Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For More Information Contact:

TROY Group, Inc.

2331 South Pullman Street

Santa Ana, CA 92705

(949) 250-3280

(949) 250-8972 Fax

www.troygroup.com

Contact: James Klingler,

 Vice President & CFO

TROY Group, Inc. Reports Final First-Quarter Results
and Filing of 10-Q Report

Santa Ana, CA. – May 13, 2004—TROY Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: TROY) today announced final financial results for its first quarter of fiscal 2004, which ended February 29, 2004, and the filing of its quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended February 29, 2004.

As previously disclosed, the filing of TROY’s Form 10-Q for the quarter ended February 29, 2004 was delayed due to its recent change in audit firms and the implementation of its new ERP system.

Based on the final results, net sales for the first quarter decreased 6% to $13.6 million, compared to $14.4 million in the first quarter of fiscal year 2003, primarily due to decreased sales of Financial Services software and Security Printing Solutions products.

Net income for the first quarter was $320,000, or $0.03 per share diluted, compared to a net income of $282,000 or $0.03 per share diluted, in the prior year’s first quarter, as the effect of lower sales was offset by reduced operating expenses.

About TROY Group

TROY Group, Inc (“TROY”) offers a full range of products to its customers in two primary product lines: Secure Payment Systems and Wireless and Connectivity Solutions. Secure Payment Systems include Security Printing Solutions which enable the secure printing and management of checks, and Financial Service Solutions which enable secure electronic payments. Wireless and Connectivity Solutions includes hardware and software solutions that enable enterprises to share intelligent devices, such as printers, either wirelessly or using traditional networks.  TROY distributes productions to major corporations, banks, key government accounts and distributors worldwide.  Visit TROY at www.troygroup.com.

– (Financial tables follow) –

TROY GROUP, INC.
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

(in thousands, except per share data)

	February 29, 2004 (Unaudited)	November 30, 2003
Assets
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$2,653	$1,727
Investment in available-for-sale securities	8,000	8,000
Accounts receivable, less allowance for doubtful accounts $347 in 2004; $393 in 2003	8,242	8,419
Inventories	5,245	4,891
Prepaid expenses and other	1,476	1,414
Deferred tax assets	2,789	2,789
Total current assets	28,405	27,240
Equipment and leasehold improvements, net	3,278	3,213
Goodwill, net	281	281
Receivable from stockholders	1,903	1,903
Deferred tax assets	1,240	1,330
Other assets	959	993
Total assets	$36,066	$34,960

Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$3,632	$2,172
Accrued expenses	3,606	4,322
Deferred revenue	1,872	1,807
Total current liabilities	9,110	8,301
Stockholders’ equity:
Preferred stock, no par value, authorized 5,000,000 shares, issued none	—	—
Common stock, par value $.01 per share; authorized 50,000,000 shares, issued10,642,677 shares in 2004; 10,974,170 shares in 2003	107	110
Additional paid-in capital	19,921	21,122
Accumulated other comprehensive income	18	33
Retained earnings	6,918	6,598
	26,964	27,863
Less cost of treasury stock, 2,800 shares in 2004; 331,493 shares in 2003	8	1,204
Total stockholders’ equity	26,956	26,659
Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity	$36,066	$34,960

TROY GROUP, INC.

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

(Unaudited)

(in thousands, except per share amounts)

	Three Months Ended
	February 29, 2004	February 28, 2003

Net sales	$13,617	$14,408
Cost of goods sold	8,273	8,438
Gross profit	5,344	5,970

Operating expenses:
Selling, general and administrative	3,590	4,007
Research and development	1,237	1,462
Amortization of intangible assets	27	33
Operating income	490	468

Interest income	30	3
Interest expense	—	(2)
Income before income taxes	520	469
Provision for income taxes	200	187
Net income	$320	$282

Net income per share:
Basic	$.03	$.03
Diluted	$.03	$.03

Shares used in per share computations:
Basic	10,643	10,649
Diluted	10,648	10,649

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