SCHOOL SPECIALTY, INC.
                             1000 N. Bluemound Dr.
                             P.O. Box 1579
                             Appleton, WI  54913



AT THE COMPANY:              AT THE FINANCIAL RELATIONS BOARD:
Daniel Spalding              Leslie Hunziker  Leslie Loyet       Joyce Hanson
Chairman & CEO               General Info.    Analyst Inquiries  Media
(920) 882-5601                                (312) 266-7800

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
WEDNESDAY, JULY 14, 1999


       SCHOOL SPECIALTY BOLSTERS EXECUTIVE SUITE

  NAMES CFO DON NOSKOWIAK TO NEW BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT ROLE;
   MARY KABACINSKI APPOINTED CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

        ADDS DIRECTOR, INCREASING BOARD TO SIX

APPLETON, Wisc., July 14, 1999 -- School Specialty,
Inc. (NASDAQ: SCHS), announced today the appointment of
Donald J. Noskowiak to the newly created position of
Vice President of Finance and Business Development,
strengthening the company's expansion efforts.  At the
same time, the company announced the selection of Mary
M. Kabacinski to succeed him as Executive Vice
President and Chief Financial Officer.

"We're pleased to be able to better focus Don's
responsibilities on identifying and analyzing strategic
acquisition opportunities -- one of his strengths and
one of School Specialty's key growth vehicles -- and
equally pleased that we were able to recruit Mary as
his successor in the CFO role," said Daniel Spalding,
chief executive officer. "This move represents an
expansion of management depth at the executive level."

Kabacinski, 50, has more than 20 years experience as a
business executive with proven expertise in finance,
investor relations, acquisitions and strategic
planning.  She joins School Specialty following a 10-
year tenure as chief financial officer for Marquette
Medical Systems, Inc., a $600 million company that
manufactures electronic medical equipment for the
diagnosis and monitoring of cardiac conditions.  In her
position as CFO, Kabacinski led the IPO for Marquette
in November 1991 with an initial market capitalization
of $160 million.  She managed investor relations
through the company's growth to a market capitalization
of $840 million at the time of its acquisition by GE
Medical Systems in November 1998. Kabacinski also
actively managed acquisition activities including
negotiation, valuation, structure and financing as well
as restructuring of operations to achieve cost savings.

Prior to her time at Marquette Medical Systems, Inc.,
Kabacinski was employed by Arthur Andersen & Company
from 1979 to 1988.

She will become the lead contact for School Specialty
for investor relations and will oversee the entire
financial function of the company.

"As we continue to execute our growth strategy,
expanding both through acquisitions and internal
initiatives, we expect to benefit significantly from
Mary's considerable financial and management expertise.
After careful consideration, the board and I agree that
in Mary we have someone with excellent skills who will
provide the company with long-term leadership," said
Spalding.

Noskowiak, 41, will become vice president of finance
and business development.  In this position, he will
focus primarily on acquisition strategy and execution.
In his seven years with School Specialty, Noskowiak has
managed 20+ acquisitions and has developed significant
market and financial expertise related to mergers and
acquisitions.  In addition, he will manage the daily
financial functions of the company.

Jerome M. Pool Appointed to Board of Directors
School Specialty is additionally proud to announce that
Jerome M. Pool was appointed to its Board of Directors
on June 1, 1999.  Pool served as president and chief
executive officer of Jantzen for nine years and spent
his entire career on the marketing and sales side of
the apparel industry.  Pool led the acquisition of Jan
Sport Corporation in 1984 and participated in the ESOP-
LBO of Parent Corporation/Blue Bell in 1985.  He is
presently a business advisor/consultant to several
private companies in Poland, Hungary and Bulgaria and
is serving on the boards of Pacific Metal Company,
Frederick Brewing Company, Pacific University, and the
Portland State University Business School.  He has also
served on the boards of the Oregon Independent College
Foundation, Salvation Army, Waverly Children's Home and
the University of Oregon Alumni Board.

School Specialty, Inc., "The Nation's Education
Resource," is the largest supplier of non-textbook
education products to educators in the United States.
School Specialty offers over 60,000 different products
to more than 108,000 schools throughout the United
States.  The company produces nine different catalogs,
and mails over 10 million catalogs to customers each
year, servicing these customers with approximately
2,200 employees.  School Specialty has a diversified
approach to the market, with its School Specialty and
Beckley-Cardy brands focused on serving administrators
and procurement specialists with a national sales
force, and its nine specialty direct
brands-ClassroomDirect.com, Childcraft, Sax Arts &
Crafts, Hammond & Stephens, Gresswell, Frey Scientific,
Brodhead Garrett, Sportime and SmartStuff - serving
teachers and curriculum specialists.

Safe Harbor Statement
Statements in this press release which are not strictly
historical are "forward-looking" statements.  Forward-
looking statements involve known and unknown risks,
which may cause the company's actual results in the
future to differ materially from expected results.
These risks include, among others: competition within
the educational supply industry; changes in the
economics of education, including  reductions in
government expenditures; the ability of the company to
maintain satisfactory relationships with its sales
force; the ability of the company to integrate acquired
businesses into its existing operations; the ability of
the company to successfully operate two electronic
commerce sites; the effects of economic conditions;
unforeseen operating risks; risks associated with the
dependence on manufacturers of the company's products;
and the availability of capital to finance planned
growth.  These risks are qualified in their entirety by
cautionary language set forth in the company's most
recent Form 10-K report and other documents filed with
Securities and Exchange Commission.

For more information about School Specialty, Inc. toll-free via fax, dial 1-800-PRO-INFO or 1-800-776-4636, follow the voice menu prompts
 and enter the company code "SCHS" or 7247 on any touch tone phone.


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