Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

    Attention Business Editors:
    Rubicon and Solitaire Commence 3,300 metre Drill Program at Red Lake
    North Project

    TORONTO STOCK EXCHANGE SYMBOL: RMX
    AMEX SYMBOL: RBY

    TORONTO, Aug. 14 /CNW/ - Rubicon and Solitaire Minerals Corporation
(TSX-V: SLT) are pleased to announce the start of a 3,300 metre drill program
at the Red Lake North Project. The property is under option to Solitaire
Minerals Corp. ('Solitaire') who is required to fund $2.5 million of
exploration over four years (prior to May 30, 2010) to earn a 55% interest.
Through an aggressive exploration program, Solitaire and Rubicon are advancing
the property and have identified four distinct target areas for drill testing
along a 12-kilometre strike length of prospective stratigraphy.

    The Red Lake North project is separated into two distinct packages of
ground:

    The Red Lake North Main Block

    This block which is the focus of this drill program, is directly along
strike from both the Main Discovery Zone (MDZ) and Upper Duck Zone (UDZ),
currently being explored by Goldcorp/Planet Exploration Inc on the Sidace Lake
Property. Based on three holes drilled by Rubicon in 2005 that intersected the
prospective quartz-sericite schist altered horizon as well as geophysical
interpretation, the extension of gold-bearing stratigraphy that hosts the MDZ
continues southwest onto the Red Lake North Main Block.

    The Sidace Lake Area

    The Sidace Lake Area claims are situated on the up-dip and down-dip
extensions of the Goldcorp/Planet MDZ. The property is dominated by a package
of Balmer assemblage mafic and ultramafic volcanic rocks which are overlain by
altered intermediate sediments. Solitaire funded a deep-targeting program on
this claim in the fall and winter of 2006/2007, but was limited by the depth
capacity of the drill rig. A drill rig capable of reaching a depth of 2,500
metres has been contracted for late September 2007 for planned follow-up
drilling.

    RUBICON MINERALS CORPORATION

    "David W. Adamson"
    President & CEO

    Current work programs are supervised by Terry Bursey, P.Geo, the project
Qualified Person under the definition of NI 43-101.

    Forward Looking Statement
    -------------------------
    This news release contains certain statements that may be deemed
"forward-looking statements". All statements in this release, other than
statements of historical fact, that address events or developments that the
Company expects to occur, are forward looking statements. Forward looking
statements are statements that are not historical facts and are generally, but
not always, identified by the words "expects", "plans", "anticipates",
"believes", "intends", "estimates", "projects", "potential" and similar
expressions, or that events or conditions "will", "would", "may", "could" or
"should" occur. Forward-looking statements in this document include statements
regarding future exploration programs and joint venture partner participation.
    Although the Company believes the expectations expressed in such
forward-looking statements are based on reasonable assumptions, such
statements are not guarantees of future performance and actual results may
differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements. Factors that
could cause the actual results to differ materially from those in
forward-looking statements include market prices, exploitation and exploration
successes, continued availability of capital and financing, inability to
obtain required shareholder or regulatory approvals, and general economic,
market or business conditions. Investors are cautioned that any such
statements are not guarantees of future performance and actual results or
developments may differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking
statements. Forward looking statements are based on the beliefs, estimates and
opinions of the Company's management on the date the statements are made. The
Company undertakes no obligation to update these forward-looking statements in
the event that management's beliefs, estimates or opinions, or other factors,
should change.
    These statements are based on a number of assumptions, including, among
others, assumptions regarding general business and economic conditions, the
timing of the receipt of shareholder, regulatory and governmental approvals
for Rubicon's proposed transactions, the availability of financing for
Rubicon's proposed transactions and exploration and development programs on
reasonable terms and the ability of third-party service providers to deliver
services in a timely manner. The foregoing list of assumptions is not
exhaustive. Events or circumstances could cause results to differ materially.

    The Toronto Stock Exchange has not reviewed and does not accept
    responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.

    %CIK: 0001057791

    /For further information: Bill Cavalluzzo, VP Investor Relations, Toll
free: 1-866-365-4706, E-mail: bcavalluzzo(at)rubiconminerals.com, Rubicon
Minerals Corporation, Suite 1540-800, West Pender Street, Vancouver, BC,
CANADA, V6C 2V6/
    (RMX. RBY)

CO:  Rubicon Minerals Corporation

CNW 10:12e 14-AUG-07