding the preceding, under the Indenture the Guarantor may, and may permit any Subsidiary to, effect any Sale-Leaseback Transaction that is not excepted by clauses (1) through (4), inclusive, of the first paragraph under “— Restrictions on Sale-Leasebacks,” provided that the Attributable Indebtedness from such Sale-Leaseback Transaction, together with the aggregate principal amount of all other such Attributable Indebtedness deemed to be outstanding in respect of all Sale-Leaseback Transactions and all outstanding debt (other than the debt securities) secured by liens (other than Permitted Liens) upon Principal Properties or upon capital stock of any Restricted Subsidiary, do not exceed 10% of Consolidated Net Tangible Assets.

Merger, Consolidation or Sale of Assets. The Indenture provides that each of the Guarantor and the Issuer may, without the consent of the holders of any of the debt securities, consolidate with or sell, lease, convey all or substantially all of its assets to, or merge with or into, any partnership, limited liability company or corporation if:

(1) the entity surviving any such consolidation or merger or to which such assets shall have been transferred (the “successor”) is either the Guarantor or the Issuer, as applicable, or the successor is a domestic partnership, limited liability company or corporation and expressly assumes all the Guarantor’s or the Issuer’s, as the case may be, obligations and liabilities under the Indenture and the debt securities (in the case of the Issuer) and the Guarantee (in the case of the Guarantor);

(2) immediately after giving effect to the transaction no Default or Event of Default has occurred and is continuing; and

(3) the Issuer and the Guarantor have delivered to the Trustee an officers’ certificate and an opinion of counsel, each stating that such consolidation, merger or transfer complies with the Indenture.

The successor will be substituted for the Guarantor or the Issuer, as the case may be, in the Indenture with the same effect as if it had been an original party to the Indenture. Thereafter, the successor may exercise the rights and powers of the Guarantor or the Issuer, as the case may be, under the Indenture, in its name or in its own name. If the Guarantor or the Issuer sells or transfers all or substantially all of its assets, it will be released from all liabilities and obligations under the Indenture and under the debt securities (in the case of the Issuer) and the Guarantee (in the case of the Guarantor) except that no such release will occur in the case of a lease of all or substantially all of its assets.

Events of Default

Each of the following will be an Event of Default under the Indenture with respect to a series of debt securities:

(1) default in any payment of interest on any debt securities of that series when due, continued for 30 days;

(2) default in the payment of principal of or premium, if any, on any debt securities of that series when due at its stated maturity, upon optional redemption, upon declaration or otherwise;

(3) failure by the Guarantor or the Issuer to comply for 60 days after notice with its other agreements contained in the Indenture;

(4) certain events of bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization of the Issuer or the Guarantor (the “bankruptcy provisions”); or

(5) the Guarantee ceases to be in full force and effect or is declared null and void in a judicial proceeding or the Guarantor denies or disaffirms its obligations under the Indenture or the Guarantee.

However, a default under clause (3) of this paragraph will not constitute an Event of Default until the Trustee or the holders of at least 25% in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of that series notify the Issuer and the Guarantor of the default such default is not cured within the time specified in clause (3) of this paragraph after receipt of such notice.

An Event of Default for a particular series of debt securities will not necessarily constitute an Event of Default for any other series of debt securities that may be issued under the Indenture. If an Event of Default (other than an Event of Default described in clause (4) above) occurs and is continuing, the Trustee by notice to the Issuer, or the holders of at least 25% in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of that series by notice to the Issuer and the Trustee, may, and the Trustee at the request of such holders shall, declare the principal of, premium, if any, and accrued and unpaid interest, if any, on all the debt securities of that series to be due and payable. Upon such a declaration, such principal, premium and accrued and unpaid interest will be due and payable immediately. If an Event of Default described in clause (4) above occurs and is continuing, the principal of, premium, if any, and accrued and unpaid interest on all the debt securities will become and be immediately due and payable without any declaration or other act on the part of the Trustee or any holders. However, the effect of such provision may be limited by applicable law. The holders of a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of a series may rescind any such acceleration with respect to the debt securities of that series and its consequences if rescission would not conflict with any judgment or decree of a court of competent jurisdiction and all existing Events of Default with respect to that series, other than the nonpayment of the principal of, premium, if any, and interest on the debt securities of that series that have become due solely by such declaration of acceleration, have been cured or waived.

Subject to the provisions of the Indenture relating to the duties of the Trustee, if an Event of Default with respect to a series of debt securities occurs and is continuing, the Trustee will be under no obligation to exercise any of the rights or powers under the Indenture at the request or direction of any of the holders of debt securities of that series, unless such holders have offered to the Trustee reasonable indemnity or security against any loss, liability or expense. Except to enforce the right to receive payment of principal, premium, if any, or interest when due, no holder of debt securities of any series may pursue any remedy with respect to the Indenture or the debt securities of that series unless:

(1) such holder has previously given the Trustee notice that an Event of Default with respect to the debt securities of that series is continuing;

(2) holders of at least 25% in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of that series have requested the Trustee to pursue the remedy;

(3) such holders have offered the Trustee reasonable security or indemnity against any loss, liability or expense;

(4) the Trustee has not complied with such request within 60 days after the receipt of the request and the offer of security or indemnity; and

(5) the holders of a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of that series have not given the Trustee a direction that, in the opinion of the Trustee, is inconsistent with such request within such 60-day period.

Subject to certain restrictions, the holders of a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of each series have the right to direct the time, method and place of conducting any proceeding for any remedy available to the Trustee or of exercising any trust or power conferred on the Trustee with respect to that series of debt securities. The Trustee, however, may refuse to follow any direction that conflicts with law or the Indenture or that the Trustee determines is unduly prejudicial to the rights of any other holder of debt securities of that series or that would involve the Trustee in personal liability.

The Indenture provides that if a Default (that is, an event that is, or after notice or the passage of time would be, an Event of Default) with respect to the debt securities of a particular series occurs and is continuing and is known to the Trustee, the Trustee must mail to each holder of debt securities of that series notice of the Default within 90 days after it occurs. Except in the case of a Default in the payment of principal of, premium, if any, or interest on the debt securities of that series, the Trustee may withhold notice, but only if and so long as the Trustee in good faith determines that withholding notice is in the interests of the holders of debt securities of that

series. In addition, the Issuer is required to deliver to the Trustee, within 120 days after the end of each fiscal year, an officers’ certificate as to compliance with all covenants in the Indenture and indicating whether the signers thereof know of any Default or Event of Default that occurred during the previous year. The Issuer also is required to deliver to the Trustee, within 30 days after the occurrence thereof, an officers’ certificate specifying any Default or Event of Default, its status and what action the Issuer is taking or proposes to take in respect thereof.

Amendments and Waivers

Amendments of the Indenture may be made by the Issuer, the Guarantor and the Trustee with the consent of the holders of a majority in principal amount of all debt securities of each series affected thereby then outstanding under the Indenture (including consents obtained in connection with a tender offer or exchange offer for the debt securities). However, without the consent of each holder of outstanding debt securities affected thereby, no amendment may, among other things:

(1) reduce the percentage in principal amount of debt securities whose holders must consent to an amendment;

(2) reduce the stated rate of or extend the stated time for payment of interest on any debt securities;

(3) reduce the principal of or extend the stated maturity of any debt securities;

(4) reduce the premium payable upon the redemption of any debt securities or change the time at which any debt securities may be redeemed;

(5) make any debt securities payable in money other than that stated in the debt securities;

(6) impair the right of any holder to receive payment of, premium, if any, principal of and interest on such holder’s debt securities on or after the due dates therefor or to institute suit for the enforcement of any payment on or with respect to such holder’s debt securities;

(7) make any change in the amendment provisions which require each holder’s consent or in the waiver provisions;

(8) release any security that may have been granted in respect of the debt securities; or

(9) release the Guarantor or modify the Guarantee in any manner adverse to the holders.

The holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of each series affected thereby, may waive compliance by the Issuer and the Guarantor with certain restrictive covenants on behalf of all holders of debt securities of such series, including those described under “— Certain Covenants — Limitations on Liens” and “— Certain Covenants — Restriction on Sale-Leasebacks.” The holders of a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of each series affected thereby, on behalf of all such holders, may waive any past Default or Event of Default with respect to that series (including any such waiver obtained in connection with a tender offer or exchange offer for the debt securities), except a Default or Event of Default in the payment of principal, premium or interest or in respect of a provision that under the Indenture that cannot be amended without the consent of all holders of the series of debt securities that is affected.

Without the consent of any holder, the Issuer, the Guarantor and the Trustee may amend the Indenture to:

(1) cure any ambiguity, omission, defect or inconsistency;

(2) provide for the assumption by a successor of the obligations of the Guarantor or the Issuer under the Indenture;

(3) provide for uncertificated debt securities in addition to or in place of certificated debt securities (provided that the uncertificated debt securities are issued in registered form for purposes of Section 163(f) of the Code, or in a manner such that the uncertificated debt securities are described in Section 163(f)(2)(B) of the Code);

(4) add or release guarantees by any Subsidiary with respect to the debt securities, in either case as provided in the Indenture;

(5) secure the debt securities or a guarantee;

(6) add to the covenants of the Guarantor or the Issuer for the benefit of the holders or surrender any right or power conferred upon the Guarantor or the Issuer;

(7) make any change that does not adversely affect the rights of any holder;

(8) comply with any requirement of the Commission in connection with the qualification of the Indenture under the Trust Indenture Act; and

(9) issue any other series of debt securities under the Indenture.

The consent of the holders is not necessary under the Indenture to approve the particular form of any proposed amendment. It is sufficient if such consent approves the substance of the proposed amendment. After an amendment requiring consent of the holders becomes effective, the Issuer is required to mail to the holders of an affected series a notice briefly describing such amendment. However, the failure to give such notice to all such holders, or any defect therein, will not impair or affect the validity of the amendment.

Defeasance and Discharge

The Issuer at any time may terminate all its obligations under the Indenture as they relate to a series of debt securities (“legal defeasance”), except for certain obligations, including those respecting the defeasance trust and obligations to register the transfer or exchange of the debt securities of that series, to replace mutilated, destroyed, lost or stolen debt securities of that series and to maintain a registrar and paying agent in respect of such debt securities.

The Issuer at any time may terminate its obligations under covenants described under “— Certain Covenants” (other than “Merger, Consolidation or Sale of Assets”) and the bankruptcy provisions with respect to the Guarantor, and the Guarantee provision, described under “— Events of Default” above with respect to a series of debt securities (“covenant defeasance”).

The Issuer may exercise its legal defeasance option notwithstanding its prior exercise of its covenant defeasance option. If the Issuer exercises its legal defeasance option, payment of the defeased series of debt securities may not be accelerated because of an Event of Default with respect thereto. If the Issuer exercises its covenant defeasance option, payment of the affected series of debt securities may not be accelerated because of an Event of Default specified in clause (3), (4), (with respect only to the Guarantor) or (5) under “— Events of Default” above. If the Issuer exercises either its legal defeasance option or its covenant defeasance option, each guarantee will terminate with respect to the debt securities of the defeased series and any security that may have been granted with respect to such debt securities will be released.

In order to exercise either defeasance option, the Issuer must irrevocably deposit in trust (the “defeasance trust”) with the Trustee money, U.S. Government Obligations (as defined in the Indenture) or a combination thereof for the payment of principal, premium, if any, and interest on the relevant series of debt securities to redemption or maturity, as the case may be, and must comply with certain other conditions, including delivery to the Trustee of an opinion of counsel (subject to customary exceptions and exclusions) to the effect that holders of that series of debt securities will not recognize income, gain or loss for federal income tax purposes as a result of such deposit and defeasance and will be subject to federal income tax on the same amounts and in the same manner and at the same times as would have been the case if such defeasance had not occurred. In the case of legal defeasance only, such opinion of counsel must be based on a ruling of the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) or other change in applicable federal income tax law.

In the event of any legal defeasance, holders of the debt securities of the relevant series would be entitled to look only to the trust fund for payment of principal of and any premium and interest on their debt securities until maturity.

Although the amount of money and U.S. Government Obligations on deposit with the Trustee would be intended to be sufficient to pay amounts due on the debt securities of a defeased series at the time of their stated maturity, if the Issuer exercises its covenant defeasance option for the debt securities of any series and the debt securities are declared due and payable because of the occurrence of an Event of Default, such amount may not be sufficient to pay amounts due on the debt securities of that series at the time of the acceleration resulting from such Event of Default. The Issuer would remain liable for such payments, however.

In addition, the Issuer may discharge all its obligations under the Indenture with respect to debt securities of any series, other than its obligation to register the transfer of and exchange notes of that series, provided that it either:

•	delivers all outstanding debt securities of that series to the Trustee for cancellation; or

•	all such debt securities not so delivered for cancellation have either become due and payable or will become due and payable at their stated maturity within one year or are called for redemption within one year, and in the case of this bullet point the Issuer has deposited with the Trustee in trust an amount of cash sufficient to pay the entire indebtedness of such debt securities, including interest to the stated maturity or applicable redemption date.

Subordination

Debt securities of a series may be subordinated to our Senior Indebtedness, which we define generally to include all notes or other evidences of indebtedness for money borrowed by the Issuer, including guarantees, that are not expressly subordinate or junior in right of payment to any other indebtedness of the Issuer. Subordinated debt securities and the Guarantor’s guarantee thereof will be subordinate in right of payment, to the extent and in the manner set forth in the Indenture and the prospectus supplement relating to such series, to the prior payment of all indebtedness of the Issuer and Guarantor that is designated as “Senior Indebtedness” with respect to the series.

The holders of Senior Indebtedness of the Issuer will receive payment in full of the Senior Indebtedness before holders of subordinated debt securities will receive any payment of principal, premium or interest with respect to the subordinated debt securities:

•	upon any payment of distribution of our assets of the Issuer to its creditors;

•	upon a total or partial liquidation or dissolution of the Issuer; or

•	in a bankruptcy, receivership or similar proceeding relating to the Issuer or its property.

Until the Senior Indebtedness is paid in full, any distribution to which holders of subordinated debt securities would otherwise be entitled will be made to the holders of Senior Indebtedness, except that such holders may receive units representing limited partner interests and any debt securities that are subordinated to Senior Indebtedness to at least the same extent as the subordinated debt securities.

If the Issuer does not pay any principal, premium or interest with respect to Senior Indebtedness within any applicable grace period (including at maturity), or any other default on Senior Indebtedness occurs and the maturity of the Senior Indebtedness is accelerated in accordance with its terms, the Issuer may not:

•	make any payments of principal, premium, if any, or interest with respect to subordinated debt securities;

•	make any deposit for the purpose of defeasance of the subordinated debt securities; or

•	repurchase, redeem or otherwise retire any subordinated debt securities, except that in the case of subordinated debt securities that provide for a mandatory sinking fund, we may deliver subordinated debt securities to the Trustee in satisfaction of our sinking fund obligation,

unless, in either case,

•	the default has been cured or waived and the declaration of acceleration has been rescinded;

•	the Senior Indebtedness has been paid in full in cash; or

•	the Issuer and the Trustee receive written notice approving the payment from the representatives of each issue of “Designated Senior Indebtedness.”

Generally, “Designated Senior Indebtedness” will include:

•	indebtedness for borrowed money under a bank credit agreement, called “Bank Indebtedness”; and

•	any specified issue of Senior Indebtedness of at least $100 million.

During the continuance of any default, other than a default described in the immediately preceding paragraph, that may cause the maturity of any Senior Indebtedness to be accelerated immediately without further notice, other than any notice required to effect such acceleration, or the expiration of any applicable grace periods, the Issuer may not pay the subordinated debt securities for a period called the “Payment Blockage Period.” A Payment Blockage Period will commence on the receipt by us and the Trustee of written notice of the default, called a “Blockage Notice,” from the representative of any Designated Senior Indebtedness specifying an election to effect a Payment Blockage Period.

The Payment Blockage Period may be terminated before its expiration:

•	by written notice from the person or persons who gave the Blockage Notice;

•	by repayment in full in cash of the Senior Indebtedness with respect to which the Blockage Notice was given; or

•	if the default giving rise to the Payment Blockage Period is no longer continuing.

Unless the holders of Senior Indebtedness shall have accelerated the maturity of the Senior Indebtedness, we may resume payments on the subordinated debt securities after the expiration of the Payment Blockage Period.

Generally, not more than one Blockage Notice may be given in any period of 360 consecutive days unless the first Blockage Notice within the 360-day period is given by holders of Designated Senior Indebtedness, other than Bank Indebtedness, in which case the representative of the Bank Indebtedness may give another Blockage Notice within the period. The total number of days during which any one or more Payment Blockage Periods are in effect, however, may not exceed an aggregate of 179 days during any period of 360 consecutive days.

After all Senior Indebtedness is paid in full and until the subordinated debt securities are paid in full, holders of the subordinated debt securities shall be subrogated to the rights of holders of Senior Indebtedness to receive distributions applicable to Senior Indebtedness.

By reason of the subordination, in the event of insolvency, our creditors who are holders of Senior Indebtedness, as well as certain of our general creditors, may recover more, ratably, than the holders of the subordinated debt securities.

Form and Denomination

Unless otherwise indicated in a prospectus supplement, the debt securities of a series will be issued as Registered Securities in denominations of $1,000 and any integral multiple thereof.

Book-Entry System

Unless otherwise indicated in a prospectus supplement, we will issue the debt securities in the form of one or more global securities in fully registered form initially in the name of Cede & Co., as nominee of The Depository Trust Company (“DTC”), or such other name as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. Unless otherwise indicated in a prospectus supplement, the global securities will be deposited with the Trustee as custodian for DTC and may not be transferred except as a whole by DTC to a nominee of DTC or by a nominee of DTC to DTC or another nominee of DTC or by DTC or any nominee to a successor of DTC or a nominee of such successor.

DTC has advised us as follows:

•	DTC is a limited-purpose trust company organized under the New York Banking Law, a “banking organization” within the meaning of the New York Banking Law, a member of the Federal Reserve System, a “clearing corporation” within the meaning of the New York Uniform Commercial Code, and a “clearing agency” registered pursuant to the provisions of Section 17A of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, or the Exchange Act.

•	DTC holds securities that its participants deposit with DTC and facilitates the post-trade settlement among direct participants of sales and other securities transactions in deposited securities, such as transfers and pledges, through electronic computerized book-entry transfers and pledges between direct participants’ accounts, thereby eliminating the need for physical movement of securities certificates.

•	Direct participants include both U.S. and non-U.S. securities brokers and dealers, banks, trust companies, clearing corporations and certain other organizations.

•	DTC is a wholly owned subsidiary of The Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (“DTCC”). DTCC is the holding company for DTC, National Securities Clearing Corporation and Fixed Income Clearing Corporation, all of which are registered clearing agencies. DTCC is owned by the users of its regulated subsidiaries.

•	Access to the DTC system is also available to others such as both U.S. and non-U.S. securities brokers and dealers, banks, trust companies, and clearing corporations that clear through or maintain a custodial relationship with a direct participant, either directly or indirectly.

•	The rules applicable to DTC and its direct and indirect participants are on file with the Commission.

Purchases of debt securities under the DTC system must be made by or through direct participants, which will receive a credit for the debt securities on DTC’s records. The ownership interest of each actual purchaser of debt securities is in turn to be recorded on the direct and indirect participants’ records. Beneficial owners of the debt securities will not receive written confirmation from DTC of their purchase, but beneficial owners are expected to receive written confirmations providing details of the transaction, as well as periodic statements of their holdings, from the direct or indirect participant through which the beneficial owner entered into the transaction. Transfers of ownership interests in the debt securities are to be accomplished by entries made on the books of direct and indirect participants acting on behalf of beneficial owners. Beneficial owners will not receive certificates representing their ownership interests in the debt securities, except in the event that use of the book-entry system for the debt securities is discontinued.

To facilitate subsequent transfers, all debt securities deposited by direct participants with DTC are registered in the name of DTC’s partnership nominee, Cede & Co., or such other name as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. The deposit of debt securities with DTC and their registration in the name of Cede & Co. or such other DTC nominee do not effect any change in beneficial ownership. DTC has no knowledge of the actual beneficial owners of the debt securities; DTC’s records reflect only the identity of the direct participants to whose accounts such debt securities are credited, which may or may not be the beneficial owners. The direct and indirect participants will remain responsible for keeping account of their holdings on behalf of their customers.

Conveyance of notices and other communications by DTC to direct participants, by, direct participants to indirect participants, and by direct participants and indirect participants to beneficial owners will be governed by arrangements among them, subject to any statutory or regulatory requirements as may be in effect from time to time.

Neither DTC nor Cede & Co. (nor any other DTC nominee) will consent or vote with respect to the global securities. Under its usual procedures, DTC mails an omnibus proxy to the issuer as soon as possible after the record date. The omnibus proxy assigns Cede & Co.’s consenting or voting rights to those direct participants to whose accounts the debt securities are credited on the record date (identified in the listing attached to the omnibus proxy).

All payments on the global securities will be made to Cede & Co., as holder of record, or such other nominee as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC. DTC’s practice is to credit direct participants’ accounts upon DTC’s receipt of funds and corresponding detail information from us or the Trustee on payment dates in accordance with their respective holdings shown on DTC’s records. Payments by participants to beneficial owners will be governed by standing instructions and customary practices, as is the case with securities held for the accounts of customers in bearer form or registered in “street name,” and will be the responsibility of such participant and not of DTC, us or the Trustee, subject to any statutory or regulatory requirements as may be in effect from time to time. Payment of principal, premium, if any, and interest to Cede & Co. (or such other nominee as may be requested by an authorized representative of DTC) shall be the responsibility of us or the Trustee. Disbursement of such payments to direct participants shall be the responsibility of DTC, and disbursement of such payments to the beneficial owners shall be the responsibility of direct and indirect participants.

DTC may discontinue providing its service as securities depositary with respect to the debt securities at any time by giving reasonable notice to us or the Trustee. In addition, we may decide to discontinue use of the system of book-entry transfers through DTC (or a successor securities depositary). Under such circumstances, in the event that a successor securities depositary is not obtained, note certificates in fully registered form are required to be printed and delivered to beneficial owners of the global securities representing such debt securities.

Neither we nor the Trustee will have any responsibility or obligation to direct or indirect participants, or the persons for whom they act as nominees, with respect to the accuracy of the records of DTC, its nominee or any participant with respect to any ownership interest in the debt securities, or payments to, or the providing of notice to participants or beneficial owners.

So long as the debt securities are in DTC’s book-entry system, secondary market trading activity in the debt securities will settle in immediately available funds. All payments on the debt securities issued as global securities will be made by us in immediately available funds.

The information in this section concerning DTC and DTC’s book-entry system has been obtained from sources that we believe to be reliable, but we take no responsibility for the accuracy thereof.

Limitations on Issuance of Bearer Securities

The debt securities of a series may be issued as Registered Securities (which will be registered as to principal and interest in the register maintained by the registrar for the debt securities) or Bearer Securities (which will be transferable only by delivery). If the debt securities are issuable as Bearer Securities, certain special limitations and conditions will apply.

In compliance with United States federal income tax laws and regulations, we and any underwriter, agent or dealer participating in an offering of Bearer Securities will agree that, in connection with the original issuance of the Bearer Securities and during the period ending 40 days after the issue date, they will not offer, sell or deliver any such Bearer Securities, directly or indirectly, to a United States Person (as defined below) or to any person within the United States, except to the extent permitted under United States Treasury regulations.

Bearer Securities will bear a legend to the following effect: “Any United States person who holds this obligation will be subject to limitations under the United States federal income tax laws, including the limitations provided in Sections 165(j) and 1287(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.” The sections referred to in the legend provide that, with certain exceptions, a United States taxpayer who holds Bearer Securities will not be allowed to deduct any loss with respect to, and will not be eligible for capital gain treatment with respect to any gain realized on the sale, exchange, redemption or other disposition of, the Bearer Securities.

For this purpose, “United States” includes the United States of America and its possessions, and “United States person” means a citizen or resident of the United States, a corporation, partnership or other entity created or organized in or under the laws of the United States, or an estate or trust the income of which is subject to United States federal income taxation regardless of its source.

Pending the availability of a definitive global security or individual Bearer Securities, as the case may be, debt securities that are issuable as Bearer Securities may initially be represented by a single temporary global security, without interest coupons, to be deposited with a common depositary for the Euroclear System as operated by Euroclear Bank S.A./N.V. (“Euroclear”) and Clearstream Banking S.A. (“Clearstream”, formerly Cedelbank), for credit to the accounts designated by or on behalf of the purchasers thereof. Following the availability of a definitive global security in bearer form, without coupons attached, or individual Bearer Securities and subject to any further limitations described in the applicable prospectus supplement, the temporary global security will be exchangeable for interests in the definitive global security or for the individual Bearer Securities, respectively, only upon receipt of a “Certificate of Non-U.S. Beneficial Ownership,” which is a certificate to the effect that a beneficial interest in a temporary global security is owned by a person that is not a United States Person or is owned by or through a financial institution in compliance with applicable United States Treasury regulations. No Bearer Security will be delivered in or to the United States. If so specified in the applicable prospectus supplement, interest on a temporary global security will be paid to each of Euroclear and Clearstream with respect to that portion of the temporary global security held for its account, but only upon receipt as of the relevant interest payment date of a Certificate of Non-U.S. Beneficial Ownership.

No Recourse Against General Partner

The Guarantor’s general partner and its directors, officers, employees and members, as such, shall have no liability for any obligations of the Issuer or the Guarantor under the debt securities, the Indenture or the guarantee or for any claim based on, in respect of, or by reason of, such obligations or their creation. Each holder by accepting a note waives and releases all such liability. The waiver and release are part of the consideration for issuance of the debt securities. Such waiver may not be effective to waive liabilities under the federal securities laws, and it is the view of the Commission that such a waiver is against public policy.

Concerning the Trustee

The Indenture contains certain limitations on the right of the Trustee, should it become our creditor, to obtain payment of claims in certain cases, or to realize for its own account on certain property received in respect of any such claim as security or otherwise. The Trustee is permitted to engage in certain other transactions. However, if it acquires any conflicting interest within the meaning of the Trust Indenture Act, it must eliminate the conflict or resign as Trustee.

The holders of a majority in principal amount of all outstanding debt securities (or if more than one series of debt securities under the Indenture is affected thereby, all series so affected, voting as a single class) will have the right to direct the time, method and place of conducting any proceeding for exercising any remedy or power available to the Trustee for the debt securities or all such series so affected.

If an Event of Default occurs and is not cured under the Indenture and is known to the Trustee, the Trustee shall exercise such of the rights and powers vested in it by the Indenture and use the same degree of care and skill

in its exercise as a prudent person would exercise or use under the circumstances in the conduct of his own affairs. Subject to such provisions, the Trustee will not be under any obligation to exercise any of its rights or powers under the Indenture at the request of any of the holders of debt securities unless they shall have offered to such Trustee reasonable security and indemnity.

Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the Trustee under the Indenture and has been appointed by the Issuer as Registrar and Paying Agent with regard to the debt securities. Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is a lender under the Issuer’s credit facilities.

Governing Law

The Indenture, the debt securities and the guarantee are governed by, and will be construed in accordance with, the laws of the State of New York.